(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

innocent d

ya i usually pump 1am or 2 am then i might wake 4-5am to pump.

sometimes i wake much later so it could be from 4am last pump wake 12pm 8 hr stretch but then in between i latch lor.

charismama

try mums & babes amk one branch, united sq also has. KKH might also have at the 1st yrs maybe u call up a few places before u head down?

i know mums & babes sure have cos they sell pumps & parts.

I also wake up to pump in the middle of the night when my baby is taking the EBM I pumped in the day. So that extra pump will go straight into freezer. I usually pump at 2am and 5am if I don't pversleep. I latch about 2 times from 6am to 11am. I think midnite/early morning pumps yield the best results. Try taking oats mummies. I think it really helps and even the milk looks thicker. Besides oats are good in weight control ... Better than eating white bread [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Thanks for the tips HJ.

This morning I did my very 1st pump session. Pumped from R side using the Medela Symphony after having breakfast cos bb just latched from L side before that. Managed to get 100ml prob cos for past 5 hours bb didn't latch from that side. Think I've gotten the hang of operating the manual pump. When I did a test pump 2 weeks ago I think my ss wasn't stable yet and my nipples were quite sore so it was quite a painful and unproductive session.

Hi KDD,

I think as long as ur nipples don't feel pain thru out the 1hr pumping session, then it should be fine.

Why don't you slowly cut back the pump time by 5mins slowly until u pump for 30 mins and see got any difference?

Have put that bottle into the freezer cos not sure when I'll be using it.

I plan to go to the salon to cut my hair this coming sat morning before my bb's full month celebration. Think I'll be away from home for about 3 hours. My mom will come over to look after bb for me. Most likely will have to feed bb once during this time. Anyone used a bottle warmer to heat up the milk?

Gbh, yup. I will just change the insert while she waits. Rarely she will fart with a bit of poo. But I usually stick a tissue on her butt so not so bad. If pee then chao kao lor. So far that hasn't happened to me yet. She pee when my hb change her until she is lying in pee. Then he will low morale n don't want to change her diaper for a while.

Is it u latch then pump sure ss low one. If I pump after latch can yield 10-20ml only. So I don't bother. If pump means don't latch. Latch then don't pump. Now 3 hour can get abt 130ml.

Woofy,

I'm ordering from Natalie thru this website:

http://sacredtea.blogspot.com/

She's staying in Hougang so I can do self-collection and COD. She's doing some promo for Mother's day so the usual price of $38 for 6.5oz of Sacred Tea now cost $36 with free Normal postage. With Reg post, just top up $2.25 irregardless of any packets purchased if I'm not wrong. Maybe u can check with her ba..

oh btw, if u want to do self-collection, u can also pick up at her working place near Isetan Orchard. You see if your DH is free to help u pick up say you want to buy..

gbh, i have the same prob as u.. i've been latching my boy most of the times.. but when i pumped, at most i get 60ml.. very demoralising too.. when my boy latched, i have to feed him round the clock, super tiring.. sometimes he gets so fussy, cl have to top up with fm. my cl says my boy can drink 90ml of fm already.. like that how to meet his demand..

and when u gals pump after latching, do u sterilize the pump after each use? or just wash? if pump after each latch, have to sterilize many times le.. remember someone mentioned about putting the pump in the fridge instead? then do u wash first before u put in the fridge?

orangey, 60ml is not pump after latching.. is when i so tired and cl give my boy fm then i pump.. so far i didn't try to pump after latching cos scared my boy will wake up suddenly and want to feed again cos this has happened many times..

orangey,

120ml is good .. if only i can pump 120ml every 3 hrs, my max is only 110ml and i don't have excess cause my boy drinks 110ml now ai ~ only 1 mth left before going back to work and my milk stash is not enuff for him yet

Am very sad... have decided to throw away the milk i pumped out this morning. Was reading the instructions on how to wash & sterilise the pump and realised that hubby didn't remove the yellow valve & valve membrane from the pump body after my test pump 2 weeks ago before washing & sterilising.

The silver lining... going to thaw it in the fridge and use it to try out the bottle warmer later.

KDD,

100ml is average lah though I do get 120ml but my boy can feed every 1.5hrs and he takes about 80ml -100ml so you know lah, I pump he drinks so not enough to store in the freezer. If I Can up my SS, I can start to pack my freezer with EBM which I can pass it to the IFC to thaw and warm up for his feeds. DH and I not really keen to give FM lah since BM has more immunity boost to baby.

I'm on my way to interview, wearing a tube top wif scarf n black pants which I wore during maternity.

Wish mi luck [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

anyone knows if moms in mind still have promo of 30% off for their nursing bras? i'm intending to get some nursing bras so that when going bk work can wear it and easier for pumping..

btw, when we go bk to work, how many times should we pump at work? how to wash and sterilize pumps efficiently in the office?

Orangey,

I know what u mean, I also need to build up a stash for my bb's caregiver after I go back to work.

Guess I am not so strict so I kind of 'play cheat' by giving bb FM for night feeds. That help me build up a small stash and also allow us to sleep better through the night. I felt this helps to boost my ss..my 3 am pump can sometimes yield 150 ml..we just think of this as getting the best of both world la, but also the shit of both world lar, cos gotta deal with constipation/colic etc..

SYZ,

old dun go new dun come lar, look open bit.. u will build up ur stash again

Celia,

gd luck!

KDD,

I know what you mean! There was once DH forgotten to woke meup and I was engorged for 5.5hrs! Guess what, I actually pumped 200+ml of BM! SO HAPPY SIA! But, only for that once [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] If only my 3hr pump yields 200ml! Hopefully my sacred tea will help to double! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Celia,

All the best. Show them the Mama power! I'm sure you'll get recruited! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Orangey & kueh dah dah,

I also going back to work in 2months time..

Till now I have no storage of bm at all [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

I seldom latch now..maybe once in aday..

my ebm is not enough for my gal..

Think i really need to try out all the suggestion.

take oats,Sacred Tea & fenugreek

how long can ebm last in room temperature?

1hr?? what if we are outside & can't get home by 1hr than the milk can't be consume?

For those interested in Sacred Tea, Origin Jamu Massage is selling them too and these are the testimonials from their customers:

http://www.originsjamumassage.com/product-Sacred-tea-testimonies.html

Here's another review posted by a user herself. She had 2-3oz increase almost immediately by taking 1 cup on the day.

http://www.momsbestfeed.com/2008/12/sacred-tea-for-nursing-mothers-100.html

Seriously, I'm so desperate to up my SS that I'm willing to try almost anything. Even if you tell me eating frog skin will yield I might just try! Muauauahaha..

How much emb do we need to store before going back to work? Is it because bb might drink more than we can pump in a day that's why we must start to store up now?

Breastfeeding Mothers Support Group has a workshop coming up called "Back to Work" on how to manage breastfeeding & working... anyone keen to sign up? Babies are welcome so can bring along [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] It will be on 19 June 2010.

thks for all the wishes.

The max the company cn gave is onli 2.2k so little too tight to support myself n bb.

Do u think I shld reveal to employer I'm a single mother? If reveal onli child care leave n is it true wif child especially bb, company seldom will wan to consider?

thks for all the wishes.

The max the company cn gave is onli 2.2k so little too tight to support myself n bb.

Do u think I shld reveal to employer I'm a single mother? If reveal onli child care leave n is it true wif child especially bb, company seldom will wan to consider?

Innocent Devil,

details:

Going Back to work? Plan early!

If you are returning to work after your maternity leave, this workshop will help you plan early so as to allow you to continue to offer breastmilk to your baby. Join us as we share with you practical tips on how to manage work and breastfeeding. Ideally, the second month after birth is the best time to come for this workshop. Babies are welcome; however, we regret that husbands will not be allowed as there will be practical demonstrations.

Seats are limited, so register early!

Date: 19th June 2010

Venue: Amaryllis Ville, Newton Road

Time: 2pm ~ 3.30pm

To register, click http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/workshop-fee.html

I need help here. Can please recommend caterer for my baby full month party. It is to be held on this sat and I still haven't decide on one. neo garden seem to be popular choice but is there any other caterter aprt from neo garden. Thank you!

finally got a laptop to use then can log in to post. can't believe that i'm so suay loh, got 3 laptop at home and all are down. now using fil's one.

syzygy6,

how much bm to store depends on how much baby is taking and how much you can produce when you go back to work loh. as baby grows, definitely their intake will be more. when you are going back to work, whether you have time to pump and if your supply meets baby's intake does play a part in how much to store.

most cases, as we go back to work our supply will drop a bit or a lot depend on stress level and if you have the time to regularly pump like now. so to prepare for all these, some mummies started to store as soon as they can. you must also be prepare that in case, you really can't tbf then be open to give fm so as not to stress yourself over supply issue which end up causing it to drop further.

Hi Cass,

I used Chilli padi that serves nonya buffet. V nice curry, Mee siam and otak. U can consider.

Hi Innocent Devil,

Freshly pumped milk can last 4hrs at room temp. Any longer and u need to keep in a cold pack. U can go to Daiso to buy those reuseable ice packs (small size one) and pack them in a thermo bag.

Tell u all a 'smelly' story that happened on last sat. I went shopping w bb and hb and maid at marina square. It was time for my pumping session so I went to the nursing room to do so. In less than 5mins, I ran out with my nursing cover and freestyle pump still attached to my boobs!!! I was in this nursing room that was WARM and both dustbins in the room was OVERFLOWING with used diapers. Can you imagine the smell????? I sit there and tried to breathe thru my mouth, but really buah tahan liao, so used nursing cover to cover myself and ran out and rushed to the ladies toilet which was MUCH cleaner than the nursing room. Yucky!!!!

Hi Celia,

Hmm... it is a tricky question. If you say u are single, then u cannot explain your future disappearing acts over your darling son? Any ladies here who works in HR can advise Celia?

Hmm... regarding pay, if you think it is abit low, perhaps u can still go for other interviews while u still have time? Or does this job has future pay rise opportunity in terms of promotion or v attractive year-end bonuses?

ruru,

thanks for your info ;)

noted & will go to buy those reuseable ice pack & thermo bag .

Celia,

Although im not from HR but i agreed with what ruru said..it's better to tell the truth so in the future if you need to take leave to take care of your son ,u don't have to crack your head to think of excuses .