(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

FYI, OG got 20% on normal priced items when pay with AMEX card. I grabbed few items for bb and thomas train for #1. He is happily playing himself while I can take a nap. Worth ah ... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

1sttimepapa (1sttimepapa)

I feed my boy 2hrly during day & nite but if nite he didnt scream for milk I wont give him. That is within his 1 mth.. now 1 plus mth liao more stable seems now become 3 hrly.. all feeds I give 120ml 4 scoops ( 3rd wk old ) + 2 direct latch as tea break n supper.

Seems he a bit overfed but he nv enough, every after finished drinking abt another 1 hr plus his mouth alrdy start searching so I giv him pacifier.

he is 6 wks4 days old n now weight 6.2kg.

I was worry to let people look after him when I work, dun think people wil b hardworking n wake up to feed him n change diapers. I dun wan him to cry until no voice n full of diaper rash..

Sigh,,heart pain

Celia, i guess we have to work hard when bb is young for small interval of feeding as they are still small.

Understand from friend that when they grow older (not sure how many mths? their regular interval for feeding will be longer...

1sttimepapa (1sttimepapa)

yes, now stil young dun wan him to be ill-treat.

my niece when young nv feed properly, no matter wat people take care it wont be as good as we parents to look after ourselves.

My sis sacked the maid n take care of her daughter herself, she gave my niece supplement when she in pri sch cos when stil young dare not let her take so all along very skinny n little appetite and also she sick easily.

We have to build a good base for bb so that its easier to take care n good for their health too.

if I can be a SAHM I wil be so happy.

Any mummies staying near BB driving centre, dun mind shun bian help me take care of BB. I wil be most happy... cos I feel all mums here r very much better then I source anyone outside. Also mummies here have babies so they can take care of theirs too.. seem good to be as an idea huh.. but then it wil be a divert of attention to own baby n tong bang baby. lesser attention or not priotise bah.. I wont like aunties or those alrdy up to age people to take care, slow in reaction and if accidentally fall a word sorry wil be too late.

everyone of us are napping. i just wake up and baby just stir. feeding her now, #1 and hubby still napping. its so shiok.

charismama,

i buy it from a site online. can't remember liao. the brand is EF, 100 litres one. if my memory didn't fail me, its $280.

For those mommy giving BF and FM. How many times do you latch n pump?

My wife think latch n pump together waste a lot of time. This is especially latching can take more than 45min-1 hr when bb fall asleep...a lot of time wasted n not enough time to rest.

My baby has quite a big patch of heat rash around the neck. Any thing i can apply to get rid of the rash? It's like lumpy lumpy patches..

well u can exclusively pump. Then u would hv lost the bond. New borns will latch long. What u are doing is preparing bb for going out unless u dont plan to bf long.

If bb dont get latch there will be less mum and bb bonding. And if u plan to go out with bb and bf long. U will hv to bring out a huge bag of ebm ice pack cup hot water flask pump bottles to contain pump. Tt if bb doesnt know or forgot to latch.

Its really what u want eventually.

Some mums only want bf during ml. Some want to bf longer.

So really depending what parents want for bb and themsleves. Hb cannot for wife to bf wo supporting her. While wife cannot insist on bfing long wo hb help too.

Communicate and ask yrselfs what u want eventually and work toward tt. Of course targets can be reviewed from time to time depending on how things progress and if there is ang changes at work or with bb as well.

1st time pa

best if u can latch both sides 15-20 mins each then that session dont hv to pump considered pumped. Unless u trying to increase ss. Then bo bian after latch pump 10-15mins ocassionally. If tired skip is ok de.

Thanxs vic ma. It make sense.

I think the thought of bb cannot feed enouugh and top-up just make all the timings for feeding upside down n no time for wife to rest that stress her out totally.

its all abt balancing expectations from ourselves too. My 1st 2 weeks i told myslef pump less rest more cos my c sect wound hurt alot running round cos of jaundice hospitalisation and polyclinic checkups.

My hb got me a new arm swivle chair to pump so its less painful sitting long. I also use this chair to latch.

If u can ask yr wife practise lie side by side latch. She has to lie face bb initially cos they ar still small. At lease that way she can rest more.

That chair we went to a few vhive tested so many then we decided together. End of the day it will be his study table chair.

Not askinng u to run out but new chair now. But explore possibilities. An extra pillow or what to help yr wife feel more comfy. Tv remotes nearby or what to make th 45 mins of latch pass like a breeze.

sometimes i feed ebm or fm. My hb or maid wll do it so that i can do my 30 mins pump in peace.

I also purposely let my maid feed day time if possible except morning and evening i latch. Cos i going back to work next mth le so good to let bb get the hang of the eventual routine.

Last itme i yaya latch all the time lazy wash bottles mah. Wah when i was abt to go bk to wk. My girl had to relearn the bottle and fought and cried for me whiel i hide in my room and my maid bottle feed. It was so heartmbreaking.

1sttimepapa,

talk to your wife and decide what you all want. for me, i won't latch more than 30 mins which means max 15 mins each side. if baby is still not happy after the 30 mins, i top up with some ebm by bottle. then i pump another 10 mins or so, if lazy will skip this pump.

when i only pump, i got a double pump and spend 15-20 mins pumping only. cos eventually when i go back to work, i can't spend long hours away from my desk to pump right. so spending 15 mins to pump is good enough and i keep to this kind of timing.

now i latch in the morning or evening, once a day only or max twice. the rest i pump and bottle feed cos its faster and i can rest more in a way.

when i go back to work, it will be exclusively on pump no more latching.

as for going out, be in now or future i bottle feed baby with fm. so my fm is for going out purpose. i do latch in the car too when we are on the road. i'm also lazy to bring pump out so before i go back to work officialy, going out with baby is always chop chop. i pump before i go out then back in 3-4 hours for the next pump when i reach home. when i'm back at work when baby is about 2 months+ old, i will stretch my pump hours from 3 hour to 4/5 hours. by then your breast will also slowly adjust according to this. then going out when baby is older can be longer loh.

my baby bag is very simple one:

1. 3 diapers

2. small pack baby wipes

3. 1 milk bottle (with some room temp water)

4. 1 fm container

5. 1 thermal flask (500ml)

6. 1 set of baby clothes (when baby is more than 6 months old, i don't bring liao)

7. snacks for baby (when they start solid)

8. lunch box (when they start solid)

i brought bb to united sq just now n bought him clothes for his full mth on 30th n i also finally got e carrier! Went to baby slings n carriers shop at square 2.. Friendly staff n i spent almost half an hr talkin to her! She told me which carrier would be best for bb n i was deciding between manduca n sleepy wrap since i dont like slings n pouches.. So i tried on e sleepy wrap with bb in it n he looked so comfortable! I walked ard e shop n i felt comfortable wearing it too so i bought it!

Re: avent bottle

i changed to pigeon bottle few days ago cos i always had a prob with e avent teat.. Would leak at times even aft i check if it's properly closed!

HJ (jingzjingz) can you please tell me how u manage to keep so much milk?

My bb consume 100ml of ebm each feed & now im running out of milk for her.

I was wondering how u can do it?

It's amazing that you can store so much milk & at the same time feed yr bb..

Hi mrsm, Me also finally got a stroller for my girl at causeway point today. Got a Capella at $238 from Metro. Decided to get a cheap one and when she outgrow it she can use kor kor stroller (by than he should not be using stroller anymore..).

I also went to united square today as my son need to go for his music class. Felt so tiring being out for more than 4 hours.. sleepy. Baby also tired. Latch on during those period but when she's back, she drank 3 bottles of EBM (each 100ml) with 1 hr interval. Final bottle at 5pm. Now sleep already.. I think she probably wake up at around 11pm tonight since she had her last feeding so early...

innocent devil ... i think the need to up supply so that u have excess to store. taking oats helps i think and eating healthy and drinking plenty of fluids. when i drink less, my supply will drop. 3 hrly i can get about 150ml. So baby takes about 120ml and hence there will be extra. Must be diligent in pumping as well and hence maintain supply.

one thing i notice is that when i pump 3 hrly i get 150ml. if I pump 4hrly i get about 180ml and if i pump 5hrly i get about 220ml. So if i am diligent and pump 3hrly, i will yield much more. i think the breast have a max capacity of storage. so try your best to pump regularly.

i am taking 1 tablet gnc fenugreek a day. it kinda helps to boost supply too but make sure your supply is stable before taking ... cos if not might get engorgement.

Hi HJ,

Thanks for your info.

I did not pump regularly.

During the day, i only can get 60 to 80ml if i pump 3hr [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] so sad..

Everyday I'm trying to have fish for lunch & dinner & hope that it will helps to boost my milk flow..I really envy that you could have 150ml every 3hrs.That's amazing..

I will try to pump every 3hrs & drink more water & see how...Im also trying to boil papaya & fish soup.I heard that it helps to increase milk flow too..but dun know it is true..

Mrsm,

the sleepy wrap looks good! Do give your feedback after you've used it a few more times [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] can it be used to carry 3 week old in upright position facing us?

Seems like most people pump for 15 to 30 mins.

I sometimes pump for pne hour plus cos I read somewhere that need to empty the breast. Is there any problem with that?

Hi 1sttimepapa,

I understand your wife's internal struggle as I went thru the same thoughts in my head b4 deciding to pump and give EBM thru bottle feed.

My bb gal can latch for 1hr and won't be satisfied and she is also v impatient and will cry and struggle at the breast during the 1hr period. In the end, after 1hr, I still hv to top up with EBM/FM and spend another 15mins pumping (not to mention washing and sterilizing the pump parts!!!!)

very upset and super no mood liao. my net book spoilt liao. lucky got office laptop at home can temp used.

i think it must be #1 who accidentally step on it to cause the screen to crack. not sure if real crack cos when i on it, seems like got crack line on the screen but when touch don't have. super upset. don't know to be angry with him or myself. i was pretending to sleep, he walk around my room and don't know what he do to the net book which i always put on the floor now so that i can surf net when i pump. when he finally sleep or when i wake up, the net book is gone liao.

hope i don't have to spend much $$ servicing it.

Hi KDD,

During the 1hr pumping, is milk constantly dripping down? For my case, after about 20mins, there is no more dripping so I stop.

Hi Celynlee,

Don't angry, ur C#1 don't mean it lah. My cats like to jump and sleep on my open netbook too. My cat also likes to chew on the power cable, my iPhone charger cable almost ganna bitten thru by her.

Syz,

3wks old also can cos it's even suitable for premature babies! I tried with my boy in e upright position n he felt so syiok till he dozed off! Hehe looked so cute in it! Dun worry, i'll post a review once i use it for a longer period.. I suggest u go dwn to e store n try too.. E staff very nice, nt pushy so u wont feel obligated to buy one. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hj

u so right abt pumping regularily. I pump 3 hrly i get 150-180ml. 5 hrly 250ml there abts. And the pain of a long stretch. pays to be regular and hard wking. But the more than 250ml feels good la like alot hor. But add up for the day could be less.

I am latching 6am-12pm think 3 times. Then evening 1-2 times. So daily latch 4-5 times. Increased from previous 2-3 times a day. Managed to maintain pump pdn volume still. So ss is still on the increase.

vic,

u mean u will wake up in the middle of the nite to pump too?usually i sleep throughout the nite & will pump only when i wake up..hmmm...is it bcoz of that affect my milk flow??

celyn,

oh dear. netbk cracked and cannot on anymore?

rurucat,

usually the flow will slow down, but breasts will still have ss cos if I message, the flow will increase.

So I really dun know if I should stick to 15 - 30 min or should keep pumping till breasts fully emptied till cannot pump any meaningful amount anymore. Not sure if my previous way of pumping is harmful or not lor..

Office laptop also siao liao. Sigh.... There is this alarm thing when i on it. Still ok at 12am leh. Really not my day leh. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

HJ,

Your supply is really good! Like Innocent Devil, I need to increase my SS fast! Now only can yield 80-120ml per pump session. My baby feeds on demand and usually he feeds every 1.5hrs to 2hrs. Do you latch your baby very often?

Btw, regarding Fenugreek.. it states that only consumption of more than 3500mg per day can help boost supply so that'll be like at least 6 tablets a day. I believe its the fluid that you intake per day which actually helps with your SS.

been MIA the past few days... my gal dun wanna slp at night now how??? im now still carrying her... feed her fm liao still cannot... she like wanna suckle at my breasts around the clock... now she just dozed off at my breasts but i cant put her down yet... she will know or most of the times she will wake up in 5-10 min time n start looking for my nipple, if not there she will cry again... y like that? how to solve?

HJ...u gt a gd moo-moo ss there!!

celyn..yr netbk still under warranty??? probably C1 does nt understand the impact made lah...cool dwn.

woofy

ya i got swaddled her... chnaged her n did all i can... but she still like that... been like this for past few nights liao... i dun have time to rest/surf net or even pump lor... but today i got sneaked out a couple of hrs to go to the knitting shop to learn the booties which i bought the material b4 delivery... luckily i got my mom to help me look after bb...

now my gal aslp liao... finally... im now pumping... feels so gulity n stressed tt i din pump past 2-3 days.. but i got latched my gal as many times n as long as possible lah.. only when i really tired n cannot have her permanantly attched to me or when she latched on super long liao n still seem hungry then i give her fm... will latching be more effective than pumping in increasing my milk ss???

gbh..latching helps to stimulate yr ss i tink...sorta telling the brain to start producing milk as bb suckles.

some mummies take fenugreek / mother's milk to increase the ss...but provided ss is aldy stable.

Tink u gotta pump regularly to slowly build up the ss..im also doing the same...hate it when i gotta go out for long hrs...i like to pump in the comfort of my own place which helps me a lot in pumping...can feel the engorgement setting in at times which is no gd in the long run.

maddie,

re bumwear

my gal has a knack for peeing/pooing when changing so i usually prepare the disposable diaper like opening it n placing it on her cot b4 i open her dirty diaper... then i quickly clean her with wet wipes/water/tissues then quickly place clean diaper underneath her butt n wrap her up..

so u change the insert each time but use the soiled outside diaper n ur bb will wait while u do that lah? i tot of another way is to prepare b4 hand a clean outside diaper with insert then chnage everything... then the current dirty one, i will just chnage the insert n leave the outside diaper somewhere then next round of chnage i will swop over... but like this sounds a bit gross leh...

Woofy,

Invest in a manual pump ;) I bring my pigeon Manual pump whenever I need to go out cause I can't stand engorgement and I don't want to miss any pump sessions. I'll be getting Sacred Tea for Nursing mothers cause my friends whom have been taking it swear by the effects. Most of them after taking this tea had their SS increase by almost double! They said increase at least 2 -3oz and can continue to increase if you keep taking the tea.

my ss has really dropped to pathetic lvls! just 20ml after 30 min of normal pumping!!! y like that???!!! i alrdy latch my gal as much as possible liao??? is there someting i have done wrongly that my ss nvr increase???

Woofy,

They are about the same but from what I read, Sacred Tea is more effective. From the estimonials and review plus my friends, it seems that most of them were taking milk tea then switch to Sacred Tea for immediate and better effects. Let's just put it this way.. I think Milk Tea works for mom whose supply are already established while Sacred Tea are mostly used by mom who have Chronic Low Milk supply - Meaning these mom, no matter how they latch and pump, they can't increase SS so they need Sacred Tea to boost their supply and it works very well for them so I believe which is why normal moms like us who take this tea will get even better results.

Oh and to add, Sacred Tea is good cause it helps to get rid of gas, relieve constipation in both Mom and Baby. Proven!

I'm still taking Milk Tea but not diligently lah. Haven't tried Sacred Tea yet but now desperate to up SS so that I can burst my fridge with my BM lah so trying all ways! I even bought Fenugreek but after taking it, I see a slight drop in SS - Weird right! Don't know if its fenugreek that causes it or was it because i was bleeding again which causes it so I'm going to take fenugreek

to see.

I was looking at the calendar and realised that I'm left with 2 months and I desperately need to have storage of my BM. DH dont like the idea of FM so I've not given any so now I abit gan chiong to freeze more. Imagine I only got 3 packets frozen nia..