(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

mummies who r in f/b..where can i find the groups that i joined eg SMH apr etc? seems like the info mia-ed or i cannot find.

hmm i also think so .. cause the instructions on start from 1 mth... hai~~~

CL is "over-feeding" my son cause he seems to want to "suck" for comfort ... told her not to feed but she keep doing it until i also duno what to do now... try to latch him as much as i can and comfort ..

Any advise?

Woof,

my mil bought nt me.. I think those chinese medicine shop shld hav..

Im in a bad mood now.. Hubs told me yest that he'd bring me out tonite once he's back frm work n mil would look aft bb.. I tried on clothes this aftnn n prepared what i wanted to wear alr.. Then he came hm lookin tired n just brought me dwnstairs to rent dvd n buy mac! Said he'll bring bb n me out shoppg tmr instead.. So pissed off! I hate it when he does this!! I even msged him this aftnn n told him i prepared my clothes alr yet he didnt say that he doesnt feel like goin out! I didnt even ask him to bring me out, he was e one who suddenly came up with e plan.. Argghhhhh!!

Tmr i wanna go paragon n shop for bb n mayb novena to buy bb carrier.. Dunno he'll really bring me there or nt.. Wait sure say sunday heavy traffic la, orchard crowded la what la.. Now ask me eat mac also no appetite alr!!

thks zz.

Mrsm,

Fitti jus like Dryers good on saving for morning use onli, I dun find it good for nite use.

Adak,

Use ru yi oil, my boy a lot of wind, I use tat every after bath n before bed sometimes midniite or afternoon I also very hardworking n apply. All the wind come out as fart now he seldom fart liao. I cn understand Hw u feel when ur bb got wind and unable to slp well.

Take note of the way u feed him dun let him 'drink' wind, those bubbles in bottle also dun let him finish sometimes nite time feed we might b eye closing n didn't see... hmm 1 more thing believe most mummies hav a bottle of plain water after each feed for bb, if cold liao also dun drink make some effort to change. I did all tis n follow now my bb better, initially I Duno wat happen n he keep crying I give pacifier, apply rash cream carry him everything no use.

Lucida: I am interested in the PISA. I got the freestyle but it doesn't seem to clear my milk completely so I end up with lumpy breasts quite often. According to TMC parentcraft that is a problem common to the Freestyle [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif] Let me discuss with my HB and get back to you.

Diapers: Am sticking with pampers. The other brands that were gifted to us don't seem as suitable.

Thks celia, shall giv fitti a try then..

Anyone knws of a shop in orchard which sells carriers like ergo n beco? I only knw of e shop in square 2..

kdd

i was doing 30mins pumps 4-6 times a day. But if i am in a hurry like bb cry and i got no help, then i put 15-20 mins. But most of the time i try to do 30mins at least 5 times a day.

Its hw long during each pump session plus the number of pumps a day both can help i believe.

Hi Ming and KDD,

I uses the freestyle and loves it's lightweight and portability. I usually pump around 20mins directly on 'good' days, ie breast is co-operative and I hv 2-3 letdown within the 20mins range. On 'bad' days, my breasts seem to dry up after 10mins of pumping and I will rest for 1-2mins, then do singular pump on each breast for 5mins each, hoping for a letdown.

I pump for 30min using freestyle & Pisa.. My trick is switch back to phase 1 every 10 Min to have more letdown. So far it help well on me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

moo moo

going to zz liao.

My girl was down w fever sat morn while we were busy getting ready for full mth celebrations. Temp went down le just checked hope it stays tt way. I think she caught a chill from the aircon.

my hb didnt know i gave butt insert to bring down fever. i told him what he tot. she wont drink the spiked juices we gave her. so i had no choice. else i wont be able to go thru the full mth celebrations wo worrying sick.

morning mummies

i use freestyle too ... pump 15 mins 7 times a day. latch 2 times a day. so far so good. yield from freestyle is not bad and really handsfree. only problem is softfit breastshield gets distorted quite easily and needs replacement. going to try changing to personalfit breastshields. hope it gets better.

vic_ma hope your girl is better now ...

Adak,

you can buy gripe water from NTUC. The brand is woodwards. On the bottle it says 1 - 6 months 5ml. I started giving her 2.5ml when she was 2+ weeks old only when she is feeling very uncomfortable. I use the ru yi oil as well.

Pumps work so differently for different people! Sigh, haven't bought my dual electric pump yet and am getting more confused with each passing day reading various feedback about the pumps. Which one to buy??!!

Wa u all pump so much. I pump 3-5 time a day, usually at night and at most once in the day if she doesn't latch both sides. Day time latch on demand since we both mostly at home. Tho is very time consuming cos she can take up to 45 min to latch. Wondering if I shd bottle feed ebm n pump in day as well. I can pump more than i bottle feed her but also reluctant to build up frozen ss due to freezer constraints. Consider to get deep freezer. Anyone got any recommendation?

Maddie,

you still hardworking to pump 3-5 times a day. I don't pump at all. If my bb doesn't drink from both sides during 1 feed, I'll start from the other side for the next feed. Agree that it is very time consuming but I figure this way she will drink what she needs to feel satisfied and I don't have to worry about storage, heating up to correct temp etc... Plus I'm the lazy type who dislikes washing and sterilizing etc...

maddie,

since i'm at home now, i will latch her once in the morning. then bottle feed the rest. cos now i cook for #1, i already started using my chest freezer and fill 20% liao

Maddie, I remember someone posted a link for the drawer type freezer which looked quite good. I think it was HJ. Maybe you pm her to ask?

ask mummies wif boys, my boy poo too much causing redness at the ass area, jus now I apply cream when I flipped his balls wow also red below n a bit rough... Is it skin tear? Is it due to too much poo.

Philips warehouse sale coming up. 28 to 30 May. Two sources - march thread and kiasu parents.com. So if you are looking for avent stuff, can make use of this opportunity.

I'm using freestyle now but I feel it doesn't empty at all. And I actually developed mastitis. In unusual places too according to doc and the masseur. I'm still using it regularly to pump out and twice a way I'll massage to try removing the blockages. The milk I've wasted. Sigh.

Vic ma

I hope the baby's all right now. I'm also always worrying if. Y boy's got fever. He feels warmish to me most of the time after confinement and I'll take his temp, ask hubby to feel etc. And it's normal. Apparently I'm the abnormal one! Now that we are going Perth, I'm worried whether he'll be able to take the flight, the weather and the new environment. Sigh. And i'm praying hard mastitis does come back during the trip. The headaches I've developed were horrible. Double sigh.

Sorry to post so much negative early in the morning. Just need a place to vent out. I've been keeping so much to myself since delivery that I feel like exploding now. Reading the various threads helps so much though. I don't feel like an alien anymore. It gets depressing when someone close asked why I still have tummy 2 days post delivery! And she's a mother of 3. To her, we are supposed to lose all weight immediately! Then these days she kept asking if I have enough milk! Or maybe I don't have. I'm like the lone one insisting on some BM.

yes .. i bought a drawer freezer to store my milk stash. I can take a picture later and try to load it ... i bought it from a clementi shop at about $470?

my boy also takes 45 mins to latch. that's why i decided to latch about 2-3 times in the day and pump the rest and let my hubby or MIL bottle feed him instead. He can finish the whole bottle in less than 10 mins. So that saves alot of time for me to do other things.

celia .. must apply barrier cream to the area underneath his balls area too ... use water and cotton wool to clean instead of wipes. will recover faster.

and also i was using Avent bottles but baby keep gulping air instead cos he doesnt seem to accept the teat well. i changed to NUK recently and it's so much better. what bottles are you mummies using?

Syz, I pump when after 3 hours she only take fr one side. My nei cannot tahan so long. Tho agree if after one hour later she want to feed again then headache.

hj

Thks, wow lau see his ass area I also feel painful wif all the redness, can't stop him from shitting.

anyone wan those plastic container, red cover, for love letters 1, a lot more then 10 all big one. Any mummies make cookies cn get n no need waste money to buy. These containers r all those cookies eat alrdy wash n keep not recycle from other people 1.

hj,

I use pigeon didn't notice its not bpa free for the 1 I bought, n got small pureen bottles for plain water.

Will like to try avent n nuk when he turn 3 mths.

Avent teat no good?

This is the drawer system freezer I'm using ... from Tecno. Regretted not storing my medela bags lying flat ... but laninsoh bags are really good and i store them lying flat. Avent Via storage waste alot of space ... my fridge has 4 drawers and i'm using 3 drawers for storage now. have to build up my store now cos i'm returning back to work part time in June.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3986203.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3986204.jpg]

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3986205.jpg]

i think avent bottles are good but somehow cos its wide neck ... my baby doesnt like to open so wide and always try to "latch" the teat. so he cant take the whole avent teat properly and ends up crying and gulping air.

as for NUK, the teat is smaller in size and i think he likes the teat shape like a mother nipple during latching and so he's more calm. i'm not a fan of bpa free products because i think with proper sterilisation and frequent change of bottles, it is quite safe.

gonna keep my avent bottles and try on him when he's older...

the milk bags are in the range of 120ml to 150ml. I usually store each bag from each pump and i don't mix pumps. i think if you store the milk bags flat lying down, each drawer can store up to 40 bags.

i'm not the cow .. you are still the queen lol! it's very tiring to keep storing ... wonder if i can still keep up to it once i go back to work. thankfully only half days onli and so i can still come back and latch and pump. hope to breastfeed at least 6 mths ... if not longer.

hj,

have you start mixing some fbm to baby's milk now? must try to mix some into his ebm leh cos some babies don't like the taste of fbm. in case, he don't want to drink you are wasting your effort loh. so must let him get use to it now by mixing a bit.

yes actually i feed him 1 feed of FBM everyday. FIFO. He has no issues of taking FBM. Cos now i am using FBM that was stored on 20th April. So slightly less than 1 month old ... thanks for the tip anyway =)

Hi Celia,

With regard to insurance planning for your child, the critical areas to cover first are (a) comprehensive hospitalisation policy, (b) personal accident policy, (c) critical illness coverage and (d) life policy. Endowment/Savings plans will come after protection coverage is done.

i've an essential information pack which you may find useful in looking at what are the areas of coverage required. it also consists of general information on child care costs and education fees in future. have a good read-> http://www.mediafire.com/?wmio1yozfgl

Hi HJ, how much the freezer cost u? I am still thinking whether should I get one.. My freezer is packed, any extra milk, I let c1 drink...

Thanks for posting pix HJ. Posted soon after u and didn't see u post til now. Looks nice n organized. Wa u got so much milk!!

Will discuss with hb whether we have space for it or not. And also whether to spend another $400plus. After stop bf then what u all do with the fridge?

my girl's still running a fever. last nite ok liao. continuing the suppositories. not sure under dosing or not cos she's 15 kg. sian le yang until so fat then sick one time i think will lose 1-2 kg arrgh!

I am seriously considering starting the chest drawer too. i need to buy more plastic trays 1st to facilitate the chest freezer. might not get drawer system since already have the chest deep freezer.

I no time before giving birth cos working long hrs slp also not enough, den after birth Cnnt go out dun even hav time to explore bb stuff. Now after confinement can't go out also no one take care bb, if go out wif bb so many things to bring.

maddie,

chest freezer is cheaper than the drawer type that hj have. mine cost less than $300.

after you stop bf and not using the freezer liao, you can sell it off to other mummies who need it. actually, i intend to sell mine off too. before i can sell it off i realise that i'm preggy again. hahhah..... so keep it till now loh.

vic ma,

i already started using the chest freezer since its sitting there anyway. then won't mix bm with the food in my fridge freezer. i also got tray to put bm before putting them into chest freezer.

hj,

good to know that you have started giving fbm to your baby before i can tip you. i do know of some mummies who keep storing fbm and refuse to give them to their baby unless daily output is not enough. they like to give baby fresh bm instead of fbm. end up having problem feeding fbm cos their baby don't like the taste.

really envious of u mums to have so much excess supply.. now baby is in 3rd week and my supply is super miserable and worse than the 1st week when i was back from hospital.. keep telling myself not to be so stressed up but somehow the supply just keep going down and down.. sigh..

Adak, think CL is lazy. Overfeed him so that bb can sleep longer. Don't give in to her. U're employer, just give her instruction what is right amt.

My CL used to tell me new born no need regular feeding at night. We told her we want to feed new born every 3 hrs. Simply their excuse to sleep more at night. Lucky never listen to her or else bb will be starved to dead!