(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

I have given birth to my gal, Kylie on 30 Mar 2010! with epidural!

Thanks all for the support and guidance during my stay before i gave birth!

Hi 1sttimepapa, I wanted a single room but it's all fully occupied. Even the deluxe room also fully occupied. So I left with no choice but to go double room (which i will be charged a four bedder fee). I thought of upgrading to single room the following day once there's vacancy. However, the next day i decided to just stay in the double room. No point changing as I will be discharge the following day. If i am to upgrade to single room, what they do is to take the single room package and deduct the four-bedder room rate (which is deduct only about $200++ off the single room package).

Like what my mum say, dun waste unnecessary money. Best is go in and come out fast fast.

Hi celynlee, Usually for me after breastfeeding my breast still feels full and i will pump out. The yeild is around 60ml (it's my 7th day after giving birth). Is this normal?? Does it means my baby not sucking enough which is why my breast still feels full? My CL suggest to let baby completely stop sucking before transfer to the second breast cos' it might break her momentum in sucking. However, like what you say, the hospital suggest 15-20mins each side. Not sure what i should do..

Btw, what would be consider as a normal milk supply after 1 week?

1st time papa,

I was told stick to wat you want, since is hospital tat cannot meet your booking, then why must we follow wat they say.

Mind game - they know give birth at that moment galang gabo liao sure wat they say they think we wil just agree. hhaaa

Tat is why I take 4 bedded and was assign to 2 bedded. I was billed for 4 bedded at the end of the day.

Wow lucida, 60 ml is a lot. I am not bf now just complete ebm n each pump is only 20-30ml even tho I pump 2-3 hourly.

Gbh, I totally understand how u feel. Gg thru roughly the same thing. Why don't u express in between feeds? I use warm pack before bf n some breast massage. So far breast feel full but only almost painful when time due for pumpin. After that can use cold pack to relieve pain fr engorgement. Having said that I am very very new at this. Learning something new with each pump.

Havin said that I am quite miserable cos now on top of jaundice, they are also treating her for some infection as she keeps throwing up after each feed. And the tests r all so painful n she now is not allowed to eat n need iv drip. Everytime I think of her only I want to cry.

lucida,

yes, don't suggest to latch on for too long cos baby will doze off while latching. it will end up taking you as human pacifier. did she break the latch herself? if she did, she is taking enough liao. also how many nappies she wet will be a good indicator too. if you break her latch and very soon, she cry to be fed then maybe she is not taking enough. if not, no issue. you can still pump so much means you have good supply leh. i don't even that amount after 7 days

Ha I wet a face cloth. For hot pack I microwave it for 20 sec n put cold pack in fridge which will be cold enough after pump. Realise also that my milk runs out after pump for 10-15 min so don't bother pumping for too long. Initially when I latch her she stop suckin after 5-10 min prob cos my supply not enuf yet. Not sure if pumping longer will help. I pump 15 min or 30 min also same amount.

i went stroller shopping. Hb feels mac quest getting old might want to get a replacement for her. I was thinking tell him what abt she walks but sometimes she wants to sleep end up if he carries her i will hv no help from him with #2.

We looking at the new quests or old quest $279-398, triumph 169-300 and quinny 09 $399 and combi simple model forgot the name $198.

The price range is really very vast the low prices only at places with limited choices and models. So we taking our time la shop around.

with 2 strollers in my small car i think full house which is why we even considering the quinny cos when folded very sleek although its 399.

hi mummies....

woohoo...good news man..so many of us all popping v soon / have popped...CONGRATS!!!!!

Quick qns ....somehow i tink my milk supply seems to be v low...i latch bb on one side for 15 mins each on both breasts...somehow bb dun seem to be drinking enuff....i tired expressing today but only got like 20ml or so after 30mins ...is this normal?

woof

u express immed after u latch or separte time? If immed after u latch should be enough la. But if its 2 hrs after u latch 2 sides 20ml or 40ml maybe need to supplement if u want. Or latch more oftem.

HI mommies ,

Congrats to those who had popped over the month end march till now..

Sorry for the delay on the birth story..

@ 3ish - 4pm i was sitting in office and suddenly i heard a pop sound coming from my bottom and felt the warm discharge. So i went to the loo and check then my panty liner was wet and thought i was just having discharge..then 2nd time i felt the warm discharge again, so i went to my hubby and said that something is coming. So we decided to call the gynae and the nurse asked me to head down to clinic and dun go back..

@5 pm i reached the clinic and nurse put me on ctg for 20mins to monitor the contraction and that was the first time i felt painful contraction but not too painful..it was just a bit of cramping feeling.

@5ish i went in to the room and doctor insert something in to my vaginal and check for dilation and showed me on the screen that my waterbag is leaking. So he allowed me to choose for admission now – i might give birth before 12 or admission at 12, might deliver the next day and also might have to go for c section if the waterbag water level is low.

@6pm decided to stay in hospital and asked my hubby to go back and collect my hospital bag and asked my helper to boil a hard boiled egg along with a bottle of chicken essence.

@@Gynae had told the nurse to give me epidural but i told the nurse, not so soon, i can still withstand the pain.. and she gave me a cup of milo and say that after this cup, no more food is allowed just in case i vomit after epidural.

@7pm Hubby came back with the bag and egg, that was the theory that one of my colleague had taught me one week before i gave birth, she said that i have to peel the hard boiled egg myself and egg the whole thing. Then the delivery would be fast and smooth( like how mother hen pops) So i decided to take the risk and pop the egg and the chicken essence( give me strength to push). Thank god i didn’t had any side effect for the epidural.

@830pm contraction getting more n more intensive.. i tried to ren n ren, when the contraction reaches 120++ thats when i throw in my towel and asked for hapi –idural. After the hapi dural, i was able to respond to my hubby and chatting with the nurses and update on fb and sms.

@930pm Nurse came in and checked, i was already 9cm dilated and immediately called my gynae down and say i am ready for childbirth and ask me to get ready..

@10pm Gynae came and i was ready to push and after 4 sets of 3 pushes, bb was out at 2222pm and the rest is just heaven and relieved! So the whole childbirth experience took me about 4hours ++ =)

Baby came @ 36weeks 3 days and happened to fall on my dad’s 1st year death anniversary. It is surely a date for me to remember and the joy that brings my sorrow away =)

Baby is not too big and she weight 2.7kg and 51cm. And we were discharge on 28th march 2010 Sunday together and went back for check on 30st march 2010 and baby jaundice was measured at 13 and doctor said to review again on Thursday and it went down to 11 ( my mum actually went to medical hall to get herbs to bathe her in yellow water and sun bathing does help)

Hope that it’s not too long a story, well i am glad that i took the egg =P

Well for now, i am just pumping out for her as i do not have the patience to latch her esp when she gets grouchy when she is hungry. So i pump about 50-70ml( the amount of milk actually depends on the intake of food and water) every 3hours. I pump till my nipple sore and sometimes my confinement lady does help me to use the manual pump and it really hurts! But for the health and goods of baby i have to do the job =) i do not know how long this pumping and latching on off will get but i will try and it helps having supportive hubby , family members and friends around to push you on =)

JIayou to all the Moo Moo Mommies =) WE can do it if we believe in our selves =)

May the rest of the mommies waiting to pop have a smooth delivery =)

For the breast milk, it didnt come in till 3rd day and the first attemp only 10ml but the more u pump or latch the flow will comes in..so jiayou.. i do mix formula initally as i m worried that baby does not have enough milk, so do not overstrain yourself and be discourage, the more positive you get, the milk supply will start flowing =)

Siew Ping

I can tell you loud loud - it's NOT true that coconut will cause asthma in newborns. Btw, I took coconuts during my last pregnancy and even have a dog at home.

Asthma is an allergy, like skin allergy, nose allergy, etc. It can be inherited if there is family history. So if both parents have asthma, chances of baby having asthma is increased. But if only one parent has it, then chances of bb having asthma is halved.

Vicma

My SILs and hb prefer me to be the 'good' DIL. That's why if I have any issues with my MIL, I will let my hb and SILs be the bad people.

Xlh, try Vic ma's receipe of power pump. Another way is after latch on just pump, cos like that your brain will send the message to your breasts that bb needs more milk. Then monitor to see if there's any increase for subsequent pump sessions.

gbh

borrow a pump or ask hubby to bring pump over, if baby is having suntan session and cannot be around to latch. My BFg bible from RH says to use warm bath or warm compress for engorgement.

But if you have blocked ducts, I find that using cold compress works better. I usually throw a small towel into a bucket or ice cold water. After drying the towel, I will place the ice-cold towel on the affected areas for a while before massaging the areas with the towel still in place (circular movement). After that I will quickly latch baby so that bb will also help to clear the blocked ducts.

Oh, positioning the baby for blocked ducts is important also. The bb's nose should always be facing the blocked duct area to help remove the milk in the blocked duct.

For mummies who are unsure if you latch the bb correctly, here's a tip. 'nose to nipple, tummy to mummy'. Your baby's nose should be placed directly to face your nipple before the mouth covers the aerole and nipple. Bb's back should be straight and tummy should be directly in front of you.

I am going to get sleepless tonight. Going to admit to hospital at 930am in the morning. Nervous! Pray for me for a smooth and fast delivery and yes, chubby and healthy baby [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] and another yes, shed off most of my weight gain if possible!

Btw, say no chicken essence but fish essence okay? I just realised I forgot to take 1 bottle of chicken essence from my Mom and found Fish essence in my own home so wondering if this can works the same?

Orangey, jiayou!

I have no experience with tonics before birth, but fish essence may backfire cos of the fishy smell and taste. This is just my POV.

hi gbh I also popped on 2nd apr... Im not as brave as u, mine is natural birth with epi...My gal gal 2.5kg... I discharge this afternoon le, if not can go visit u as Im in rm 310...

Im still trying to latch n latch for milk to come... So far latching ok but still no milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]... Although doc and nurses said bb got reserve for few days de, but cant help but to worry...

Today during discharge her weight drop from 2.5kg to 2.3kg... Haiz, milk milk pls come fast fast...

Once again congrats to those mummies who had popped over the last few days ya...

My dear HB best, had been discussing cord blood banking with him for past few weeks dun want to decide... Then decided to sign up with cord life while im in the labour ward, already so painful still got to ans questions from the cord life staff, after delivery doc say got to take 60mls maternal blood but after 5 attempts only manage to get 30 mls... At night they came again for the rest... Sometimes dun knw wat is in man's mind... But nevermind la, its something good for my bb, so its worth...

1sttimepapa, u r such a caring and understanding HB... TMC also offered me to upgrade from single to premier single coz they say no single rm but my HB say if free ok lor...Nothing is free la... But when I was out from labour ward, they say got single rm le...

gbh dun wori too much, your gal is in good hands... My bb got slight jaundice too but was allow to go home, got to bring her to c doc wed to follow up... Yes it is good to have a breast pump with you according to my LC so beside latching, can pump too... My HB went home to bring my pump during my stay in hospital... So far my nipple abit sore le... Is it due to I didnt latch my bb correctly?

My nipples bleds yesterday night after latching my bb. I suspect he did drank abit of my blood.. Do u think it's alright?Should I continue to latch or just exclusive express milk for him?

Hi syzygy6, Yup. I'm having it as a trial now. returning on Wednesday. It's actually quite good - much better than Ameda, not sure though how it compares with Medela. I probably try Medela today at Parentcraft center in TMC as today my baby needs to go there for checkup.

The pump amount is the same as my output from my Avent manual pump. The only trouble, as with any electric pump, is to adjust the speed and strenght according to your needs.

Actually i'm not sure whether i really want or need (hmmm..) to get an electric pump. I'm quite used to my Avent manual pump and it's more portable. I can pump as i walk around in the house also. With electric pump, you have to sit down. I'm not interested with Medela freestyle as i saw some review saying PIS is still the best. Also, I'm not going to have another baby. so wondering if i want to invest in another pump.. some more quite expensive. Hygeia is $599. Medela PIS cheapest i saw from FirstFewYears is also about that price. I have a colleague who survive with Avent manual pump and another friend who hand pump for a year. So now i'm thinking, do i need it???

Oh. I find manual pump more gentle to the nipple as I can adjust the suction as i like. with the electric pump abit more troublesome as you need to free up the other hand and adjust.

But of course, electric pump faster cos' pump both breast together. But I can spare the time right.. hmm..

Oh. One thing i dun like about the Hygeia pump is that the on/off knob is actually the speed knob. Which means that i need to adjust the speed everytime i turn on - so must remember the estimated position.

morning mummies

cottagefry,

yes, you can still continue to bf. no issue in baby taking some of our blood. they won't turn into 'vampire' hahahha.....

lucida,

good that you can get output from manual pump. i can't get a single drop out of manual pump, i must use electric pump. if you want to buy freestyle, maybe can try to get from TLL in the spree section.

Re fish essence, hb brought me some for wound healing cos according to some nus study it supposed to work. Was quite reluctant to take cos don't like fishy thing but after taking found it taste like chicken essence.

Congrats to all mommies who popped n smooth delivery to those who r going to.

Ashley, I regret not asking for my bb to be given supplement earlier as I was so keen on total bf. In the end she was quite dehydrated n it worsen her jaundice.

Cottagefry, the LC at RH doesn't advice bf if there is blood even tho the bf books I read say can. I'm not really sure what I would do either.

Re pump, got the medela Pisa fr the first years at kk n have no regrets so far.

Do we sterilize after each pump? I have been doing that in steam sterilizer but am doing it so often not sure if it will spoil faster. Wondering if can dip In hot water at times.

cottagefry,

a bit of blood ok one de. the sweetness of the BM will more than compensate e salty taste

ashleybb,

get the LC to check your latch... if latch is fine, then tis simply your nipple getting used to bb's suckling.

alamak, you must have wanted to tell the cordlife pple to go away and let you labour properly!!!

bfeedg is part physical (so need enuf rest/water/overall nurition, no stress) and part mind game. take care of the physical part first... then work on your thots....

jts. C2 latched on at 645am today, then i forgot to drink water even though i was mentally telling myself 'got milk one, got milk one' he still kept on sucking for dear life. then i realised ah-oh slap forehead (not literally) nebbe drink water, how to get milk!

so exciting to read wilbb and cottagefry's birth stories. i update mine later... gtg o/wise HB will nag me for hogging the computer

I'm new here. Scheduled to give birth on 14Apr at TMC by Dr. Lawrence Ang by C-sect cos still breech. 2nd daughter. First daughter born on 28Aug07 by c-sect also cos breech.

Thought I want to share a cool site on breastfeeding which has video clips of how a proper latch is supposed to be. www.drjacknewman.com

cottagefry: my #1 drank a bit of my blood too as my nipple were very sore and painful. I tolerated the pain for a few days and just let the baby suckle, my nipple doesn't seem to heal even with the application of BM on them. Finally went to see gynae, who ask me to stop direct suckling for about a week to let the nipples heal. during that time I just do pumping only and let baby feed BM through bottle. During the first few times pumping , the blood also got pump out and into the bottle. I threw away some of the expressed BM, cos I find it gross to give BM+blood to baby (pinkish BM) and I am not sure if store this BM in fridge to feed baby later will have any side effects.

this morning, wake up, got increased discharge with few think threads of red blood in them. Thought maybe it's time. But now no increased discharge now and so far no contractions yet. Anyway, today take leave and will just stay at home and rest in case baby decides to come out later.

morning all!!

i'm finally feeling better now.. not so emotional already after many people console me yesterday.. i shouldn't be pushing myself too hard to breastfeed my baby.. there are always other methods to feed my baby well..

i'm now expressing bm out to feed my baby from bottle.. think also to let my baby rest more and let my nipple rest too.. just now i expressed out the bm, the ebm got some blood, should be ok right???

congrats to those mummies that pop last few days.. and good luck to those popping soon!

i had a lot of BHCs last evening. tmr see gynae will ask her. bb still active...agonising waiting game but i'm not prepared to see bb yet :p

Wow!! Few days only and seems like sooo many mommies popped, popping or going to pop!! CONGRATS to all who have given birth!! What a blessed Easter for all! :D

Orangey, u're fast. Finally ur turn now after the long wait! Jiayou n good luck! Gonna hold bb in ur arms soon...[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lynn, same here..been having stomach cramps n BHCs but my stomach still high high lei...no lightening yet! Which is a good thing for mi coz i also not prepared to see bb yet! hahaha...tink we're the only 'weird' ones hor...

was lying on bed tis morn tinking " wah man, soooo tired. stil gotta work, but at least i can have undisturbed sleep now, next time is diffnt story liao once bb is out" Tink is no work but be unrestful sleep...sigh...

my tummy visibly low already ley and pelvic pain went away for a while and it's now back. ya, i somehow think the time is not now :p

the only thing is have to go to work lo...maybe when my maternity leave starts next mon, i will have different thoughts and hope bb comes out quickly so i dun waste ML :p heheh...ya managed to sleep throughout the night last night! precious precious sleep...

Lynn n SG_SC, same here, experience cramps n BHCs (oso not sure if mine is BHCs) yesterday morning.

Wonder when bb wana come out, feel very xinku already.

SG_SC, mine also still high but ppl commented that you gg to give birth le rite? From what i see in mirror, mine only drop lower abit abit only. But gynae told me on standby mode le. he say bb beta to come out after 38wks as lungs are more developed! this thur checkup, will be the last day for 38wks le.

Lucida,

Thanks for the feedback. How did you get the trial?

Vic Ma,

Tea just came! Your packing skills are superb! You even waterproofed the box! Thanks again [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cottagefry, Piglet08 & Wilbb,

Thanks for sharing your birth stories.

Orangey,

All the best!

Called SCBB this morning.. meeting the coordinator on Wed. Keeping fingers crossed that I don't pop early ;p

was typing my birth story then accidently close the browser.. now got to re-type again.. so here's my birth story:

29 March 2010:

@4+am - water bag burst.. but i didn't hear the pop sound.. only feel water leaking out.. quickly wake my hubby up.. but i forgot to shower 1st.. quickly rush to hospital.. i'm trying to hold the water from leaking..

@5+am - admitted to TMC.. cervix checked, only 1 cm dilated.. given medicine to poo poo.. went to birth room to wait and watch TV.. slight contraction pain only..

@9+am - my covering gynae came (my gynae not in SG).. cervix dilated for 2.5cm.. doctor said to put my on drip to increase my dilation as my water bag already burst.. don't want baby to be affected.. really cannot tahan the pain already.. the pain also from the back.. told the doctor n nurse i want epi.. signed the paper without letting my hubby know (my hubby went back office to clear some work 1st)..

@10+am - pain is so bad.. epi administered.. feel so much better.. hubby came back in time to see me administer the epi.. so that's too late for him to say no.. hahaha.. after that i still can watch TV and joke with my hubby although i still feel slight contraction..

@1+pm - nurse checked my cervix, opened for 6-7cm already.. yeah, means soon i can get ready to push.. was told to let the nurse know if i feel strong pressure down..

@5+pm - can really feel the strong pressure and the urge to push.. nurse came and checked, 9am dilated.. told me to hold..

@6+pm - finally can push.. push for few times, cannot pushed the baby out.. finally the doctor came, assisted with the forceps.. with 2 pushes...

@6.46pm - Baby Amanda came out to this world.. i cried so hard, one because it's really very painful.. the other is because finally baby is out and I feel so relieved!!

after that doctor stiched me up... guess what my epi used up already.. so i can feel the pain when she stiched me.. bear with it lor..

after delivery really feel so relieved and went to my ward room to rest.. somehow feel so energised when went up to ward room.. parents came and i still can chat and laugh with them..

tried BF baby after 2 hours as they told me need to assess the baby and clean up the baby.. i was caught in surprise, the nurse just push the baby to me, see that i latch on my baby then she left.. huh?? how i know whether I latch on correctly?? shouldn't she stayed to help me?? i'm so blur blur, so just used the method Mrs Wong taught in class lor.. till now frankly speaking i don't know whether i latch in correctly then.. anyway nevermind..

so that's my birth story.. i know for sure i'm not as brave to go w/o epi.. but glad i went for natural birth.. at one thought, i still think whether want to ask doc for c-sect instead becos i'm really in pain.. thankfully that i had a very supportive hubby that keep telling me to push and push... giving me all the support i need..

also to add, my baby really know when to come out leh.. 29 march is the 1st day of my maternity leave.. and she really choose to come out that day.. so i didn't waste my maternity leave at all.. hahaha..

serene, my company HR policy dun allow. MC 4 weeks before actual maternity leave considered maternity leave. didnt ask abt hospitalisation leave - forget it la.

juye, i hope my bb as smart as yours :p haha...i target 10th apr for her...haha...hope she received my message...didnt receive msg nvm, mummy still love bb =) *pat pat tummy*