(2010/04) April 2010 mtb

ruru

go read those freebies with visa or master also

sometimes u pay with those cards can get more freebies.

that time i got so much freebies for my korean tour which i never went = it was cancelled cos not enough people tomake the group but the freebies all bagged liao!

mommies,

what would you do if your coming 5 years old wants to stop violin classes after 7 months. he suddenly wants to stop and refuse to attend class.

will you change him to another school and teacher? allow him to stop since he is not interested now. switch him to another instruments, piano?

i was with him most of his violin lesson. i find it very boring. for 7 months, he doesn't play on the violin at all. only learn how to stand and bow. the correct position to hold a violin and the bow. learn the parts of the violin, recognise how the strings should sound for each strings (note).

i don't know how to play an instrument myself. not sure if this is the right method of teaching. have the correct posture and technique before one can play on violin or just play and correct posture and technique as they learn.

celyn,

try medley music school at Safra Toa Payoh. ask for Tr HuiXin for violin. a fren's child is playing now at 4y8mo old.

this stand and bow sounds v boring! YZ is a very patient boy to tahan for 7months.

cellow,

yes, i'm going to try hui xin at safra toa payoh in april. i call them up today and she is currently on maternity leave. leave my contact with them to arrange a class for me.

he has been a good boy though he make noise about the class, he will still go and concentrate and do whatever for 15 mins on bad days. last week, was really bad that he even refuse to hold the violin. i have to call the class off after 5 mins. violin is what he asked for, so i didn't expect him to tell me he wants to stop. we as adult are sad that he wants to stop.

celyn.. my boy is in baby class at mandeville music school in united sq. Part of the class include exploration of instruments and he has been introduced and held a violin and cello already. Now he see violin he already knows that they must use the chin to hold the violin. I see alot kids enjoying their violin lessons there. U might want to check it out? They also teach bowing but maybe just for 5 mins. I find the teachers there v passionate and kids friendly.

hj,

thanks. i'm looking around to see where to send him. hopefully, it will be the one and only change. i have contact for private class recommended by another friend. her son is also learning violin and start later then mine. phobia now, don't know how to choose for him. very scare we will kill his interest further by changing him and the teacher and him don't have chemistry.

Hi Celyn,

Woah, the hairbrush is special?

I bought the universal studio annual pass over the weekend and enjoyed ourselves immensely! Surprisingly my #2 at 16mths enjoyed himself more than his nearly 3 years old jiejie who proclaimed herself scared at almost every ride but proceeded to say she wanted to ride on the junior roller coaster!

q100

http://list.qoo10.sg/item/BOSSNOTIN-COM-SCALP-MASSAGE-HAIR/408420305

this is not cheap i bot mine from this forum BPs for under $5. you might want to check there.

"hehe mama shop really know what u talking about right?"

its those sprees that sell alot of stuff kind (not sure now cos i know now they limit you to sell similar items within the same thread but it used to be the BPs that sell bb creams, shills skincare, slimming inside clothings, massage gadgets, facial gadgets, etc i call CHA PA LANG BP) i think i bot mine for $3.90 before postage but saw it went as low as $2.90 before in Q0010 you might want to chance Qoo10 having sales lo.

ruru

its cheap & good. i used few yrs liao still using.

good when you have alot of hair or long hair to comb out for volume or just brushing lor.

i been looking for replacement for my brushes i wonder if we wash regularily with old toothbrush is there still a certain hygiene timing we should throw the brush? think can use forever as long as clean hor?

i might want a volume one & actually tempted to get a crinkle crimper to crimp roots of the hair to give hair more vol. but i haven bot cos i think the crimper might become a white elephant lolz

vic ma,

thanks. mine was bought from bp back then too. then those little dot at the tip dropped off. time to change new brush.

vic ma,

you are a good mama shop.

ruru cat,

is it fun for the kids? yu xi tell me she wants to go see elmo, hug elmo. did you see elmo there?

Hi Celyn,

No, I only sat on the sesame street ride, never saw any characters. I called to enquire about breakfast with Elmo. It is $35/pax (adult) for buffet breakfast from 9-10.30am every sat. Below 4 years old is foc. Only 4 characters will be around during the breakfast. Not sure want to go anot.

i actually have sesame street phobia. i dunno how if the kids get crazy & want the soft toys & all.

this mommy will not go into their room after they get it.

hb & i go all out to NOT expose them to sesame street at all.

vic ma,

hahhahaa..... i have a elmo tickle me at home. it was a gift for yu ze's first birthday. its spoilt now but they still love it. yu xi everyday tell me elmo is sick, elmo is hot, need to cover elmo with her jacket.

however, they are not expose to sesame street as in the show. only that elmo and knows who are the characters. no dvd and show on sesame street

i actually developed a fear in adulthood - muppets, electric company & also of such characters appear again in Sesame street.

but hopefully as i grow more as a mother i might accept it again la.

I mainly hate the crocket noise saxaphone player & the chinese looking no eyes Laboratory white robes assistant with no eyes.

those 2 i really buay tahan.

for those of u who want to buy kumon workbooks

i feel acmamall is cheaper than open trolley.

book depository is cheaper too but a big pain the arse as the delivery is hell long now maybe 1 month.

open trolley has improved to around 1+ week, while acma i bot not often on & off takes around 2-3 weeks too as i think they dispatch from Malaysia.

Managed to get my gal to cold turkey on her pacifier last week and finally she managed to kicked her addiction and can sleep thru the night without it. Hurray!

Hi Celyn,

Thanks! All that is left to train my gal is her night peeing and actually she is ready but I am too lazy to do it!

I realized how receptive my gal is towards training but my son is totally different, still not talking yet. Haiz...

morning mommies

ruru cat,

yu xi is toilet train in cc but refuse to go toilet at home. i'm waiting for her 3rd birthday to force her off diaper at home just like gor gor.

thos who have gone to HK disney can i ask there is 2 hotels .

Disney hollywood hotel seems obvously cheaper but is it farther away or not much diff?

is it better to DIY buy airtickets are there transfers or which airport is nearer disney?

Is 2 days too much? or just nice. I also want some lag time to slow down & rest too. maybe 2 days better hor?

i also want to go into the city 1 day i might ask my uncle to book a hotel room for me to yum cha & meet up.

Hi Vic Ma,

I stayed in the more expensive hotel, v nice room and the best part is the Disney characters will come and take pic w u during the buffet breakfast.

Distance to Disneyland - both hotels must take free shuttle bus there.

2 days pass - is a must! Queues are long, so need 2 days.

No supermarkets, not near town at all. Restaurants in hotel are same price as Singapore. Restaurants/cares/foodcourt in Disney is slightly cheaper.

i was in transit customs ourselves on a hk shenzhen tour.

the didnt bring us thru the customs Wah we nearly died walking thru customs with the queues & idiots keep wanting to touch my unmarried SIL & me "accidentily". i dont know how many people i wanted to YELL at.

Vic ma - we went end oct and perhaps it was the rainy season, but queues were short. [IMG=http://singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] however we needed raincoats each. Not many Chinese tourists then and everything was very orderly. HK Disney is relatively small, so 2 days are definitely more than comfortable (if the queues are reasonable).

I didn't stay at the hotels so can't comment much. We commuted from Kowloon to Disneyland for 2 days by taxi.

ruru

u need to check i think dont need but if they changes regulations now no more instant visa - takes 2 weeks to get malaysian visa for those who need.

Thanks Chlosper

i want to go as jie jie willbe pri 1 next yr then we LL have to go during school holidays only not good lor.

& also heard that HK disney really for kids only - not even teenagers but children. so better go before i get YAWNS from the kids & bigger ones from myself