(2010/02) February 2010 mtb

angel/ whoofy--> as for bird nest, i also took it once a week. i took the ready bottle form Yu ean sang as well. once a mth i will cook those raw type. this once a week should b ok ba.

apple: i called mdm ida n she told me the same too hence she intro her sis Mariam 98518783 n also mentioned that she trained her sis Mariam first then Masita. But Mariam focus on the east area. maybe u can call her n check? she charges the same $50 for 1.5hr

Angel: thanks. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] ya lo.. i wont do anything to my hair anymore. am already feeling bad.

Good pm mummies! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tink i'm addicted to tiz web/ u gals .. haha

guess the rest many go the cordlife seminar

btw wanna share on cordblood thingy ~ SIN haf 2 cord banks - - cordlife & stemcord.

heard from my gynea got say stemcord better cos bigger sort of.. anyway i went to stemcord yest (since their office juz downstairs of glen e medical centre). they having promo oso: $980 for 1st time regtistration. Thereafter same lah--annual fee, $250 (all excl gst)

not bad they can let u deduct all thru bb CDA a/c, after u open the a/c lor.

wonder cordlife got tiz payment mode? maybe should haf 2. deduct our own bank giro/ credit card annually like quite shiong wor~ :p

they have 2 bags to store u bb cord blood, 1 put in science park1, the other park2. to play safe sort of & to thaw 1 bag only if u need 1 bag in the future.

the lady got explain on smtg like if next time need bone marrow transplant , or related diseases & to find donor, searching alone can cost up to $20k+++

( in a way if we have our own cordbanking, can save such )

touchwood if all healthy (bb/ ownself/ siblings) the cord blood $$ annually juz to pay to 'playsafe' lah

in addition I simple calculate backwards on the fee which u use on searching for suitable donors (20k divide by $250 (juz annual fee alone lah), can last 80yrs.

So the 'searching fee' - 20k is still more exp den I pay annually alone (which I wun live till so long-80yrs & cordblood maynot be fresh liao .. haha)

btw storing cordblood juz 1 fee, another fee if next time I really need to take out & do surgery blabla testing if suit me, its another fee which need to find insurance plan if got cover such fees lor.

stemcord have related to Manulife financial (a plan call stemshield), also annual fee $250..

but I'll discuss with my bro( aia agent) if the bb insurance or wateven plan got cover oso lor.

nowawadaes so many cancers & diesease like kiasee, buy tiz & tat to 'playsafe' .. all needs... $$!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

btw stemcord have 'mothers-get-together seminar talk on cordblood. last session of 2009 will be held at Mt E, 28 Nov 1.30pm to 4.30pm.

(program:

1.30-2pm: registration/ opening

2- 3.15pm: presentation by medical experts-common newborn & infant conditions, storing cord blood

3.15-3.45pm: interactive session with hospital nurses: journey of birth, pain relief options, baby bonding with daddy, post natal care, breastfeeding

4-4.30pm: hospital maternity tour

fee: $5/head, $8per couple, incl goodie bags, refreshments

hmm.. if any of u interested i dun mind go look c look c,after tat maybe we can have dinner at orchard road, since Mt E juz behing the Rolex bldg ;)

hehe

I dun mind the Mt E tour 30mins, although I dun plan to deliver there lah.. kpo c their high class suites/ service.. :D

apple> juz now i call to reconfirm my massage lady, Rohaini, she still got space to accept pple leh.. u may wanna try her 97507312

yvonne, woofy> my colleague advice me that breastpump by 2 better, cos if 1, sometimes u pump, the other breast will leak milk wor~~~ anway 2 can save time oso lah

but u gals getting so early ah?

hmm... i intend buy after birth, 'cos scared no supply & demand situation or too pain I buai tahan put in effort :p

if really have milk, at most tell hubby/sis go buy for me faster (although may not be cheaper den online spree lah)

apple> oh fyi, Rohaini $40 /hr. use lemon grass oil, rub whole body, wrap tummy.

(birdnest); oh it self is not cooling ah, den muz be the ingredients my MIL put haha..anway i oso got eat ard 1-2 trimestr on the bottle kind, tat kind take 1 scoop & eat & drink with water. easy eating for me, since i so lazy ~ haha

(confinemet food); saw tiz link got a list of menu wor..hehe , maybe some of u interested to know or gyan? if u not hiring CL, can print tiz, tick the dishes u like to eat, get someone cook for u ~~ heehee~~ [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://www.blissconfinement.de.tl/Confinement-Menu.htm

bubblegum: Ya, Mdm Ida also recommend her sister, Mariam. Managed to book her for my post natal massage. As for prenatal massage she only available for january.. I'm still looking for prenatal massage for this two months, any recommendation?

Angel: Did rohaini do prental massage? Is she good?

apple--> mariam is how much? sg50/ 2 hrs? is she good? im also thinking of rohaini which recomended by angel but hers is only 1 hrs. is rohaini good?

Yvonne: Mariam is recommended by Mdm Ida. They charge the same, per session S$50 include massage for your baby too. S$20 for binding cloth (1pc). Each session is about 1.5hr. There are a lot of good reviews on Mdm Ida. But she is fully booked. Maybe you can try your luck calling her, telling your EDD, if she not available, she will recommend her sister or SIL. I think Mdm Ida live in CCK.

apple> prenatal? hmm.. dunno leh.. good Qs. tink i should do prenatal massage haha

back still ache.. sian.

juz called her she got do leh!

haha but normal bb oil. she still free. u can call her, say angel lim rec lor

hehe

but she say after 7mths den she do. me only 6mths + maybe later will try her if back still ache.. buai tahan.. todae recupertaing at home

hehe

yvonne> so far heard from 2 frens using her, quite good. 1 of them say got slimming effect after she do the massage .. haha.. abit kua zhang lah.. the other gf rec her for her sis oso, who they both have 2 kids, both use her twice after birth.

anyway I lazy go find le, so juz take her, oso still within my busget lor ~ heehe~

apple>haha.. ask ur hubby help u liao lor..

mine no use, he scaredhis fat hands hurt me dun wan rub for me.. i rub myself

juz chanced on Jan MTB leh, got 1 mummy found from Sep thread a list:

Mdm Sadiah - 97724579

Mdm Noor - 90048804 [North areas ONLY]

Mdm Khatijah - 98001394

Mdm Mona - 90260085 [$32/hr; 5 days consecutively only]

the Mdm Mona like cheapest.. not bad

hehe

u can call ard trying.

but i still stick to mine .. since book liao [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubblegumz: I did rebonding on my 5th month cos hairdesser didn't want me to do it too early.

Freesia/bb2010: wat a pity I didn't get to see you both today [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Angel: Heard cannot anyhow massage, how it will affect the baby development. As our blood veins is linkage to our baby too. So i dun dare ask my hb to massage shoulder. That why i would need those professional to do prenatal massage.

Helloha!~

Jgal : Ohh.. I thought muz buy the adaptor from the seller. Hahahahah.. Thanks for advising!

Whoofy : Hahahahah.. U decided to buy tommee tippee’s products? I wanted to buy their sterilizer and that it was dirt cheap at $70+ wif 20% discount! But I realize that it microwave kind and not those really rely on electricity type! End up, I bought Avent’s Sterilizer, product code is SCF 274/23. And I bought it at SGD120!!! Cheapest in town!

Bbin : Tempted? It is really cheaper than market coz I haven’t really do my homework on medela’s..

Angel : I find Similac’s taste quite okay and am now drinking. I stay in Kallang and work at Outram. U?

Yvonne : Ohh.. so that’s why it’s better to buy 2! But I keeps on wondering what’s the diff between Medela’s and Avent’s..

Apple : So fast fully booked? Goodness!

Angel : U book Rohaini? U used her before? Is she for post-natal massage?

I just now went to PHILIPS fair and that it really is People Mountain, People OCEAN!!! So so so many ppl was there! Luckily, i manage to buy my Avent's sterilizer! I went ard these past few days and that PHILIPS fair was the cheapest! I wanted to buy their breast pump too and am thinking..

juz woke up from nap... so tired after coming back from the cordlife event...

portia,

yalor... tot of getting to see mummies in tis forum but only freesia... u gg for the steamboat? if yes, another chance to mit!

lovie,

i hv the sample pack too... u wan? work at outram... where in particular?? maybe if got chance i can mit u n pass to u... u interested in other brands also? we exchange our mobile no la..?

perhaps i shd also join the medela spree also... hmm...

Went to the Philips Carnival Sale today at Toa Payoh! Bought lots of Avent stuff for BB.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3213023.jpg]

I'm new to this forum.. I'm expecting twins for my 1st preg..

Please advise why am i getting frequent pain under my breast? i'm suspecting whether will it be my baby head pressing on the bone..

Hi twin_bb_mum,

I've the same problem too... also dunno wat causes it... it oni started these few days as my tummy grows bigger n bigger. Super uncomfortable when wearing bras. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubble: Wow!!! That's alot of purchases! How much did you spent? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi lovie> oh abt the Rohaini, u can read up abit on my 1.24pm post to Yvonne [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

oh u like simlac ah? dun find it hard to dissolve meh?

hehe

oh...i stay at amk, work jurong wor.. den u stay at kallang got go 2 steamboat? maybe i can join u gals? & pass the pkt to u? but only 1 pkt lah.. hee.. ard 2 cups. But ard wat time u gals meeting? is it fri nite or sat nite ah? paiseh.. tink got the last post u all chat was quite far back abit lazy search backwards hehe~~

twin bb mum>> uh u got twins? so exciting!! haha

when edd? maybe quite big tummy now so maybe u feel pain wor. tink u better chk wif ur gynea who can oso scan ur bb position & advice u?

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

bubble,

wow, n u arranged till so nice n took pic... really alot of stuff u bought.... shiok rite? sense of satisfaction... ;)

angel,

the steamboat is on 20/11/09 fri... @ tian fu steamboat... wer u work in jurong? i oso work in jurong lei... can mit for lunch... haha...

i hven source for massage lady... lazy 2 source... tink my coll mentioned abt one tat she felt its gd n comfy... mayb will juz get tat person... see hw it goes...

apple : I lost 2kgs during 1st tri.. now jus manage to gain back tat 2kgs and additional of 300grms only.. Initially I was pretty worried also if bb growing or not... But Dr Wong says it's better for me tis way, seems I'm alreadi big in nature. And maybe bcos I already got a "spare tyre" .. tats why my tummy also not tat big. BB can still turn ard wif my spare tyre.. hahaha

lovie : most likely will be using Tommee bottles lor.. cheap and all BPA free.. As for sterilizer, will be using the multi layer steamer. But I may wanna get the Tommee single bottle warmer.. looks gd and portable. heeheee

Did some read up on Tommee reviews and seems it's pretty good. Also an award winning prdt.. will give it a try bah..

happy_mtb -> ya lor.. when wearing my bra, i feel so uncomfortable..

angemama -> my edd is on 28 feb tummy still ok not that big as alot of ppl say i know how to hide stomach.. i did a scan last month and left baby head is below and right baby head is on the top (below my breast)..

i realised that when you take public transport, nobody will let you sit.. so inconsiderate...

bubble/ lovie--> is the philip sales really cheap? see u gals bought so mnay things? im thinkign og going yest but very lazy. wonder if today still hv products to buy....

Good morning, ladies.

Lovie: Mdm Ida is fully booked, so you want better call her now and confirm. She can recommend her sister to you, which is equally good. At least now i settle the massage lady for my post natal massage. Less one worries. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Angel: Ya, i think i also stick back to my post natal massage lady, will wait Jan then start my prenatal massage. I also eat silamac milk for mummy too, find the taste ok. Hehe.

Bubbles: Wah, you really buy a lot leh..

Whoofy: Oic, that good, as long as baby is fine and healthy. Initially i also worried my baby will be overweight as my tummy suddenly balloon during this week. After my gynae told me is normal weight for baby, i rest my mind.

Oh ya, i bought my mattress for baby, is seahorse brand which can be folded. Yesterday, i went to parkway parade, they have opening sales till today. I bought it with 50% discount. So it is cheap..

Angel: For milk powder, you have to dissolve it in cold water first. Not too much cold water, just enough to dissolve the milk powder. Then add hot water. My colleague taught me this method after I complained to her that the maternal milk powder does not dissolve well.

bubble: That is really a lot of stuff.

Bbin : U mean sample pack for similac mum? U have the voucher too? I work at Keppel Distripark.. I thought of seeing ard 1st for Medela’s before buying coz previously not really seeing any Medela’s..

Bubble : U didn’t buy their breast pumps?

Angel : I’m going for the steambboat! U joining too, right? I find Similac not bad! As for hard to dissolve, u will have to ask my personal maid, HB for his advice. Wahaahhaahahah..

Michelle : Welcome!~ Twins? Wuhoo..

Whoofy : I didn’t know much abt Tommee Tippee until tat day I saw the show on Ch * and I like it as the host says that their teats resemble nipples and that baby will find it better to react to the bottles if u’re breast feeding and then changed him to bottle..

Yvonne : It’s really cheap! Especially for the Sterilizer! I think for the rest of the products too but then, I didn’t really do any research but saw that there’s really a lot of ppl there!

Apple : Haahahahah.. So it’s like a relief off ur shoulder huh! Perhaps will call up later!

Apple : How much u bought the mattress for?

Bel : That’s what im been doing too! Hahahahaah.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

*~* 1 Question *~*

If we buy sterilizer but it doesn't come with any baby warmer. If bb can't finish his milk and that we want to feed him later on. What should we do? Microwave it? Boil it or discard away since bb doesn't want it anymore? Force bb to finish each servings?

good day all mummies!

Just to share with you all what I learnt from the MTB Congress ytd. With regard to TCM, from Raffles medical doctor Jin, from second trimester, good to eat some 'liang' stuff. bird's nest is recommended.coconut water also can drink from time to time until a week or two before birth, even can drink almost everyday.den after birth eat the 're' things.everything got ginger and/or sesame oil in it sure 're' wan anyway.

yellow color foods good for spleen, green color foods good for liver and black color foods good for kidney. For those whose babies still in breech position close to EDD, you can try turning baby with moxabustion at zhiyin point.it's burning a stick at the little toe meridien point.worth trying at least not confirm must do c-section, for those like me who really hope we can go natura.Den to clear your lochia after birth well, you can drink some sheng hua tang生化汤-juz buy from TCM shops. I think i shud go visit TCM to improve my health state of being tired and aching all over also...cos they seem to explain very well how it happens and the solutions are more natural and to the point, much better than western medicine.in the medical industry, we learn that chinese go for the reason in their treatment, western go for the symptoms.she also mention red dates with longan tea is good for us during preg and after delivery so we can start drinking them like water now.

in the talk they also never say cannot eat raw foods... only say eat more cooked foods...lol..my godma also say when she pregnant she ate sashimi once in a while too... but choose the places you eat at for the quality of food.but ok la.. i will try not to eat tho ytd i ate dinner at aquamarine in Marina Mandarin, i stole 1 oyster and 2 pcs sashimi...LOL!but the malaysian buffet promotion and food selection in general is nothing to cry about...tasted most stuff..only ate jap section, a little of seafood on ice and alot of fruits and desserts..boring..but got muachi you can make yourself...LOL...that's quite fun!

Ytd, medela freestyle selling at $748 but din buy.bought gaia bathing essentials 5 in one baby starter kit to try...can try on baby after delivery then in march they having baby fair...if i like den go buy more.also bought photo coffee table book to make after baby's out...quite cool.

baby massage session also quite bemeficial, learnt without paying.and the talk is good for daddies cos the psychiatrist talk to them about taking care of mommies and wad they will face..it's quite real and humorous and they can connect to wad she say so they will listen..hmm... a tiring day but i think worth all the time.as for the cordblood banking, after we pay for the number of years, we got to decide if we want to continue. if yes, den sign again. dunno wad will the rate be for continuation customers... usually cos you're not first time and kinda no choice but to continue you will not get the same good rate as wad you got the first time round.if no den will be donated to them for tests or discarded.after 21 years, ownership transfered to the child. they got to pay for as long as the blood is still going to be kept there.wad will they think?we signed a liability on their behalf for all their life. if they give up, everything's gone.if the blood bank close down, they will transfer the blood to another bank but you got to resign the contract with the other bank.otherwise, either donated to the next bank or discarded. as long as back to this two option, i still think it defeats the whole purpose.so...i need more time to research on this den decide.afterall, there's still bone marrow to fall back on...but anyway, even if i dun bank it private, i'll donate with prayers that as it save lives, my own children will be fine.

lovie: ntuc 3 for 36.95 drypers still there anot? after going to all major departmental and grocery store to have a look, i've concluded it's the best deal. i went carrefour ytd, it's the most exp place for diapers.

robinsons sale and philips still on today?i had to stay in marina mandarin for dinner ytd, din manage to go anywhere else besides suntec after dinner...

huh...why you all noe your baby weight...my doc never mention anything about it last friday...i forgot to ask too..sad..must remember to ask this coming friday...

lovie: if it's me, i'll burp bb den try feeding again. if really dun wan liao den discard the rest den later on,next feeding, make fresh wan.cos newborns better dun drink cold milk.den abit older like few months, not so fragile liao...not so strict lor. anyway as they get use to singapore's weather outside tummy, they'll also feel hot wad...dun think they can tahan hot milk all the time also lor.but no cold chilled drinks laa..lukewarm or room is fine. my niece less than 20+ mths, my sis already feed her warm to room temperature milk liao...

Lovie: Can dip the bottle in hot water, not boiling water. I see my sis doing that last time. She got warmer at home but when she go to my parents' place she will dip in hot water. My niece only drink the milk if warm. If it turns a bit cold, she will not drink. Anyway, discard the milk if it had been too long.

Hunny : For Drypers, my side will have the promo till end of Nov! Can take my own sweet time and buy if i wanted to! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

PHILIPS is still having SALE but it will end at 6pm, today. Am rushing down now! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hunny : I was thinking of discarding too after it's been "out in the open for too long" but well, if it's for 5 - 10mins? Hahahah.. Dilemma..

Bel : Thanks for the advice. Will tell HB so! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

yap, it's quite cheap. think ard 20-30% disc off thir bottles.As for steriziler, i bought it at $120, UP is $199 i think. Express Warmer - $50 & iQ Warmer - $85. Bottles set 125ml (x4) with some freebies selling at $15 & bottles set (260ml x2)with free magic cup - $25 etc...

Total damage less than $400. think my bottles can last me till my bb is 1 yr old! hehehe

nvr get the breast pump as i'll be getting medela swing...

lovie: thanks for info.hopefully my ntuc or woodlands wan also same. Bel is right. dip the bottle in hot water to warm it or keep warm.most traditional way of heating.just like if never buy steriliser, also can cook the bottles.lol..

Bubble : Ohh.. I see.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hunny : U're welcome! As for re-heating the bottles, just have to see how it will be in time to come.. Hahahha.. :p

Babies Home Clothes that i bought cheaply..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3215755.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3215756.jpg][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3215757.jpg]

helo mummies..

oh dear.. I think I may hav tired myself too much from shoppin.. I'm now down wif sore throat and flu !!! Help !! Any self medication tat I can take ? Or it's to the GP ?

Actually yesterday we went to Baby Kingdom..bought the following items :

- Baby Swing Hi-chair @ $170 (RP $170, but the sales girl gave us a discount since we are buying a few things.)

- Spare seat cushion for the hi-chair @ $39.90

- Sleeping cushion w 2inact bolters @ $28.00

- Stroller cushion for the pram @ $15,90

- Mattress for bb cot (wif breathing holes) @ $30.00

Also bought from Baby Boutique at Tampines :

- LuckyBaby Bedding Set w Musical Mobile @ $87.00

After last wkend of shoppin and price comparison.. I realise tat most of the bb items prices are pretty fixed everywhere. However, we can still get 10% discount from Kiddy Palace if we sign up as their members. So long as it's regular items w/o OFFER or NETT..there's discount. So will likely sign up and member ($10/yr) den go buy the Tommee Tippee milk bottles..

now my spare room is startin to fill wif all the bb stuffs.. and we hav yet to clear the bb room.. hhahaa

here's the pic of the Hi chair we bought..

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/3215968.jpg]

lovie,

i've the following:

1) 2x50g similac mum

2) 2x46g anmum materna

3) 4x48g dumex mamil mama

4) 1 abbott discount voucher (save $3 when purchase 700g can of similac mum)

5) 2x voucher [$3 off for purchase of mamil mama (900g) tin]

1st come 1st serve ah... :p

morning mummies..

babymallonline still having 20% discount till 11 nov. Currently we have USD70.. still have USD30 to have free domestic shipping.

Please let me know hor.. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]