(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Hi folks

Am on MC today. Flu! I finally kena. Now A is napping so I can log in for a while. I look forward to napping with her in the afternoon tho (please nap...please nap A).

Re : Having no 2

I don't recall having met anyone who regretted having no 2. It's double the fun (but double the frustration at times. I have morphed into monster mommy countless times). Like Luvbabe said, you'll somehow deal with it one! And it's really nice to see 2 kiddos playing together (and leaving you in peace, lol).

I salute Furby, BBchic for having 3 kids. I so wanna have more too! But wait lah, lemme enjoy lil A first :D

TYL

Your hubby so cute. Gung ho enough to taste FM. Lol.

Bluey

Hope yr girl will get well soon. Sure is tiring taking care of a sick kid. A's nose also very runny. Haiz.

Oh you're allergic to grass? Wow that's the first time I've heard this!

How about sand?

Little Lamb

Omigosh, $78 for a pair of baby shoes? Faint. Top up a bit more can buy 1 kate spade bag for mummy lehh...hehehe

smalldreams>get well soon!

my hubby said don't waste the milk so he finished them up when he can. :p

bluey>We don't always put shoes on ayden when we go out cos we normally carry him as he can't walk properly yet

Hello mummies !

It seems quite a few mummies & bb hv been falling sick ?

Me too as also kena flu & sore throat for the last few days. Was on 1 day MC on wed....;p

My hubby kena first & think he pass it to me.

Hope bb will not kena from me....;p

Take care all mummies & babies !!!

TGIF ! Hope everyone hv a gd wkend ahead !

Look foward to end of next wk as I will be going to TW start of next mth....hooray...finally a break/holiday for me & my hubby !

Tam, thanks, Will take note. Anyway, dun know if I can get to go in June now cos my maid indecisive about going back in June. :p

Yl, never mind, at least it was a cozy family trip with just the three of you. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] good idea, I should ask hubby to drink Raeanne's leftover milk too. :p

Dear mummies, sorry for interrupting.

I have a new Burberry dress for sale. Pls click link to view the pics. Got from those online seller in Facebook. Size is too small for my girl.

If you are keen and sincere in buying, pls PM me. Thank you.

Long time, mummies!

wow so many posts, manage to read some n hands to itchy..must share the 'shoes talk'..i got a pair of clarks at 20% discount at OG before CNY n really really no regrets! My boy practically walk so well n nw he is running! Good investment..luv it so so much.previously those shoes bought at Bata are now left on the shelves..hee..

Ms tan> yah my boy still drink abt 600-750ml milk a day..still 4-5 feeds becos he is still resistant over solids..

he has been coughing for months so i brought him to a new PD..then he was sent to take X-ray n blood tests..3 full tubes..my heart breaks..good thing is no tumour or cancer..suspect asthma..also some virus but not super virus so he has to be on medication from now onwards until he is stable..*weep*

Pauline> to anwser yr last query..i can't remember the comic title but i remember i saw the author drawing abt his wife pregnancy, is he the one?

Tell you all something funny. Remember a couple of days ago or was it yesterday ... I mentioned Nat still cannot stand up on her own from sitting or crawling position. This morning, she finally did it. She had been doing this headstand thing for a long time and I was suspecting it was related to that. So today, she placed her hands on the floor to push her body up and she managed to do it. Ha.

Not via squatting but using her arm power. So cute to watch them learn things in their own way. And ever since she learnt that, my helper and I have been praising her. And she has been deliberatly 'falling' and pushing herself up on her own. It's quite funny. Kids ... they never fail to amuse and amaze us!

smalldreams & lsntyl - I know .... can faint right? so expensive. But it was her first pair of walking shoe, so I figured I splurge a bit on a good pair. And she really walks well in it so I'm glad I bought it. That's why after that, all her shoes were from taobao, never more than sgd20 each pair. Hhahahhahaha.

lamb> yes, they r surprising, every week they will amaze us..mayb Nat will play hide n seek wif u veri veri soon..[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

lamb

so cute hor. Remember to take video.

smalldreams

oh no, its the season of flu. Keep warm with sweater, no fan or aircon, lots of rest (I know it's difficult with 2 around) and water to get well.

mamaD - Actually, Nat can play hide n seek with us already. Except we're the ones hiding. Hhahahaha.

furby - Yah lor, super duper cute. I remember last year, around this time, I was still having issues with her not wanting to sleep on her own, just wanna sleep on my arms. Now, she's so much on her own. Today, went for lunch ... she was playing with the other kids, just went walking on and on, didn't even turn back to look for me at all!!!

Dropping by to say "Hi, everyone!" [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Lamb, nice one by Nat! Watch for the next step - standing fro squat to stand without arms. Just core muscles, just bandhas! The first time Renee did that we happen to catch it on video and the whole family was cheering wildly! haha!

Record it if you can. They only do that for a short while. When they figure it's easier to stand with some support from the arms, they don't do that stunt often. It is like how as we grow older, we stop using the core muscles that we were born with.

c yang - Hey you! Haven't seen you around in a while also. Are you still in Singapore? Or back in Dubai? Yeah, I figured so. DH managed to capture a video of her doing that today. It's cute lah ... Waiting for her to next learn the squat to stand thingy. Hahaha. Sometimes you wonder ... are these instinctive, innate? I mean, where'd they learn how to do such things.

yo mummies,

good morning!!....read the budget..there will be additional $$ into our kiddos CDA account...but no $$ for pro family measurements...

seems like everyone is giving birth & most of my married fren keen to haf 2 kids...dunno why birth rate drop so super low???

anywayz...T3 juz started walking on 5th day of CNY...now he's walking alot...juz saw this "bical shoes" alike from BP....me wanna get 2 pairs...asking the organisers if can get further discount if i order more..

any mummies keen?? coz bical shoes cost $30 if i am not wrong...this is almost the same but only cost $15 each if buy 2..

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5120310.html?1298209773

bbchic,

Hi hi! Nat's walking quite a bit too. Ever since she learnt that she could stand on her own without relying on furnitures, she no longer crawls. Previously, whenever she fell, she had to rely on crawling to furniture to pull herself up. As for birth rate being low, I gave it some thought also and then I realized that really ... it's not easy being a mom, even if it's a FTWM and you have someone at home to help. It does take quite a fair bit of effort to be a mom and not everyone is ready to take the plunge.

Even as a SAHM, I dare say that there are moments where I lose my patience with Nat too. It's only after becoming a mom that made me realize that it takes a lot out of yourself to be a mom. And perhaps a lot of moms of 1 kid realized the reality of it and decided not to have more. HHehehe. It's just this simple. So whether the govt grants more money or not, having babies is very much a personal thing, really not so much for the money.

hi all, haven's logged on for a long time since my trip. seems like forum been quite quiet.

the trip was quite good. mattias managed to sleep more in the night as compared to the previous trip. but maybe coz we open the balcony and did not use air-con. :p

mattias was sleeping a big part of the time as we used the carrier. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

seems like more and more of our babies are walking liaoz. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] mattias started to push things to walk more these few days too. dunno when he'll really walk. :p

kindermusik

anymore ppl?

need 5 more to form another class. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

both 20 & 27 Mar at 2pm...

febie>I can only make it on 20 Mar now. 27 Mar have to celebrate my father-in-law's birthday.

xin>ayden started walking 2 days ago! He really loved his seekairun shoes and started walking with support once we were outside. But he doesn't seem to like walking barefoot. :p

fatbabe> the shoes looks good. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] hb have been telling me to let mattias go barefoot as much as possible.

megan> thanks for the link. u teaching hue wen sign lang too? mattias only signs a few things. and all not accurate one. haha.

Hallo mommies,

Can I check with you all ... how much water does your LO take in a day? Nat doesn't seem to drink much water leh. Maybe only after her 3 meals and at best 150ml? Is it enough for their age huh?

lamb... maybe u wanna try to let Nat use those sippy water bottle with straw? Terilyn loves it and drinks ALOT whenever we use her sippy bottle.

littlelamb> think the dietician mention that the liquid intake should be about 600-900ml including milk and soup.

mattias drinks about 150ml of water too. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mummies using cheese in cooking, can use sliced cheese?

Xin:

Gd to hear that u have enjoyed yr trip[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]. I have yet to use sliced cheese in cooking but i think after 1yo, shouldn't be a problem at all. I think it's time i start being lazy already...

Lamb:

I dun actually measure the amt of water that Aly drinks but it's probably in the range of 150ml to 200ml depending on weather.

Hello mummies, my boy is such a terror on some days I really lose it......I dunno wat I can do to keep him off the out of bounds plcs. This lifetime job is really tough, tats y I had been putting childbirth off for 2 yrs. At least hubby u buay tahan can divorce ( jus kidding)!

fatbabe, tho alot of ppl giving birth or tink of having #2, there are alot out there who dun have kids or dun wanna have kids also lo. The extra $ we get fr CDA nt enticing at all to encourage childbirth. It jus helps to relieve those ppl who ald intend to have kids. Nt like ppl will be so gian n start making babies upon hearing this news hahha

Lamb, my boy drinks ard 150ml of water per day too, some days tink 100ml oso dun have but on hot days he will ask for water. N he wld gladly drink if I add ice cubes to his water.

Gd morning mummies!

Has been some time since I logged in and hope all mummuies n tods are doing well [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Reading this forum reminded me I have not bought any shoes for Chris. Me v sua ku, are SeeKaiRun n Pediped highly recommended? I was at NEX Isetan over the weekends and cannot find these brands. Only have osh kosh n some other disney brand.

>>Walking

Chris finally made his first step! Prob he got motivated by the tods at CY's hse and got the courage to stand up and walk. So far only 2 steps unsupported, with support can walk further.

>>Water

Interestingly he drinks water only when my mum offers him. He can take up to 250ml at my mum's place. If I give him, he will scream murder, ma chiam like I feed him poison. Haizzz...

xin, ya i'm teaching HW sign lang...only those basic one nia...so far quite ok.

lamb...i din really measure how much water she takes but she loves water, everytime see kor kor drinks she also want to drink...she wants to take big water bottle like kor kor...

sp_callalily - Hhahaa, I liked what you said ... now it's time to be lazy. I sometimes also slack a bit. But still dun have the courage to offer table food yet, not from outside. Maybe deep down, I have a fear that once she's tasted oily salty food, she will never revert to the food I prepared for her.

yuki - In no time, Chris will be walking already. You can let him try out pediped originals first. Is he already wearing soft sole shoes? If he is, you can let him continue to wear soft sole shoes. And then when you see him walking more, you can switch to either pediped original or see kai run (smaller range).

megan - That's the thing about siblings, they just like to copycat. Hhehee. You know, Nat really enjoys playing with older kids a lot. It's interesting because she takes no interest in the smaller ones. So whoever can run or walk, she just wants to play with them all the time. Hhahaa.

How does your LO behave when they are scolded for being naughty? When we scold xyii, she will look down to the floor or stare in front of her and don't dare to move, or blink her eyes. We will ask her to say 'no, no' by shaking her hand. When she knows we have finished scolding, she will look at you and smile and carry on like nothing happen!

Anyone want to be researcher in an executive search firm in Spore ?

Preferred to hv experience in telesales/telemktg/cold-calling.

Anyone keen, plse PM me.

Thks !

furby - Xyii is so sweeeeeeeeeet! Nat will 'shout' back at me if I were to scold her. It's like so defensive. Like you cannot scold me because I didn't do anything wrong. Can even raise up her hands maciam so drama.

Good morning everyone, been silent reader n juz browse thru only...

tink we all now at the most challenging stage wif our toddler..-(*_^)

furby,

when i lecture Joey "naughty baby" she'll point her finger bk to me..*fainted

littlelamb,

clarks is gd also rite ? or pediped had better fit for LO ...i juz let Joey learn walking bare foot at home since she's not tat steady yet- e old folk believe tat e slower bb start to walk their life will be better (*_*)

Lamb, Chris is walking barefooted at home. He wears socks only when we go out and so far, he is always sitting in his stroller. Ok, let me check out Mothercare @ Paragon later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Furby, Chris will smile and clap his hands whenever I scold him and smack his palm. * Faint double*

koonie & yuki - I haven't explored clarks yet so I cannot comment if it's good. Maybe the rest of the mommies can. Yeah, walking barefoot at home is good enough. I forgot it's warm there. Coz' over here, I let Nat wear soft sole shoes coz' her feet has to be covered with socks. ANd socks dun give her enuff grip. Now that she's walking better, she doesn't even need those shoes, can just walk with socks already.

furby/lamb/koonie/yuki, my boy will only react the way xyii does if outsiders say him. When I scold him, he will either scold me back or change subject my pointing to something else n blabber. If the grandparents ard, he jus cry like I torture him....If he n daddy in the rm n he messes the rm, I wld usually scold them, younger one messes thing up n the older one nvr pick up the mess, A wld point finger at the dad n push blame....I dunno hw to discipline him leh.

koonie, yah my mum kept nagging say dun let him walk so soon.......but he wanna walk or dowan to walk wat can we do rite? But my boy still dun talk much

Hi all mummies... Hope all of us are well. Have been very busy at work and 'converted' to a silent reader on most time, but decided not to go out for lunch, so came in here for a sneak break.

Re: Shoes

Lamb, Tam L - I just found out that the brand "Little Blue Lamb" that you gals mentioned is actually the manufacturer of Pediped when I was buying it for Bryan. No wonder about the similarity.

Thanks to the mummies here (like lamb, callalily...) who advise about the importance of a good pair of shoes for our LOs' confidence. Bryan is already walking around the whole house and is trying to figure out how to run. I think I will have to start chasing him very soon.

Re: water

If Bryan can take 150ml of water in a day, I would be laughing all the way. He is just starting to appreciate water cos I think he does get thirsty nowadays, esp after his vomiting and diarrhoea episode.

Re: 'Punishing' the LOs

Yuki, Koonie, Lamb, Furby - all the tods are so cute with their own individual reaction when they are being punished. I like Joey's pointing finger back best. Most interesting I have heard so far. Bryan will just look at me when I scold and have no reaction. He only gets irritated when I nag.

Callalily, lamb - I am already slacking and offering Bryan more table food. Or at least not deviate too much from what we eat. Have not tried sliced cheese, but last week end, I gave him butter bread stick from Four Leaves and cream cheese bread (without the cheese) from Yamazaki and he loves it and cannot get enough of it. Only thing I felt guilty is I have not let him try egg white, but I went ahead of all these other things. I have also pan-fry fish like dory (since it is super soft) wz a dollop of olive oil and serve it with some veg-based soup and soft steam rice as his dinner, which I think some mummies like Tyl have done a long time ago.

No idea what is happening to Bryan's sleeping hours. It is so screwed-up nowadays. He used to sleep by 8.30pm. However, since last Sat, he decided that he should stay up till like 10.30pm. I kind of feel that it is due to IFC allowing him to sleep at 4+ to 5+ pm, but how else can I tell them not to let him sleep at that time?

callalily and lamb,

I'm also not offering much table food yet. Just tease her occasionally, like when we were in SIngapore, I gave her durian ice cream. My hub and I feel that no point introducing her to strongly favoured food when she's perfectly fine with her baby food. And we still like her table etiquette of not asking for our food. Don't wanna spoil that.

Furby,

At times, when I scold Renee, she'll pout her lower lip. Then it becomes too cute to scold her. hahah.

I still refrain from "no" and finger pointing cos I don't want her to do that back at me when terrible two comes.

Yuki,

Yeah, smacking is no use lah. We will not whack hard and to them it's like 'pat pat pat'.

I also just as suaku. I don't know what is seekairun and pedipeds. I just shop and buy whatever I think is suitable. Didn't go looking for these brands in particular.

Koonie,

I have tried Clarks. Renee only wore her pair ONCE. It's too tight and leaves marks on her feet. Think her feet are thicker and higher so Clarks, or that particular pair didnt fit. She was sleeping when we shopped for that so didn't try on. What a lesson! From then on, I always let her try before buying. Many Mothercare shoes also too shallow for her feet.

Nightwaking:

Renee has been waking up two or three times at night. That's tiring me out cos I caught a flu in Singapore and it's lingering around for a long time. Superbug, man! And we are moving house next week. Yes, I know she's teething but all this nightwaking is too much lah. So tired that last night we just co-slept after 1 am. She's still a routine-lover and sleep-lover, taking her naps well but why is she waking up so many times at night? Not overstimulation for sure. It's so boring in Dubai compared to our home trip last month.

cyang, long time no see! I tink u did a great job disciplining Renee, I am like so slack compared to u. I always try to reason with him instead of smacking but sometimes really buay tahan.... My boy is a sleep lover too, he sleeps alot but he doesnt wake up in middle of the nite except when we had our staycations. He slps late ard 10 plus 11 n wakes up ard 9 plus in the morn cos ard 7 plus 8 we dreamfeed him n he doze back to slp

Baby Gate

Can I check if anyone got any baby gates? I got no kitchen door, n I m kinda worried if I boil water/cook n the lil fella mite wonder into danger..... tnk maybe I shld get a preloved one so that I dun feel so heartpain if its kinda useless

big foot,

Hhehehe, no worries, glad that it helped and glad to see Bryan walking much more now! And glad that you discovered little blue lamb. Hhehee, where did u buy it, anyway? I didn't seem to come across it in Singapore. Nat gets irritated when I nag too and displays the same reaction when I scold her. This gal is gonna get so defiant when she grows up.

Looks like I'm gonna have a lot on my plate! Your suspicions could be right about Bryan having late naps at IFC and you should really check coz' this is more often than not, the case for them sleeping late.

c yang,

Nat isn't too keen on the food we eat too. But ... that being said, when she sees us snack, she'll wanna snack too. Sometimes, it's more of just wanting to lay her hands on the snack packaging and playing with it. I've read somewhere before that as parents, we have to cultivate good habits in us so as to set an example. So if we dun wanna see them snack, we shudn't snack in front of them. So DH only gets to snack when he's watching his DVDs at nite after Nat goes to bed.

Nat was doing quite a bit of nightwaking at some stage too. Could Renee be going through separation anxiety too? Coz it usually comes at this stage and one of the symptoms are night wakings too.

Wow scolding LO and punish them...

think i did everything leh...

When we scold Shayne, we will show him the fierce look to let him know we angry.

he will be quiet and look at u, after we stop, he kiss and sayang to apologise so that we will smile at him...

when i tell him he's naughty, he will reply back... seems like telling me no...

hahhaha...

Yang, get well soon...

speak to Renee, they understand... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy, Ayden super cute lor... hehehe...

lamb/ febie, at 1st its really cute n funny when he tries to push blame. But after that I start to get worried abt teaching him that he shld own up to his own mistakes etc. I start to tink alot abt hw to teach him.....I n my hb very bad at setting gd example cos we snack alot hahahha. When we are out drinking bubble tea etc, we had to hide behind A's back to drink, else he demands we give it to him, wail n make noise. He learn a new trick few days ago, sit n lie in the middle of the living rm floor n cry if we dun give in to him!!!

I finally have time to surf net tdycos mil bring him out. Tho I m a sahm I got no time at all these days cos I have to watch him over like a hawk.