(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Callalily, I bought from both fox baby SK n og orchard before.

Smalldreams, they have very pretty fabric ones (non leather), just that the sizes available were too small for Raelynn so I couldn't buy. :p

Mstan, asking mil to look after is like that, must close 1 eye or both eyes. Want them to look after cannot insist on our ways. :p if u want your way, got to set the example n prove that your method works ie implement it fully on weekends or when u r on leave, once your mil n hubby r convinced, they will follow your way. But that means no r&r n going out on weekends until the routine is set so see what u really want bah. Cannot have the best of both worlds lar unless u have a super compliant mil. that's why one of the reasons why I gave up my salary n freedom cos tired of complaining to my hubby who only ends up being caught in the middle. :p

mstan,

For breakfast, ever since I've introduced eggs to Nat, I have been giving her more variety. In Singapore, you all have a lot of choices for toddler yoghurts. You can offer your gal yoghurt, that can slowly help cut the milk intake she's having everyday. Personally, 800ml seems a lot. What I'll do is that I'll prepare eggs with milk and cheese, whisk them together for scramble eggs. And then I'll also give her white toast.

I have to be careful about bread coz' Nat recently developed allergies to bread that contained honey. And since we dun have toddler yoghurt in SH, I usually will just give plain yoghurt with cereals and fruit puree. As for fruits, I am still a little slow in introducing fruits to Nat and she doesn't seem to be quite interested in fruits very much (think she's like me). I've given apples, pears, banana, peach, apricots, prunes, grapes, orange, avocado, blueberries. I'm still waiting for the mangoes to be in season before introducing her and will probably introduce her golden kiwi soon. Nat's porridge is rather boring coz' basically, i hate porridge.

So, I dun give Nat a lot of porridge to eat also. Maybe when I need to take her out for lunch, tt's the easiest to keep warm for her and feed. Usually it's either fish and spinach porridge or minced meat with pumpkin porridge.

long time no chat. Busy with cny n my boy n family of sick ppl....My stupid flu doesnt seem to improve n despite visiting the doc twice my my poor boy's runny nose also on n off.But he is still active tho...

Wah, jus the rite topic, I also headache abt shoes cos those that he have rite nw are mostly soft soles, nt very suitable for outdoor. He only has 1 pair with soles, which is a gift during his bday. I couldnt bear to buy exp shoes cos his leg grow super fast n he got chubby feet.

We got 1 pair of cotton on crocs look alike at $5 at the anchorpt branch n we are happy with it tho its abit big.They have alot of lovely girl shoes there, only $5 n $7.50, tink mostly for 2 yr olds n above

smalldreams, if Jessie gonna start on taobao spree I will definitely get shoes this time keekkeke.

luvbabe, boys r very active hor, dunno wat to do with them, I m like siao mummy screaming whenever my boy does scary stunts.....*sigh* heartpain when they fall but yet if they dun fall they dun learn....sayang lucas for me k!

Mstan, ur gal drinks alot of milk,I wish mine could drink more, its abt 300 to 400ml per day there abt.

Little lamb, when can we introduce honey?I have yet to let A try honey. I ald gave egg quite often after he hits 1. Alot of ppl r asking abt #2, I seriously wish to have 1 more n we can close shop but nt nw, maybe b4 i hit 35 which is like in 3 yrs....But my hb is nt keen maybe cos he is the sole breadwinner nw n he is very stress whenever he tinks abt when the kid goes to sch.....

CNY is gonna be over n I need to get busy n look for a job le.Tink stay at hm too long ald, kinda lazy. Cross fingers n hope all will be gd! Oh ya forgot to wish everyone happy lunar new yr!!!

afternoon mummies...

sp_callalily> Thanks for the invite to your place! Will definitely bring Lucas one of these days when I'm on leave. Will plan and let you know, k? Yeah, need to know more about that resort. Let's take it offline, in order not to bore the rest with details.

cheerieheart> Yeah, will prob increase a little. Yeah, the other day at the Jan Bash, Megan's helper did check with my helper whether she would like a change of employer (during their casual chat), she told me after the event. She told her she would not consider a change coz we really treated her well and she cannot guarantee that the next employer will be good.

Re: strollers - Personally, I find my Maclaren Volo a very good buy from the Taka baby fair. It is very lightweight and can easily be handled. The other one which I saw was quite cool was the one CY got for Leticia. I don't know what brand but know it is a little pricey.

smalldreams> *Wave hello* Long time no chat! You stayed up watching TV. I couldn't sleep and suffering from insomnia....

mstan> Yeah, Lucas usually still takes 2 naps per day. Prob coz he is super duper active when he is awake, walking and running around the whole house and exploring stuff and mess up stuff...haha! That's why he will conk out after 4/5 hours from the time he wakes up. We will know that he is tired or groggy when he starts rubbing his eyes and walking like a drunkard! Haha!

Understand your situation with ILs...When my SIL was the caregiver during Luis' time, I also have to close 2 eyes, coz we don't usually see eye to eye with the methods and ways... As for now, my helper listens to my instructions, so I am happy with my current arrangements now and Lucas is growing up really well and strong, as compared to Luis previously. Can you imagine Lucas weighs like 9.8kg at the age of 1 while Luis only reaches this weight when he was 2! World of difference! Meaning, my SIL underfed Luis and thus till now, his appetite is usually very small!

firipy> Thanks for asking about Lucas! He is ok now and still running around, where he haven't really learnt his lessons yet! Nowadays, I also quite siao coz have to constantly remind him fall down, kok kok, then pain pain!

Seems that the job market is quite hot nowadays! Best of luck for your job hunt!

Ha....it seems that I keep on complaining abt my MIL....;p

Re : breakfast

My girl bf is usually cereal and/or bread/biscuits/puffs.

Her other 2 meals are porridge.

firipy : heee...yes my girl still drinks lots of milk as compared to other bb here....;p

By right she shld drink ard 600ml milk/day for her age.

Trying to cut down dosage but difficult becos of MIL & both MIL/hubby feels that feeding milk better than porridge + my bb seems 'addicted' to milk too.....;p

Think I hv to try slowly....;p

luvbabe : my bb also very active but only at hm. If she is outside, then she will be much quieter unless hungry or when she's in stroller/high chair....;p

My bb dun like to be in stroller or high chair....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Jessie : haaa...when u organising taobao spree again ?

My bb shoes cant wear liao.....need to get a few more shoes + other stuff....;p

Haaa...other mummies also looking fwd to yr next spree.....;p

Oh yes, my girl right foot like much bigger than her left foot.

Her shoe can come out from her left foot but very fitting on her right.

Mummies, do u hv the same problem for yr bb ?

Luvbabe, really ah? I see alot of entry lvl jobs n wonder shld I try. My boy also dun learn his lesson always up to something notti! Mstan, my boy is addicted to table food, he prefers our plain rice to his porridge, doesn't like his cereals anymore.... Sometimes so sian of throwing away his porridge we jus share meetaibak or bee hoon fr kopitiam

luvbabe, she did ask u helper ah...sorry ah..paiseh leh...haiz tis ppl really makes u headache...last time my maid also say she dun want to change cos i treat her so well...everyone in church say she is more like my relative then maid...but at the end this want to change for better pay!!! well wat to do...

Mstan, same for me, my right foot is bigger than left one but my no 1's left foot is bigger than right one. So, I usually buy to fit the bigger foot. Raelynn doesn't like to eat porridge anymore, eats very little if give her porridge, she prefers rice. Maybe you can try to cook rice over the weekend and see if she likes it and eat more.

Hi, mummies,

I'm not a good mother, always give my DD milk during the weekend. Now planning to cook something for her, anyone can share your recipe with me? Thanks in advance [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Pauline/firipy : my bb still take her porridge but not much. Or shld I say she is 'trained' not to eat much at 1 go but rather small feeds....;p

When I having dinner, she like to come over so I will pitch a tiny bit of rice for her....;p

Oh, finds difficult to feed her as she likes to moves ard when she eats. She dun like to sit on high chair so my MIL juz let her roam ard when she eats so now she hv habit of moving ard/roaming ard when she eats....really tiring feeding her.

Luvbabe

*waves back*

It's nice to have 2 kids hor, esp now that the babies can play together. hehe. Aifah follows her brother almost everywhere he goes. When they play play-doh, Aifah also sit down and play. (errr, I also found a tiny play-doh on the edge of her mouth one day. Must be yummy).

Furby

xyii is so cute! My lil girl also loves playing camping-camping, lol. Big brother hides under a blanket and she also from outside knock on the covered head, or will giggle when she's with us under the blanket. I'm usually around in the blanket too lor (hehehe, for safety purposes).

Pauline

If the pediped shoes are soft soled, then those won't be for walkers? Plus if they're too small for Raelynn, they'll probably be too small for A too.

Ms Tan

I guess our bodies aren't symmetrical either? My left foot is smaller than my right tho I can fit into a size 5/6. Monitor or ask the PD during next check up if u're worried?

Kclala

Hey don't say that lah. Why not u just feed her whatever soup yr family is having, just with reduced salt. By now should be able to take rice already. Or u can add more water when you cook the rice to make it softer.

kclala : I also not gd mother/super bad cook....;p

Over the wkend I juz cook porridge & put in watever I hv in the fridge - like fish/chicken + broccoli/vege + pumpkin/carrots etc....;p....oh yes, I like to put in barley into my bb porridge....;p

Think other mummies better cook than me....;p

smalldreams : I know we always hv 1 leg slightly bigger....but it seems her right leg like 1 size bigger.....mmm....will ask the doc the next time if I remember....;p

Btw, cld I find out wat jab our bb need to take now ?

I know she's due for her 3rd pneumococcal jab.

When need to take MMR ?

Is 1 Infanrix 5-in-1 booster dose necessary ? When need to take ?

Any other must-take jab ?

ET - Nat has the same habit when she throws tantrums as well! So I'll always pre-empt when she'll throw herself backwards. These kids! They have no idea what is PAIN!

megan - Reading your post reminded me of how much I missed summer for being able to wear just 1 layer and even footless. Dressing Nat is simply a chore! Especially when she keeps squirming. Gosh!

cheerieheart - Missed chatting with you in here. Not only prices of maids have gone up in Sgp. Over in SH too! Almost by 50%! Damn scary right? I was telling DH, it's no longer that enticing to be living here anymore. I guess sp_callalily has mentioned about milk intake. Still important but you can cut down already. And yes, cheese, yoghurt can be substitutes. Even cow's milk in cooking. Or you can offer veg like spinach which is high in calcium.

luvbabe11 - I think that's the thing about boys ... they really tend to be more active, eh? I mean, Nat isn't really that active when I compare her to other kids. But her current stage is driving me crazy already. Everyday, I feel like my house got run over by hurricane!

bigfoot - Where did he contract it from? School? maybe try to keep him indoors till he's well? And gotta try to maintain high levels of hygiene at home. ie. Put on mask, avoid sharing utensils. That means if u're sick, try not to taste his food or blow his porridge if it's hot. Always wash hands after everyone gets back.

smalldreams - Yah you bet! Finally some 'action' in this thread and waiting for you to join in. Hhaha. How have you and 2As been?

firipy,

Oh, so you've been on break till now? I kept thinking you went back to work already. Actually, after 1, we can introduce honey to them already but I wanted to play it safe, introduced to her via bread. But who knows ... she developed allergy towards it. So I gotta be careful and watch out for ingredients now. You know, I was thinking about the topic of #2 today too ... coz' it seems like quite a few of the moms here would be trying soon.

And I've been wondering when's the right time. If I were to wait for Nat to start school next year and then embark on trying. By the time I do get pregs, I'd be close to 35 already. So really ... I dunno ... And then there's some changes that need to be made before we can consider a 2nd one. Like a bigger place to live in, a full-time helper etc. And these will weigh heavily on DH's finances too.

So it's something we will have to think very thoroughly. Honestly, Nat is a beautiful gift from God and I am very thankful for her being in my life already. Having another one would be to add on more joy to the family. The other day, I was having lunch with DH and Nat and we were looking at the other tables with couples without kids. Each party, after their meal, was just doing their own thing like on the iPad or reading a magazine. It reminded me of what DH and I were in the past before Nat entered our lives.

With Nat now, life is so much more purposeful. Busy and tiring yes ... but we still love every moment of it. The joys she brings us ... is indescribable and endless.

Mstan, my no. 1 also roams free. Until now, she doesn't eat well. For no. 2, maid has to follow my rules, so Raelynn eats strapped to the booster chair so she can't run around.

smalldreams, the original (with soft soles) meant for early walkers, the flex (with hard soles) meant for the confident walkers usu above 18 months. RL has outgrown size M and she needs L now. But I cannot find size M fabric designs during the OG sale last year so I bought leather ones for her instead. The fabric ones only left with 0-6 mths (XS) and 6-12 mths (S) then. :p

little lamb

would pull ups help with diaper changes?

But so far A co-operates during diaper changes.

I might consider pull ups if there are good offers in the supermarkets tho.

I was really bz at work for the past 2 weeks. Endless deadlines. now that the crunctime is over, I feel a bit slack...hehehe...maybe that's why no mood so sneak around here for posts.

My 2 As have been alright, thanks for asking.

Took them to the beach yesterday.

Dunno if can see them clearly here but I also don't want to pose a huge pic of them.

[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2495852/5114185.jpg]

smalldreams,

THANKS!!!!!! They're super duper cute! Aifah is so grown! Gosh ....... I was looking at Nat's older videos like when she started crawling, started flipping. How much she has grown today! To that toddler who retorts at me with babbles whenever I nag at her to clean up, and all the toddling about, digging into my wardrobe, taking out my sanitary pads and toothpaste and toddling about with them!!!!

Wah liao eh ... where did that 1 year go to? You know it's really true when they start walking, you'd realize that they've truly grown up. Yeah, I am considering 'upgrading' her to pull ups next. And I am still using wet wipes to wipe her, wondering if I should just put her in the shower and just use the shower to wash her off. And wondering should I bathe her standing up already. The bath tub can be quite a chore to bathe her these days.

pauline,

I think smalldreams can't quite use pediped coz' like she said, they mostly use pig skin. But i do think that there are some models that dun use that. But depending on how strict she is. Coz' they're after all made in the same factory. Btw, just to let you know. Pediped has an 'in-between' of Original and Flex which is grip n go.

Not sure if it's available in Singapore yet. But I did get a pair of grip and go over TB and I do find it better than the flex in terms of sole. Flex looks kinda hard to me. So do look out for it. I am still letting Nat wear soft soles at home. I let her try stride rite STEP2 at home but she wasn't too comfy in it.

So will let her stick to soft soles first.

lamb

about bathtub, i have long done away with it at 10mths. At that time, she could sit pretty well, so i just plonk her on the floor to shower her. Not so lehcheh and no fear of drowning. Also, everytime she poo, we will definitely wash with shower spray either standing up or sit. Much cleaner than wipes. Think i only use 5 packs of wipes from birth till now.

cherieheart

think other mummies have answered about milk intake. But your situation is similar to mine as in we are still bfing. During the day when I am at work, LO drinks powder milk with breakfast, and also at 3pm tea time, a small cup each round.

Shoes

Oh, i have not intro shoes to her yet as she is still not really walking. I let her walk barefoot in parks, beach etc. but very soon, need to get shoes for her, prob from bata in time to come.

firipy> Yeah, it seems....Check out the job portals. Am looking too...haha!

Megan> No worries la. You already alerted me that day liao mah. Yeah, she did try to chat up with my helper. Not sure what else they said tho'. Think my hubby was near/around when they chat but he did not understand a word at all. Anyway, already told my helper that certain things can hear but decisions are entirely up to her. I have actually informally discussed about plans with her and intend to extend her contract by another 2 yrs. In her her contract, likelihood I will also not give her any off days, like now. I think your previous helper seems to be looking for fun, according to my helper. She has a boyfriend apparently. Are you aware of that? My helper told me that she is here to work for the money and for her daughter back home.

smalldreams> Yeah, quite fun to see both of them play together but Luis does not seem very patient with Lucas recently. Maybe coz Lucas is always the destroyer of his buildings and creativity! Yeah, when Luis played masak masak (I actually bought a brand new cooking toy set with stoves that makes light and sound, etc.) for them, it is very interesting to see both of them interacting and playing together. Tho, most of the time, they will create a very big mess out of it.

Hey, so nice to see your kids love the beach. We tried bringing the kids to the beach. Seems like only Luis loves the beach. Lucas is so scared of sand and refused to step on them bare-footed. Even with shoes, he also refuses to be on the beaches! Sigh, 2 brother with very different likes!

Lamb> Yeah, thought boys may be more active...But, I must qualify and say that both my boys - Luis and Lucas are very different in nature. Luis, unlike Lucas, is not jumpy and too active, climbing up and down. You can ask the mummies here who have met him in real person. He is one who can sits through a 3-4hr wedding dinner type without fidgeting much and trained not to touch the cutleries on the table. Lucas, on the other hand, is unable to sit through the entire dinner without lifting his butt from the chair! Haha, 2 of them with very different nature and characters! Seriously, am enjoying them every minute of my limited time with them.

Littlelamb, ya, same factory may be still cannot. Yes, I heard of grip n go but have not seen in sg only online on pedipeds website. :p

too many posts to read. will try to catch up when I've time.

Pauline>grip n go available at mothercare. saw it at the branch in centrerpoint.

BTW, your mai Khao is super near the airport. But v far from patong and phuket town :p

Pauline:

Thanks for the info. I got Aly's pediped shoes from Mothercare prev but since they have stopped stocking them, i have no idea where else to get them from. Will check out the Flex series & prob keep a look out for the Grip & Go series too.

Luvbabe:

Just give me a buzz anytime. Aly used to hate the sand too when we first exposed her to it some 2 mths back. Tried again a mth later and she loves it now. Maybe u can expose Lucas again to the beach when he's a little older.

Yl, welcome back. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] oh did u pass by Mai khao during your trip? Yup, i know it's very ulu, quite prepared to spend just 1 trip out of the resort n rest of the time just nua there. :p

how was club med? Managed to enjoy couple time at the spa? Club med free 2nd adult promo just started, not bad, $2500+ for 4d at cherating or Bali for 2 adults n 2 children. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Mommies:

Are any of yr LOs into self-spoon feeding or already doing so proficiently? Care to share yr experience & how u go abt achieving that? Aly's into self-spoon feeding these days but it's a real huge mess each time!!! And she's not willing to let me guide her to load the food & bring it to her mouth and so the food ends up everywhere except where it should rightly be. How do you mummies overcome that? Or is it just a rite of passage that i have to go through? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!!![IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

mstan : Was planning one in mid March when all the warmer clothes are on sale [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] . Also will look at shoes and see what store got good stuff.

Lamb: Can post the store which you found the pedipeds? So maybe can spree from there?

We just came back on Sunday and Arwen is still having very bad chesty cough. Was worried sick but as least her PD said she is not having an asthma attacj, just regular flu. I think she was simply too overstimulated in SG but she loves SG lor, always happy and smiling one.

Now rested two days, she is more of herself again *phew

We are starting her on 3 solids and only feed twice now, 10pm and 6am [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Yah, seeing all the photos and looking past the one year, I sometimes still cannot believe I am a mother. It is such a big commitment honestly and now I really don't wonder anymore if some couple choose to stay childless. I mean, Arwen is like ... amazing to me and she is such a little chatterbox, always picking up the phone and chatting away and she progress so fast each day but when she is sick, it is like really heartbreaking for me and I wonder if I should have no.2 because I hate seeing another kid go through sickness. But I am more or less mentally prepared to have no.2.

Production plan will start in July when I am in France for holiday, keke. I told DH I would like to have a Made in France kid instead of another Made in China. ;p

I figure by the time we moved to France for good. Arwen is about 2 and half years old and I just need to "suffer" for 1 year odd before she goes school . In France, at least can pass her to my in laws for a few months to catch a break!

Will be busy this week , in laws popping by this Thursday. Excited but abit tired out still from the SG trip ~

furby - Yeah ... think I should consider doing away with the bath-tub after Nat is able to stand better and also walk around. Kkekeke.

luvbabe11 - That's why they always say the 1st and 2nd child will be polar opposites, quite true for the friends around me. And I often wonder how the nature of my 2nd child will be like. Coz' up till now, I still can't quite tell if Nat is an easy or difficult child. LOL.

lsntyl - Centrepoint has grip n go? Didn't get to see it the last time round, saw more of see kai run. Maybe they stocked up recently.

jessie,

Okay, gotta go dig up the links. Kekekke. Maybe I'll post the store for striderite also. You onz to do spree ah? I dun dare to volunteer. Coz' I simply have no time to pack and go post office.

In fact, I got a EMS sitting in post office for dunno how long and I still haven't collect. DIE! And I am quite upset with a seller from etsy. Tell you next time we meet. Arwen's cough better? Did you bring her for a thorough check on her situation while back in Singapore?

I was hoping to do playdate soon but since your in-laws will be here, gotta wait a while. Never seem to be fated to make it to your place leh. Remember my friend who lives in your compound? She wants to meet up with us too. But i wasn't sure when you'd be back so I cudn't revert to her on a date.

Anyway, let me know your availability. It's good that you've made plans for yourself and family and having #2. For me, I dunno when will we ever head back home to Singapore. Over here, I really need help if we were to have another child. Just having Nat going to school is not enough. When she comes home, I'll still need help.

Any mommies here have BOUGHT the FP jumperoo and managed to dismantle it? I'm trying to keep my precious planet series jumperoo but to no avail! The toys on the ring, once snapped in, cannot be taken out?! CHAM!!!! I dun have space at home to keep a fixed up jumperoo leh.

lamb: Yah, let's hope we can have a playdate say on the 1st March (Tues) in my place. Do ask your friend along [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

I don't mind doing another spree in March cos I don't think I would be so busy liao. But let's hope Arwen is fine then, always very scare of her suddenly fall sick one!

Okay need advice. I just packed up 8 big packs of Arwen's old clothes. If I end up not having no.2, what to do with the clothes eh ?

I mean do I sell them as second, keep or can I throw? Why people always say dun throw leh, like it is a bad thing? I mean.. I of cos will try to sell them first but if no one wants, then can throw??? Or is it some kind of pantang thing?

I am so worried cos dun know how to lug all the clothes back to France!

Pauline>Club Med Phuket was ok lah. Food was alright. didn't manage to put Ayden in Baby Club Med because I didn't know we needed to show his vacination record so the whole trip was spent with him. Couple time only when he was asleep. :p

Saw Mai Khao on the map and on the signs when we were near the airport. We actually spent most of our time in the resort and only walked out to the shops outside.

Luvbabe>Lucas doesn't like the sand? Maybe its the texture? Ayden loved the sand when we were in Phuket.

callalilly>Ayden still refuses to self-feed himself. Too happy to be fed.

jessie>hee, good luck with your production plan. Hope Arwen gets better soon

can give the clothes away bah. sure have people want de. If not, can give to the baobei foundation? since I'm sure most of the clothes are in v good condition

lamb>I saw grip n go in Dec I think. Wanted to let Ayden try the size but he was cranky so we never got around to doing so. :p

lamb...ya winter really no joke ah...have to dress her up like "bak chang"...and here we always complaining too hot...haha

luvbabe...ya i got to know she has a bf fm my ex agent...tat's one of the reason y i rejected her when she change her mind and wants to work wt me again...

Morning mummies....

sp_callalily> Thanks for the invite. Will surely arrange and call you whenever I am on leave and plan to bring Lucas for a playdate!

Yeah, will arrange another day and try to expose Lucas again with the sand. We tried on 2/3 separate occasions but he still refused to step on sand!

Jessie> Hope Arwen gets well soon! Wow, at least you have plans for a no. 2 soon!

Looking forward to your TB spree again in Mar!

Lamb> Yeah, no. 1 and no. 2 characters are really poles apart! So different! But, whenever they hug each other, or sayang each other, it is really very loving to see and warm-hearted!

TYL> Welcome back! Hope you all have lots of fun in ClubMed Phuket! How was Ayden on flight and all?

Megan> Luckily you rejected her request to work for you again coz really dunno what other hanky panky she has up her sleeve and think you probably don't feel safe leaving Huewen with her too during the day when you worked, right.

Frankly, I do not entirely trust my helper too. For instance, just yesterday, my hubby was just telling me that he suspected that my helper watches Korean dramas on our MioTV when we are not around. He asked me not to alert her first and continue to observe. Actually, I was ok for her to watch TV de as long as she finishes all her work and looks after Lucas well. We observed that she liked to watch TV alot! She even know that the Filipino channel is free-to-air during the CNY period coz she switched it on and watch during that period!

Sigh! Looks like I must do spot checks again soon!

Smalldreams: I’ve got a new helper, w me abt a mth but really headache! I think in western countries, the sys is abit different and it’s so common for them to use babysitters. But in SG, babysitters less commonly used. We mainly depend on family members e.g. parents/in-laws. Maybe I should ask my friends in US how they cope with childcare. I think they usually put in childcare centres or many will turn SAHMs I think.

Luvbabe: Is your helper is from Philippines? How much is her salary? Abt strollers, I was thinking of Maclaren but they dun have the ‘barrier’ in front right? My boy loves to try climbing out so need one w the ‘barrier’. Dun wanna spend too much coz this will be a 2nd stroller oredi, the first one so ex!!

Little lamb: I was thinking of making scramble egg for my boy! You use fresh milk and not FM right?

I’ve been using organic baby spinach for my boy’s porridge for a long long time. Now starting to use more other veggies like cabbage and caixin etc. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Firipy: Hi hi! Are you back to work or still SAHM?

Kclala: Hi kclala! TYL recommended a website and I think u will find some gd recipes there. It’s http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/

As for me, recently I’ve been getting some frozen meals fr Petit Bowl which I then use as the ingredients for my boy’s porridge. I found it extremely useful, esp for days when i'm super busy or just a bit lazy. I've blogged abt it: http://ruthwongwrites.blogspot.com/2011/01/solution-for-making-quick-meal.html

luvbabe,megan,

wow both of you are so friend with your maid! mine has been with me 8 years. Got its up and down but i guess it is part and parcel of managing someone. I am generally easy and fair, but have a strict decorum, as I want to maintain a formal relationship else they can go overboard.

cheerieheart> Yeah, my helper is from PHL and her salary without off day is current $370 (incl of $20 allowance for compensating no off-day). Yes, the Maclaren Volo does not have any barrier in front, but very easy to handle and lightweight. Not too expensive when I got it at a sale in Taka Baby Fair last Aug.

Megan> My hubby is catching a Super Idol series from Taiwan and usually when he switches the mode to MioTV, it should show the page/menu where he last watches the Super Idol but as of yesterday, when he switched the mode to MioTV, the last page was the Korean drama. Both he and myself does not follow Korean drama, the only likely person to do this is my helper and she is very smart, knows how to navigate, even better than I am!

Hmm...think I will prob perform a surprise check again today! Will likely leave office earlier and work from home since I have a conference call tonight to attend!

furby> We generally treat her like part of the family, hoping that she can reciprocate and also treat my son like her own. Coz, during the day, it is only her and my boy at home only. I did not install any camera or webcam at all!

Where is your maid from? Can I ask how much increment in salary would you give her upon renewal of contract? Can someone else also share?

I'm Kclala too, forgot to change back my usual log in name after done some shopping in BP thread, hehe

Thanks for sharing recipes with me, will try it out on coming weekend.

Smalldreams,

Your 2 As are cute!! How I wish can have no.2 now, keke

Furby,

I think I should follow you to bath my girl on the floor, much easier [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie,

Hope Arwen gets well soon. And Jia you jia you on your No.2.

jessie,

Okay, let's set it on 1st March. Ask Andrea and Amelia along yeah? Yeah, when the kids fall sick, a bit xien. I also a bit scared of Nat falling sick. You know when they reach this stage, they really wanna go play with other kids. Like when I take her to playground, she really wants to go chase the other kids.

But sometimes I worry also whether these kids are well. Hard to control sometimes. You know, I have no problems with nat's summer clothings coz' for sure ... I have friends to give to for singapore. So I'll usually lug it back home. But her winter wear ... how to pass. Then for some reason, my friends here keep giving birth to boys!!!!

So i am thinking of donating to charitable organization. Would baobei foundation require clothings? Nat's winter clothings rather brand new. Hardly stained and probably worn like less than 10 times each piece.

lsntyl - I know what you mean leh. I was rather frustrated trying shoes for Nat in Singapore. Especially when I was on my own! Had to watch my belongings, try to fit shoes for a squirmy kid. She cannot sit still to let me wear shoes for her. So now, boh bian, i go taobao, buy and let her try. If cannot fit, then xien ... but since not so expensive, just buy first. Haha.

megan - Not just that, imagine if raining during winter, lagi worse! Gotta let them wear raincoat etc. Wah liao ... And Nat's feet now too small to wear rainboots also.

cheerieheart - Well, I dun exactly use FRESH milk per se. I use UHT milk coz' FRESH milk (I suppose you mean the refrigerated ones) are mainly china brands and I am not comfy with that. But I do use cow's milk in my cooking now instead of FM. So yes, for her scramble eggs, I use cow's milk. You tried Petit Bowl eh? Was hoping for someone here to have tried and review. Glad to hear a positive comment. So I guess my next home trip, if I can't rush back to cook, I can consider offering petit bowl's food. Now that she's after 1, I am more comfy with offering her 'outside' food.

luvbabe11 - yeah, that's one of the things that made me think abt having #2 and that is sibling love. Something that can never be replaced.

lamb..wow can imagine u hv to take longer time to dress her up b4 going out.

furby...me n luvbabe same boat...we hv no elderly ppl at home to monitor...

luvbabe...no wonder ur hb knows she is watching lah...ya sometimes need to do spot check...i think wt my new maid on n off i need to do spot check too!!!

megan - Errr yah, the whole process, including dressing myself ... sometimes just to take her to garden, can take like 20 mins. Imagine in Singapore, we go garden, just take keys, wear slippers, go down!