(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

Big foot -- Same. 2 pds also told me not to start them on solids till they hit the 6 mths mark. But my twins, especially my girl, were never big fans of milk and after the 4 mth mark they were showing even more disinterest in milk. But I didnt want to start them then cos of what the pds told me. However my gut feel, or perhaps motherly instinct (??), was telling me they are ready for solids so I started them on brown rice cereal a few days ago when they were abt 5.5 mths. They loved it! Especially my girl. You can tell she really prefers her cereal to her milk! She cried when she finished her bowl of cereal because she wanted more! This never happens with milk where I usually have to coax her to finish her milk!

But hor, last night and early this morning she has slight diarrhea. Not sure if it is because of the cereal. Her poo for the first 4 days after starting on the cereal were ok so not sure why she suddenly lao sai 2 times on the 5th day. Dont know if it is related to the cereal. Any experienced mummies can advise??

So anyway, Big Foot, I guess listen to your gut and if your boy is able to swallow and shows interest in food then perhaps he is ready to start solids proper.

Hoping to work from home in the afternoon today coz my mom needs to go out.

cheerieheart

I used phyto previously. Hmmm, maybe I shall go buy again. Later go chinatown can swing by swanstons.

bigfoot

Think it shud be OKlah to start solids. He's turning 6 mths pretty soon rite? I agree with chameleon. Sometimes it's really our gut instincts as moms that matter too :p

Xin

Does that mean your LO is lactose intolerant? You mean you can't even eat any dairy products? wow. Must be hard on you. Did PD say if this is something that will be outgrown? Is this also why he had blood in his stools?

mstan,

My boy oso like dat. Drink only 300+ ml the whole 12 hour plus I am at work. Then come back latch like mad. And nite time will keep waking up. Last time b4 I go back work sleep longer stretch.

SH : yar lor, dunno how to make her drink more in the morn so that at nite she can sleep longer & dun wake up so many times in the middle of the nite....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]....yest nite, she can drink 170ml btwn 8+-9+pm then sleep but we try to dream feed her at 12.25am but she only wat to drink 70ml (took 1/2hr to drink) then she wake up ard 2am for milk so 'bopian' hv to feed her at 2+am but she only drink 90ml....;p....then at 6+am I feed her but she only drink 50ml (took abt 15-20mins) b4 I pump....;p

Dunno y these few nites, she hv habit of waking ard 2-3am for milk even when we dream feed her at ard 12am (but she dun wat to drink much)....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

mstan, if you leave give her pacifier in the middle of the night? Will she still wake up? Think you must insist not give her in the middle of the night and drag to like 4+ then slowly drag to 5+ then 6+.. I did this for my boy and after like 1 mth, he slept thru from 11pm to 6am already.. I will only dream feed before 12, sometimes his last feed is 9+ I also won't dream feed, still he wake at 6+ in the morning..

ET,mstan

ET, I do exactly what you do. Last feed 10pm, then next one 6am. In between, if she stirs, just pop in pacifier. Need to train LO to get the message.

Mstan, I think key is to make sure your LO drinks enough during the day, then can safely train her. Looks like your LO does reverse feeding, meaning, they turn their feeding time upside down, due to reasons like they miss latching when mummy at work, or reject bottle etc. Some of my friends end up reverse feeding and don't mind, but if you want to get good sleep, should try to reverse it.

yo mummies,

quickly scan through....

recently clearing up work in opic...but today MC...coz got neck ache wor...

re: hair loss....

mine reduced greatly already...but like many say its hormonal...after a while will stop one...i use "BA WANG" shampoo...hahaha..retro hor..

re: mixing underwear..

hmmm i think older folks thinks dat women's lingerie are "dirty"...so they dun mix it wif men's clothes coz they need to go out make money...but i oso think for hygiene purposes...mixing undies wif socks..hmmm doesn't sound too nice too...

re: teething

tytus not really showing signs yet le...but he seem to haf caught the flu bug from T2..hopefully he recovers v soon...coz he haf a date on saturday wor...

Hmm my LO drinks in the day le, but still wake up at abt 3-4am for her feed.. tried to give her the pacificer but it dun work all the time. at times, she will still wake up 1hr later and whine whine ...

Started her on 2 tablespoon of brown rice cereal but she still want milk after an hour.. wonder if i shld increase it to 3-4 tablespoon hahaha

I'm eager to start solid too but Ashton like not interested leh he is Now 5 mths 5 days old .. Will try again in sat n sunday ..

For the start cereal feeding Do we feed during morning or anytime cn ?

afann> babe, my helper gave her in the morning, followed by milk.. i am starting to give her another feed in the evening yesterday..

Sherry - mine oso cfm wake up 3-4 am give water already 30 mins wake up again !! I think he justwan to latch if I dun latch he dun allow mi to go bk slp n worse still need to wk .. This little baby ah so 'ba dao' lolzz

fatbabe- tk care !! Hv a gd slp

I miss my fatty !!! Haahaa

waahahhaa.. ya they only latch for comfort i guess.. but if i can, i will warm up EBM for her.. it last her till abt 8 to 9am if she is bottlefed loh...haha..

last night, she woke up at 2am to latch and 4am loh.. heat up ebm at 4am to feed and she simply dun wanna open her mouth after i warm up the milk..then i woke up this morning and found her holdin on to the teether in her hands... maybe she tot its milk haha

Sherry - the thickness u give is really watery for start or just mix like gluey like tt? Hv u gave shernise purée ?

ET / furby : we tried giving her pacifier & tried to drag feeding time but she always drop pacifier like every 10mins or so & make noise & also slamp her legs then we dun hv to sleep lor with her noise & need to put back pacifier every 10mins....super tiring...she used to be able to make noise ard 3+am but now like getting earlier at ard 2am....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]...both of us need to work the next morn so really tiring taking care of her every nite....+ every morn I need to wake up early almost 6am to feed her then put her back to sleep then can pump then get ready to go work b4 8am....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Btw, I dun latch her anymore so juz bottle feed her everytime + I only gv her once EBM now ard 8+-9+pm & the rest are FM....;p

The problem with my bb is that she dun wat to drink much during the day & tends to drink more at nite....[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Dunno how to reserve her feed so as she drink mroe during day & not at nite....;p

ET : yr bb can sleep so long w/o milk ?

U dreamfeed him b4 12am even when his last feed at 9+pm ? Then how much he can drink during dream feed at ard 12am ?

Lolz shernise is so cute .. I put Ashton inside cot to slp at night den when reach 3-4am cfm make noise hor put him bk his cot he dun wan .. Only wan slp beside me n bury his head beside my breast .. Den cn slp !! -.-

mstan

I think it is a matter of perserverance, LO needs a few nights to get the signal. Meanwhile, try to increase day feed. Otherwise, this will go on even up till 1yo and beyond.

Afann> initially was quite watery but as u feed, it get more watery loh cause BM got enzyme...

I tried carrot puree but i think i din add enough water, so there was little chunk in it.. think she din manage to digest those cause the chunk of carrot came out with her poo poo hahahaha

furby : we start giving a taste of cereal since Mon so hope she can take more as days goes & fuller during the day as cant seem to increase her milk feed during the day...;p

mstan, he used to be on 4 hours interval, but recently 3 hours he will start to be hungry already, so if his last feed is like 930pm and he sleep after that, I won't dreamfeed him, BUT if his last feed is ard 10 or 11pm but he sleep already, I will dreamfeed him, normally he will finish his feed of 150ml either BM or FM.

I abit bad la, but since he ard 3 months (cos he so fat liao), whether if he didn't finish his previous feed, i wont give him his next feed after 2 hours, strictly after 3 hours, can miss his feed, but cannot bring forward.. hee.. So nearly every feed he will finish..

ET : u so funny wan ? Thought if bb last feed earlier then will dream feed so he will feel fuller & sleep longer thruout the nite ? but for u, if yr bb sleep later at 10 or 11pm then u dream feed where else if sleep at 9.30pm then u dun dream feed ?

Hi mummies, i'm new to the thread. Don't mind i join in the discussion. After reading night feeding problems, i think my girl is not too bad, waking every 3-4 hours. sometimes 5 if she's really tired. But my hubby and I will still complain whyyy is she still waking up?? She's already 6 months. and we hear some of our friends baby can sleep through from 2, 3, months.

She's definitely not hungry at night. Could it be habitual already? she just wants comfort? is it just her temprement? ani idea how to make her sleep longer? let her cry without milk- then the neightbours will wake up..

shading,

welcome! maybe you read some of today's post you might get some idea what you want to do with your LO. All LOs have different temperament

mstan, ET

Yah lor, I read ET's post i also blur...

cheerieheart thanks for the lobang...

later i go check see chinatown cheaper or watson cheaper.

small dream: I'm heading to Chinatown this afternoon too... see can meet anot...

Goin to double check the price at Ocean if possible.

Last nite my Shayne also torture me...

Woke up at 5am keep smiling etc... Feed him liao, he dun sleep, keep making noise and play...

Thus put him into his cradle and let him play himself and he finally doze of ard 6plus lor...

really envy those mummies whose bb can sleep thru the nite...i hve an ex-colli who said her twins woke up for milk till they r 2 yrs old..my god..can't train them so both herself n DH never sleep more than 6 hrs everyday for 2 yrs. imagine both twins different time.

Ms tan, I am in yr boat too. Baby still wakes up for night feeds and Like ashton, she'll only sleep better if she is beside me!

But dunno leh, I still can tahan, and dont mind her latching on cos at least my breasts wont be so full in morning.

I guess it's really a matter of perspective ya.

I dont see night feeds as a problem even if I rant about it. Maybe cos my #1 was like that until he was 2 years old. Haha. Whenever I feel So groggy when I wake up, I console myself by saying at least I get to be close to her at night after 1 whole day at work. Mad, I know.

Febie

I am already at chinatown now. Later I text you [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

blur ah, I mean if last feed is 930, I won't wake him at 12+ to drink.. but if last feed is 10+ or 11+, I will dreamfeed him. cos normally he will sleep around 10+..

Im selling customised and personalised handmade products like beansprout pillow, taggies blanket,customised stuff toy and more other items suited from newborn even till pre-schoolers

we are also having a free giveaway handmade hairbow, so you can visit our site for more information [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

http://mumobaby.blogspot.com

firipy - My gal also leh. For some reason, everytime I prop her up on the sofa, she will want to slide down. And then when in sitting position, she'll wanna turn sideways, dunno what's on her mind too.

sherry79 - How you know Shernise still wants more milk after cereals? She cries? My gal up till now, still doesn't cry for more milk one lor. I also dunno if she's drank enough from latching or not. *sigh*

smalldreams - I salute you ah. Coz' for me, if my gal wakes up in the middle of the nite ... it's only me who hears it, never my DH lor. Last nite, I had a taste of it at 2am, she was crying very badly. Maybe kenah nitemare. I was amazed so loud crying, my DH wasn't even aware when I checked with him this morning. *faint* I had to cradle her a bit and let her back to sleep.

Hi ET, so if baby last feed was 10+ what's the next time he'll wake to drink if he dreamfeed and if he doesn't?

I tried to dream feed but she still wake up same time lei in the middle of the night...

snx, if last feed is 10+ then next feed would be 6+am..

Hee, guess i really confuse you gals. I mean, if my boy drink his last feed by 930 to 12midnight, his next feed will be 6+am and he normally won't wake up in the middle of the night.

Update regarding my son's lump at his buttock.

Last night, LO cried until 1am then sleep. At first thought he was hungry but actually the lump caused pain again. Tomorrow going to bring LO see Dr Dale at NUH and see what to do next. Operation might be the next option to get rid of the lump. Wish my LO good luck tomorrow.

Welcome ShaDing [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

A little update on the Bellamy's at the Airport.

Additional 10% staff discount for $30 and above.

baby rice, baby porridge and apple&cinnamon is $6.20 (before discount)

the brown rice and those 7+ mth ones are $8.50

the puff are $10.50 (i think so, can't rem so many)

thanks Pauline for the Gap deals.

luvbabe: PM u liao.

MamaD:Hope ur bb is better now.

fatbabe:take care!

all other mummies: I'm so siannzzz hahaha...toggling my screen btn my work and forum! :p

Mummies. It is 5 days since I started the babies on their brown rice cereal and all was ok until today -- my girl has pooped 5 times already! Is this normal for babies just starting on solids/cereals???? Im wondering if it is food allergy?? But isnt rice cereal supposed to be one of the least allergenic foods which is why it is recommended as a baby's first food?

I'm not sure if I should continue feeding her the rice cereal or stop and monitor. Any advise? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

hello all... I just brought kaelen back from the PD. He's having flu and cough now.

Actually, he was just discharged from KK yday. We went to the PD on mon night cos he was having fever for the 4th day (Thanks to smart aleck parents who self medicate him for 3 days!) Then, PD told us to go straight to KK cos of the bulge on the fontanelle (soft part on bb's forehead) and fever - symphtoms of meningtitis (2% chance) or Benign Intracanial Hypertension (milder viral infection).

We were soooo worried, and he was admitted for 2 days. Had to go for ultrasound scan, blood and urine tests... My poor bb cried like mad during the scan and when they were drawing blood. (What they did was prick with the needle and pressed and pressed till they collect 250cc of blood, since he was too young for syringe!) Broke my heart - and i could almost hear him wailing "Mummy, why are u doing this to me??!!" sobzzz

Luckily, the results turned out fine --- THANK GOODNESS, but the flu and cough continue from the viral infection he caught. I guess he will be cranky and ill for the next few days...

So now i am putting his start-on-cereals and my end-of-breastfeeding ceremonies on hold...

Sigh... hope all your kids are healthy and happie! I saw some really sickly kids at KK. We are so lucky with ours!!! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif][IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

p.s. sorry for boring you with the medical terms!! We had to google everytime the doc told us the conditions... the more we learn, the scarier it is!!

yeocouple: Poor Kaelen!! Please give him a nice hug and big kiss from this aunty! Pray that he will recover real soon. Are u on leave to take care of him?

Wendy, woooo no no.. end up my 1 tin cost much more then if i buy from other pple.. I guess i will give a pass to be a spree master.. :p

Bigfoot: i was oso initially reluctant to start solids on my 5mth old gal. But she started showing signs of readiness much like ur LO. I consulted a PD which said there's no harm just giving a teaspooon or 2 just to see if she can swallow. Just don't push it. Just Noe that starting solids is more on letting ur LO learn of new taste & less on nutrition. So whatever amt ur LO takes will be fine jus as long as her main source if nutrients still come from milk [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

After reading some of the posts regarding ur LOs sleeping thru the night or not, I concluded it all depends on their personality. One thing that works for me is that I nurse my gal often throughout the day. Not just for her standard feeds but oso like snacks & just comfort. Basically on demand bf. So nighttime she doesn't find the urge to suck as much. Let's hope she remains this way. hehe.. Occasionally she still wakes up 2 or 3 times for comfort

ET> They did not get back to u on e missing parcel ? Gosh ! Haix! But u did so much work on consolidating all e stuffs! Thanx alot *Muackx*

Will email u my account for e refunds then :>

Yeocouple, hugs.. Take care..

By the way, do gimme your account for refund, and to the rest of the mummies who ordered the cereals from me, please gimme your account for refund. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Wendy, they stop responding to me already.. sighs.. But i will keep on chasing..

Mrs EC : i think nowadays the babies will start earlier in solid food,no longer 6 months..i can see my daughter keeps drooling but MIL still advise better to start in 6 months..

Dear mummies, my daughter had her 1st tooth when she was 4 n half months only..all of us were surprised.it was too early i guess..most of babies will only have that in 8 months rite?

any mummies with that experience?

Mrs EC, maybe i should try that on weekends. Maybe baby misses mummy in the day so needs comfort at night[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Chameleon: The first time i fed baby cereal she didn't poo a few days.So we fed regularly througout the day. she pooes 1-3 times a day now. I think it's normal. Every time we introduce a new food. That food comes out in the poo a few days later.

BTW GAP has 50% storewide. Just bought something for baby at the vivo branch.

yeocouple>oh dear. Hope your bb gets better soon! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]