(2010/01) January 2010 mtb

chameleon> hee ok. u can bring mini soon kueh then. think we have enough food already.

east mummies> maybe $5 a person? when we know the total cost will divide then collect money k.

think tml i have to be busy packing my house. eh don't mind my study room though, dont think i have time to pack that super duper messy room. haha. oh, and some of u may have to sit on the floor, like i said before, i only have 14 chairs and a 3-seater sofa.

Hi mommies! come in late today coz my boy was awake almost the whole day, only nap like 5 mins here and there [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

Bubblebath: About baby carriers, there are quite a wide selection at the novena shop ( http://www.babyslingsandcarriers.com/). the last time i went, my LO was abt 6 weeks old n there's limited options coz some of the carriers can only be used when baby's neck is firm. Now when you go, you probably have more choices.

I'm using an Ergo baby carrier now, like some of the mommies here. Like it very much, no backache nor shoulder pain [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] design wise, it's almost the same as the manduca at the novena shop but i think ergo looks nicer somehow. but for Ergo, I need to use an infant insert. But it works better coz for manduca, even tho it doesn't require insert, when i tried my LO in it, he looks so uncomfortable coz there's little support for his neck. But I'm looking fwd to the time when my boy's neck is firm n I can do w/o the insert! If you r very interested in Ergo, i think Metro paragon has it, so do go try it first (give them a call to confirm they carry the brand so u don't make a wasted trip). You may also like to read some reviews on Ergo here: http://www.productreview.com.au/showitem.php?item_id=33932

Anyway, my hubby like yours, also worried the carrier wil become a white elephant. But nowadays, when we want to go Orchard, he will tell me to use the carrier coz stroller is not as convenient ;) He even offered to carry the baby in the Ergo. Oh ya, i wld say that Ergo design is not so 'feminine', so men usually don't mind using it. Carrier is also useful when u travel overseas [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

If u wanna buy Ergo, can give u the contact. They will deliver to your plc. Can ask the person brg along a few diff colours to let u see which one u like n he will teach u how to use.

Jessie: I like taobao too! Tho I don't buy anythg there, i just love to go n see what's available [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] quite a few of my frens in SH/BJ also shop online at taobao a lot. Do u know if most of the sellers at taobao sell to buyers overseas?

hehe.. i'm like u, always tinking about my work. Sometimes, even when I'm playing with my LO, i will wonder when i can get back to my wk. Can't help it, i love my wk as much as my baby leh.

smalldreams: i'm a writer/translator, even before i was pregnant, i wld wk late at nite. I write better when it's quiet all around me [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Cheerieheart, tks for sharing ur experience with d ergo carrier. Seems like it's really good. Will try to go try 1 in d nxt few days. Hw much is an ergo carrier? If buying thru ur contact is it cheaper?

bubblebath, my no. 1 also missed the bb bonus lor cos she is born in Jan 08. SAHM's subsidy is lower so I'm feeling the pinch. Good idea, don't think the school will entertain me if I ask for curriculum so I shall try and observe their ongoing lessons instead and see how they teach the kiddos. :p

bubble: Ergo has organic and non-organic carriers. I got the non-organic one. I think the organic designs are nicer. I want to save a bit of $ coz also needed to get the insert. If I din hv to get the insert, I wld hv bought an organic one.

If you go to the Ergo website, you'll find a list of local retailers and the one i got was the cheapest i cld find. Er.. if I din remember wrongly, was $180. My friend who intro the carrier to me got it even cheaper, but that was like abt 1, 2 yrs ago. You could also check out the price yourself, in case there's even cheaper one now: http://www.ergobabycarrier.com/retailers/results_list.php?showonly=INT&tab=INT&country=SG&state=&city=&name=

Hope the above helps [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] PM me if u need the contact of the person i got it from. However, he didn't allow me to try it, I tried my friend's Ergo before buying.

cheerieheart (cheerieheart) : Really! Yah! Taobao is my life! I mean, I find almost everything I need there. I am not sure if they ship to overseas. I am sure some do but need to chat online with them to find out.

Yah, me too! I am always working one! Before I was pregnant, I work till 5am every night and wake up at 2pm. Bad I know but night time is the best as like you, I enjoy the silence. Now have to sleep at 1am liao cos Arwen wakes up at 5am for her feed . I am glad tho Arwen makes me sleep early cos I need to break the cycle or my healthy sure go downhill. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Hey, you write?? Books? What language do you translate?

Lamb: Yah, I heard Qipu is huge so I had been putting off going there. But I see my Ayi and her daughter got nice things from there and they want to ask me out on their next "hunting trip" so perhaps I shall go .LOL

nobody here at this hour? first time i logged on at this hour cos first time pumping at this hour and feeling more awake. haha thought i can finally start reading the threads from now but nobody post =p

mel>am up since 6 today. so tired. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] waiting for ayden to wake up from his nap so we can bring him for his prevenar. hope no fever so he can join the outing tomorrow.

Melissa

So have you finished spring cleaning for yr "open house" tomorrow? Hehee...

TYL

Wah, why you wake up so early if Ayden is still napping?

I only woke up at 7.15 am, coz #1 was snuggling up to me continuously.

Where will you be taking Ayden for his jab?

Cheerieheart

Cool job [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] Lucky you coz can work from home.

I also get to work from home twice a week, but when I get overloaded, somehow it's still best to work in office.

Anyway mummies...my maternity leave has ended liao... but am still on my own vacation leave from 2009. Hmmm..it sure feels different...

Anyway I can relax a bit now coz both little A & I have showered! Yey! Now she's napping. Thinking of going Chinatown today if weather's good [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

morning all...

tis morn realli quite quiet hor...

melissa> dont worry, we can sit on e floor... i wont stay v long coz tink my hb's wound still not v well... :p...

smalldreams> u v on leh... keep gg out... hee hee...

mstan> is it coz of ur blocked ducts tt ur bb dun wan to latch? when i was blocked, he also didn't wan to latch... only managed to feed properly when the ducts were cleared...

xin : I long time didnt latch bb liao so think she too used to bottle that forgot how to latch liao.....;p

Book an appt with mdm rokiah this aftn....;p

Think I wat to stop bf liao....so troublesome, always blocked every wk.....;p....how to stop bf naturally without blocked ducts & mastitis ?

Melody, 1st day of work? Hope everything's well n smooth for u.

I'm dreading d day I'm going back to work. Dats nxt mth but already starting to feel so sian.

Xin/charis,

I manage to find a pd that was opened yesterday in bishan. Brought baby there to see the pd. She says his nose is mega blocked and use the machine to suck the phlegm out. He was screaming and crying so badly when the pd suck the phlegm out. See already so heartpain.

Now still coughing and nose is still blocked. Not sure whether he's scared by the sucking process yesterday. He will sleep and suddenly wake up screaming and cryin very loudly. He has not been sleeping and feeding well since sat. Sigh

I very pei fu mummies who venture out alone wif their LOs. I still very reliant on my mum when I bring Lucas out. Sat went airport to pick up my sister n when we sat down for a drink, he started wailing away. I carried him n walk up n down d arrival Hall but he did nt stop. Once my mum carried him over he stopped instantly! @_@

East mummies, I shall try to bring Lucas along tmr for d meet up n see hw things goes. Hopefully I can cope wif him. If nt wil haf to mk an early exit.

smalldreams>woke up early cos he woke up to feed. :p fed him then played with him and he only fell asleep around 8.30. But only for short time cos he was woken up by some noise.

we took him to the healthway clinic at Bedok for his jab.

bryest>hope estovan gets better soon

smalldream : er.. you got Chinatown for what ? [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif] see see look look ah ? Too bad I not in SG or sure join you jalan jalan. So boring here!

When you be back to work?

Melody hope yr 1st day goes well.

Bryest

My baby also has been having stuffed nose for the longest time. Mucus. My MIL made so much noise coz she has been having the same thing for 2 weekends. I didn't bring to PD coz when I brought her at 1 mth old, no medicine..just Iliadin. Hmmm..now not sure whether to bring or not. But no coughing leh.

How did Estovan get the flu?

TYL

I see..hope he will be brave later! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Jessie

Hahaha...ya lah I think it'd be fun if you were around since we live nearby! Anyway I'm going there to check out this shop, whoopeekiddies or something. I previously went to another one to look-see coz sometimes I get to work nearby chinatown. Going back to work on 13 May.

So yr Ayi comes every single day is it? What time to what time?

Bubblebath

Taking out babies is like a gamble..sometimes they co-operate, sometimes they don't. haha! But usually if baby is being worn close to you, I think they tend to fuss less.

hope yr baby behaves well for the outing tomorrow [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Oh ya, just finished fixing up Little A's jumperoo!

Sweat mann hahaha.... so happy coz don't need to depend on hubster to fix it up!

tyl> how's w healthway package? is thr a long waiting time? i still thinking if i shd go bk to his old pd or find a new one...

mattias still like having diarrhea... but i finalli found 2 cracks at his anus... so at least e blood is superficial...

bryrest> my fren rec mi to buy e pigeon tweezer to pick out e mucus... she say now her kids alr 4 yr old still useful... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]...

hope estovan gets well soon...

smalldreams>thanks. back from the doctor's le. He cried for a bit then went back to sleep. Hope he'll sleep longer so he can recover faster.

xin>the pneumenoccal package at healthway is 400 + 28 gst. this is for 3 jabs. we get a bottle of liquid panadol after the visit

smalldreams, have fun at chinatown later [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

wow, so shiok to be able to work from home twice a week! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

tyl, hope that ayden wouldnt kenna fever from the jab. tristan had slight fever after his 2 jabs on sat but was ok on sun liao but then these few days he slept a lot and drink less milk than usual...

mstan> A massage lady told me that she used syringe to help clear her block ducts. She said use the syringe on the nipple and it can help to unblock the ducts. Maybe you can try this.

lsntyl> my colleague told me that pneumenoccal taken b4 months need 4 jabs and only 3 after 6 months? is that correct? also, it's monthly jab also? would it coincide with the 6-in-1 or 5-in-1 jab? my LO wailled and 'nagged' after his jab so i'm trying not to have him jabbed twice in a day.

re: ergo

all the good reviews are so tempting. i will go check it out this weekend. think it will be useful when we go shopping in KL don't need to lug his stroller along and can save some space in the boot for my shopping :D

it's now getting harder to feed YX cause he will want to hold the bottle or grab the napkin around his neck and throw away. in the middle of his feed, he will poke his fingers in to rub/dig his gums. Or he will see something interesting and keep staring at it. he was staring at the ceiling light and kept talking.

bryest> hope estovan get well soon.

tyl> u juz go for e pneumenoccal jabs ar... e routine jabs u do thr too? hope he wont nd e panadol... [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

hi all, i'm from june09 thread. would like to sell away my remaining huggies 'M' cos baby has outgrown. Selling everything below at $20.

- 1 new unopened pack of 'M' Huggies Ultra

- 39 pieces of 'M' Huggies Dry

- 31 pieces of 'M' Huggies Dry Comfort

collection can be arranged around sembawang area on weekday evenings or clementi area on weekends. Please PM me as I don't check this thread.

gals, anyone still on organic mother's milk tea? i have abox to let go at $7.00, left 15 tea bags (usually one box consist of 16 tea bags) as I'm not taking anymore (I'm taking other supplements). Just bought last month. expiry: Nov 2012

smalldream : Nope, she comes Mon to Fri. Weekends me and DH take care of Arwen . We try not to be too reliant on Ayi. Weekend I will change and wash Arwen beddings and odds and ends. We do enjoy spending time with her alone although that means me and DH don't go out pak tor liao. Still waiting for weather to be sunny so we can go out like a small family. Keke

mstan> she said use the syringe on the nipple. i think it sort of imitates the sucking action. any kind of syringe will do. those used to feed medication will be handy. i remember there was once i had block ducts and after i latched my bb, it still did not clear completely. when i looked closely, there was a white dot on the nipple. when i peeled off the white dot, the milk rushed out like a little fountain. i think the white dot was a little patch of dry milk blocking the exit of the duct. I suppose her method is to use the syringe to suck out dried milk or whatever that are blocking the exit of the ducts.

Jessie: I’m guilty of bad sleep habits too! Esp when I need to rush to meet deadlines.

I don’t write books though I might like to do that some day. I write for websites and mags. Translate Eng to Ch and vice versa.

You make me itching to go shopping in SH! I hope Qipu is as good as the old xiangyang mkt! The best time to go SH is around now or fr late Sep onwards. But the world expo starting, guess hotel rooms will be hard to get or if not, the rates will b very high ya? If wait till last quarter of the yr, it will be all winter wear [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

xin/cocomama>the pneumenoccal jabs he's getting is 2 before 6 months and 1 after he turns 1 year old. His schedule is

2 months - 1st 6 in 1

3 months - 1st prevenar

4 months - 2nd 6 in 1

5 months - 2nd prevenar

6 months - 3rd 6 in 1

after that, no more jabs till after he turns 1 year old. We worried 2 jabs together will be too strong for him so rather just trek to the clinic every month

we gave him 1 dose of panadol le. Just in case he is still feeling pain from the panadol. Just finished latching him on both sides. my breasts are flat now. :p

jessie>hope sun comes out soon in SH then!

tyl> wah 6am to 830am.. that's long. is the gp at healthway clinic good? as in he/she knows how to handle baby and jab?

smalldreams> haha no. i decided to do the floor before they come tml since the floor gets dusty easily. i just put my own laundry in the washing machine. that's abt all i've done so far. chinatown??? i hardly ever go there.

bubblebath> yah ok! bring him and try.

cocomama> my girl is the same! so i position her in such a way i can grab her hands and feed her at the same time.

hi tulipz8,

can count me in for the East Mummies First Meeting have pm u[IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

melissa>hee, no lah. in between, he stopped to play with us. not feed non-stop from 6-8.30. I will faint if he does lor. I even napped a bit after he finished latching cos I'm off today.

the doctor is female. She looks quite young but she said she already has a child le. So far, quite ok lah. She only jab one time and seems sure of herself. The Healthway I brought Ayden to is the one next to the small NTUC opp your place. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Any mommies with LOs still having colic? Mine still does leh. And on top of that, she's very gassy. And I think it's my diet. *sigh* Poor darling. She cannot poo properly because of all the trapped gas in her tummy. Breastfeeding is such a tough journey.

Next gathering for mums & babes...AFANN'S hse..

(26th april / 1st may)

1) Afann ( both)

2) sherry

3) yuki

4) Cy

5) fatbabe

6) luvbabe (1 May)

7) Febie (1 May, 26th i got course)

8) dolphin (1 May)

9) AG (1 May)

10) joy (1 May)

11) koonnie (1 May)TBC need to see duty roster =p

12) ecookie (1 may)

13) Geraldine (1 May)

So, is it confirm to be on 1st May? Time = 12pm? What's the plan for the day?

Also, will b there with hubby + Lerynn...

little_lamb>you got try ruyi oil? We find a combi of that + carrying him upright and pressing his tummy against us helps ayden when he is gassy

hi, would like to join in for the gathering at Afann. Do let me know the final date and time. only able to make it on 1 may...

thanks...

Melissa

got ur email. see ya! [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/happy.gif]

Afann

i'm interested too but can I know where you live? (north, south, west or east)

ridwind

any mommies using this? any idea whr to buy?

wanted to check with you all where you store your ebm and for how long? Realized we can store ebm in deep freezer for 3mths. But wat's a deep freezer? Is the top part of our fridge where there's ice considered a deep freezer?

cheerieheart - Yah, like you, I can't wait to remove the insert. Quite lehceh lah. But hor, I realize recently, my gal's neck doesn't seem to require insert already. Maybe I should 'trial' her at home first. But rightfully, should wait till 4 months lah. Qipu is not exactly like XY market coz' XY market mainly fake goods. Qipu has fake goods too but also a lot of wholesale clothings, bags, shoes etc. It's where the local retailers come and buy their goods to sell in their shops. So if you buy at big quantity, can get wholesale price. Some stalls only sell to you if you buy in big quantity.

jessietan - How? Did you go CHM during weekend as planned or not? Was it fun? Maybe we can meet again this week? End of this week weather like better leh. Let's discuss places to go over SMS, eh? I am thinking of starting my gal on music classes leh, sounds like quite fun from my friends. But maybe after she learns how to sit. Arwen and you interested? 1200rmb for 8 lessons. There's one class just near my place. But I think they have at French Concession area too. You really must take a trip to qipu one of these days. Even tourists from singapore are taken there to shop in their intinerary lor.

cocomama - HUH? Syringe for the nipples? That sounds really painful man! YX is so cute. My gal likes to twirl her hair when latching. But hor ... she tends to perspire A LOT during latching lor coz' of her hair. And here is not even warm yet! I cannot imagine summer for her how?!

lsntyl - Yes, ruyi oil everyday twice even. But still cannot help her colic. I blame it on my diet. I tend to eat garlic and drink red tea. I have read that caffeine does cause gassyness in babies. [IMG=http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/clipart/sad.gif]

bryest - deep freezer can keep for 6 months, not 3. 3 months is the normal freezer we have in our fridges at home. Deep Freezer is the type where it's a single unit freezer where u see them keeping ice-cream? That is deep freezer.

my LO seems to be dropping his milk intake from both bottle and breast. IN fact now he will oso scream and kick when put to the breast.

Any idea why this is so....

urgh...i getting apprehensive abt my taiwan trip like dat. if he behaves like dat, the whole tour bus and other pple will be looking at me when i try to feed. then dunno how to BF like dat...at first i tot can quietly just feed him...

little lamb

my LO when bf also perspire like mad, like she is doing the marathon of her life. After feeding, she will have this drunken and exhausted look while i burp her...LOL