(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

76,U mean the bill including gynae charges is only 1.4k? How come all ur bills so cheap! You can drink all kind of milk, esp those for lactating milk, but must drink warm. You shouldn't stop breathing when you get in and out of bed, you should breathe in n out deeply instead.

BBQ
hahaha, yah, i stop breathing coz when i breathe, pain lah... my bill of 1.4k deducted thru cpf is after govt subsidies.Before that, is 3.6k inclusive of gynae charges. wait till my bbs cme home, the bill will cost a bomb.

xiaofu, congrats! twin girls are so cute when you dress them in matching dresses!!

my massage lady says some women start massaging after 10days but my family nag nag nag so in the end i agreed to start my massage after first month. feel so depressed now cos many visitors comment on my tummy liao

76, how come your wound still painful? your bill of 1.4k is all paid by medisave??
bbq, you delivered at KKH? what's your total bill??

Me at ESH and just myself is 7k total. Excluding bill for the babies. I wonder how come u all can use so much from cpf.

I've been scheduled for a scan(?) at the ADC of KKH approximately at my 25 week pregnancy. Its description is "FGC". Though I've asked the nurses whats that all about, its briefly explained to me that its a routine for twins mummies to check for blood flow. As I was rushing for my appointment with my gynae and was very tired after lying on the bed for the detail scan for more than an hour, I didn't ask further. However I seem unable to find out more information of this scan / test online and in magazines.

Any mummies, esp those from KKH can advise what's it all about?

See Jay
i received a letter from CPF that they have deducted 1.4k from medisave... My insurance agent also called me to say she received a claims from NUH and will proceed to do claims for me.. but the claims must be due to complications, which is for my case lor....so i hope can claim thru my insurance..and insurnace can pay back my medisave..then i dun have to pay from CPF.

xiaofu, i did my growth scans at week 25 and week 30. basically it's just to measure the blood flow to both babies and ensure that all is well. btw, your babies have two placentas right? shouldn't have risk of TTTS.. the duration of scan depends on your babies, if they keep moving then it may take up to an hour to obtain the readings :p

76, hope your agent is successful in making the claims! you may need a letter from your doctor.. insurance claims sometimes can take very long and vomit blood along the way, hope your agent will help you in this fight!

gonna milk myself liao.. jyaa ~

Thanks seejay. Indeed they are scheduled around wk25 and wk 28. Yah mine is 2 placentas. One of the placenta is a bit lower, but the gynae say it shouldn't be a problem, except it may affect the mode of delivery.

I am wondering if I should ask for hospitalisaton leave to relieve myself of work from wk30. When did the rest of you stopped working? What kind of condititions will the gynae base on to decide to give hospitalisation leave?

Hi BBQ, I delivered at KKH.I was an A1 class patient (single room) so the babies ward class follow the mum. However, within hrs of delivering, the business office staff came up to our rm to tell us they have downgraded us to B1 class for the baby charges (mine is still at A1 charge) as our babies will be in the hospital for a month or so.

It is a nice gesture, but really at the end, (not that i am ungrateful), the difference was a couple of hundred dollars only as B1 pt is still a private patient price.

My A1 class was abt 5.6 K i think. But my bbs were at the NICU and special care and that cost a bomb. In the end, for both bbs, it was abt 26 K in total for two of them. One bb stayed for 3 weeks, and the other is 2 weeks.

Medisave covered mostly, but we still had to pay hard cash of abt 5-6K.

I started my Malay massage only 2 mths after delivering.(Now bbs are 3 mths)

I just did my so-called detailed scan yesterday and it only took maybe 10 minutes at the most !!! Is that normal??? I thought it should have been longer since it is supposedly a detailed scan for 2 babies! I'm wondering how detailed it was ... I did this in Beijing by the way as I am currently based here and only returning to Spore next week (yay!!).

I scheduled my next appt with a spore gynae at 24 weeks, but after reading the previous posts where most of you had to do growth scans at 25 weeks, does this mean I should schedule the appt at 24 weeks instead of 25 weeks?

Hi, Anyone knows whether there are special antenatal classes for twins? If hubby goes with me to the classes, do we have to pay extra? Thanks!

xiaofu, my doc initially wanted me to work till 35 weeks. but in the end i asked for hosp leave at 33 weeks cos it became very painful to move around, so i think it depends on the situation.

My bill seems weird. After cpf deduction, I still have to fork out about 9k hard cash. I wonder why all of you can use so much from cpf.

Anyway, Poko, why do you have to wait so long for the massage?

Chamelon, my detailed scan lasted more than an hr. About an hour and half.

wah.. suddenly like so many posts... heee.. so nice to c 'another batch' of twin mummies cmg up... congratz ladies....

like so long nvr cm into here...duno whr to start nw...

well..as for massage.. i juz started.. nw abt mth aft delivery.. massage lady actually said for c-sec aft 4-5weeks better... but i asked her to try on me 1 day before my bbs' full-mth. she said my internal still swollen.. so cant massage my stomach much.. but i did enjoy the head to toe massage la. hehe.

i personally oso tink it's not too good to start massage (in case internal still swollen..dun wana hurt yourself mah)... of cos massage can start earlier.. but they might not massage on yur tummy oso la..
heee.. juz my 2.73 cents worth.. bahaha~

Bbq -- hhmmmm i really wonder why detailed scan mine is so short leh. Dunno how come so fast they can see liver, heart, stomach, kidney, umbilcal cord etc ..... sigh .... now I also dont know if I should go for another one in Spore next week or if that will be an overkill .....

chameleon, my detailed scan lasted more than an hour also. the sonographer will show you babies' eye sockets, lips, genitals, count their fingers and toes. the blood flow part i almost fell asleep.. if you wanna have a peace of mind, better do it again, you'll be very happy to see close-ups of your little darlings

bbq, is it because you don't have enough money in CPF that's why need to pay more cash? i am starting my massage after one month, just to be safe.

BBQ, I did my massage only after 2 months not for any particular post delivery concerns. It is because i was just so tired from caring from my twins alone during the confinement month and after that (if you have read my story posted a few weeks back, its abt the confinement lady for twins that messed up my confinement month).

However, that aside, i still felt some discomfort around my stiches area while lying down on my stomach to do my massage.

Bobo
yah, think better to wait till internal injuries recover then massage. me havent looked for one yet... when i get up from bed, still pain leh....but walk around not pain... 3 weeks liao..is it normal?
Poko
your bbs stayed in NICU for 3 weeks and 2weeks and cost 26k...then i win liao lor..mine are already there for 3 weeks...think i will flip when bill comes...keeping my fingers crossed

BBQ,
you can try this massage lady quite good aida at 98858360.

Btw, when for my 25week scanning yesterday, and Dr SF Loh said that my babies are healthy.
Baby Boy is 800gm and Baby Girl is 700gm.
But still big no no for long walks or long standing or no carrying of heavy thing not even heavy handbag...
Babies are very co-operative during my scanning yesterday..

76, my wound is not painful after 1-week plus (purposely stopped my painkillers to test the pain) but sometimes still feel mild pain like ant bites, my CL says it's normal and some people will feel pain even after a few months. hopefully you can claim your hospital bills from insurance, then it won't be so jialat

juliana, congrats on the healthy weights
try to switch to lighter bag for work, i remember i had bad backaches when i was carrying my handbag

76, R your babies at NICU or special care??? My boy was at NICU (STEP DOWN UNIT) and that itself is abt $800 over dollars (and mine didnt even need medication) a day. The Special care is abt $400 per day. But u know, these places - many things add up....

Did they not send u the bill time to time to "warn u"????

Mine is paying B1 Class . Yours??

i think 76's case is due to complications so if the insurance plan covers pregnancy complications then she can make a claim. how's everything on your side?? everything good??

btw do you all let babies sleep in air con room? my babies already have blocked nose without sleeping in air con room, i dunno if i should let my mum turn on the air con, cos she's been complaining about the hot weather

I let them sleep in aircon room.

I still can't figure out the bfeeding part but my milk supply has definitely increased to 85ml per 30 mins of pumping on both breasts. It's still pathetic, I think.

Thanks bbq and seejay. I think I will show the spore gynae the detailed scan report at my next visit and leave him to decide if he wants to do another more complete scan for me.

Juliana -- How come no long walks? Eeeeps!! I've been taking walks after each meal to help digest my food and to feel less bloated, and also to help control weight gain

poko
i stayed in class B2 at NUH..niCu per day is $200 with medication. I can ask for interim bill at those service counter, but din ask..
see jay
I stopped eating my painkiller when i discahrged from hospital liao...gungho hor...so i asked for it lor...hehehehe
How do you all manage with twins? any help at home? anyof you employed maid? my big one coming back this week, small one prob 2 weeks later..I have 'booked' a CL but now she no need to do confinement for me, dunno if i shld still emply her...whats your opi? Is CL useful in providing tips on managng twins coz my CL speiclise in twins...

I have my mum and my maid to help. Basically, you will need at least 3 adults to manage. If not, quite siong. Now that she doesn't need to do confinement for you, does she charge lesser? As much as she has tons of experience in managing twins, when they cry at the same time, she can only handle one. I don't have a CL so can't comment if a CL helps.

76, you're my new hero! i ate the painkillers on time for one whole week cos very scared of the pain!

i find CL more helpful during your confinement cos that is the time you need to rest. now that your confinement is gonna end, maybe getting a helper to help with housework is better cos there'll be lots of clothes and tiny hankies to wash everyday. there'll also be many bottles, pump, and stuff to wash and sterilise. then you can concentrate on caring for your babies

76, i think the CL will help. My older twin came back earlier too. I asked my CL to come in on the day of his discharge. SHe helped me look after him. Then when my younger twin came back 1 week later, she is more 'zai' also. Mine has never done twins before so this is her 1st time. Very helpful with her around. At least I get to learn and rest and look after them. My maid is primarily a logistic help, she washes and clean the house and baby clothes. We don't allow her to touch babies initially as she has 'butter' finger, drops things here and there. My in law will come over with food every other day. My sis in law will also come over with food. Accept these helps readily.

kath, how old are your twins now? my maid quite careless also so i don't let her carry the babies now. wondering when is a good time to let her help since she will need to help out when i go back to work..

Thanks BBQ, see Jay and kath for your advice.. Yah, agree that we shld accept help readily, ah bo will go crazy... Thinking of employing a maid...any recommendations?
Anyone here have advice on how to manage bf and pumping milk timing, esp into the night...i duno if i shld bf then pump milk.. or what.. if i do both bf and pump, then no time to sleep? if i do 1 only, then if bb refused breast, at least i got backup supply of breastmilk for bottle feed...

Oh yah, need advice on what items 9e.g. diapers)to bring alng shld we take bbs out..sorry, i a bit suaku..need to ask

76, my personal opinion is if you have no time to train your maid then better get one that speaks and understands english. my myanmar one is struggling to understand our instructions as she only knows basic english and mandarin. for breastfeeding, if my bb reject the breast initially, i will squeeze my boob so that the milk will flow out more smoothly, then the bb will start feeding normally

for bringing bbs out for few hours, i bring wet wipes, at least 4 diapers, hankies, milk powder, warm water in milk bottles. my CL keeps the water warm by wrapping each bottle in nappy. i think also need to bring extra set of clothing if you're going out for longer period.

MTBs, remember to buy more baby hankies!

Seejay
My twin boys are now 5mths old. Can't keep still so carrying them is a struggle now. So even lagi dare not let maid carry. She only plays with them when they are on the bed/bouncer/playmat. The only time that I allow her to carry is when both are crying, demanding to be fed, and only babysitter is around. Then my babysitter will let her carry 1 twin, but seated down, no moving abt.

Definitely need help. If you can, hire at least a part-time helper. Will make you more sane. Can't really help u with the bf. I on total expressed bm as both twin have poor sucking abilities then. i bottled fed them. Supply was never enough so also supplemented with formula. When they reach 3mths, my supply dwindled till droplets only, not sure why but many told me coz i never let them suck. sigh. So now on formula only. By the way, i tried to latch both at the same time initially, like those shown in books for breastfeeding. It was a total disaster, not only was i stressed out, arms tired, both twins were so angry at not being fed enough, felt hot etc. so whoever can do that, i really kowtow to you

Saw some queries on bill at KKh. To share, my older twin stayed in NICU and then Special care nursery for 32 days, his bill(lucky healthy except for juandice and low wt at birth) came up to $32k. My younger twin has some gut problems and required more attention in NICU and Step-down, stayed for 35 days. His bill was $36k. Luckily I downgraded myself to C class so no cash needed. You can ask for interim bill if you want to know the costing from the biz centre.

Kath,you make me feel normal! There are so many mums around on tbf and I am starting to get depressed because I don't have enough milk to go on tbf for the twins.

wow, bbq you mean many mums are on tbf for twins? dun feel depressed, my supply totally cannot meet their demands so i supplement with fm. seldom latch the babies on nowadays, very worried about dwindling milk supply now
anyway my mum is very discouraging she keeps telling me to give up bf since my supply so little etc etc.. sianz..

I am a new member, into my 15 weeks and preggie with twins. May I ask if anyone encounter that doc said 80% girl during a 14-weeks scan, the gender changes during the detailed scan at 20th week? My doc told me n dh that 1 of my twin is 80% girl, the other twin refuses to open his/her leg. So have to wait till 20th week detailed scan to confirm genders.

Katherine, welcome
one of my boys was thought to be a girl at 14th week scan, only confirmed his gender at 20th week detailed scan. thank god my mum stopped me from buying all the pink and frilly baby clothes!

Cj, those mums have only 1 babies. I also don't have enough for both and had to supplement with fm from day 1. It's so difficult trying to latch on boys on coz when my breasts r full, they are not hungry. When I pump out, then they cry for milk. It's stressful n frustrating.

breastfeeding: let's not worry or feel depress that our supply is insufficient for our babies bah.. (hehe..cos im one who has super low supply.. sometimes, not even hv any for them for a day or two de!). ya, at times i oso feel depressed n sad n angry (at myself) n everything.. but wat my hb said oso encouraging n true la.... nowadays the formula milk oso very good le..most important is our babies are healthy n growing well mah.. juz give watever we hv to them... they will be strong n feel the love oso de.

caregiving to the kids: my confinement lady just left ystrday le.. yawns.. for the last 2 nites...it was omoz sleepless nites. but i believe i can make it de! yes! my helper seems to be better without the CL around..weird person! anyways..juz hope she keeps up the good work....and ya, i will still cont to monitor her de. since the bbs came back frm hospital..(few days old)..we already let the helper carry the babies, but my CL oni let her bathe them when they were abt 3wks old.

ok.. tink one of my girls is calling... gota go.

cheers~

Fat bobo, I am starting to feel more and more normal after hearing that you ladies also don't have enough milk for your twins. I was starting to wonder if I was the only one with low supply and felt so useless.

Without the CL, you took care of your babies all alone at night? My helper has been helping with everything - feeding, changing and bathing the babies but only during the day. No choice, I can't handle so have to depend on her.

ya lar..hehe.. we cant compare ourselves to singletons de la hor... but smtimes i oso try not to compare to other mummies here.. im omoz 'dry' nw already.. haha.. oni 6wks aft given birth niah. no choice de.. watever lor. bahaha~ like dat i can oso enjoy more time watching them den stressing myself in the room with the pump sucking on my nipples!! LOL~

now.. daytime.. i make milk n feed bb myself.. if timing of them both too close, den she will make milk n feed the other. (of cos household chores she handles...but i do wash n sterilise the bottles aft feed oso la). i'll get her to change diapers, n oso mrng bathe n evng clean-up. nighttime.. same i will make milk n feed, she'll do for the other if timing overlap.. i'll wake her up to do diaper change..(but smtimes i do change them myself....depends la..haha).

smtimes my hb do wake up for night feeds oso.. but he has to work the next mrng.. so i rather he sleeps..n i get the helper to help..