(2009) Twins/ Triplets/ Multiples mummies to be

seejay,
yours is faternal twins.. identical share one waterbag n placenta..

I'm having faternal twins too..

Abt milk, i have read that buy drink milk + funegreek also might help increase of BM flow.
Can try...

Seejay,
do you suffer from ribcage pain.. I'm having it, and i'm coming 24week next wk..

Fenugreek Seed,

Fenugreek seeds are a galactagogue that is often used to increase milk supply in lactating women.[5] Because the maple syrup-like flavor is strong and not always liked, the seeds are ground to a powder and administered in capsules. Many lactating women who take fenugreek in the quantities required to increase their milk supply notice that their skin exudes a distinct "maple syrup" odor.

Juliana - I'm 19 weeks and recently the area around my right ribcage feels sore sometimes, esp at night if I sleep on my right side. I was also wondering if it is a pregnancy symptom...

Seejay - Ya lor I've learnt to ignore comments from ppl who keep saying how huge my tummy is hahaha

Juliana, identical twins can have separate placenta and waterbag if they split on the third day after fertilization so doc says mine could be identical or fraternal but looks like identical..

i did have ribcage pain during pregnancy when the babies were pushing against my ribs, esp when i am sitting down. but it improved later in my pregnancy (30+ weeks) after the babies' heads turned down so hang in there ok?

where can i buy fenugreek supplement?? do they sell it at watsons?? think i'll ask my ah lao to find it for me.. hee hee..

see Jay,
You can get fenugreek from GNC at 29 dollars.

Those wif fraternal twins, are yours quite similar looking?? Mine does look alike though one boy and a gal

Hey poko, so nice that your babies look alike. I'm also having a boy and a girl. I wonder if they will look similar? I'm only at 24 weeks and boy the backache is really killing me. Now they are giving me boxing punches in the pelvic area. Not painful, but the sensation is hard to describe.

Sophia - same here! I'm only 19 weeks and my back is already killing me!!! But my back hurts only when I'm sleeping and is especially pain when I wake up. But during the day, when I'm walking or just sitting around I don't have any problems with the backache (yet!!)

I'm still not sure if I'm feeling the twins move yet, which is a little worrying. I do feel some things sometimes but I'm still not sure if it's the babies kicking, or if it's just my body twitching. I still abit blur blur lah hahah.

chameleon, wait till you are around your 5th month, the back will ache night and day. :p
Even sleeping also got problem, there is just no comfortable positions anymore.

; ( 2.30am... Juz vomitted not too long ago.. not sure if its the food or juz the mouth guard I am wearing to prevent myselffrom grinding away my teeth >.< couldn't get to sleep coz feel hungry and legs seems to can't stop twitching. Strange funny feeling...

Did any mummies buy the "my breast friend"? Its a breast feeding pillow... I tot I could use a normal pillow or cushion when the time comes...

How many weeks are you xiaofu?
I bought that pillow 2nd hand. Not sure if it will be useful but it came recommended by my SIL. My twins are now kicking quite hard and it's becoming more obvious witht the stomach movements. Not painful but also quite hard to explain.

poko, thanks! i bought the fenugreek supplement le but have not started taking yet. do i need to consult doctor before taking? cos i am on a strict confinement diet and taking a lot of tonics now, not sure if it will "clash".. my boys look more and more different from each other everyday so i guess they're fraternal! it's funny though cos they looked identical from birth till the first week..

xiaofu, try to wait a few hours after eating before lying down, will feel better this way
i didn't buy any breastfeeding pillows, i used normal pillows when using the football hold. anyway, my boys refused to latch on a few days after they got home because they got used to the bottle ;__; so i'm sort of glad i didn't buy any bf pillows, haha..

Hi loinky, I went for the OSCAR test at KK. I think that's the non invasive one. It was a horrible time with all the waiting and apprehension. But all is well in the end.

My gynae told me not to go for it..in case (touch wood) the results not gd.. dono which baby has the prob.. he says the detail scan is better.. but that will be in wk 20.. he only check babies's necks.. so cross my fingers..

Sophia,
Me too, the kicking the really hard this day.. And yesterday, something like his/her hand or tight sick out, below my pelvic area.. Seems that our babies love to be ard my pelvic area..

Even now i'm typing they are still kicking..

Juliana &amp; Sophia - So nice that you can feel the babies kicking. I'm still unsure as to whether I'm feeling the babies move or if its just muscle twitches and gas !!

Loinky - Actually the previous gynae I went to also told me the same thing -- abt the test not being able to detect wihich twin has the problem. But the current gynae I'm seeing didnt mention that and told me to take the test, which I did since its just the drawing of blood and its free for me (covered by insurance.

Chameleon - guess my gynae wants me to save money.. pump the money for my double detail scan..

ur company cover u for maternity benefits?

Sophia, I am going onto wk 18.
Thanks Seejay for your advise. My hubby and I were quite tickled by your blog entries. ^_^ Its fun reading them. heee.

I usually do not have much trouble keeping my food down nowadays. But yesterday... I guess its just one of the bad days >.< Monday blues maybe hehe.

I believe triple test is not so accurate for twins as the prof who did the NT scan + blood test for me for down syndrome said the blood sample is actually a combination of the 2 babies. In a way its not an accurate reflection of problem (*touchwood) if any, for a specific baby. So he said actually for twins, u dun even need to do the blood test ;X. Juz the NT scan will do.

See-Jay, My lactation consultant from KKH told me abt Fenugreek. She said that it is all natural indian herbs. No coloring or that sort. My doc confimred that too when i asked for another more "medical pill" to make more milk. He said that he can give me this medicine and it can be consumed wif fenugreek as fenu is natural and wont clash.

But maybe u would like to check wif yr doc. Another thing i hear that can make more milk is "Milk More Plus" or something like that from Vitakids located at Paragon or Forum.

This consists of fenugreek and other ingredients. Supposingly to incease the milk by leaps and bounds but me not bought it yet so cant say anything abt it.

My babes are very figitty when i feed them milk. Even if its more than 3 hrs since the last feed, they dont seem quite interested in their milk and use their tongue to push out, and hands keep pushing the bottle away.

Any mums face this too??? They drink only 100 ml every 3 hr (not much i feel) abd yet no interest in their milk. Howeverm they seem to be growing well, just that the feed is messy (spilling) and quite long.

Xiaofu, I have the My brest friend pillow but honestly i failed to use it. I think i only used it less than 5x. I just use my hands to carry the babe. Cos sometimes in am moment of rush or tiredness (esp at nite), i just want to have the baby latched on asap but the pillow is nowhere to be seen.

Either its on the other side of the bed or on the floor. Keke... I keep telling msyelf not to waste money and use it, but i always forget/dont. Sigh.

It is something good to have though, but if not pillows work as well!!!

Poko, do you feel breast pain after each pump? my breasts feel full after each pump though when i pump, not that much as expected leh..just wondering, if say after 6mths, i wana stop breastfeeding, how do i stop milk ss...coz now if the milk just come, i just pump...

Loinky - Ya, my company covers.

76 &amp; Poko - May I know what breast pump you are using and any recommendations? I'm starting to do my research on what I should buy and what works best for twins. Thanks much in advance!

Poko, thanks for the info! My fren also recommend fenugreek to me so i think it should be quite effective!
76, do you massage your breasts while pumping? I found tat if i press on the hard parts, i get more milk and my breasts will be soft soft after pumping so you may wanna try?
My personal review of breast pumps.. I own a pigeon silent pump and medela mini. Using the mini now for the convenience of expressing from both sides simultaneously. But it is very noisy, the pigeon is truly silent but i'm lazy to use it cos it's a single pump..

Chameleon, I use the Madela Pump in style. Its a dual pump. I swear by it. To me, its fast @ 15 min averaging for me to complete the session - both breasts.

It is also not noisy and I can pump wif my babies and hubb sleeping next to me and not waking them up. There is a Madela pump booth at the baby Taka sale now. U can find out more from the staff there. Usually there is a bundle sale where u can get more bottles/cream, etc wif the pump set.

I asked the madela staff abt the servicing the pump set shd it break down and I am most impressed to be told that they repair it immediately in 15 mins at their service ctr!!!! Max it takes is 1/2 hr!!

U know engorged breasts is horrible feeling and can u imagine if they say u can only collect it the next day??? keke...

76, I dont feel breastpain when pumping. My pump can adjust different degrees of suction. I only feel tingling sensation when i have my milk let down (milk spraying).

Thanks seeJay and Poko for the advice

I'm so glad this thread exists in the forum! It's really helpful for me, a first time mom to be of twins!

May I know how you ladies arrange your schedule with your hubby and helpers to take care of twins, as in who take what shift so that all of u can have good rest?

chameleon
i am using avent twin pump.quite quiet.
Poko
i also had this tingling sensation after pumping. why is that so? is it normal?
How do you all keep sane with the 3 hourly pump? does it mean that we cant go out for long stretches as we are constrained by the pumping time? I feel stressed.

76, how are your darlings doing? i only do the 3-hourly pump from 8am to 11 pm everyday, so i only pump 6 times a day. If i need to go out in the day i'll adjust the timing such that i'll pump just before i leave the house

Bbq, currently my mum and cl are in charge of night feeds cos they want me to rest. After my confinement i'll bring one baby into my room and let the other one sleep with my mum. Dun intend to let hubby do night feeding cos i'm on ml and he has to work.. Maybe will get him involved on weekends and when i go back to work!
Two more weeks before my confinement ends. I am really worried tat i can't cope
the boys are getting more and more spoilt, preferring formula over breast milk, always want pp to carry them etc.. And i just noticed tat my mil rocks them when she carries them -_-; i told her 'if you continue to do this i am going to DIE when the cl leaves.. '

Hi all:

For mothers that discharge from KKH may I know do you all need to settle all the bill before you discharge or the bill will be sent to ur home later to be settled later

Hi Joe, for KKH, you need to pay the basic bill before admission. For my case, it was A1 cesarean, the initial cash payment was $2.6k. Additional items will be billed after discharge.
I am still waiting for my total bill, will be sharing it in this forum

Juliana, according to my hubby, the younger doctors were just standing in the background observing the operation. i suspect my anesthetist person was a trainee also, i was so scared when the injection took place. thank god everything turned out well!!

See Jay, I am so tired of taking care of just one with my husband(while my mum and maid take care of the other) and I think I will go crazy when my mum goes home and husband go to work.

Has your milk flow improved?

bbq, did i miss out any news?? you've given birth already?? i've always thought you're still preggie!! you mean you'll be handling the babies with your maid's help after your mum goes home? my morning milk flow has improved to about 90ml on each side but in the day it is only half of that. just started taking fenugreek supplements, hope it will help!

i just checked my mail and KKH has actually sent me the bills a few days ago :p

my total amount is $6639.41, after subtracting from medisave ($3950) and the payment we made ($2607) and antenatal claims ($1715.73), the hospital is supposed to refund us $1633.32!! so my total bill works out to be just $973.68!! i have no idea what is antenatal claim though.. they add it to the bill, only to deduct it again in the final calculation -__-;

the babies' bills are $716.49 each, with $703.11 deductible from medisave, so the amount due for each baby is only $13.38!!

So my total cash payment works out to be about $1k only *happiness* (unless i read the bill wrongly)

SJ

I didn't "announced" the birth on the thread coz have been too tired to do it. Yes, I have given birth on 25th.

My mum doesn't live with me, she comes over only to do the confinement. I suppose she will go home after the confinement mth is over.

90ml? That's good. Mine is pathetic 40 ml for both sides. I am hesitant about taking Fernugreek because if my babies can't absorb it, it will cause wind in them. I feel so lousy beyond words.

You stayed in which class ward in KK? Just me and one baby alone, my total bill (before CPF deduction) is around 8k already.

bbq, hee you gave birth one week after me
congrats!!

don't feel lousy, my yield was only 30ml (both sides) for more than one week, and the kind of comments my mum made was very discouraging and hurting.. but just continue to pump regularly and it will slowly increase day by day. try to eat fish everyday (ngo fish or cod fish) and drink lots of fluids. can also press your breasts when pumping to empty out all the milk.

i didn't know that fenugreek may cause wind, i think i will monitor for a week and see how cos my number one keeps crying for no reason this few days, i wonder if it's due to the supplements

i stayed in A ward. did you stay in KKH also? maybe you stayed beyond the standard package or maybe your baby underwent some special test and treatment. btw i think they did not bill me for the forcep delivery :eek:

my mum keeps saying that she wants to move back to her place with MY BABIES.. my hubby will surely object de.. dunno how also.. *sigh*

My gynae did'nt say anything but my lactation consultant did asked me to monitor their poo and if there is a lot of bubbles, that means bb can't absorb. I didn't ask her if I need to stop but I supposed if that happens, wind in bb is not good.

bbq, you still keep in touch with your lactation consultant ah? mine asked me to call her when i get home but i never called.. you can add me on msn, it's crisannneo [a] hotmail.com

I have her number so I called her to ask her. I will let u know once I have added u. No msn on my hp.

Congrats BBQ on the arrival of your bbs...
cj i dunno how i am still surviving my confinement..its the worst thing to happen on earth.. Heaty food, no bath, only wipe (now have improved to 2x bath a week with herbs), sleep and sleep, nagging mum...and sleepless nights pumping milk... As for my bbs, they will progress from ICU to nursery soon, and from there, abt 1 more week to discharge... cant wait for them to come home...

bbq, same here, i don't have msn on my phone too :p
76, so happy that your babies are coming home soon! aiyoh, dun always quarrel with your mum, not good for your health. try to rest as much as you can now.. endure for one week plus and confinement will be over! i'm looking forward to a good body scrub and rinse with clear water! let's jiayou together ok?
my boys refused to latch last week, this week they refused to sleep until i latch them -_-; and my bigger twin is growing faster than my smaller twin.. now the difference is more and more obvious liao *worried*

76, I totally empathesize with you coz I have the same problem. Good thing, I have no pain in my stitches but it's just some pain and discomfort getting in and out of bed.

How long have they stayed in ICU? U delivered at KKH? Do you already know the bill?

I quite like bathing with the da feng chao and I always very tempted to drink it coz it smells like liang teh. I want to drink something other than milo and red date drink.

For those who had csection, when should we start the malay massage?

Went for my detail scan today. Took more than 1 hr to scan for twins... I lay on the bed till giddy.. legs and hands all turn cold ;(

2 princesses coming along the way...

Congrats bbq on the arrival of your twins.

And congrats too to xiaofu on your 2 princesses. My detailed scan is this Thurs and I can't wait for it!

BBQ
I delivred at NUH class B2. so far, my bill is abt 1.4k, deducted thru cpf (perhaps insurance, if can claim). Havent paid a single cent. bbs have stayed in ICU for 3 weeks already, about $200 per day, i think.. dare not think of the cost...havent got their bill yet.I also quite like the herb smell, like some spa smell... hehehe...the lactation nurse say can drink HL milk but must heat up. So i am drinking tdy...yay!! my stitch also not pain, but the inside, esp when getting up and into bed...ouch..got to stop my breathing for a while...hehhehee...