(2009/11) November 2009 MTB

Morn all...

Taurus 033 & AL,

I'm a SAHM, taking care of my 19 months + old boy. But I still work part-time on weekdays night (giving piano lessons). Was a full-time piano teacher before I had my boy. By the time I give birth in Nov, my boy will turn 2 yrs and 3 months, so should be able to handle 2 kids.

Catmon,

Bloated and gassy is a very very common pregnancy symptom. There's nothing to worry about. Just try to avoid hot and spicy food, oily food as well and carbonated drinks. Have smaller portion of meals and but more meals. This will help. I was very very bloated and gassy for my 1st pregnancy as I don't know what to do to avoid the bloatedness. Now my bloatedness and gassy condition is just very mild cuz now more experienced :p MS will not kick in this early for most pregnant women, actually. Once my gynae told me that the peak of MS is from 8 weeks onwards. Even if u don't have MS also doesn't mean ur not ok or ur baby is not doing well. It's perfectly fine and u must count urself lucky as u don't need to suffer the MS, dear.

To all newbies, congrats on ur pregnancy!! =)

devilina,
I dun think no MS means pregnancy will not be smooth. For me if no MS is better cause then I won't feel so terrible. Currently me also a bit bloated and sore nipples. Some people I know does not have any MS at all but their babies came out healthy.

Ashley,
Thru my experience, stress will certainly affect ur pregnancy. Now that u r pregnant, ur health and baby comes first. These 10 months of your lifestyle really affects ur baby so got to take it easy. I was really stress at work and too committed during my first pregnancy and didn't take good care of myself so my daughter's health is not very good. This 2nd pregnancy I will take good care of myself to make sure my baby comes out healthy. A healthy baby will be easier to take care.

reenie,
So who did ur first confinement? But i am also worried of getting a bad CL. And now there's 1 more problem. If we go into the labour in the middle of night, are we going to bring our girl along to the hospital too?

2nd time mummies,
We also need to prepare our first child right? Cause I heard from a lot of 2nd time mummies, they will certainly be jealous when the baby is born and will come out with a lot of "patterns". And also how will you arrange so that when you are in labour, who will take care of first child.

sinkor / Jing Hui / taurus
Thanks alot for the comforting confirmation. Anxious la...so nid help from experienced mummies. Glad there's this chat for me.

morning.....
my symptoms seems to be easing off.....sore nipples seems to be going off...... and burping also seems to be getting lesser but hunger pangs seems to come more and night sickness is coming too..... jialat..... i hope i don't merlion this time..... the last time, every morning wake up sure vomit out gastric juice cos hungry....

hi Tuarus,

no one did my 1st confinement, it was really a mess. my mum offered to help out with all the cooking and she says newborn is easy, but turned out she forgotten how to handle a newborn even bathing. So i ask her to cook normal meals for me, but she fall sick within a week.....as my baby wakes up and cry for milk, she says she couldn't get enough rest.

so my hubby took over the bathing and i took care of baby myself after that. It was quite tiring but i managed it.

if really need to rush to hospital, i will probably bring my elder one along, no choice

after birth, the headache is how to manage both. i am still thinking of the new way of arrangment, perhaps get a PT maid to help out with housework, i don't think i can outsource cooking...ahahahaaa...

reenie,
So how's ur health now? Cause they say with no proper confinement, will affect ur health.

Yah loh after birth is how to manage both. Think PT is necessary but for me I dun think i can do any cooking except cook porridge with 2 kids on hand. Then still have to bring the first one to go to school. Will u be breastfeeding?

What type of soup u normally cook?

Jing Hui,

So you are taking care of both kids later yourself? Same here, i still prefer to take care of new born myself, #1 did not go childcare after many consideration, so she is attending kindy now. At least a few hours away from home, give me time to be with baby and do some stuffs.

Hi Taurus,
for CL, maybe u can ask aorund for recommendation... then the chance of getting a bad CL will be reduce... as for going to labour... maybe can park ur girl to your mum or MIL first??

As for jealousy..haiz...i suspect my girl is going to have a sibling bcos recently she is super noti leh....

hi Taurus,

so far so good
i think i am doing well in terms of health.

do you need to cook for yourself and hubby? i will still continue to cook as usual. Just have to plan properly weekly meal plans.

Yes, i will be breastfeeding totally for my #2. Wish me luck!

i will bring my elder one to school, but she is taking school bus, so i just bring her downstairs, same as coming back.

reenie and taurus

u both SAHM? so good.... i really wish i can too!
now i also start to plan what will happen after baby is born...by then my gal will be 21 months...really dont feel like putting her in child care yet... sob sob...she will think i dun want her after baby...

nagsterak,

i don't know if i should say "yes, its good be a SAHM" or "not really". It depends on individual and the options we have
for me, i have no options, except childcare. But i couldn't bear to send my #1 to childcare when she is young, now its is even harder to do so. I did try to put her on half day programme before, turned out she fall really ill after 3-4 days..so i took her out.

the good thing about staying at hm, i am able to bond and guide my daughter, i won't say it is "happy" all the way, but i rather teach and take care of her myself. Sometimes when grandparents are involve, their methods or thinking are different. Just to avoid conflicts, i chose to DIY :p

if you really want to send elder one to childcare, you need to prepare her in advance, not till baby is out, just handle properly it should be ok. of course, we won't want to neglect either one, especially the elder one when they are old enough to know. For my daugther, she is at the age of "innocent"..haahaa..so i am going to read her stories about babies, sibling very soon!!!! Like Dora Big Sister :p

reenie,

Ya, will taking care both kids myself later. Thank God my boy is not that difficult to handle and control la. Just kinda active and naughty, need to yell and shout at him most of the time, haha! Scolding + beating is also a common scene :p Overall, still ok la.

Definitely confinement time will have my MIL to help out. She'll do the cooking and will help out to take care the small baby. The elder one will handle myself. Maybe take turns also, hehe. MIL very helpful and able to handle most of the things by herself. Really salute her...

After confinement period will be solely looking after 2 kids all by myself. Maybe the 1st few months will be a lil tough and difficult to cope, but am sure can adapt eventually. Just that I imagine will be SUPER bz lor! =P

By the way, I do cook for the family. Mostly is to prepare dinner as hubby will only be back for dinner. Breakfast and lunch only me and my boy, seldom cook tho. As for housework chores, some my hubby hlep out in the weekend, so not that tiring la. He'll help out to sweep, mop the floor and clean the toilet :p While I'll do the laundry, iron his working shirts and cooking ;-) So we don't need part-time maid, still can manage on our own.

reenie, are u a SAHM too?

Nope, she's in Ipoh M'sia. Only when after give birth, she'll come over to do confinement for me
Lucky not staying together :p I can imagine the conflicts we'll somehow have altho I can get along with her quite well. U know la, older generation and younger generation thinking sometimes clashes, sure will have conflict one.

Btw, both me and hubby is M'sian PR.

Jing Hui,

You are amazing already!
Yes, i am now a SAHM. For me right now i am doing all the household stuffs, hubby really tired after work and my elder one is super sticky to him when he is around.

I also agree, staying together is different from being together once a while, this is so true. Unless you mastered the art of "close the eyes".

reenie,

Haha, I tried before (when I stayed with her back in M'sia for about only 2 weeks after confinement last time)...but I can't!! I just cannot close the eyes la!! Cannot tahan! =P LOL

hello all

i'm expecting my first one - tested positive on 2 Mar and another time again on 11 Mar. Should be at 6+ weeks now based on the first day of my last menses. Will be seeing my gynae tonight to confirm the pregnancy. hopefully everything gonna be alright

do u take 1 or 2 folic acid a day?
is it neccessary to take duphaston?

I've not seen a gynea yet, but i've tested +ve ytd with home test kit.

thanks Devilina

jazz,
the folic acid dosage that we got from pharmacy is usually 5mg. but i read from a pregnancy book that the required folic acid dosage should be 400 -800mcg. i'm taking a GNC prenatal supplement which contain 1000mcg. not sure if it's sufficient or not too.

ok thanks ladies.

i've arrange to see a gynea 2wks later.

is there any food to avoid? like ba kut teh, laksa, pig spare part (as in kway chap)?

i know cannot eat pineapple and delmonte banana.
ba kut teh, laksa and kway chap are my favourite foods. i cannot do without it!!

i just called joycelyn wong's clinic to check on the rate. her consultation fee and package price are reasonable but her normal delivery fee is 2500!!! i got a big shock. can someone tell me that the nurse told me the wrong price because the nurse confirmed that normal delivery is 2500...

hi jazz,

congrats
there are some food to avoid, like raw food, uncooked food basically, sashimi is one. Half boiled egg (those frm yakun time). Then blue cheese or anyting not pasturised.

if you crave for cold cut meat, example i make ham and cheese sandwich for breakfast, i will pan fried the ham till hot or oven toasted my sandwich.

also anyting too "liang" at the initial stage, i don't take. Eg. Grass Jelly, green bean soup, pineapple. The rest of the stuffs should be ok.

as for folic acid, take 1 per day

sinkor,
Do let me know the name of the seaweed you used. So do you put other ingredients in the seaweed soup or just seaweed only? When u drink seaweed soup, do u still drink red dates tea?

hi ding dong

actually 5mg is 5000mcg already....

jazz

i actually dont cut down anything. i just stopped drinking coffee and tea. i change to horlick or milo...
of course dont eat too too spicy lah, i still eat my daily dose of chilli padi which i cannot dont live with!

my clothes like tighter in just 5 weeks preggie leh...so scary...

Hello, moms-to-be! I'm pregnant with 1st kid, 6th week now, and EDD is 3 Nov, based on online calculator. Have yet to confirm with Gynae though.

If I wasn't preggy by end of this month, I was going to make an appt for check-up with Gynae. Yes, my mens was late by 11 days but I thought it's just late. Then this Tues, 10 March, I got curious and used the HPT and got a Positive! I kept staring at the stick to make sure I read it right :D Then the next day I tried on another 2 HPT and got the same result, Positive. Wow! I still couldn't believe it's real yet, until I got confirmation from doctor, i guess. So happy but a bit cautious until confirmed.

Have the usual symptoms - tender breast, bloated tummy (man, all my pants are tight now), frequent need to pee (which is unusual for me) n a bit of cramps n dizzy, but not MS yet. Ystd started to feel so exhausted. Today my face feel weird - hot and dizzy.

Going to try a Gynae next Mon - my 1st visit ever to a Gynae, so a bit nervous and trying to read on what to expect. Have a nice weekend, everyone!

opps.. b4 i know i pregnant, i already took sahimi, green bean soup, coke...
this will b my #1, but b4 this had 1 MC so quite worried this time round.

Agata
congrats!!!

nagsterak
I oso cnat put on my jeans even tho' i'm juz in my 5th week. Hahaha'

reenie
u mean those eggs fr yakun, cant eat lerr??..aiyo...wasted ~!

so i am not the only one who cannot fit in into all my clothes. phew. i was so worried that i have put on too much weight and want to lose some.

congrats to all mummies!!! =)

congrats agata!!

i took sashimi before i know that i'm preggie too and i had food poisoning from eating the sashimi. now keeping my fingers cross that my baby would not be affected though.

swanston - sorry can't answer your query. first time MTB. felt very lost & blur ever since i got a positive. how to go on from here?

Congrats to Agata

hi jazz,
no worries, i also ate some stuffs before i tested positive this week :p Just to be on safe side, since we know now we try to avoid or cut down. For me , i give up my fave coffee! But my gynae did mentioned once a day is ok, even for tea.

hi DeviLina,

Yes, those not cooked eggs is not recommended, basically the yolk must be cooked.i think its half-boiled eggs pose a risk of salmonella.

As there are certain food that are contaminated with large number of bacteria which can cause illness especially vulnerable people such as babies and pregnant women.

Need to avoid soft cheese, unpasteurized milk, ready-prepared coleslaw, cooked chill food, improperly cooked meat, raw and half cooked eggs which means best to eat fully cooked food. And those who have cats as pets, do not come in contact with their faeces.

Hehehe...I'm also relieved I'm not the only one who found their pants/clothes are tighter. Yup, congrats to all mummies!

My MIL said will come to take care of me, for confinement period. But erm...sure will clash...cause old people got so many 'pantang' or beliefs, while I'm more western, don't really believe all these 'pantang'.

Food, hubby said cannot eat bananas, pineapple and raw food. My pregnant cousin said no pineapply, jackfruit and durian. Hm...different people has different no-no list. Coffee, I still drink once every morning. I'll try to buy Folic Acid this weekend, and maybe Iron supplement too.

any1 keeping pets at home?

i have a guniea pig at home, i pick up his stool twice everyday. i do know tt cats poo poo is bad for preggie, but dunno whether piggy poo poo will affects preggie anot. any1 know?

Actually in TCM is best not to eat too much Yin food such as what reenie mentioned green bean soup ... And also best not to drink cold drinks.

agata,
Congrats. Yah old people very pantang which i dun believe most of it, maybe some of it if its reasonable.

hey Agata,

the part on durian, it is actually very "pu" for mum-to-be. I simply love durian and have to control my intake throughout my last pregnancy! From real fruit to durian puffs..i chomp chomp chomp. Especially it was durian season last time. It will help to put on weight really fast which i worry if i get a big baby later :p

zina,
maybe u can check with ur gynae. Think best not to pick up any poo at the moment before u get a confirmation from ur gynae. Better to be safe.

Reenie, I love durian so much too! Sigh, now have to control until give birth. My cousin about to give birth by end of next week, and she's so happy soon can eat durian again. While, I just start cannot eat durian :D

jazz, i have a cocker spaniel at home

i still pick up his poop but i hold my breath while doing so. gonna ask my gynae to test for parvo virus. i've missed his annual jab for more than a year now. gonna send him for his jab just in case.

anyone knows how pregnancy and pets and go on well hand in hand? i dun wanna give up my dear doggie.

Agata,

Actually durian can eat
for me, my hubby say should eat more..hahahaha...it is good for pregnant woman but just don't over eat too much, sometimes the baby grow faster in our 3rd trimester.

hi jazz, i got a dog at home. if u r worried just make sure you wash your hands with those antibacteria wash?

durian is fine. my mum took alot of durian when having my two sisters and they are all grown up with no health problems. =)

Hi Swanston,
i dunno wat is the delivery cost for other gynae leh...i cant even remember Dr JOycelyn Wong's charges for my #1 leh... so is 2.5k very exp?? anyone can advice?

Hi taurus,
will try to remember to ask my mum and sms u.. for the red dates tea, i drink daily during confinement period.

Hi Agata, i think can eat durian leh.... bcos very good for body too! (but dunno wat the reason)... later i might go and eat durian leh.. haha...

oh ya, anyone dare to eat crab huh?? some pantang saying eat liao bb comes out will itchy hand and legs.... some said better dun eat scare allergy to bb.... my 1st preggy i no eat but my ah girl still itch legs and hands.... so just wonder got logic boh.. haha

reenie
I tink I cant take durians tho I simply love it! Last week when I was on the bus, an uncle was holding a bag of durians & I wanna puke! Geez...tink my baobei dun like durians...haha