(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

hello mommies! I am officially off bed rest! Yay! Now to do all that cleaning and washing, i have a feeling that babe will come within the next 2 weeks max. So i have a lot to do. I'll be going off my meds for contractions in a few days and chances are i'll give birth some time later. Ew! So much to do! But all very exciting! There's another mom on ventolin right? Hope you're doing fine!

xoxo: me too, bad at ironing but no choice HB not helping out with the ironing..

annette: my company's policy is 14days for MC and 60days of HL (60days of HL includes 14days MC so HL is 46days). ML is 16 weeks, nvr heard of the max cap clause of 86 days.

envelope: your side coconut is cheap, i think at hawker they are selling like $2 - $2.50

bblove: ya that was wat i have been told also, so will start drinking. but on and off i still drink once in a while if we go for dinner and they happen to have coconut.

re baby's hair: me too shall ask gynae on the next check up whether baby got hair. coz HB already bought comb for baby. haha.

mata: finally you are off bed rest after so long, but still gotta take care.

I think from 3D pic, baby will look botak?? I remembered for my 2nd one, she also looked botak from her 3D scan picture but came out with a full mane of hair! For baby #3, he looks botak in the picture too, but I'm hoping he will hv hair when he comes out.

hi mata,

Take care... Yes I am on Ventolin for the past 3 weeks. But according to my gynae he said I can stop taking liao and let the cervix to relax and slowly dilate... me too so excited that BB is coming very soon.... Next Mon will do VE, he will check now how many CM I have dilated. Last check is still 0.5cm....

baby hair>> i had asked my gynae previously if the ultrasound scan can show how much hair baby has.. my gynae told me that these scans wun pick up the hair particles coz i thot this dark patch on baby's head is the hair.. apparently is the 'light' from the scanner.. im doing 3D scan btw... anyway she told us not to worry, she has never delivered any babies who are completely bald! heehee

xoxo>> wanna come my house and part time since your nesting instincts are so strong? heehee.. i on the other hand am super lazy to move once i reach home..

Morning to all Mummies.. I'm bk finally!! Lucky the ofc IE not giving me prob anymore.. Yeah~

annette : childcare leave is only entitled for working mum with children blw 7 yrs old.. 6days/yr.. So for us, will only be effective from Jan 2010 onwards.. Keke..

Sotong_Mum : Try drinking warm milk b4 u slp or take a warm bath.. Dun over-exhaust urself with hsewk.. Not too gd for the bb.. U need more rest.. =)

Joyce : I heard fm ppl the same thing abt the coconut juice.. But while I was telling my dad abt it last nite, he screamed at me!! Whahaha.. He says 'I'm 'siao'!! Dun anyhow listen and drink all these stuff!! Coconut juice is so 'liang'.. U duno if ur bb can take it or not!! All bbs will tends to look 'ugly'(probably with bad complexion or with rash, spots, etc), but it'll juz be temporary.. After they adapt to the environment, they'll look gd..'

At second tot, I sort of agreed with wat my dad has said la.. I suggest if anyone has not tried and is keen of trying, pls pls check with ur gynae 1st.. As far as I know la, most of the brewed soup tat is gd for pregnant women are considered as those heaty type de.. So it gets contradicting somewhere.. Haha.. =)

bblove: from what I read, the third trimester is a time when the pregnant mother's system is considered heaty, so some cooling or 'liang' things are considered ok to take.
But of course everything in moderation will be better

hi All,
posting after quite sometime as difficult to access this forum from office. always gives problem. Today i'm working frm home..so am able to read all the posts :)
BTW my friend delivered last week via C-Sec with GA at Mnt Alvernia. her bill came to around SGD 7800/-. was quite shocked to hear the bill amount!! as per their pamplets it is around 3.5k or so....
even i'm gng to Mnt A for delivery. Now just mentally preparing myself for the bill amount as compared to what is mentioned in the hospital brochure...

Hi bblove,

Actually is really depend on you whether u want to take the juice a not. Because it is not the compulsory stuff to be taken.... If you want to ask gynae, I think most of the time they will give u the GREEN light as they take western ink mah....hahahah..... Everything is ok to take...
But just bear in mind that everything that taken should be in moderation. And u should be fine....

Hi Vin,
I have checked with TMC before why the price indicated in the brochure and online is so much different from my actual bill. Their response is the price does not indicate the doctor's professional fee, GA or LA, all sort of bb's test and the actual disposible items that we have used during the delivery..... That explain why your friend paid 7.8K when in brochure only indicated as 3.5K....

hi Ong, ok..so that's what almost doubles up the amount. I should check with my Dr on how much is his delivery fees and all. Didn't bother about this at all till now...

bblove : According to the old folks, coconut is only to be taken during the 3rd trimester. For the 1st 2 trimesters, we have been taking all the heaty stuff and therefore, now is the time to cool down a bit.

Actually there are reports that shows that coconut juice do have some positive help in symptoms like heartburn, constipation.

Do take in moderation if you want to.

Vinbaby: wow! tat's a lot... all this while I had the idea the rough cost was the one on the brochure leh! :S awww man!

Dreamygal: Oh, did you manage to get your training chopsticks in the end? heehehe, i just saw it online... seems quite cheap leh. about $8+.

miemie >> haha, this "maid" here a little erratic. starts work at 11pm and ends somewhere at 4am..plus got nausea and mood swings. you sure u want?

shugar : Yaya... I saw one BP a couple of days ago and its going at $4 only... Plus postage its $4.80. I got one from the BP.

But i still wanna thanks gal leh. Cos she is very kind. Saw the chopstick and even helped to get the seller's contact. MUACKS!!

xoxo>> erm, then no thanks.. wahahahah
imagine i happily koon-ing at 11pm, then suddenly got vacuum cleaner sound, or the washing machine starts etc.. think i will be scared awake! heehee.. so your house must be spick and span now ya!

miemie >> sigh, otherwise could be a lucrative sideline for me..haha, but misery loves company so maybe i can get u to O_O with me?

i think my hse is fit for CNY. hope the mint condition can last till then

Shugar : All along pregnant mum are considered heaty throughout the whole pregnancy de.. But it is better to be safe la.. Hehe.. Best solution is to still consult your gynae b4 we try any 'stunts'.. Haha.. It is best to avoid as some ppl's body system may not be able to take it and tat may result with some risks involved..

Vin : C-sec i always more exp de.. So most mum will go 4 the natural way unless really bo bian.. And I believe most mums will wanna go through the process of giving birth naturally.. =)

Dreamygal: woo good deal you got there!

bblove: haiz, my gynae ah? hahahah 'ang mo pai' one. He anything also say can eat. Last time he say even pineapple is ok! Hahaha! -___-"

Meiting: Yeah.. i have the same leave plan as u. Take 2mths maternity then Childcare leave then clear the rest of the maternity leave. But i feel abit paiseh cos its like we have remaining maternity leave but still want to take childcare leave. But think of it another way is that childcare leave is also our entitlement and it just happens that our baby is year end baby so we still have maternity leave left.. oh well.

Annette: Childcare leave applies to everyone with kid 7yrs and below.. You may want to check with your company's HR. For my case, I've checked with them and they are ok with me taking my 2009 entitlement, as long as I've cleared my 2mths of maternity leave first. It's just that I feel paiseh to take cos still have available 2 more mths of maternity leave.

Hi bblove,

May I ask, how come for us childcare leave will only be effective from Jan 2010 onwards since our chiild will be born in 2009? I am alittle confused. Hheh..

bblove,

FYI, we are entitled to childcare leave 6 days per year however there is a cap of 42days. that means to say even if the child have not reach 7 yrs old but we have utilise 42days of childcare leave, we will not be entitled to the childcare leave.

shugar : Yaya.. I switch gynae bcoz I find some gynae like abit anyhow de.. Keke.. When I went for my 1st few checkups rite, I believe all other new MTB will feel the same way like I do la.. We're anxious and curious and wanna know more abt the progress/updates and hoping for more adv given fm our gynae.. But then, he seems so cool like it's their 'jia chang bian fan - normal chores' and sort of like see ur report, nv say much then ask u to leave.. Initially mine(the previous one) told me that I can drink alcohol but muz limit to duno how much per day only!! My hubby and I was like raise eyebrows sia.. Haha.. Now the gynae worse, I go in, she scan, gimme the photo, ask me if my bb is fine, then u may leave!!! Unless we raise certain issues then she'll start explaining.. Other than tat, wun bother to say much.. Duno is it the gynae fm KKH are trained to work like tat?? Hahaha..

Elise : Unless u already have kids.. Otherwise, normally for 1st child, u'll get the entitlement for childcare leave only after u're bk fm ML.. But I duno if u have to clear all 4 mths to get or 2 mths then can get liao.. Tink need to check with ur com's HR policy ba.. =)

Hi Elise,

You need to check with your company's HR. For mine, I only can start taking the CCL when my baby turn 3 months old.
Even if this year I have given birth, what I will get is still pro-rate and not the full 6 days.
Because we are entitled to childcare leave 6 days per year and a cap of 42days

joyce: yay! we're almost there! Wow! You've stayed at 0.5 cm for weeks! That's great! wishing you a safe delivery
hope your VE on monday's as what you expect it to be

re:baby's hair.
mine according to 3D also botak!

Re: coconut juice.
my mom says can drink once a week. i drank for both my previous pregnancies from 36 weeks. it's supposed to help baby 'glide'out smoothly also.
not sure if it really works, my no1 was delivered in 5 hours. no2 was c-section. so i guess it worked for no1 ba!

meiting: thanks for the tip! i think i'll break up my ML too! then can make use of AL and CCL too!

xoxo>> tell us about the home condition after baby's out.. i doubt you will have the energy to be doing all the cleaning and tidying lo.. heehee

re 3D scan, is only the later stage then I have it. My gal not very cooperative. one time she turn side ways. the other she stuff her fist in front of her face. so ends up I only have 2 3D scan photos. haha.

<font color="aa00aa"> so many posts... too tired to read now, will do it later...

just to update my gynea visit, 36th week.

I am 300gms heavier and baby is est to be 2.8kg

gynea said don't just look at the weight, because it is never accurate..hahaa..no VE done, will see her 2 weeks from today and then weekly till week 40.</font>

ddnikz>> the 3D scans i have all very cute de.. i can almost conclude that baby isabelle looks like mummy! heehee
yesterday's checkup we saw her rub her eyes! and my gynae managed to catch that and print out for us..

Hi Diana,

Your bb is putting on the good weight.... take care and keep us posted on your growth of bb...

I am seeing my gynae next Monday and VE will be conducted as well..... Since I have stopped taking the ventolin, we are expected the cervix to dilate more liao....

Miemie, your bb in 3D ultrasound can move? I didnt know that. Mine is like stay still leh. but the latest I see is one hand block there. kekeke, if the 3D scan is accurate, my bb should look like my hubb. Cant wait to see her again next Sat :D

ddnikz>> the ultrasound scan can see baby moving one, just that print out is images only lo.. those 3D scans with video are 4D scans..

yo. how are you all ladies? wah. i conducted a full day of training today. very shacked. now stoning in front of tv.. miser not back yet :S.. tuesday another day. can die.. haiz. anyway..

hippo: read ur question the other time. .. now then can reply :p.. hmmm.. i had the works coz i was a smart aleck. thought can strategically use epidural with induction AND have a short labour of only 6 hours.. end up.. acheived none! ha.. i guess this time i will listen to my body more.. if can be natural will be good.. coz the reason why i 'dragged' so long was because i asked for 'feel nothing' epidural.. end up when i was told to push. felt nothing at all!.. then vacuum :p.. hmm maybe if everything works out htis time roun.. opt for natural/walking epidural..

I was very KS since April I've already started asking my HR to approve my so called Leave Plan. They keep saying as long as your line manager is agreeable and it is compliant with the MOM website can already. I was DL with them because they keep quoting the website to me.
In the end, I emailed MOM and asked them. They say can then I just booked my leave in the system already. If HR asked me about it, then at least I've got the email from MOM as proof. Some of the mummies in the company had some unhappy incidents with HR for the past 2 years. The mummies happily booked and HR nvr say anything. Only later when Auditors come around and check, then they asked the mummies to use their AL to offset the ML they shouldn't take... Of cos they were heated up...Anyway, the first 8 weeks have to be taken continuous. Then I took 2 weeks of AL + 6 days of CC. Finally, the remaining 40 working days of ML (to skip public holiday). Will be back at work on the 22nd Feb! still got 3 days outstanding of ML. But if they dun allow me to skip public holiday. I can forgo the 3 days lah. Hope this helps mummies. Of cos, in the end it has to be agreeable with your HR. For my case, HR chose to be silent so I asked MOM for advise.

Meiting: wah. ur leave taking approach is so systematic! planned properly to skip public hols even! wow..
me i bochap. anyhow lah.. waste public hols/weekeds, just missed :p lazy lah..
i also catch no ball with regards to CCL.. ha. i shd pay more attnetion to reading HR policies!

Tonight no owls?

Astro,
What is natural/walking epidural? I always thought that epidural will numb your lower part of body. If that's so, how to walk?!

All of you are talking about the different kind of leaves... SAHM/SAHW got nothing at all! it just remind me again how much SAHM are giving up in order to stay at home with the children.

Re: coconut juice
I just had my. Yummy! I drank one per week for the last month in my 1st pregency. And I had my baby in 5 hours. That is also taking into consideration that I was being induced. So perharps what Mata said has some truth in it?

Re: Hair
My 1st born had hair like Lao Fu Zhi. Only at the side... top of the head is so fine that can't really see. I hope this time round, my baby will have hair all over his head!

sotong >> OWL here! my laptop was giving some issues so I was cloning my system just in case it gives way. time to upg my HD cos I am simply running out of space, that's why i didn't see yr msg earlier cos was offline. what are you doing tonight? i've placed my mac's order - gonna hv 1x hotcakes and 1x sausage mcmuffin with egg..my appetite is really over-the-top now...stoned...they tell me gotta wait TWO HOURS! preggy + hungry = angry!!

vin >> The bill's a shock...hopefully i don't have see such numbers...faint...after medisave..how much did she have to fork out in cash?

mie >> I suspect all these cleaning, owling and fussing will definitely have its repercussions lor...just don't know when I become the opp of hyper and end up nuah-ing...hehe, before CNY is X'mas..really looking fwd to celebrating the 1st christmas with the new baby
after breakfast, moi gonna check out the state of the x'mas decorations and maybe give them a nice rinse and sun these. come nov, just hang them and voila! hmm..do u realise that it's actually real sweet to have a babe in oct? it's like celebrations non-stop, month after month! oct-birth; nov-1st mth; dec-x'mas; jan-new year; feb-CNY and v-day; mar-my marriage anniversary.....hehe, must really look out for the budget!

elise: dont feel paiseh lah. i m taking 8 weeks ML starting next Mon first. After that, HR needs me to submit child birth cert before i can apply for more ML as the remaining 8 weeks will be paid by govt. I decided to go with 4 weeks ML for the second application and then followed by AL since company does not allow us to carry forward AL to next financial year which starts in April. This "no carried forward leave" policy started since the economical downturn >_<

btw, my comapny only gives 2 days CL. so few days compared to some of you!

xoxo,
The IT fair is here right? Maybe you can pick up a good deal? I left my external HD in my ex-co when I resigned. Forgot that I have paid for it myself! Talk about preggy brains. I retreat about the same time as you surface. Hahaha guess our caughting game started again. Good, eat more.You look so much better with all the fats on you! Keep the fats on after birth but try not to darken your eye circle! So the article did have a little effect? From cannot take orders to 2 hours wait. Well better late then never! I handmade Burger myself. Lamp meat with lettuces, tomatoes &amp; cheese! After what you share with me, I rather make my own then to suffer the waiting game!

Sotong_mum: wooo sounds like a good breakfast!

miemie: your bb so cute! Mine's like PY's... Always zzzzz....

Had my coconut yesterday too. Yummy!

Yesterday went to robinsons. Wanted to go taka fair also but I think my body is really not the same anymore! Haiz, can't walk as much as I used to Liao. Headed home after John little n robInsons, rested a while n evening went ikea. Was super tired by the time we got back! :s slept through the whole night till now! :p

Gd morning to all!

Famela>> just visited your blog. You're into serious spring cleaning yeah? And your closet for the baby clothes, so neat!!! I feel ashamed. :p
And your son looks so lovely! Handsome boy!

Shugar>> Cocunut yeah? I had my first one too! Really gratifying! Hehehe ... Anyway, how's Robinsons sale? I wanted to go get some kids' pyjamas. Also like you, I cant walk for long. Think really gotta slow down and take cues from our bodies.

By the way, for Isetan card members, the Private Sale is on 17 Sept, can go pick up some gd bargains!

hey babes!

think i'm suffering from forum fatigue. nothing much to post... maybe just generally feeling lethargic. i think i shud resume swimming. maybe today will be good. but pools are always flooded with idiots on weekends.

astro,
ah... i think you're the textbook case of what not-to-do. in your 1st pregnancy at least lah. but oh well, there's always the 2nd for you to make right! =) hope its a lot better for u this time round.

sotong,
i read about "mobile epidural" in my "what-to-expect-when-you're pregnant" book. wasn't sure if its available here, since author is british and a lot of stuff are based on the UK system. shall ask my gynae when i see him next time.

asked mum to buy coconut for me when she went market this morning. not sweet enough and slight tinge of sour. mum thinks REAL coconuts are like this. she said those super sweet ones got syrup inside. oh well, whatever...

coconuts &amp; what can and cannot be consumed
i read with much amusement as to whether we should be drinking "green" coconuts or "young" coconuts. also september mums &amp; MTBs pulling their hair out over whether they can actually EAT mooncakes during confinement?!

no offense babes, but seriously???!!! just take whatever the hell you feel like taking and that's that lah. i mean confinement rules are made up and there is no medical or scientific proof that tells us they do indeed benefit our body over the long run. confinement rules, to me, are myths at best and we have the discretion to believe whatever the hell we want and not let it be the "commandment" book the leads us to wanna PULL OUT OUR HAIR ok?! hehehehe...

think about it, the other races, eg. caucasian, malay, indian, dun FOLLOW chinese confinement rules right?! and they are fine in one piece right?!

anyways, all i wanted to say is, our bodies are already under a lot of stress from additional weight that we are carrying. dun be over-zealous in following "hear-say" and just RELAK-A-JACK!!!

for the happy hippo, she chooses to believe the coconut myth, purely because she likes drinking it. and there are good myths that come along with it? why not? i'll just repeat it to over-protective parents and HB so they just give her a nod of "approval". ah... if only everything about life is so simple and straightforward...

have a great weekend ahead babes!

hippo : ehehhe
ur posting always brighten up my day.

sigh..i m clumsy
sorta sprained my right ankle when walking back home yesterday
. now walk with a little limp. and i still going to do shopping today :p yes will take it easy.

nappy cover:
anyone using nappy cover? should e nappy cover have a slot to put the cloth diaper? i just realised the one i bought dun have slot. so er..not sure how to use. wear cloth diaper then the cover over it?