(2009/10) October 2009 MTBs

loke: i everyday also depressed one.. to the extent.. my frens on the other thread said..'aiyo. u always depressed one. how u know this one is mood swings.. and not ur usual depression/ u can differiente meh?? ' :p

roxie: u know. i am going to print the ingredient list of the strawberry falvour fish oil out and show it to my gynae for approval liao. coz. yucks. i just burpped fish oil again! *gross*.. hmmm.. burpping strawberries is much nicer!!!

and hor. i forgot to ask. that pregnancy tea (with raspberries leaves).. wat does it do? got any links for me to read and find out?

loke: ya. that will set ur heart at ease too

astro >> hee yeap no casualties were spotted at bomb scene *hohohoho* my gynae's own clinic is at punggol plaza =D alternating his service at thomson woman clinic at tiong bahru branch =D near near manz.. hehehe so i tan-tio manz.. when i asked if the antenatal package is for how many visits and he mentioned unlimited! that reflects a pleased customer face on the spot.. *Grinz*

wow i m going to print whatever i eat to my gynae next week too!!!

info on the tea ;
(click on supplement facts for more details)

organic pregnancy tea
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/womens_teas/product/30

organic ginger tea
http://www.traditionalmedicinals.com/digestive_products/product/53

roxie...lucky you for your adaptability to supplements / nearby gynae and the birthday bit!!! i am stumped. why do they formulate supplements at 500% of daily value? i think we need to invite a nutritionist to our forum soon

loke >>> i'm also out of sorts these few days so you've company...a bit nuts and somehow cannot find my positive frame...think it is the hormones. never knew I am so windy...

Mama Astro >>> you still seem very active *envious*...being able to go abt and eat stuff..i am still confined to my home due to the fact i am always puking/thinking of puking..

xoxo: coz.. i still very early.. probably next week or following. u see me whining of fatigue liao..

night loke!

roxie: kekeke.. good. i like ur sense of humour.. :p wait ah. let me go read up on the preg tea link..

roxie: alamak.. that one is bitter and spicy ah?.. hmm anything sweet ah?. alamak. i am going cold turkey with my bubble tea.. and my caffeine fix leh.. haiz.. need something without caffeine yet will kick me awake in the morning! :S

woo still so many posts at this hour!

haiz, i'm hungry again... gng to forage for some food. Honestly, some days i get tired of eating! :p

xoxo >> i m trying to google ur question..but i cant a specific answer for that though.. think it's got sth to do with our metabolism is it? maybe after our body used up the nutrients liao then maybe no more residue for our baby already? beats me too.. maybe i go bug on the consultant on my next visit to vitakids *grinzz** hope meanwhile some kind soul can enlighten both of us too!! heee

astro >> which tea u refering too? pregnancy tea? i think its abit sour due to raspberry & strawberry and have some spearmint taste.. spicy feeling shd be something in similar when u drink ginger tea? i din taste anything bitter leh.. maybe its not as bad as wat we have wen we have a bitter/metallic taste in our mouth? similar to nausea?.. it some sort overlaps the taste buds liao.. i'm someone tat cant live without coffee..morning once and afternoon once is a engraved into my daily diet.. if i don consume.. i will get severe headaches by noon.. but ever since preggie hor.. *touch wood** i drink this pregnancy tea in the morning n noon to ease my caffeine withdrawal.. and during the initial stage.. i do drink decaf coffee on alternate days.. but now no more liao.. consultant from vitakids said tat my prenatal pills will play a role in it too.. hmmm keeping my fingers crossed my kopi craves wont be back for gd!! u can also look out for other kind of tea available yea.. but just make sure its caffeine free stamped on the box! =D the one i m drinking is $9.90 for 16 packs =) for your market pricing check.. hee

shugar >> bb is hungry liao? hehee good that u have appetite too.. i m never tired of eating.. but what vexed me more is what to eat! i m aso abit hungry.. but sleepy too.. just drank ginger tea and don tink can fill the tank up with anything now.. all water.. i shall go zzz liao n see hw later..

nitey all!!

shugar: i was waiting fo ru to come online!coz i remembered u say u night owl! hahahah..u funny leh.. forage for food.. like that u need to change ur nick to 'ants'// not 'sugar' :p

roxie: ya.. refering to that.. hmm.. i dun drink coffee.. but i need someting to kickstart my day.. else hell descends on my students! hahahaha.. jialat.. haiz..

can;t imagine i am eatnig my son's crackers with cheese dip
.. this thing tastes good meh. no wonder the ah bui likes it so much :p

eh. no response.. all sleep liao. ok. i also go sleep liao.

shugar: u come back.. talk to urself, ok? *winks* kekeke..

night all!

wow... i cannot catch up with the posts. i concuss on my bed this afternoon - even though i didn't do anything at all today. whole day no appetite. puked out dinner too just now before resting a while in bed too.

anyway check with you guys. if you puke or have severe nausea, will you arrange for a doc visit just for that? my husband has been bugging me to see doc after i puked and i told him there's nothing the doc can do. i tell him this is just cos of the pregnancy. doc see me also say same thing... now he's very pissed at me for acting like a doc myself.

oh and, anyone having constipation? saw roxie's msg on bombing hiroshima and felt a little jealous. :p i have visited the toilet like 5+ times today but no output...

hello all, m back...yah, at 3:30am!!! after being able to sleep through the night (except numerous quick wake-up-and-pee trips) for a week, i started to wake up since Sunday around this wee hours feeling MS and light uncomfortable cramp below the belly. Into my 8th weeks now and doctor said the feeling is normal as uterus stretching woh....sigh....i pray for strength and the ability to cope as m a first time MTB

Gilbert: any type of grapes work for me..and yes, 100 plus helps too. Have your wife tried them? I also started to drink vitagen drink and I find it helping.

good morning everyone! =D

citrus >> hee i tink u can drink some warm milk? it helps a bit =D i drinks milk every morning n nite and my poo-ing is quite regular.. but dono why whenever i consume spicy food.. i will hv loads of wind in my stomach.. woke up early cos of that also.. but hiroshima is bombed.. perhaps will bomb nagasaki later! =P

i think if u go gynae hor.. he might be happie to hear that u puke.. cos my gynae kept asking me leh.. i told him nope.. never.. and only mouth tastes bitter n metallic but never puke physically.. just abit feel like and never puke that kinda feeling..and he looks rather disappointed? tink is really a good n positive sign if we puke or etc.. it shows that the bb is growing well =D maybe can try assuring ur hubby that u can pop that qn on ur next visit and see if there's any remedy ur gynae can provides? =D

mrs lundquisto >> i tink i will ask my gynae when will the cramping ends though.. cos i have it since day 1 of pregnancy and i m unsure whether it will lasts till the bump balloons till full size? =( meanwhile will be praying too!! for strength bundled with a joyous spirit to embrace this gift to its full term!! =D

Good morning!!!!
Wow the thread is so active last night... I was too tired to turn on my laptop last night. And I think with my two monsters at home, they dun allow me to surf net.....
Roxie>> you mentioned you have bleeding during lunch time... Has the bleed stop? And Dr Woo has a clinic in Pungol too??? Cos I see him in Tiong Babru which is nearer to my workplace.....
Mrs lundquisto>> you always wake up so early.... cos your post is 3.30am...... Remember to try to catch some sleep now... later stage to get sleep is even more difficult because of our big tummy... ;p

hi joyce!! yea bleeding has stopped..thks
hope its goodbye for good.. we seeing the same dr?? dr woo has always been at the thomson women clinic tiong bahru branch since many many years back.. but lately open his own clinic at punggol! =D he alternate his shifts at both clinics..

the following days/hrs he is at punggol and closes on sat/sun ? rest of the timings he shd be at tiongbahru liao

mon & wed 9am to 1pm / 2pm to 5pm
tues & thurs 6pm to 9pm
fri 2pm to 5pm

he is very nice n patient man hor? i done my prenatal checkup with him too.. =D did u sign up for his package?

wow, this thread moves so fast.....

chiapatty
my gal was borned on 10 may 08. =) me too. we r now ponderin abt stroller issue. hv a capella for NB, but is really v heavy n bulky. but must say that it v cushy n gd to hang bag. we now using maclaren for it lightness n compactness. but when #2 is out. dun think wan to push both strollers out. cos when doin grocery, how to push the 3rd wheel?? =( so now thinkin to get twin strollers, so that both can slp/sit when tired. =p but stil searchin for one... bein lookin out in the WTS thread for any suitable strollers.. =p

loke,
this the first bb in ur hubby side?? b prepared to b well pampered!! lol...

astro,
can understand, previously when i was on ML, takin care of my gal full time. cant wait for hubby to reach home n take over!!! but i stil hope to b able to provide full time care so that i can c her first in everything. standin, walkin, etc.... like u, now daily only able to play with her less than 3hrs. we only able to fetch my gal at 7-8pm after work, my gal slps at 9pm. only wkend, able to play with her alot more. =p

i read that can also include ur boy when goin for gynea apt, let him b involved in the preparation of #2. decor the room, furniture buyin, etc. =)

agree, forum-ing is destructive.... ever since i know the world of BP, spendin so much more..... hubby always amaze at how come we seldom go out, i stil can spend so much.... hahahaha

roxie,
take care n hv a gd rest!! hope ur nxt ckup will b great news that is stable le. =) there some mommies in my other thread who had issues when in pregnancy. but all babies are all out n healthy. so dun worry too much, oki? =)

my gal is under FBI, so b applyin for SBI for #2. if u intend to deliver in TMC, better apply, cos the scan n tests can get discount. delivery also.

xoxolight,
i also didnt get the vaccination for chickenpox even though i didnt kena b4. but my gynea then didnt express too much "objection" then. =p

for my experience. i also didnt give birth on edd. has dilate 1mth b4 edd, but my gal still no sign of comin out herself 2wks b4 edd, cos i had GD (gestational diabetics) in my 3rd tri. so she was alrdy gettin too big, so have to induce her out at 38wks. =(

loke,
i think better ck with ur gynea on the spottin. juz to assure n ease ur mind? mayb juz a call to query??

astro,
u so funny, eat ur son snack n call him ah bui.. lolx

citrus,
think the more ur MS is, the more stable is ur pregnancy, cos ur body is makin alot of the hormomes to stabilise ur pregancny.. yep.. nausea, gynea cant do much. but think there a med to take if really cannot tahan. cos my last pregnancy, i vomit til the stomach acid burn my throat. my gynea c liao, ask if i want to take med to control the pukin. =p

Astro: Yes, it's pronounced 'Rea'. 'Reine' is interesting. Is it pronounced like 'Renee' a French name?

Roxie: I was with TMC for my bb#1 and we did sign up for FBI. I think the savings quite good but I not too sure coz hubby made payments not me. keke. This time round we will probably take up their SBI card.

I know what you mean about wanting to have an ultrasound scan at home!! Me too I wished for that! The 1 month wait to see gynae (really to see bb!) just seemed so long!

Xoxolight: My bb#1 was born 1 day after EDD.

Poky: Ok, I will look out for twinstrollers too and let you know if I find anything suitable. Btw, the other thing you can consider is a buggyboard. You know that board with wheels that can attach to the back of a stroller so that your new bb can ride inside the stroller and your old bb can stand on the board behind and ride along. But old bb may get tired and grouchy lah.

good morning everyone!

wow wow wow.. the thread is really moving super fast! i had to spend about half an hour to read through all those that i had missed!

did i read that someone mentioned we cant apply ru yi oil if we're preggy? i always apply ru yi oil de, just last night i also made hubby apply for me coz i felt that my tummy had a lot of wind! wad is wrong with ru yi oil? i cant do without it leh..

Roxie>>> Glad to hear that your bleeding has stop. Please remember to rest well and dun walk around too often. Dr Woo is a mister nice man.... My 2 girls were delivered by him. And I plan to sign up the package with him for this one as well.... So you see him in Punggol or Tiong Bahru?

Morning everyone...

Astro, I didnt get to come back online. HB hijacked the laptop while i was busy finding for food, so I ended up going to watch John and Kate + 8! hehehe
Biscuit and cheese dip? oh isit the one with the little red stick to spread it on? i used to eat that one when i was a kid! :p

Morning everyone! Ms Windy here is in a good mood today. Woke up w/o my now-usual complaints! Just a wee bit nauseated but think it's under control so I am feeling happier

Mama Astro & Roxie >> I'll roll the mat and welcome you two to the Merlion Club when it's your turn. kekekeke...i love company when in misery..

Roxie >> I think we must look out for an opportunity to pose this qn in some section (abt the sky high nutritional content in the supplements) in Today's Parents, Mother & Baby etc and win some Q&A freebie hor...??

poky >> my gynae's face is usually quite serious and she's also quite quiet..so when she 'expresses' anything..it's rather noticeable. She had this "how could you not have gotten your vaccination??" - now HB is mulling over whether to allow me in any shopping ctr / crowded places..I think it's over-reacting but don't dare to disobey...

Poky & Chiapatty >> I think come Sep, we should set up a new column besides the EDD. the baby that's born on the exact EDD should be crowned "Most Punctual"..hehehe.

Mie Mie >> It's moi who said you cannot use cinnamon oil. I am also a Ruyi oil fan and wanted to use it to help me stop the nausea, wind in the stomach and cramps but after I read the ingredient sheet that comes in the metal case, I realised it contained two ingredients - cinnamon and clove both specifically contraindicated for pregnancy. Reason being that they are homeostatic (blood thining) and are muscle relaxants - and it is exactly this period that we need our blood to be extra nourished (that's why your mother would say you need to avoid "cooling food", stuff you'd normally avoid during menstruation e.g. tea) and for your uterine muscles to be strong...hmmm..don't worry too much abt it but better be safe..i did ask my gynae abt this, vicks (cos I was having a slight cough and asthma last week) and she also told me not to apply for the first trimester at least...hope this helps. So while they aren't what I'd call essential oils, the same parts were used to extract the "oil" >> http://www.spavelous.com/Articles/Health_Nutrition/Aromatherapy_Chart.html

Miemie: my mom reads up a lot about aromatherapy and she happened to mention the other day to me that we should try and stay away from certain aroma oils during the first trimester as some are considered to be too stimulating for us now.

Got a joke to share regarding constipation. While i was pregnant with my 1st bb 5yrs ago, i had serious constipation problem that resulted in me stuck in the toilet for 2hrs with sweats all over. finally, i finish doing the biz after 2hrs and i had to rush to see the gynae becos i was using too much strength to push and i was scare the bb might be affected somehow.

Luckily, that was the only time i had the serious constipation. Normally gynae will prescribe u some powder to mix with water or syrup for constipation. I realised first time mum will likely encounter constipation problems.

Take care to all!

hi all, really missed a lot from just 1 day. i think i spoke too fast about eating. i'm now getting 6pm nausea. For the past 2 days, I'll merlion at that time, and the acid burns my throat. sigh.
I think i have at least 2 other colleagues who r pregnant.

mrs lundquisto & roxie: same here. first time mtb.. i'm SOOOO tired the moment i wake up in the morning. i've no strength at all. really got to pray for strength to go through this whole episode.. really must pay a price for the prize.. hahhaa

poky: yeah.. first bb on my hubby's side.. its the 4th on my side cos my sis has 3!!! totally amazed at how pple with so many children handle them!!

citrus: constipation has always been with me especially when my menses comes.. hb poor thing always kena from me when i'm in bad mood due to constipation..

to all: thanks for the encouragement. just called the clinic to ask.. i guess i'm just reacting with the hormones... like what all of you had about the slight spotting and cramps.. i guess its just normal and maybe its a good sign that bb is growing well?? haha.. trying to console myself.. and nausea+ vomiting not as bad this morning as the past few days.. except that i'm still bloated and very very tired.. i feel breathless even doing up my bed after i wake up..

RUYI OIL

I've been feeling bloated like a puffed up puffer fish for these past days but even then I try very hard to refrain from using soothing, wind-relieving & comforting Ruyi oil.
Although there's no warning on the bottle against pregnant women using the oil, you somehow just can't trust Chinese product so much you know what I mean? But the main main reason why I refused to use it is because I realised that I've bought an imitation! Remember the tv commercial "Ji Xiang Pai Ruyi You" (in the first place who's to know that that is the real Mc Coy right?) Anyway, the bottle I have at home currently is not "Ji Xiang Pai"!!! But it sure looks the same with a metal outer shell and all! Everyone please check b4 buying!!

Other oils to watch out for are the essential oils like lavendar. Can't remember why though. But preggies cannot apply or smell these oils.

CONSTIPATION

Me too I have!! That's why I look and feel like a puffed up puffer fish!! And my trusty ole Prune juice failed to work too! Oh it's getting quite unbearable. Cannot pop laxative pill somemore. Anyone got any natural cures? Please share. Thanks!

hi glass...

here's the mat to the Merlion Club *shake your hand*...

I think with the going rate for the number of preggers...seems like there's going to be a bumper crop of babies this year..

chiapatty,
yep, was thinkin of the buggy board also. but if #1 is tired, think standin will also b tired... bside, most of the time, when she in the stroller, she slps. if she awake, mostly she wont stay inside for long de... =p oki,. if i saw any, keep u updated too! =)

xoxolight,
cos afterall, there is risk in contactin chickenpx while outside... ur hubby juz v v concerned of bb health mah.... but then it b bad news for u... much lesser gai gai to kill boredom n the pleasure of shoppin for bb stuffs. =) ur gynea says can take the vaccine now??

haha, i now only hope i dun get GD for #2 again. punctuality is not impt... but then, i prefer bb to come out earlier... smaller size mah.. easier to push out... hahah

glass,
wow, ur body clock so punctual, merlion zun zun at 6pm de.. =)

Hey, gals.. i am back!!! Wah.. the thread have been moving real fast!!!

Went to see Doc Joycelyn yesterday.. And did a ultrascan.. Could see the little heart "blinking" away.. Doc said its too small to be heard.. But when I saw the little heart pumping.. I felt super duper emotional.. Hubby also felt emotional..

Oh yeah.. in case u gals dunno.. the doc did mention to me tat there are 4 kinds of fishes which is not recommended for us to eat due to its high content of mecury:

1. Mackerel
2. Shark (but she said shark fin once in a while is fine)
3. Tuna
4. Swordfish

Next visit to the gynae is 1 mth later.. and gng to do the Oscar test... So worried.. hoping everyting is okie...

raywen>>>sprinkles of cinnamon or other spices should be fine. you need to be very aware of essential oils though. their potency is such that the concentrate is more than 1000% that of the actual ingredient used in food and because it is applied to the skin & absorbed, it goes direct into our bloodstream rather than via our digestive tract where it is diluted/broken down. that's why we are also cautioned agst spa treatments. i was so tired on sunday that i called for a massage at my regular spa and when i turned up and declared myself pregnant, they were quick to change my therapist and told me i cannot have my usual tranquility blend (lavender, lemongrass and i cannot remember what) as those are muscle relaxants. it's for the exact contraindicative fears they had abt the usual relaxing essential oils causing your uterus & cervix to loosen..i also could not do any mani/pedi cause of the exposure to dunno-what. so all i had was a simple cuticle tidying up and that's it..guess these are all sacrifices for now..."pain for the prize" to quote!

Chiapatty>>>that sounds scary... so how to make sure the ruyi oil is the correct pai one?

Mrs Neo: what is the Oscar test? i'm also going to my first visit at Dr Joycelyn next wednesay.
how many weeks u're in now?

btw i'm kinda concerned with my weight leh.. i'm abt 5-6 weeks and i didnt see much gain in my weight although i eat alot. is it normal? =\

Hi Chiapatty
Lavender oil should be avoided especially if there has been any abnormal bleeding during the pregnancy as it has emmenagogic properties. (promotes menstrual discharge) another such oil is chamomile.
So guess exercise caution when using any oils during first trimester, best to avoid if possible.

poky >> I know I know *hangs head*...touch wood, but when I was young, I was always placed in rooms with kids who were having chicken pox, somehow I didn't catch it...nor did I get measles, mumps..but you know, paranoia now. Doc says I should be responsible and take the vaccination once my pregnancy is over so I don't suffer from these sort of stress in my next pregnancy...(if it happens)...

Mrs Neo >> what is the Oscar test?

Oscar test is a blood test to check whether the bb is got Down Sydrome.. Other tests like HIV, HEP B will also be carried out... All these tests will be carried out during the 12 weeks. The Oscar test cost abt $300+.. but i think its definity worth it!

sweetzinc.. U also seeing Dr Joycelyn? If can, bring ur hubby along.. Cos they need to draw his blood to check also.. to see whether there is any heditaray disease...

Mrs Neo: yeah he's coming along with me hehehe.. so excited i cant wait for next wed to come.

btw regarding my weight hor is it normal? i eat alot o meals but lesser portion per meal lah. but didnt gain much leh..... =\

hmmm the oscar test is not compulsory right? i read from the other threads that it's not a v comfortable process and the results not v accurate also. i'm in my early 20s so need anot?

sweetzinc: i think its ok.. i have a friend who gain two kg when she knew she was pregnant.. and when the morning sickness and merlioning starts.. she actually lost 4kg..

Yeah.. Wat the doc told me was.. during the 1st trimester.. watever i eat goes to ME.. think only during the 2nd trimester then will go to the bb ba.. So, dun hv to be overly worried de!

hi all, i just woke up from dreamland again.. dono why..today i tink i started to feel more nausea then usual.. dono is it due to the 3 x a day dhaphaston i m taking now? =(( din feel like this for the past few weeks.

good good, i will go and sign up for TMC's FBI card when i reach abt 12weeks =D thanks all for advises

thanks chaipatty & shugar for the info >> really super sian, no ru yi you... no massage oils.. i hving backaches also.. well i m trying hard to cope.. lavender aroma oils too.. i sleep with the aroma diffuiser on and now i stopped too.. have loccitane products at hm that i don think i can use them anymore also..nid to change the shower gels.. shampoos etc..

joyce >> yup he is a very nice man.. always so patient listening to me and explaining.. quite assuring person.. and ytd, actually when i bleed hor, i called the clinic and the nurse mentioned he has rushed out for a delivery, then she say she will call him and see if there is any other alternative.. when she called back, she told me tat she did suggested to dr woo to let me go to the a&e but dr woo say its too expensive..would rather rushed back and take a quite look at me first then. i was so thankful for him.. seeing them dashing off to the hospital while i was still waiting for med, for tat instance he is like 'tom cruise' to me. hahahaha yes, i m seeing him at punggol plaza.. cos just opp my house mah.. after work, i'll go back home and bathe, drink lots n lots of water.. (Cant resist pee-ing if i already start drinking on the way home fm work) and drop by his clinic.. and then rushed back home to have waterfall liao.. btw, his package at punggol is $800 (starting from 2nd visit)

xoxo >> u are cute! well can give a try! perhaps can win some milk powder too hahaha glad u are feeling better today! Cheers=)

Poky: My girl is like yours! Refuse to sit in her stroller. Only time she's in there is when she's knocked out but once she comes around, she'd immediately kick and "try to cry" so that we'd take her out! So notty hor! But I'm told once they learn how to walk, they'll want to sit in the stroller. Majiam ma farn hor our little ones? keke

Glass: Yakult for constipation? Sounds like it may work but I always thought it's dangerous to drink live culture (bateria) when pregnant? I am not so sure but I avoided it when I was pregnant the 1st time (but then again I wasn't a big fan of yoghurt anyways). Thanks anyway, I'll check to see if safe to consume.

Xoxolight: Well, I guess if "Ji Xiang Pai" is the real deal, then at least make sure the bottle says "Ji Xiang Pai". Also try to buy from proper shops like pharmacy lor. I remember I bought my immitation ruyi oil from the Chinatown zar-ba-lang shop called "CK". I think cheap is no good lor in this case. Me cheapskates.. keke.

Shugar: Thanks for the advice. I did not know camomile also cannot. I guess we can't drink camomile tea to sleep then.

Sweetzinc: OSCAR is not compulsory I think (could be different from gynae to gynae?). In my opinion, no harm doing Oscars because it's one of the least invasive procedures. Don't worry, no discomfort except for a bloodtest. The rest of the procedure is just like a normal ultrasound scan just that it is much longer. I actually enjoyed mine the last time becuase I got to see my bb on the screen for a very long time! Usually the gynae monthly scans are so short and quick that its over even before I can figure out which part of bb we were looking at!
But you are right, the younger the mummy the lesser the risk of down syndrome bb so the lesser need to do an Oscars. But I prefer to have peace of mind lor.

sweetzinc>> Yes.. doc joycelyn has got package thingy.. but only from 20 weeks onwards.. i didnt really ask abt the pricing yet...