<font color="ff0099">berrypie</font>
Do you have any nipple cream that you can use? Those with lanolin (Lansinoh, Medela PureLan) are very good for healing sore/cracked nipples very quickly. Apply after you BF and by 2-3 hrs later, it should feel slightly better already. But must remember to wear breastpad after u put cream hor. Lanolin sticks and stains to clothing.
Personally I don't believe there's food that C-sec moms must avoid lah. But my hubs ban me from seafood (except fish) cos he say might cause infection.
<font color="ff0099">Sheryn</font>
I think mine just took very long to clear cos I wasn't getting enough sleep. Hardly got chance to lie down cos J will pull me out of bed cos he feels neglected when I sleep in a lot. My main form of rest was sitting on the couch with my feet up lor. Then gynae say the blood therefore get "stuck" in my lower body cos I'm not lying down flat. But no choice what! She advised gentle massage and slow walking to aid blood circulation. Maybe you can try?
If you're trying hard, then you shouldn't feel useless! At least you are trying!! *hugs*
<font color="ff0099">flower4</font>
Now you know why I desperately cleaning house in my last few wks! Cos I also worried come home then house messy and drive me even more bonkers!
Why must pump and throw? Can pump and store what! Don't waste mah, since you're pumping it anyway. If you feel the amt is too little to store, can pop it in the fridge for a few hrs (I recommend no more than 6hrs) then combine with the next bottle you pump out.
<font color="ff0000">Pls note: DO NOT mix freshly pumped warm EBM with chilled EBM! If you want to combine EBM from different pumping sessions, pls chill them all before you pour together into 1 bottle/milkbag.</font> Otherwise the milk will spoil cos half warm, half chilled hor!
If bb get hungry shortly after you pump, just latch bb on. No problem one. Cos unless your pump is super powerful, surely got milk left inside.
<font color="ff0099"><font size="+1">Re: Waking sleepy babies</font></font>
You can try the following techniques:
- stroking bb's cheek
- gently shaking/rocking bb if you're cradling bb during feed
- changing bb's diaper (the wet and cold wipes confirm irritate bb)
- using a damp towel/cloth to wipe bb's face
- gently pulling your nipple out from bb's mouth
<font color="ff0000">CAUTION:</font> DO NOT really pull out your nipple hor! Later will get sore nipples! The whole purpose is to make bb feel that the nipple is "falling" out, then bb will usually start to suck again because most bb just want to stay on the nipple.
<font color="ff0099"><font size="+1">Re: Dealing with breast engorgement</font></font>
- Massaging your breast before pumping/latching. Can try to get your husbands to do the "diamond shape" massage technique. Basically is to form a "diamond shape" with your index fingers and thumb, with nipple being in the middle of the diamond, and just press down and go clockwise, then counter-clockwise. Those who attended Mrs Wong antenatal class should know this technique.
- pressing down and rubbing any hard lumps in the breasts during pumping/latching
- latch bb on regularly! BB is the best "breastpump" and can easily clear out any lumps and swollen/blocked ducts
- Massaging breasts during warm shower (not possible if you don't intend to shower during confinement lah
). There will usually be some milk leakage during this, but it's a small amt in exchange for your comfort!
- cold compress to relieve the hot and swollen feeling
-
<font color="ff0000">Take note not to get overzealous with the pumping as it will stimulate higher milk supply, which will lead to your engorgement period dragging on even longer!</font> I stupidly pump pump pump until very happy to clear the engorgement when I had J, until my engorgement drag over 2 weeks hor!
Hope all this info helps. Let me know if it works for you.