(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">xueli</font>
Me too! This saturday is my next appointment IF within these days i haven't deliver. LOL. How you find him so far? Haha..

My appointment this sat is 10am leh. How about yours? Haa

thank for all your well wishing.. sorry i din manage to come in and i believe i sure to misses alot of posts..

I have jus discharge today i decided to stay one more day as dr wong say tat i soo stress and afraid i might go into depression when i go home. and plus bb too need to stay one more day for juandic phototherapy.. bb only juandic at 9, today at 8.4 so can go home and do sunbath near windown in the morning everday.

Currently suffering great all kind of pains

virginal cut &amp; anus tear &amp; Piles pains
i soo in great pain down below, the virginal cut during labour has tear til my anus area and moreover i have pushed all the piles out... im going crazy its sooo soooo painful hard to walk and whenver i pass motion i will be deady painful...

Breast engorgement pains
Mummies,my bb only latch less then 20mins at times only one side of breast and times, 10mins 1 breast the other breast 15mins.. then he gone into sleeping HOW? pls advise me? i dare not to pump, afraid after i pump bb left not much milk to latch.. or if i pump out and throw isit wasted? my breast is so painful now.. in hospital i use hot towel to massage, today i jus use donut to massage...

I desperately need your advise for both pains?

Dr wong give me pain killer for the virgina stitches &amp; tear til anus area &amp; piles pains.. with some lotion to apply, i does not seems to get better any time sooon like tat... and no progresss. still very painful..

Dr Wong only advise me to massage my breast with hot water &amp; pump out... but how pump &amp; throw wasted and afraid after pump bb not much milk left to latch..

i indeed very confuse... and stresss ... and total clueless and house so meessy.. Dr Wong is right i will go bomkers once i reach home......

Hi Huishan

Hugs for you...We are in the same boat
So when is ur edd? Did you op for natural or c-sect? Mine is end sept...... I am opting for natural but so worried that the piles problem will be real bad after birth! I also control my diet and had no constipation or hard stools but the piles just gets bigger and bigger even without any straining during poopoo. I also hope can get MC like you but as its near my edd my company will treat it as maternity leave so not worth it. I got to endure and go to work

Anyone mummies delievered with this problem pls share thanks.

<font color="aa00aa">xueli</font>
Haha. okok! Finally i see someone online here shares the same gynae as me. :) LOL! You can feel any braxton hicks contractions lately? Usually my visit to his clinic is every saturday morning... skali bump into you before also don't know is you. Haha

Xiaowei,
Thanks for the info. Can i use the fridge to go without putting my BM in the fridge? Means after pumping i will put the milk in the office in side the bag i/o fridge.

flower4

sorry i can't advise u much on it cos no experience, but perhaps u might wanna store ur ebm after u pump out instead of throwing it away? if bb hungry then u can bottlefeed bb the ebm in the meantime.

dun care abt the house being messy first bah - get more rest so tt u can recover faster.
take care yah

hi sarah,

yes u can, but u also need to freeze the fridge-to-go's removable panels in the freezer first (best if removed from the freezer just b4 u use it so tt they can remain cool for longer time).

Xiaowei,
Thanks again. Got 1 more alternative. Thought of trying to get 2nd hand medela cooler bag cos my colleague is using. she also din put inside the fridge after pumping.

<font color="ff0099">berrypie</font>
Do you have any nipple cream that you can use? Those with lanolin (Lansinoh, Medela PureLan) are very good for healing sore/cracked nipples very quickly. Apply after you BF and by 2-3 hrs later, it should feel slightly better already. But must remember to wear breastpad after u put cream hor. Lanolin sticks and stains to clothing.

Personally I don't believe there's food that C-sec moms must avoid lah. But my hubs ban me from seafood (except fish) cos he say might cause infection.

<font color="ff0099">Sheryn</font>
I think mine just took very long to clear cos I wasn't getting enough sleep. Hardly got chance to lie down cos J will pull me out of bed cos he feels neglected when I sleep in a lot. My main form of rest was sitting on the couch with my feet up lor. Then gynae say the blood therefore get "stuck" in my lower body cos I'm not lying down flat. But no choice what! She advised gentle massage and slow walking to aid blood circulation. Maybe you can try?

If you're trying hard, then you shouldn't feel useless! At least you are trying!! *hugs*

<font color="ff0099">flower4</font>
Now you know why I desperately cleaning house in my last few wks! Cos I also worried come home then house messy and drive me even more bonkers!

Why must pump and throw? Can pump and store what! Don't waste mah, since you're pumping it anyway. If you feel the amt is too little to store, can pop it in the fridge for a few hrs (I recommend no more than 6hrs) then combine with the next bottle you pump out. <font color="ff0000">Pls note: DO NOT mix freshly pumped warm EBM with chilled EBM! If you want to combine EBM from different pumping sessions, pls chill them all before you pour together into 1 bottle/milkbag.</font> Otherwise the milk will spoil cos half warm, half chilled hor!

If bb get hungry shortly after you pump, just latch bb on. No problem one. Cos unless your pump is super powerful, surely got milk left inside.

<font color="ff0099"><font size="+1">Re: Waking sleepy babies</font></font>
You can try the following techniques:
- stroking bb's cheek
- gently shaking/rocking bb if you're cradling bb during feed
- changing bb's diaper (the wet and cold wipes confirm irritate bb)
- using a damp towel/cloth to wipe bb's face
- gently pulling your nipple out from bb's mouth <font color="ff0000">CAUTION:</font> DO NOT really pull out your nipple hor! Later will get sore nipples! The whole purpose is to make bb feel that the nipple is "falling" out, then bb will usually start to suck again because most bb just want to stay on the nipple.

<font color="ff0099"><font size="+1">Re: Dealing with breast engorgement</font></font>
- Massaging your breast before pumping/latching. Can try to get your husbands to do the "diamond shape" massage technique. Basically is to form a "diamond shape" with your index fingers and thumb, with nipple being in the middle of the diamond, and just press down and go clockwise, then counter-clockwise. Those who attended Mrs Wong antenatal class should know this technique.

- pressing down and rubbing any hard lumps in the breasts during pumping/latching
- latch bb on regularly! BB is the best "breastpump" and can easily clear out any lumps and swollen/blocked ducts
- Massaging breasts during warm shower (not possible if you don't intend to shower during confinement lah
). There will usually be some milk leakage during this, but it's a small amt in exchange for your comfort!
- cold compress to relieve the hot and swollen feeling
- <font color="ff0000">Take note not to get overzealous with the pumping as it will stimulate higher milk supply, which will lead to your engorgement period dragging on even longer!</font> I stupidly pump pump pump until very happy to clear the engorgement when I had J, until my engorgement drag over 2 weeks hor!

Hope all this info helps. Let me know if it works for you.

puroland... why throw your BM away? last time i didn't stop BF-ing when my #1 had jaundice and sent to hospital for phototherapy... but due to my limited supply, she was on FM + expressed BM during 2-day stay in hospital. when she came home, back to total BF again.

flower4... u can put your EBM in fridge. u may freeze for future use. don't waste mah

Sarah... for fridge-to-go, depending on the model u bought, can store up to 12 hours for certain models

Breast pumps...
think dual pump is good! though bulky and more expensive. i was using Medela PIS, bought 2nd hand, it is efficient. i also have Avent manual pump, good point is it is portable, but bad point is the other side keeps leaking while i was pumping one side

Waking sleepy babies...
agree with Shelled's methods, especially pulling nipple out of baby's mouth. my #1 immediately opened her mouth and "grab" it back!

flower4,
other than the methods that shelled posted, can also try unswaddling your baby when breastfeeding. unswaddling tends to jolt them out of their sleep/restive state.

<font color="ff0099">sandwich</font>
Oops. I forgot to mention that. *LOL* Thanks for bringing it up! K is also sibei sleepy if he continues to be swaddled. Cannot sleep if not swaddled!

<font face="segoe ui"><font color="ff6666">Hello Mummies...</font>

CONGRATS to all who have POPPED!!!

THANKS all for ur well wishes.
Also a BIG thanks to Jenifur for helping me out while I'm away. Thanks also for offering to send my loots n to visit me in the midst of ur tight schedule. Really appreciate it loads!

I've delivered my princess via Induced w epi + vacuum. Shall share more when i have the time.
Here's a pic of my little princess.
2898288.jpg

I was discharged yesterday morning while my gal had to stay due to Jaundice. Level was ard 13.something. Her blood type is diff from mine. Hence, the chances of a higher jaundice level is greater. I held on to my tears but broke down uncontrollably when I left the hospital. Really missing her so much...</font>

Congrats to all mummies who have popped!

Juz want to update everyone.

ADD: 5th Sept
Wt: 2.67kg
Length: 46cm
Natural w/o epi

Im still in hospital, am so glad that i can be discharged today!! Its so so so boring!

Hi Ling, could you update for me? Much thanks.

Birth- 1st Sept
Weight - 2.78kg
Length - 51cm
Mode of delivey - Elective c-sect with Epi

Wow, so many posts, don't have time to read heehee.

Congrats to all mum that have given birth!!!

Just to share i too succeed in breastfeeding with this BB. Yipee!!! God is good.

Everyday, breastfeeding becomes easier as i learn &amp; gain the skills of doing it properly. BB Natalie has given me lots of encourage through the way she show her willingness . Both me &amp; her are working as a team hehe. Me so happy

Just want to take this change to thks all the mummies that have given me the encourage all this while .

Will post more when got more time. Meanwhile, u gals take care

Shelled

I read your post, saying EBM cannot mixed. Sharks meh, i mixed liao, then must throw away ? Cos i thought. All EBM that is pump on the same day can put together .
Advise pls

Shelled/Mama26Js
How to have schedule for bb feed ? Thought they dun have a schedule. Currently, Natalie is feeding on a 2-3 hrs basis. The first few days, i feed every 3hrs, i did not wait for her to cry. Just wake her up to feed.

Last nite feeding Natalie wakes &amp; cry for milk on a 2-3hrs basis without me waking her. So i guess this is her schedule bah.

Pumping
I too would want DH to feed bb once in a while . If i pump once in a day. It is very little. Cos yesterday i tried, got total only 20ml both breasts , pump 15mis per breast

Morning everyone!
Congrats Ling,
Your baby is so... cute. 'Mi mi yan' like me. hee... in fact all baby are all cute.

Xiaowei,
Ok. Will take note of that. Thanks!

I also mixed my BM... need to throw away?

I only keep certain BM. Cos I am drinking the "pu" which consist of the DOM (quite a lot used in cooking) so I will throw away the BM for the next 2 pumps.

I am waiting for BB jaundice result tomolo to start feeding her BM again. I do not want to risk her of high jaudice then need to do the phototherphy...

Hui Chern,
I know nuts about BM but i suggest is you can pump out BM i/o wake her up. Will that become a routine for her to get up every 2-3 hrs? Next time midnight also wake up wor... I know some people will purposely give plain water to stop them from waking up in the midnight.

Good morning all mummies,

When will be my turn to pop. I am waiting. Although this is my 2nd baby but i still can't handle well the stress of pregnancy and fear of pain.

I was hoping i can BF this baby this time round. Sad to say that i was a failure to BF my 1st boy. I was so stress with the pain little milk supply that i went to doc to get med for stopping the the milk. Really hope i will succeed this time round.

Jia you everyone.

Oh no, i just get to know from shelled post that BM cannot be mixed together. I used to mix them together last time cos my supply was like both breast 10/20ml only each time. So i alway top up the bottle after a few pump. Glad that my boy was ok after drinking during that time.

Ok thanks for sharing, have noted down this point and will not do it again this time round if i am successful.

Hi all:

When you all discharge from hospital may I know do you all put the baby in ur arms or in the baby car seat.

Berrypie/Shelled

Nipples sore/Cracked (calling for help for experience mummies)

I got flat nipples so latching on bb was a problem in the beginning.Nipples so sore and cracking too. Only last nite, than latching skills improves. My bb suck very hard too ouch :p

Maybe experiences mummies like shelled and mama26js can help us ? I'm using the avent nipple cream after every feed to moisture them. Hopefully, the correct latching will slowly heal my sore nipples.

Tiwi... same here, 2nd time already i still feel scared :p why did u need to take medicine to stop milk last time? thought can just let it drop by reducing frequency? all the best to u this time

Joe Foo... last time i carried my new born in my arms

myfavchoco >

plastic feel ar.. i try to eleviate whenever i lie down.. it will like subside alittle.. but after awhile come back again.. then the ankle there very obvious stl swollen.. i also dunno hw leh..

Sarah >

I invested in a dual pump which i find rather good n convenient cos relli save alot of time.. I bought medela one.. maybe u can consider..

girlygirly >

hee.. i also dunno.. i on ur facebook ur surname is chia mah.. so I got a feeling its u.. then i asked purpleclouds to check ur gynae's name isit the HK Ho.. then yeah.. it's him.. so more cfm it shd b u lo.. when i was discharged.. i walked from my ward to the nursery the journey like nvending one leh.. i walk damn slow cos the wound pain.. =) 327 is very near me eh.. which part of JW u staying? i stay 652C.. I thk Kam also staying near me rite?

shelled >

yeah.. now u hv to handle two hor.. lagi hard to recover..i do feel alittle giddy n nausea now.. might be due to the medications im taking.. like drowsy.. my cousin also told me.. if no bf no bf lo.. when we're young also on FM grow up one.. n we stl as strong.. and ya.. at least i tried.. =) Thanks ger =) whether or not i hv alot of milk supply or little.. i will just continue to pump out whatever i hv to feed my ger.. persevere.

EBM cannot mixed ar? As in Each side one cannot mix together? Pump different time but kept in fridge one also cannot mix together ar? Aiyo.. my mum mixed and warm it up n fed my ger le leh.. hw?? jia lat.

i think u all confused what shelled said lah. what she meant is, ebm can mix but provided both at the same temperature. dun mix one chilled ebm with one that u just pumped out. different temperature will result in bacteria developing.

for eg, u pump 20ml at 10am then u put in fridge. then u pump another 20ml at 12pm. dun mix the 12pm ebm directly with the 10am. let the 12pm ebm chill for a while to the same temperature then mix. after that can combine then heat up to feed baby. but make sure the time interval of combined ebm dun stretcch more than 6 hrs. i hope i dun confuse u further!

sheryn
both side can mix lah of course. if not v troublesome right need to feed with 2 bottles :p

<font color="ff0099"><font size="+1">Re: Mixing EBM</font></font>
BM from different pumping sessions CAN be mixed, but just have to make sure they are of the SAME TEMPERATURE before mixing. The only thing you have to avoid is mixing freshly pumped warm EBM with chilled/frozen EBM. Basically you can combine cold BM together, or combine freshly pumped BM from both breasts, but NEVER combine warm and cold BM.

<font color="ff0099">Thanks, mama to 6Js!</font>
Dunno why I didn't think of giving example.

<font color="ff0099">hui chern</font>
You can try to pump just once or twice to "pull" the nipple out before latching bb on. Or just use 2 fingers to "pinch" ard the areola so that nipple will stick out a bit more. More leverage for bb to latch on. Try to aim your nipple at the roof of bb's mouth and not pointing towards the tonsils. It should reduce the soreness during BFing. As for cracked nipples, try to use nipple cream with lanolin (Lansinoh or Medela) as it really works to heal quickly. I had some blood blisters in the early days of BFing J, but they healed within 48 hrs with correct latching position and application of Lansinoh after each BF session.

<font color="ff0099">Joe Foo</font>
Infant in arms. Cos I took taxi mah.

Yes, I have to agree with your cousin. While BF is good, FM also not that bad lor. Most of us all grew up on FM also.

Sheryn Toh,

aiyahhh.... i forget to ask gynae bout the legs thingy. today my leg gt better then forget ask. if u go c ur gynae, can u ask le then tell me? =)

Thanks mama to 6js, guess i didn't read properly and misunderstooded shelled post. ok noted.

Waiwai, i couldn't tahan the pain of breast(engore or what), it is making me crazy and i have a very colicky baby that keep crying for don't know what reason on top of that my constipation before giving birth(is so afraid that i will burst the stictes when i force my poo poo), too stress out that my hubby thought i will go crazy if this continue. So i went to a GP and get med for stopping milk. But when i got my med, i didn't take it, i thought to myself that maybe i give myself another 1 week and try. And
miracle really happen, after 1 week, i do not feel so painful anymore. I proceed on pumping until 1mth, although the milk supply still stay at 20ml the most.

So i was hoping i can cope well for this 2nd baby. My hubby is crossing his finger for me, hahaha.....

mamato6Js &amp; shelled >

oh.. understood.. thank you so much.. at least now i noe how to handle those that i've pumped out..

myfavchoco >

okie.. np.. I update u tis sat after i chk with my gynae.. so far my leg on n off like tt.. but i thk stl no need to call my gynae on it yet bah.. just rest n rest n see how... maybe i also like shelled.. kept walking ard n not enuff rest.. then up till now stl swollen.. =)

Ling
congrats! ur lil princess is so sweet! aaaww.. i understand how u feel leaving her behind cos i cried tonnes when i was first time mom hvg to leave my twins behind for phototherapy too.

BATHING BABY
Is it a common practise to bath baby as in immerse them in a bath everyday? Was reading this 'what to expect' series the first year and they said that we should NOT immerse baby in the bath before the unbilical cord falls off....my poor girl's unbilical cord has some bloody discharge! I think the diaper is rubbing against it...

Try to sleep more. It seems to help leh. Mine went down significantly after I managed to sleep 6 hrs nonstop.

huichern
yes i think medela cream works wonders. i never tried avent before so i didnt know. its safe even if baby ingest the cream so apply it before bf. other than that, the long term solution is to correct ur baby latching. i think shelled has explained quite clearly. if u still confused its good to get the help of an LC fast to correct the prob fast b4 ur bb develop a habit and ur cracked nipples bleed!

any mummies have natural remedy for dry cough?
I've been "barking" like a mad dog for days &amp; coupled with a runny nose. It's really taking a toll on me. Already seen the doc &amp; finished my medication. Need to get it fixed before i pop.

*sheryn*
hahaha...u clever gal!

the nursery juz outside my ward only...before i gt chance to step down, asked my hub where is the nursey and he actually replied: open the door, walk a few steps can reach the nursey liao. I was: huh?? a few steps?? then he say: arhh...ok la, 10 steps can??

My hse near the big sheng siong....

Paige
i bath mine everyday, in fact twicce a day! make sure u keep the cord dry after bath. clean it with alcohol swab. my gal's cord also bleed a lil but its actually ok. i usually squeeze a lil of the alcohol onto the cord so it will dry faster.

<font color="ff0099">Paige</font>
I think it's up to personal preference lah. My boys are very "smelly" one lor. Cos I really don't bathe them until their cord stump falls off! I only use the Mustela no-rinse cleansing fluid, mixed into water, and wipe them down. I am somewhat paranoid of cord stumps. They look so... vulnerable. Always worried I will accidentally rip them off or something.

Slight bleeding is common. No need to worry.

hi Acneery Gal,

just sharing my misery too...

i have very very bad piles. actually right from my first trimester i had terrible constipation. the piles started popping out in second trimester (while the constipation continued).

i know i cannot strain and sit in the toilet too long but i have no choice. there's no way i can poo without pushing... no need to guess now in my 3rd trime the pile sizes are like... apricots?

worse, i recently had rectal bleeding when my piles burst or cracked. each bowel movement and i'll lose about 1-2 cups of blood. in the end i told my gynae and opt for c-section instead. i cannot imagine going through natural delivery with so many complications for my piles. going to operate end of sept... hope this wil all end soon.

but i think mine is extreme case. i was told by some people piles should not be a deciding factor whether or not your have csection. but in my case cos blood loss, i made it mine. think you still can try for natural if you want to.

SHELLED, MAMATO6Js,

Thanks so much for enlightening me...yeah, i'm extra careful when i lift the cord stump up to clean the bloody area...it looks super fragile! Will try the - squeeze a little alcohol from swab method mamato6Js recommend- thanks!

My mum's helping me with confinement, so she bathes her everyday, then after reading the book, i told my mum to just wipe her down...my mum was like, "huh, don't bathe not smelly meh"...maybe i should be extra kiasi and just wipe her until the cord stump falls off!
Babies won't be that smelly lah!

Paige
haha.. actually babies r not smelly lah. but i think its just a bad habit of mine to bath all my babies twice a day! but my evening bath is chop chop fast one. u can do wipe down also lah no prob. as long as keep the privates clean lor. esp baby gals! their vaginal area need extra cleaning! i remember my gal's vagina so super dirty. seemed the hosptal nurses didnt even bother to do anything lor. i took so long just to get it clean over few days.

I usually pump about 50ml for a 30 min session (without any latch-on). But the weird thing is, if I latch my boy on for 30-40mins, and thereafter I pump for another 30 mins, I still get the same 50ml and not lesser. Is that possible? Then is my boy drinking anything at all?

For mummies who have limited BM, after latching on, do you supplement with FM? If so, do you give the same amt as though there is no latch on? Or do you give slightly less?

Bfeeding is really chim.

Another thing, I can pump till no more droplets, but when I handsqueeze my breasts, I see the milk dripping out again. Then does that mean that my pump is not strong enough?