(2009/09) September 2009 MTBs

Welcome hui chern & caspinall!

raincloud : yes, I heard birdsnest is very good. I'm also considering to buy some soon.

caspinall : sorry, I'm not sure about any NUH gynaes to recommend. Have yet to choose my own KKH gynae also.

Jul_04 and all MTBs : Yes, by now my tummy is bigger and I cannot suck it in and my pants all getting tighter. Every night nowadays I have to think hard what to wear the next day to work in order to hide my tummy. Dun want colleagues to suspect or start asking since preg is still early, heh. I'm worried too, hope I'm not gaining too much weight as I've been eating well and drinking milk, eating supplements since the days of ttc.

And now when I think of pale-coloured foods, I feel very averse to even the thought of eating them. It's like I want to eat coloured food with taste or with spicyness (eg lastnight ate spicy black carrot cake).

And so far no vomitting though after drinking I feel like the food very hard to settle down, feel like it's at my throat.

This morning I had headache in the office, so I went to hide in one of the cabinet rooms to rest. Luckily now better and can resume my work.

Jul_04 : good luck for heartbeat day!

Jeslyn : Yes, hope all of us will have a smooth, safe pregnancy and have healthy babies!!

whitey: Yeah, but I guess the bb only takes nutrition from last tri onwards (learnt that after watching 'In The Womb'). Hhehehe. So you can save your money until towards last trimester. Your tummy so fast showing? Hhahaa. I'm still able to fit well into my pants. And I have a lot of loose tops, so still quite ok.

Did someone mentioned Black fried carrot cake? ahah, I definitely feel like having that now. Just ordered fried beef kuay teow for lunch haha. This pregnancy is definitely going to be more healthy for me and baby cos my mum is here to cook for me, compared to last pregnancy, I was eating takeaways on weekdays and only get to cook and make soup for myself during weekends. Maybe I wil keep the order of fried carrot cake to tomorrow. ahhaha.

whitey: How come so fast tummy showing? Must have had lots of cravings?

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">caspinall/leejeslyn,

2057484.gif

<font color="aa00aa">Jeslyn,

Dr. Ang was my 1st gyane... enjoy yr wait w him. Suggest u go tere, give them yr appt card, go walk walk den return to clinic bout 45 mins later. Best time to see him is in e afternoon, dun need to wait too long.

I wld also suggest u do some searching on e net for info. Dun jus depend on gynae</font></font>

Harlow <font color="ff0000">caspinall</font>

<font color="ff0000">whitey</font>

I also want savoury, colourful-looking food. I dun tak spicy food, so I dun have the craving. But my food must be tasty!

Wondring what to eat for lunch... haha

Thanks, hope I can see the heartbeat &amp; the bb's alright, in the right position &amp; everything.

hey jenifur, thanks for ur advices. how abt sat mornings? is thr usu a veri long wait too?

btw, wat research do i hv to do on the net ar? totally clueless on this!!

<font face="Comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Jeslyn,

Sat is even worst lor... If I take Sat, I'll take his very last appt. And hor mus bear w his grumpy assistant, Mdm Chan... She's friendly when is not so busy. BUT hor super grumpy &amp; grouchy when she's too busy

Just read up wat is normal &amp; wat's not for pregnancy/delivery... IMO... Dr. Ang is not e kind of gynae for me lah.

hey... u staying ard Sembawang area too??</font></font>

oh dear..i had juz fixed appt wif him next sat at 11am..cos tinkin dun need apply leave and hubby can acc me too...

maybe next week i can go thr register myself 1st then go lunch 1st bah...

btw, y Dr Ang not the kind of gynae for u leh??

thanks for ur help!

That's why I'm wondering how come my tummy is bigger already. Now cannot wear tight tops anymore as tummy will bulge.
Actually since Nov '08 I've been eating 3 proper meals a day whereas last time I used to have a very light lunch (eg, an apple or bread). And especially after testing positive for pregnancy, hubby asked me to drink Anmum milk, oat milk or fresh milk daily without fail.

I wonder if the milk is causing me to gain weight? Actually so far not much cravings at all le.

But I did ask my mum, how come my tummy is starting to grow already. She said when she was pregnant with me in the first month, her colleague could tell she was pregnant also cos of her tummy. haha ~ so maybe I'm similar case to my mum.

Of cos, hubby keeps saying maybe we're having twins... of course that'll make me happier but wait... before I get carried away, must wait for next week's OB visit to see heartbeat first!

raincloud : Thanks, will save my $ to buy birds nest later on in pregnancy. Will find time to watch In the Womb with hubby one of these days.

jeslyn : I also visit www.babyzone.com

Ladies, if you have nausea or headache, you may consider mixing some 100Plus and water to drink. This remedy was taught by my family doctor when my mum had stomach flu/headaches/vomitting recently. Frankly I'd rather try this than eat Panadol.

Oh yes, avoid cough medicine too if you can. It's too strong and may harm the baby.

Whitey: Yeah ... maybe you having twins? Kkekeke. I am quite adverse to drinking milk. So maybe I'll have to take calcium tablets instead. Yeah, milk does make one gain weight, so you have to be careful, I guess. Do watch [In The Womb] to help you gain insights on the fetus growth.

Whitey: No Annum milk. My gynae in Singapore is totally agst it. Cos he says make mummies put on a lot of excess that is not required. He said HL high calcium low fat milk is gd enough. Of course, hvg said that, my gynae in singapore is very particular on weight.

Raincloud, where to watch "in the womb" I keep hearing abt this.

tinkabel: You go youtube.com to search. Just type in 'in the womb', you should be able to view it. It's in 10 parts. Best is try to load all the videos first before you play. Otherwise gotta wait for it to load before you watch the next episode.

raincloud

we same same i aso feel gan cheong to be FTM

Jennifur

oh kk cant choose gynae

jul

thks i will check out with other MTB
and i aso feel tummy uncomfortable
may be i tink a lot

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="aa00aa">jeslyn,

Actually I type out a long message bout my encounter w Dr. Ang but tink not so gd to bomb e thread w my super long winded, not so positive posting

Make sure u be very prepared, dun b so blur like me</font>

<font color="0000ff">Whitey,

U only can choose gynae if u r using their premium suite.. but I might b wrong lah. Better to check. I help u ask my gf &amp; she said u can try Dr. John Tan.. But I forgot to ask bout choosing gynae for normal patient. She's offline now.. Will ask her later ya.</font></font>

Hi all... I just got a positive from my GP... yes! &amp; I think my EDD will be somewhere 10 or 11 sept... I will be seeing my Gynea 30th Jan this month though... have u all break news to family yet? cuz we havnt though... hehehe...

cass: Welcome to the group!!! My EDD's on 10th, but tt's based on LMP. Hehhee. Can't wait to go for my first ultrasound to see the little one.

Raincloud
i very worried about my job. Plus now pregnant i felt worse. Company is not very stable. 2 of my colleague who i'm close to are leaving once the found a new job. Sob, sob. I very sad. Actually before i got BFP. I too wanted to change but now i can't. But got anyone pregnant then change job? I'm so confused &amp; worried , afraid my boss who is not a local won't give me maternity leave

Sorry i'm really very worried lor

hui chern: Usually, I wouldn't think that changing jobs while you're still pregnant is advisable. Coz' there's a lot of uncertainties and challenges you have to face in a new job. Plus with a bb growing in you, you may have more than what you can deal with. So it's still better that you stay on to your exisitng job unless existing circumstances force u to look for a new one. Whether your boss is local or not is irregardless of to give you maternity leave right? I thought it's the HR division that decides? Recently, the new bb bonus package is now 4 months maternity leave right? I am not sure if it's compulsory for all the companies but I would imagine that they cannot deny you of your maternity leave, isn't it?

raincloud
Yes, but my accountant who is handling this is also planning to leave. Not sure were they get someone to do payroll or not. There lots of uncertainty in my job that makes me worried lor. I too know it is not wise to change job cos many employers won't take in pregnant lady rite ?
I just at the losing end, just have to pray that my accountant will stay till then &amp; fight for me.

My morale now so low but glad that i can pour out my thoughts here

hui chern: Don't dwell on it first and more imptly, do your job well, so that no one can fault you. Would it be okay on your family financially if you were to take a lesser pay job? Maybe with lesser job responsibilities? Like a contract job or part-time? In the case, there's a chance you might still be hired. In the past, I recalled I used to hear from colleagues (especially single ones), when a new hire just join and a few months later announcing she was preggy, they not very happy. Coz' they hired the new person to help them out with the load, but after learning that she was pregnant and will be granted 3 months leave, they very unhappy that they have to share the heavy workload again. So, these are some things gotta consider lor.

hui chern: u're protected by the Ministry of Labour aren't you? they cannot sack you if u r pregnant. and also, agree with raincloud about not changing jobs la. U have a lot of stress in new company- need to prove urself, cannot jia zhua...

Just take it easy. don't be so hard on urself and worry about the things tht have not come yet.

and to all MTBs... i have NO MOOD TO WORK. i am surfing internet all the time to check on bb stuff. haha.

lxlb: Kkekeke, if that's the case, come in and chat with us more. This thread very quiet leh. Think not a lot of people discovered they preggie yet.

raincloud
I heard lots of stories that it not usually advisable to be pregnant when one just join a company.Think for now , i just got to bare with the current company here.

lxlb
Need to remind myself don't think so much. DH also advise me,plus it not very good for health &amp; the bb,hehe. Okie will try. Breathe in , breathe out haha

Are you gals browsing maternity wear? So tempted to buy haha.

hui chern: Yeah, if it's still bearable, just hang on first. Don't think I'm getting maternity wear. Maybe just the bottoms ... coz' no point leh, I feel.

huichern> i have been looking at celebrity pregnant pictures to get ideas about maternity fashion! i suspect i don't have to buy much cos i have so many loose clothes. but i can't wait!!!

Raincloud> yes i'm stalking this forum already!

raincloud
Thanks for listening to me. Appreciate.
Mostly i will get bottoms first once i can't fit in my old bottoms. Now too early to buy also. The shop assistant will think you are buying them as gifts for a frd. Haha that what happen to me when i was pregnant with DD

raincloud

i tink to be a FTWM
but depent if company bankrupt So i will try to look for another job lor if stil cant find so look after bb lor.i heard my company aso unstable losing money leh

how abt you ? to be FTWM or look after bb

hui chern
i aso advice yr not to change job.
like raincloud and Ixib said

I don't feel any symptoms at all..no nausea, no sore boobs, etc...hope it stays this way but am also wondering how come...but I did 3 HPTs and they all turned out positive. the clearblue one was lighter though

hui chern, just hang in there la. In such times of economic turmoil, it's just difficult. I guess, u cant really plan when to have baby cos not u want, then will get. To be pregnant is a blessing. For me, I tried one year plus for my 1st baby and when kena that time, we already gave up trying. Then this time, we worry that will take very long again. So started trying, then alas, so fast kena... Buy 4D also not so accurate. But I guess it's all fated la... Jus take it when it comes lor. But I believe u are protected by labour law and cannot be retrenched when pregnant. New job during pregnancy too stressful. Like my gd friend, din realise she was pregnant and change job. So entered new jobs in her 4th mth. Then now boss (man la!!!) always joke, hire one and two come in! Wa lou, such an idiot!!!

Re:Maternity wear
For me, I just get one size bigger from Mango or Zara. Works for me the last pregnancy. Then get a 3rd quarter pants and some loose tops. Me no fancy for maternity wear. Or can order from www.motherhood.com. Quite affordable. Maternity wear in Singapore also quite ex.

IXIb and hui chern

for your inform

i just call mom
they said within 1st 3mth of pregnancy employer can sack pregnancy staff
but the reason canot because of pregnant (much be other reason)
after 3 mth of pregnancy employer totally cant sack pregnant staff liao

lxlb: Hhehehe, dun say 'stalk' lah ... more like refreshing the page. Hehehe. I wonder how's <font color="0000ff">Jul_04</font>'s appointment with the gynae. She's going for her ultrasound today.

hui chern: Oh yah, forgot you are having #2 hor. What happened to your earlier maternity wear? I think maternity wear can be very expensive leh. So I'll cut down on buying them unless need to. I heard that there's this belt support thing that you can wear to hook up your current pants or something. It's like an extension? Sorry for the poor description coz' I have never seen it before but merely heard it from friends. Any idea what I'm referring to huh?

very-cute: Yeah, in these times ... where jobs are very unstable, it indeed is very worrying huh ... I intend to be a SAHM if financially permits. I've been dreaming of being a SAHM since long time ago coz' I've always believed that first few years of the child's life quite important. Different people have different schools of thoughts I guess, but I don't think I'm that comfortable in leaving my kids with their grandparents or a maid. I mean, grandparents should be enjoying the grandchildren now instead of taking care all over again. But these are just my personal thoughts lah. Hope I didn't offend any FTWM out there.

caspinall: You could still be very early in the pregnancy perhaps to feel the symptoms. Plus different people have different symptoms too. Some have, some don't. My clearblue was also very light when I tested it very early. So I will wait till tomorrow to test again to see if it grew darker. But out of curiosity, I used my OPK strips to test yesterday and the line grew much darker than a few days when I tested. It's much darker than control line, hopefully it's a sign of hormones increasing.

Hello.
Finally I found a place to voice out my stress.
Hope u all don't mind.

I Went to see gynea on 2 Jan 09.
And confirmed that I about 4 or 5 weeks pregnant.
We can only see the "waterbag" in early stage.
My hubby and I were so happy that we even had our mini celebration.
Never expect that next morning, while going toilet, I got spotting.
The brown discharge that just drip down.
I was so scare. My hubby quickly took me to see the same gynea.
My gynea scanned, and said that the "waterbag" still there.
Told me not to worry. Must have more rest, dont carry heavy things etc..
Just gave me hormone pills and arranged appt on coming Sat for check up.
Although, the spotting has stopped.
Had called my gynea and said that it is a good sign. But I still can't help worrying.
Keep having wild imagination, esp after reading a scary article regarding the failed pregnancy.
I been so stressful for pass few days and had poor appetite.
So scare that the stress can affect the bb development.
How I wish that tomolo is sat, so that I can know earlier if the bb is developing well.

I really don't know how to relax myself.
Don't know why I'm still feeling so scare.
Am I going to have "depression" ?

jiahui: Hi, I have heard that spotting does happen in some pregnancies, as long as it's not prolonged. Coz' sometimes, it could be implantation spotting, considering you discovered your pregnancy early. How did the gynae explain to you about the spotting then? Saturday is just round the corner ... keep your spirits up. As some of the gals here mentioned, that your worrying can lead to stress and this somehow, can affect the bb, k?

raincloud

i agree with u said child's life quite important in first few years
especially child attitude , education and food if leaving our kids with grandparents or a maid
now the day grandparents very dote on their grandchild
every thing they aso give to them

but if financial no ok then go to work lor

but all these is my thinking
diff ppl hv diff opinion

raincloud
I pass to my gal frd when she got pregnant the same year after the birth of my DD. So got excuse to buy new ones haha. I understand what you mean by the belt thingy, not sure it is available in S'pore. Cos i'm afraid it not comfortable.

Jiahui
Guess our hormones is also contributing to the stress we MTBs are experiencing. Think as long as it not bright red &amp; excessive. Try to rest as much as possible. Get DH to do more things for you haha.

tinkbel
You brought from ZARA , hmm. maybe i should go see see look look. I find bottom difficult to buy from non maternity shop.

huichern,
I bought the summer sundresses from Mango and Zara. Last summer season, was empire cutting, so easy to get. Not sure abt this time. But you can check it out.

tinkbel
Just went to the website u recommend. Did u buy from them before, what currency they charging. Me never brought from overseas website before hehe suaku

hui chern, they charge USD, u can get them deliver to u in spore, might choose to use comgateway or the direct courier (not sure which is cheaper). but keep within S$400 to avoid GST.

very-cute: Yeap ... grandparents tend to dote on grandchildren. But that being said, I've seen grandparents who discipline their grandchildren too, and that's good. I've always thought that FTWMs are very noble. Coz' no matter how much stress they go through at work, the moment they're back with their kids, they just leave everything behind at the office. I, personally, am not sure if I can do that! I am someone who tends to bring work home. That's why I am still better off as a SAHM.

hui chern: What a smart move to pass to friends. Hehhehe. Personally, I'm not a fan of maternity wear. Prefer to wear loose clothings, but also depending on how the figure is gonna change too. Sekali my loose clothings also cannot fit coz' boobs may grow also (I hope!!!)

tinkabel: I saw a link from your son's blog about the shop that sells the baby stuff. So cuuuuuuute leh. So next time we know who to look for when we wanna buy kiddo stuff liao.

Hi raincloud
My gynea told me that the spotting could be due to my hormone not so stable yet.
Also quite common in early pregnancy.
Just gave me pills to consume without a jab.
Explained that jab is for those condition which is severe.
Kept reminding me to have more rest etc etc....
Hope that my stress won't affect the bb.

Hi Hui Chern
Well, maybe I'm a first timer. Mentality quite "naive".
Thought that pregnancy is always the smooth progress, until spotting struck me.
I learn to be more careful now. Cannot take things too easy.

Anyway, ladies thanks for ur words.
Hope my morale can get better for this coming sat appt with gynea.

Jiahui
It's ok one. We ar here to support one another. This is my 2# , i still worried. So it's normal i guess haha. Just take care &amp; have lots of rest

Raincloud
Last time, got buy some larger size clothes but i look stupid cos i'm not very tall. The upper part looks too big for me. So ugly lor. I will wait &amp; see first

Jiahui: Yes yes, the immediate thing now is to rest well.

hui chern: Yeah, I think best now is to wait and see how the body takes shape.