(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

sweethalo, it's your decision to make, my dear. If not comfy, perhaps discuss with your man n if he feels the same, just tell gynae you changed mind, and will just wait for FA scan..?

I was under the mistaken impression that Triple Screening Test was just another routine test like the blood test we had in earlier months. So when dr asked if we want to take, we just said huh? yeah, ok. karang kaboh.

Don't most (if not all) gynae's do scans themselves, unless there's a diff dept like in hopsitals?

nozomi, thanks! ho ho ho.. I'm going to start shopping liao.. pretti2 girl's clothings n stuff.. the Elle's one I bought actually for 6mths old, haha dun care.. even if I see for 1yr, 2 yrs old clothes I'll still buy if it's really cute.. I didn't use OJ, I should have drank it.. but was running late for the appmt due to the hospital tour.. my bb not really sleeping beauty le.. she move2 and poke2 me early morning until I wake up.. then afternoon after lunch too.. she got her own timing I guess

Cassey thanks! I was waiting in queue for abt half an hour.. then inside the room, was again waiting for a while for the sonographer, in total until all done and getting the print out, almost 2 hours there.. I was told that if bb position is good, and bb cooperate with moving accordingly, it won't usually take that long..

Re. Hospital wards - TMC vs Mt.A; I also heard abt all the positive feedback on Mt A's nurturing services, some of my relatives also gave birth there, that's why it was actually my first choice for hospital, also that we've heard Mt A has been recently renovated, until that fateful day of the hospital tour with that lady Betty, omg.. she rushed us thru everything.. when I raised question, she quickly bushed off by telling me to check with the hotline, puzzled I asked her if she knew the info at all, she reluctantly said she dunno, all the tours ended in abt 15mins, I felt like she very bo chap and felt quite disappointed for unable to see what do people means with positive feedback whilst this is the services that I witness myself.. while surprisingly, the tour at TMC today was smooth altho there's only 2 couples, the lady who brought us thru diff wards & floor, can answer all of our questions without doubt, as well as making sure that we are clear of what we have seen there.. the contradiction is now that some gynae said that TMC is good for natural birth, but if emergency surgery is required, the facility may not be good enough.. so I'm still deciding on that..

I'm looking for pre natal massage too, the hip joint is getting really painful as I changed position when sleeping..

Ling, poor you, what an unpleasant Mt A experience. My man and I got "sister Raj" for the Mt A tour and while the tour seemed very impromptu as opposed to TMC's well planned one, she was able to answer most of our questions. Our tour lasted aobut 30 minutes, only 2 couples. I kinda liked that the Mt A ward nurses seemed quite on the ball and were able to answer straight off which wards were vacant for our viewing, often without even needing to refer to files and charts and stuff.

I have the same thoughts about Thomson. If all goes well, it's all well and dandy. But in event things do go wrong, not the best place to be.

Congrats on your Princess, Ling

Cassey, dono if it's too late to cancel..

Regarding scans done by gynae, my previous gynae does not do the scan himself, the nurse does it. I think he only watches the screen.

sweethalo, like Cassey said... you can always cancel if you're not comfortable. our obsgyn told us the same thing... basically she said if we're religious people and won't abort no matter what, we can very skip well the triple test. but we went ahead anyway and placed everything in God's hands. at least we'd be prepared for what we'd have to face in future if we find anything wrong.

sweethalo, are you due for a regular apptmt with your gynae? If yes, just go, but can decline the blood test.
If it's just to take a blood sample, then perhaps call and let the clinic know you've changed your mind early in the morning..?
Whatever it is, I reckon don't feel like you don't have a choice. After all, you ARE paying for a service rendered!

Wah the thread is moving tooo fast...!!

Shelisa, in the end i bought the "cow" romper from kiddy palace while sourcing for nicer ones along the way. Cos i promise baby will buy for her first since she reveal the gender to us. hee.. Let u know if i found any further nice ones.
I also bought a very sweet hairband for her. girl stuff is so sweet and irrestible!

Thanks Stickymouse and Cassey.

Actually my hubby shares the view of Stickymouse, he says not to worry and trust God, just take the test and if anything we're better prepared.

I guess I am just scared. I always worry the day before any gynae visit.

Cassey- I just went for a gynae visit last Sat- first appt with new gynae. Have been going to gynae 3 wks in a row counting tmr's one. Previous week was with my old gynae who doesn't deliver anymore. So maybe abit gynae fatique.

cassey, worrying results for triple test? hopefully it's just a slight worry.

actually i didn't want to go for detailed scan, but my sil advised me saying even if i am not prepared to terminate the pregnancy no matter what, the scan is always useful cos it can prepare the medical team for any medical attention needed immediately after delivery or even to look out for any concern during delivery.

Cassey, i think for little girl, whatever type of clothes they wear forever so sweet.

Ling, Congrate, we are the same group. Little princess. yeah!! hmm, my bb is a US zone bb. everything noon go checkup, she forever sleeping. Maybe i will try cold orange juice to wake her up.

creamer, ohh really? i shall go kiddy palace take a walk. i also brought romper from precious thots. all sweet pink, baby pink. so sweet.

Reg baby clothes, i will suggest not to buy romper. i abit regret after buying 3 pieces of romper. it is bcos bb is still very small n soft. if we help them wear romper, we must be very carful as romper must wear from head 1st. if those mommy like me 1st timer, confirm sure to be anxious/nervous. i will suggest buy 2 pieces type. like top n botton. then top like shirt type, can wear from hand to the other hand. so we dun need to wear from head 1st.

ling, congrats to your little princess.. can start all the buying ler!

Did you manage to find out how much it costs for the 3D scan at TMC?

anyone thinking of doing a belly cast when tummy is bigger? I wanna try but dunno what i will do with it after dat coz will be quite big.

Cassey, I oso went for the triple test cuz my NT scan result is on the higher side.. measuring 4.22... U said u went for the triple test, how wuz ur result for the NT scan? Though the nurse told us after that the triple test result is ok, but mi and hb cant help but worry... we cannot understand n cant find any explanation on the net as to what makes the NT scan result so high... haiz... worry worry...

Bcoz of the NT scan result, our doc has arranged for us to go for the FA test as well.. Hoping and praying that all will go well..

Oh ya btw bluedream, pls help to update that we ll be having a hamburger (ger) as well... :D thanks for updating!

sweethalo,
i tink pre natal massage can start anytime after we become pregnant. and yes, its super relaxing!

ling,
congrats on your lil princess! there'll be no end to the buying i assure u
cos girl stuff are ooh-so-pretty!

shelisa,
i tink rompers are gd for small babies (up to 9 mths) cos diaper changing is alot easier (change diaper very often) and u wont face the problem of tops being flipped up/ tops become untucked during play and sleep (scared catch cold in the early days). short rompers make gd daytime wear too, cos spore so hot in the day.

The Triple Screening test, because it's not diagnostic, just gives you a POSSIBILITY to worry about, but nothing concrete.

An analogy: If I go for cancer marker tests, at the end of it, I'd like to know "you HAVE/DO NOT HAVE cancer." I don't want to hear "you MAY have cancer". I already know that, don't I? We all MAY have cancer! Similarly, I'm sure we are already aware that with every pregnancy, there is a possibility that the babe is not "normal".

For my age, all being normal, risk of having a Down's child should be an insignificant 1:1200. (Books say anything BELOW 1:250 is high risk). My triple test results were quite worrying in that based on the chemicals (or whatever) in my blood sample, my risk was calculated to be a whopping 1:170.

I'm in the special education line so I don't think having a special child is the end of the world. But as Mika Rei & Serene have said, I would like to be prepared for it in terms of relooking our current plans and more imptly, setting aside finances for medical procedures and professional intervention as necessary.

Let's just say: had I known Triple Screening was optional, I would have declined and waited until FA scan since termination is not something we'd consider. To me, FA scan that would be sufficient to prepare me.

First Mum, ohh.. i does make sense too. hmm. it make me feel that the money i spend is worth it leh. thanks for the feedback.

Serene, be not anxious, my dear. Anxiety profits nothing. It doesn't better the situation or make it any worse. Just relax, enjoy your pregnancy and wait til your detailed scan!

Even after my FA scan, the dr told me just because nothing was detected actually still doesn't mean baby doesn't have Down's. Apparently he says FA scan only identifies 60-70% of Down's kids and misses the rest. So there!

It never ends, does it? Haha! Anyway, even later on, there'll be other concerns arising - baby in good position for birth? Eh, why can't feel baby move anymore? Will (s)he have a blood disorder? blah blah blah...

So again, I say, enjoy the pregnancy and fret not!

pre-natal massage shd be done between 5-8mths, that's what my therapist and consultant at rustic nirvana, who specializes in this told me. Please take note ya!

Shelisa, good concern raised. Thanks! I've gotten several rompers and am getting more, but never thought about it. Hmm... Must practice on my poor little kitty cat. Heehee! Maybe I'll post a picture of her if I'm successful. *chuckle*

Thks Cassey for ur comforting words... but being parents I tink we juz wish our babies to be healthy wen we bring them to tis beautiful world rite haha...

Sometimes I cant help but feel all the tests that we need to go thru seems to be making us worried instead of assuring us... Last time our mothers and all din even go thru all these tests... No wonder sometimes ignorance is really bliss.

Did u ve a good NT scan result Cassey?

Serene, I didn't have an NT done.. Or if I did, I can't remember!! Sorry! But at FA scan, nuchal fold measurement was like... high 5.?? Dr told me as long as not over 6, it's still within normal range. That's all I need to know.

I c. NT is usually done during 12weeks of gestation. Usually the measurement will be printed on the ultrasound scan photos of bb that we received after each gynae appt. M glad to hear that ur FA scan measurement is normal. I found out that sometimes triple test result may not be accurate due to wrong calculation of last menses date or if ur menses is not regular. Thus I tink ur princess will be alrite dun worry too much too ya. ;)

Serene, this is the first I've heard of a correlation between menses and triple screening test. Interesting...
Anyway, much as I'd love to have a little princess, my womb currently houses a little warrior! =)
Have a good weekend!

Hi Cassey,
Saw ur post abt trying on the romper on your kitty. Do you have a cat? Did the doctor say anything abt it? My colleague scared me few weeks ago with stories abt how the cat litter can cause retardation for the baby and my hubby also heard abt the fur causing asthma.

But it's never an option for me to give up my cats (I have 2). Care to share some thoughts on this?

HI caramelle I hv 2 cats too... I won't give them up too. I get someone to help with their litter. I think cleaning more often wld be necessary after birth that's all.

sweethalo,
i get my pre-natal massage at house of traditional javanese massage. its a simple no-frills place where technique is key ( so dont expect high-class spa ambience) so its affordable at $50/hr (members get 20% off).

when i had no. 1, i go there at least once every 3 wks cos body ache everywhere and the masseur was simply fantastic. always felt so relaxed after the sessions.

First Mum- I used to go to House of Trad Jav Massage too at Thomson but stopped for sometime because the Malay lady I am used to has left and now it seems only Chinese aunties are there.

How do u lie on your belly for 1.5hr? Any discomfort?

Nozomi & jess ma, so anyone of u wanna join me for feb support group 1st tues of feb. if u all want, i will tell the facilitator when they call to confirm with me the location of the class. PM me ur contact no. if u dont mind. it's in kkh, free (with refreshment) around 2.30pm to 3+. hey those staying in the west, mayb we can organise a gathering for hi-tea to chat. anyone keen??

Anyone have decided their postnatal masg? saw at other threads, getting confused as some claim that it's "own people" pretend to praise and recommend.

hey the fetal movement really assuring hor! so cute... anyone knows when we must start monitoring at least 10 movements a day? i find it qt difficult ton monitor leh like yday half a day he hardly move. then this morn kick three times in a row.

createjoy, i have decided on my postnatal massage. the same lady i used before i got pregnant..

actually i'm not sure if i'm getting the right fetal movement or not.. sometimes feel like there's some squeezing in my womb, but it's not the menstrual cramp..

1. 65usd more to close spree for https://www.babymallonline.com

2. Strollers BP still on

3. Lansinoh Breastmilk Storage Bags(50 Bags) BP on

4. Desitin creamy 4oz and california calendular ready stock at bulk purchase price

Pls PM me for info, thanks

Also, BP for US import medela freestyle - half the price of singapore medela freestyle set, already placed an order for a group of mummies, pls PM me soon if interested so can share shipping costs!

I just felt fetal movement last nite. So excited. Was trying to sleep but couldn't cos the church next to my place is having construction work done even at close to 12mn. They were pouring concrete and the noise is horrible. So I just lie down there waiting for the noise to go away. Then suddenly, I felt a squeeze in my lower ab. I put my hands to feel and it stopped suddenly, and suddenly started with a few more bumps and squeezes. A pity that my hb isn't ard to feel it. Was telling my BB that he must kick for daddy when he is back for CNY.

amkgal, feels like a sudden jerk...something poking...like someone box u from inside... some feel something move from left to right.how much is ur massg lady charging for how many session? from reg company or pte?

anyone has facebook??the May MTB already went out and linked in facebook wow so envy them leh.

sweethalo,
one thing abt hse of java massage is that turnover is v high! the lady who did my pre natal for no.1 left shortly after i delivered. thk god this time round met another v gd malay masseur.

for pre natal, we cannot lie on tummy. the masseur would use rolled-up towels to prop up your body so that ure comfortable, and tell u to lie on your left, then right, then on your back, over the 1-2 hrs. too bad ure not in the east, if not u can look for the same masseur. shes v gd.

I have bought extra 2 bottles of DOM liqour for my wife's confinement. (Mother-in-law already bought them).
All 2 bottles are brand new and I am letting go at $56 each, 750ml bottle.
Supermarkets are selling at $65.
Please contact [email protected] for enquiries!

createjoy,
am onz with the kkh class + high tea gathering! my favourite!!!
..tried to pm u, u didn't activate your pm..hehe..may i know what's the support group about?

Hi caramelle, sorry for the late reply. Actually, the same bacteria (or whatever) in cat poo is also in dog poo and cattle poo. Basically animal poo huh. The condition we're cautioned about is taxoplasmosis. These are the precautions to take to ensure your safety during pregnancy:

- get hubby to clear the litter
- do not let kitty on food prep or eating counter tops
- wash hands thoroughly after sayang'ing kitty, especially before eating
*p.s. Hubby got kitty tested for taxoplama and the test came back negative so we're good to go!

It's a myth that pregnancy and cats = disaster. My colleague keeps suggesting I get rid of my cat.
I really think it stems from ignorance and probably a lack of love for animals more than anything concrete.

Concern after baby is born:
- possibly scratching? (but for me, my precious is very gentle and tolerant, perfect for my neighbour's kids' intro to animals cos she's so meek) Heard that a good solution is to trim kitty's claws. BUT PLS DO NOT DE-CLAW.

- possible suffocation if kitty gets into crib to sleep with baby and ends up on baby's face. (frankly, i really don't see it happening cos I'm going to be watching and the last place my cat's going to sleep on is on someone's face.)

createjoy, I booked my postnatal masseuse several months ago after checking out some of the threads here. A malay lady. There are two that do service the west area.. one the East. Not sure if it's self-advertising but a lot of different ppl mentioned them so maybe there's some truth to it.

West'ies hi-tea gathering sounds nice - but I'm usually busy weekend afternoons so am not sure I can join in. =(

Re: Fetal movements
This gong gong here is already into her 22nd week and while sometimes I quite sure it's my boy moving, I'm still not able to distinguish consistently between hunger pangs, gas and fetal movements. My poor baby. I've taken to rubbing my barely there bump if I think I feel something just in case it IS baby and he wants some reassurance.

But sometimes I just burp or pass gas after the rumble-blob so not sure if it's just gas or fetal movement.
SORRY IF BIT GROSS AH. Hey! Maybe fetal movement causes gas! Heehee...

As for how many times he moves a day.. Who's counting? I reckon our little one's are actually moving every now and then whether we feel it or not, right? So even if I feel it only 5 times, it doesn't mean he isn't moving the rest of the time, eh..?

Question: Other than from the inside, can your baby's movements be felt by touch?
I haven't really felt anything with my hands on bump yet so daddy hasn't had a chance to feel anything...

Morning Ladies,

Ling,wow.. congrats on your little princess!So good,you can now start shopping for her already.. and everyday can "mo mo" the cute BB's clothes and thinking how she look like,are you able to noe she look like you or her father more ? hehe...

nozomi,do you hv some idea that what's kind of activities you want to join? I still thinking,hehee... we can join together if there is..

Cassey,how to register hospital tour with TMC and MT A,can be weekend mah?

creatjoy,i'm on for feb support group.. how much we need to pay them and what's the class contain?Maybe you haven't on the PM feature.the postnatal masg is for postanatal slim ?

sweethalo,
theres one at siglap (near siglap centre) and one at east coast (near katong laksa) if ure familiar with the area. i think the masseur does massages at both outlets.

jessma,
for TMC, u just be there on Sat (Sun & pub hols dun have), 30 mins before 11am or 2pm to register for the tour at the information counter. Dun need to call and book in advance.