(2009/06) June 2009 MTBs

Ling,
i've heard good reviews on Mrs Wong. Also read her book too..hehe. finally got through TMC..the full course is $203.30 (non-tmc weekday class), i wanted to go for 2 seesions..and it cost $181.90..wow.tt's quite ex for just 2 sessions..

Welcome Sweethalo & Eve.

Toffeecat,

RH r open on sat, tmr I m going down, think probably is cos sat only 1/2day, hence the appt usually r booked liao.

If no more slots on sat, then usually i take e 3+ appt on friday, so can have a long weekend.

I keep forgetting to request for e mc.

Tmr need to ask e nurse to issue for my last 2 appts.

hey creamer & mummy ash thanks for the info on perfect mum i think i'll go next fri since i got a ex colleague gathering at Marina sq.

jam75 ya lor i cant resist tking a peek at the BP some of the deals really good. 4 bibs only $10 n qt nice design. some rompers v nice too also have carter think $4 or $6 like those on sales but no need go so far buy. but i try not to buy much in case later i see nicer one nearer to delivery and i think alot frd will buy bb clothes so i holding back. i'm trying not to go departmental store haha i fear i end up buying more stuff.

eve, creamer said she bought at perfect mum $50 work as nursing bra too. buy 3, 3rd at 50% not sure nw still have the deal or not next fri i go i let u know.

Hi MTBs

im from Aug'08 thread.. Selling away Clarins tonic oil as i am not using, only used 10% while i was preggie. Bought this about last yr June. Selling for $50 only

2062040.jpg

Hi ladies, long time didnt come in. busy in works.

Ling, have u fully recover? the sushi u ate is cooked sushi or raw fish sushi?

bbPotato, u means we can take mc from our gynae when we go for our normal checkup/scan? im gg for my detailed scan on 23rd jan.

yes Shelisa, u can.

last time i used to take for #1, but nw this job got more stuff to do, can't afford to take too much mc else come back need to work overtime

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A total of 10 mothers are required. So bring along your friends! A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 17-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 16-18 Jan 2009 (Fri-Sun)
3) Time: 12 noon onwards
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: Ritz Carlton Hotel
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or Dr Liu, hp 9678 5889

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to Ob doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

Thanks for the welcome Toffeecat and Nozomi

I was wondering is Sushi safe to eat? I read in some books that preggies shld refrain from Sushi which is raw. I really like Jap food and ate 2 times so far... heehe.. from what I've been reading, seems quite a number of mummies are having sushi too.

hihi all, just came back from seeing my gynae & told that 80% my baby is a boy.
i've also signed up for the classes at TMC, starting fom Mar 21, sat at 2-4pm at AMK hub.

nozomi, my gynae says fish oil is safe to take.. so i guess its really up to you..

from my understanding, sashimi as in raw food should be avoid due to harmful bacteria which may be present. Thus, we should take food which have been properly cook. Even ham & 1/2 boil egg should be avoid if possible..

Welcome Sweethalo & Eve!

Sweethalo, think sushi is still ok as long as we dont choose those that contain raw food like sashimi. Not even half cooked food.

I have also avoid those fried eggs that has half cooked egg yolk. For CNY steamboat, i must remember to ensure the food is well-cooked before consuming liao cos b4 preggie i like to just "tang" those thin slice meat like shabu shabu and eat it.. yummy! but now cant liao. For the baby sake.. hee

Create joy, happy shopping then.

Congrats Xuan

Yes, from what I have read must avoid anything half cooked or raw... *sigh* to no sashimi... I am really missing it... I did steal chances on my 2 visits to Sushi Tei though. *guilty* Thanks for the advice Xuan and Creamer

Wanted to know if any MTBs are interested in pre-natal massages.. or hv been to one yet?

Sorry to tell you that the slots for the Siemens ultrasound scan has been fully booked.

am75, mine quite a big co, so benefits quite good
did u check if ur co allow u to have the 6 days unpaid infant leave ? hmm, urs is a manufacturing is it ? I used to work for mfg co oso, they pro rate everything, like u said, even pro rate against child's age too.. for co, leave considered as cost ma, if u used up ur child care leave, then must take annual leave liao, annual leave is something they wan to clear as it can be encashed if u leave the co..

toffeecat, will pray for u that ur check's going fine.. yup.. the one I registered is 14 March one, by then already 28 wks, just nice timing.. hope u can join the same class too, I choose the 4:30 session.. I'll be going to TMC next week Fri for the detailed scan, will complete the payment then..

nozomi, eh.. I didn't know we can take only 2 session le..? Yup, I'll be paying more because not delivering at tmc, the lady encourage our spouse to come with us for the sessions, she also said that for the 1st 3 lessons, must wear pants, dunno why..

Shelisa, I'm so so so fed up with the sushi, I swear myself never to eat sushi at that suntec branch ever again
I bought the california temaki, it's all cooked, crab stick, cucumber, avocado & seaweed, nothing raw abt it.. I stayed away from sashimi, except for once occassion, I took one piece at Mandarin hotel (thot it should be safe)

sweethalo, my gynae is not too strict, so when asking him he would say the main thing to avoid is caffein, aside from the bad effect to foetus, it also block the absorption of calcium to the mother & baby. so my take is that cooked (non-raw/sashimi) sushi should be fine, I bought some from MOF, ichiban, tenjaku, and some other reputable jap rest, and so far it was alright. One friend in aust told me that she avoided all types of sushi, as her gynae there told her that even though it's not raw, but they were prepared in the same place & using the same utensils, so the risk of bacteria infection is still relatively high

Xuan, congrats to u n ur little prince !

welcome babymycomfort, Eve & sweethalo

Hi ling, some lesson must wear pant as there will be some stretching exercise n stuff like that... ya lor ling bear with another 8 mth after confinement go eat hotel intl buffet eat all u want, for now try to endure for bb, avoid anything not freshly cook.

wow so many more mommies, our list is really getting very long haha thanks bluedream for updating oftn.

I have these to let go.

(1) Dunstan Baby Language DVD set Paid $60. Selling for $30.

(2) My Brest Friend in Dots www.mybrestfriend.com. Used for a month. Cover already washed. Paid around $60. Selling for $20.

(3) The Peanut Shell sling in Retro Pink (reversible) in size 2. Never used because baby doesn't like it. Washed once and there's a little run in colour. But very small patch. http://www.thepeanutshell.com/shop/baby_slings/reversible_slings/retro_pink_baby_sling
Paid around $80 for mine. Selling for $40.

Interested, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!!

hi ladies, long time din come in and post, very busy with work and doing spring cleaning for the house, so fast CNY is coming and months later, we take turns to pop liao

createjoy, 8 months, for bf is it ? am not sure how long I'll be bf, will depends on the bm I guess, some of my friends can only bf for a few mths then after that bm stopped liao..

neeciel good 2 c u, yah hor.. back to busy worklife again after xmas & new year..

there are bb fair at expo end of feb & a smaller one at united square by Live Well, anyone's going ?

getting busier with work these days that I have very little time to log in.

Just went for my 16weeks check up. Baby is a prince and is about 10cm in length.

sweethalo, I previously have package with Rustic Nirvana to ease my water retention and back pain due to menstrual cycle. Still have package with them, so will go back there for my pre-natal massage between 5-8mths. That's their guideline. They won't do anything outside this period.

Just like to let you know that there are some great deals for this CNY at Maternity Exchange at Marina Square #03-108. They've got a new New Recessionista Rental Package - just $129 for 4 pcs, which is great for those who just want a few pieces, like for Chinese New Year! The package is valid for a year and each piece can be rented for 4 to 8 weeks. You can also buy brand new pieces or rent by individual piece.

Or if you're busy or lazy to step out, you can also shop online at
http://shop.maternityexchange.sg/shop/index.cgi. They're having 10% off new CNY styles for online purchases.

They've got lots of new maternity and nursing styles out, especially at their Marina Square flagship store. So, do pop by for a look!

More details can be found at http://www.maternityexchange.sg
or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/

Happy New Year!

createjoy, why must 8 months? bf cannot take all these food also ah? i thought only alcohol cannot take. but othr food will be processed by our body so wun be in the milk. i see all those salmon sashimi yusheng ads already drooling liao. you mean i still have to wait until i finish bf'g then can eat ah? oh no!

Thanks for the welcome.

Just to share: I went for breastfeeding talk y'sday. Was told that it would be good to invest in a good pump as it can fully stimulate ur breast in producing more milk. Was told that although it may be expensive but thinking back of how much we can save on formula milk, it's still worth the price. 1 mummy told me that she calculated & saved $7000 in 6 mths for breastfeeding. Just my 2 cents worth.

By the way, any MTB experiencing yellowish discharge? I've been having it from 2nd month onwards and each time I asked my gynae he said it's normal. But I checked online and it says yellowish could be infection. This is so confusing for me & it has been irritating me

toffeecat & xuan,
it's safe to consume fish oil..but i guess it depends on individual gynae,..she said she will gv me free sample if i really want to take after wk 28. heheh.
xuan,
congrats on your little prince. wow, so many June princes

Ling,
i read about the 2 sessions thingy..so called to enquire..perhaps might just go for the breast feeding+childcare session.

comfort,
i've yellowish/white discharge too. gynae said it's due to the white blood cells discharge..& it's not exactly white in colour..i've been using pantyliners(very mafan). As long as there is no foul smell or itch, it shouldn't be a problem.

oh i think shd be 7mth lah. now jan mah by the time give birth then confinement on special diet, by the time can eat buffet already aug.

Yellow discharge.. i also have. gynae say normal as long as not itchy & smelly. if use pantyliner then use non perfume type and change at least twice a day, keep it as dry as possible.

thanks all mummies! ya, i agree, alot of princes in june!

ling, i'll be going for the expo fair.. my office is very nearby.. am waiting for the taka baby fair that should be happening in mar too..

hmm.. good breastpumps aren't really cheap so i rather make sure i can breastfeed my baby before i buy 1.. cos i've heard quite afew stories where mummies invested in a really good pump but due to work or some other issues, mummy stop breastfeeding.. but this is just my own thoughts ya...

comfort, i have yellowish discharge too, but like nozomi, gynae advise that unless it smells or itch, it should be fine.. just make sure we clean & wipe properly after each visit to the bathroom..

1. BP for medela freestyle US import at half the price of Singapore medela freestyle set (already 3 mummies interested, pls PM me for info if interested)

2. Babymall online BP first batch ordered, still have mummies interested for second batch order, some USD more to hit 180usd, pls PM for info

3. Drugstore BP - Pls PM for info and also ready stock for california calendular cream at bulk purchase price, desitin creamy 4oz and first teeth enzyme toothpaste avail

4. Capella Strollers

just wondering... any of you ladies started preparing a baby room? i've got all my nursery furniture ready but it's a matter of whether i want to put it into the olive green painted room or a bright yellow room.

i'm afraid bright yellow will overstimulate the baby's senses and cause hyperactivity (lack of sleep). but my olive green room is actually much smaller (more soothing though)....

any of you considered that?? just stick to pastel wall colours?

comfort, I also have, and yes, usually gynae would tell us that it's normal, if it's white/yellowish it should be okay, but when it's brownish, then we should be concerned, as it is spotting and in early pregnancy it could be a risk. However, if the discharge getting a little too much, and very itchy or causing pain when urinating, it could be infection (yeast, uti, etc), and should be treated accordingly.. hope it helps..

nozomi, I'd still go for the full session.. which one are you joining ? maybe can see you there

xuan, ha.. so good, last time I used to work at cbp, just walking distance away.. now quite far, I'll be going on Sat or Sun.. trying to list out the things I need to buy, lots of bb clothings, wraps, cot mat, my mum has already bought, so safe me a bit of times there..

violac, I couldn't really prepare a nursery as I'm living with my in laws, but my friend who had their first child last yr uses colours like light pastel yellow, or beige, light pastel green for the bed sheet etc.. for stroller n bb seat they choose colours like orange or green, depends on the brand.. I read in a magz that in their early months, bb can't appreciate the various types of colours yet, mostly only seeing black and white..

comfort, i guess wat you said is right. i heard tat good pumps can stimulate the breast to produce more milk. bad pumps not only do not stimulate, it takes up more time to pump also. jus tat, i don't know if i'll be able to bf. i hope to do so, but i heard not all mums are able to bf, some do not hv enuff milk. i'm afraid if i spend a bomb and yet i cannot bf, i'll be stuck!

comfort,
i do get discharge on and off. but guess if it isnt itchy/ smelly/ in excessive amts, it shd be fine. just keep clean wiv liner ba.

nozomi,
gynae gave me fish oil from wk 12 aft i requested for it. but still she said try to take fish at least 3x a week.

xuan,
just curious. why is it "80% confirmed"? can abit abit of penis but not full-view?

just for info's sake, for mummies who have confirmed baby's gender, is it 100% confirmed? or does gynae say "it SEEMS like a XXX"...

Calling all Fashionista MTBs

I have a Kate Spade/Maclaren Biarritz Infant Carrier to sell. Got it as a gift, and i already have one so am giving up the branded/new one.

2066665.gif

It was selling in the Kate Spade Boutique at $299 but am willing to let go at $280 seeing that I've already ripped open the plastic.

SMS me at 98466548 if interested. Or, email [email protected] but i dun check emails so often. Pickup at Tanjong Pagar MRT or Clementi

Accessories included as stated, in the original box.
Appropriate From:
8–12 lb / 3.5-6 kg with pod insert
12–25 lb / 6-11.3 kg without pod insert

# Special, padded pod insert for the smallest of infants, can be easily removed for larger child
# Unique one-hand, quick release buckles
# Height adjustable shoulder harness
# Secondary, colour-coded restraint for added security
# Centred shoulder and back harness distributes weight evenly, relieving your back
# Removable bottle holder and shade blanket/bib

Comfort, i also have yellowish white discharge. Like wat other mummies said, as long no foul smell or itch shld be fine. Better use non-perfumed panty liners as perfumed ones still contain others 'ingredients' like alcohol etc. so better use natural. and change twice a daily to keep clean & dry. For me i have the itch and gynae say is infection and give me cream and tablets for insertion. But when i apply cream, it helps to stop the itch so didnt insert. Insert ones seems like very serious like dat.

Mika Rei, yah if we invest a good pump and in the end not enough breastmilk, wont we be stuck with it. Should we source for the brand of pumps we wan and buy only when we know we have enough to bf? Shouldnt be too late rite? My fren bought breastpump earlier and do not have enuf milk to bf, so go on formula instead.

hi first mum,

maybe u want to read this website on the detailed scan.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/scans/secondtrimesterscans/

It is also called the anomaly scan. Helps the doctor to check that our BB has all the "hardware" (nose, mouth, etc..) in place. My gynae never say it is compulsory but from what she describes, it's like a must cos she wants to be able to see if there are anomalies.

Re: Question on Gender
I think it really depends when each of us have our scanning done ard 16 weeks. If BB position is no good, it is likely to be a guess or a cannot see. For me, at first we can't see cos BB use his hand to cover his crotch. Then gynae tried to disturb him a bit to move his hand and we caught a glimpse of his bird. Gynae then change position to scan from bottom to confirm. View from bottom was quite clear. Then back to the normal position to confirm cos BB move his hand away. I guess if gynae cannot see very well, they will not give a confirm answer. Mine just said confirmed boy boy liao after we double confirmed from diff views.

neeciel & hatemenot,

Forgot when u 2 are gg for detailed scan. Originally wanted to do at Dr Yvonne Chan's clinic but she doesn't do it on weekends when my hb is back, so we scheduled to do at TMC itself during CNY week (her clinic close the whole week) and review the results with her later. She said may take more than 1 hr (faintz). Then I realized it is cheaper to do at TMC itself cos can get FBI discount. Somemore can pay by credit card ISO nets.

Ling, maybe ur digestive system also more sensitive during pregnancy. Some more our immunity may be low at some points so may kena all these food poisoning. I also very tempted to eat sushi. So far, have not touched one... I don't know how long I can tahan.

anyone started buying stuff for baby?? i doing research, so far decided on the few items.

stroller: either peg prego or maclaren
breast pump: ameda lactaline dual breast pump (getting from mum's fairy)
steriliser: pigeon
diapers: goo.n
breast pads: pigeon disposable breast pads
bottle: pigeon pes standard neck bottles
teats: NUK latex teats

decided on these after asking some friends and considering forumers' feedback.. is it too early for me to buy any?? especially with all the sales going on...

bbjun, i am doing my detail scan on 21 Jan 910am with Dr Chan. She will issue an MC cos the nurse told me just like oscar scan, detail scan needs to depend on baby's position, so may have to spend the entire day at the clinic.

How much is TMC charging the detail scan?

amk_gal, i havent start buying anything yet and is totally clueless which pump to get.

neeciel, I think both TMC and Dr Chan charge ard $110. But cos TMC has discount for FBI, so it wil be cheaper. Are u already on her package? Should be on right? Otherwise, quite loogi cos detailed scan consultation is very long, then the consultation charge will be higher than usual, add on the scan charge, is really quite ex lor. I m gg on 29 Jan. Review the results on 2 feb.

amk_gal, have not started buying anything but recce ard. Most of the items I will be buying Avent cos I have alot of staff pdt vouchers for that before I left my ex-company. As for stroller, I am thinking of capella 705 model. Everything abt this stroller is good, meeting what I want and price as well. The only thing is it's weight, slightly on the heavier side. But when compared to others with the same features, it's abt the same. There is another model with almost the same features but lighter. But some features that makes it easy to use is not avail. So still deciding. Some stuff like breast pads, my frens are passing their unused ones to me, so I will not really be buying until I know how much in total I have from pass-me-ons.

bbjun,
thanks for the detailed information. as i really cnt remember doing any detailed scan besides the OSCAR for my 1st pregnancy. now i understand.

regarding baby gender, your gynae is so gd taking time to confirm. mine is v busy type, appts always v rushed. so gynae just scanned between the legs and told us the gender. i then asked "is it confirmed?" cos im the paranoid kind. she said would confirm the next appt! now hafta wait another 4 wks. oh well. so just gathering info fr mummies here.

amkgal,
would like to recommend nepia. its v gd and personally i prefer it to Goo.N.

bbjun, havent sign up for the package yet, should be paying during the appt for detail scan as well... so we have to pay a few hundreds on the detail scan as well lor inclusive of consultation?

i think capella 705 is a very popular model among mothers, any good lobang for this stroller? i saw kiddy palace selling at $329.

firstmum,
detailed scan are just like our normal scans, it's just checking more on the head, brain, heart, all the other organs(kidneys,etc) to ensure all the parts are knitted perfectly
. took approx +/- 30mins if it's scan by ur gynae.

amk_gal,
my sil also recom nepia(same as firstmum)..some recom pampers(for newborns) and switched to nepia when they are few months old. am looking at peg prego or maclaren strollers too..but baby can't face us (unlike combi, etc..but pram is too small), so still considering ..hehe

First Mum,
u can try an unscientic way to check for baby's gender. It works well for me for both my pregnancies. U need to stand up and then look at the shape of yr tummy. If it looks sharp fr the sides, and is protruding, then is boy; if on the rounder side and bigger in area, then is gal. Hav fun trying it out, u might just guessed it right. U can get yr hubby to try it too ^^

neeciel,
I have checked with iwry who posted in this thread for babymall. She is selling it at $290 currently and has a promo to throw in a FOC Classic Pooh 3pcs Pillow & Bolster Set w/Bag 100% Cotton (Retailing at $25.90. I have decided not to go ahead to buy now cos it's way too early. We wld most likely be using the pram only 2nd mth onwards. So will check with her again nearer EDD. In the meantime, also looking ard. Kiddy Palace is selling a similar model but an earlier one at only $199 this week. But the reversible handle abit lei chei and the wheels super small. So decided not to buy even though this model is so much lighter.

I think u only need to pay package plus scan. Cos u can include that consultation in the package at your next visit. That's what the nurse told me.

oh. forgot. Baby kingdom also selling at $329. I think cheaper to buy at Kiddy Palace if u have the VIP card, if not better lobang. VIP card is quite worth to get, esply when we have a lot of BB things to buy later. U can consider. I am waiting to get my card in a few weeks time.

Thanks for all the MTB for the advice given. I was so worried abt the discharge and thought i was having infection.

Mika,

I am also afraid if i be able to bf. After attending the talk, i got the cheaper alternative Ameda since it's performance is the same although Medela was in my top list. Hopefully i can bf.

bbjun, oh i think i saw that model that cost $199 but unlike capella 705, it doesnt come with adjustable leg rest, which can prevent the baby from slipping out of the stroller when they are taller.

how much is the kiddy palace VIP card?