(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

If nt inc. delivery i just pay $450 and another $600 for delivery but raffles gynae charge $1K first then delivery another $1K total $2K

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> mine haven include delivery and rm charges. $2510 for natural. include 4-bedded rm charge, delivery fee and gynae's visit during stay.</font>.

camr back from holiday on 24 oct...but busy...no time to post.

last thurs went for the 2nd appt, EDD is end of May.

i having flu, headache and also waking up at 3-4plus in the night.
so tired.

catch up with u next time.

Re:package

Xue, How come your package is so cheap..
Mine no package, per visit S$60, only scanning scanning - S$250 from 12 wks till give birth (if not, per scan S$60), vits are paid separately.

During my girl, i think i paid about more than S$2K for the outpatient.

Delivery natural: S$2050 include hospital charges and baby's toilettries and nursery, but gynae fee and his daily visits are not included.
Gynae fee for natural delivery - S$1,800 (if i am not wrong), and daily visit - S$100 per visit (actually wat he did was just to look at me (fully clothed), no check below hor)

I am quite surprised to learn than xue's package is so cheap ler..

Adv_sport,
Haha i tried not to be pian xin lah, of course during my #1, i have more time for her, as I was always alone at home after work..
With #2 coming along, i think it's really different..

Today super busy, will catch up on post again...

Another set of twins, joyce?
Wow wow.. congrats!!! Hoops, Joyce, dun worry about the double suffering (hm.. should say double tiredness) but double happiness!!!!

I am new here. First baby due in May. Am so excited!

Just went for OSCAR test today..baby was very stubborn, kept showing us its butt..keke. Poor mummy here had to cough and cough and go on walkabouts and talk nicely to baby before it finally turned..haha. Might be a very stubborn little one next time!!

OSCAR test looked ok..now waiting for blood result)

Welcome Kyla!
When are u due? Which gynae are u seeing?

sports > Thanks.

I have started to feel the strain at my spinal area. Does anyone experience the same too? It's extremely terrible today. Think cos of the audit I need to walk in and out of my desk &amp; up and down in front of the cabinets to retrieve tonnes of files for their checking.

Another day to go tomorrow.

Hi JRT, am due 18 May. Seeing Dr Heng.

Hey SK, take it easy there and dun lift heavy stuff..ask someone to help

Cravings
Hello Hoops&amp;yoyo...
We got same craving! curry chicken, Tom Yum, Mee siam, sour&amp;spicy soup etc... haha. Me also get up in middle of the nite to pee then tough to fall asleep again. sigh...

Gynae Package
My gynae shld be same as Xue - Dr Joycelyn Wong. $740 is only for scans + consults frm 12 wks onwards.

Lower Back pain
I already have this lower back pain at the left side. anyone experience this??? Especially at night or i try get up from bed.

Tummy
Tummy is showing already. Many pple comment big for 14 wks. Sigh, not sure if im the one putting on weight or the baby growing. hehe. Put on abt 3kg already. Think better ctrl a bit....

Anxylyn,

Next Wed is 12th? anyway i'm going for triple test next wed at 10am... what are the procedures anyone noes?

Kyla,
are you with Dr Heng Tung Lan as well? both Anxylyn and I are visiting her as well!

tummy - these few days suddenly realise my tummy growing bigger faster, but so far no one gives up their seat to me on MRT yet! haha

package - i started my package at Dr Heng's clinic at my 2nd visit when i'm 11th week... $600 includes multi-vit and calcium and scanning. fish oil separate cost. $1k for normal delivery.

waking up at nite - i wake up ard 3-4 hours after i fell asleep, just to go and pee, not my usual practice... even slight snoring by my hubby made me hard to return to slp after the toilet visit... :S

oh btw, did you gals realise that most babies here will be double bullish? Born in Year of Ox and zodiac sign will be Taurus! hehhe

Re: Tummy

My frenz also comment my tummy big for 13 weeks+. haha... Think I am eating too much... haha...

Re: Frequent urination at night

It gets lesser tho as compared to early pregnancy stage, sometimes I got problem falling asleep too... sighz...

Re: Zodiac sign

Oh ya hor... double bull..lol..
So meaning they got "niu pi qi" and will be sturborn??

ERm...then both mummy and bb are bullish for my case + "niu piu qi"...already a taurean and bb too.

HB's bday only 3 days after mine and hopefully bb's bday wont be anywhere far from us. Hehe...

Talking about niu pi qi, why not say they are hardworking. keke...

Anyway, bbs will sure behave like either mummy or daddy...

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
dunno lei. tt time for my #1 C-sec, i paid 1k cash after deducting from medisave. but gynae is not Dr Wong.

Welcome Kyla.!!!

Iewwei,
Thru'out my whole pregnancy, less then 5 ppl gave out their seats to me. Be it MRT or Bus. Cant really expect much from those ppl... Even there's board showing priority seat for pregnant women, nobody will give up their seat even if u're standing right in front of them with a big tum ! Imagine 50+ uncle using his walking stick to block ur way from gng into the mrt? sch boy placing his bag on the seat beside him and ignore you when u're in front of him? auntie asking u to give up ur seat to her even thou she knows u're carrying a tum.!
Can you imagine this? All these happened to me when i had my #1. And of cos there's kind ppl out there...

JRTlover,
I had difficulty slping at night too... hai... Midnight still have to wake up to pee... Very tired.</font>.

Hi Xue,

Normally I will wait for bus to have seats before boarding. It will be very tiring to stand on the whole journey especially with big tummy. No problem when going work but not when going home.

I agree with you that no one will give up their seat to pregnant women. So far, only one uncle give his seats to me. Sigh...

Hey Xue,
I agree totally with you on the MRT. For my case, my tummy is not so obvious yet so i don't blame people for not giving seats to me. What I cannot stand is, everytime when i alight at Boon Lay MRT, people will try to rush in before the people in the MRT got out. There was one occasion, one young lady (i think she is PRC) she actually stood in the middle of the entrance and gave me a stare as if I am blocking her way! Hey, I have priority as I am getting out of the MRT leh! So i said to her "can you wait or not!"

Then yesterday, one middle age uncle rushed past me to quickly dash to an empty seat! I swear if my tummy is more prominent, I will shout out to him!

MTBs who takes the MRT during peak hours, you can forget about kind hearted people giving up seats to you!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Joyce,
My previous job is at AMK industrial. Imagine from my place to work, i have to take a bus to TPY mrt. Take mrt to AMK. and take a bus inside. I have to stand thru'out the whole 1 hr's journey. Tt time very stingy one. late 3 times - one day leave. so no matter wad oso must board the bus....</font>.

I believe nt all like tat.. this morning i saw a lady give her seat to a pregnant women in MRT

I work at town area too and everyday MRT so crowded cant imagine christmas time ..

Hi Xue,

Maybe i am the lucky one as my company is quite flexible and I always try to go out earlier. So i am always the first to reach.

Btw, anyone know when is the best time to start looking for BB stuff? 20 weeks and above is it too early?

Xue,
That was cheap ler, only pay S$1K for ceasarean.. i think i paid cash about 2.1K the rest is from hubby's medisave..

Re: seat
Nobody gives up seats for me as well. haiz i think i am quite prominent now, tho not heavily preg yet, but definitely my tummy is not those bulging fat!
Luckily my journey is at most 10 mins from home to office, so still quite bearable

Nowadays, most ppl are just so inconsiderate.

Re: seat

I got a bulging tummy but perhaps some are still wondering if it is fats or tummy...haha.. There was once I was standing in front of the priority seat with 2 guys seating there. Not sure if they did not notice my tummy or not, at another station, a heavily preggy women came in, one of the guys immediately give up seat to her! haha. Think mine is not so obivious and easily mistaken as fats. :p

Casey - I agree with u on the Boon Lay MRT.. its so terrible.. everyone rushed in once the train arrive, its so terrible.. I am waiting for next yr when the Pioneer station open..

JRT - think I am just like you.. ppl must be thinking I am fat haha..

So far, I have seen many ppl not giving up seats to pregnant ladies, think they are so inconsiderate..

JRT,

I think the boys are not too sure whether you are pregnant. So they rather not take the "risk". I've got a friend who was scolded by a woman whom he mistakenly thought was pregnant and gave up his seat to her. haha

bean bean,

Truly agree with you. Coz once upon a time when I was fat,there are pple who thinks I am pregnant...So sad rite..
Now slim down liao and preggy,no one give up seat...lol

Vera,

Same plight as me.
We got to wait somemore time before our tummy are more obivious! haha..

Bean - agree.. sometimes I see women with a tummy but I also dont know if they are pregnant also..

JRT - meanwhile let them think we are fat haha.. but hopefully when our tummy is obvious, we will meet kind souls =)

Generally Singaporeans are still not cultured enough right? The fact that people RUSH into the train cabins are showing that they are not cultured. When you go to Japan, everyone lines up neatly and wait patiently for the alighting passengers to alight first before boarding! I was so amazed when i saw it for the first time. Singaporeans really need to learn alot more. But of course we are slightly better than some other asian countires lah..

xue - regarding purchase of medela breastpump, i was in touch with the bp organiser whereas Noi tried to ask the medela spore office.

joyce - on buying bb stuff - if you are not fussy, actually there are always frens who are willing to pass down their bb stuff coz they have no more use for them and find it a waste to throw them away. for my #1, i didn't have to get any big ticket items at all - cot, pram, changing table, etc etc all given to me and they were all in good condition. if you wan to buy, suggest you wait till yr end sales or the bb fair in mar, can save quite a bit of $.

nineTo5
I didnt have a doula BTW so my description may not be that accurate.

hmm like birth companion who is there throughout birth to support u emotionally eg. verbal assurance and give ideas/help to reduce discomfort and smoothen the birth process. eg suggestions for body posture for u, or tell hubby how he can help. She will also be familiar with the birth options and advise u accordingly. Will help to convey ur birth preferences on that day.we hope hubby will be there to do this. but hubby may be blur, dunno what to do. doula will have some birth experience so can guide both. similar to midwife but scope is lesser. will not replace role of midwife or dr. there also some doulas who are licensed as midwifes tho

I dun think hospital midwife/dr will be with u the way.doula will be there throughout and in contact b4 birth. she knos what ur birth preferences and help to push for it on the day eg. no episiotomy, delivery position : squat/all fours

here some sites with description
http://www.fourtrimesters.com/doulaservice.htm
http://www.parentlink.org/pregnant_singapore_birth_doula/02doula/about_doulas/about_doulas.htm

When i was in Taiwan... no one "dared" to take the priority seats in e train even when it was full if they were not pregnant, a child or an elderly. It shows how cultured Sporeans are!!! I think a long long way more to go leh before we are fully "educated". Courtesy campaign have to re-appear!

taurus
pkg price also depend on the dr expertise and experience. yup other dr quoted me $1k plus too. but he v high profile. my current dr dun have pkg but I keep with him coz of his experience and how he practise.

Joyce
did u have doula ? i know Dr Paul is ok with birth on all fours etc. but if dun have doula, will he help with those positions since I havent give birth like dat?

for new mummies who need to buy a lot of things from scratch - i have compiled a list of stuff to buy for a fren previously. you might want to use it as a ref for your shopping trips. most items are available at kiddy palace. you might want to get their membership card which is $10 for a year to get 10% disc on purchases.<center><table border=1><tr><td>
attachment_icon.gif
things to buy
bb items to purchase.xls (20.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

re: rushing
I wonder if it makes a diff if SG people are less stressed, more time for leisure ? so more relaxed so more able to empathise ?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma">I believe there's still some kind souls out there... But sad to say most of them are nt...
all those incident i mentioned is when im in my 6mths which is very obvious. cant be my fats. some more im those petite type.
haha....

cola,
yea. its quite afforable and the gynae has exp for more then 30 yrs liao... checkup hv to wait super long.....
one of the reasons y i change my gynae.. hehee

Feb_mum,
oh... so she'll organise a spree for us yea? Im wondering if FS can put in steriliser to sterlise anot....</font>.

sobz... i vomitted again this morning... just when i thot it stopped, it came back..hahaa.. still craving for my spicy food..hee..

xue - yes, she will organise another bp for us. i supp the plastic parts can all be sterilised, just like the other medela pumps. but i tink i will get the pis, instead of fs. rather stick to the tried and tested. and i tink it will be easier to sell off the pis when i'm done with bf since more people are familiar with this model.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Feb_mum,
Before the FS i oso intend to get PIS. More commonly use then FS. But isnt it heavy? have to carry it to work and back hm.... there's actually a thread dicussing abt PIS and FS. feedbacks for FS seems quite gd lei... think i'll try to find someone who's able to show their FS then decide ba.... Hope can sterlise using sterliser... will be much more easier... For the pills... some will leave a smell after sterilising the pumps... </font>.

What's the diff btn PIS and FS? Cons and Pros?

Im thinking of getting one too.

*Boss keeps pushing me to announce my preg news to my partner (who covers my duties when on leave) but the thing is if over 3 months still got the possibility of having a M/C yah?

Think most ironic part now is need to pretend nothing has happened or preg yet we are enduring the pain/discomfort inside us.

SK,

I think it is ok to announce now le... My classmates and lecturers know that I am preggy liao. I got a pregnancy ticker on my blog too!

JRT > Was browsing for bb full month packages couple of days ago...was so eager to do that...haha

Thot partridgepear and melrose's packages are quite a good deal, at least suit my taste. Always like fruit tarts. :D

For my case, I no need to announce as my colleague already guess it. Haha...

It will be good to let your boss know early so that he can arrange for pple to back up your duties while u on leave.

SK,

Wahhh... u so fast looking at full month's package leh....ahha
I have yet confirmed my CL and other stuffs... Never think so long..hehe....

iewwei,
Triple test is only blood test. So the nurse will get a small tube of blood from the arm. Today I went for oscar test. Can see the bb sucking the thumb, jumping up and down, then the bb turn upside down with the head facing downward. The radiologist pointed out his/her feet and hands to me. V cute but can't see the gender yet though.

i'm also expecting my baby in May 2009 - second babe for me.
great to join in the discussions here. i'm based in bangkok so it's good to be in touch with stuff back home. miss all the singaporean laksa, char kway teow etc...

regarding doulas, i did have one in my first birth. I think it's a great idea coz the person can support us and our preferences. She was with me and my hubby throughout.

Doula
I tot only hubbys allowing in the delivery room. How long can the doula stay with u?

Full mth Pkg
I also started to surf on that ... cos been reading all the pregnancy stuff...a bit boring. hahaha. Becos i condemn Bengawan Solo vouchers. I tink very insincere leh.

jacquise
depends on the hospital, not all allow. from what I know - Thomson,Mt A and MT E is ok. Not sure if all dr are willing to work with doula too. doula to stay with u throughout labour. from start to finish. even if superlong.