(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi Firefly,
Thanks for the info. So we are a few days apart from our EDD.
May I know what is this amnio test? Actually, I am living in France now as my husband is french. I joined the other forum for MTB with ang moh husbands but thought this forum is interesting as well since my EDD is in May. The tests that I am supposed to take are all in french.
I will go draw blood next week to check for HT21, toxoplasmosis and etc... HT21 is for down sydrome I think. Is that what amnio test is?

Hi Soh,

Amnio test is to test for down-sydrome for woman of age 35 and above. Accuracy is 100% but carries a risk of 0.5% miscarriage. It involves poking the needle into the foetus to draw fluid for testing.

In fact there is also a test call OSCARS but this can be done not later than 12 weeks. only require to draw blood sample for testing, accuracy is 90%.

maybe HT21 is the sample as OSCARS over here. Just different way of calling. So will u be back to Singapore for your delivery and confinement by then ?

JRT,
Its the normal blood test to test for blood counts, HIV blah blah.... Told by the nurse tt this test can be done anytime during the pregnancy but before delivery. compulsory test. Update us ur bb's gender.! =)

Firefly,
U're correct. My EDD is 1st May. =)

Xue,

If i am nt wrong , u r also seeing Dr Joycelyn Wong ?

If I give birth early, we may end up as room mates. hehe.

Will u be taking the 4-Bedded or single bedded ?

cola,
thanks. hehee.. nw the hse is all males except me. hahaha

Firefly,
Bingo. Im see Dr Wong. =) Will be taking 4-bedded. But normally will deliver early de... most prob in end of april.. hope we're rm-mates too. hehhee

Xue,

Oic... I think I have taken the blood test at Week 12 that include blood profile and HIV also.
Heng arh! No need to draw my blood again...haha...

I wonder if it's still safe to perform intimacy with DH after 12 weeks? When is the safe range eh?

Hello everyone

Been sometime since i last drop by..had been super bz with sch work, presentations & tests. Saw that we have a lot of new mummies who joined us? Pls include in the following details so that i can update the spreadsheet. Welcome all of you

EDD
Gynae
Hospital
No of pregnancy
Age of current child (if applicable)
Area where u stay (eg punggol or tampines etc)

Received my oscar test and it is negative so very happy to know that however my iron is a bit low so gynae prescribed some iron tablets for me. Maybe thats why am feeling tired very easily cos i dun remember feeling this way when i had my #1. The only time i felt real tired was when i was in my final trimester then...sigh...

So take care everyone...shall catch up again..got to rush to complete my assignment that is due tomorrow! Urgh!!

Hi Firefly, Thanks for the explanations. Don't worry too much about your test in dec.

Piggy Cow, my EDD is 04/05/09 but I am not living in singapore. My gyne gave me iron pills since the beginning + folic acids. I had finished my folic acids. Left iron pills to take for another month.

Xue, so cool to know the sex of baby so fast. I have to wait until my next scan on 20/12. That would be a nice christmas present for the family.

Hi Piggy,

I have also been very busy for the past 2 weeks. Just accompanied the kids for a 3 days 2 nites camp and i was super worn out at the end of the camp. No choice...i am the head in charge of the camp..so must lead by eg.

Now, i must stay back in school to deal with the rest of the finances and SEM report. ARh!!!!! So much work to do!!!

Anyone going for OSCARs this wed morning? My appt is at 0830.

Morning ladies! Been some time since i popped in. hope everyone is well! Welcome the newbies!

SK: I didn't take blood test during my NT scan also.. Just scan only. But before the scan, i had blood test done at Dr Woodworth's clinic. i think if u'd done blood test before and u showed him the report, he won't ask u to do it again ba.. I had my NT scan done in 4 Nov and last Fri, the clinic called me to tell me everything's ok. I'm seeing Dr Woodworth again this Fri, hope can see gender liao.. Did you go for the hospital tour on your scan date? My next scan at TMC is 30 Dec, will prob do the tour then. Urs?

Poohwei & Piggy: Don't overwork! Rem to rest too!

Re: First month packages
Wow, u all plan very early leh.. i discussed it with my hubby over the weekend and i think we'll have buffet at our place for relatives and vouchers for colleagues. i think vouchers easier for colleagues so they can choose what they like, rather than red eggs, ang ku kuehs and butter cakes.

Re: Yoga
Anyone taking it up? i'm thinking of starting next week at Whatever Yoga. my hubby said i'm putting on too much weight.
really need to do some yoga and stretching. feeling very lethargic and strain on my legs. I wanna go swimming too!

i have the same question as SK, when can we have intimacy with DH?

oh, i'm finally wearing my maternity pants! so comfy!

Morning... it's mondya again

Tiny,
Regarding your qns, I have been having relationships with hubby since few weeks back. So long as your pregnancy is normal and both of you are gentle, it's okay.. I remember my gynae said it's okay to have intimacy if you dun experience any bleeding or whatsoever in your preg.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> JRT,
yea. blood test will be done on the same day as Oscar, DS test.... no need to draw 2 times. hehee

SK,
mostly gynae will give green light when u reach 2nd tri and provided everything is gd..

Soh,
yea. hehee.. Just nice after ur scan it will be christmas.. nice gift indeed. =)</font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> hey cola,
when will u know the gender of #2?? Feeling excited for you.. hehee Ur hb will be so happy if it's a boy yea. hahaa</font>.

Xue,
on my 10th wks scan previously, gynae said most likely is a boy (coz got sth point out) but he dared not commit yet coz too early by then.
Haha my gut feeling told me probably it's a boy.. Yeah hubby is looking forward to have a son.. keke..

My appt is this thursday, will see if can determine gender by then..

Meg still calls "baby" instead of didi or mei mei keke

morning ladies!

Re: Exercise
Tiny_M, I want to go yoga too..but still waiting to see the gynae this fri then decide if i want to start at wk 16. Btw Were u the one talking abt another yoga place near spottiswood? if have on weekdays i dun mind going there coz it'd be nearer for me to walk there..ha!

As for swimming, i started a little swimming on sundays with my gal few weeks back at safra and shld be restarting my swimming at fitness first in dec on weekdays kwa...coz i am feeling sooo unhealthy.

Re: Intimacy
I think as long as no bleeding shld be ok kwa. Anyway for me, usually my gynae will tell me so :p
But i think 2nd trimester is THE TIME to eat and get 'wild' if u know what i mean..heheh..by 3rd trimester cannot move liao coz got big barrier.

Re: gender
I hope i also can see this fri too

Vera, where is ur gynae?

good morning ladies

re: names
xue &amp; JRT, u r well prepared mums
my darling 5yo niece is suggesting names for my bb -- she prefers girl and wanna name "nicole" from the TV series by adrian pang! LOL

re: exercise
915, yeah, me also feels so unhealthy! have been doing lotsa walking at nature parks during weekends and weekday will be strolling at the garden @ my place after dinner...

will try to do more swimming -- need to get a maternity swim wear!

as for yoga, plan to start in dec

re: intimacy
need to wait till MS over... no mood with the puking feeling :p

re: gender
rc_cola &amp; vera, hope to hear gd news of ur bb's gender this week

915, i'd checked with the studio at Spottiswoode park but they only have pre-natal yoga on Sat 11am, which I cannot go for.
I'm thinking of going for either Whatever Yoga or La Vida Loft at Yan Kit, near Tg Pagar (http://www.lavidaloft.net.)
For La Vida Loft, 10 sessions is $250, admits a couple so hubby can join in. lesson is 740pm - 855pm on Tuesday (total 1hr 15mins)
I'm going to email them to see if they have any trial lessons..

adv_sports, i'm trying to do more walking also but i pushed a leg muscle (I dunno how!) on Fri and it hurts all the way to my butt when i walk! i feel that i really need to do stretching.. i tried doing some stretching at home yesterday but dunno how safe some stretches are.

r u still having MS? sigh.. my evening sickness came back. i had no appetite whole of yesterday and vomitted twice last night when brushing my teeth. didn't sleep well also these two nights.. sigh..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Vera,
Do keep us update yea. =)

Adv_sports,
haaahaa, ur niece is cute. lol.

Maternity swimwear :
Why can I get except mothercare?</font>.

adv_sports,
r u thinking of getting one piece swimsuit or 2 piece top &amp; bottom?

i got mine thru old navy last time during sales..very cheap.think less than SGD$20 for top and bottom. however i only get to wear bottom most of the time coz the top is abit flare and i was worried that it'd roll up. Anyway during my #1, i wore my bikini top with the maternity bottom.

Re: swimwear
So far I wear my bikini hahaha.. as tummy not really big yet, so ppl might think i am fat rather than preg bah hahaha...
Maternity swimwear? Would it be too tight as it covers up the tummy as well?

Re: names
I am thinking of boy's name, but have not found any nice short and sharp name for a boy boy.
For girl, I wanna name her "Mischa" keke

Tiny_M,
Yoga on weekends also no good for me. I am looking for weekdays. Anyway why do we need hubbies to be in the yoga class?pls lemme know if u get any replies.Thanks

915, according to the website, "husbands are welcome to join in the exercise or simply support their wives during the sessions". so your hubby can join in doing the yoga or simply sit around ba. I'm asking for trial lessons from La Vida Loft, see if they get back to me.. me wanna start next week..

Re: swim suit
i have a two piece swim suit which i think can still weear *cross fingers* i think as long as it's a two piece swim suit, it should be ok right?

Re: names
me also thinking of names already. but chinese a bit difficult. have u all heard that for babies born in years of cow, rabbit, goat or horse need to have a "grass"-pang in the name? i watch a TV programme it says that having "grass" in the name needs the kid will have food to eat and dun need to worry in future.. but i cannot think of any nice names with "grass"-pang..

yeah..1 more week to 12th week (end of first trimester)...

Not too sure why..I'm still feeling very weak and giddy- can't go out too long. Hopefully, this will be over next week when I pass my first trimester.

Yet to start naming my bb but I this like to call bb gal "Astoria". It's a name of a place in UK when I wiki.

Intimacy > hubby wants it but I kinda feel no mood... scare will disturb bb. :p

JRT > Thanks for the info. =D

MS > Think my MS has subsided. My Ms is weak I reckon compare to some mummies who puke n lost weight due to vomitting. I puke a little twice cos of bloatness &amp; indigestion.

Tiny_M > Actually my next detailed scan is also on 30 Dec but I called this morning to change it to 26 Dec, 3.30pm. Wanted to take MC that day to rest for the short holiday too. Hehe.

I kinda feel my bb is growing tad slow. How come mummies here already can see bb's gender or feel that they are way past their 14th week. Im into my 13th week.

My muscles at the back of my waist is getting more straining esp when I sit on the floor for more than 30mins (one position). Has anyone feel the same too?

I feel my appetite is coming back. I had quite alot of snacks (junks) yesterday. Gosh. What a craving!~

tiny_m, oh dear, do take care! is the pain at the back of the leg? from where to ur butt? it may be a ligament strain and be careful how u stretch...

re: maternity swim wear
dunno where i can get -- maybe will try old navy as recommended by 915... my current swim wear is 2 piece -- still can wear but my tummy protruding out...

re: prenatal yoga
tiny_m, thanks for the link on La Vida Loft -- they hv a studio in the west which is near to my place. And great that my hubby can join me in the weekend class

re: MS
mine is still persistance
indigestion, bloated and nauseous...

hoops&amp;yoyo, jia you to ur 2nd tri! do take care and not "overwork"!

re: name
hmm, "grass"-pang name... gotta think very hard...

re: gender
SK, no worry, mine cannot see the baby gender at 12.5wk.. and great that ur MS has subsided &amp; appetite coming back! m waiting patiently for my turn

hey ladies, i went to oldnavy site to see. i think now not many choices for swim wear as it is winter now..so in the clearance got a few nia..all less than USD$5 fyi

wah! SK, u're so clever! i'm so tempted to change also.. but i dunno the number now, must go home to check.. hope that day still available!
don't worry so much, my baby also cannot see gender yet (tho' i hope by fri can see something..). i'm in the start of my 14th week (13 weeks and 1 day).

adv_sports: it's a very weird pain leh.. like from somewhere near my ankle to my butt. my butt more pain than my leg. so weird..

Re: Yoga
La Vida Loft replied me. We can either join Tues evening or Sat lessons, quite flexible. they're offering us free trial lesson also. anyone interested? i'll be going to the one at tg pagar..

Re: Baby names

I am borned in the year of the Goat...hehe.. My name got "grass" also, got a "Fen"(芬),芸/芳also got "grass".
I think for gal's name to have "grass" not difficult,for boys not easy leh...hee..

re: baby names

also need to know what 'type' of element they r (eg, gold, wood, water, fire or earth) think also need to know what time they r born.

cos my gal is a 'fire' dog n she's born in Jan n in the evening 7plus.. the shi fu said both e mth n timing is 'wet' so need gold or wood to make her 'fire' 'burn brightly' etc

Hi everyone, recently found this forum when searching for gynaes to go to.. Just wondering, anyone here is SAHMTB? or stays in Jurong west?

RE: doula
Jacquise, yes i did hire a doula before in my first pregnancy. My hubby wasn't very for it at the beginning, but after the whole birth experience, he agreed we made a good choice! Basically you're able to call her when you start going into labour, and ask the 1001 qns that you feel awkward asking the doc esp like you wanna ask a qn every now and then. ;p Also, she stays with you thru the labour, even as docs and nurses whisk in and out of the labour room.

Re: swimwear
gosh, i'm already ballooning so i've started wearing maternity swimwear liao ;o ... it's a bit loose now, but it's less tight than the regular ones. If you swim often, it's good to invest in one! It's not tight around the tummy - its made to be loose around tummy so baby can also breathe haha... I recommend those 2 piece types. Mothercare has pretty good ones.

hi mummies, I'm from March 2009 MTB thread. Dropping by to share with you that Tollyjoy will be having a warehouse sale next week 21 - 23 Nov. Held at 29 Changi South St 1. 11 - 7pm.

915 - my gynae at TMC.. appt at 230pm..

RE: MS
Mine is subsiding already.. starting to feel hungry easily but I am afraid that I will overeat.. haha..

RE: Name
I also start thinking of names now.. but hb said I too kancheong.. should wait until know the gender first..

vera > exactly, I have been controlling my diet all this while esp when already preg. Overweight mummy need to be extremely careful on wtonnes of weight gain. I hope not to exceed 10 extra kgs on me. I read abbot's nutritional booklet for mummy and it's about 7kg weight gain for obese mummy. *pray hard* now.

Jamie > im staying in Jurong West and visiting Dr Adrian W at CCK. There's gyna doctor, Dr Kee at Jurong Point if you want a doctor within ya vicinity. This doctor also stations at Jurong area. He sees my colleague and ex-coll too but antenatal package starts from $850 which I reckon quite exp.

Tho Chin Keong
The London Clinic &amp; Surgery For Women
Blk 253 Jurong East St 24 #01-269
Singapore 600253
Tel: 65611322

Else you can visit NUH's Dr Mary Rauff. She's the top gyna among the doctors...bu her waiting list can kill you.

Tiny_M > Not clever lah...just wanna make full use of my holiday and rest time. Hehe. Need to clear my leave too.

SK - yah, I am afraid that overeating will have hard labour cos bb might be too big.. btw I also stay at Jurong West too.. me at the extension part.. u?

915 - My gynae at WC Cheng Associates.. just beside the taxi stand.. yours?

915 - Mine is WK Tan.. I always need to wait quite a while cos she got so many patients.. most likely I will see you there this fri =)