(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Eating healthy really affects the bb but dun worry too much, cos I think it's rather difficult for working or SAHM mums to eat healthily...depends on what food is available lor...try to avoid high sugar & carbo food (especially if yr family got diabetes &/or u are more than 30yrs old).

Drink more water. I drank a cup of tea daily during #1...but trying to cut down now. Coke is ok if taken in moderation. One of my colleagues said dun drink too much getorade, etc cos his wife vomit every time she drinks water so ended up every time drink gaseous drink like H2O or gaterade...now child hyper-active....

Most important, relax, relax, relax...cos if u keep scolding ppl or moody, baby would feel it & tend 2b grouchy. Talk to baby often...they would understand....

I'm a tr, so I scold students on daily basis...my #1 is rather grouchy & tends to "nag" or "scold" non-stop....sigh....

mabel, i went to see my gynae at abt 6-7 weeks too and the gynae says it looks only 5-6 weeks, so i guess it varies bah, and LMP not always accurate
when is ur LMP? mine's 30 june..

btw, anyone knows whether we can eat kraft cheese? and has anyone started drinking milk for pregnant women? i just bought annum milk for preg women..

lilmoo, could u kindly include me in your next table update? Thanks!
nick: Iwry
baby #: 1
EDD: TBC
ob: Adrian Woodworth
Hospital: TBC

1st-time mummies,

Just some experience to share but I'm not selling them hor...

Nappy-rash:
I used the Destini nappy-rash cream for #1 & works wonder for me. Better to buy online as it's cheaper.....still using my 1st tube after #1 still 15month...heehee

Cradle-cap:
Used California Baby calendu cream on #1. Also works for him. Order online cheaper. Would still be using the 1st bottle if #1 dun used the whole bottle as facial mask!!

Hey iwry, i went to see doc adrian too. my LMP is 27 June

think mummies got to drink milk but i hate to drink it. haha

oh how come we cant drink herbal soup? think i love them and been drinking too.

Hiya...

can add me to the table as well.

Nick: chocbabe
baby: #2 (#1 in Feb 07)
EDD: 8 April (but mine will be c-sect so gynae say most likely end march)
OB: CH Koh
Hospital: TMC

hi porkylim, hey, good to hear were seeing the same gynae! our LMP quite similar so good, can compare
have u signed the package yet? me currently seeing dr adrian weekly..when was ur last visit to him when he commented it looks 5 weeks? btw, what's ur email..can chat over email so wont flood this website!:p

hi lovesphagetti, yes, the chinese sinseh taught me how to make DIY chic essence and also gave me a packet of chinese herbs "an tai yao" for first trimester..also on duphaston, which he says is ok to take concurrently with chinese herbs, 2-3 hrs apart though..

wow iwry you are seeing Dr Adrian every week? i just went to him last week but i haven't sign the package with him yet cos he is really chop chop in his consultation
i have just ping you regarding my email.

Hi iwry,

I also seeing Dr Adrian @ CCK, I had made an appt him tomorrow...My 1st appt with him. I wld like to knw more abt the package u n porkylim talking abt.

N btw porkylim, what d u mean that he is really chop chop.

iwry and porkylin,
I am under Dr Adrian too. Been to CCK clinic last Sat. Was my 2nd visit. I sign package already. $550 till birth, can spilt into two installment.
<font color="ff0000">Remember to keep receipt for package so that u can claim Medisave after delivery. </font>
My next visit is 30 Aug. My LMP 25 Jun. We are all very near.

Dr Adrian is very quick in checkup. So u got to prepare what to ask during checkup. Else he is very fast in speech and finish every checkup very fast.

$550 includes a scan at every visit, free supplements like Folic Acid and Multi-vit, I heard from the nurse there is a free blood scan somewhere during pregnancy. 1 urine test every checkup for sugar level. This package are for unlimited visit to see him till u give birth.

For more detailed info, u can ask the nurse or at CCK clinic..on the right hand glass of the entrance, there is a list pasted there.

I am expecting an Apr’09 baby too. My LMP was 22nd June so EDD will be early Apr. I am seeing Dr Lawrence Ang at Sun Plaza.

I have a 3YO boy and a 1YO gal. This will be my 3rd kid.

Hi tangofango, my hubby and MIL said that ginseng is not good for pregnant women as the foetus may develop abnormalities.

Read also that some pple tested on rats and they'd problems in limbs and hearts. But of course we may not have such problems but better eat with caution.

may, yours heard heardbeat ald? not sure if the measurements on the ultrascan sheet is to scale? My last scan done on mon was at 1.8cm, last tues was at 0.8cm..what's your baby's size?

Yippee..
More tax rebates for QCR/HCR and WMCR
Parenthood Tax Rebate
6 days each for per parent for childcare (means 12 days)
More baby bonus (first baby 4k Cash + 6k CDA)
Infant care subsidy from $400 to $600
Childcare subsidy from $150 to $300
3rd and 4th month maternity can be taken within 12 months after the child is born

iwry, my gynae said not to consume any kind of herbs for the 1st 3 months leh. She says to play safe because there is no scientific findings on anything about how herbs can affect the development of foetus. It may help but it could harm too.

So she says to avoid herbs of any kinds for the 1st 3 months until baby has stabilized.

Did you ask Dr Adrian about it?

Hi chocz, haha i dunno too. me just kept asking doc whether am i preg cos i dun believe i'm preg mah :p

oh, i also asked what to eat and what not to eat? he said i can eat anything. but cut down on fried and unhealthy foods.

iwry, I'm at 8 weeks now and my scan shows baby at 1.65 cm.

Is your bb 1.8cm or 0.8cm? how come can decrease in size??

Thanks for the welcome!

My son is in half day childcare and my gal is taken care by maid and my dad. Next year when no. 3 arrives, I may consider sending my gal to half day childcare also. Then in the afternoon, the house will be very noisy with 3 kids.

pat, i did ask the chinese sinseh, he says during first 3 mths dun take any double boiled soup or any cooked with herbs...the one he gave is chinese "an tai" herbs to cook once only during the 1st 3 mths..so I suppose he knows what he is doing.

my bb is now at 1.83cm according to what i read from the ultrascan - that's how u read urs rite? but i thinking why so big leh..cos LMP30 jun leh..and summore 6 days ago is 0.8cm. but havent heard heartbeat..

hi chocz, Dr Adrian is very fast in his consultation and i must say that he really speaks super fast and it gets me nervous. haha but he is a nice guy ler.

oh dear i didnt know that we cant take herbs soup men...

iwry,
I dunno leh.. he tell me it is abt 0.16 or 1.6cm bah. I was too anxious to see the heartbeat and didn't notice what he say. He say I am abt 6wks preggie lor.

Just tell me to continue eating Duphaston cos I got cramps. Cannot touch alcohol, tea, coffee.

FOR FIRST TIME Mummies:
I think the common question is:
1) When is the EDD?
2) What kind of food should I eat and should I avoid?
3) What is the size of baby?
4) How many weeks I am preggie now?
5) What kind of symptoms will I be expecting for the coming weeks?

may,
did ur gynae give u a copy of the ultrascan? the size of ur bb shld be stated.
0.16 is diff from 1.6cm leh...ten times different. btw, when is ur next visit?

the enhanced bb incentive only takes effect for births on or after 1 Jan. really pity those MTBs in the dec09 thread, just missed the boat by abit. they are planning to write in the appeal.

Iwry, my LMP was 23 June 2008. About 6 days ago when I saw my gynae, my bb measure 1cm. Today, at 8 weeks, it also suddenly meansured 1.65cm. I thought it grew pretty fast. Think this is the growing stage.

I am petite. So baby probably will be small too.

elina,
I will go back and see the scan again.
My next visit is 30 Aug, will be 8 wks by then.

I dun think writing in will help.. cos if government give in and say ok.. Dec 08 can claim. Then the Nov 08 will write in and say why Dec can claim, they cannot. It will go on and on..the government will stand still to their point and won't change one.

pat,
looking at ur LMP which is 2 days earlier than mine. Since urs is 1cm, perhaps mine is 0.6cm.

If the govt does change, it will have to include all the bbies that are born from mid August at least. But I really do find that the mothers delivering anytime from now to December are being penalized.

Why should the government announce these perks at this time when those who are delivering around this period can hear but not enjoy the benefits?? Weird.

May, hmm.. 0.6cm sounds fine but maybe yours is really 1.6cm? What was it that you saw on the ultrascan? Do you have a copy of it?

I only saw the heartbeat but never heard it too. I asked Dr Chen if this meant that my bb is already safe. But Dr Chen was very honest. She says that there's a 15% risk of miscarriage when heartbeat has not been detected. Once hearbeat is detected, this risk drops to about 5%.

So is this 5% a great risk????? I think it's still quite a risk, so I'm not totally feeling easy yet.

Even so, after the first trimester, we'll need to worry about whether the baby will pass the OSCAR test.. Scared Scared!!

well its difficult to please everybody... i ll be upset too if i fall under that cat.

they are ppl deliver bb everyday so when do u think ll be the right time... there are bound to be some unlucky ones.

anyone did a c sect by dr lawrence any before? need to know hows his stitching skill.

I have a set of 2 months old breast pump to let go. I bought the whole bundle from mumsfairy at $490 excluding the valves.
The set consists of
1. 1 set amenda lactaline personal breastpump ($388)
2. 1 pair of supershields
3. 1 set of orginal handfree strip
(item 2 and 3 total $70)
4. A pair of additional valve for the pump ($16)
5. 1 breastfeeding pillow ($69)
6. first few year milk storage bag
Item 5 and 6 are FOC.
I am selling this whole bundle at a price of $390
Interested party, please pm me.....Thanks!

elina,

how u find dr yvonne chan?
next fri i'm gg for 2nd visit
how many times u have visited her?
last scan my baby only 8mm, not sure this time how much it has grown

Lovesphagetti,

For #1, I was diagonsed with gestational diabetes &amp; have to do blood test 6 times daily. I prick all 10 of my fingers until I wanta cry...

I ate oats/plain mee hoon for breakfast
multiple tea-breaks &amp; lunch but all no rice or noodles. so ate vege, meat, etc...
Dinner also same things. No fruits cos high sugar...

Breakfast usually prepare in school, just b4 morning assembly. Just have a tin of ready-cooked/instant oats at table &amp; hot water.

My colleagues packed for me daily in case I no time to go buy makan. They would pack vegetarian rice without the rice.

No fast-food, ice-cream, roti-prata, durian or even apples...I was very deprived....

The only good thing that turned out is I only gained 7kg thruout pregnancy which I lost almost all in the 1st week...

hi elaine, doc say i'm about 4 wks preg. my cycle normaly 33-25 days, so not around the same period with those 28 days cycle.

my doc is ch koh @ toa payoh. he quite funny....saying the sac is lord of the 'rings'.....very excited to see him in 3 wks time....hopefully by then can hv more good news as now i still can't share the news with my PIL.

<table border=1><tr><td>Mommy</TD><TD>Baby #</TD><TD>Baby #1</TD><TD>Baby #2</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>OB</TD><TD>Hospital </TD></TR><TR><TD>little_devil19</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>June-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 1, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang P S</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>maywong</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 1, 2009</TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>missycandy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>zazan</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>December-05</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>stephie81</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH </TD></TR><TR><TD>patlpt</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 2, 2009</TD><TD>Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD>Mt A </TD></TR><TR><TD>elina</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvagape</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD>L C Cheng</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>piggy_77</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 3, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>connz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 4, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cocobunz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 4, 2009</TD><TD>Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocbabe</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>February-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 8, 2009</TD><TD>C H Koh</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>mickeymummy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 9, 2009</TD><TD>Adeline Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>koi</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 10, 2009</TD><TD>Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>jolene78</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 12, 2009</TD><TD>W K Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>tft</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>April-07</TD><TD></TD><TD>April 17, 2009</TD><TD>Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>asp_23</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 17, 2009</TD><TD>C H Koh</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4evaluv</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jj79</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chocz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>April 18, 2009</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chen</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby_mummy</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lovesphagetti</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC </TD></TR><TR><TD>queen</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>December-05</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolzy</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>August-07</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>trampezz</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tigger88</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>3 years old</TD><TD>1 year old</TD><TD></TD><TD>Lawrence Ang</TD><TD></td></tr></table>

about listening to bb's heartbeat...

http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,9851,00.html

The fetal heart
The embryonic heart starts beating 22 days after conception, or about five weeks after the last menstrual period, which by convention we call the fifth week of pregnancy. The heart at this stage is too small to hear, even with amplification, but it can sometimes be seen as a flickering in the chest if an ultrasound is done as early as four weeks after conception.

The Doppler instrument
After the 9th or 10th week after your last menstrual period, you might be able to hear your baby's heartbeat at your prenatal appointment. Your obstetrical practitioner probably uses a Doppler instrument for this purpose, which bounces harmless sound waves off the fetal heart. The way the sound comes back is affected by motion, so a beating heart creates a change in the sound that can be picked up by the receiver in the Doppler. Whether you actually hear the heartbeat at 9 or 10 weeks depends partly on luck-the instrument must be placed at just the right angle. It also depends on the position of your uterus, and if you're slim or heavy. By the 12th week, the heartbeat can usually be heard consistently, using the Doppler instrument for amplification.

Listening for the heartbeat without amplification
Starting at about 20 weeks, the heartbeat can be heard without Doppler amplification. A special stethoscope called a fetoscope can be used, or the bell (concave) side of a regular stethoscope can be pressed firmly onto your abdomen. The heartbeat is best heard over the baby's back, which often seems firm when you feel around on the uterus. If you are overweight or if the placenta is on the front wall of the uterus, it may be difficult to hear the fetal heart by stethoscope. It gets easier later in the pregnancy.

cocobunz,
i only hv 1 visit with dr yvonne chan so far. next visit will be next wed. i find that altho she's not the talkative type, she is straight forward and honest in her answers to our queries. heard that her stitching skills are good.

ur bb is bigger than mine which was 5.1mm at 6.5wks. hope it is growing well now. can't wait for the next scan...

lilmoo, that's why the dr told me 22 days after conceoption can see already. Today im 5 weeks really hope to see something later. Very nervous.

dodos,
u going for ur 1st scan today? who's ur gynae? dun worry, be positive. sometimes 5 wks maybe still early to detect heartbeat, esp if ur cycle is not regular.