(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

<font color="0077aa">Jean:</font> U saw my email re ur bank acc details? Cld u fwd 2 me agn coz e bank said info incorrect when I tried to do online tt. Pls let me hv ur hp no. too. Tx!

Cath/ Kidz,
My boy oso had low grade fever started since yesterday morning. Do you think i shld suspect HFMD since he's been to the 25 Sep gathering as well? Oh i'm starting to get so paranoid now..

Somemore he went for chicpox vacc last wk and yesterday was the 5th day post vacc and we're supposed to look out for potential chicpox symptoms too..

Btw Kidz, juz saw ur email on the tsf. It went to my junk mailbox. =p Sorry i wrote my acct no wrongly, my bad!! Will reply ur email from there..

<font color="0077aa">Jean:</font> Unlikely Ethan caught fr party coz too long ago liao -- unless u or ur hb did then &amp; dint show symptoms? Aiyoh, gd thing e wrong acc no. = non-existent acc. or dunno how 2 get $ back

Actuali I've been wondering now if Bastion did caught fr 25 Sep party coz on 30 Sep he was also @ B1's CC Children's Day Party &amp; they now hv quite a few cases reported since e Mon/Tue aft. Bt both of mine onli spotting one-two rashes &amp; no uclers. Both had low-grade fever of 37-37.5 &amp; we made them drink a lot of H20 whenever noticed temp a bit higher than usual. Bastion saw GP on Mon bt now I'm reali wondering if he has HFMD, mayb GP was playing it safe 2 call it HFMD.

I reali dunno now bt am running out of ideas 2 kp them occupied. Besides TV (lots), VCDs, read, they did painting, played w new toys (good thing I kept many new ones aside for such hurricane season!). &amp; gd thing I also stocked up on craft kits for B1 to occupy her. &amp; had stocked up on ice-cream beforehand too!
And actuali on Day 1 I took out all e new shoes I had stocked for them &amp; let B1 play "Shoe Shop" w Bastion &amp; I pretending 2 b customers. Dat was reali fun bt fr Day 2 onwards tiring!!!!

Kidz,
Ha! Ya good thing it didn't go to another person's acct =p

Looking at the time gap i think most prob Bastion got it AFTER the 25 Sep gathering?

Oh can play masak-masak or tea party? Haha. They should like the knocking noise from hitting all the cutleries rite? I let Ethan have his own plate n cutleries when i feed him these days, to keep him occupied till i finish feeding him!

Agreed with kidz that it's not possible for the HFMD to take effect after 5 days...max is 2 days and u would start to see symptoms.

hmmm...my elder son is as per normal except with the mouth ulcers but one thing that I noticed is that he is very lethagaric after minor exercises (e.g. walking around) and allows lie down. Refuses food and water...

Hi mummies, seems like hfmd is hitting quite a handful. Chloe and I got it a week after each other.. So it was two weeks of quarantine for me! Take good care and rest well to all!

Back to eating habits: my girl too is rejecting porridge. When i trie switch to noodles or hor fun, it doesn't help much too. But she loves the baby bites. Not sure if it's due to teething...?

Doe mummies here start practicing giving your kids outside food foe their main meals? Like anything you eat?

Hi Claudia, 2 wks of qurantine for me also.

Rdg outside food, yes i gave it to Ariel. I feel it's easier that way. She don't make noise and we eat more peacefully. One problem is she eat so fast i have no time to eat my. We have to finish together if not she will ask for more.

I don't know how others train their child to be so well behave at meal time. They can really sit there and not make noise. Any secret to share?? What did you all do/give?? Don't know why all my kids just cannot be like that.

<font color="119911">Dodos:</font> My two also won't sit still @ mealtimes!!! Bastion's willing 2 sit in highchair bt do e usual: reach 4 stuffs, try 2 stand up, climb out. My gal won't sit on her chair 4 long. She likes to explore
First muz choose plcs whc r informal, then nxt c if they r kidz-friendly e.g. provides activity sht. Last wk we went Fish &amp; Co. b4 HFMD hit &amp; found the plc now offers lotsa things 4 kidz. They gave both B1 &amp; B2 shark hats, whale coin boxes, balloons, colour pencils &amp; activity sheets + kp coming ovr 2 chat w them. So every1 had a gd x

rose: chelsey is good but very very active n naughty.hard to discipline this girl.. Justin skinny like monkey meh? nvm la..like tt more charming mah=P..

Cat &amp; kidz: so HMFD might nt show symptoms? N hw do u knw if ur kids haf HFMD? if theres no spots n all.. 2months back, e elder one haf got HMFD (but my MIL DENY) she haf got full mouth &amp; Lips of ulcers &amp; fever. My MIL insist tt her hand n Feet no blisters means not hmfd. So she let her in my room, on my bed, play w chelsey, n toys. and etc. Den few days later chelsey haf got fever n me too was down.(i haf 2 ulcers) but we did not see doc. N we rested for a week, eat vitamins through out n lotsa water den recover. So i m wondering if its HFMD?

<font color="ff6000">Juice-box Holders</font> Here'r pix of e 2 types we hv. White w yellow lid is $2 DAISO - onli gd 4 mini drinks if u wanna snap e yellow lid on. Blue 1 can hold regular-sized drink packs. Was given by an Aussie fren bt I tink itz a US brand juice-box
In diz pix u c e mini-Vitasoy pks whc I buy fr Sheng Siong - label says itz made fr non-GM soybeans. Anyway I wedge e pks in side-ways so they dun slide abt. However Bastion stl managed 2 take e straw out of his yellow juice-box &amp; sprayed soybean ovr e floor
Both my kidz find using their juice-boxes a novelty

4591697.jpg
4591698.jpg

<font color="ff6000">Another pix of DAISO Juice-Box Holder:</font> as modeled by Bastion
Btw e transparent lid to protect e straw can b easily unclipped. Bt if kidz dun finish their pkt drink, gotta kp e juice-box upright or sure spill lor...

4591777.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Jas42:</font> We eat out or buy back often &amp; my kidz eat what we order/buy. Few times a wk I cook a dish or 2 4 them -- simple thing like salmon w teriyaki sauce (they both love salmon). I rmbr when Bastion 1st graduated 2 eating whole rice grain, an early fave of his was chicken rice kosong! Now he also likes prata kosong

<font color="119911">claudia,
kerryn is eating the same thing as us nw. she onli take porridge for lunch.

catherine,
i guess ur 2 Ms are almost immune to hfmd le, which is not a bad case rite.</font>

ow_mummy: the gp confirmed that even mouth ulcers with no hands or foots rashes is a variant of HFMD, just not full-blown. Yes! Both u and Chelsey have HFMD. No need see doc one cos no medication. Just make sure she's not breathless or refuse to eat or drink at all. Must be properly hydrated.

kidskids: OMG!!! Bastion really slimmed down...almost couldn't recognise the picture! But on the good side, he looks like a model for the holder ;-)

Training child to be disciplined @ dinning tables
It can be done but required lotsa patience and cooperations from everyone...for me 1st one, I never feed him out of our bowl. I make sure we bring extra bowl and allocate a portion for him. Ensured that grandparents cooperate (not easy hor...) there were a couple of times that we went out with him and he scream and shout and everyone in the food court stared at us...but we persisted. can be trained...but my father hor...always breaks the cycle by carrying him off in the midst of the meal or feed him iced milo, etc...so must re-train again...for #2, we quite lazy and leave it to nature so....*shake head*

Claudia: I staretd feeding Val with outside food quite early too.. I think shortly after she passed the 1 yr old mark. She doesnt quite like baby food and she usually takes only a few mouthful when i purposely cooked for her..

So now, she takes whatever we takes. Makes things easier. But of cos certain stuff that are too oily or spicy, we were not give her too..

She is into self feeding lately. When you try to feed her, she doesnt want to eat. On the flipside, she would take her spoon and try to feed herself instead. Good in a way.. But a bit slower and messier. Hopefully, the childcare centre will continue to help encourage her self feeding skills rather than demolish it. She will be entering childcare in 2 weeks time.

Discipline at dining table
Nowadays, whilst waiting for the food to be prepared, I would switch on an educational DVD for Val to watch as I prepare her food or when outside, bring some crayons and drawing paper for her to doodle on. This keeps her occupied in a way and less of a disturbance.. Well.. doesnt work every time either...

Kidz: Agreed with Kris. I could barely recognise him until u mentioned.

Kidzskidz,any juice box that can fit normal size packet drinks AND come with a lid? Sorry lah,my Justin really too naughty Liao,if no lid would be worse, he will be trying to take it out of the box!

Hey,experienced mummies help! Justin is going to half day childcare in Jan. Need advice. what is the best way to do it on the 1st few days?like should I just drop him, say goodbye and run away or I should stay with him in school for a few days?

What should I pack in his schoolbag for half day childcare?

Re:eek:utside food. I don't mind giving him anything he wants to eat but he's really fussy with food so he's only willing to eat these:
Chawanmushi and rice
Scrambled eggs and toast
Fish porridge without fish
Ban main
Macaroni with soup with no meat
Lotus roots soup with rice
Fries
Fish burger
Chicken rice in soup

Rose: maybe they prefer more soupy food at this stage. Try give him hor fun, bee hoon &amp; other types of noodles. or boil soup for him lo n serve w rice. if he dun like to chew on meat, at least boiled soup (w ribs) he can get the nutrients. How bout Dried scallop, use it to boil any kind of soup. Dried scallop is good.

<font color="119911">Eviangal &amp; Cath:</font> Yah, he lost so much wt rite? Every x go PD, e scales STUCK @ 10.4kg... He chews then spits out food like spitting out tobacco like dat. Haiz... Hoping he gains a few grams diz past wk since e HFMD episode has strangely up his appetite.

<font color="0000ff">Rose:</font> Tx 4 e compliment! Lately ppl been mistaking him 4 a girl coz his hair long. Bt I dun wanna cut coz itz now wavy overall adds 2 e kawii-ness
Juice-box w cover -- I hvnt seen. Tho I noe a US brand dat has it.

Jac: ya I will try the dried scallop soup soon, running out of ideas on what to cook for him. He is damn picky one leh.only eats Japanese style chawanmushi. If give him Chinese style steam egg, he won't eat!

Rose: Chelsey also same, chinese steam egg don like, only chawanmushi, guess its becuz of e taste n texture=) Dried scallop can be added into all kinds of soup for better flavour, chelsey love anything with it. I cooking sharksfin melon with pork rib n dried scallop soup for her tomorrow=)

Rose: End up i drank the whole pot of soup..haha.. chelsey teething agn so not eating agn! haix.. First Use Hot Water to removed the fats &amp; impurities of the Ribs, den add in the Dried scallop n ribs into water den bring to boil for 30mins, then add in sharksfin melon n boil agn for another 45 mins (when u see the sharksfin melon soften) den add in Some red dates and bring to boil for another 45mins.

But if u like, u can also jus dump evrything in n boil for 2-3hrs.

<font color="ff0000">Spree for customised NAME LABELS for H2Obottles:</font> Any1 interested to share shipping costs 4 BumpyName Orbit Labels? It'z an expandable band whc is customised w kid's name. Then we stretch it &amp; snap around their bottles, cups, etc. whc they bring to CC... Labels r BPA-free, etc. &amp; dishwasher safe. Different price 4 different variants but e H2Obottle type is 4-pc pack @ US$12.95. I gotta chk if there's sales tax for diz website (main distributor). E advantage I c abt using such labels is e name won't fade + can remove &amp; reuse on a new water bottle, sippy cup, etc.
http://www.inchbug.com/1a1.html

I'll proceed to order if there are min. 4 mummies 2 share shipping costs. US ground shipping is fr $4.99 up (tagged to $ amt of merchandise ordered) - to be split by no. of mummies ordering from diz website. Int'l shipping wl b via vPost. Or possibly direct int'l shipping fr the distributor.

Hear fr interested mums by Sunday?

<font color="119911">rose, owmum,
kerryn oso veri difficult with food. she dun reli like egg. she dun like flour stuffs liked macaroni. porridge oso she dun like. reli dunno wat to give her. she onli drink soup n dun eat rice.</font>

Jac thanks for the recipe, sounds easy and yet full of goodness! Ya the parents always end up being the rubbish bin!

Kris, Kerryn sounds like she doesn't like carbo at all,hor.She'll grow up to be slim like you
Justin is completely opposite of kerryn, loves egg and everything crab but no to vege,meat and fish :-o

<font color="ff0000">Mummies,
Time to plan the XMAS PARTAE FOR OUR LIL TOTS!!
lemmknow your interests to attend and any new ideas you might hv.
a few things to decide

DATE: Sat in Dec ( 4th, 11th or 18th)
VENUE: ??? Please suggest
FOOD: to be decided - need headcount, to cater or potluck or snacks
ACTIVITIES: please suggest</font>

1)Pravina + tot(boy)+hubby, Sat preferred
5)

a few things to decide

ACTIVITIES: please suggest

2) Eviangal + tot (gal) + hubby, (all dates look ok - hopefully I can make it this time round)
5)

<font color="ff0000">Mummies,
a few things to decide

ACTIVITIES: please suggest</font>

2) Eviangal + tot (gal) + hubby, (all dates look ok - hopefully I can make it this time round)
3) Kidzskidz + tot --> 4th Dec's out, wedding anniversary lah

5)

<font color="0077aa">Rose:</font> Sure, you let me noe regarding e BumpyName Orbit Labels. Wl nd min. 4 orders 2 lessen shipping load

hi kidz, thx 4 posting e pics....v nice

apr mummies, hv u all places yr child in playgroup or childcare already...

I initially thot of placing Jarell in a 2 hrs playgroup cos main purpose is to let him interact with other children...Little Learners is e 1 near my hm....went to visit this morning...looks simple but ok.

But later went to visit Little Skool House &amp; MMI which are childcare centres. Little Skool is newly setup so look v nice &amp; cosy.....MMI says their teachings different from other childcare so will give our child a better foundation.....any1 has tried e above childcare or playgroup? Of course, MMI is charging almost double of Little Skool....so feeling a little confused now as to put my child in a childcare or in a playgroup....cos am now thinking that maybe he can pick up more skills at childcare.

Hi Kidz, I am interested in the elastic name tag!

I want the ones that fit around water bottles. You mentioned that it is sold in a pack of 4. Does that mean we can choose 4 colours? The colours I want are:
1. Sky Blue
2. Wild Violet
3. Kiwi Green
4. Pinkly Purple

If you cannot make up the numbers it's OK.

kidzkidz, I have been to the Playhouse @ Rochester. It has a nice big aircon area for kids to play in but they charge like SGD10 an hr.
The dining area is al fresco.. and when I went there with some friends - it was just too hot to enjoy lunch there, cos the fans are not strong enough and the heat is a killer!

But if you want to buy some books, I am keen to share with you.. cos the costs like way cheaper than buying books from SG. Not so keen to join a shopping spree for this.

http://www.thebookpeople.co.uk/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/qs_product_tbp?storeId=10001&amp;catalogId=10051&amp;langId=100&amp;productId=199233

a few things to decide

4) Kris + tot(gal)
5)

<font color="119911">rose,
for childcare, actuali depends on justin. if hes ok wif following the teacher once u drop him off n he dun cry, i tink leaving him thr is gd. but if hes like kelly, die die need to stick to me, den u dun have a choice but to follow him for a few days to let him get used to it.

For the packing of his bag, u may have to chk wif the teachers coz it depends on wat they provide n dun.</font>

<font color="0000ff">BumpyName Customised Labels:</font> Pei, noted abt ur order. Mums, do note dat by 18M itz gd 2 graduate tots 2 drinkg FM fr straw-bottle thus e 4-pk name labels is handier in size then those sized 4 milk bottles.

<font color="119911">Tulipjo:</font> Little Learners is stand-alone playsch? So it has purpose built facilities rite? Nt like those using RC ctrs whc i visited - fixtures all temp. I've learnt putting kid in fullday CC gives us flexibility in our own timing. Bt prepare 4 kid falling sick until immunity is built up. Montessori's gd as it follow's child's pace. Btw there r also PM or Sat Montessori 3-hr prog 2 supplemt regular CC syllabus if u like :)

<font color="aa00aa">2-hr Playgroup:</font> Got Bastion a plc in a 2hr prog @ Zesty Spot 2x wkly in AM. Wl require travelling n juggling B1's schedule. He'l start in Nov til yr-end then i'l evaluate nxt yr's arrangement. Now as SAHM I realised so many different options available dat trying 2 decide on watz best b/c so stressful... If i'm stl wkg i juz nd 2 put them in CC...

<font color="0077aa">Joie:</font> Tx 4 info abt Rochester House. I dint realise e dining is al fresco. Bt I had earlier heard itz $8/hr 4 e Playhouse, excl food. Juz saw it's free standard delivery for orders ovr 25 pounds. Looks gd. I noe there r various sprees in SMH fr diz site. Bt hvnt participated in any. Btw, e Elm Tree bookstores @ Paragon &amp; in Tampines (nt sure whc SC) is my current fave 4 buying cheap kid's bks

<font color="ff6000">Potty Training:</font> I juz realised dat 4 past 2wks or so Bastion has been able 2 tell me when he wans 2 poo2. He's been coming 2 me &amp; saying 'poo2' + clutching his diapered bum2. Bt when I chk there's nothing. Later when he's 'delivered his package', he'll come &amp; do e same thing agn. Onli now I got it &amp; wonder if I shd start putting him on e kid's seat (his sister uses it on adult potty) when he comes 2 me agn. Bt gotta stay w him &amp; watch him in case he falls off.. haha. Actuali 2 much hassle. He's veri vocal now &amp; enunciation's getting better. Also getting more opinionated. Esp when it comes 2 wat channel 2 watch on TV -- he vehemently says "No, no!" when we switch away fr Playhouse Disney. When I reprimand B1, he'll also go up 2 her &amp; wag his finger w a "No, no!" -- whc frustratese her alot!

<font color="aa00aa">Bear Bear Alfafa Surprise -- peek-a-boo...</font>
4618089.jpg

<font color="aa00aa">Lift up Bear Bear &amp; surprise! Alfafa sprouts hiding underneath!</font>
4618090.jpg

Created diz unique cheese toast breakfast 4 e kidz y'day. Used a cookie cutter 4 e Bear shape.

a few things to decide

4) Kris + tot(gal)
5) Catherine + tot (boy) so far all 3 sat are ok
6)