(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

fairy,
my bb likes to stretch out her legs as well, but when i lift her high up against my chest, n then use one hand to cup her legs, she would eventually yield to the pressure. that's when i quickly scoop her into the pouch/sling w legs more or less crossed. try it again w your bb lah.

i also bought a bb bjorn air carrier which is good for sg weather. more for hubby to use n also when grace becomes too heavy. having said that i heard that when they become toddlers, it's easier to swith back yo sling/pouch cos we can use hip carry.

oh yah, fairy, can try hip carry w your no 1 now?

p/s my cheapo donut is bought at $9 at one of the BPs. Still running if I am not wrong. Never tried the gerber breast therapy so can't compare the effectiveness

Alfafa,
thanks for the pic! how heavy is ur baby? my boy looks really buried when i place him inside. By the way, i thought the band was supposed to facing out rather than against your body? By band i mean the part of the sling with the "padding"

OMG, to try out with #1, I think I will lose my balance. He's >10kg now, think around 15kg. imagine carry a sack of rice on my hip! That's more than a quarter of my weight! He now likes to walk or shall I say run around on his own, rather than get "leashed" by us.

alfafa, are u able to nurse discreetly using the home-made sling or the pupsik pouch? Heard the MIM sling is able to do so, so I'm going to try out again this weekend. Maid said that she knows how to use the sling. Apparently the sling is a Malay thingy. I'm thinking can use the tail of the sling to cover while nursing?

ann,

2.5 weeks ago she was 4kg. so now probably 4.5kg? not sure. :p Yah for some reason their newborn cradle hold demo shows the band facing outside; for all their other positions (front carry) is the band facing inside. Because I alternate between cradle and front carry I simply bo-chap and stick to band facing inside. I don;t see the diff leh.

alfafa,
hmm, my boy was 4.2kg 2 weeks ago actually... maybe its bcause u got the S size (i assumed since u look small built)? I'm abt 1.65m and currently 58kg (with 8 kg to lose!) so i ordered a M. oh well, shall try it again this weekend

p.s. my front carry doesn;t have the legs sticking out like in pupsik video. It's more like a kangeroo carry but facing me instead of out.

Fairy,
that's the best liao, if they can run around on their own. hahaha I hope mine will be independent by then also. Yah the tail is handy actually - e.g. I use the tail to cover her facewhen walking under the sun, to wrap her up more when in a cold mall, and to cover vital parts while nursing.

Thing is I don't have nursing wear, only nursing bra. so I have to lift up my whole shirt or pull down my collar to nurse. So no matter what, when I nurse (seated down somewhere) I have to use my nursing cover. I don;t know how to nurse without my nursing cover. At the end of the day I like Pupsik more. Cos it somehow moulds itself to fit my bb's shape. She seems more comfortable in it. My mom's sling, or any sling that doesn;t come with sizing for thatmatter, means I have to be good at adjusting the cloth ... which I am not. So sometimes end up too tight or too loose for both me and bb. I'm still not so consistent in using it.

Some one was aksing how do we bring bb out?

If just going directly to a restaurant to makan, hubby will put bb in the infant carrier and carry the whole thing into the restaurant, then put her down on a seat next to us. I will always have my sling/pouch on standby. Esp pouch, cos it uses lesser fabric and wraps up neatly into a tiny bundle.

If going jalan jalan, then it's definitely a sling/pouch/bbbjorn cos the carrier is v heavy to hold for long.

Ann,
yah it's becos mine is size 1. Think xs. I'm v short, 152cm only. shorter than my mom. heheeee

Am abit worried for when she grows older. Will get more difficult scooping her in and out by then since the size is according to mommy's size not bb;s. But then on their webby they say it "grows" with our bb so we shall see.

try this weekend lah. In fact practise at home when bb is in a good mood. Mine likes the front carry (but with legs tucked in as well cos too young for the real front carry).

where do all of you stay? maybe we should come out for coffee one day and share share our tips for using the pouch n slings. heeeeeee

re: jabs

It's confirmed I'm going to a GP. BTW, Misscandy thanks again for the info. Heng I called up the nearby GPs to check price and found one within 15mins walking distance. Orice is $300 for the full 6-in-1 and $180 for the full rotavirus, Yipeeeeee! I can bring her down on my own with waiting for hubby.

Idaarshad,
ok I will rem to check next time. BTW do call up your neaby GPs to check too.

Pups,
my girl using S size now also. Still have two pkts of Huggies NB. Don't know what to do with it. Maybe barter it away like what some mommies do on the free items thread.

cindy,
why need to unhook bra leh? Are you using a nursing bra? Can buy from the bps here. very cheap. As long as you are wearing nursing bras and have a nursing cover, you can nurse discreetly anywhere

Winter,
don't be envious. We are actually losing weight equally fast. 12kgs to date. Just that I gain abit lesser than you to begin with. At this rate you will be back in no time!

Babe,
but I think my bb got lazy after experiencing bottle feeding. Cos after I latch her for quite some time my breasts still feel very full. Can I say, do you pump after every latch? I am trying to cut down on pumping, hopefully to just once a day. heee

alfafa, thanks for the link.
Will try to figure out how to use cos it seems very ideal to bring baby out in the sling as compare to putting them in stroller now cos they still newborn. I find that when I go out and when I transfer baby to the stroller, she will wake up and I end up have to carry her.

miss83,
hmmmm could it be that it is warm where the cot is?

irene,
wow seems like you encountered a really nice polyclinic PD. BTW, you mentioned you are seeing him again at the next visit? Do you mean you can request for specific PDs at polyclinic?

prosper,
we motivate each other ok> the last 2-3 kgs are the hardest to shake off. Somemore I eat alot of biscuits and drink lots milo/horlicks during the day. so much carbo. been stuck with these 2 kilos for very long already

sportger,
you are welcome. Think all bbs like to stick closely to mommy's chest and listen to mommy's heartbeat, so a carrier works better than stroller, esp when they are still so small and unstable.

wow so far.

hmmm ... maybe vivo? I stay at Queenstown. you can take northeast line? I need to change train too troublesome so I will probably take cab. Quite near by car.

Actually was thinking of Tanglin Mall cos it is virtually empty except for moms with children. Nice big clean place. no need to worry about disturbing other people.

I know hat the first few years are still selling $169 and that is a special promo price.

fairy,
yah lor. So now I need to slowly train her to suckling again. Don't know if I should pump out the excess to maintain my supply. so lazy! the whole idea is to minimise the need to pump and sterilise. :p

alfafa, we are not allow to request doc, but he told us that he will see us on sat and follow up with us. I hope we can request and i'll definately choose him.
We din know he is the head of dept, n i even complain about the previous doc we saw on wed to him. It was till we went for the jab,the nurse told us that he is the head. :p

alfalfa, Haha, wear nursing bra also must unhook the cup ma. Plus I must see my boobs clearly then can latch bb. Haha. So if with nursing cover n my own clothes, very ley chey, lots of cloth for me to handle n cope gracefully haha!

alfafa
i am using the pupsik as well.. sometime i find bb too crampy inside le.. it seem crampy to me la but then he sleeps soundly inside le.. guess is comfortable for him ba...

re: pillows - btw, i called parentcraft that day and they said no need for pillows till the baby is 1.

re: pre-prepared formula - is there anyone who pre-prepare the formula feed and warm up just like what some of you do for ebm? cos i feed my boy fm at nite and i am just trying to find ways to cut down the time that he spends screaming while the bottle is being made up ...

alfafa, yes let's try to jiayou.

I am having fever again. one side of breast engorged. keep pumping but only duct blockage.

yesterday went colouring my hair and after that went to toilet to pump out. my gf was with me inside the cubicle. hehe. ppl was wondering wat sound coming from that cubicle. haha i just dun care.

Ann, what you can do is to prepare the required amount of formula milk powder into those milk container. this way, you don't need to scoop from the tin. Just pour the pre-prepared amount of milk powder into bottle with warm water.
Actually warming up the milk takes much longer time then preparing formula feed, my personal feel.

Can check with you how much ang pao u gave ur CL for go home ang pao?

Am trying tonight to take care of the "big" baby and the "small" baby myself tonight before the CL leaves ... Hope I can handle.

moomooland, ya lor cos hb ard so i better go out. i dun want to meet weekend crowd. in the hair salon, i was shivering, cover a lot of blanket. hehe.
tot u ask the mdm rokiah to help u with ur blockage earlier?

prosper - i did, she was wonderful! but after clearing it, a few days later, one side of the breasts got blocked again, really dun know what to do, bot the breast therapy pack, hopefully it will solve all problems

sometimes feel like giving up...

how do you unblock the ducts huh?

sometimes me also feel like giving up esp must wake up at nite to pump.
i still having hard lump after pumping and it became red at lower breast. i alr called mdm rohkiah to come tml to help me. hope i will be better after tml session.

Btw do u know how much she charge? forgot to ask her over the phone

propser, she charged $58.

I'm quite tired of getting up to pump at night also. So I nowadays drag till 3-4am then wake up to pump. Can yeild around 200ml after last pump at 10+pm. Wonder if I stop pumping this timing, will it affect the whole day supply or not. Anyway, will be too engored to give up pumping at night now.. think gotta slowly drag the timing interval longer

Hi I have 2 brand new bottles of ridwind to let go at lower price as I just bought them but my baby is over his colic. Any mummies still using and interested? Pls PM me. Thanks!interested? Pls PM me. Thanks!

Alfafa, thanks for the pic. I get a better idea now. Tried it with a smaller sling and seems to work but like you mentioned, difficult to take bb out.

Pumping at night
Initially I would auto-wake up to pump but this week I can sleep from 11pm to 5am before getting engorgement. Guess my supply is dropping...but interestingly I find my milk supply increase after taking a cup of soft drink...hee

Prosper, do take care of yourself since you have fever.

Ann, what I did for #1 was to prepare the milk powder in the qty required first and also have warm water in the bedroom.

bluebell and irene, thanks! ya, i think the scooping out milk powder bit is time consuming, esp when ur half asleep in the middle of the nite!

ann - i dont think we can prepare FM with water before hand. once its made, have to be consumed within 1hr if not must throw le. What i do is i will scoop into the containers then when time for feed just pour into the milk bottle with water and mix can le. previously i used to scoop directly from the tins and find it super lechey esp at night when super lack of sleep and tired... plus i keep 1 hot water flask & 1 boiled water flask in my room... the milk tins, milk container, milk bottles, teats, pump, pump parts, hot water flask & boiled water flask are all placed at the side table next to my bed. Easier access at night. =)

sportyger - here's a link for instructions on using the MIM sling http://www.babyslingsandcarriers.com/babysling_preparation

i actually have the MIM sling (which i havent tried to use with bb yet, find it slightly mafan), a balboa sling ( it has a pouch so much easier to use than the MIM. it also has the rings at the side, but the extra cloth is not like MIM... must more easier to handle ) and lastly ergo carrier which bought mainly for hubby to use in future =)

alfafa - ure welcome (abt the GP) hee. how come the rings rib ur back ? the rings are supposed to be at the front... jus below ur shoulder wor... hmmm

meeting up - im up for it but i stay sembawang la... hahaha...

im stil contemplating if shld bring bb out for dinner together with my church frns tmr at central... we dont drive (hubbs & i) so we have to take the tube... then have to switch... oo la la.. nt sure if bb will act up during the ride.. she's quite funny... sometimes with the teat in her mouth she wil jus suddenly cry ... then i shake the teat then she will suck again... -_-" and no the teat is not flattened or anything... its quite funny la... then i will talk to her.. then she will jus stare... haaa... i guess im really building up on my patience... initially was very frustrating.. but now i talk to her... laugh with (and at) her.. AHAHAHA... =P sometimes see her big eyes so cute ah... so sayang la... hee heee...

irene - i tried nepia... i find it really good.. a bit thick but absorbs well! havent tried goon so cnt comment.. hee.. i knw sassybaby tried goon.. =)

missycandy- do u mean u move the steriliser to ur room too? cos my bottles and teats are left inside the steriliser until they are used? or u fixed all the parts together (bottle + teat +cover) and bring to ur room; if so, will this contaminate the bottles and teats?

Moomooland, can you pm me your gp address, contact. Thanks. Miss83, my appt with dr lilian is on 7 may. Still cant decide to go gp or her. But her clinic can use cda account for jab.
pig pig, what about you? Going gp nearby at bedok or pd?
Re wt loss: really envy those of you left with 2kg or so. Me still got 10kg more to go, gosh! Pls pardon my weird typo spacing. Doing it from not very user friendly hp while resting my back on bed...

ivy - thanks for the info

idaarshad - there is a GP clinic @ rivervale plaza charging abt 300+ for the 6in 1 jabs. but i forget to ask if it includes consultation. maybe u can try asking. n i remeber they can use CDA to pay

re: mamy poko promo @ Giant
went Giant @ Tamp just now and all the promo diapers are snapped up! somemore they restrict only 4 units per transaction! the promo just started ytday n will last only 4 days.