(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

alfafa- means urs also under singhelath lah like mine in sk coz since late last year - some polys under National Heathcare group for eg cck has the 6 in 1 liao.. and y u never pay for ur hep b jabs thru medisave . hep b can be paid thru medisave to a cap of $25 and u pay a bit only in cash

alfafa, that's not my son's PD. His PD from SBCC not available so we took him to another clinic in TMC cuz really bobian and can't wait as son had been coughing his lungs out everyday and night. Didn't select PD and was assigned an old one whom I suppose is those with many yrs experience, and cost me a bomb when the bill came! Then 1 week later review also cost more than 150 and was asked to come back for another review to check how's his cough, throat infection. we thot it's not necessary since he already recovered so gave the 2nd review a miss, else at least another 150 poorer. The follow-up consultation fee was $80-120 wor. Damn ex.

alfafa
can share which hospitalisation plan you brought for your bb. i hv go throughout NTUC, GE & AIA but yet to finalise.

alfafa
5 in 1 at polyclinic $349.60 while hep B $10 and consultation $4? if that the case, i dont find it cheap leh......

i am paying $440 for 6 in 1 including consultation for my PD.

alfafa ...

strange cos i called up hougang polyclinic and for 5-in-1 its $290++ and 6-on-1 is $330++

ivy ...

then your PD one is q reasonable ... which PD do you go to? Cod my PD charges $550 for the jab excluding consultation wo ...

i have received the Gerber Breast Therapy packs, and i must say it does provide heat compression at a very short time. It not only cuts down pumping time, letdown is faster too. it also is hassle free, eg. no dripping of hot water everywhere if you are using a hot towel, or changing of hot water when the hot water turns cold...that's my personal experience.

fairymoss - im using freestyle.. i find it so so la... Asura also using freestyle... she has compared it with Ameda.. you can ask her for her view.. =)

jabs - im doing it at my own clinic. my boss will help to jab. she didnt mention the price. she said jus bring bb in. so im nt sure if i cn get it at cost price or mus pay small sum.. probably have to pay la... cnt be "free" right? LOL... but i did check at my GP, per jab is ard 100 incld consult... so 3 jabs is ard 300? im also opting for Rotavirus... the nurse at my PD's clinic also said go back to own clinic to jab is cheaper... kekeke... im nt sure abt their prices though... few hundred bucks ba...

brought bb to PD today to check out her cradle cap... given lotion & shampoo.. PD says shld clear... *cross fingers*

bb also going thru growth spurt... haii... still on 2hrly feeding.... was awake frm 11plus to 3 last night... keep whining and crying.. so i talked to her n play with her and sayang her lo. i guess its time to start reading as well... luckily she slept from 3plus til 6plus... yippeee!! then fed her put bk to bed.. then 8plus cry for milk again...

Anyway, Kirsten is now 4.45kg. 5weeks 3 days old. =)

seabreeze
my PD is Dr Lilian Lim at Kids Clinic (sengkang)

i remember the nurse told me include consulation will confirm next week.

momooland
last time my elder son go to GP for 6in1 package about $369 but that include jab for MMR

missycandy,

my bb like having growth spurt also.. i dont seem to have much time to do anything other than feeding her. And hor, she seem to have a lot of wind in her tummy but her tummy is not hard leh.. she like milk monster after she poo... and when she latches on these days, she wriggles a lot.. so painful when she pull my nipple along with her..

Ur bb gain quite a bit of weight! Mine should be ard 4 kg now.

Very tired.. i find the whole breastfeeding issue very tiring... each day i tell myself that i got to perserve.. i wonder how long more i got to endure the pain from latching. Now bb is showing some progress in latching, she open her mouth wide to try to latch but i still got to hold on to my breast to guide her though.. better than she chew lah..though she still chew a bit. I really wonder how long more before she can guide herself to my breast and not chew me when she latch... patience is wearing thin.. especially at nite.. when i need sleep badly and there is no one to help me bottle feed should i feel really tired.

fairymoss,

I suggest u go to the breastfeeding support organisation to try the pumps. Cos i went there and find Ameda more suitable for me. The person was telling me that different woman suits differnet pumps. They dont have the freestyle there but they got PIS advance for trial. They even have the mumsfairy supershield for trying. That's the best place to go if u have not buy ur pump yet.

asura
according to mdm rokiah, ameda is the best pump. better than medela. so maybe other mummies want to try that...hee but myself still stick to avent manual..

mummies with crying bb..
my friend just sent me a dvd called dunstan bb language.. it teaches us how to understand bb language by differentiate their crying. I find it very useful..we can differentiate when bb is hungry, sleepy, needs a burp or uncomfortable.
also got these books by tracy hogg - baby whisperer- find it very useful and interesting too..

miss83,

Yah i know... she told me too.. but i already bought my freestyle. I tried avent manual at the breastfeeding support org as well.. din like it. hee hee.

re:avent sterilizer
anyone using avent? may I ask you..do we need to sterilize every 6 hour even if I still have unused bottles inside the sterilizer?

asura
ya i'm sure PIS or medela is more comfortable hehe..that's why i dont want to try...If i try that, I might nag to hubby to buy me the new one..better stick to my avent since I'm not sure how long I will BF..til now MS not established yet..almost 1 month still producing 80-120ml..but mostly is 80ml..and today is worse..only got 60ml
my CL said coz I dont eat alot thats why MS went down..but I really scared wont lose weight..next wk is bb full month and still cant fit to my jeans!!!

how about u all? tummy, tighs flatten already by ur 4th wk? fit to ur old jeans?

miss83
i only sterilizer after finished all bottles and also i dont leave the bottles there. i transferred to another container

misscandy,
the GP that charges $100 per jab for 6-in-1, does he/she provide the optional 2 as well? Is consultation fee included or have to pay seperate eacjh time we visit? Can I have the address

asura - ya i cn feel her getting heavier when i carry her... getting a bit tired.. ahahahah... hmmm u dun wan to try to bottle feed at night? night bottle feed then day time latch wld be better choice... these few days she drink frm the bottle also wriggle then cry... duh... dn have to adjust adjust then she wil suck again... so fussy! LOL but i find that when i talk to her gently... she tends to be easier to manage.. unless of cos she is already screaming away... she wun bother to listen to me.. hahhahaha...

miss83 - i usually sterilize 2 times a day... but thats becos i use all the bottles already and need it again... hehehe... plus im purely bottle feeding now... and anyway after sterilizing, i take them out and place on bottle rack to dry then when i wan to use, i take directly frm the bottle rack... =)

Idaarshad,
how to pay under medishield huh? Actually I wanted to pay using my CDA but then I forgot need to transfer money into the account first. wasted.

Actually my PD Dr Terrence Tan at Kinder Clinic advised me to take the jabs at GP instead of polyclinic cos can take the optional 2 at the same time, don;t need to run around. Dr Terrence Tan is really nice
so understanding

Seabreeze,
I think that's cos Queenstown polyclinic is under Singhealth. Maybe yours is under National healthcare group. My goodness, yours is so much cheaper. Terrible leh, all are polyclinics what .. how come such a big discrepancy. Somemore the singhealth ones don't have 6-in-1

missycandy
is ur bottle rack an open space?

ivy
may I know where u bought the container?
I saw munchkin brand has a bottle rack but dont have a lid..so it'll be expose to an air...wonder if it's safe to put it there after sterilizing it..

Ivy,
yah now that the prices are out I also don't find it cheap. Am waiting for MissCandy to introduce to me her GP that charges $300 for the 6-in-1
I don't mind driving down just for the jabs. For consultations I will still stick to Dr Terrence Tan of Kinder Clinic

I bought AIA starshield, term insurance (100k coverage), bundle of joy and one more forgot liao. Meant to plug the hole in the medishield or something like that. Either Pink of health or the something essential I tink. Am I confusing you> hahaha

miss83
i just brought a normal container with cover. its ok to put there. i hv been doing it for 3 over years.

the sterilizer need to dry after every use and descale every two mths.

alfafa - yes Dr t Tan is super duper nice & gentleee!! he was my bb's PD at birth... but a bit far for travelling plus a bit more pricey then the PD im currently seeing nearer home... =)

miss83 - ya open space.. i knw it beats the purpose somehow but for me the sterilize is more for kill the germs when feeding... after that air dry is okie la.. nt that strict... hee hee.. =P

Okie my frn brought her bb to the Greenlife clinic at Sembawang mrt. she did the 6 in 1 and rotavirus.

6 in 1 - $285 (3 doses)
Rotavirus - $180 (2 oral doses)

price inclds gst & consultation. fyi - the clinic cnt use CDA to pay. =)

miss83,

I was wearing my most "dont look like maternity dress" maternity dress during my bb's full month.. hee hee..
I find that i only started losing weight after week 4. Tues, i tried my loosest work skirt cos sick of going out in maternity clothes.. can fit! Though very tight.. but that's a good sign..

If u breast feed, would lose weight faster leh.. so u should eat more and bf more.. latch on lose faster cos the uterus and pelvic bone contracts more.

missycandy,

My gal having nipple confusion now.. so i better latch her on fully until she is not so confused. Getting better but i need to be patience. If still cannot get better, i planning to go TMC to seek help next week.. i see how it goes first.
For me, latch is easier.. cos no one to help me bottle feed. Which means that i got to pump after bottle feed. At least now i only need to pump before i go sleep to make sure all empty.. latch during the nite, the pump again after the first latch in the morning.. my breasts cannot afford to get engorged. Once engorged, would have block ducts.. then tat one take me more time and energy to clear.. heh.. very troublesome. No choice, i ren lor.. tiring and frustrating and upsetting but i just "ren". I wish hubby show me more concern when he calls me.. rather than keep asking abt bb.. just now we having video conference, he see bb until cannot even hear wat i am saying.. i very upset..all alone with no one to hand over bb when i need a breather.

*hugs cath* ya i guess latching on is easier.. no need to wash bottles... for me at night wake up to make milk also find it quite a hassle... sometimes im so tired.. il jus let her cry awhile.. then give her pacifier... but she wil spit it out.. then i put it back... LOL... til i really have to get up & out of bed... sigh... what teats do u use? Nuk is most nipple like.. esp the latex ones... might want to try it... =)

by the way.. do u knw if they sell medela teats everywhere? i intend to get more... i like medela teats... =)

miss83 - BF yes cn lose wgt faster... for some super fast! but hor... boobs get bigger.. at least thats wad i noticed for my frns la. heh heh..

miss83,

me eat quite a lot of rice and total bf now... weight slowly going down liao. i guess on top of tt i still looking after bb on my own.

miss83,
For me, BF din help me to lose weight bcos I'm still eating as I get hungry easily...heee~
But then, it varies from person to person... =P

Mamypoko Promotion
Giant is having a promotion @ $19.99 (UP:$24+). Limit to 4 packets per purchase.
=P

miss83, my bb going 6 weeks old, and I still can't fit into my old jeans. can't zip. haiz...
oh... i sterilised once only. no use, just leave in steriliser.

irene
how much weight u put on? me 15kg..and still have another 8kg liao..

asura
i agree latching is better for SAHM like us..coz no need to wash n sterilize..but BF also make bb hungry easily..and wake up more often right? thus, we dont get to sleep longer at night..

Re: pupsik sling
Alfafa, can i check with you, when you put your baby into the sling, do you place her head quite high up i.e her head is slightly higher than her feet or is it a symmetrical shape i.e. head same level as feet like u would place a baby in a yaolan? cos when i do the latter, end up there is a lot of cloth surrounding my boy's head and i'm afraid he can't breathe properly ..

ann - all sizes! s, m , l & xl .. dunno if have xxl.. hee.. i went to buy jus now.. forgot to tell u all.. kekeke =P i bought 1 s and 1 m... =P i jus S few days ago and it was 21.90... haaa...

alfafa ...

i like dr terence tan too but his Q is simply TOO LONG ... i am using dr lim from the same clinic ... not bad and the best part is .. he is my neighbour hahahahaha i told him anything i am going up and knock on his door

asura ...

i love latching cos next time when u start to bring the bb out .. no need to bring EBM and no need to rush home to pump etc

i rem there was once when i was so hungry that i just latch the bb on and i cont my dinner at the restaurant and my MIL STARE at me hahahahaha dun care

seabreeze
so nice having a PD as ur neighbor..! :D

about latching..
still cant position the bb to latch on public..
havent learned to use sling as well..the idea sounds uncomfy for me..i still prefer bottle feed..but i agree that it's more troublesome..