(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

Hi just a bit of trivia...if anyone uses ru yi oil to soothe bb's wind in the stomach...do use a bit of lotion in case skin sensitive...My frienz pedi mentioned using ru yi oil not tat necessary...

Oso for those who feed bb w water,do feed him/her sparingly...My frien pedi said that too much can dilute bb's blood...dunno how true?!

I halfway to my confinement...thank God for e rain...now in e midst of letting my hb n mil prepare e full month celeb n taking bb's newborn shots...

As for e after care, will get my hb n family to help...hope things will fit in well...aaahhh long for a good massage n spa w my hb...

my boy has rashes on his face esp the eyebrows and cheek area. Anyone knows how to clear the rashes? and is it common to have rashes?

Pups & Lenny
For the Silicon NUK teats, do you use the small hole for breast milk? I just bought it just now so will be using it for the feed later....

Missycandy
I've been using Latex for #1 but not as frequently as for #2 so never noticed the stickiness. But for the past 2 weeks, I've been changing it on weekly basis bcos I sterilise it everytime i use it. SO I think using the Silicon one is safer & more economical.

Rashes on face
I've been using the Avene Spring Thermal water to clean his face. Can be bought from Guardian Pharmacy.

Jtho,
For the nappy rash, PD prescribed "Zarin Cream" to be used 1 or 2 times a day. It should be used together with Desitin.

Growth Spurt
For the past 2 days, he just dun hv enuff of 120ml. Just now topped up with another 30ml & he finished it & very satisfied. Does it mean I need to increase the subsequent feeds to 150ml? or continue with 120ml?

Srumpee
Hmm...for adults? If I'm not wrong, a few mummies are also using it. We will spray it on the cotton wool & clean it on bb's face. It was better after using it for a few times.

miss83,
It is written somewhere on the box, I think. I am quite sure I read it.

Grace,
I use the medium hole one.

Pups,
Was thinking if I should use the medium hole one bcos he was sucking so hard & taking longer to finish with the small hole one. Ok, will try the medium hole later. Thanks =)

hey peeps
juz nw my mom applied Zhen Zhu Fen .. aka Pearl Powder mix with warm water and apply on Tristan's rashes.. Now few hours have passed. his redness go dwn alot.. esp under his neckfolds one.. wha.. it looks raw earlier on.. muz be painful. my mom say muz be painful tt why he tdy kept crying..

moomoo - wa... ya very dangerous.. then ithink u better dun let bb lie on tummy... initially i did see bb turn face down when hospital for jaundice.. but at home when i tried recently and observe her, she wil turn herself from side to side... jus nw she actually raised her head for awhile then turned the other side... i think shes quite strong... her kicks are quite powerful... and she likes to push her neck backwards against our hands/arms when we hold her.. zzz...

bb face - any of u see bb face have yellow crumblike things? my bb has it at her eyebrows leh... so sian... i jus apply breastmilk on it in the afternoon... also applied all ovr her whole face and her hair/head... LOL... i realise that her face does become a bit softer leh... hmmm il try again tmr... hahaha...

queenie - ooo my mil is give bb drink de leh.. cn apply on face ah... hmmm... anyway after drinking it the yellow crumblike thing appear.. dunno if becos of the pearl powder or something else... but previously not like that... after drinking it once... the next day appear le.. so sian... =(

missycandy, queenie,
Those yellow, crumbly like things on the scalp, eyebrow or along the hairline are cradle cap.

missycandy/queenie,
U can use olive oil to rub on the scalp or areas where there's cradle cap and brush it with comb. those cradle cap shampoo dun seem to be effective and could be too strong for bb. better dun apply milk on face cuz can cause milk rash.

Re: obuba wrap
compared to the MIM sling, which one better?

Re: liver
I've been eating liver daily and almost every meal got liver!!! Diao....affects MS then die liao.

Blocked ducts
Just to share, I'm using the Gerber breast therapy breast pad to soothe engorgement and clear blocked ducts/mastitis and I find it effective. I can pump 100ml from my left breast in 5min after apply the pad on that breast. It helps with letdown better and best thing is I dun have to compress breast to get the same amt. My wrist and fingers are hurting from the compression and massage. Mummies can consider getting the breast therapy set. I think it functions like a warm towel, just that it can be used as a cold compress too and for hot compress can retain heat longer than warm towel.

i put the pad on to warm up the breast before pump. as it comes with a hole to fit the nipple and areola, can surround the breast nicely and warm it up. I use microware to heat up the pad. for cold compress, can put in fridge before apply.

Hi, anyone knows if PrimaDeli got vouchers and whether if Prima is halal-certified? I got to know that Bengawan Solo not halal and hence for muslim colleagues cannot give bengawan voucher lor.

re:lochia
those who went for c-sect...do u suddenly have a quite heavy lochia on ur 3rd week? last night i noticed my lochia was back and quite heavy..found some lumps..before was only a little discharge, like almost finish...is this normal? however, this morning seems to be better..not so much like yesterday..

oh forgot to mention about my lochia..was also having a slight menstrual cramp too last night...mummies..is this normal? do i need to see gynae?

re:avent storage cups
pups, I just read the instruction carefully..it says discard when it shows sign of wear and tear..so not necessarily after sterilized 5 times..hope u havent thrown your cups yet..hehe..can use it again u know..so wont be a waste..

I see some of u need storage bottles. I have about 6 to 8 glass bottles to give away (pass down from SIL) as i myself have bought a dozen of evenflo bottles liao.

Self collection in the east if u want.
Alternatively, you can be like me, i bought a dozen and half online from US and the price is about a third or half compare to buying from SG which cost about $10 per bottle.

Good thing is it can be passed down to #2 or #3 or to your relatives or sisters in future.

PM me.

I've a "hardly used" electrical yaolan to sell.
The brand is Sunflower Rocker.

The rocker has
- With adjustable timer function, up to 180mins
- Speed adjustment for low and high speed
- Included 6pcs spring (up to 19kgs)

I've brought it from Kiddy Palace on 5 March 09 and only used it for a few times.

The original price is at $149 and decided to let it go at $100.
And the warranty is still valid for half a year (till Sep 09).

Do PM me if you are interested.

Grace
Thanks. I will get a bottle of Avene spring water later. Hope can cure his rashes fast cos next week is his full mth party.

miss83
I think the menstrual like cramp is normal. I had it on the 1st and 2nd night after my delivery and gynae said is good to feel that as it means that our uterus is compressing back to its normal size.

fairymoss
Your breasts therapy set is it like donut shape? I have it too but hardly use, most of the time use warm towel. I shall give it a try again. Wah one breast can have 100ml in 5 mins. That is equavalent to my 2 pump sessions of 2 hours from both breasts. How does your milk flow out? is it like tap water gushing out? I always wonder how is it like cos mine is like droplets, dripping drop by drop.

Sorry to disturb.

I have a can of Similac Infant Formula 0-6mths(stage 1) for sale at $10.
Expiry date: 23 Jan 2010
Self-collect at B.batok.
Interested, pls PM me. Tnks

2342446.jpg

confinement nanny - when are they supposed to leave

Can i check : if the confinement nanny came on the 1st and she is supp to be here for 28 days, does she leave on the 28th or on the morning of the 29th i.e. complete 28 full days?

Fairymoss, the gerber set sounds good, I'm dying from strained fingers too...I'm keen to purchase the gerber breasts therapy setfrom bay b website at $19.90. Registered mail is $5.

I stay in amk st 32, anyone keen to share registered mail delivery of $5?

<font color="119911">miss83: i tink the discharge is normal, for my #1, i oso onli had a bit of discharge n onc ein a blue moon, will have a lump, quite scary. the cramp shld b fine, its the contraction.

ann: if CL comes on 1st, will leave on 28th.</font>

vivien, i got it from robinson at 19.90 too, but that was years ago when I had my #1 but the box was never opened till today. Didn't use it last time but this time round, maybe old liao, fingers keep aching from the massage, so decided to give it a try and it's very effective!

scrumpee, previously I dun have that much MS and after using the it to clear the lumps, milk flow is quicker. It sprays out like the shower head, not droplets. achieve letdown faster too. U can try. Yes, it's like donut shape.

wintertime, it comes in a pair. I only use one at a time unless I pump both breasts at the same time. else warm up both breasts and while pumping 1 side, the other side would have strong letdown and waste the milk.

fairymoss
I ordered Neo Garden's for my girl full mth. Most of my guests find their foods nice. And my mother said she will order for my brother 21st birthday.

Their butter prawn was very nice and was the 1st one to finish. Dont order LOH HAN CHYE not nice.

fairymoss, i ordere neo garden for my bb shower.. got 15% discount leh.. portion is jus enough for my guests and i receive gd comments from my guest.. most of the food are gone by the end of the event..
ohh great tt it comes in a pair.. how did u warm up the pads?

fairymoss
I've checked with my CL. She also does by day one. Can check with her if you want. I'll PM u my no. Then can chat with her if you want.

miss83
Dun take liver... Your BM will stop.
Avent cups can only be sterlised up to 4 times leh... This is what I heard.. So in the end, I bought the blue egg milkbags.

Ann
How much u selling the obuba nursing wrap? Is it easy to use?

Vernice
Haha.. No choice lah... Since in confinement... Even during BFing, also alot of things cannot anyhow eat...

Pups
Pigeon bottles can fit into the Medela pump? But cannot freeze right? I have some Pigeon bottles but never use...

gerber breasts therapy set
Is it easy to use? Need to warm up? Can use hot water to warm up? Anyone got the website?

devil/wintertime,

The box instructions said use microware to heat up the gerber pads for 15sec. for re-application once not warm enuf, reheat for 10sec. I just put it on the breast and hold it in place and didn't massage. I think u can also massage after that, but droplets of milk already start to ooz out so I think shld be ok bah.

wintertime, the 15% is must be 13.99 package and above issit? if I order 12.99, no discount? what abt delivery? I got abt 60 guests. and the portion is just nice type, so I have to order the exact number of guests?

Baby on FM
any baby on total FM? how long your baby need to finish 90ml of milk? mine sometime took 1hr and in between she fall asleep. i hv reduced it to 70ml... she is 5wks now

Vernice
For c-section got to wait 6 mths, that what I did previously.
Seafood to avoid is prawn, cuttlefish, crab etc. but if you ask doctor, they will say ok to eat.

Queenie
Haha my maid need to carry my baby to fetch my son when I am back to work.

Miss83
If I don’t remember wrongly after 6 weeks can exercise.

re:lochia
I have this problem on the 2nd week especially changing position. I told dr Adrian about it and he gave me an injection and medicine to compress the uterus. You may want to call him.

Rashes on forehead
my Bb also have rashes at forehead, I bring her to see PD and apply the cream once only and it recovered. The cream is Fucicort.

missycandy
Thanks! I think will need to use pigeon bottles so no need to keep on changing the medela bottles when I'm pumping...

Fairymoss
Thanks! I'll go search the website.

Vivien
If you want to buy pls add me, I want to buy too. We can share the registered mail delivery of $5. Pls PM me if you want to purchase. Thanks.

Devil,re:eek:buba wrap. i have not used it before so can't comment on its usefulness. I got it for $37(excluding postage). Willing to sell for $25 excluding postage. By the way, will be selling the blue egg milk bags to Keron&amp;Jeris but i got it from the same source as the url posted by Missycandy earlier..

ivy
my bb used to take 1 hour to finish 30ml FM. you may want to change the teat. for my case, once i change to NUK teat, problem solved (previously using avent). but it may due to your bb still sleepy...sometimes if my bb still sleepy, he also takes time to finish his milk

about lochia..I will monitor this..this morning is not so much as yesterday..but if i keep having this then I will see dr adrian. yesterday was quite worrying..coz when i sit down on the toilet to pee, lochia flow like urine