(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

wintertime, the water vapour, you just ignore it?

other than using milk bags to store, would it be better to store with milk bottles? I'm running out of milk bags soon and find that milk bags are expensive and non-reuseable. I'm using around 200 bags a month.. which is quite siong...

wow wintertime,
your MS is getting better & better. Btw, how long do you pump each time?

Jtho,
I agree with Irene & Wintertime, just continue with EBM but check & change the diaper more regularly... =) it'll definitely help!!!!

Bringing baby out
Have been going out to church, parent's place, for dinner....but haven't tried the shopping malls...!!!

thanks Irene, Wintertime and Grace

but if i give EBM, he will poo more, means more chances for him to feel pain right? with FM, he will poo less though it will be hard.

but anyway i dun have enough EBM for his full day consumption, still need to supplement with FM.
so maybe i will alternate, one time EBM, then one time FM.

Irene
i'm already changing him very regularly and apply Desitin at every change. and i also use cloth diapers for him in the day.

jtho,

Have u tried a day with just FM to see whether bb is really better if he dont poo so often? Since u dont have enough for a day consumption, it is worth trying out to see if it is better. One benefit is that after this, u have more EBM in the fridge, then u wouldnt feel so stressed trying to produce the EBM for the day's consumption and ur MS may increase from the reduced stress.

irene,

Wah.. 200 milk bags a month, ur MS must be really good!

Milk bottles are more expensive and cannot put in freezer i think. Take up more space too.

What i know is that bb's milk consumption would increase to catch up with ur production. So u might not need 200 milk bags in the subsequent months. One of the reasons why i am not getting a deep freezer yet.

Irene, i jus ignore the vapour, anyway, it's being sterilise, any bateria would have been killed. wow, u got 200 milk bags per month?? hm. my boy is now 7 wks old and I have less than 20 bags in my freezer..

Grace, my 270ml i took abt 45 mins to pump.. i make sure i squeeze every bit out of my breast.. both my hands esp my thumbs are aching manz..

200 bags cos i pump exclusively. One day will need 7 bags, cos pump 7x. One mth ard 200 bags.

My freezer got ard 20bags, fridge around 10bags. Tat day i throw away 18bags pump during confinement, cos see zac still a bit jaundice, so throw away those pump when eating ginger. Feel very heartpain when wanna throw away.

If i continue to use milk bags, the cost will be very high. Cos bottles are at least reusable while milk bags is just store then throw...

For me, everyday I'll freeze 1 bag while having at least 5 to 6 medela bottles in the fridge. What I do is I'll pump into these bottles then when needed, warm them up & feed directly from these bottles...!! Do other mummies do this?

Wintertime,
Wow 45 minutes...you're very patient. Becos everytime i pump for 15mins, thereafter, like nothing comes out liao. So most of the time, i'll oni pump 15-20mins to get 130-150ml (4hrly) then I'll stop!!!! =P

Irene,
Aiyo...so sayang to throw away so many bags. Actually you dun hv to do it.....the jaundice will go away......!!!

Asura
yesterday bb only had once EBM and once latch on, the rest are all FM. really had lesser poo. later, when he wakes up for the next feed, i'm going to see if his buttock is better.

hey jtho n asura...
i'm so so sleepy..bb cranky last few nights...no choice but put him to sleep in the sarong n transfer him to bed after the 3 or 4am feed... the thing is i hv to rock him non stop or he'll be fussy...

moomooland...i din notice the perinum shorter..i only see it looks so different nw...

queenie...agree like leng leng... =(

prosper...i tink i noe wat u meant...i also feel like bubble popping feeling... hiaz...

arrrghh....i toppled my container n spilled some milk....so careless!!

Irene,
I used to use milk bags for storing last time and yes, the running cost is quite high. So for this time, we bought a lot of pigeon storage bottles (3 for $15.50) and and use these for storing chilled ebm (in the fridge). Only for milk that will be frozen then I use milk bags. And for freezing, I combine the day's worth into a bag. Though the initial start up cost for bottles will be high, but they are reusable and more economical in long run.

I know how you feel... last time I took DOM and my #1 did not agree with the herbs. Could see blood in his poo and I ended up throwing away more than 10 bags of ebm pumped during that week when I was taking DOM. Heartache!

Grace,
I have hit parents' place, breakfast at Ya Kun, lunch buffet at Merchant Court, shopping mall, T3 with the baby liao! :p

Last night baby didn't sleep and was crying quite a bit from 12mn to 5am! Poor hubby, he was looking after the baby from 1.30am to 4.30am. I woke him up to look after cos I was totally exhuasted and had a splitting headache cos I looked after baby exclusively for the past 3 days and night to allow hubby to rest cos he was not well. Waved white flag last night and baby decided that she "missed" daddy too much at night. I hope this is just a once off and not a new pattern! *shudder*

SG
ya lor. leng leng sobsob..

Grace
wha so fast go back to service le? how nice. if i go i have to go alone with him scare i cant handle..

wintertime
haha hope i can be like u..

Asura
i tot only 1st mth better keep him home.. my mom told me 4mths lor.. zz somemore she ask me go out myself n keep baby home.. cant bear to leave him alone.

RE: Baby going out
so far i only bring him out thrice. Gynae check up, PD check up and to his great ah gong hse.

Grace, i feed him with Avent bottles.. actually i'm thinking of getting either the medala or ameda bottles to store.

Asura, the bags are only 8oz de, so i need to leave some space for the clips to clips the bags. Per pump range from 100-160ml, so normally i din combine the pumping session per day.

pups, how many bottles should we needs? Your baby drink from pigeon milk bottles?
I'm thinking should I get Avent, then just store in it and let it drink direct also, save the troubles on transferring the milk from bottles to bottles.

Oh, anyone using Avent storage cups? Is it reusable?

morning!

Irene
ya, i think Avent storage cups are reusable. if not, it will not be worth it cos more expensive than milk bags.

Wintertime
when is the class u mentioned about teaching how to coax bb to sleep without having to carry him? i'm also interested.

i agree with pups - bottles with normal sealing discs would do just fine - what i did last year with b3 - is i kept buying bottles to store my ebm works well and cost savings as they are reusable - i even both those normal cheap bottles from malaysia - store them - thaw them and pur them into the normal bottles i feed my son.. palnning to do the same for my 4th son... so far i have more than 40 bottles so when my MS catch up .. i will just sterlize these bottles again - i even bot 2nd hand aven bottles that was used to store ebm only frm mummies on smh...
hope ths helps

Irene, cool, tt's a lot too.. i used bags for my freezer while the ones in the fridge I use bottles.. so I will keep reserves of abt 4 feeds in my fridge in case my boy needs the milk.. u were mentioning u have 10 bags in fridge? 10 bags of 200ml each? will your boy able to finish all 10 bags within 2 days.. rem we can't keep for too long if milk is not stored in freezer..
wah.. throw away so much.. heartpain leh.. if i were u, i think i will still keep the milk.. wait for bb jaundice is down then feed them with the milk.. throw away so wasted..

Grace, cos after pumping for 15 mins, i squeeze my boobs, I still have milk leaking leh.. so most of the time, i am busying compressing my boobs with my fingers. tt's y taking so long.. even after 45 mins, I still have milk, but too tired to continue.

pinkdemoness, y don't you get those electric ones? then u don't have to keep rocking ur bb

moomooland, i think it's safe to take it. i rem some mummies here posted that they took it during bfing..

pups, tt's so nice of ur hb... for my boy, he wil not fuss only if I carry him or let him suckle for comfort.. esp at night, if my hb handles him alone, i doubt he can handle..

jtho, i did not enquire abt the class schedule... still pondering if I should go.. it's on wkday, so got to get hb to take off again.. he's been taking quite a number of leaves lately.. perhaps i will enquire next wk and let u gals know if i got more information.

Wintertime
ya, if it's on wkday, problematic for me also cos hb got to reserve his leaves for our France trip. and if he doesn't take leave, then i dunno how to go out alone with bb

caca, jtho, miss83, hehe.. u should bring bb out hehe. can go nearby test run ehhee. i usually will feed in toilets if there is no nursing room available.. so far okie le..

wintertime:: wah... abundance! HAPpy for you!

Idaarshad,
Thanks for your tips. Guess I gotta go buy bottles. More cost saving.. One time off investment.

Wintertime,
10bags of 100ml, I store them in 100ml now, cos Zac is drinking around 90ml. I dun wan to open and seal the bags and trap the air inside the bags, somemore sometimes, it's my maid who heat up the milk and she is kinda blur. Easier for her to put out the correct amt at one time rather than pour and seal.

jtho, ya.. don't hink they have wkend classes..

Cindy, thanks.. but it's only one time.. hope to see it again.. now back to my average amt.. was wondering wat did i eat yesterday to "induce" my MS.. hahaha..

me up pumping milk again.. tired.. jus now a bit fed up with my hb.. wanted hb to change diapers for my boy at 6.30am after my last change at 1.30am last night.. he say okay but he say change at 7am.. he dozed off and I woke up at 7.30am and realised tt bb's diapers not changed yet.. so fed up and i did it on my own.. hb feeling guilty now.. hb had been very tired since the arrival of our boy and helped me a lot..he took over bb once he's back from work, taking care of my boy during wkends but guess i was sooo tired with so many things, bfing, pumping taking care of bb alone during wkdays.. made me quite short tempered lately.. haiz.. hope my new maid will be of great help..

keron, dun tink the bags are recycleable. Let me know if you're int, if not, i will sell them to Devil.

i have activated my pm already.

irene.. no problems.. just buy the cheap ones.. n those w/out sealing discs- u cn buy the bn sealing discs also-like 70 cents each either frm kiddy palace or here as well

wintertime.. i understand how u feel... be strong yah.. mee too esp tired wen b3 is only coming 14n months.. wanna get maid maybe next mnth onli.. have to ren leh

Hi there!

Can someone PM me or email me Mdm Rokiah's contact? My email address is [email protected]. I suspect I have blocked ducts as after I expressed my milk, my breasts are still quite hard, but no milk come out.

Will she be able to help me?

wintertime,

Thanks for your advice.. think i feel much assured now. i also think that she is going thru this gorwth spurt right now cos her weigh has been constant in first weeks and only went up in her 3rd week.

can u tell me how u all thaw breast milk? is it take it our from freezer and put it in the refrigerator for at least 12 hours for it to "melt"? or place under warm running water?

pink sorbet..

from Mrs Wong's Breast feeding book, she mentioned that milk can be thawed in 2 ways:

1. Warm the expressed milk in a cup of warm water or baby milk warmer. (Milk cannot be stored again once it has been warmed) Do not heat the milk over a stove or in a microwave.

2. thaw milk in cold running tap water for 10 mins or more. pour out the amount required and put the remainder in the fridge, which can be stored up to the next 12 - 24 hrs.

Always check the milk by smelling and tasting before you feed your baby. ensure that it has not gone sour.

Queenie,
I went back to church after the 1st mth. Last nite brought him for Good Friday service & this Sun he'll be baptied.

Pups,
Your hubby so sweet. Dun worry, dun hear her crying...hee~~

Avent Cup
Yes they are recycleable but I think up to 7 times.

Wintertime,
Wow so in 15min, how much do you get? bcos to use hand express for another 30mins is a long long time!

Irene
Using bottles is definitely more economical. =P

Nuk Teats
For mummies using Nuk teats, do you think tat the latex ones gets sticky very easily? Am considering if i should change to the Silicon one. Mummies pls share.

Re: milk bags

I've been using Medela breastmilk bottles to pump and store in fridge. Have not been using it to freeze, but for #1 I freeze milk in Medela bottles. Can it be used for freezing?

I also use Gerber milk bags to store the exact portion of feed in each bag and find it costly (~$1/bag)and troublesome to transfer here and there as it can't be attached to Medela pump and then after thawing still need to transfer to bottle for feed. The more transfers, the more contamination and wastage would result, so I keep it at a minimum by using the same bottle for pumping, storing and then to feeding. just wondering if the bottle can be used for freezing. The website said the breastmilk bottle can be used for long-term storage but did not explicitly says it's for freezing.

Asura79, hee u are my neighbour in the same estate? My hb cycles with my #1 to Bishan park regularly.

Wintertime, congrats that your MS is increasing and v gd now! just few wks ago, u were one of those with bf woes and now u have overcome that! Jiayou mummies, if wintertime can do it, so can u!

Re: NUK teats
Grace,I prefer the silicon ones. I'm using NUK teats on Medela bottles for ebm. Personally dun like latex ones as after boiling (my sterilizing method), it already becomes sticky and I find it unsafe to use. U might want to try out silicon but it's harder lor.

Irene
Wow.. You have alot of milk. 200 bags a month... How you store it?

Ann
Thanks! Do let me know if your milk bags are still available.

Pinksorbet
I also put in the fridge and let it defrost.

Lenny
Thanks for your info too! Now I know how to defrost the milk.

Mummies using Medela bottles to store expressed breast milk. I have alot of bottles but used during my #1 in 2007. some abit yellowish liaoz.. Can it still be used?

as for bfing, i really believe must persist. i can see my MS increasing slowly but surely. now i only feed my bb with BM during the day and night use FM since it can last longer n i also can sleep longer.

mummies, don fret abt bfing...imptly enjoy the time with the bb...once all these precious moments are gone...u will nvr get to feel them again

pinksorbet,
i will put it in the fridge to thaw first.

Grace,
Thanks. 7times also quite siong, cos the cups are quite expensive...
will go get bottles.

devil,
7 bags a day, he drink around 5-6 bags a day also. now currently consuming 90-100ml. so actually in fridge, not many bags left. i store extra in freezer.

Vernice,
the medala bottles are those 4oz de? brand new? how much you selling?

fairymoss - selling cos i got extra set from pump purchase and gift from friends and also using glass bottles from hospital so far. and i can't bf for long, need to stop after going back to work.

irene - it's those 3 in 1 pack of 150ml each. yeap BN. u interested then PM me

nuk teats - hv only beenm using silicon ones sice my 1st bb last 9years ago as it is much better / last longer / no rubber smell.. unless ur bb likes soft teats.. then it will be latex.. if not thumbs up for silicon ones

re:nuk teats
mummies..which nuk teats u've been using? i'm using the premium one..but wonder if the hole size is ok for newborn since the teat is for 0-6months. my bb seems to like NUK teats than avent. he doesnt suckles well using avent.
anyway, when do we need to change the teat? after 1 month?

Wintertime,
Hope my maid can be in by end next week so I can train her b4 I start work in mid may. I also cannot speak their lanuage last time my maid came, but slowly they learn how to speak english if you speak more to them. Tis maid agent is introduce by misscandy, she told me the agent can help in getting in the maid in fast so I go for it, hope the maid is good lor.
Talking about milk supply, I also extend my pumping time to 5-6 hours, and each pump I get 360-400ml of milk so I can the time I pump a day since my boy got more than enough milk from me. So I will not be too tired out. I also have a quarrel with hubby as he also look after Ethan for the past few days and was tired out with bad temper with me, I told him he only look after for 3 days, but for me I still have to pump milk leh. He say I only know how to sleep during the night and I was so upset with his words.
Jtho,
My boy also poos alot of time drinking my EBM. But tis 2 days it cuts down in poo poo times, guess his tummy is getting use to my EBM milk as he is 2months full today. You can try to alternate feed him EBM & FM since your milk supply is still low.

jasmine
how many weeks are u since giving birth? wonder how u got alot of ms..400/pump is alot..my bb is almost 3 weeks but each pump can only get 80-100ml