(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

miss 83 - as i have quite a number of bottles and rotate them - i only change them at stage 2 - 6 months and abve - but if u have abot 2 or 3 bottles then u may need to change them more often lah

idaarshad, wah.. u very steady leh.. how many kids do you have altogether? how u manage alone??

pinksorbet, I would planned beforehand that how much frozen milk i want to defroze, then i will put the frozen milk into the fridge overnight for it to defroze.. i will then make sure that I let bb consumer the milk within 12 hrs once it's being thaw in the fridge..

Grace, aiyo.. 15 mins i think i can only max 150ml.. got to keep massaging hard to squeeze out wat's left inside the breast.

fairymoss, so u r one of my neighbours too.. i am staying very near asura.. i just started jogging in bishan park last thursday.. perhaps the 3 of us can meet up one of these days..

Jasmine, wow ur ms still going strong.. hope i can jia you like u.. ya lor.. we still have to pump milk soooooo super tired leh.. imagine i pump every 3-4 hrs, inbetween got to bath bb, latch him etc.. not much time to sleep.. my hb was so guilty tt he apologise to me jus now.. say today he will take care of my boy whole day..

Wintertime/asura, I stay at st13, u leh? I find bishan not v convenient leh, i mean compared to my old estate before I got married. each time I need to get something, got to go Junction8 to buy so sian. sometimes would dinner at J8 with hb, maid and elder, now with #2, probably would cook more at home to minimise trouble. Also no proper nursing rm in J8. Me not v skilled to nurse in public, got to hide away in nursing rm to feed bb.

Wintertime, at least u jog, I hardly move my butt!!! u must be slim slim lor. used to swim pre-preg days but since had my #1, hardly. So u can imagine my spare tyres, heehee. hb says auntie figure lor.

Mummies who pump, do u synchronize your pump session with bb feeding time? I find it difficult to pump in sync unless someone is feeding bb for me, else if wait till settle bb to lie down or zzz, no time to pump before next feed session. if pump in between feeding interval, then for the next feed won't be enuf if latch, then forever would be giving ebm. for me, I wld like to stock up some milk in prep for growth spurt or to be spare when I go back to work. So it's not exclusive pump for me. My CL not too happy that I keep pumping cuz she got to wash pump and sterilize again!!!!

Devil, your CL how much if engage her by day and not as package of 28days? My mum wants me to do 40days confinement but would like my maid to try out cooking confinement dishes and mind you, my maid till now has not cooked for the family yet, let alone confinement meals! I'm the one who cooks at home and she just prepare ingredients according to my instruction.

wintertime - i have 4 my dear - my elder two gerls are 9 & 8 and my 2 boys are now almost 14 months old and 2 weeks old - my mum for the 1st time looked after my boy last year but she was retired frm food business and now she is super sick so i m cooking my own food as well - bo chap lor - no confinement food lah as have to feed my hubby and kids as well leh..
... so i m planning to get a maid before i go back to werk lah....

miss 83 -u can actually check for wear and tear but so far all the time i have been using - no such thing happened and i could safely use the teats till i was changing into 2nd stage - thereafter u can monitor the teats to see how frequent u wanna change them. one thing about nuk teats - expensive but very durable. means the teats can last beyond 6 months..

fairymoss
u can get the nursing wrap if u intend to bf for long.. the obuba wrap is gd..
u can get from the SMH seller - chocoholyx.. shes gd.. kekes. i got mine from her too..

wintertime
wow u so gd go jogging le. to be honest i almost everyday stay at hme. my bro keepp comment me say i NUA..

juz nw my bro n sil forced me to go down kopitiam with them for brunch with my boy n my niece. while i was queuing up for Bubble Tea (OOPS) my boy cry liao lor... tink he wan milk then i rush home. coz my obuba wrap haven wash cant use yet. - sob sob -
tink i really got phobia bringing him out w/o hb around.. reach home, he drank and he pooed. after drink he puke 5ml of milk out.estimated.. then kenna his romepers and mittens. den i clean his poo poo he shower his hair with WEE WEE. wow. and cried like mad cow. i almost went MAD juz now....

wa...so envy those mummies who already completed their confinement...

i still got 2 more weeks to go...i am looking forward to eat all the various food. so sick of confinement food liaoz :p

my friends came to visit me and bought emicakes, end up i can't eat any of them
so my cousins finished everything!

ivy..
hmm to me quite easy. hehe. got 6 patterns but newborn nw can oni try 2 - 3 patterns.
muz practice .. coz MIM sling is different coz it can be adjusted de. hehe am i making u blur?

vernice
haha.. even after confinement oso muz JIe Kou leh.. my mom tell me no Seafood until 4 mths ltr.. even tho mine is natural.. zz

queenie
oh newborn only selected patterns. i am not the one who use, i am buying to let my maid to use.

you are lucky for seafood only 4mths me got to wait 6mths for c-section.

queenie - ah? got to jie kou? haha my mum nvr say anything wor? i already eat those 'gan bei' with porridge liaoz...

ivy - c section got to wait 6 mths?? seafood means what? including prawn too?

Ivy
ooo haha .. aiyoh i oso not c-sect.. why muz jie seafood. sehs.. u let ur maid use ah.. ltr ur maid will v close w ur baby de leh. hehe.. coz near to the mi mi.

vernice
ganbei, abalone and fish can.. sotong, prawn, stingray, lala etc no..

Irene,
I use Nuk teats (not the wide mouth ones) which can be fit into the pigeon storage bottle. These bottles can be attached directly to my medela pump too as they are standard size.

Avent bottles are expensive to use for storage purpose. You can get pigeon 300ml bottles to store the milk combined from 2 pumps and just pour out when you need to use them. May sound troublesome but it is a matter of getting used to. I combine the milk to prevent having too many bottles in my fridge and I will pour out 3 feeds in advance so each time need to use ebm just need to grab a bottle and fix a teat.

The avent cups can be sterilised up to 5 times only. To feed from the cup, you need an adaptor for the avent teat as the cup opening is way too big. This adaptor came with a manual pump set I bought last time. Not sure if they are sold separately, but I should think so.

Ida,
Bottles have their lifespan also due to wear and tear... cannot use forever one!

Wintertime,
We try not to let baby suckle for comfort. It is very bad habit. Monitoring to see if this comfort sucking is often or not. If use, it is time for the pacifier.

Grace,
Not that hubby is so sweet. It is cos I have been dealing with the baby on my own for the past don't know how many nights that I really could not take it last night. I had this stabbing pain in my head so I went to wake him up to ask him to take over before I die.

For Nuk teats, I only use the silicon ones. I tried a disposable latex one during #1's time and was totally put off by it. It changes colour after sterilising! So, it is silicon all the way for us

Devil,
I changed the whole set of medela bottles and pump parts cos there is bound to be wear and tear. I got the original medela pump replacement parts from US cos it is cheaper and for the bottles, I use Pigeon storage bottles which can fit into the pump but not the bootie stands.

btw mummies here - anyone know how to cook the papaya fish soup? my mum boiled the papaya n fish but got strong fishy smell leh..
any advise?

pups
avent storage milk cup can only be sterilised 5 times? I've been using it alot..didnt read anything that say can only be used til 5 times sterilised...???

fairymoss, me and asura staying in st 31.. opposite bishan park. we are nearer to amk hub instead.. slim?? ha.. no lah.. i still got 9 good kgs to shed and I fell so demoralise when i was trying to fit into my shorts jus now.. I have to literally squeeze my butts in.. think no chance of me wearing my old bottoms again.. sad..
ur CL should not be unhappy at all.. it's her job to sterilise and wash the bottles for you mah..

idaarshad, wow.. 4 kids.. kudos to you.. I am still having thoughts abt having the 2nd one.. well, guess i am too overwhelmed by the arrival of the current one who is my first child.. hahaha.. my sis had 4 boys too, and she hired a maid when she delivered her first kid.

miss83, my CL say liver will reduce MS.. so you might wan to take note.. kidney no prob

Queenie, that was my first jogging session and now taking when I will move my butt for the 2nd session.haizz..

Re: menses
BB is 7 wks old.. as I thought my lochia had finished, I suddenly had spotting again 2 days back and now I am having light flow.. wonder if it's menses or lochia again.. haizz.. thought bfing will not have menses??

Growth spurt
My boy is getting cranky these 2 days.. he drank at least 180ml last night for his last feed instead of his usual 100ml.. then jus now, he refuses to have his afternoon nap. keep suckling on me for an hour.. my nipples are sooo sore and I am feeling sooo tired.. Almost wanted to wake up and leave him there to cry.. hb quickly take over cos he's afraid i might throw my boy down the rubbish chute!! hahahah

my Bb forehead got alot of 'rashes'and can see some whites in the 'dou dou' is this heat rash/ milk rash?? any creams tat helps? so much see like heartache..

pigpig,

My bb have that on her face too. I went to a GP and got a cream for her. U might want to go GP. External medication, go GP should beok. Cheaper and no queue.

ann
i mentioned the obuba haha..

wintertime
haha.. at least u moved. i only at home 'moved' about niah.. lols.. u bring baby and jog tgt? i somehow cant even she de leave him behind ..
growth spurt u endure bah.. a few days and will go away... drink more chicken essence to keep u alive! kekes..

pigpig
my baby oso.. overnight eyebrows looks reddish and scaly. and even his neckfolds red spots.. and behind his ear .. sad.. tml having his party den overnight his face so MOR PENG..

asura
mind to share wad cream u had?

hi mummies, how do u know bb is going through growth spurt?

my bb is abt 5 weeks old and is drinking 100ml. Is it enough? i tot of increasing to 120ml but scared she wasted my milk.

wintertime,
ya i also tot that during bfing, we will not have menses leh.

I'm also a March mummy. Been facing difficulties in my breast milk and recently, heavy appetite 2 weeks old baby. My baby is taking almost 100ml of my breastmilk and will wake up 2-3 hours later for another feed. Then my MIL likes to comment everytime she comes that I don't have enough milk to feed my baby and tell my CL to make formula milk. #$%^@! Just to release abit.

Can I know if your baby latch on, how long will they take to drink till they are full?

chalris
usually my bb latch on for 30 mins (15 mins each side)..afterI pull out my breast, usually he's already asleep, or looks satisfied. if he's still cranky and put his hand on his mouth means he's still hungry..

queenie
ya lo, my gal bb shower is next sun. and all red red like very heaty like tat.

these few days also very cranky but dunno y? ve to carry her till she zz but put down to bed after awhile ll cry. cry till very chiam like tat.haiz

nuk teats - im using latex.. when i bought them, the pharmacist did mention becos its latex, shldnt use the sterilized. if wan jus "dip" in hot boiling water for awhile to kll the germs can le.. dun boil too long. becos latex tends to wear & tear easier. plus it does become sticky due to the material itself. but i stil sterilize them anyway. so far not sticky yet? i rotate with my medela teats. =)

dots/spots/rashes - my bb so poor thing.. initially is those heat rash on face... dn now discover the eyebrow there got some yellow thing leh... cnt peel if nt will peel the skin off too.. i see le so ugly!!! not sure if its becos fed her pearl powder... =\ my mil say feed then the skin nice nice... *ptuix* after feeding her the next day the eyebrow come out this yellow thing.. wahlao.. bth.. anyway, my frn recommended using breast milk to wash the face... thats what she did for her bb... i see her bb face now turning 1 yr old.. very fair n smooth... but the body a bit darker... the mum said didnt occur to her to wash the body also.. ahhahaha... buden again.. supply also limited, nt enough to wash body... for those with abudant supply, might want to consider giving ur bb milk bath... it also helps the bb hair to grow thicker... =) my supply is limited.. hai.. jus nw i pump 30mls.. i use it to wipe on her face and her head/hair.. hee hee... hopefully it works.. cn see after few hrs her face like a bit smoother... hahaha.. smells nice too.. like milk milk lo.. kekeke

vernice - for the fish soup, use the meat of the fish to cook... if u use bones, the smell is stronger... thats what i realize when my mil cook the soup... =)

sling - i bought MIM & balboa... i prefer the balboa becos has special pouch to put bb in.. whereas for MIM have to "make your own" =) so far whenever i go out, i sling bb with the balboa one and she jus sleeps inside... hee hee...

chalris - in one ear out the other.. my mil ask me stop bfing when i go back to work... i jus ignore her.. buden again i may have to if my supply still so lousy =P anyway its normal for bb to be feeding evry 2-3hrs... =)

pigpig - is it colic? wind in tummy.. u might wan to try letting her sleep on ur tummy? i actually let her lie on her tummy at times.. only at night i dont do that... day time got ppl jagar still can.. but now she can turn her head herself from left to the right... plus jus nw i saw her push her head up look at me then turn the other side... LOL so funny n cute... my bb jus turned 1 mth yesterday ...

full month celebration - according to feedback, melrose food not bad leh... they actually finished most of the food.. the drink & dessert gone!! i didnt even get to try.. i think some of the ppl buay zhi dong also... take a lot of servings esp the dessert.. longan jelly.. take a lot of the longan.. those who came later no more le... -_-" the fried rice my hubby said very nice... i didnt eat it.. heh.. the lemon fish also finished... yu tiao, ngoh hiang, siew mai also all gone... the cereal prawn not bad... i didnt get to try the curry chicken.. i was so busy entertaining....

all my rooms were occupied! thats for inviting everyone for 1 time slot.. =P living rm relatives... dining area hubby's colleagues... 2nd bedroom all the kids playing inside & my friends... study room my ex colleagues... space outside the kitchen hubbys frns.. then outside the house my current colleagues and some of the old foggies =x so i was practically running ard... then hubby keep asking me to eat.. then friends keep asking take photo.. -_-"

oh by the way i lurve the SATAY!!!!!!!! i ordered satay separately from Leo Satay... but its not halal.. i ordered chicken, pork & mutton.. the mutton & pork damn nice la... and meaty also! the only drawback is they forgot to give me cucumber n onions... zzzz but the satay is really nice... i ordered 350sticks... all gone! lucky i managed to eat some... hee hee...

bb was a bit cranky on n off.. wanted to sleep.. then my MIL keep carrying ... i told her to let bb sleep on the combi thing.. dont always carry... wait she too used being carried and sleep will be difficult for me.. then she not happy... she jus "nah" the bb to me over the table... i jus told her put on combi not pass to me... stupid lo!!! then carry ard... walk ard the house in out.. i dun mind if other pple carry becos they seldom see... then once in blue moon... baby is the star ma.. but my mil.. -_-" then she passed to nephew to carry... dn he nvr support properly... luckily my hubby saw and faster went over and told his mum off! my mum also saw and was telling her no but she still pass to the kid to carry.. KNS... anyway hubby saved the day =P heee... anyway, it was successful to me... and im happy becos most ppl gave hong bao... and not the gift sets... heheheh... so jus nw we went to open the ocbc mighty savers account for Kirsten =D

il post photos up in facebook when my bro passes to me... he helped me to take photos. but a bit disappointed becos he didnt help to take family photo of hubby, kirsten & me... =(

queenie,

My GP prescribed desonide desowen lotion.
Not sure if can buy outside. Quite expensive, i think 60ml bottle is close to $20. But very effective. My bb's neck was initially red and full of red bumps, after 1 application, next day become not so red liao. After 1 week, now my bb's neck is nice nice again. But hor.. her rashes keep appearing else where on her body so everyday i just keep applying to wherever there are new rashes. So far, disappear in at most 2 days for mild cases. Oh yah.. i apply twice a day, once in a morning after bath (no soap) and once in the evening after wipe. Need to add that my GP ask me not to add anything to her bath water say at this stage, normal water is good enough for her.

asura
so u mean BB bath in warm water only? then mayb ask my MIL to do tat.UR GP says its related anot-to the bath water and rashes?

msCandy
we tried to let her sleep on tummy juz now. after waking up, the cycle repeats itself again. but TOUCHWOOD la, @ nite is ok so far..can drink then zzz...

Can update whether e BM works?? Thanks ah

pigpig,

Yup.. yup.. My GP thinks it is a chemical reaction to her skin. Could be milk rash, heat rash or just rashes. Her neck kena worst because i see weather hot and applied avent liquid talcum on her neck, end up rashes.. heh..
Maybe u can remove the soap from bb's bath. At the same time, u might want to check with GP wheather they able to prescribe any cream to treat rashes for infants. Tat's what i asked before i go see, din want to end up with no medincation for her.

asura
oh u went to GP cos of rashes prob? I think my MIL ll say its normal la why go see DR for rashes only? her next DR appt is 27th. I got e mustela facial cream dunno it helps anot. wonder if ur cream can get from pharmacy?

aiyo BB cry cry dun wan to zzz. dunno wats wrong with her..apply oil also, sleep on tummy also..

prosper - just wondering where you been...my gal is 5 weeks old too, she is drinking 100ml..not really showing signs of increasing her intake yet..sometimes she will fall asleep without finishing her feed...shang nao jing..

on thawing method..yes i do the same thing as you...

pigpig,

Adult get rashes can bear with the pain and itch. BB get rashes would scream murder. I think i rather pay a bit to prevent bb from screaming.. hee.

miss83,

if c-sect, must wait till 6 weeks then can do tummy exercise.

i also c-sect.. i won't be able to bellydance for a while.. even after 6 weeks,.. i need to settle baby before i can go dancing again.

missycandy - we tried to make bb sleep on stomach and turn her head to the side, but she always turn her head down!! to lick the bed...aiyo...so dangerous...haha..see already damn scared man...

Asura: the cream is a steroid cream, as you might have been informed by the gp, so note to mums here be very careful in applying to bb esp on face/hands/anywhere where bb can touch and then stick in the mouth/eyes. Also don't use too much unless u really have to as steroids have side effects also.

re: bathing - there is a lot of conflicting information around. Ultimately I think it all depends on each bb. Some bb have very sensitive skin so may not be a good idea to bathe all the time with baby wash, whereas some bb if u don't wash regularly with wash everyday will have problems. Sometimes it's about the type of baby wash u use, and sometimes it's about the water quality (altho that is not really a big problem in S'pore I think). The impt thing is as long as bb is kept clean and hygienic can liao - which i think is not really possible if u use water alone esp in hot humid weather like s'pore - imagine the sweat, the dirt and the bacteria accumulating on poor bb's skin. At most just use a really really mild wash. Also got to remember that whoever is carrying and caring for bb also have to be clean otherwise will also affect bb - important note for mums who are not bathing during confinement!!!