(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

hoho
Ya hope will get over actually my#1 I also din give was much easier think nw that start le hard to stop must try get over.

but the baby's face sure have a lot of changes within the next few months. By 5th year, BB totally different from first month. The passport still valid then? If immigration request for update photo each time, then need to pay S$70 each time?

maple,

immigration would give warning but can ignore until they specifically indicate in the passport that need to change. even som u dont change until going for another trip.

devil,

My colleague says that by 4th month our supply = demand for most pple. So me going to put on hold the purchase of deep freezer also and see what's my supply and her demand when i get back from US. She would be 5 mths old by then. But hor.. right now, my freezer is filling up.. got 3 shelves and i filled up 3/4 shelf liao.. every packet i take out to thaw and feed as EBM, i replace with another 2 packet.
Trying to clear the freezer now..
maybe u monitor the situation and then decide on deep freezer? I think if got a lot of milk, why not keep to let bb drink BM for a longer period of time..

keron
i started drinking plain water even during confinement.. right after confinement i totally stop longan tea liao.. hahhaa.. cannot stand without plain water.. i m shui tong..

mommies out there, till now i am still doing latch on bf but i feel like pumping out to store ebm le.. but then i find tat i dun actually have the chance coz bb usually wake up for milk when i wanted to do pumping n also we definitely need time for our breast work on production of the milk right? so how can i start off then?

p3pp3r,

Just pump for 10 mins after u bf. Sometimes i feed EBM to give my nipples a break and i always get to pump more than the EBM i feed bb.

Wintertime, thanks for the recommendation on the book. will check it out tmr.

By the way, some of the mummies were talking about their babies having phelgm - can i know how did you find out that they have phelgm? did they cough out some or because your babies make "funny" noises? cos my boy sometimes make funny throaty noises esp during his nite feeds so i'm wondering if there is phelgm as well. thanks

hi Mummies,

came back from my follow up consulation with TMC parentcraft.

everything is fine now..

Brianne has put on weight, now she is 3.053kg (last week she was 2.84kg)

my breast is no longer engorged like rock buns but full.. the massage was painful but worth it.. Hubby was taught proper massage techniques to soften my breasts so milk can flow..

was supervised for a breast feeding session, me and Brianne did well. Brianne's suckling pattern was monitored.. i was told that my flow is good as she is drinking and swallowing well. last week i went she is sucking so hard but not much milk for her to drink

Mrs Wong ask hubby to put Brianne in their baby cot as she fell asleep after feeding then ask me and hubby to go for 45 mins break so she can monitor Brianne for us.

Cleared my doubts about Briannes' feeding pattern as well.

No regrets going there for help and really felt relieved now...

Re: Chocolate..

I do eat them and i eat bread with Nutella...

Milo also got chocolate... then we are encouraged to drink hot milo to improve milk flow..

Lenny,

That's good. Now u can feel better abt feeding her with ur BM. Breastfeeding is tough and takes a lot of persistence. Dont worry too much ok?

I am thinking of going for a breast feeding session at TMC cos my nipples still hurt when bb latch. Was Mrs Wong the one who supervised ur breast feeding session? Did u make an appointment specifically with Mrs Wong?

Re: Confinement Lady

I am not able to engage one this time cos my hime got no space for her with my parents and brother staying with me.. Plus.. i cannot stand those aunties telling me to do traditional stuff.. can go mad man.. i will only listen if they are able to prove to me scientifically..
i very jialat..

next pregnancy.. think i will engage confinement nanny from TMC Parentcraft cos i found out that they are trained by TMC so .. should be better. i suppose

Asura,

I didn;t specifically ask for Mrs Wong, my 3 sessions are..

1. Ling & Lilian
2. Ling
3. Ling

all of the staff are very professional and kind.. i really felt assured by them.. they are quite comical also.. with them.. i learn to understand how baby thinks.. and how to stand in baby's shoes.. understand how baby felt lor.. then me and hubby not so frustrated liao

Asura,

i forgot to mention.. better to make appointment cos they really busy with alot of walk-ins, they have to conduct inhouse classes for mummies delivering at TMC, then prepare for classes at night that are conducted at Ang mo kio hub.. pack the stuff that they sell at Parentcraft and stuff that they sell during classes etc..

they dun have many staff to run all these at the same time wor.. so better to book appointment

Asura,

As Brianne always falls asleep during feed, i was taught how to motivate her to continue feeding.. as in how to hold her and how to gently squeeze my breast to motivate her to continue.. think i mention to u in MSN.. i take an hour to feed her everytime..

i was also taught when to burp and when not to burp her..

hoho, thanks for advising.. cos i was thinking if I tell her, at least she will aware tt her movements will be monitored.. then dare not luan luan lai.

lenny, great to hear tt u feel better after your parentcraft session.. In fact, i called them the other day abt bb keeps wanting to be carried.. Although this is a very common problem, TMC suggested me to attend half day classes on teaching us how to let bb sleep on their own.. think abt 64 bucks per class.. wonder if it's worth going..

Oh i didn't know that we can call parentcraft to ask about questions other than breastfeeding! ok, i will keep this in mind and call them up next time when i encounter any problems.

By the way, for those mummies whoose babies are already > 1 mth, have any of you increased the teat size which is used for bottle feeding already?

Ann, yup, there's a number 24/7 tt u can call parentcraft.. u can ask anything relating to ur bb and it's free consultation..
i have not increase the teat size yet.. thinking of switching to the a bigger size soon.

Is the 24/7 number 62514090? if not, can u let me know what is the no.? Thanks!

My boy just turned 1 mth yest and today i experimented with a bigger teat and so far he seems ok but i am just worried if i am increasing it prematurely and that he might choke or something. He does seems to finish his feed much faster as previously he almost lose momentum in the 2nd half and my fil commented that the hole might be too small.. i shall call parentcraft tmr to check to see when is an appropriate time to switch.

hoho
I never drink papaya fish coz baby abit of jaundice. But heard from CL if a little bit yellow is ok.

Asura
I wanted to... But my hubby dun let me buy the deep freezer. Said waste of money and waste of electricity..
You are good.. Got so many shelves. I only got one shelve, now got 20 packets inside... But I also gave my BM to my elder girl. So can drink faster...

Lenny,

My problem isnt of gal falling asleep. More that when she first latch on, she would bite on me first before adjusting to latch properly. I think she is confused between nipple and teat.
Dont know if i should go down.. would monitor for another week and see how. Pain is bearable since it is only the first bite that is painful.

Wintertime,

I think i am starting to get the same problem as u. Though my hair dryer method works, i am looking for a way out. The half day class, we bring bb along as well?
Let me know if u wanna go ok? I might want to go too.

Devil,

Hee hee.. i got a huge fridge. So far got 28 packets of milk inside taking up 3/4 shelf.
What kind of milk bags did u get? Those zip ones or can fall flat ones are quite space efficient.
My husband leave the deep freezer decision to me. Actually cost wise abt the same leh.. FM also cost $$ mah..

<font color="119911">devil,
ur #1 oso a 2007 bb and shld b april or may rite? my #1 born on 22/4, turnin 2yrs old soon.

Re: Passport
i tink no need to change photo till 5yrs when passport expired, if i recall correctly.</font>

Asura
I am using blue egg milkbags. Your hubby at least ok.. My hubby dun like maybe coz our home very packed liaoz also... Not much space for another mini freezer. Got to see how loh...

Kris
My gal borned on 17/6/07... Turning 2 years old soon... Ya.. I also remembered no need to change till 5 yrs old...

Long time didnt come in liao. Busy over changing to a new maid.
Wintertime,
So you have decide to get a maid in the end? Not putting baby at infrant careanymore? My new maid also coming in soon hope by next week. She work in taiwan before, ever look after a 2&amp; 5yrs old toddler, but I have to train her in looking after newborn. Hope she is ok lor, keeping my finger X also.
6-in-1 Jab,
Today have bring Ethan to take his jab at GP near my place, we took the package which cost $450 include 5 jab, we using CDA account to pay. Update on his weight today he is 6kg liao double of his birth weight.
Doctor says his neck is very strong can turn when laying him flat tummy down. Actually we have place him face down when sleeping at night so he can sleep longer like that, he know how to flip his head from left to right since CL left.

am going to sleep liao just finished pumping and pigging out on what's left of the 2 dozen mini J.co donuts from earlier today. Yes! I ate 2 dozen of them by myself. OMG!

Re: bb sleeping throughout the night
Sportyger, Devil, Ann
aiyo ... it;s a misunderstanding lah. Think Ann missed out on my earlier post and thought my bb sleeps 12 hours without waking up for feeds, resulting in the rest of the forummers akso thinking the same

sa-la sa-la

It should have been read in tandem with the earlier post which says she sleeps well at night, basically in that 12 hours stretch she would go into deep sleep and only wakes up for feeds. Once fed and burped she would fall right back to sleep. It's like this everynight from 10-11pm until the next 10-11am. The start of each feed is about 3 hours apart.

Devil,
wow 360ml! Thjat's more than a can of coke!

Winter,
I don;t have experience handling maid so you might want to take my advice with a pitch of salt. thought it's better to tell your maid about the camera. After all the camera is there more for a preventive purpose right? Won't it be too late by the time you actually "catch" her on video? Just my two cents.

Re: chocolate / coffee
I eat two to three slices of bread with nutella spread everyday, along with one to two mugs of milo. Ok what. Think as long as we are not dousing ourselves with caffaine should be ok e.g. one to two cups a day.

Miss83,
I was just saying in the previopus threads that I don't like my hand me down Avent bottle warmer either. Because it doesn;t have an auto off function so if I forgot to switch off in time the milk will become scaldingly hot ... leading in huge loss of nutrients. I actually poured away two bottles of 90mls because of that. It is convenient but must really keep watch. During the day time I prefer to use hot water. I only "warm" up enough to take the chill off the milk, not really warm it.

Asura, Devil,
wow so good that you guys have plenty of leftover to store. My girl drinks 800+ to 900mls a day, so I hardly have much milk left to store. Only managed to store 4 days worth of feed so far. :p

Kris,
I'm so sick of pumping!

jtho,
I feel really blessed while at the same time, really sympathetic towards mommies who have a hard time. Think I would have given up long ago so really admire you ladies for your perseverance. Makes me all the more ashamed if I cannot BF for 6 months at least. So tempted to stop heeeeeee bad mommy!

Fairymoss,
have to be organised lah. I used to be a very messy and disorganised person at home but given the circumstances I have transferred all my planning and organisation skills from work to home. Hahahah no choice, if not there is no way I can survive a day alone with baby without turning the house upside down as you've said.

I do think that you need some amount of light inside the room for night feeds and diaper change etc. My room is almost complete darkness at night when she sleeps, then once I hear her making noises i.e. waking up, I will swing my foot down to the floor and use my toes to switch on the lamp. I put my table lamp on the floor instead so that in the event my hands are tied with bb I could still on-off the light easily. And because the light origins from the ground up, it doesn't light up the whole room, just the areas not blocked by stuff. Just enough to let me see what I am doing but not overwhelming as to wake bb up fully. Works for me lah.

I really don't like the sound of your CL. Even complained to my hubby about your CL. hehehe complaining on your behalf.

Caca,
*big hugs* give yourself a break ok? I agree with Ann. If BF-ing is causing you so much stress that takes away your enjoyment of your bb, then it might be better for both you and bb if you accept FM as the staple for your bb. On another note, if you are still persevering, how about getting the hot stone from Mdm Rokiah? Since she managed to get fountains out of you during her visit, mightbe worth using the hot stones on yourself too.

oh sh*t ... can't believe I spent so much time here. No time to sleep liao. 45min before she wakes again. oh no

going to catch a wink now byeeeeeee

cindy - hahahah im not that worried la.. i think end of the day, bb will knw who is the mum... recognise my smell no matter what... =) hee . hanky panky - my hubby is waiting... LOLOL... i told him wait til i pass bb ovr to my mum ba... at this moment i stil look after her everynight and she so erratic... wait halfway she cry... instant deflation... LOLOL

jtho - so fired CL already or not? she ought to be shot in the head.

SG - my bb wears rompers in the day. at night then i let her wear sleepsuit or long pants/sleeves... =)

sportyger - *hugs*

fairymoss - wa ur CL really one kind also... must deduct pocket money liao.. LOL

ling - ya... dun let ur bb sleep with her! lucky my mil doesnt stay with me nor i with her.. if not dunno how man...

lenny - why cannot eat dang gui? ive been taking the black chicken soup with dang gui every other day leh... oh no... affect MS? diaooooo... i didnt knw lehhh... maybe thats why my ms so little... kns!!!

caca - *sayang* dont stress urself babe... u shld talk to ur hubby... dont keep everything inside of u wor.. very very xin ku de... or u cn keep coming here to rant n rant like me.. LOL.. =P abt bf, i dont latch anymore.. i only pump.. my supply is also very little.. 1 time ard 30mls now.. so i jus put in fridge and accumulate til enough for her feed lor.. usually only enough for 1 feed/day... all the other feeds i give FM... nwadays a lot of bb drink FM.. in the past also la.. everyone has turned out fine right? take things easy okie?

Serene - what fm u feeding? when my bb was taking enfalac also very heaty and constipated... now i changed to friso comfort &amp; stage 1 gold... today she pang sai 3 times wor... day by day she seems to be passing more frequently... previous on enfalac she pass once a day or maybe even in 2 days... dn she wil cry becos cnt pass the sai out...

Ann, nope, tt's not the number.. there's this mobile handphone number which we can call.. i will ask my hb tomorrow cos he's always the one making the call.. will post online once he gave me.

Asura, yup, we have to bring bb alone.. so during this half day lesson, TMC will teach us and bb how to let them sleep on their own and not coax to sleep by carrying them.. my hb suggested me going too. let me ask him.. if we are going, we let u know ya?

Jasmine, ya.. change my mind abt putting in infantcare.. cos my dear mummy agrees to help me jaga the maid for me.. so grateful to her.. how come you are switching maid??? ur previous maid contract up already? althou there are many horror maid stories, i will still give it a try.. at least maid can settle all household chores and help to take care of bb.. I hope to have some private times with hb too should we decide to go for a quick massage or movie together.. else now hor, everyday is all abt bb, no more couplehood times liao.. but we also agrees tt once we are back from work, we will take over the care of bb so that we can bond with bb.
wah.. ur boy so fast double liao har?? think my boy still under 5kg leh. birth weight is 3.3kg.. is my boy underweight?? hmmm..

alfafa, yup, shall see how.. now looking at the cost of installing the camera.. i kiasi a bit, though have someone to jaga, but surely there are times that she's alone with bb(should me and hb decides to have some private moments outside).. so better play safe to install camera

cindy
i oso noticed lately tristan giving me less poo poos. at most 2 times a day. sometimes he one day nv poo, the next day he poo 2 times and each time is really a big business type..

re: bed dancing
my hb has been asking me when abt 1 mth post-delivery. but back then still got lochia/menses. now left abit brownish discharge think going to clear soon. think by then shd be in 6wks after deliver. But i Got PHOBIA!!!

previously, one mommy here mentioned tt she used a mirror to see right? i also went and copy cat. haha. and it somehow freaks me out. jia lart. think i have sexphobia. i worry that i might get hurt. anyone same as me?

queenie, same here my bb also sometimes can constipate for 2 days then poo...else twice a day..if he din poo, quite cranky..but his stool very soft kind dunnoe y refuse to poo everyday...haha..
erm ,i'm also 1 of them who use mirror to see coz of stucked locia...looks so different rite? me too scared get hurt too... =(

missycandy, i also bought friso comfort...see if my bb will poo..haven let him try ye...but the way, norm. avent teats ok hor? coz i see the instructions like advise use bigger teats. =)

(milking)

re: bed dancing (queenie, i love how u tagged this, so cute.)
*shy* we started already. have been thinking about it but no mood nor energy to initiate, but my hubby did in the end. was 5 wk plus then.

but hor ...

the first time we did it i was in pain *sniff sniff* :~(

almost wanted to give up but ... didn't want to disappoint my hubby so "dong" all the way. we had to take it reeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaally slow n easy. i was so tensed n even gasped several times ... not out of pleasure hor mind you ... from the pain. Lucky my huby didn't stop, nor did I ask him to, cos I figured then that if i couldn't go through w it at that moment i probably won't for a long long time to come so i die-die wanted to finish the deed. was physically not enjoyable at all, but i was mentally happy that we have resumed our couplehood though.

2nd time i started off equally tensed and it still hurt initially but it was soon almost back to normal. V happy. *shy shy*

Mine was a c-sec so I was totatally unprepared for the pain. It wasn't a wound pain, it was my insides actually. Seems messed up. It was so tight it was really painful. Plus it felt like there was something blocking halfway that needed to be pushed out. Felt a virgin having sex for the 1st time in that first try, except that the pain lasted throughout instead.

I subsequently googled for "painful sex" and c-sec and found a US mommy forum discussing about this. Apparently not uncommon. Those mommies also described the same pain as what I've experienced. Feedback came from a mix bag of both normal birth and c-sec mommies. Some didn't dare to try again until several months later. :p

nitez mommies

<font color="119911">alfafa,
wow 12 donuts all by urself, dats a lot!!

me too, sick of pumpin especially the nite pump, i wake up 2x to pump, sianz.

wintertime,
my fren who installed cam. told the maid thrs cam. in the hse but din tell her whr. the cam. was useful to her coz she sack a few maid, catchin them doin funi things wif her boy.

Queenie,
my #1 was natural n i dun dare to have BD till half a yr later coz scare of pain, worried dat the wound might tear n oso i pump till 6mths n store my EBM so my ger can drink till 1yrs old.

alfafa,
so c-sect even after the wound heal will oso have pain ah? my #2 is a c-sect, i tot will heal faster but anyway nw at nite wake up 2x to pump, whr got energy n mood, haiz.</font>

Hi all March mummies,
I just gave birth to my girl last Friday, she is officially 1 week old today.
Just wanted to get some answers from experienced mums who are successful in breast feeding.
currrently my milk supply seems very low, not too sure how much she drinks when latch on. But when I tried to pump, at most I get 10ml on 1 side. Yesterday, bf at 3am, baby din wake up at 5am, so tries to pump out at 5:30am for 20 minutes, din even managed to get 10ml for both side, was very demoralised after the pumping session, cos i was perspiring and trying very hard but the amount of milk is pathetic.....
worse thing, baby wakes up at 6sm, wanting milk, CL took out the EBM that I have accumulated over 3 pumps(about 30ml) yesterday and give to baby and she finishes everything...
Was wondering if baby had enough of milk from me....If each time I can only supply 10ml,then confirm not enough....
think I am getting post natal blues for breast feeding already....

Is it that my milk supply have not come in?
or is it just me who cannot give enough milk to the baby?
TIA for any advise.....

bokie:: have you felt any engorgement yet? Did you latch bb on? At this time is best to latch bb all the time to promote milk supply buildup!

alfafa:: so courageous of you.. i also csect and i also don't dare to bed dance.

queenie:: aha last night my hubby came in, i so tired, i dozed off, i heard him mumbling, so sad, thought today can **** i say i really tired maybe tmr? WAHHHH looks like i must give in liao man!!

DEAR MOMMIES,

enjoy the HOLIDAY!! long wkend for hubbies to help out! YAY!!

hi Cindy,
I felt my breast getting heavier and harder at Day 3, though it doesn't get as hard as a rock....not too sure whether it's engorgement or not... so everyone should get engorgement if milk supply comes in?
I let baby latch on whenever possible...
Day 3 and 4, baby latch on for 3 hours at night and refuses to let go....

Queenie, not too sure, but i guess it won't be mrs wong who is teaching bah.. there are many other staffs there..

Kris, thanks for advice.. u wake up 2x to pump at night.. i don't have tt discipline.. me woke up only once and then concass till morning..

bokebiegg, keep on latching.. don't worry, u r normal and doing quite okay.. my ms only comes in on day 5 with 5 to 10ml only... continue and u will slowly build up your MS soon. keep latching and pump out after tt if you have the time.. all the best..

sportyger - *hug hug* ignore yr mil...show it to her that having ms is better than none....at least u r trying yr best and the least thing she can do is to demoralise u....

wintertime - i oso dun have the discipline to wake up twice at night...most of the times i try and schedule pumping onli once in the night thats all...but when it comes to the time when i have to go back to work i dunno how leh...sighz...so tiring to have to wake up and pump

cindy - its been ages since my hb and i did it...hahaha...seriously oso no mood and condition not able to....

bokebiegg - tink yr MS will gradually build up soon...it should come in another few days or so....

Alfafa,
Yeah.. This time I have alot of milk.. Maybe due to the food I ate...

You so fast started on bed dancing already? Very painful leh.. Will it affect the stitch for natural birth?

Bokebiegg,
jia you on bfing... Keep on latching baby is the best way to get more milk supply... And drink more red dates and longan water and more soup items..

i need help!

i finished my confinement and my CL to left yesterday. and now i'm thinking of engaging another carer for 2 weeks. anyone of u who just finished confinement and had a very nice CL, can recommend to me? thanks in advance.

Alfafa, ah, i see! sorry to have caused the misunderstanding
i have tried out your burping method but still no burp .. so i just have to feed him with his ridwind now and then to make sure he doesn't get gassy.

burping is now my biggest bugbear ...

Wintertime, will look out for your posting on the no. Thanks!

Missycandy,

Lenny is right. I heard the dang gui thingy from Mrs Wong too but my lesson was way back in yr2005. Seems like I swear by Mrs Wong's teaching. I could remember what she said and taught till this day. why not u try to skip dang gui and see if any diff to your MS? Jiayou!!

Alfafa, very envious of your MS. My CL thinks my boobs are like tap, suka suka feed bb ebm 1.5hrs after latching. whenever he awake, would think is hungry and stuff with 100ml ebm. I wonder if bb is really hungry and it happens that this week which is wk3 for him is the so called growth spurt, so perhaps CL is right in stuffing him milk all the time? I find it hard to catch up with the pumping. I only pump at 2hr-2.5hr interval and yet she's giving ebm at 1.5hr, so i could never catch up. other times I just latch on and hope bb dun fuss else CL would say not enuf, must give ebm liao. just latched bb and put bb back to his rm. CL came in just now to shove bb to me, saying that she's bz in kitchen. I complained to my best fren and hb last night abt CL and hb said he would drop hints to her that let me rest as much as possible.