(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

lemonT, your girl is so cute.. can i check with u.. you just left your gal on the tub.. won't she slip.. think the toughest thing when bathing my boy is he seem to slip..

iceblue, u got see the dvd that come with the sling.. carry bb on your shoulder then let her sit in the sling then put her head down... alternatively.. u can try wad my mum do.. she will adjust the sling to the lenght she wan.. then roughly guage where the bb is.. then she will put the sling flat on the bed and put bb in.. after that then lean body forward loop the sling over shoulder..

btw mummies, for night cleaning-cleaning ur baby's body etc// usually mus b4 wat time? i mean cant too late, scare baby catch cold rite? but yst cos baby asleep. i 10pm then clean her!

lochia: also regarding tis.. my lochia yst sort of no more seems to..cos lght brown a liner could manage n smtims clean..but tdy FRESH Red agn! is it normal? nw alrdy 33days liao

ashleigh,
u can roll your bb to prone position (sleeping on tummy) but what i do is use my entire hand and palm to support cheek and chest at same time, turn him down, then put the other hand on the bum and rotate baby then gently lay him down. Once rotated, use the 'bum hand' to move his arms aside so that his face doesnt rest on the hands. Hope you understand what i'm tokking.
About water, yes, i give water all the time, esp to delay a feed.

Why not just stop by supermkt and buy the milk?? hehehe. My hubby also cannot calm my bb down, but he's very good at talking to the baby when he's not crying. He will tell stories and do puppet performance. haha

Privi
You can sew your own clothes?!?!?!

Yan
Let's set up a club called the panda-eye club...

olivey
i buy fm overseas spree. go to the spree site : http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/590029.html?1237802506

LemonT
my bb is 5 weeks, his last nite feed is 150ml FM at about 12am. He still wakes at 430 or 5am... i dunno what kind of bottomless pit he has for a stomach... but yest he fed at 12am, woke at 6am screaming for food. heheh... that's because he din sleep from 10pm till 12am the previous night, so i think he was more exhausted than just having a satisfying feed.

iceblue
aiyoh... relax! you make me feel so gan cheong for you also! Your bb seems to have reflux problem. Last tm for my elder one, the PD tot my bb had reflux problem (but dunno how he diagnose, actually the problem was that my bb had a cold and stuffy nose which had just begun and the PD din detect it. I fired the PD after that) Anyway that PD presribed using a FM that is not so watery. (Friso dunno what. It's not the regular Friso) And since it was not easily available he asked me to buy thickener (used in baking) to add to my FM so that the FM is thicker and will sit better in the bb's shallow tummy. just to share for info... i knoe other remedies are tt the doc will prescribe sm kind of med for bb.

tofu.. me really dunno many thgs leh.. once see her vomit i panick..haiz

then does it mean tt wen we make milk dun put too much water?

iceblue
did u take your bb to doc. It looks like the reflx problem as tofu says...Do take some advice regarding it. done make it too late for your bb at night for cleaning coz it may catch cold. make it bfore 10 and keep it the same time every eve..

tofu
me join the panda eye club too !

my bb is 3.55 kg , how much do they feed at this weight and he is 4 weeks 3 days already

Priviledged
thank u for ur info

Breana was supposed to be due on 02 feb but she was so active that my waterbag burst 3weeks earlier.

tentatively i m SAHM (MUM cum MAID :p... my aunt, i just got to know shes a trainer in montessori, told me that best to start as young as possible. >3YO will be abit tougher to teach. when they r <3YO, they r like a sponge, they will absorb alot. yday, i bought Dr. Tiltzer's multi-sensory reading approach on "Your baby can read" &amp; "Your baby can learn". it comes in a bundle $129 @ Taka. this morning when i played the DVD, both of us were like glued to the TV!!! so amazing! now shes talking alot to herself &amp; smling.

iceblue
is ur baby on FM? FM normally make a baby put on more weight.

tofu
boys tend to drink more... but not overdrink cos their intestines still very small. mayb ur boy got good digestive system?

oh yah, i forgot to add on, after my baby's feed at 8pm, she will stay wide awake till 11pm for her last feed of the nite &amp; then she'll Zzzzz throughout after the 11pm's feed.

mrslim
u using the same tub from fisherprice? there's a barrier which divide the tub. the place where shes sitting is abt 1/3 &amp; theres a non-slip mat.
2278070.jpg

koli
haha.. i m wondering whether other month's MTB discuss such topic anot or as horny as us anot.. hahaha...

Whitegalz
u can BM ur baby even if u r sick... just dun take any medication &amp; dun pass the virus to baby. infact, its best to EBM during this time.

tofu,
It's been a long time since I sewed anything on a machine!! I think I probably forgot all also. My dressmaking patterns file also MIA liao. My mum recently bought me a new sewing machine, but up to today, I haven't taken it out of the box! I prefer to sew my own clothes cos I find the stores don't have anything suitable for me. To fit my big bum and broad shoulders, I end up looking really ah mah.

LemonT,
My kids also watch those videos. Before 3, a lot of teaching and learning would go on informally. Like reading, conversing, colouring etc

LemonT
ur baby is like "model" baby lay.
regarding learning DVD, u buy from Taka fair?
Also, i tot baby now still cannot really see very well? so will they be able to watch tv?

Priviledged
Woah, u can sew ur own clothes huh...so super lay.
u know what, now outside charging $5 to 6 dollars just to amend the pants length lay....so expensive..i was telling my hubby to go buy a sewing machine for me then i amend the pants length myself..if i amend 20 pants, my investment in the sewing machine would be recoup liao

Re: Baby update
Since returning back from the hospital, baby's drinking pattern very jiat liak. 1-1.5hr drink like 50-60ml....my god.
All my previous effort of 100ml per 2.5-3hrs all down the drain.
btw, he turning 2 month tomorrow.....

olively,
Yes, it's a great skill, even for little things like alterations and mending. Saves money. *haiz*, just no time for these things nowadays.

my bb got little bits of green poo again. Really wonder if it was the xi yang cai. Hope it's not some stomach bug. It's not consistently green. Was nice pumpkin yellow all of yesterday. Today started off yellow, afternoon and just now, bits of green, like a smear of green poster paint. So weird. Could it be the vitagen that I drank?

Priviledged

i encountered the green poo poo too.
Throughout the day was grainy mustard yellow poo poo with once or twice green, a bit hard poo poo (not alot).
I tot cos he took some medication that why hence did not take much notice.

tofu.. not very sure how u put him on tummy.. hahahaha... i need visual aids!! Today i put him down and his face facing left.. 15mins later when i check on him, he is facing right!!

I have been sleeping with my baby in the baby room (don wan to wake my hubby up for night feeds).. i end up with plenty of rashes and blisters.. not sure if its the TILAM thats causing me problems.. its so itchy!!

avocado
frankly speaking, i didnt train Breana. she just sleep thru herself. what i did was trial &amp; error.. &amp; i adjust her feeding time tat's all.

initially, i was like u, abit heartpain, worried whether she'll be hungry anot. however, during dayime, she drink on time so its ok for her to sleep thru the night.

there was once when she was 6weeks old, she slept from 11+pm till the next day 11am. imgaine 12hrs no milk. thinking she'll be hungry so i gave her 150ml instead of her normal 125ml. she gulped her milk very fast, w/o spilling &amp; had leftover 25ml exactly! no matter how i stuff the teat into her mouth, she simply just reject. thereafter, she was back to her normal 4hourly feeding. we really cant underestimate babies brains. they r smarter than we expected.

Priviledged
oh ur kids also watch the videos? tat means i m on the right track!

mrslim
i bought the tub during the Matel warehouse sales last dec at $40. i think retailing at $79.90. actually, after buying it, i feel that not worth it.

Bought the last bundle ($129) of "Your baby can read" ($99.XX) in DVDs &amp; "Your baby can learn" ($54.XX) in books, from Taka.

i will be going taka again 2morrow to see if anything else to buy, let u know if those items still available.

olively
not model la... we must share what is good &amp; what is not ma... haha

yup, bought at taka fair. Breana can see abt 1m &amp; she respond to lights n sounds. old folks will say no good to watch TV.. but i think otherwise. shes very KPO also, when we r talking loudly, she also want to join in the conversation w her baby talk! haha..

isetan scotts also having sales.. gonna checkout 2morrow!

50-60ml for 1-1.5hr is the same as 100ml per 2.5-3hr la.. smaller &amp; more feeds good for digestive system. dun be so stress. baby healthy most impt
.. HAPPY 2MTH OLD!!!

Milk Stain On Tongue. Any mummies clean for Babies?
anybody cleans baby's tongue? all the milk stain on the tongue. i remember at Parentcraft, they say if latch on, no need to clean. but EBM? must clean?

lemonT
i dont clean my bb tongue. However i notice that after sometime its clean on its own. If u are worried probably can give a little water and see.

Priviledged
Do u sew your clothes ..wahhh..u are right ..it saves a lot of money. Here i cannot wear certain clothes cause i cannot sew

olively
i was afraid she'll reject my milk after cleasing. tat was wat the lactation consultant say too. but like wat Ramy says, can give water &amp; also Wintertime, a swift wipe.. mayb no need too clean. leave abit of stain for her to hv the taste :p

thanks Ramy &amp; Wintertime!!

LEMONT, me thinking going taka fair tml also.. u going alone or with little breana.. if breana is going i will keep a lookout for her.. haha

LemonT...Ya, agree, ur baby really like model baby!
I seriously dunno when my boy can sleep from 12-5am!! haha... Now I only hope he can drink every 3 hourly instead of 2 hourly... One step at a time la..
Oh, today I removed my boy's mittens and when he was drinking milk, he scratched himself
Always cant find the rite opportunity to cut his nails! Cos he must be fast asleep before can cut, and need me to hold him while daddy cuts..

iceblue... My boy also vomit a lot of milk. What my mum taught me is that halfway thru feeding, must stop and burp first. It did help. Also, I realise the reason why he vomit milk is also becos he very gan jeong, drink very fast, so suck in a lot of air, hence will vomit the milk. You mentioned that she will kek til face red isit? My boy sometimes also like tat. It is usually cos he wanna fart/poo, which can happen during feeding too. So I will stop and let him settle down, burp him abit, then continue feeding.

my bb seldom vomit milk.. but he alway hiccup after milk.. how? see him hiccup very xinku.. and he alway make noise after every hiccup.. it won't stop.. drink water also no use.. he will end up crying if he hiccup too long..

by the way the milk stain from BM no need to be clean.. but i feel no harm just a wipe.. i think this allow bb to be use to opening mouth for u to clean.. so when he grow older, when u need to brush his teeth or while teething to massage his gum.. he won't resist...

re: cleaning bb's mouth

ive been cleaning my girl's mouth since 1 wk old. shes now 6.5 wks and so far, no problems with her taking my milk or latching on. when i ask my pd if i shld clean her mouth, she say yes; especially the tongue. use sterile gauze and boiled water instead of towel. i also clean her palatte, the inside of cheeks n gums.

Yan, how nice you lost so much weight, but you sound very tired, must get more rest when possible.

LemonT, so nice, your baby can sleep for sooo long at night, mine still wakes up every 3 hourly. Breana looks so comfortable sitting in the bath tub...relaxing herself...

Peachmomo, really envy you, your hubby is very hands on, good leh, my hubby so far only help me carry baby when she cries too loudly.

Ashleigh, I also started to let my girl sleep on her tummy, find that it makes her sleep longer too. I support her neck and chin and then straight away put her in crouch position down on mattress. Desitin is for nappy rash, for the face, you might want to try baby california's calendula cream or aloe vera cream. Btw, the blisters and rashes you get from sleeping on the mattress sound like bed bugs.

Iceblue, for night cleaning, I only do sponge bathe, have to make sure that the water is warm enough and close all windows and bedroom door.

Priviledged, my baby also got a bit of green in her poo yesterday and today. My mum asked me whether she had a scare...
kao_confused.gif

blueb
we should remove Baby's mitten when they r 6weeks old so that they can see &amp; manipulate their fingers. my hubby was so concern abt her scatching her face too &amp; i got scolded alot of time. i told him the reason for removing the mittens &amp; assure him that i'll trim &amp; soften her nails. now he keep quiet when he see how Breana plays w her fingers

mrslim
hiccups is ok &amp; wun be too long.. normally,i will carry Breana, head on my shoulder &amp; pat her back. if it doesnt stop, i will put her down &amp; it will go off in awhile.

i cant bring Breana to taka cos i need to go alot of places.. taka, isetan.. &amp; also settle my renovation. bring her out, hv to take so many barang barang.. baby bag &amp; fridge-to-go... aiyo *faint*. since my mum is off 2morrow, i m taking the opportunity to throw baby to her :p &amp; run my errands. ha! u bringing ur little Noel along??

LemonT &amp; mrslim, do share with us on good deals at Taka fair ok? My cousin smsed me last week that the maclaren stroller is selling for $89, not sure if the promotion is still on but sounds like a really good deal.

Sandy
thanks for sharing... wow.. imagine my Bre hasnt been cleaning for 9weeks :p.. haha

spicegal
yes, she loves her splish &amp; splash time!

spicegal
Maclaren $99, UP$315.. its a good CATCH! got 3 colors orange/blk, red/blk. grey/blk. its gd for daily use &amp; its very light. for 6mths-4yrs. i was considering but i got 2 hands down stroller aldy. hubby grumbling :p... anyway, i overheard Taka has 2 baby fair yearly. the next one probably in Aug. if 2morrow cant resist, mayb i'll buy &amp; keep! hehe...

my baby has been drinking non-stop from 7pm till just now. he basically drank, rest for a while and drank again... wide awake all this while. so unlike his usual habit. finally, he just slept and i do hope he will sleep longer since he has a fuller stomach.

wonder what mil had done with him today coz i left him under her care in the afternoon.
or is it his growth spurt? if it is, that'd be great! he drinks about 60ml every 2 hrs.

really? maclaren for $99? i was in town earlier, if i had known this, would have grabbed one!

haha, lemonT, there is always a reason to get 1 more. i also keep looking at strollers but so far, controlled myself very well. but i have 5 slings, hee, coz i use that very often.

Shirlyn
wat else can ur MIL do to ur baby??? play &amp; carry her whole day lor.. cos tats wat my mum does! all grandparents same! haha

5 SLINGS??! OMG! i dun even know how to use it.. i find the MIM one not so user friendly or mayb i wasnt comfit w it. the BabyBorjn looks good but very EX

Mayb i'll grab the Maclaren stroller 2morrow.. haha KS sia! :p

hey gals, how to make ur babies open their mouth so that u can clean them? My gal refuse to open her mouth, tried all kind of positions, head down, grab her jaws etc.. unless she is hungry then she will open..

i bring her to my MIL hse once a week for "spring cleaning".. haha..

today pissed with my husband again, got another wedding to attend and as usual he drinks and I got to drive.. cos we were sending his frens home,then he was like so concerned about the safety of his frens, "TEACH ME HOW TO DRIVE".. tell me turn more, turn less, keep left, keep right, even stopping must also tell me to stop.. walao.. i cannot take it lah.. i also got my ego one leh and i had been driving in peak hours to work for the past few months lor, what teach me how to drive.. walao.. halfway, i tell him i want to change driver then he still nvr catch the hint, still continue his turn left turn right.. until when we were about to reach home, he lectured me and warned me twice to remember some "mistakes".. bloody hell, then i make a swift turn and tailgate the taxi infront to show my displeasure.. really feel like scolding him but i see he takes care of my gal and me so well when i was sick, then i keep quiet.. dont understand, since he feels he is a better driver then dont drink lor.. want to drink, cannot drive yet say so much.. so angry, duno where to vent my frustration.. really feel like waking him up now to scold him.. tis is not the first time somemore.. last saturday also like that, he was even more drunk and then baby halfway home hungry and cry.. i must give him instructions on what to do somemore.. so afraid he will not take good care of the baby.. last time baby in stomach,nvm.. now baby out liao he still drink so much.. stupid idiot leh

mrslim, iceblue, sorry sorry leh, didn't pop in this thread. the similac milk powder is bought in bulk by my hubby. his company got this abbott person coming in to sell in bulk so he ordered 14 tins at one go, costs 470 plus i think.

then as my gal can't take in similac well, so got to sell off, and changes to nan.

But all sold liao...

i think the abbott person just came like once a year to his company.

btw, my boy garna something like hand foot mouth, so currently my girl is with my in laws....miss her, cause can't see her for 1 whole week. i am taking care of my boy myself. great bonding time, but miss my girl leh.

she is 2 months plus old liao, 5.2kg, only drinking 120ml every 3 hourly...

peachmomo,guess i m another lucky one like you having a good hubby. my hubby will help out with changing diapers, taking care of baby at night, feeding etc. while i am usually the lazyyy one, and the one who talks a lot but does little. haha.

iceblue, my gal vomits a lot after every feed so i change her milk powder to nan from similac...

btw, guess most of your menses haven't come, mine came but haywire. 1st one not so much, then 2 weeks later came again! now very heavy! aiyo, really haywire, hope will be back to normal! else will lose too much blood. haha.

ashleigh
check ur mattress see if there is bedbugs. bedbugs only come out at nite.
my hubby put bb on his tummy and sayang her..she keep quiet.or carry her walking around in hse

LemonT
my mum bought me a solution call mouth paint which is use to clean bb tongue with damp cotton
can bought from neighbourhood medical shop. it clean bb tongue veri clean
me going taka baby fair today as got facial today at 3pm
iceblue
my baby bath for morning between 8-10am , nite bath between 4-6pm

whitgalz
u shd let ur hubby with bb more time even sleep with baby. they will wake up to take care bb in wee hrs automatic
my hubby will check diaper, see if is feeding time , nt cold or hot for bb or just want carry
last sun i went out left my bb with hubby for 5hr.

something to share for panda eyes
i went for a focus group last sun first time mum
one mum share using excess breast milk n apply on eyes bag,it help on panda eyes

LemonT, good deal hor, orange/blk is nice, I already have 3 strollers at home, now itching to buy the maclaren one...haha...for slings, I prefer the sling pouch to the adjustable one. I have 3 all from lucky baby, find them very useful, especially when you dun feel like lugging the stroller. http://www.lucky-baby.com/p_products.asp?cat=Reversible%20Slings&amp;cID=1

Whitegalz, I put my little finger between her lips and then slowly push into her mouth. My girl also refuse to open her mouth to let me clean.

kkf, you are another lucky mummy.

Qingsiew, your hubby very good also, can handle baby for 5 hours, think if its my hubby, he will surrender...haha..

My hubby is very bad with taking care of baby even though this is my 2nd child. But he helps to take care of my older girl, bathing/making milk/putting her to bed.

lemonT,
me might be bringing my boy along... dun really wan to leave him at home with maid only... will be there around 3 plus too.. hee.. if u are there ard this time can spot my bb.. haha.. since u see noel photo only.. kkf, if u see noel there come say hi to his mummy too k.. lolz..

whitegalz, my hubby also like to give" instrustion" while i'm driving... so sianz... and it make me kanchoeng... without him ard i can drive smoother.. as he got this bad habit of adjusting my steering wheel while i'm driving.. aiya.. guys ego bah.. they wan to show guy are better driver.. so everything if i see a guy who cannot park/drive properly.. i will just laugh out loud then suan him.. see not all guy are gd driver, and not all woman are lousy driver..

spicegal
my hubby slowly increasing help with me
if one short give him , he also surrender.
during confinement, i dun have CL me n my hubby take care ourselves with help of my inlaw with cooking &amp; washing.. thinking back is nightmare

now better baby sleep from 10am to 6am, wake up awhile for pacifier around 4plus,at nite room must be dark n aircon , baby must be wrap n wearing full attire with long sleeves.
if must on lights use dimmer light

whitegalz
just as gingsiew says ..u should leave the bb with him at night and then he automatically will get up and take care. And regarding drinking ..i dont know if am allowed to say this ...but u can tell him to control a bit as u need to take care of bb and he needs to take care of u two ...if he drinks then its not responsible.... Regarding driving instructions..i have always seen that when a driver sits in the front passenger seat, they always instruct the driver how to drive..so better make him sit behind !!..i ask my hubby always to sleep when i drive and he sleeps !!!..i put soothing music and he goes off to sleep !