(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

re: big boobs
my boobs has been big evern b4 2 preg. but i must say not much milk leh. my hubby teasing me everyday, he also worried i wun lose the weight haha dun care for the moment. just hope to build up my body first

re:scare at night
ya ya... i also same leh sartayeo. i so scare at night. listen to her stretching also wake me up. so scary. dunno can cope not.

re:bathing
what to do . my mum can nag for days so better dun provoke her. she said can only bathe next monday so be it. hubby said i smell sour, i ask him like lemon? he laughs! so bad

issit better to
(1) latch one side pump the other side, or
(2) to latch both side 15min each?
will baby not get enough hind milk if we do (2)?

sartayeo:
yah, e milk is very thin when i pump too! dun really see much fats when placed in fridge...

amelia_xu:
my gal oso like tat, very stubborn... she can really keep up crying until we carry her... so when i'm busy, i let her cry lor...

i'ching:
i see... no matter wat u do, dun feel guilty... i noe it's easier said than done, cos i've been there too... was really adamant abt giving formula... so when pd said have to, i was plagued wif fears and guilt... on 1 hand, i wanna continue try total breastfeeding... on e other, e 2nd pd i went said babies need calories and cholesterol... if they dun get it from enuff milk, they'll take from e brain! scared me so much, tat i'm now still obsessed wif her weight... so, juz keep doing wat u're doing w/o guilt then... feeling guilty makes it worse... i oso felt tat my supply can never keep up wif demand, but e supply will come... it takes a while, but it will!

koli
Sympatise and sad to hear abt ur stories. I guess it all apllies to more tha 1 bb. Me too felt hubby is not that supportive either. He just bought a new car few months back and totally obsessed with his car and when we ve extra cash, he tend to use his to purchase his car accesories. At first i'm ok but its seems like he's too much till i voice out. Not really on good terms also but i dont care. For my case, he approach me but i ignore. I'm too tired and too fed up to hear abt him apologizing. Used to it already so now i mind my own biz. I know he cant resist my gal coz he's been eyeing for one and now he got one, he's happy so what i do is keep a distance my bb and him and he feels so sad. I told him i dont care since he care too much abt his car. Keep calm and ignore ur hubby. Make him feel left out as u urself ve ur own things to attend to so dont care. He will tend to realize it.

Jas
Only first 5 min of hard glupping is foremilk so if you feed for 15min on each breast, your baby is getting the hindmilk, no worries. My baby takes about 15min each boob to empty it these days. I think as they get older, they get better at suckling properly and emptying the breast at a shorter time.

my boy at 3 weeks drinks abt 900 ml in the last 24hours.. is it consider too much?
Today after his shower at 11am, he couldnt go to sleep! The weather is so nice some more.. but he can only doze off 10 to 15mins and then start crying again. Me and CL tried everything.. change diaper, carry him, feed him... i'm so worried..
he jus managed to sleep at 6pm.. i hope he will sleep longer.

mummyo
hmm... automated sarong? sounds gd.. mayb can install in my new plc :p

i've heard abt latching will increase more BM.. but its really too tiring. i really admire u yah.. u r really a cool & hot mama.. lol

I'Ching
i swaddle my gal every time she sleep for the 1st 5weeks, using towel w/ hood, not so warm.. & she sleep very soundly. even when my dog barks, she wasnt startle at all. now coming 2mths old, she sleeps like a "da" character & soundly too. mayb she's in deep sleep, tats y nothing can startle her.

i got the bean pillow from Kidz loft.. think got my smell, tats y she sleeps well too.

u can be a TBF mum too... fenugreeks or goats rue, soups r supplements. Very importantly, beside pumping at an interval of 3-4hourly @ 1hr each pump, u must not only pump in daytime but nite time too. its a 24hrs activity. u hv to continue the frequency else the brain will start to adjusting again to new frequency, tell ur body u dun need milk the next morning. i did 24hr non-stop for 3, 4days to regulate my milk flow. even now, i still wake up to pump & can yield avg 1litre+ for a total 5x a day. tat explain y a BF mum is always very tiring. its tough & need alot of determination & encouragement too. JIA YOU!

Amelia Xu
bean pillow is placed on baby's chest, not stomach. its to make them feel secure. it works for my baby gal.

qingsiew/ cin
great! mine plc is CCK Ave 4, 5mins from LOT1. Yup, we can meet up & even learn how to prep baby food later.. me temporary a SAHM. so if got baby fairs or sales, we can meet up & go together!!! i can volunteer to be all ur chauffeur :p

cin - u got a tough & difficult CL ya..
Sandy
"jiu bing" will attract ants anot :p

sheepish
haha... my hubby used to be very active in his own Airwave club forum. he stopped cos i made alot of noise & face black. now his turn but i bochap! wahahaha :p

i seldom latch little Breana now. Pump more & i make it a point to drain all milk out, tats y it took me 1+-2hrs in ebm.

Better to choose a PD tats near to ur plc. tats y i m look for 1 in CCK.

Ramy
When baby's eyes r drooping and kept stretching.. they r just feeling sleepy but yet wan to play. my gal will be in this manner for awhile & then sleep by herself. its ok.

Priviledged
i m also doing the same as u in the combination of self-soothing and holding bb to sleep since day 1. i think its mother instinct & my gal has got used to it aldy

all mummies should try Priviledged's method.

sartayeo
i use Ameda Lactaline electric pump, so just sit there for e machine to work on for abt 1-1
+hr.. so even when no milk ooze out, doesnt mean we hv no milk. then i'll take 30mins to compress one by one.

i m a chili padi like mummyo.. but me a fat one.. wahaha.. i can be very nice but i wun allow anyone to affect my mood. my mil oso staying w me & now we r all staying in my parents plc. she even bullied my mum. but when i appear, she quickly go back to her room. shes ok when she dun talk but when she does, nothing good comes out, typical cantonese mil. but she met her match & is afraid of me.. hahaha

we exercised option on 11 dec, had our 1st appt on 30 jan & completion on 11 mar. we did manual submission tats y take 3mths. if submit thru resale net, it takes only 2.5mth. tats e normal procedure. hmmm.. how come urs so long?

dun stress urself on ur baby's little action. else u will go into depression. relax & enjoy e whole growing process

I'Ching
babywiz got e contact of a distributor for NAN Pro.. but must buy a min. 12tin est. SGD$29 ea.

prices of mamypoko in m'sia & sg, diff of SGD$0.04. dunno whether NTUC still hv e offer anot. mamypoko $21.35/ 72pcs. UP $24.

ashleigh
3weeks old, drinking 900ml in 24hrs is ALOT!! BM or FM? if FM, u hv to watch his feed cos baby hv small gastric. if BM, mayb he is taking in more foremilk then hindmilk. anyway if he didnt vomit, pee & poo as usual, shld be ok. boys take in more

if ur boy is still cranky, can apply abit of "Ru Yi You" to smoothe his tummy. sometimes may due to colic.

its formula milk..
we gave him 80ml per feed.. but he usually want another feed in 1.5hrs to 2hrs.. how to control? if not enough, he wont sleep.. so far he only vomit once and din vomit a lot..

i am sooo stress n worried now..

woah....this is the first time i slept for more than 5 hrs...i think i slept for 7 hrs straight.

but jiat liak , cos i never pump...plus i wear wired bra yesterday and this morning....aiyo, hope will not affect my milk supply

I'm new here but have been reading the postings here since pregnant. just give birth on 12 feb 2009 and needed some advise here...

wish to order tingkat meals for lunch and dinner after my confinement end cos my mum is going back to her own house... any gd recommendation? thanks...

ashleigh
try to increase to 90ml, if he finishes & sleep well, maintain. but if he didnt finish it, its ok, just throw away. u need to trial & error. sometimes baby is just being cranky & need attention.

if he continue to be cranky, it can be ear infection (if he keep shaking his head left or right). this is due to running nose. u hv to observe as it something not visible to us. mayb u shld consult ur PD.

dun stress & worry. i know its easier said than done. when my little gal was warded when she was 27days old, i was worried but not stress as i hv care for her & to hv a clear mind to understand all e terms e docs were talking abt. Give ur PD a call for assurance

olively
wahh so envy!! i've been awake since our 1st chat in e morning till now
.. go braless when ZzZz la.. quick go ebm now, sure alot! haha..

Yan, yeah this is what I do too, while holding the legs and making the 'nggg' sound, I will also wipe her bottom with wet cotton wool, soon she will poo some more..haha...yes I have an eldest girl aged 2.5yr old, during my confinement month, she sleeps in another room with Daddy, while my mum sleeps with me and baby, for night feeding, my mum and I take turns to do feeding, so still quite ok. You sound really upset coping with your boy's emotion now, try not to get too stressed up, do shower him with more love and care, he will understand eventually.

Iceblue, I used the sling pouch to carry my baby when I go out alone with baby. Find it easier to use then the sarong sling, but bigger babies then to feel more cramped in a sling pouch as its non adjustable. The sarong sling is adjustable so its more versatile, but you need to master the technique of slinging. Hope that you will find the bag as useful as I do ;p

Whitegalz, thanks for the link.

Sandy, sometimes its the cutting of the brand of diaper which makes it unsuitable for some babies, my eldest girl also experienced diaper leaks when she wears pampers so she has been on mamy poko all along. I find that Huggies Ultra have small and slim cutting.

Sartayeo, sorry not trying to be mean, but why need to give cakes to your mum's colleagues? You are the one giving birth, not her leh. For me, I only give to my mum's best friends.

Ashleigh & Koli, FM must be consumed within 1 hour, FM more then 1 hour will invite 'wind' and will cause colic or stomachache if your baby drink it.

Mummyo, I ordered mine from sweetest moments. Nice packaging and looks expensive. The cake is good too.

Ramy, I am using pureen milk bottle cleaner to wash the milk bottles. Pigeon and Tollyjoy ones are good too.

Full Month
Finally ended my confinement, yesterday celebrated baby's full month at my cousin's condo function room. Busy day but worthwhile cos like a gathering for all the relatives.

Hello Mummyo,

my boy suck on one breast can at least 20 mins shld at least at the hindmilk liao right however he will be hungry within an hr else if heng can tahan till 2hrs lo...sigh....confirm have milk cos he keep on gulping....

prob he just digest super fast and also pee alot

lemont:
when u pumped for 1-2 hrs, does milk still come out past e 1 hr mark? cos now when i express, i pump till i see no milk coming out then i stop liao... din noe i shd continue... yeah, agree wif u on e distance... but was thinking will not see pd everyday, so shd be ok lah...

LemonT:

Wow - you've really done your price calculation and conversion on diapers! Yeah, we've just started my boy on the Nan 1 which my sister bought for us from M'sia. Will see how it goes. After that maybe I'll get the Nan Pro 1 from Babywiz.

Thanks also for encouraging me to pump more - will try do so more often. Today, I think coz I pump more often and also maybe due to the papaya soup I took, I've yielded 70 ml total so far - a bit more motivating for me-lah. But since I'm an older first-time mom, my energy level not as high as some of you young moms...

Also, people always tell me, oh, pump alone will not increase milk - must latch... But obviously you're an example that mostly pumping (since you said that you hardly latch your bb now) can also yield enough milk.

All mommies:

I live in Clementi - any moms nearby would like to meet up sometime to exchange notes or vent our frustrations?

sheepish
yes, theres still milk.. droplets.. then suction goes on.. after 5mins, i think pores open up & more milk ooze out & e whole cycle goes on again.

LiLi
20min is more than enough on one breast to drain. 1-2 hourly feed is normal. Maybe he does need more milk but put him on the boob again if he's hungry within the hour. Your supply should catch up with demand in a couple days. Mine was like this last week but this week he seems more efficient in his suckling and feeds every 3 hourly. It could be a growth spurt too and he needs more milk... Just keep latching... BM supposed to digest easier than FM so baby will get hungry faster.

Lemont
I not cool or hot. Just lazy... to wash all the pumping supplies and stuff so direct latch is the easiest for me. Hahahhaha. Plus somehow my breasts refused to be milked with a pump (any pump cos tried out all brands over the course of 3 babies) so very demoralising. I really admire those mummies who can pump gazillion gallons of milk out... So envy but i guess I no need cos I work from home so can latch baby on whenever he's hungry.

Spicegal
Thanks for your feedback. Will look at sweetest moments.

amelia
last resort to calming ur boy is to sleep on his chest but u MUST really sitting there to watch him. my boy only calm when sleeping this position

Koli:

You shouldn't feel that way! The best that you can give to your gal is your love. So, even if you're not able to give breast milk for whatever reason, you're the best mom for her as you're giving her the best you can. Don't beat yourself up for giving FM.

My husband also keeps reminding me that just becoz I'm not TBF, I'm not a bad mom. I'm still working through the guilt part

A nice quote I read somewhere about motherhood: "There's no way to be a perfect mother but a million ways to be a good one."

Yaer,
We order from Kim's Kitchen. Palatable. Nothing beats home cooking though. Neo Garden was quite ok too. But more ex than Kim's. Have been having tingkat since a week before I delivered, that is, just about 6 weeks already.

Hi mummyo,
automated bouncing sarong = automatic yaolan?
Do u switch on the electric motor and rock yr bb thru' out the night? I switch off after 15-30 mins.
My bb always want to be carry, after confinement my mum is back to her place and I am alone with bb. My bb sleep well in the yaolan hence I can have time to ebm and do other things.
But kinda worried that difficult to wean off.
My niece about 15 months old still want to slp in yaolan.
How do u get yr boys to wean off?

koli: i dunno diarrh gd anot..but tdy i went out to see doc..haha smre tdy rainin damn heavy wif the wind.1st try go out nt succes wind too strong. end up turn back hm.aftn then go stil rain but wind nt so strong.

lemon T me nw on gynae med..seems getg bet..but nt fully n med finish liao. cant drink plain water think i hav to drink more longan water liao

privileg:
hws the food wif kim's?can giv me the contact?any website? tdy i called meihao99..but delivery to my place is 3-4pm! so super early leh

spicegal: the bag looks great wif the gd space! waitg for chance to use

lemont/ashleigh
900ml a lot ah. my gal drinking 960ml for 24hrs leh. some more she girl leh. i also worried she is drinking too much. she is totally awake today. i suspect she got flu. saw the confinement lady cleaning her nose, ask her is it got flu she denied. wait tomorrow see how. my gal eyes big big till now.

iceblue
i also lao sai 3 x today but not stomach ache leh, just come out like that. very shiok

hi question - for those mummies who gave birth via normal delivery at Mount Alvernia single bedder, roughly hw much cash did u have to top up?

Priviledged

did they provide lunch and dinner together? i've checked their website but it didn't state... if have do u know how much?

koli/ Ashleigh
wahhhhhhhh!!! all ur babies drinking alot leh.. my gal 7weeks 5days old, weighing abt 5kg & length abt 60cm is drinking 750ml within 24hrs.. 90% hindmilk as i can see e thick BM in e bottle when i take out from fridge. just increased to 140ml per feed 2day.. will monitor & see how it goes

me too, enjoy e "flushing" system during confinement :p

iceblue
so long it doesnt bother u.. it shld be ok. remember to drink lots & lots of fluid (dilute e longan water, if its too heaty for u). else u'll be dehydrated.

I'Ching
Me too a 1st time mummy @ 32.. most of them here in early or mid 20s only :p..

my cuz TBF latch on for 1st yr. for 2nd & 3rd yr, she supplement w FM. her boy refused BF at 4yrs old cos he was being teased by us.. haha

Me moving to CCK soon... oso in e west... mayb can meet up when mostly settled w our little ones yah.

Thanks for e quote! i've noted it down & will do a big print to constantly remind myself

koli
there's no worst mummy around, only mummy who don't try their best. since u've tried, FM is as equally good too.. only thing is, it cost $$$ :p

mummyo
"Cool" as in w lots of knowledge & able to look after 3.. "Hot" as in, u r another chilli padi.. wahahaha

So happy 2day!

Little Breana responded when i called her name & thru singing. she was smiling & baby talking alot to her toys when i placed on her gym mat too.

Being able to watch her grow day by day, i think all e effort & sacrifies made is worthwhile.

I'Ching, LemonT: Dont worry, you'll not be the oldest 1st time mummy here. me @ 38. :p
Another excuse for not so good BM supply, must be engine old liao. :p

thks lemont

misscandy: me took 1 bedder, my hubby stayed in, mine is natural delivery assisted wif epi. my bill is arnd 2.2k(aft 5% credit card discount, think its posb)

Grace Chua
hahaha... no one is too old to be a mummy... i hc a customer, she had hers late too. so in order go after her kids, she exercise alot to keep fit. shes really a model for me
.. think e older a 1st time mummy is, e stronger ur determination yah.. correct me if i m wrong

iceblue
u r most welcome

DK,
i used to have the same nausea symptoms as u when pumping out my milk..
Oni until recently its seems ok.. my baby is now 6 weeks old..

Baby Poo Poo
I'm now feeding baby EBM and latching on at times.. I noticed that recently baby nv poo much..
sometimes not even once in a day, the next time she poo den it will be a lot.. I wonder if this is normal?
The GP at polyclinic ask me to drink more fluid, i did but it doesn't seems to help..

Lonerunner,
Previously my baby also gt nipple confusion.. I tried cup-feeding but in the end she cried even worse..
Somemore her feeding timing very irregular so cant predict when she is going to drink milk..
I was on fully expressing for quite sometime.. After her 1st month, i slowly try to latch her on again..
Latch your baby on when they are not so hungry or when they are slping so they will accept your breast again..
Actually to avoid nipple confusion, its best not to introduce any bottles for the first few weeks.. after that should be ok already..

LeMonT,
How long is your interval when u pump for 2 hr plus? i realised that when i pump for 1 hr to really empty the breast, the next time i pump, the milk is nt that much..

koli, my gal is on total fm too.

Mummies mummies! think i am going insane how? i m very afraid i will go insane!!!

yesterday night, my gal was cranky fr 12 to 4am!!! she kept asking for attention, and was like hungry. when we fed her, she drank, but cried while drinking and couldn't drink much! so she was hungry again and couldn't sleep, kept wanting to be carry, then fed her, same thing she cried when drinking milk. i really dunno wats wrong! IT had been like this for past few nights! going to bring her see padetrician. then my boy was also coughing and at would vomit. so i got two children driving me nuts!

i lost my temper, and was really pulling my hair. i think i am going insane...

regarding lao sai, i also lao sai quite a lot during my confinement cause of the food, esp after eating the pig trotters.

KKF

that is terrible. i go crazy when one is cranky...but now you have two...
Quick bring ur gal to the PD, there must be some discomfort that why she is cranky.
Me also bring my baby to PD. he kana cough, phelgm, runny nose. poor thing

sartayeo,

she came to see my stitches during week 4, then say cannot start yet and she will come back during week 5. But i think she forgot. i also never sms her cos i scare of pain. finally she sms and came and do the massage on week 6 lor.

kkf: my bb also cranky, since this morngin 6am. now CL carrying him. put down cry, hold him ok, put down again, cry again.

lucky now still got CL, so i can dont care and surf net now.

poor u kkf!! We hear u. It's tough when kids r sick n cranky. I got a feeling that your bb has wind. That's why she was hungry n yet can't drink.

Satoyeo, privileged
Thanks for tips on how to make bb sleep. I m ok with patting n carrying him for awhile before he sleep. But dun like cf to rock 30 mins for him to deep sleep. That is very bad habit. Cos we do that to my older son n till now he still can't self soothe to bed. Me scared man. Whatever bad habits we did to our older son, we try not to do it to the younger bro. If not I Cham.

Today take good look at my tummy. Although deflated already but very flabby. I can even flip up n down. Aiyo!! Like flipping roti prata. So sad!!

Backache
R u gals still having it? Me still feel very achy. When will it go?

My son is 2 weeks old today!! Time flies!!!