(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

Sorry, haven't log on the past few days cos really trying to be as hands on during the day while CL is still around. I really can't wait for CL to leave this Friday morning..After that, haha.. night feeds will be handled by me liao.. that's going to be another big challenge.

My son's facial injury seems to be better and still following up with neurologist.. When he cries, the eye cannot close fully. We hope that it will heal completely in time to come.

He is currently drinking 90ml but seems to get hungry faster in the day. Called the PD clinic just now and the nurse advised me to step up his feed amount to 120ml per feed to see if can drag longer.. cos i realised that at certain times of the day, he gets cranky really fast, such as within 1.5 - 2 hours. I tell you, when he gets impatient and starts to scream and wail, I get really mangzhang leh... In total, he drinks abt 850ml of EBM and FM in 24 hours.

Although my boobs are big(even before preg), don't think my supply is good lah. Suffered engorgement twice over last week.. so painful until cried and got husband to help massage and later pump and get cabbage. The cabbage seems to help after I placed it over night.

My son will be 4 weeks old in a couple of days. Time flies. All I pray is that he has a routine so that I can manage him alone once CL leaves.

Any of you have brought your bb out alone?

Lili
The one guardian pharmacy carry is the Desitin Original or Desitin Creamy? I tried a few pharmacy but they have only the original.. so in the end i got it from my PD.

GT
u have intention to bring ur bb out? Hee.. was thinking of that too!

Btw mummies, how long it takes to get back to shape? Next sat is my bb shower.. n I still have a big tummy.. no clothes to wear unless I wear my maternity clothes.. So many aunties came and commented on my tummy.. depressed!

the simz,
i feeling blue also..moved back to my inlaws from my mum's and things didnt pick up..in fact, with two aunties hawking over me..worse..

further more whenever baby fusses and opening/closing her mouth before her feeding time is here, confinement lady will say my baby need pacifier soon cause tt's the consequences of latching her on..machiam like blaming me.

i know i am courting trouble but sometimes feel like i will be happier taking care of bb alone..want to do wat then do wat..more control..now absolutely no control over bb..but no choice, have to wait 3 months..

here, even when bb sleeping, they on their TV so loud and talk so loud..even when the confinement lady carrying my bb to sleep, she will be chatting with my mil so loudly..gosh. bb's ear so fragile..dunno whether the high decibel will do any harm anot..

i feel like getting out of the hse and not coming back. like u, i miss single life very much (made me feel like a horrible mum) but really really miss not having a baby..

wow seem all your bb is eating alot... my bb only take around 90ml.. and most of the he can't finish... how? but his weigh gain seem okie.. now he is 5kg lor... at 5 wk... me now bottle feed my bb with FM and BM... my bb also alway cry when feeding him if he very.. dunno why he hungry should drink mah why cry seem like he very impatient..

me bring my son to go compass pt using sling.. at the mall he very busy looking around...

i love to spend moment with my bb alone... at home, my MIL and maid keep snatching my bb away.. my MIL & maid alway wan to carry the bb when he cry, sometime i get so sianz as its seem like i'm not a gd mother alway rely on other to take care of my son. and tell them.. "it my bb, i will know how to handle, left us alone"

sartayeo, i fully agree.. taking care bb alone is happier.. me move back to mty MIL place after confinemt, now so tired abt all sort of comment my MIL and grand MIL made.. and they keep giving my son water.. ever when i told them that dun give too much as its not gd for bb.. and they like to give bb pacifier even he refuse then just hold it there for him..

mrslim,

wish i had the guts to say 'leave us alone!!' to my mil and cl..
but if i say that..then it wld be paisei when i need their help later if i cannot calm my baby down myself..hahahhahaha

athlete.. me same as u loh.. fully FM.i also get over my guilt liao.but tis wkend havn my baby man yue,i hav a coleg super crazy over BM n nags ppl who do not do so. once she knws sure nag me de

thks to al mummies on the cream advise.

Salute Mrslim,
I feel like telling them off too.. but can only vent the anger on my hubby. Sometimes I also feel like telling the confinement lady to go and I can handle the bb myself.. keep using her old method of taking care of the bb..

Sartayeo
Bb opening and closing mouth before feeding is their reflex. So it's not ur fault. Anyway, the teats are designed to the mother's breast. So it's not your fault. Don't let ignorant remarks upset u. Must let the confinement lady know who's the boss. Haha..

im felg the bluez too, do miss the days wen only 2 person smtimes..lik so bad. mayb bcos i no confidenc yet to handle baby tts y i wil lik tt. mayb i wil be happier wen i can handle baby well. probably be lookin forwrd to lots of fun as a family of 3 tgth!

me also mao dun lah. CF occupy my baby(at the same time im the guilty party of doin my own thgs while she tak care.) me lik alot of thgs no do myslf..courting trouble lor.cos she be gone next wk

Mrslim,
my hubby also tell me to go over to his mum's place during the day time after the confinement lady is gone. My grand mil also in that house.. and she's a old teochew.. not easy to handle. That's why was quite depress on what will happened to my life after confinement..

If only I can squeeze back to my office attire, I will go back to work after this one month. I can donate my balance 3 months to someone else.

iceblue
your confinement lady leaving next week? That's fast! Then u must be very bz this week trying to hands-on the bb..

The CL keep scaring me that the bb will be cranky for the 1st few days after she's gone cos the bb not familiar who's his daddy and mummy.. so upset.. make me feel so guilty for being a queen for the past few days.

simz: i actly got tot of go my MIL place sia.. but prob go there liao i wonder wat shld i do there? cant surf net, cant rest etc..haiz mao dun mum..think shld change my nick to MAO DUN

next fri wil e her last day!i dunno happy or not liao. smre tt day bringin baby to jab. hubby wil take leave tt day. but he dun hav much leave cos cmpny kp force leave..so 23rd he be wrkg im alone! : (

i think its true de.cos baby used to their smell liao. heard sm CF wil leave their shirt or smth behind. me nt gd terms wif CF dun think she wil leav anyth

Privileged
So totally agree with you. I'm very afraid i'll want another baby! Really can't afford to, financially and mentally so I'm trying to savour every moment with this last baby now. They grow so fast but at the same time, so tired out with lack of sleep so hope he grows faster and can sleep through the night soon.

With Baby Alone...
Such a luxury today. Just me & my baby. My two older boys went to in-laws place and husband is at work. I forgot how enjoyable it is to have just 1 baby and can lavish all my attention on him.

Ramy
Seriously. Get the automated sarong thing. It was a lifesaver cos I was like you with my #1 last time. Carry him until so tired. Helps when you don't have anyone around to help carry him too. It's like an extra pair of hands. My son is the same, he smells me or hears my voice he will instinctively open his mouth and wants to latch on. Plus he cluster feeds from 8-11pm hourly last 2 nights. Have to draw the line. Cannot let him use me as the pacifier, if he wants a pacifier, give him a pacifier.

Iceblue
Your last sentence make my day. My 1st laugh of the day! Thank you so much! You really want ur CL to leave something for u ah?

Think i will try out a weekend with my hubby to take care of the bb. If really very difficult to cope then I'll just throw the bb over to them and i will stay at home. Haiz, such irresponsible mum.

haha altgh i also bu xi han.but if she leae smthg tt is useful at the end..haha then tak lor

ur MIL wil ok meh? baby wif them u at hm?haha gt so gd one meh?

Hi The_Sim,

I am using the creamy one but i didn't knw there is two type man omg.. if i manage to find creamy somewhere i let u knw..

but are there any diff between these two version??

priviledged

cos my gal is a breech baby... she is born at 37 weeks 5 day... the doctor said tat she will not be head down oredi cos he tried to manually move my gal head down but cannot... so it is just waiting for time cos it can onli be c-section and making my gastric pain worse... thanks and will try ur recipes...lolz...

The Simz

my confinement will be over in 2 days... so happy!!! can finally drink my cold drinks!!! but oso abit sad cos my mum will be going back tis fri... me oso scare dun noe whether can handle the baby alone anot... but i tink our mother instinct will guide us along... so dun worry too much...

actually the whole BM thingy is stressing me up...sometime will suddenly cry for no reason... i wish to fully FM but can't help feeling guilty abt it especially my gal suspected to have cow's milk allergy... so been expressing and expressing... but the supply can't meet the demand...

priviledged:
kim's kitchen allow u to direct heat their tingkat over fire?
i check wif neo garden.wah a lot of terms conditions.1 they stated is no such action

yaer:
try not to so fast drink cold drink bah, even cold pls dun put ice also. cos actly sm observe 40days confinemnet..hmm i believe the longer we try dun tak cold drinks it would be bet for our body?
cos drinks go inside our body directly bet try avoid. haha as for touch water i think stil nt tt bad ba

for the milk mayb u try confirm wif PD on the allergy first?then u slowly decide. i knw hw stressful it is.i cry several times over it lor. let go liao i fel relieved..anyw my frens kids also fall sick leh.. smre they fully BM

Simz: u alrdy learn hw to bath ur baby? me decide liao 2 days b4 CF leave i mus try bath baby myslf.. ignore the Confinement rules.. anyway my baby born 19th feb mah.. 1 mth later(19mar) i touch water shld be ok lah , dun care. rather then i kp panick..scaly the CF purposly try to hai me haha kp dun let me touch water want me suffer aft she leave

iceblue,
u raelly change yr nick ah!haha..
anw, u sure u wanna move to mil's anot..will they control the way u take care of bb? or u dont mind giving them control?

i think my baby used to my cf's lady smell also..she always hold her so close to her chest and always hold her to sleep when she fusses..so good luck to me next tue when she leaves..
i hate it when she can calm the baby down whereas i cant..its my baby for god's sake..

keke cos i think im in a super maodun stage nw..vry lost lor.
i dun 1 move there jus lik wat simz hubby suggst to her. jus day time go over..haha even so im thinkg i can survive alone the bt 1hr journey to MIl anot.

they can hav control bah..me dunno much .last time lik so smart think dun 1 ppl control tis n tt..nw aft this CF period vry appreciate gt family's help thg gt thgs cant agree on.but no choice til im competent engh i bet be gd n close my eyes..bth eyes

u earlier than me 2 days! mus share if me ur experience..haha we bet not hug each other n cry! we mus jiayou!

the simz: i will also be handling the bb alone when the CL leaves. I am super lazy, leaving CL to handle all the things now. By then if I can't handle, I think I will sure stress up.
So target to start handling the bb from this Fri (hubby on leave) on my own with CL's help.

Luckily my CL v encouraging. She says sure ok one. and can call her for advise when required.

grace: u really hav a great CL.mine is only knw hw to suan me lik tt. i wipe baby mouth lik so scared hurt her.she also say me GAN GAN LAH!
i think i read ur earlier post regardin ur CL she seems gd person.

me next wed goin to hands on.wen ur CL leaving?

iceblue
the PD oso cannot confirm it... my gal stool got blood after a nite of FM during hospital stay... the PD can onli suspect it is cow's milk allergy cos he oredi did watever test or x-ray he can do and everything is fine... i ask the PD is there any test for this but he said dun have... so no choice loh... can onli trial and error...

sartayeo: my CL also leaving next tues.
I also felt v discouraged when the CL can calm the baby down and I cant. feel really incompetent. being a mother, really got a lot of things to learn.

haha..earlier than u 2 days..more depressed than u by 2 days also..hubby keep saying i find problem for myself..i wanna close my eyes to everything and let the aunties take over too..but sometimes just pissed off i dont have control..

wa..1 hour journey back..on public transport or driving? i got fear of taking public transport with baby and she cry and i cannot calm her down..then everyoen STARING at me..

haha nvm lah at least the very worst case u stil hav the aunties to help.

ya cos my hse bus damn kuku de. i nd to tak a bus to mrt,to tak mrt to mil side.then aft t nd to walk 10 mins then reach.ya tts wat i wry too! smre my baby cant dirty de,sure cry lik luan if she poo

go my mum place even longer more than 1 hr.

can onli give her BM and those fully hydrolyzed milk for the 1st six months to build up the immune system 1st.... den slowly see whether can change to normal FM anot...

grace,

yup... the PD refer me to prof quek at NUH cos he is specialist in this.... me seeing him tomolo so hopefully can get some gd news...

thanks all for the encouragement... dun noe why my tears keep rolling down when posting all this messages... haiz...

iceblue
bb will still love mummy smell, dun forget bb stay in our tummy for 9 mths

The Simz
U can be able to manage ur bb , dun stress yr too much

Sartayeo
the first mth is scary , but i believe the 2nd mth onward will be better

iceblue: my CL is not perfect lah, but ok enough for me. she also likes to do some of the things her way.
sometimes i also open one eye, close one eye though we have already told her.

my hubby is the fussy one. :p in the end, sometimes i'm sandwiched between them.

yaer: u steady de! go rest dun think loh! tmr see the prof wil hav solutions liao

qingsiew: keke aft i bath wif normal water m xiang xiang hp she wil lik my smell more .

grace: haha my 1st CF me the one in btw them, nw 2nd CF its my hubby kena sandwiched

yaer,
can come here to talk talk anytime..i also almost cried just now while posting..just feel so frustrated and upset..

jiayou jiayou jiayou!!! u r a wonderful mummy and things WILL be better..

iceblue,
i am trying to keep myself stinkly..cause the smell stronger..then hope it means my baby will remember my smell more ma..hahahhaa..

haha tdy is my hubby bd! he also vry poor thg . cant go out cant hav celebration. stil nd to help go medicine stall buy those herbs thgs

wen we steady can brg baby out liao then giv him a gd treat! he's been a great help al this while sia, mus treat him eat gd food !keke

yaer: good luck!

confinement mood is like that one lah, sometimes i also breakdown easily. just 2 days ago, i was expressing the milk and only like little bit collected, then i cry.
luckily hubby consoled that a little bit also better than nothing. just keep the supply going, dont always have to think about meeting demand or up the supply can liao.

Yaer
EBM is tiring cos still hv to wake up in e middle of e night to pump & painful too for nipples & aerola at times.. but not as much as latching.. thumbs up for mummies who latch on 100%!

1st month i aldy hv alot of BM. but bcos i wasnt well & not enough rest, there was a drastic drop in BM supply. therefore, in order to increase e flow, i EBM min. 6x, 3-4hourly for 24hrs. i went sleepless for a few nights & finally by 2nd week, i cld yield approx 1litre. till now, i try to EBM 6x, if not at least 5x a day.

i didnt know gynae can anyhow ask a mummy to c-sec just bcos of gastric pain mistaken for contraction??? or was ur gynae trying to make more from u?

Amelia Xu
whats e reason ur folks give not not allowing ur baby to wear sock??? socks is a MUST for infant, even till 1yr old. PeachMoMo is right, purpose is to keep them warm. imagine us adult, when our feet are cold, we r aldy so uncomfortable. let alone e vulnerable little baby!!

qingsiew
yup, i definitely wun miss out the SALES!!!! Hahaha...

The_SimZ
*raising her hand*.... yes yes.. me too... handling baby myself, day & nite
+ housework, laundry etc... now my mum cook 1 dish for both lunch & dinner for me but i move to my own plc, think i hv to consult Priviledged for her receipes :p.. haha..

cheer up gal! we r all here for u!! JIA YOU!

GT
God will be gracious to u & baby... hang in there!!

i think most of us here went thru wat u did.. engorgement. when baby reaching 2mth old, u shld be able to read his pattern. set e routine for him. i remember Sandy or Whitegalz was saying... baby likes repetition. repeat every thing u do to him & they'll get used to it. i've tried & it works

I've brought my gal out 2weeks ago. took e MRT to meet my hubby.. i was so clumpsy w e sling & baby bag but overall i enjoyed :p

mrslim
if i were u... i wld hv rant at them. baby is mine & i hv my ways! i m the BOSSB!! (agree, The_SimZ?) if u dun give them a peace of ur mind, sooner or later, they'll feed ur baby anything tat is edible. i've seen alot of such cases. babies not only spoilt by grandparents, when they r sick, its partially due to old folks giving e little ones whatever they r eating too.

boys hv heavier bones than gals, my gal drinking 130ml TBM 3-4hrly, weighed 5kg @ 7+weeks & shes chubby

regarding car seat & stroller, if ur hubby not in favor, ask him to carry baby all e way :p.. once he get tired, he'll get those stuffs

iceblue/ The_SimZ
dun be afraid! pick up from here!! we can learn from experienced mummies like mummyo, priviledged etc.. oso some of e mummies here read alot, they've been sharing w us. for eg, Sandy shared w us on foremilk & hindmilk.. etc... we trial & error .. & we shared it here wat was e outcome... its free & u can Q & A too! so good right?! haha..

when we brought my gal out, shes so bz looking ard too! esp in e car, she kept looking outside e window. my hubby says cos shes been confined to 4 walls at home so when out, shes attracted to e surrounding.

sartayeo
mayb theres alot of resales tats y it take a little long than usual for ur house. well, my reno, i reckon it'll take 2-3weeks... was a main contractor b4 & still hv my sub-con's contact, so coordinating everything myself.

actually, upon completion, seller hv to move out. any letter draft by agents/lawyers r not recognised by hdb shld any dispute arise. btw, u r aware ur sellers not staying there free. they hv to pay u rent & settle e sp services.

hiya PeachMoMo

happy to see u again!!! u take care & hope u coping well w little Justin!

think mayb we shall all go swimming w our little ones in their float? hahaha

glad to know i am not the only mummy who is 'overfeeding' baby.. so stress, scare to hurt his intestines etc.. but today i try to delay his feed, play with him as much as possible before giving him his milk.. try to drag to 2 hours and beyond.. so far so good..

my CL is leaving on fri morning as well.. i already self declared confinment over! hehehe...