(2009/02) February 2009 MTBs

cat, can also be towel or cloth diaper..any long cloth will do..ya naomi also still prefer to hold on something..even holding on to her spare shoes also can haha

whitegalz:
my gal had fake measles end of last mth... as explained by sandy, e spots are a sign of e virus... for me, i din noe she kenna fake measles until e spots came out... my gal's spots were gone in a few days, and they din cause her any discomfort... so no worries!

overload:
i'm using combi urban walker, quite lightweight as compared to urs... yah, very tempted... but really no need rite? u and i sahm, better not anyhow spend money... haha...

whitegalz:
my gal's top 4 teeth oso came out altogether! wah, caused her to be more susceptible to virus... tat's why got fever (found out it's due to sore throat) again... then became flu... so sian, cos felt like juz yesterday when she had fake measles... oh well, at least she's much better now!

whitegalz:
and 1 more thing, e rashes only appeared on my gal's face and body... for her, it was tiny red spots all over... not patches, if tat's wat u are asking...

anyway mummies,

anybody having difficulties feeding bb textured food? my gal was taking textured food very well, until recently... think cos teething, so dun wanna chew... keep spitting out... but now all 4 top teeth came out liao, still dun wanna chew! how?

cos she dun wanna chew, i've been giving her fish everyday! she not sian ah? then i dun dare give her cabbage too, cos even if cook until soft, she will still spit out towards e end... when will tis season end?

haha Sandy, u have lotsa ideas! ok will try that. Currently we hold onto a mobile tv playing her fave video to motivate her to walk while she hold onto us. We cant hold her hands, she'll take her hands away. She doesnt really wanna use push walker to walk too and yep she's cruising her way, still cant really stand unsupported but she'll let go and try for a very short while.

As for feeding, ya she wants the bread, she'll move herself forward to my hands holding the bread opening her mouth and her hands coming to grab at same time, but few times i gave her to self feed, she'll end up holding, putting on the table and then throw it onto the floor, but she'll eat when i put into her mouth. Haiz. I did try putting on her plate but same thing happens.
Think she does like to be praised, ok shall praise her more and see if she can learn better! haha

Re Stroller, i guess taka baby fair shld be coming soon? i remembered exactly 1yr ago during taka baby fair, they were selling the Maclaren umbrella stroller for only $99, so regret not buying. Maybe can wait to see if any good deals this yr.

ginn:
now my gal has e rashes like wat u mentioned, behind neck and ears... tis time is in patches, so probably heat rash... cos she was really perspiring a lot, despite her hands and feet cold to touch...

happy:
oh...so i should learn to be patient then. i was afraid that she would choke if she puts everything in her mouth that's why i opted to feed her myself

shoe size:
my gal is currently size 5 but have to buy her a bigger pair coz i can already see her toes passing through her shoes! this bb gal got really big feet! :D

bbyang:
love the photo of him with the teddys! adorable!

sandy:
that's what i'm doing right now, give her 1 pc at a time and then she'll put in her mouth. but if i give her the container, she'll definitely get 1 handful!

sandy, thanks!

ginn, sheepish, her rashes are dots dots on.. on her tummy n face.. today my mil brought her to doc cos her eyes red.. will it affect the eyes?

My gal's body yellow yellow.. the doc says too much carrot.. what other food/fruits will cause it?

carrot, pumpkin, papaya, sweet potato, how abt tomato?

what else?

whitegalz, hmm if heat rash dun think it'll affect eyes. COuld it be she rub her eyes too hard or powder or something got into her eye? But when my gal was sick, her eyes were puffy and little red, think too heaty or tired out from fighting the virus...?

BB yang, my gal also on 4milk feeds a day. But i'm trying to reduce milk intake per feed hoping she can eat more.

Btw where to buy those bowl that can be stuck onto table?

whitegalz:
red eyes, no... but my gal had puffy eyes... so i oso dunno if will affect eye... oso gd tat she's brought to doc lah, for ur peace of mind...

if e rashes on ur gal are patches, think most likely heat rash... but if everywhere on face and stomach/body, it's false measles... at least tat was e case for my gal...

Overload, u also using maclaren ah...same leh... is urs the pink one too... think our girls got alot in common ah... haha...

Agree with u its heavy and bulky. Then recently Mer likes to take her hands out of the strap, so it looks like only her waist is belted. V dangerous leh... suddenly I think the strollers with the tray in front look safer liao....sigh... anyway, she also dun want to stay in the stroller much when we go out, so I hv not been tkg it out of the car when we r out. Make everyone take turn to carry her or hold her hand to walk and she can sit on baby chair in restns lor... still thinking if I shd get a light stroller which has the tray in front so that it is safer and also easier for me to handle when alone with Mer... but also no idea what to get. LOL.

Mer also had fake measles on her birthday. The rashes subsided in a few days. No itch or anything. Our PD says dun need to bother or be concerned. They will go away on their own with no scarring.

Sheepish, I think our kids are all going through the food spitting phase now. Mer does it to me as well. Just got to give many mini meals throughout the day lor. Nothing much we can do if they spit also... sigh.

I also started to add minimal seasoning to the porridge to entice her to at least finish the portion I give her la... but sigh, somedays she finish, somedays she dun. Worse still she is no longer able to sit in the the high chair for the entire duration of her meal. And I refuse to let her out until she finish. So usually end up with cranky and upset baby that refuse to eat and v frustrated mommy. Sighsation!

Ginn/Mibebe,

Yes, patience! hehe

Sandy,

I think there is another product avail in the dept store that performs the same function of holding them str up but without holding their hands, but quite ex... but isnt it safer? use tshirt, later the knot give way how? hehe

DJ,

Xavier also starting to reject his porridge and often after few spoonfuls, he will start to shake his head, these days getting him to finish his porridge is like warzone aiyo!

happy,

yes..its walking wings (http://www.upspringbaby.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=3) ..i have that too..received that as a birthday gift for naomi ..its like a "life jacket" that the baby will wear it and theres 2 straps that suspends upwards for us to hold...naomi prefers the cloth though because the walking wings is warm and she only walk for 2 min and tried to remove..the t-shirt/cloth method got no knot..its only dangerous if you let go of ur hand

just got back from pd for routine check and chicken pox vaccine and taking flu vaccine next month..haiyoh, pd says can start seeing dentist already and i went huh?? and she said yes, should start seeing dentist since she has so many teeth..and she commented that her food is too healthy (faint)and asked me to give her more table food and oil cos oil gives more calories..

sandy:
serious?! i bought a toothbrush, i duno where to start. i still use washcloth to rub his teeth when bathing him...just as a "procedure". I dun think my "teeth monster" allow me to brush his teeth decently..
i dun think there's any wrong in giving healthy food leh... his porridge is still plain with no seasoning, all natural. but my colleague say shld start abit of seasoning, cos ultimately they are going to learn to take table food. I do let him try what we eat, but i do not deliberately add seasoning or extra flavors to his porridge.

cat, i thought so too ..healthy is good but she said they might turn out fussy cos they are not exposed to variety of flavors..but she said anything excess is bad even flavouring..just enough to expose them

Re: Sandy's suggested walking wing
it looks like my walking assistant that i am using also :D hahaha good for my hb cos he's taller. as for me, still ok if i hold her hands, i dun have to bend down too much but definitely better for her cos she doesn't have to extend her hands so up high... i would prob test with Sandy's method first cos i think some baby would not like such restrain...

Ginn:
it took me very long to train baby how to self feed too cos previously she also what ur baby does, pull my hands n feed her or take the food near her mouth and then chew without letting go. I dun think she knows the concept of pretending tho, i think she simply has not found out that she could let the food go into her mouth and "eat"... we also praise n clap a lot as encouragement...
oh ya we also feed ourselves with hands in front of her (like give her an example) and show her our hands after we put in the food... n say "no more"... i hope i dun confuse u... but this method works best for us since she is very vocal, she likes to imitate us. she likes to say "no more" after she fed herself... of course then we'll proceed to clap and sing praises...

DJmama:
OMG... yes, pink maclaren!!!! LOL it's d xlr type, dun tell me Mer's too... hahaha many people say it's not wise to buy a pink stroller, i have no regrets tho cos my sisters n i always think baby boys can wear/use pink stuffs too... (my bro n hb dun agree hahah) oh i saw some clip thingy before... it functions as a bar, not tray but i think good enough la. I plan to buy one if i saw it again too~ can u make the strap real snug? cos i just recently changed mine to real snug so that she couldn't get her arms out, she looks comfy in it...

Sandy:
TOO HEALTHY huh??? something new to complain about huh? hahahahha.... hey give urself a pat at d back, girl... u have done very well.. it's a compliment haha

Sandy/Ginn/Happy:
my baby IS using the suction bowl, still managed to pull it off d table when she's really fed up with eating. that's y i feed her smaller meals now and no more bowls unless really necessary. i read somewhere that it is better to use just tray sometimes. only have to make sure the tray is real clean lo... i plan to buy d munchkin one, may b it's better...

been a while since i last posted. just some updates.

thanks for all the well wishes the other time, but too bad... i couldnt keep the baby. lost it cos i got ectopic pregnancy. went through the operation last thurs. anyway will try again after i come back from HK trip in may or june and after i shift my house.

Joel had his haircut before his birthday.. he looks so much boyish now without those curls from his back. you cant imagine how frighten he was when he was having his hair cut.. he cried n cried. heartache..

anyway, he also started walking alot now. he can walk around the whole house without falling and also can go jalan jalan with us in Jurong point with one hand holding onto us. only con is.. he likes to walk to his own direction.. when you pull him to your direction, he will sit down =.= . bought a big combi shoe for him, but doesnt fit.. he still cant squeeze through the front part. at the end went and get a pair of toddler shoes for him from kiddy palace.. very big but fit him well. he really enjoys walking with his new shoes.

teething
he constantly teething... really cannot take it cos he kept biting us whenever he wants to sleep. my hubby's shoulders are full of bruises. so sorry for him. he has 8 teeth now, i think more to come.

food
he practically eats anything. will cook him mian xian, potato meatball with cheese or porridge .. if outside, he just eats rice soak with soup. He chews very well, enjoy eating breads and cookies. whenever we go toastbox, he sure wants some of our peanut toast although i dont give him much of the jam side cos it is too sticky, bad for his teeth.
he can self feed himself with bread, but as usual, when he finishes his food, he will throw away the plate. (bad habit!)

anyway, anyone with any new and easy to cook recipe to share? i feel so sian cooking the same dishes over n over again.. presently, i cook pasta, potato with some ingredient with cheese, mian xian, porridge - pork, fish, chicken, sweet potato. i check those websites.. alot requires too many ingredients.. this mummy too lazy.

bbyang
today we just went for selection in sean lau's place... the photos average.. only about 20 nice ones out of the whole selection. we chose 9 from the 20,,, mostly are facial shots.. we love the naked shots too. other than that, the multiple bears(same as yours) is the nicer one... and no more.

your big bear photo comes out so nice.. mine not nice at all. didnt choose any.

Joanne:
sorry to hear abt your loss. But you are blessed with adorable Joel. Yes, try again, let's work hard. We may end up in the same forum in near future!
Hee hee

Joanne - take care!

Re: walking shoes
I was also searching for a pair that is soft and can fit my kiddie's super broad and meaty feet.
All the baby shoes i saw (Combi, clark etc) either have very hard sole, else very narrow fitting.
Then i finally found one (unexpectedly) at Tom and Steph.
It is a snoppy dog shoes and it is made in taiwan
The shoes are very soft and the cutting is very broad.
Come in 3 colors.
If u member, still got 10% off.
Also it's cheaper than the branded ones. it is 29.90 i think.

Joanne,

Sorry to hear about wat happen to you but i am sure everything happen for a reason...So jiayou for another one ok....take care...

Sandy,

hehe for me saying no to bryston he will just stop watever he is doing and might run away from me...

Oh just went for pd check yesterday and Bryston is really tall haha he is about 84 cm le and weight in at ard 12kg.The pd check him height twice everytime i bring Bryston for check up becos he is really tall for his height...lol

The pd will say wow he is really long and his height for his age is 100% mua hahhaa....faint... my hb is the most 177cm nia wor...

Yr Pd say too healthy arh hehe...bo bian liao cos we have been tryin to keep their food super healthy so they will nt turn out as junkie hor... :p

But well since doc give the thumbs up you can relax abit liao... :p
Join me keke...

BbYang,

I like the pic with the bear de but anyway all pic are nice lo hehe...the one almost naked de show his teeth roar!! lol

Stress of being a parent - Quick Survey - help a grad student

Thank you to those who have completed my survey! I have until March 1 to get a few more responses so I can begin my research project. Can you share this with other parents you know? I really appreciate the help and am so excited about studying in your country! The study is to learn more about couple's relationship as they take on the role of parenthood.

The following people are invited to take the 5-minute survey:
* Have you had your first (and only) child in the past six months to 24 months?
* Do you live with the co-parent?
* Is it the first child for both partners?

To start the survey, please click the link below or copy and paste it into your Internet browser.

http://www.surveymonkey.com/s.aspx?sm=odvEJo1BPt_2bCF3hlE7BK7g_3d_3d

Robyn Maley

lili:
wow ... Bryston is really tall leh! my bb only 71cm. 25th percentile only. must make bb play basketball more once she can walk properly. hahahaa!

bbyang:
yalor yalor. all photos are nice

Sandy,

Too healthy is good yah hahahahhahaha, my PD also told me to start introducing all kinds of food for him and little seasoning wont do them any harm hehe, for his porridge, i still insist no seasoning, but i start to be more lax in giving him the food that we are eating, like cakes, ice cream, cookies, bread etc and he just seems to like our food more than his so much... faints... then PD says he can eat anything now except shellfish and peanuts will be after 2 yo...

Joanne,

Very sorry to hear about your loss, take some time to heal and we will always be here for you yah, I am very sure you will have another baby and pray it will be a girl girl for u

Lili,

WOW, Bryston is really tall tall leh, and he still is the champion baby in terms of weight is it? keke

Re apples,

Can I ask if you mummies still steam the apples and blend it into puree before feeding bb or just let bb bite on their own or scrap from the apple to feed? How much is one serving?

joanne: be positive. soon u will give us yr good news again.

lonerunner: han also short... 10 percentile only. worse since han is a guy.

happy: i never steam the apples. :p too lazy. i just scrap from apple and feed, sometime han just wants to bite from apple like us, but cant really manage that yet. each serving MIL gives half apple and MIL is enjoying feeding han. :p

olively:
shoes>> i agree with u. i saw the snoopy shoes u are talking abt too, and was so tempted to buy it when i saw it. But I've already bought 1 pair from Colettee just the day before. I also bought 1 combi shoes from Chicbabes online the other time, it's still under "cold chamber" cos it's too big now. I also saw nice sandals at Royal Sporting House, under Rebok (I think), very tempted to buy, hehehehe...
I think Colettee got nice shoes, especially for girls! Boys, as usual, very very limited.

Overload, YES!!!! Mine is the XLR!!! Hahahaha....

Eh, I am hopeless with the straps leh... My sis was the one that fixed the thing up and I took half a year to learn how to open and close it. LOL. All the while I was acting busy and vague if I go out alone with Mer...then I will let taxi uncle figure it out himself... hahahahahaha....

Long time ago, Sam helped me check if Singapore sells the bar for our model of stroller, but apparently not leh. So I m thinking of keeping the Maclaren in the store and getting a new, lighter one with a bar in front lor. Cuz its really dangerous. Plus v unglam...cuz Mer like to open her legs wide in the stroller... with the bah, at least she will just put her legs up nia...

Lili, I am going on a Biz trip to China for 10 days in Apr....sigh...

happy:
i also dun steam apple le.. only when he diarrhoea. I give him 1 pc & let him bite himself, his favourite. He will scream at us if he see us taking a piece of fruit on our hand eating and didnt give him..

tonite must go home early. this morning when leaving for office after deposit bb at mil's hse, she gave me a blackface. :p Think she is really not happy that I'm going to work after spending so much time with her last week. last nite she waited for us to come home, play with her first, then sleep. This is a real little terror ... :p

gracechua:
lets form a basketball team for our bb :p

happy:
my mil steam apple into porridge and feed bb :p

lonerunner:
haha.. i know what it's like. Yday i went to fetch bb home after work. For the past 2 evenings, we didnt bring him home or go find him. Normally he will smile & scream in happiness when he see me at the door. Yday, he just gave me a "Cool" face, like "oh Mummy, u finally wanna come huh?" =p

FTWM, esp those "Evening Mummies" or "Weekend Mummies":

do u all spend alot of activity time together with ur bbs? like having a standard flash cards or reading time?
I was having a discussion with my colleague this morning who has a 2yo gal.
She send her to those enrichment and play &a citivity classes since 10mths. Do flashcards, read, show Baby DVDs to her at an early stage. I say I seldom do all these and never enrol him for class. I tried flash cards before, also try to make it a point to read before bedtime. Most of time end up in him taking the cards/ book - flip, bite, play, rather than letting us read to him. These days, he's so into walking around and climbing the stairs. I do sit down to play toys with him and try to teach him stuffs in his playing, like shapes, colors. I m not those very creative Mums, and I admit i m kinda lazy too. :p
Haha, I also grow up exploring by myself most of the time. I don't have a fixed time to do reading or flascards with him, it's on adhoc basis depending on the "mood". If we are too tired, we will just lie down in bed with him and let him roll around until he sleep, and we sleep.
Ended up got "scolded" by her. Cos in comparison, I think i m a lazy and bo-chup mummy!! Whereas, she and her husband are quite ON and disciplined. How ar???

I got another fren hor, her son also 2yo, can spell, recognise some words and identify colors liao!!!

Catmomo, I am also evening and weekend mummy. Actually hor, your friend is abit mean leh. Its all well and good if we can all spend "quality" time with our growing babies. But who is to decide what is really "quality"? To her probably, she finds that educating and enriching her child is quality but to others, like me for example, it is being there, showing love and generally being able to see and come from our baby's point of view lor. If anything, I am more concerned in letting Mer understand she is precious, she is loved and that we will always be there for her. Other than that, I think she has a good many years ahead of her to get enriched in terms of academic pursuits.

Much as its important we educate our kids, I think starting them too young can lead to alot of stress that we may not see surface until years later. I remember when I was in Primary school, I had an English tutor, who lived near my place and has a son my age. He was a well-mannered and smart boy, who knew his abcs, grammer and tenses but one day in secondary school, he suddenly snapped. Now he is actually no longer "normal", has difficulty socialising, and picking up new things and when we were in graduating year in secondary school, he was actually accused of being a peeping tom, which I believe came from stress from his mum.

To see a smart and brilliant boy turn out like that is sheer heartbreak for outsiders like us, and I am sure worst for his mum. And when that happens, really all that regret is not going to undo the damage liao.

So we got to find a balance lor. Right now, seriously, our babies' jobs are to play, grow and be happy. We just have to make sure they do not become spoilt or over-indulge them la.

DJ:
haha, thanks! It's good to know I m not alone! heee...
I m not trying to stressed myself. I m juz worried that if i don't do anything or do my part, next time Caleb will be so much lagging behind others and have a hard time catching up. My that fren who's son can spell, she told me that some of the pre-schoolers in the same playgroup as his son, really don't know much, and the teachers told the parents, better practice more at home. I m just worried that my "laziness" or "lack of teaching" with him will result in Caleb in having more stressed to catch up with his peers in the future.
But then again, it depends on individual kids learning style and pace. So doesnt mean i send Caleb to enrichment class means he gain more lor. Or watch more videos means learn more words hor? Yes, Balance is the key. We try to expose them to as much as possible and see which methods suits them best. ;)
It's just like after the conversation, i felt a little guilty that I m like not doing very much for my son, but then again, if i can see that he's happy and healthy, what else more for now right?! YEAH! HAPPY WEEKEND! it's FRIDAY!! Woo-hoo!

do u hav any recommendation for maid agency? ive decided to hire a maid cos no point putting bb w bbsitter if my ger goes playgrp half day yet pay full bbsitting fee. in addition i still pay for PT cleaner. will shift house in few mths time to another part of the island dun expect to send my ger all the while to bbsitter house at pasir ris. so is good to have a maid.

Happy, i still steam apple and cut into small chunks for her to chew since it's soft, hard for my gal to bite cos only 2 bottom teeth and 1 top tooth just came out. I find apple hard to scrap, end up only the juice comes out haha

Sandy, when ur PD mean excess flavouring.. is to wat extent? Let's say if we feed lunch and dinner the same food as wat we adults eat, is it too much seasoning for 1yo?

DJMama and Catmomo, you both r so fortunate to have ur own MIL or mum to take care bb. me like 24/7 working FT mum. no rest for me even is weekend/PH. im totally drained and need my own time to do things i like. tis is oso the reason i need a maid.