(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Janjan: Shyann's watermelon suit is so cute! Where did u get it from? She looks so cute in it, we could have got more than 1 Miss Cutie Pie...

Kelly: Your gal looks like she can walk!

& whose handsome boy is in tie?

Is that mgteo with the 2 gals? Your #1 certainly looks like you!

Autumn: I think u need to compare them based on their curriculum. Offering Chinese at N2 need not mean they have a 'superior' programme. If Chinese is a concern, I strongly urge u to review their programme before deciding. Or, you can consider sending Edison to Chinese enrichment.

Logically speaking, if PCF is located nearer & at half the price, I'd go for this & send him to a good Chinese enrichment.

Then again, I understand that PCF's Chinese programme is not bad... well, at least better than LV's, I'm sure.

Edison seems to be a sociable child. If you are confident he can adapt to the new environment (most kids should be able to, except the very shy ones), I think there should be no issue putting him in PCF ba.

sigh.. went to sleep too early at 9pm now woke up at middle of night not knowing what to do hahhaa... The photos taken at the 9th months bash were very nice. I didn't even realise that my boy is officially 9th month yesterday till i saw Sus post, my boy CF was born on the same day as Calebee and Caleb.

Have to start packing today already, bringing my boy to taiwan next week for holiday.. Getting very excited as this will be his first time taking a flight, don't know what to expect..
Any mummy has good suggestion to where to visit in Taipei/Taichung? I am taking F&E package. TQ

EMQ: Thanks for your advice =) Did Ben attend a PCF centre??

Actually CGM is more convenient because the bus picks Edison up from right below our block, thus no need to walk..but double the price....the PCF is about 15 min walk...which is ok if not raining.....but of course save alot of money...

Some ppl tell me that kids do not learn as much there etc....hence I am very afraid of making the wrong decision.....else I would definately choose PCF..

Autumn: No, Ben attended LV childcare, since 17mths. But some of my colleagues sent their kids to PCF & have positive feedback. I had bad impression of PCF (from my school days), but apparently they have improved alot these days. & heard the Chinese programme is quite impressive. I also notice the graduants adjust well to primary school later on.

Ben had a bit of adjustment as LV is too 'family' & the teachers spoilt her too much...

15mins walk is NOT ok, with another bb in tow le... do think carefully wor... cos it's going to be a daily affair for 2 years.

But if savings is substantial...

Dink, ni, mercs, sperzz : thks for organising this event, we had a great fun.

Dink & Flo : thks for the nice photo that u have taken.

Nice meeting to those who I have met before and those who first time meeting at the 9 mth bash...so sorry that I have to leave early, Juvius was so cranky and fuss a lot...he cant attend many people event...

thanks to dink for the function room and the porridge...

thanks to mercs and ni for organising the event...

thanks to sperzz ordering the food, nice food...

thanks to flo and dink for the nice pics...

congrats to the 3 winners...

Hi sus , my boy was born on the 17/1 9am at kk hospital. 2hrs behind Caleb. =P..

He broke his record yesterday ,slept from 6pm all the way till 7am this morning!!! Think he enjoyed himself so much that he even laugh when asleep.. i was so surprised when i heard the laughter, thought he was awake, but his eyes were closed. Must have a sweet dream then..

mummies, now that our babies are 9mths old,do you puree the veg before adding to porridge or just chop finely and add into porridge?

Dink, was it broccoli in the porridge for yesterday? Was it pureed or chop finely?

Emq: BB Aedan is in tie.

Hope: me & Chere was jus talkng abt our Taipei trip. We went around the same time in Sep. Taiwan quite bb friendly. No need to q for the custom, Taipei 101. Places I visited:
Taipei 101
Dan Shui/Yu Ren Ma Tou: Seaside town (very near MRT)
Xi Men ting : Shopping area
Jiu Fen : a town (jap concept)
Queen's head: nature
Yang ming Shan: nature
Nightmarkets: Must go is Shilin

I have a baby & 2 old folks, so we rented a car & a driver for 1 day (8 hours) to bring us to places not accessible by MRT (eg: Jiu Fen, Queen's head etc)
If you are game enough, there is this small town (only known to locals) called Shen1 Keng1 where the whole street sells only smelly tou fu. I went there during my last trip.

hi, we enjoyed ourselves too. thanks to the organisers - dink, mercs and ni for the effort to bring everyone together.

javier was having fun grabbing the toys from other babies. hehe..

and thanks for the pics. couldn't catch the babies in action with my lousy cams, luckily there are so many good photographers around!

had fun yesterday, thanks to all the organisers. jh had fun headbutting everyone... those who did massage with me on the same mat had a good laugh when jh broke loose from me just to crawl and headbutt the doll too... that's his way of sayang... haha...

dink, thanks for the porridge! me even tabao, haha... din have to cook jh dinner.

dink, how much to rent the car and driver in taiwan?

my gal really hates porridge i think. I tried the porridge that i cooked just now, its heavenly okie, taste so yummy but she refused to eat it. Angmo baby, must be the pasta and steak taht I had when i was pregnant. My hb had a hard time then, cos all my cravings were all western food,and he is the traditional chinese rice guy.

but too bad for ashley, mummy is teochew ok, and teochew loves porridge, so she has no choice. I will not give up
!

dazed:eek:ic.did you have her website?care to pass me her link?thanks. ya jh really very cute and active..sorry..i cant stop laught at him..when he crawl to the bb doll.haha

i have a 900g friso 2 gold follow on formula which expire 27 06 2010 to let go @$20

pls contact me 96881284 if interested

cherryale: just fyi - the polyclinic booklet says give more what bb likes... u can mash pasta or potato for yr gal... these are alternatives to porridge and cereal... i puree and mash almost everything...

cherryale, try potato and carrots. boiled in soup for the whole family, then just fish it out and mash it... add a little soup if too thick. and the rest of it add a little salt or chicken stock powder and it's soup for the family dinner.

years ago, when my sis was baby, my mum made the mash and stirfry the mash with egg, yummy too! when jh can take egg, i'll ask my mom to make... hehe...

dazed: bb A also like to headbutt too. jus nice, both of them can keep each other company. ha. lucky u ta-bao back. cos I ate the balance & lots left. hate to throw plus I love porridge though i'm not teochew. let me check how much I paid. pm u on 2mrw.

hi all mummies who are interested in JG (Julia Gabriel) holiday playnest programme, details as follows:

Week 1: Bird Park Adventure (23-28 Nov)
Week 2: Underwater Odyssey (30-4 Dec)
Week 3: Music Alive! (7-11 Dec)

Feathery friends, exotic underwater creatures and musical instruments are brought to life with puppets, songs, stories and art and craft in this five day fun-filled learning adventure for babies and their parents.

PlayNest’s uniquely warm and stimulating, languagerich environment nurtures the curiosity and awareness of our youngest explorers, animating the world around them, ensuring a variety of enjoyable and vibrant learning experiences. Exciting excursions to Jurong Bird Park, Underwater World and a school’s symphonic band, form highlights of each week to help make learning even more interactive.

Venue: Evans Road
Times: (Weeks 1 to 3) 9.00-10.30am, 11.00am-12.30pm (English)
(Weeks 1 and 2) 9.00-10.30am, 11.00am-12.30pm (Mandarin)
Cost: $285 + GST per week

As mentioned I'm looking for 3 more mummies so we can all enjoy the 20% discount! Pls email/PM me. [email protected]

thanks, Dink and mercs for the response. Think after i finished the current batch of puree, i will also not puree the veg anymore. The veg that i chopped finely for this afternoon porridge looked ok and she could eat it. The only thing is she doesnt like porridge.

ann/dazed, yah i shall try potato. She loves to eat sweet potatoes but i dun dare to give her too much. I think her nose is alittle too orangy already, so going to stop all yellowish food for a while.

mercs, today i was looking at the pediped shoes. My gal big foot the size 12 to 18 mths fits her perfectly w little room to grow. But i dun like the sole, v slippery when walking in shopping mall. The pediped flex soles are better but its for older kids. There is a pair of bibi shoes for boys that is nice - beige and orange. From my experience this colour combi is v versatile. Can match beige and brown pants v well. a little pricey about 69, i think. But at least the soles are better than the pedipeds.

ask you ladies, how much cereal are you giving each meal? just now i gave jh 5 scoops of healthy times cereal plus 1/3 bottle of puree, he not enuf leh, had to give 2 more scoops... similac scoop. the amount does seem very little compared to porridge...

dazed: Is that the scope for 30ml or 60ml of water? Yen takes about 2 of the big scope (60ml milk) for her lunch. She doesn't seem to eat much lei... then recently when I weigh her at home, she has lost weight! She is only 6kg+!

cherryale: bibi shoes soft rite? and the sole is ok rite? ya...i think the one i see is beige and orange...maybe is the same pair...ex right? where u seen it? i dunno should i buy that or not...

dazed: kyler taking nestle..i agar agar one, think about 4-5 scoops (30ml) then mixed with 50ml bm then one baby cube...on weekends dinner i give cereal. but for HT, i used another kind of scoop, about 3 scoops (those plastic spoon)

dazed: Dunno le... I hope I'm wrong lor... cos I weigh myself & then with her. Repeated a few times. Probably 6kg+ & definitely below 7kg... cham.. dunno will kenna scolding or not when I send for the 9mths DA.

mercsboy, ht like very little hor? nestle or heinz, usually i give about 2.5 or 3 scoops niah, is like 1 packet of those small sample size ready packed package lor. think cos ht is flakes. yah puree 1/3 bottle is like those baby cube size.

Ok, my turn to rant now.

FIL's brother called to say he's going Vietnam to get married next week, asked both my PILs to go - he asked all his siblings & their spouses too.

We realised they need to be away on the days both my HB & I are committed at work & cannot take leave. So we are in a fix. While HB, me & FIL are trying to solve the problem, MIL started her nonsense...

Cos I think along the way, FIL was exploring him going alone with his other brothers, while MIL stay behind to look after my kids. Of course she buay song liao... start her nonsense abt wait the other siblings & spouses ask why she miss such an 'important' event...

Then start to say, tell my mum to look after, wait say tell my elder sister to look after... blah blah blah...

Then the discussion became more bizzare... to cut a long story short, she suggested I should just bring my 3 gals & divorce my HB!

Well, what more can I say?

Well, I was so peeved with MIL, I just told her, GO if she so pleases. We will just solve our own problem. She does not need to worry about who to push my kids to.

I wonder... why wait till now to get married? I mean he's grandfather's age liao! If he wanted to get married, he should have gone 10 years back! I mean imagine having kids when you withdraw your CPF? Wa lao... crazy manz...

Sorry... I think I really sound out of line... too crossed liao... brain not working, no sensorship here liao...

emq: this method of weighing sometimes not accurate... maybe go clinic and borrow weighing machine or wait for 9mth assesment lor... must not be less than 10% percentile...

ann: I certainly hope so. But should not be less than 10% ba. I think Bel was even skinnier than Yen but she still managed to stay on the 10-25% so far... hee hee... I know, if they drop below that, will kenna extra assessment. Bel nearly got sent for further assessment. But I insisted that she was fine &amp; that my sisters were petite. My eldest sis is only 36kg with a 21 waist lor... I'm the giant at home ma... so not too strange.... I just look like I took all the food meant for my kiddos... ;-<

sorry I missed the bash.... Too busy... =(

Looks like u all have great fun...

Emq,
wah.... So dramatic... Think she just buay song that she can't go ...

emq, erm, how can the discussion from kids turn to you and hb divorce? my goodness... how can she suggest such things...

Fluffy: You bet. She super buay song... then kept saying stupid things... until I shut her off with the 'Go as you please'.

Think buay song since morning liao.

Cos this morning, she thought my FIL went to buy coffee as usual, but turned out, he went to his 2nd brother's place.

When she realised he had gone out, she decided not to go out with us. Then we overheard MIL telling FIL to sit in the garden if she's not home when he gets back.

On hearing that, we called FIL again &amp; told him we'd fetch him after Bel's gym, then he can go out with us &amp; not have to spend his Sunday sitting outside in the garden (so pathetic right?).

Then MIL face change liao... start to ask if there's a bus to MS, how to get there etc...

Subsequently, we went out the entire day, only coming home after dinner... then MIL super buay song cos we went dine at resturant, but only bought her chicken rice... but her fault la, cos in the afternoon, she called me (claim accidental, but think purposely to tell us she's going out), so all of us thought she'd have dinner out ma... then we just happily ate before going home lor... who knows on the way, she called &amp; ask about dinner, then FIL told her to go out &amp; buy her own! She must have been fuming... but later I called back to tell her, we'd buy for her on our way home la...

Then the call from FIL's youngest bro came after we got home...

dazed: Ai yeah, one thing leads to another...

I was saying, Vietmanese, just as well, their girls are more docile &amp; less materialistic than local girls...

MIL had her 2 cents worth la...

I added, my SIL is a typical eg. - she was so kan chiong about her 'piece' of paper (her jie mei had made her groom signed an agreement to give her $x monthly, buy her branded bags, upgrade her stones, etc, etc)

MIL getting louder, says yeah, smart move, all the girls should do that...

I went, like that cham la... not all our guys can manage that lor... wah, I so stupid, never do anything like that lor...

MIL say can, go find another man lor, better still, take all your gals with you.

At this juncture, FIL shut her off...

I really can't believe my MIL lor...

Emq,
lol... I think she a bit overboard by dragging u n ur marriage involve.... But well when one in fuming, all sorts of 'funny/ridiculous' words will come out....

Same for me... If I'm fuming ... All funny things will come out... But still within the same category stuff...

Maybe she just feel that she us being left alone in sg to take care grandchildren and hb go and attend wedding dinner... Maybe she also think that ur fil will be taught of 'wrong/bad' thing... Like wat u say, so old still marry etc...