(2008/11) November 2008

Minky:
Yah. Its the one on demo at Isetan.

2298688.jpg

Lilian:
Basically, before 6 mths, the baby's liver is still considered immature. Hence, it may not recognise food. In the event it does not recognise the food you are feeding as food, it will reject it & this becomes an allergy.

Not that sure how to explain properly but this is agar agar the explanation. Have to ask Bear if you need a better explanation.

<font color="aa00aa">Fifi</font>
So the iplay de swimwear is not thermal de ah?
sorry ah, i see until blur blur *crossed-eyed*

<font color="aa00aa">Blender</font>
Is this better than those hand-held kind?

iplay is not thermal. Only UV.

Thermal de is Liferacer but sizing abit bigger.

The others say its good and I quite like it when I saw the demo. I guess is personal preference.

Hi Fifi,

I want, I want... Ops spend money again.......
The set consist of everything in the picture?

U-Like Blender BP - UP: $69.90, BP: $60

Anyone wants?

1. Fifi
2. Bibi

Fifi
Thks again!
Yes, read abt t liver part b4.
Abt t blender BP, need consider first. Coz collection is a problem.

Bear
can get more enlightenment from u? hee...

Bibi:
It comes with

1 x Motor
2 x Blades (1 cross, 1 straight)
4 x cups
2 x lids
1 x cup with filter

Seems like everything in the picture.

Lilian,
yup, you are right.. collection.......

Fifi,
U got a mail for Happy Bellies Brown Rice Cereal Spree.

Bear,
Did u order Happy Bellies Brown Rice Cereal also?Can help??? When the shipment arrived, can topang back? I go and collect from u...
BTW, u stay around Bedok right????

hi Dymples and Mildy, when u introduce cold turkey, do u still pump out the milk at how many hours interval. My gal also refuse to take bottle. my bb is almost 4.5mths and I would like to stop BF by 6 mth. but I feel that my ss is dropping. (i only direct feed her)so worry that her milk intake is not enough. She is very very small drinker always like to drink at 2hourly interval. Pls help advise. THANKS

Haven't been posting for a while coz was adjusting to life back at work last week. Feel so so sleepy...

Bear, shop4stuffs - thanks for the info about the baby cubes. shop4stuffs, i stay in sengkang so woodlands a bit far for me...

Fifi - received the bibs liao. thanks! read from e post that i still otang u $0.30. Will transfer to u via IB. BTW, can i check if u have sent out e desitin creamy yet? coz my current tube running low liao... :p

Bumper playmat - hmmm.. i'm interested to get one too. currently using those ABC mats which like what some of u pointed out, it's quite ley chey plus not very big for bb to move around on. anyone knows where to get it cheaper? BPs?

I WANT TO BUY!!!!!

Anyone wants?

1. Fifi
2. Bibi
3. Favoured

blessed11 - Thanks! Do keep me updated.

Fifi - ask u a silly question: Is the Happy Bellies Brown Rice Cereal an iron-fortified cereal? Also, can give brown rice stuff from 6 months onwards right? Oops.. that was 2 questions... hehehe

Favoured:
Sent out the desitin today. Sorry kept forgeting to bring wif me.

Yes its enriched with iron. Best is check with your PD when to start solids coz differs from baby to baby but usually after 6 mths is ok. I will start only after i get the ok from my PD (6mths 1week).

Hi Hi

Thanks for the welcome

re playmat
I have the 12mm playmat. Someone asked whether 12 or 15mm...Personally i feel 12mm is good enough for those with limited space and need to pack up after each use as it can be quite heavy to fold and bring around.

featherG
my bb also small drinker, only drinks every 2 hrly. He usually drinks 60 - 90 ml and can hardly finish 90ml each time. Hence, cannot increase ml and lengthen feed. I latched him when i'm home &amp; thru the night. Still, he drinks every 2hours like clockwork. My ss also dropping cos he is not emptying the breast. Had to take fenugreek. At work, i pump 3x about 3hourly.

Fifi - thanks for the clarification. PD says can start about 5+ months but I plan to drag till 6 months coz of a family history of allergies for both me and my hubby.

<font color="ff0000">favoured</font>
she post out to buyers too....u can call her to check with her the actual website

<font color="ff0000">feeding - from babycentre</font>
<font color="0000ff">When should I introduce solid foods?</font>

The Department of Health recommends exclusive breastfeeding until your baby is six months old. After six months, breastmilk alone doesn't provide your baby with enough nutrients, in particular iron, so other foods are needed.

Waiting until six months to introduce solid foods into your baby's diet will help minimise the risk of her developing adverse reactions to foods and allergies. This is particularly important if you have a family history of allergies, as the incidence of adverse food reactions, allergies and coeliac disease does decrease if you delay weaning until this time.

If you feel your baby needs to start solids before six months, do discuss it with your health visitor first. This is particularly important if your baby was born prematurely. The Department of Health states that solid foods should not be introduced before the end of your baby's fourth month (20 weeks). If you do decide to wean your baby onto solids before six months, there are a number of foods that need to be avoided, such as those containing gluten, eggs, cheese, dairy products, fish and shellfish.

<font color="0000ff">Is my baby ready to start solids?</font>
Your baby may be ready to start solids if she:

• can hold her head up
It's important that your baby is able to maintain a steady, upright position in order to take first foods from a spoon.

• sits well when supported
You may have to support her initially -- a highchair can be pulled into action a bit later when she's able to sit up all by herself.

• makes chewing motions
Your baby should be able to move food to the back of her mouth and swallow. As your baby learns to swallow efficiently you may notice her drooling decrease. At six months your baby may even have a tooth or two.

• has gained a healthy weight
Most babies are ready to eat semi-solids when they've doubled their birth weight, which may take place before or around their sixth month.

• displays curiosity about what you're eating.
Your baby begins eyeing your meals and reaches out to try foods travelling from plate to mouth.

<font color="0000ff">Many more</font>
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing

Morning mummies!!

So happy off today. And went to service my Medela pump. Quite gd service.

Bear: Yah, it was really the suction power which was became weak ..luckily I still latch bb on for past week so supply didnt drop that much yet phew.

Teenyweeny: Me getting both haa. 1 swim diaper + 2pic sunsuit with diaper.

Milderina: Haa I also wanted to get the giraffee teether but figured it's really too expensive liao. Think my hb raise his eyebrow when I told him how much it was keke. But go with your heart!!

Bumper playmat: I also wanna get. But SSW holds BP nearly every mth rite. Was thinking of getting it when baby can sit up properly otherwise it seems too big to put in my living room for now!

re: playmat
I have the 15mm playmat. Its a lil bulky for me to squeeze it back into the carrier. Last wk while we trying to zip up t carrier, one of t zip broke!

Hello mummies! On leave today cos Z was pretty bad yesterday.. can't stop coughing and sneezing.. lotsa mucus and phelgm.. sigh.. gd news is he barely coughed once today but still can hear his chest wheezing. decided to take leave cos i dun think MIL can handle him when he fusses during feeds. she sure keeps stuffing the milk bottle in his face!

Pamela, thanks for all the tips! when my trip is confirmed i will def contact u again!
sounds pretty tedious though. Wah u gg London!! actually what's there to buy in London? a fren told me buying branded stuff there is cheaper now compared to paris.

Mildy, don't buy lah... why u want ur gal to be chewing on a giraffe???!! funny leh u... save the money, i think Fifi will organised more sprees soon.. so control!!

Lilian, ok here's the explanation of why u shdn't introduce solids before 6 mths. ur bb's immune and digestive systems are still immature. anything that she ingested cannot be broken down into the simplest compounds. Her immune system has also nv encountered such compounds hence will treat them as invaders and attack them. this causes areas in contact with the partially digested food to swell, releasing histamines. e.g. when the food comes in contact with the throat, the throat and airway swell hence leading to anaphylactic shock. this is the most serious case of allergies and the child could die.

In other milder cases, ur child's body is now hypersensitive to everything new plus those stuff it initially thought was an invader. hence if it (the child's immune system) encounters something structurally similar to the invader it will attack it. this could be something the child touch (leads to contact dermatitis) to something he eats (food allergies like hives etc) to the stuff he breathes in (allergic rhinitis like wat i have). U are right to say u dun hear ppl saying they are allergic to apples and carrots cos some plants' basic structures are usually not allergenic. Peanuts are very allergenic, so is cow's milk. since the bb's immnune system is already on the hyper mode of looking for invaders, the immune system will hit these food hard when u intro them even aft the first yr.

This is the most basic way i can explain to u.. if u want more info or clarification just let me know.

Bibi, can.. u might have to wait a bit cos i m spree-ing too many stuff with Fifi, hence will only collect once everything has arrived..

<font color="aa00aa">glad_gal</font>
thats a good combi! I'm torn between the 1piece and 2piece and now the thermal.. arrrggghhhh

<font color="aa00aa">Bumper Playmats</font>
I saw someone selling this LG Prime Mickey Mouse Playmat Dimension is 1900x1300 15mm, which i can't seem to find online, anyone knows? it happens to be the perfect size and thickness i'm looking for..

<font color="aa00aa">Non-pooing Baby</font>
Aden has pooped since Thurs, shld i be alarmed? I know TBF babies shld poo at least once every 3days, but today is the forth day liaoz, can't help but to be a little anxious..

<font color="aa00aa">Maria</font>
I still owe u the pics of the scrapbooking stuffs.. paisei ah..

iplay:
Left US$19 only. First come first serve.

Drugstore:
Anyone else?

Happy Bellies:
Anyone else?

1. Fifi
2. Bibi
3. Favoured

Glad_gal, glad everything is sorted. did they mention how the pump failed? i tot their stuff were pretty hardy! My PIS tubings have water in them leh. dunno if it would ever travel to the pump and damage it..

Favoured, u def would need the cubes esp if u are gg to be the one preparing the food for ur bb.. otherwise u can just rely on ur caregiver to do it. for me i would prepare everything myself!!

Fifi, can i let u know abt the blender tmr? Wanna go do my homework first before deciding.

Re: bumper playmat
This was the first thing i bought! got it when i was 5 mths preggie cos i know i need it.. i usually roll it and place it against the wall.. when bb is active then we put him there to play.
mine is the 11mm one but i find that it provides gd enough cushioning. actually hor u are supposed to supervise when ur bb is playing wat. for me when i see my boy is gg to drop his head i can 'catch' him. but then again if u keep giving ur bbs tummy time, their neck muscles will improve and won't drop their heads oftn.

bear
I heard abt the peanuts.. and also understand dun giv bb eggs before 1yr rite? tt day my mil like gey gey trying to try out test test me.. saying "ah.. dunoe can giv bb egg already not" Then i immediately say NO cannot give until 1yr old.. then she keep quiet.. Bet if i say dunoe she sure giv liao

Fifi - count me in for Happy Bellies spree!

teenyweeny - so long as your baby is still drinking well and is active etc.. don't have to worry. unless he's fussing alot more and seems to be unwell, then you have to see PD. My boy's record was going without poo for 10 days! According to my PD, no cause for alarm unless, like i said, bb looks uncomfortable and feeding is affected. She once saw a bb who went without poo for a month! *NB - the above only applies to bbs on TBF*

Bear - Hope Zach gets well soon! Good that he's no longer coughing.. so unlikely to develop into pneumonia. Just monitor e wheezing.. I myself had pneumonia when i was a baby.. which then developed into asthma. Totally freaked my parents out then. So can understand your anxieties about Zach. But he's a strong fella.. pray that he gets well soon!!!

glad_gal
u can fold t playmat into half if u tink its too big for ur living hall now. I find it gd for tummy time. Smtimes daddy also lies on it. Haha... Buy now, dun wait!

Bear
Thank U veri much for t detailed explanation! *muack* I printed it out n gonna show to my hb tonite.

<font color="aa00aa">favoured</font>
thanks! i feel more relieved now. din think that i would be so anxious waiting for poop! hahaah

<font color="aa00aa">fifi</font>
oh boy, mine is 22.89, think i gotta miss this

when u got another spree let me know k?

peanut

教您蛋黄泥怎么做,如何做蛋黄泥才好吃
将鸡蛋洗净,放锅中煮熟,剥去蛋壳,除去蛋白,取其蛋黄,加入开水少许,用匙搅烂即成,也可将蛋黄泥用牛奶,米汤,菜水等调成糊状,即可食用。

蛋黄泥的制作要诀:
此菜在制作时要注意:选择鲜蛋做原料,煮时要凉水下锅,这样不易煮坯,煮好后立刻用凉水浸泡一下,这样易去壳。

小帖士-健康提示:
这道菜软烂适口,微咸,营养丰富,喂给婴儿既可营养大脑,又可满足婴儿对铁质的需要。

Lilian
then wats e reason for not giving egg white? i tot cannot giv whole egg. Anyway they say egg yolk colestrol level v high.. can giv bb 1 egg yolk at a time meh?

peanut
Egg white will cause allergy.
Dun worry abt cholestrol, no problem for baby one. (My friend asked tis qn to PD b4) Can eat everyday.
Accordin to KKH's book, start with half yolk first. The other half... u eat lor :p

HAHA.. i jus realise one good use for Bumbo. my baby gal was sitting upright and she started to poo on it! after poo, she will make a small noise before she smiles at me. Tat's signal for me to change her, so cute hor!

Wait ah.. no time to read all the post. Flying off soon leow =( will miss baby!!

but anyway, Mildy BUY THE TEETHER LAH!! If it helps, I also buying!Hahahha (I read a good review abt it in this forum.. cant rem which mommy had it leow)

Fifi!! Count me in
1. Fifi
2. Bibi
3. Favoured
4. Pamela

I will buy some california bb stuff from the drugstore BP too. I went to Paragon yesterday and saw the organic shampoo for $40 small bottle... SO EXPENSIVE!! I think California bb cheaper

A mommy here was asking abt sunscreen? Check out the organic shop on the 5th floor of paragon. They sell sunscreens too.. Less than 40 and they have a sample there so you can try on ur bb.

Ok will read the rest of the post 2night. See you mommies and have a great week ahead!

Teenyweeny: Hee at 1st i can't decide too. But the 2 pc sunsuit really cute :p so think I may not get the thermal one subsequently.

Bear: Yah lor..my pump only 5 mths old. But luckily under warrantee. The lady said is the membrane inside got problem so resulting in a weak suction power. My tube also got some water droplets. So I will usu switch on the pump, don't attach the funnels 1st and let it pump out the water vapour/droplets.

Lilian: Haa you are tempting me!!

Blender: Me want too! Nearly wanted to go town to buy it today but was too lazy haha. So timely!

1. Fifi
2. Bibi
3. Favoured
4. Pamela
5. Glad_gal
Thks!

Peanut, here u go:

Egg white contains 4 proteins that are highly allergenic ovomucoid, ovalbumin, ovotransfferin and lysozyme. Even if u wanna intro egg yolk, u have to do it aft 8 mths. If ur family or ur hb's family has a history of allergies, best to wait till 1 yr to introduce egg. Ur MIL really quite stubborn hor.. may be u can tell her directly she might be KILLING ur Nini!!

Lilian, erm this is the very condensed version of the whole thing leh... very very condensed.. basically the bb's immune system will have a 'memory' of the invader and keeps attacking anything that is similar to it or even new stuff.
u can always google more of it and i can help u decipher it if u don't understand ya?

Favoured, I am a hypersensitive person who nv had asthma!! even my doctors don't believe it. my hb has asthma so the biggest fear i have is Z developing it. sigh.. then my life will always be in a constant fear. always worrying things might trigger it.. hopefully he won't develop it.. *cross fingers, toes and eyes*!

featherG,
yes i still pump at every 3 hours. so i think somehow my supply is still there.

glad,
if i go with my heart hor then my house will b over loaded. lolx

bear,
hope that Z will feel better soon.

peanut,
ya, bb can take egg yolk but not egg white. before the 15 months jab u must let bb try egg white before they take their MMR jab.

Afternoon mummies!

egg:
I thought <1yrs old cannot eat egg?

blend solid food:
If we blend bb food like carrots, potatos, pumpkin etc .. it is easy for them to chew and digest. But would they reject such food later on if we do not blend them? How abt using spoon to mash the food instead of a blender?
My cousin's gal used to eat well-blended food but when she was fed with soft pcs of carrots all these .. she starts to reject it. Any advise?

Jo, from the books i read, they said that initially u blend then slowly at abt 9 mths change to mashed food.. then 1 yrs old can give them carrots that are cut..

I guess it depends on the age of the bb and the swallowing ability. if ur bb can't swallow big chunks or if the food has fibre in them then better to blend till later when the ability of chewing is better then give them mashed food. Or around 8-9 mths blend the food partially and then add it to mashed food so that there is both texture in it.

mildy,
I saw the giraffee teething toy but how much is that? If its <$20,still can buy. But if its >$20, dun buy lah. :p

Bear,
Thanks for ur advise.

Hmmm .. should I spend $60 for a blender for 6mths? Cos definitely wont be using after that.

Jo,
T blender can use when u have #2, #3, #4.. mah...
kekek... Else ur normal cooking also can use. Can mince garlic, shrimps...
Can make fruit juice bo?? If can, realli gd buy.

Bear,
No worries. I understand ur condensed version, onli some terms dunno... but no problem. Am constantly googling (when boss not seeing)

Bibi/Fifi... u know if courier company deliver items like blender? hee...

lilian,
of course, they will delivery anything as long as u pay. but i think that will cost $10 or even more if the blender is heavy.

hehehe, that y must topang bear.. i stingy mah...