(2008/11) November 2008

lilian,
wah, u planning for #2 now? u wan #2, #3, #4 ar... jia you

Bibi,
actually was thinking if get courier to send 2 blenders (urs and mine) to tampines (either of our hse) will it be more worthwhile?

#2? Yes... but NOT NOW! I want rabbit.
Cos I want one minnie mouse and one bugs bunny. Wahaha... Dun wan tigger.

hi mummies!! hows e start of the week for ya? =>

RE: Sophie the Giraffe
very tempted to get it. but just thinkin twice to spend the money when I could get a few teethers for that price..buy it, skip it, buy it, skip it...confused!!

Re:U-Like Blender
is it easy to use?? thinking of getting it since hand held blenders all look really bulky to me. am thinking this blender is easy coz just throw ingredients in there and just blend.. can mummies who have used it before feedback?

Dymples,
i emailed the lady regarding the HK playmat and my interest to get one. However, her PC is down and she is not able to send me the picture..

Mummyzeal,
I PM-ed you regarding the Happy Bellies.=)

lilian,
OIC but i'm getting Happy Bellies also. i think i'll wait for Happy bellies shipment before i collect. hmm, that will be around end apr leh...

bear,
Our nov teacher....

lilian,
If you are mi ... 5 feeds a day - all spoonfeed ... I doubt u will even think of having #2.

mildy,
Dun wan lah .. unless u planning to have 10 children and make that purchase worthwhile. LOL.

Lilian:
Juice I think can.
Courier not sure wor. If $10 then not worth it. You go buy from Isetan can liaoz.

Haru:
I think this blender seems quite easy to use.

bibi,
11pm last feed .. if he wakes up middle of the night ... I juz prepare give him .. he drink like 10ml then dun drink le then wanna sleep .. I jus waste the milk loh. Few nites ago, he woke up 4.30am, I give him drink, he dun wan .. brought him to living room. lie on rocker and spoonfeed .. also dun wan .. give up .. put him back to sleep.

PD never says anything. Only ask Lucas why he like tat.

Thanks Bear,lilian and mildy for the egg egg ans.. i know wat to do now.. tsk tsk.. Anyway re. blender.. umm.. so mash isn't good enuf for this stage? If i buy mil sure say again "NO NEED TO BUY ONE"... But frankly speaking for al my nephew and niece they dun use blender one. jus mashed up the food ony

Jo
5 feeds but 2 of them cereals right? At least he more enthusiastic when taking the semisolids.. My nini sometimes eat cereals also doesn't seem to be enjoying it -_-"
Wonder if he wake up middle of the nite and u jus giv some water will it make him back to sleep? Try it.. then u no need make milk and end up mayb wasting it

Jo, its really up to u if u wanna buy the blender. for me i can use it to mince meat for Z to eat.
i'm definitely having more kids so getting one is ok with me!

Lilian,
if u need help explaining some terms just let me know.

Bibi, ya i can collect for u.. next time u buy me kopi can liao.. hahaha...

Peanut, u can try mashing.. i guess for me even if i choose to mash bb's food i still use the blender for other stuff.. anyway i can vary the texture of the food. but since u are not the one taking care of the bb then u best check with ur MIL. else buy liao waste money...

lilian,
Only started spoonfeed recently ... but previously his growth is 50percentile (on the avg). He was 7.2kg when he is 5mths old. Next mth go PD for pneumococcal jab and see his weight gain again based on entire mth of spoonfeed.

peanut,
I thought of buying too. But also thinking later MIL sure got something to say.

Yup, I also jus thought of giving him drink water middle of the night from now onwards.

bear
yah,, end up only me using when i'm ard. Confirm ta stamp she wont use it one..

hey wonder how's minkybear son? she so seldom online these days..

yo peanut miss me ah!MISS YOU TOO!! *give peanut a big BEAR hug!*
Hee... ya hardly come on cause nt able to at work cause boss sit directly behind me nw so i can only pop in on n off.And was busy with WGS the whole of last two weeks so didnt come in at all.
Thanks for asking about Issac he is getting better from the Kawasaki diease bt he caught the UTI with the Kawasaki so nw on medication for both and 1 April bring him for his check up at KKH to see if his condition for Kawasaki has improved.Just cross our fingers n hope he is fine.

<font color="ff0066"> Feeding solids</font>
Wehngiving bb solids, pls do not mix up the different foods together yah. Need to give 1 at a time for a continous 7-days. Then monitor to see if bb got any allergic reaction. If nothing, then can proceed wz next food item. If an allergic reaction occurs, pls stop immediately and consult PD.

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>
The design is exactly the same as the one available on this website. Only the size and thickness is different.
http://www.lgmat.blogspot.com/

<font color="ff0066"> U-Blender</font>
This blender is rally good. Sharp blades and easy to use. *thumbs-up* Im using this for cooking at home. But for bb, I've specially got a Hello Kitty blender for her (rather more for myself). heheheheh...

<font color="ff0066"> FeatherG, Mildy</font>
I've not started bb on the 'cold turkey' yet. cos now too busy preparing to send old maid back... then looking for new one. I intend to settle all these first, then start the cold turkey and bottle intro. Haiz... hope my bb will take to the bottle. But last night, when my bb is half asleep, hub gave her 90ml EBM via bottle and she finished everything. hehehehehe...

Summary of BP &amp; Sprees

#1 Drugstore Spree
Still available. Closing Soon.

#2 iPlay Swimwear Spree
Cap reached. Closed.

#3 Happy Bellies Brown Rice Cereal 7oz tin - S$9.40 per tin
Still available. Closing Soon.

#4 Liferacer Thermal &amp; UV Swimsuit (p.s. they have adult suits too)
Stay tuned. Coming in April.

#5 U-like Blender - S$60 each
PM me if interested. Pamela can I have your email please. Bibi, Favoured, Glad, I have emailed you.

hey mommies,
so fast u gals are considering to start solid on bb?
i mean is the blender really good?so we can just blend the vege or food then feed bb when they are 6mth old?
sorry, may i know wat's so gd abt the teether?can advise pls?
can also show me the link for the playmat?i'm also interested. tks!!!

help, my bb has been crying hysterically all the time before she sleep. Is this colic. What should i do?

Dymples, feeding bb when half asleep seems like a good idea. I tried that too but when she is awake, bb still reject bottle

jo: maybe u can buy the wire mesh thingy and mash food thru it? MY PD even told me for food (porridge) and fruits no need to blend mash for bb can liao..for food i am guessing like carrots, potatoes, pumpkin, cook till soft so can mash till soft soft?

But my hse has a blender for my food i guess can wash till clean and baby can use if needed..i wont be getting a seperate set.

Fifi,
i have email u regarding Happy bellies brown rice cereal..

Bear,
Where is your bm power? remember u were asking me the same question when qiqi is down with flu.. hehe.. Really hope that Zach can recover soon! Can understand ur feeling when the bb is sick!

RE: Playmat
It is really a good investment if u intend to have more babies! worth it and it is easy to clean like other mummies said. And ya, thumbs up for the folding part, just fold and that's it.. Whereas ABC playmat have to one by one stack and keep, time consuming.

RE: U-like blender
Yeah, again it is also another good investment if u intend to have more kids.. Not only u can blend the food for bb, u can also blend other things like Ikan Bilis into powder form. i always blend it and add into porridge, steam egg and also used it to season meats.

Mildy,
u still on total bf?

<font color="aa00aa">blessed11</font>
Its the same bumper playmat but from another seller "Alien". She replied that they are bringing the specs i want in the next batch coming end april. Woots!

<font color="aa00aa">featherG</font>
Yeah, baby must be really tired already. My boy was also like that, so i slowly moved forward his bedtime and keep him happy before letting him fall asleep. i read that dimming the lights, bringing him into a cosy environment is easier to coax him to sleep. Read him a book and talk to him to cue him before preparing to put him to sleep.
what works for me -is latching baby while lying down. he falls alseep most of the time and cos he sleeps on my bed, for now this is my easy way out. Heee

<font color="aa00aa">Fifi</font>
Shld i call them or head down to check?
From ur exp, the BP price and Cheong Choon same de ma?

<font color="aa00aa">Dog owners</font>
What are you feeding your doggies now?
brand and reason? i'm thinking of changing dog food...

dymples,
thanks! is that diff design on each side? anyway, placing my order already. => hubby chasing me to order too coz baby loves rolling around nowadays.

featherG,
my baby has a bedtime routine which we never change; feed-bathtime-bedtime story-lights out-lie on our bed till fall asleep-transfer to her own bed. it is good to have a routine so that she knows whats coming up.=>

re:sophie e giraffe
my hubby persuading me to get it coz he thinks bb wil look so cute with it, but thinkin twice coz its really ex for a teether..=P

Re: preparation of cereal
ya, i'm am quite clueless too..so eg. if baby normally takes 150ml, do we take like few tablespoon of milk to mix with cereal and the remaining milk after that? or still take 150ml of milk after a few spoonfuls of cereal mixed with milk? if baby is still on BM does it mean i will have to warm up some EBM (if chilled) to mix with cereal or pump out some milk just to mix with cereal? *lost*

<font color="ff0066"> Teenyweeny</font>
Currently I'm giving my lil doggie Science Diet dry food. Been using this brand for all my dogs and they were all healthy &amp; strong. I also mix it with some canned food... but can't remember the name. My hub usually buys it.

<font color="ff0066"> Tingkat Dinner</font>
Anyone using Tingkat for Dinner? I tot of catering one for the upcoming 1-mth after I send my maid back. I heard of Neo Garden, Meihao and Kim's Kitchen? Any feedbacks?

<font color="ff0066"> Blender</font>
I have 2 separate blenders at home. 1 for normal food prep and 1 specially for bb. This is becos the one I used for daily prep has all the taste of garlic, oinions and chilli. No matter how I wash... the smell all stucked in it liaoz. heheheh... so to make sure this smell and taste does not 'go into' bb's puree foods, I purposely bot another blender juz for her.

<font color="ff0066"> featherG</font>
Bb crying before sleep can be attributed to lots of other things besides colic... like...
1) over stimulation during the day, bb cannot settle down
2) bb is over tired and feeling cranky
3) bb juz wants some attention

To help my bb settle down, I make sure there is a nightly routine. For example, bath time... followed by quiet play... then feeding.. finally settle down and sleep.

This routine is followed thru to this day even for my older gals. Bb's and children thrive well on set daily routines as they 'know' wat to expect. Knowing what 'comes next' helps them settle down sonner without as much fuss.

Oh yes... and like wat Teenyweeny says... settle down bb in a nice cosy and dim lited environment. This helps bb to understand the concept of 'day' and 'night'.

<font color="ff0066"> Haru</font>
Re: Playmat
Yup. It's a diff design on each side. Up to you which side you prfer facing up. Currently I'm using the pink side up and bb loves flipping over and looking at the Hello Kitty pics. hehheheh...

Re: Cereal Prep
For prep of cereal, I usually expressed out extra BM and put into the cereal. Amount of BM to put into the cereal depends on the instructions given. For example, if the instructions says to mix 100ml of hot water to the cereal, then I will put in 100ml of BM. Then, after feeding the cereal, I will either let bb direct latch on for some 'water', else I will give her some water from bottle. This cereal feed will also 'replace' a normal milk feed. Hope you understand wat I'm trying to explain. hehehehe...

Re: Sophie the Giraffe
I'm also quite tempted to get leh... but sssooo ex for a teether. Scared I buy liaoz and Janessa dun want... will turn into 'white elephant'. hahahhaha...

DYMPLES: regarding the cereal i m feeding the EYS brown rice i bowl and one teaspoon until turn to paste then i saw so pasty looks so delicious so instead of mixing with milk i feed my baby with spoon a small bowl, sisit ok? To feed without milk? after she finish the brown rice i feed her abt 100ml milk and she finishes.

Hiya mummies,

Sorry to intrude but was really enjoying reading all the sharing here and great spree suggestions (e.g. playmat etc). My ger is coming to 4mths so it has been helpful reading your experiences with your own babies.

Anyway, was interested in the Giraffe teether which someone had posted the link to the BP.. but while reading up, i also found out that this teether had been recalled from the toys r us store in canada. Apparently some mummies had experienced their child choking on the legs. So now i am not sure if ought to get or not, because like some of you, i thought it looked really cute...

Haru:
Can slowly start with 1-2 spoons of cereal before certain feeds (like lunch/dinner, etc) &amp; continue milk as usual after that. When they are able to finish a bowl of cereal, that milk feed can be replaced. Other milk feeds remain.

Re: Bedtime Routine
I think I'm very jialat. My baby has no definite routine. But we watch her cues. When she's tired, we will put her in the room to sleep. She is able to sleep on her own half the time (i.e. we put her in the room, leave the room &amp; let her fall asleep on her own).

Re: Teether
See Mildy... tell you dun buy liaoz. *Grinz* You wait lah. I find other things to tempt you.

Dymples, i have tried the tingkat from kim's and meihao.
Meihao has qty, Kim has varity bt qty nt really alot. Both r oily to me and have fried stuff everyday.U want can do a trial with them. Meihao can trial for 10 days, and Kim can trial for 5 days b4 u decide on which. didnt try neo gardens so cant give u feedback. bt i knw their catering and tingkat are two different kitchen preparing.
Hope that helps.

Yest went PD. Baby now weighs 7.2kg at 5 mths 4 days.
He has grown quite a bit from last mth!

Solid:
PD also say can start to introduce solids but between now till 6 mths, it's mainly a 'try try' period now. So will be trying on this Sat, with 1 tspoon. Decided not to wait till 6 mths since bb like not very receptive to new things. Even now give him water, he don't like sigh...

fifi,

haha same here. No routine for my boi also. When he's hungry, we feed. When he's sticky, we bath (Can be once or twice a day).When he's tired, on air con or fan for him to sleep.

Do your bb perspire very often? I need to wash my boi pillow every 2 to 3 days. Very smelly..

My boi perspire very often, especially when he's drinking milk. Air con on, fan on still perspire. sign... don't know y.. Hope that's normal.....

fifi, bibi

me too no routine, haha...feed when she is hungry, put her to sleep when she is tired

But hor she also like to cry alot when time to slp
Once I put her down on the bed she start to cry and kick, she is tired but dun wan to slp. Notti gal... hubby say I play too much with bb she dun wan to slp, hehehe...

Bibi,
yes, my gal also perspire a lot but that's only when she is drinking milk milk.. Everytime while she is drinking milk, her hair will become wet and is like she just finish bathing!

Dymples: Last time i didn't have maid I ordered from Kims Kitchen for about 6 months, I must say their service on the phone is really not too bad ie: u can call they answer promptly if u wanna cancel meal for the next day, quite acomodating. Had no prob with the service.

Food wise is really nice in the beginning - 3 dish 1 soup 2 rice, they change menu but of cos we ate 6 months hubby and i really quite sick of it becos there are repeats oredi..so we cancel after tat, but food wise the taste is really quite nice, trial first lor, but i tell u u eat few mths sian one.

Neo gdn I called before but they dun cater to my area so u must check, Kim's more accomodating in area too.

Minkybear
yah yah sibey miss u a lot! wakakkaaa...
oh no.. isaac gena UTI?? mus be painful.. hope he recovers soon..

mosh
tok abt it man.. my nini also v cranky when wan to sleep.. put on rocker also cannot.. carry also struggle.. then i've to bounce bounce and walk walk then she can orr orr