(2008/11) November 2008

YEAH!! BB Janessa's jaundice levels are down liaoz. From 15.7 now it's 8.7 only. Total we managed to 'sun' her in the phototherapy machine for 22-hrs. Was so stressed. Now finally relief liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Vincy</font>,
Wah... I like your gal's 1st mth cake leh. It's so sweet and nice. Where did you get it from?

<font color="ff0066"> glad gal</font>,
Thks for the info on Sweetest Moments &amp; Cupcake Divinity. hehehhe... I also like the card and cake box from Sweetest Moments. Aiyoh... *dilemma* still dunno which to choose.

<font color="ff0066"> Cutiemum</font>,
Instead of the raw Fenugreek, how about getting the capsules from GNC? I tink that one should be ok to take wz the red date drink? Not too sure... You can get your hub to go GNC and chk? Jia-You!!

<font color="ff0066"> Sunshinekid</font>,
Maya Mummy Massage contacts: Mobile - 91690543. The 7-days package is $500 inclusive of herbs n binding. Oh yah.. forgot to tell you that she is currently away on holiday and will be back on this Friday, 29th Nov. I'm starting my massage only on 5th Dec. Btw, Post natal massage is still effective up to 2-mths after delivery yah.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"><font face="comic sans ms"> CONGRATULATIONS..... Sabre, Karen, Lilian, iluvbli, Edde, Krystal &amp; Bear</font></font></font>

<font size="+1"><font color="ff6000"><font face="comic sans ms"> You've made it!! Now it's time to relax n enjoy your new BB! Cheers!</font></font></font>

Bear,
Congrats.. w/o epi.. U r great.. I hope i can go w/o epi also..

Just to share,
After hearing abt your birth stories and milk supply, i went online to get organic mother tea and nature's way, Fenugreek Seed. Hope that it will help to increase my milk supply when my boy is out.

I think the price is cheaper than getting it locally. A mummy give me this code "OMI418" and i'm entitled to US$5 discount. I think this discount is only for first time purchase only. Mummies if you want to increase your milk supply, maybe you can give it a try.

http://www.iherb.com/ProductDetails.aspx?c=1&amp;pid=6800

Congrats to iluvbli55, Sabre, Karen, Edde, Krystel, Bear. Rest well during confinement and enjoy your new bundle of love

<font color="0000ff">Carol</font>
Thanks. I ordered the nursing teas in bulk(it's cheaper this way) from Amazon.com two mths ago and shared them with a forum friend who is bf her bb.

<font color="0000ff">lala</font>
I'm not sure of the price of renting the phototherapy machine but admit hosp is definitely a cheaper option. My bb's level is 197 today and need to do a recheck on Thu again at the polyclinic.
We decided to feed him breastmilk alternate with formula milk, hoping that it will help to bring down his levels becos a steriod, 3-alpha-20-beta pregnanediol is present in the milk of certain mothers, could be responsible for inhibiting bilirubin metabolism and excretion. Also some studies showed that unsaturated fatty acids may be responsible for inhibiting metabolism and excretion, it seems that the milk from certain mothers have unusually high lipoproteinlipase activity. The polyclinc Dr. said we can also "sun" bb in the morning sun.
What's yr bb's latest levels?

<font color="0000ff">haru, brocoli</font>
Thanks. My boy's name is taken from the Bible hebrew in book of 1 Chronicles Chap 4 Verse 35, meaning something like God has Created/Work of God.

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
your son's hair so much ya
Sleep so sound heehee. any pain over at yr blue-black belly button? any oozing of fluids? Must report to your gynae if any ya.

<font color="0000ff">haru</font>
I'm using MIM sling, for nursing bras: I think like what Joyce said U need around 3pcs(min). I have 7pcs to rotate around cos they can get soaked when leaking milk, I do wear breast pads but the washable type, the disposable type more for when I go out. Change them as necessary whenever wet. Avoid those with plastic lining.

<font color="0000ff">Fifi</font>
The Traditional Medicinal Mothers' Milk tea is very effective I dare not try 3-5cups/day , just started off with a cup per day, it got a spicy after taste. I just tried the Yogi's Woman Nursing Tea today, it's nicer than TMMM (no spicy taste)but will only able to see the effect tmr.

Slings
I started using my sling when I brought bb out to his jaundice check, quite ok cos it's a MIM one, with adjustable straps.

Congrats to those who have popped!!

Haru,
I don reali snack leh.. cos usually my meals i eat a lot of rice.. so just nice until the next meal den I'll be hungry liao.. At night if I'm hungry usually will eat biscuits with milo ba..

Re: baby sleeping pattern,
Baby has been unable to sleep in the afternoon. Put him down a while den he will cry. So I have to latch him on on and off and making sure that he is in deep sleep liao den i can leave. But then by then its already 2 or 3 hrs liao...

Re: Milk supply,
I don't express now, cause really no time and too tired to do it. Dunno is it becos of baby every hr latch on lately, I feel like my milk is increasing. And everytime after baby latched on I still feel engorged. And everytime baby drink till sleep. Then wakes up 10 mins later wan to drink again. Not that I don't have milk leh, but he seem to keep wanting to suckle like that..

Any mummies who don express out totally??? Cause thinking like that I won't ever know how much baby is drinking liao.. But then its tired after coaxing him and still got to spend time pump. And now is already more than enough liao, scared pump liao keep increasing... Since I'm a SAHM I don see the point to store any breastmilk, since I'll be around to feed him directly..

Bluebear,
No leh, not pain, no pus or anything also.. I'm monitering now, and see how is it after I remove the bandage ba...

Today I also went polyclinic check baby's jaundice lvl. 167 now.. But then doc told me its ok de, no need to do anything much, it will go away slowly de.. Cos sunning the baby also not proven that it works. And breastfeeding just made it slower to go away lor.. But as long as baby is feeding well and all its ok de..

<font color="0000ff">Sabre</font>
Tat's good, u must monitor closely k, when r U going to remove yr bandage? C-sec wound must take care properly, always keep clean and dry.

Jaundice
My polyclinc Dr today said must get the levels to around 100 or less for full-term bbs. Then this afternoon, I received a phone call from a SGH nurse, she called to check on me and my bb as a routine follow-up, according to her, ginger and sesame oil will cause bb to be jaundice, if bb is on total bf.

I went to the internet and did a search on that.
Couldn't find any scientific proof but I saw a few articles that said 1st 10days after delivery not to take ginger if bb has jaundice, saying ginger will slow down the breakdown of bilirubin.
Dunno true or not?
kao_confused.gif

Sabre,
My bb already 5 wks and still having juandice. During the last PD's checkup, she went for another blood test to check her liver and results is normal and the level is at 12. The nurse jus told me to monitor bb's stool and urine colour. If abnormal then bring to doc. I dun know what should i do abt her juandice now. PD never give any instructions leh. When i bring bb out, still quite a no of ple commented tat bb is juandiced.

Breastmilk:
I try latching on bb in the day and feed her FM at night so she will feel fuller and sleep longer.I usually expressed 3 times, morning, afternoon and before bed. Average around 90ml. My friend told me drinking horlicks works and i'm drinking it twice a day and i actually feel more milk coming in and stronger let-down sensation. Mummies may want to try. I jus started on it and still monitoring.

had great success with my baby last night. she was calm during shower (she normally cries quite a bit), slept on her own without us carrying her and only woke up only at 130am and 6am for feed. both times i gave her EBM. hubby was so proud of her. pray that she wil be able to continue the pattern!=P

Dymples,
thats great!! =D

bluebear,
that is a really nice meaning. =>

Sabre,
i am finding it good to pump now esp since i need to ensure my baby is getting sufficient for nite feeds and she tends to fall asleep at my breast. but i still intend to let her latch on durin e day since i am ok to let her feed frequently in e day.

Babyzel,
i am still pumping only about 80ml, 11 days since delivery now. wil ask hubby to get horlicks for me later, no harm trying to get supply going!heheheh..

Hi gd morning mummies

<font color="0000ff">haru</font>
Ya thanks it think so too, we happened to chanced upon the name and now is the headache of deciding bb's chinese name.

Good for U and hubby ya, Can have some rest at nite. My last nite also quite peaceful(maybe becos we gave formula at midnight, bb slept till 1+am , I gave him EBM and he slept by himself, then 5am woke up again, I gave formula again.

<font color="0000ff">Babyyzel</font>
Thanks for sharing. I heard that Horlicks can boost our milk ss too. Cheaper way if it's effective ya. Think the packet instant ones are just $4+ for ten indiv. small pks, can give it a try ya.

Yr bb gal's jaundice so long ha? What's her level now? Yours is also full-term bb rite?

Thanks all for your well wishes !

Karen,
Mine popped at 1812. yours?

Minky,
Yes, tried to massage a bit b4 starting. But bb is crying so loud... i cannot drag too long.
Did pumping yest nite... got abt 13ml nia.

Bibi,
i'll post birth story later. BF time now.

<font color="0000ff">Lilian</font>
U 1st time mummy rite? Milk ss normally not so fast, maybe 3-5days cos the 1st few days mainly is colostrum.
Can try drink green papaya cooked with fish soup to help. Look forward to your birth story ya.

Bluebear,
Wed can remove the bandage liao.. hopefully it doesn't hurts!

I heard ginger will. But because during our confinement the main thing is ginger so for me, my food is cook with ginger but I try not to eat the ginger lor..

Babyzel,
As long as baby's jaundice lvl not too high den no need too worry ba.. Cos I think eventually it wil go away de...

Haru,
My baby also always fall asleep at my breast. Sometimes I seriously wonder he drink enough a not. Cause sometimes he onli suckle for 10 mins. Anyway I tried pumping last night. Cause baby was sleeping for 4 hrs and I was feeling super engorged! Pumped out about 80ml and baby drank onli 60ml den full liao.. Enough ma??

Although I don give him FM but I find that he sleep better at night, and for the first time last night I slept well!!! hahaha

morning mummies! Im still around, hahaa.. hope bb will not be overdue!

So many mummies wake up early to feed bb.

Bluebear
Never heard about horlick can increase milk ss leh, maybe will try...

yap I have heard that ginger will cause Jaundice, so not advisable to eat too much ginger during preggie and after give birth.

Good morning mummies!!

Haru - I dont snack during the day, try to control myself even if I am feeling abit hungry. Will drink more water instead. If in the middle of the night and I am hungry, will drink milo, but hardly will do tat. I am trying to lose weight at the same time, so will minimise snacking.

Baby sleep pattern - Jadon will wake up around 9+ and kick up a fuss until 12+am before he is willing to sleep...every night also like that. Keep crying, dont know what he wants, carry him also no use. Only can put him in the sarong to shake him to sleep. But he will sleep and wake up to cry, sleep and wake up to cry...dont know what he wants. Feed him milk also dont want, carry him also dont want...haiz...have been like this for the past 1 week...feel so helpless as his crying is very loud and fierce de...

hi ladies...

my confinement is ending soon! hee... actually my confinement not very xin ku.. i can bathe, go out and eat junk food like mac coz i am sick of confinement food le... ;p

celebrating my bb's full mth this sat...

my bb is a big eater.. my day is spend on feeding him every 2 hrly..

is 3 oz enuff for bb at 4 weeks? i dunno how much is overfeeding.. ;p

carol,
maybe he's feeling hot or cold??? Cos I realise for my baby, he's been fussing becos the weather has been quite warm lately.. Somemore I swaddle him up..

Don b depress cos baby can feel it de..

Liv,
Wa, your confinement so good, still can eat mac ar...I also wan.. Hubby actually ask me wan to go out ma, but I not confident of handling baby outside yet so bo bian stuck at home...

Sabre - ya, we will trial and error lor, watever makes him happy and stop him from crying. No lar, i am not depress, just feel so helpless and frustrated when he cries so loud and i dont know how to appease him...sigh...

Sabre - I cant wait for my confinement to be over!! Still need to wait till 8-Dec. Already dated my sis and mum to go shopping once my confinement is over...keke...with them around, I feel more confident in handling the bb.

haha, if my MIL finds out that i went out she wil "kill" me. i didnt even dare to tell her that i went to hospital like 3 times a day when my baby was admitted for jaundice.=P this thurs i am gg for gynae check up, so excuse to go out again. but i have only been goin to hospital and then straight back home. only when i needed to get the pump i went to orchard for a while. felt so tired aft that tho and my back hurt coz it was only few days aft giving birth.

any mummies have back pain now? esp when turning in bed?

Sabre,
60ml should be sufficient for a week old baby. thats what the hospital gave my baby too when she was in for jaundice. she slowly needed more about 80-90ml just a few days ago. as long as they are full and satisfied, and bowel movements are healthy it is fine.=>

Liv,
cool! i still have 2.5 weeks to go. going to make my haircut appt soon. will be colouring my hair too!!

Morning mummies!!

Congrats Krystel and Bear! Rest well!!

cc: Actualli I find the mochi quite big already :p but I guess its personal preference.

Dymples: You still have some time b4 the full mth rite to decide?

My CL just left at 9am :/ Felt a bit sad coz she was really a gd help. Now had to get used to handling baby alone. But MIL is nice enough to come by later to cook for me and hb - think she is scared I can't handle hee...

Liv: Wow! You already went for facial! I want to go..hoping someone else can look after bb for me so I can go relax for a while!

Bluebear:
Do you mind sending me 1 of each of the tea to try before I go and order? If can I sms you my address.

My lactation consultant say all the thing abt ginger and jaundice is not true. But by then I abstain for 2 weeks liao. Now my maid like making up for lost time. Every dish oso got ginger. Haha.

I had to bring my baby for jaundice check 4 times. I think the first was 160++. Final is below 100. They will only let you stop going for checks when its below 100.

Mousemouse:
You have to decide how often you gonna pump and how much time you have for each pumping session. If you are going to pump daily whilst at work, I recommend that you consider a dual pump so that you can do both breasts at the same time. Less leaks (coz when you pump 1, the other may leak. do both together shld be less accidents.) and less time involved. Unless you have your own office and can express whilst working lah.

Re: Baby sleeping at night
Give expressed milk can help baby sleep longer? Why huh? Currently I latch on and feed her approx 1130pm, 230am, 430am, 630am. Timing varies from night to night coz I feed on demand de.

Fifi - for mi, i expressed milk n feed my gal. cos whenever i latch her on, she can fall aslesp within 5 min.alamak. at nite, i gave her FM .can tahan longer (3hrs)instead of EBM(2HRS). but i still pump in the nite , every 3 hrs

hi Fifi,
i give EBM at night just to ensure she is getting enough as she tends to fall asleep at my breast. and also so that she can have enough to last longer thru e night.=>

carol,
sometimes I also like that, then end up seems like baby cry even more. I guess they can feel mummy's mood also. So, just take it easy ba..

Liv,
Wa, don tempt me lei.. Sian lor I still gt 3 weeks to go...

Although my baby is drinking 60ml now, but sometimes latch on he is onli drinking from 1 side. Funny lei... den now one side breast got more milk lor...

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre</font>,
I'm also SAHM... but I will pump out BM to store cos this will give hub opportunity to feed BB too... especially some night feeds. hehhehe...

Guess your BB only needs to drink from 1 side cos that breast can supply him wz enough milk bah. To balance out, remember to alternate the breast you feeding.
Dun favor one side over the other else later on your boobs will be lopsided.

<font color="ff0066"> Ginger &amp; Jaundice</font>,
Yah... I heard abt this too. Wat I do is get maid to cook the dish wz ginger... juz that I won't consume the ginger lor.

<font color="ff0066"> Going-out</font>,
Yesterday after getting the all-clear from PD on Janessa's jaundice, me &amp; hub brought BB out to Taka to get some stuffs - Bottle Warmer, Nipple Cream, etc.
hehehhe... so naughty hor. But it was good to be out for some 'airing'. Or else I was sssooo bored at home liaoz.

<font color="ff0066"> Babyzel</font>,
Oh... me gotta ask hub to buy some horlicks back then. hehehhe... usually I drink Milo. But guess can switch to Horlicks liaoz.

bluebear, my friend don't mind if the CL leaves few days earlier for the CNY.. now the problem is rather last min dunno where to look for one.. his wife's mum will be helping her but only for 2wks so they rather look for a CL..

Mosh: can help me update my details.. dunno y the details lost from the previous time i update.. hee.. Bb name is Ethan, 50cm, 2.955kg, thanks!

Going out:
my mum helping me to take care of bb so i can go out haha.. she say go out relax relax.. everyday stay at home will siao.. ;p

BF:
I am on TBF... bottle feed EBM too.. these few night bb getting fussier at night.. dunno y.. from 9pm will cry and fuss till 12am+ too.. kept drinking milk like not full.. faint.. ;p

btw i bought a Nursing shawl, easy to BF when going out... got lobang from my friend on the nursing shawl.. interested can pm or email me...

cutiemum

dr a induced me at 37 weeks cos of bb static weight gain i.e bb not gaining weight for 2 weeks. she was only 2.26kg at birth...considered low weight bb.

also checked in at mt a ard 9am. nurses were asking me if i want epi cos the other two mummies already ask. told nurse dun want but she still put consent form on my table to tempt me...so evil. dr adrian almost din make it for my birth cos he also din expect me to labour so fast. had to hold bb in for almost 10mins. nurses all telling me not to push but the urge was sooooo strong...kept yelling to prevent myself from giving in to the urges. the minute dr sat down and cut me, i shot the bb out. nurses still dare to say wah so fast ah.

re bf, i started taking motherlove more milk plus since it worked for me the last time. hopefully will increase ss. if not, like you, boxes of breast pads will go to waste.

Good Afternoon,
sabre, my girl tat time under photo therapy hor they wrote she can drink up to 80 mls of ebm leh. but hor come home she also drink 1 breast nias when latching. tat time i express 2 breast then got 80 mls leh.

Haru,
My friend who drank horlicks has lots of milk, she say more than enough to donate also. She on TBF. Envy her!
I experienced backache a few days after birth. Think i seldom lie down and like to walk around and at a fast pace. After tat i tried lying on my back more and no more backache problem liao.

FiFi,
I give my bb FM tot she will sleep longer but she wakes up 11pm,12.30am, 2.30am, 5am,7am.If i latch on, think it's worst. I give her 90ml each time. She's an early riser at 5 plus in the morning and won't sleep until i bathe her around 8am. So tiring.

Dymples,
I finishing my horlicks soon. Need to replenish liao. Faster ask ur hubby buy for u.

Bluebear/Sabre
My gal is born at 37th week. Her jaundice level is 12. Sometimes her face looks ok but sometimes quite yellow. Guess i jus have to monitor and wait for her jaundice to go away.

Liv - your bb same as my Jadon, always wake up at 9+pm and fuss till 12+am also...haiz...we are in the same boat...

Sabre - no lay, my mum very cool and the bb still make a fuss!...my maid even worst ah, she will go into a panic when the bb cry de! I need to take over from her, though I am inexperience, but at least I can keep my composure infront of the bb though inside me also feel very helpless.

Haru - Have been experiencing back ache since I am home, maybe cause I have not been lying down and keep sitting down to carry the bb and coax him to sleep. Sometimes the pain can be really bad. I hope its not the effect of the epi...rumours had it that epi will cause backache de.

me just had lunch with vinegar pig trotters, yum!!

Fifi,
i give my baby about 80 ml of EBM now for nite feeds. and she can sleep about 4 hours.
Babyzel,
just asked my mum to help me buy horlicks. we can try and "review" on it!hehehe..

Carol,
e doc didnt mention to me that its not true that epi causes backache. when i ask my massage lady she says its coz of all e pushing during delivery. i also need to try to lie down more. keep sitting up and walkin around e house, carrying baby...=P

Liv,
can PM me about e nursing shawl? thanks!

Hi Haru

Initially i oso experience the back ache.. think it shld b quite commom in the 1st 2 wks.. but now it much better.. so ur shld be getting better too..

Carol

So u will b celebrating full mth on the 8th dec? I might b celebrating on the 7th dec.. can't wait for it.. hahaha.. cos want to go out, have been cooping at hm.. so so so sian.. can't wait to get out of the hse!!!

Do u still wrap ur bb up at hm?

Hi Millie

oic.. mine was induced cos Dr A scared BB weight too heavy n worried that i might need to go for e c-sect..
Aiyo, think the nurse are bluffing 1.. hehe.. once i m in the labour ward, told me that the other 2 asked for epidural liao, ask me want anot? initially i oso dun want, but in the end oso give in cos scared dilation too slow..

Dymples,
its already buay balance!!! Now 1 nipple big 1 nipple small liao...

Liv,
can email me about the nursing shawl??? [email protected]

Milderina,
ya lor, I'm like this ..... But since he seem ok den I guess he's getting enough ba..

Spin,
did you burp her?? That time my #1 also keep vomiting milk out, but doc says if put on weight fine den ok liao...

I have popped too!

Baby Ian arrived on 12 Nov, 3.5kg, 51cm.
Delivered by Dr Gordon Tan at Gleneagles Hospital / Natural W Epi

Congrats to all newly mummies muacks

Here's my birth story:

11 nov 2008, 9pm admit to hospital due high blood pressure on check up review on 10 nov.

12 midnight given first stage of induce. Feeling slight contractions during the night.

12 nov 2008 6 am pushed to delivery suite. Contractions getting worse. 9 am epi injected. Feel relieved.
And water bag burst by gynae.

Keeping pushing but wrong area applied. The nurse is nice to encourage me. I almost want to give up. Finally 1616hrs, Prince Ian finally popped out.

Muacks

<font color="ff0066"> Sabre</font>,
Oh dear... like tat faster give more of the smaller side to increase the milk ss and size. The longer this is prolonged, the more obvious the lopsided.
I kena this for my #1 also. Now smarter liaoz... heheh...

<font color="ff0066"> Spin</font>,
Maybe you monitor first yah. If your BB puke once only could be due to overfeed or she burp till puke. But if she keep puking then better to bring BB to PD to chk.

<font color="ff0066"> cutiemum</font>,
Since my BB came home, I dun swaddle her liaoz. I'll juz dress her in those long-sleeve full body sleep suits. Sometimes I also do away with the mittens.
I feel the weather is too hot to swaddle her and I trying not to switch on my living rm air-con. Even when I bring her out to PD for chk-up also never swaddle her.
She seems happier like tat cos move her legs n hands freely. hehhehe...

<font color="ff0066"> Claurica</font>,
CONGRATULATIONS!! Oh dear... seems like you had a long labour. Now is the time for you to relax and enjour your labour of joy yah.

Bluebear,
yes, me first time mummy. Thks 4 t encouragement
CL cooked green payaya fish soup yest. Hope it helps!

My CL's cooking is veri nice. I now eat more than wat i used to during/before pregnancy! Ooppss...

Birth Story:
12noon - Check in hospital
1pm - Epi adminstered
1:30pm - Induce by drip. Break water bag. Contraction starts (observed from CTG)
2pm - Baby showed signs of distress. Stopped drip. Given oxygen mask.
Nurses and gynae rushed in, almost intend to send me for E-CSect. Baby's heartbeat recovered to normal rate
Gynae asked our opinion on CSect. I said i'm OK with CSect as long BB is safe
3+pm - Put on induction drip again
5+pm - Baby distress again... Recovered after a while. Nurse checked, onli 2cm dilation. Gynae came in and advised I go for E-CSect
6pm - Baby Kayla delivered

Sabre- I burped her, then she vomitted.oh ok.. cos seeing her puke, made mi worried

Dymples- I burped her till puke. many times ? u mean in a day vomitted a few times or over the wk ? She puked on sun nite, today is the 2nd time

Cutiemum- for mi, i still wrap my gal's body to keep her warm. if i wrapped her hands &amp; legs, she will struggle , in the end u see her hand &amp; leg up in the air :S

Pls for those who have confinement nanny now pls enjoy ur rest and sleep as much as u want...

I now suffering not enuff sleep and heaty in the morning bcos hardly slept feeding, burping whole nite...sigh..very iong ar, any mummies any tips to share abt feeding BB at nite...??

<font color="ff0066"> Spin</font>,
Oic... if she puke after burping then it's ok. Tat's quite common. But if she pukes like 'merlion' a few times a day, then gotta bring to PD cos scared she got infection and if puke too much, BB can get dehydrated.