(2008/11) November 2008

for mummies that can't tolerate the strong milk taste, u can go for other foods that are high in calcium. Here are some examples:

Yoghurt, chseese, ice cream, dried ikan bilis with bones, soya beans, canned sardines with bones, beancurd, dried figs, kailan, spinach and chye sim (vege group). These are foods that are high in calcium

Urgh i m having diarrhea again! But i haven't drank a sip of milk since Mon.. Doc said i might be having gastric flu..

RE: pressure to have boy
Ya for me the health of the bb more impt. Ironically my MIL kept saying she wished she had a gal cos gals more filial but when it comes to grandchild she wants a boy.. Alamak can put herself in my shoes or not???

Re: Dog fur
I need to clarify this.. Not many ppl are allergic to dog fur. Fur allergies are rare. Most ppl are actually allergic to the things collected in the fur, like dust and dander. I also believe in exposing some dirt to ur child. One reason why asthma and allergies are so prevalent is becos our env is too clean hence our immune system starts to attack itself/ or attack commonly found stuff. I so happen to be one of the rare few that is allergic to dog fur itself and also to another 77 other things. My mum was fastidious abt cleanliness!!

hi jess, thanks for the link.... i guess... when we have dogs... we will also have to be responsible to keep our home clean, and make sure our pets are healthy by bringing them for their annual checkups, annual boosters, dewormed etc....

Ya it doesn't mean once we have a bb we will neglect our pets. Anyway most gynaes agree that dogs dun pose as much a prob as cats. But if ur cats are free of toxoplasma, then there is nothing to worry about.

I dunno leh, although i worry abt a lot of things, pet infections or zoonoses are not on my list. prob becos i ensure my dog takes his dewormers and heartworm meds regular, tick check aft every walk and regular vet check up.

thanks for your replies! anyway, my gynae is pretty much fully booked for the next 2 weekends. thank God, the antenatal which e doc told me could cause constipation isn't havin any effect on me. bowel movement still good.

i'm a cat lover! i always go around my HDB estate to play with the stray cats around. but now that i found out that i am preggie, try not to play too much with them as they are strays afterall.

Yah, i also intend to trim my dog's fur real short till after delivery & we can cope with our bb

hello all!

can i join? went to visit gynae on tuesday. EDD is 13 Nov.

This is my number 2. 1st bb is 10 mths plus now...

hui, saw ur blog... my gal is 3 days older than your boy

talking abt dogs, i have a dog too. my bb loves him but he doesn't like my bb as she is rough as she pulls his fur etc... so basically, the dog avoids her....

haru,

i fed stray cats until i was bt 7 weeks preggie during my 1st pregnancy. I wanted to continue but was told not to by Gynae as stray cats may have some disease that can cause unborn bb to be blind. I can't remember the name of the disease liao... So bo pian....

I read abt cat's poo is vy dangerous for preggie women, dunno got what disease or virus.

So now, I try to get my DH to clear my dog's poo juz in case lah.

My 2yrs old niece gets along vy well with my dog, they love eachother. We taught her how to pat softly & how to play with him. They love to play catching & fetch together
Vy cute to watch them play.

hui,

really? when is ur EDD ?

JJMom, dog's poo shd be ok. i cleared my dog's poo all the way until i delivered my first bb...

hi Bear,
do u have a corgi???its e dream doggie for my hubby!he loves them!!but we live in a HDB so its pretty difficult n we are not home most of e day..

Hi Haru, yes i have a corgi... Aft much difficulties I managed to get him licensed under my HDB flat. So it isn't impossible to get a medium size dog licensed. I was the first that got the approval on the dogs' forum..

Hrmm most dogs slp a lot... he has no probs staying at home slping.. but on wkends that's when we bring him out for long walks or have some more vigorous activities. He has his walks twice a day, with the evening walks stretching an hr sometimes..

<font color="ff0000">About dogs</font>
I only worry because I have Shih Tzus and as you know, they have long coat. Plus I have to groom them every day, so when I combed their hair, all the small mini hairs also flying around. Just worried it will affect the baby in my body.

I also agree with Bear that it's better to expose children to some dirt, etc.

<font color="ff0000">About boys vs girls</font>
My SILs' first borns are all boys. And I think I am expected to have a boy. Although HB and I prefer a girl since they're generally better-behaved. But the pressure is there to have a boy. One of my BIL ever asked my MIL what if I have a girl as a firstborn. My MIL's reply was to try again. So very obvious, she is also expecting us to have a boy first. Sigh.

I just have a cup of bubble tea this afternoon. Really wanted it badly since I haven't got it since I knew I was pregnant. Sigh, but I know it's not good to have that.

JJ mom and Amore:
your situation sounds similiar to mine!! glad I am not the only person. My DH is the only child. So you kindna know how bad it can get. Actually my FIL once told me.. " I dun ask for much in life, just bear me three grandchildren -> all males just like you have 3 male rabbits!!" * faintz *

But I think they are better now. No fish got shrimps, better dun c/o. I had a miscarriage last year after 4 years of marriage. Took another one year to conceive again. So since then, they stopped asking for a grandchild cos my DH told them the more they pressurize, the more I cannot carry the pregnancy in peace...!!

BTW Karen, I tot we can have a cup of tea / coffee
(caffiene) each day? Well, that's why my gyne recommended.

BTW, anybody EDD is end Nov? Mine is 2nd Dec but since got no thread.. I am hanging around here! keke!!

Boy vs gal
when I preggie, my FIL go around telling relative that look at my tummy should be a boy. After the 5mth scan I told him is a gal, can c how disappointed they are.

But I Love gal, cause not so active more easy to handle. N they are closer to parent. But old folk have their own set of thinking.

Karen, no worries lah, bubble tea is ok..., old folk say if u got caving &amp; dont eat, next time kids will drop sailve..hahaha, so we must eat what we like to eat mah

hihi, mind if i join in? My EDD is on the 10th Nov.. I have a JRT at home too, only in his 6th month.. still very playful n notti.. luckily my MIL n family love him alot so shouldn't have any problem.

Karen, I know how you feel.. I also have not been drinking bubble tea for soooo long le (used to drink at least twice a wk) haiz... wat's the thing about not drinking cold water? One thing, I have never like milk, nor like drinking hot water.. think drinking plain water now make me feel like vomiting..

Any other advise? It's my first pregnancy.. Thanks!

hi Bear,
really!thats cool!! was is diff to get it licensed? does the housing type (3-room/4-room,etc) matters?

hey,
actually me and hubby also prefer a girl, and also coz girls tend to be more manja to daddy.daddy's little girl. but of coz, we wouldn't mind either gender. for my MIL,def she will be happy w boy as she already has 4 granddaughters.=P

Jenn and Karen,
i know what you mean. i have been craving for savoury/salty food and start to dislike sweet stuff. so this evening i had pig organ soup.haha..

can i just ask who else is also first pregnancy?=>

Karen, the hair won't affect ur bb. they are actually just dead protein.
Shih Tzus only have one coat right? for my corgi, he is double coated so really sheds a lot. i will little dust balls floating around the house everyday.

Re: boys vs gals
In the end many elders still prefer boys... I wonder if i will be like that next time. :p i mean our MILs were once in our shoes. Issit becos they have sons so think it is very easy to have sons? Bunnipet, 3 boys is really asking a lot. I hope i get one and they shuddup aft that.

Hi Jenn, Welcome! u can drink ginger tea.. I find it very gd for my tummy... lessy gassy too. otherwise, i m drinking warm ribena. :p i know it is weird but i kinda like it. Warm soya bean too. haha...

Cannot drink bubble tea meh? currently i m avoiding cold drinks cos whenever my period comes, i tend to get bad cramps and consciously avoid it. Now i m afraid to get cramps so i avoid it too! But i find warm water soothing.

Haru, no it doesn't matter what kind of HDB flat u stay in. But don't think it is a gd idea to get a dog now right? heehee...

This is my first pregnancy.

Happy &amp; Bear,
Thanks for ur advice! Going to send my dog for another round of checkup &amp; vaccination b4 bb arrives.

Haru,
This is my 1st pregnancy. EDD is 5th Nov 08. : )

MTBs,
Currently i have been experiencing difficulty in sleeping. Very awake at night till 3am and extremely tired in the day. Wonder when my life will be back to normal again. Am always feeling hungry but can't take much food. Ya talking abt bubble tea, been avoiding since i knew i was preggie. How i wish i can have it.. Is it ok to take cold drinks during first trimesters?

Cold drink

I feel is ok, some mtb have very bad MS ,cold drink really help in soothing. Try to min coke , fizzy drink &amp; avoid pineapple &amp; coconut juice lo. N if your sugar level is high then must also avoid. If got spotting then dont take cold drink.

But recently i try twice drinking carrot apple immediately i got brown discharge. So I stop.

Haru..pig organ soup..hahaha, Is a no no leh. Cause organs got lots of batercial. Liver Is a big no no.

But hor recently i just had medium cook steak...after that i regretted.

Babyzel we cant sleep cause our body is very active producing hormone for our bb grow mah . Try not to worry or stress too much. Maybe drink some warm milk, listen to music ,read some magz or take a warm bath before u sleep.

I can doze off quite fast but will dream the whole nitez.

I do drink cold drink if my craving come, but not excessive lo &amp; limit myself to half cup . Norm i take cold fresh milk or apple/ lime juice. But if u got cramp or spotting better avoid.

Vincy,
Thks! I heard from colleagues tat too much cold drink will affect bb's lung development. But i agree that when i take a bit of cold drink, my MS will be better. Guess as long as we drink in moderation it should be fine liao.
Still very much awake now as i'm feeling really sick in the stomach and chest area. Threw up several times this evening. Got to wait for the feeling to subside before going to bed. If i lie flat on the bed now, sure vomit again.

Babyzel,

I am the opposite of you. I fall asleep quite easily but by 3 am I am wide awake. Looking at my HB sleep like to shiok.

I have the same problem as you too. So much gas in the tummy and kept throwing up. I am in my 10 week now. How many weeks are you?

Babyzel

Ya moderation is the word..heehee. last preggie I will drink if i have the craving to drink. But orange juice no no cause scare baby got phelgm.

Wow... me too! I wake up in the middle of the night. I would edge myself such that DH will be cuddling me then I find that I fall asleep quicker..hehe!!

Haru: My EDD is 2nd Dec.

Bear: yup human beings are weird. Think cos they tot they pressurized me too much so now anything also can. Of cos I think as the pregnancy progress, they will become hopeful again!!
Anyways, they are the traditional sorts with family tree and middle chinese names sorted out for the males species.. Actually haven't broken news to time. Trying to stablize the pregnancy first, cos of cramps and one episode of spotting.
My parents like girls though.And they really spoil my nieces compared to nephews!! haha!!!

pets: how to intro ur baby to your pets? my pekingese like to be cuddled like a baby, i scared he wld be jealous when he saw us carrying our baby and not him... :>

bubble tea: wow nice... i also want to drink.. i stopped drinking tea when i found out i m pregnant. but i did sip on ice lemon tea coz very refreshing and a bit swt &amp; sour!

baby gender: i hope to get a girl first but the recent newspaper article featured on girls joining gangs and stuff.. i scared my own girl can get out of hand too.. boy better wont get disadvantaged... hb says he would not be able to slp if his baby girl comes home late.

losing slp: always wake up in the middle of night just to pee. in the end cannot slp. after much struggling finally fall alsp, but the alarm rings!!!! any good advice? i always empty my bladder before gog to bed...

gd morning ladies,
ya always have not enough slp is one of the major problem... wake up few times in the middle of the night.. even my HB will complain tat i am keep moving..

we cannot take juices? i been eating apple from fridge or apple juices w ice.

<font color="ff0000">Cold drinks</font>
Also don't know why we should avoid cold drinks. I did, for the first couple of weeks. After that, I cannot take it already. With the weather, and the MS, I just want to have my cold drinks.

As for bubble tea, my HB doesn't like me drinking it because he said the milk tea has been made for a long time and put to sit. So not very good to drink unfresh milk. Oh well, I kinda buy into that plus it's tea so I'm limiting myself.

Ever since my first miscarriage, I really take everything seriously this time. Knowing that caffeine can cause miscarriage really puts a stop to my drinking tea although I love Lipton's milk tea a lot and used to drink one cup every day.

<font color="ff0000">Bear</font>
No lei. Shih Tzu also double coat. That's why I need to groom them every day or they will get matts.

I think there are websites advising how to bring the bb home for the first time to introduce them to our dogs. I saw it in a pet's forum.

<font color="ff0000">Vincy</font>
Orange juice cannot drink? But I drank McDonald's yesterday. And have some leftovers today. Was loving it so much that I was even thinking of going to get another cup this morning but too lazy to walk that far.

<font color="#ff0000">Pkum</font>
How about your hb paying more attention to your pekingese so that he won't feel neglected?

Karen,

Can drink juices la. my doc advise me to take more fruits and juices.

Cold drinks better avoid not too much should be fine.

RE: Difficulty in slping
Recently i have been knocking off quite easily. I think partly becos my tummy has been acting up so body is exhausted by all the purging.. U guys puke, i LS.. :p

Cold drinks are ok. I still take them when i feel the craving, but my cravings are lesser liao. Dunno why.. may be subconsciously link cold drinks to cramps lor.. I have odd twinges and mild discomfort at the womb area... U guys have it? normal right? BTW orange juice is high in folic acid!

Pkum, i think u shd continue to hug ur doggie and also hug ur baby too. In a way this helps to train us when we have our 2nd one.. heh... may sure u show ur dog that he is still in ur heart. :p

Karen, oh shih tzus are double coated ah.. then they sure shed a lot.. like u say shave them botak lor.. heh..

Gender: my MIL knows already.. so she has started fussing over me.. i will let u guys know when she will start hounding me abt the gender. :p Actually both boys and gals join gangs too.. but honestly it is the gals who lose out more. They are the one carrying the bbs. I guess the parents are partly to blame too...

Need advice gals, my cervical mucus is dark yellow but not brown. Normal or not? Cos when i was spotting my CM was light brown. dun wanna freak myself out for nothing!

<font color="ff0000">Bear</font>
Actually my STs don't shed a lot. Plus no intention to shave them ah. Hee, not me who mentioned the shaving.

<font color="aa00aa">hey mummies,

im from mar thread, selling away unopen new GNC fenugreek pills for $20, expiry date 08/11. anyone keen sms or call me direct @ 91466419. thanks.</font>

Bear yellow discharge is ok, but not those kinda of thick smelly kinda.

Haiz..on n off i got brown discharge so scarey. Any mummies 5weeks plus still cannot detect embyro (bb) har? starting to worry cause my frez 5wk plus can detect liao...haiz

Karen..try drink more fresh fruit juice instead of process drink..more healthy ,heehee, but limit starfruit, coconut or orange. SF &amp; co is very cooling, Orange cause baby to have lots of phlegm

Bear,
Unless the discharge smells then it is infection and better go see doc.

Vincy,
Do not worry sometimes it is slower to detect. If brown discharge then should not walk around to much rest more and hope doc gave you some medicine.

Val,
I'm currently in my 8 wk. MS getting worse. Always feel like vomiting after food. Think my weight going to decrease somemore..
Then when u wake up at 3am what do u do?

Vincy,
I thought too much bird nest will cause phelgm in bb. My MIL cooked for me weekly since i told her abt my pregnancy but i told her to stop for the time being when my colleague advised me not to take too much bird nest. But i guess i will resume when i am 5 mth or so.
Or ya i tried 100 plus today to curb my MS but it didn't really work on me. : (

Hi ladies, thanks for ur advice. No, my discharge no smell.. just slightly darker than usual.. shd be ok right? as long as no blood or not brown... sorry ah, i worry wart. How abt crampy feelings? I have those achey (but not pain) suan feelings at my womb. Normal?

Vincy, I went for a scan at wk 5 exactly and all i saw was the pregnancy sac (only 2mm). Doc said too small to see anything.. wk 6 then go for another scan... may be we might ovulate later, hence technically the embryo might not be 3 wks old yet. What did ur gynae say? U shd be resting.. did u tell ur gynae abt the brown discharge? they usually give u MC to rest.

Karen, lucky u then! Cos my corgi sheds like mad!!!

I think i finally felt a bit of MS... just now all i wanted to do was puke. couldn't even finish a cup of hot choc...

Babyzel, ya too much birdnest will have phelgm. N we should only start after 4mth cause is "liang". I alternate between cordery(wronge spelling) &amp; birdnest. Cordery suppose to clear the bb lung &amp; birdnest make bb have smooth complexion. I feel cordery is very effective"touchwood", my gal so far so good. but now is getting very expensive, dont think i can afford this round.

Bear..relax, crampy feeling ok, I also have crampy feeling, as long is not those cramp that u will have cold sweat or bleeding.

My gynae also say so, norm embryo is after 6wk. My appointment is next fri. I am eating hormone pills liao. Is on &amp; off last visit no brown discharge .Today come back again..maybe I carry my gal.

RE: COLD DRINKS
Hi ladies, as what others said, moderation is the key. Take all food in moderation. But for ORANGE, i strongly believe that it will cause phlegm in our bbs. For my 1st pregnancy, i ate orange constantly cos i love it and also it has lots of vitamin C. End up i found my boy now are having phlegm quite easily. So ladies, pls eat in moderation for orange, or if best, try to cut down. So for this round, i really avoid orange..

Vincy,
relax, try not to cause stress to yourself about detecting embro. Every pregnancy is different, so u can't compare yours with your frens. I am sure you can detect it the next round u visit your gynae

As for waking up at night to pee frequently, i am lucky that i can doze off almost immediately. Cause i am always so sleepy esp if my boy wake up in the middle of night.

hi Bear,
haha, ya definitely not for now. if we were to introduce a pet (we are still contemplating doggie or kitty) we will do it when our kid is at least 2 years old?

hey ladies,
hope you've had a good weekend so far. i have no MS at all, only thing is my crazy appetite. ate tom yam cup noodles late last nite. just had such a strong craving. then my sis-in-law bot some donuts just now, didnt feel tempting at all. somehow sweet things doesnt do it for me now since i'm preggie.hahah..

now i normally wake up once or twice a nite to pee..and its always lots of pee..when i went out with friends on Friday, i had to pee like 3 times in just 2 hours, and they even asked "you pregnant or wat?u keep peeing!".but i just laugh it off coz i am trying to keep it a secret until the 1st tri is over. =P

Babyzel,

Yah I started my MS since the 5 week and I am now in my 10 still have and I have lots of gas. So much that my tummy is bloated all the time and I just cant eat. Whatever I eat I will throw the feeling is bad. But what I understand is it will get better after the 12 week. I really hope so men.

When I wake up do nothing lor just stare in space and just try to sleep if good sometimes I get back to sleep like now cant sleep so reply

Is this your 1st Preg? I went for doc check up yesterday finally saw the fetus. was swimming about. Hee very cute men.

hi vincy, me too.. yesterday went see gynae coz whenever i have stomache, the pain is bad... and based on LMP, yesterday should be 5weeks 1 day, but duno why my gynae said im abt 4 weeks+ to 5 weeks, and yet to detect anything yet

i am seeing him again one weeks time

i am now in my 6 week (accordingly to GP estimation),and for the past 2 weeks my bowel movement have been very regular compared to before preggie. i've just started takin e antenatal which he mentioned could cause stools to harden.does any of you have the prob?

Gd morning ladies,

Haru, hahah then u don't want a second child? I think a gd time to introduce pet is when your youngest child is abt 4 yrs old.
My gynae only gave me folic acid and so far it didn't affect my bowel movements. But I am having diarrhea since wk 4. currently wk 5.5, so u can imagine how terrible i feel. Antenatal vits have iron which can cause constipation. if u don't feel anything, don't worry...

Gillian, hang in there ok? still very early. if u use LMP to calculate, they assume ovulation day is day 14 and u have a perfect 28 days cycle. may be u ovulated later, hence not able to detect anything yet. Don't worry ya?

Vincy,
U refer to cordycep? Is very expensive and heard there are actually fake ones going around. So do be careful in ur purchase. Then i think i will start on bird nest later in my pregnancy.
U better dun carry ur daughter, now still in first tri better avoid. Maybe u can just sit ur girl on ur lap when you are sitting down.