(2008/07) July 2008

caitlyn,
i still carry my boy who is now 7.5mth old and he's now > 10kg. very taxing cos he wants pple to carry him to walk around. normally it's my FIL or hb who does the job

hi morning,
SY how liao?

did u all hear people said that when u preggy cannot eat crabs? is it ture?

Jenny
yes i also drink milk but hor i drink already all vomit out.. so now dun dare to drink..

Hi everyone...just found out I'm pg 3 days ago. EDD is late July. Glad to be able to join in the chat here...

HI hi all, m writing from China now... supposed to be having my hols but not enjoying v much coz no appeitite and forever v nausea... I have a bit of spotting leh.. but i tk shld be ok lah.. hope so.. fingers crossed. I tk it is coz i have been carrying my daughter around for quite a bit.

I wonder how mums out there who r having 3rd preg cope with 2 kids and another one in tummy. Here I am... struggling with 1 kid and not much energy to play with her and run around with her plus all the "preggy sickness" no mood to sometimes smile at her and she feels it... coz she gets grouchy when i m grouchy.. trying v hard to put up a happy expression. She is rather sticky to me... coz been breastfeeding her and still m, so most of the times she wans me... sigh.. so very very very very tired.

Can't wait to get back Spore and see my gyane for peace of mind... kindof worried abt my spotting.. though i tk it is not a lot, i think.

Would like to check i'm presently 7 weeks preganat is it safe to travel? Coz me n my hubby have been planning to go taiwan since nov 07 but it b coz of work of us delay nw we plan to during jan 08 is it advisable travel nw?

thanks for all the concern!
i saw gynae yesterday and can see bb's heartbeat. roughly abt 6 weeks 6 days.

the EDD can change from calculated cos i think they will measure the size of the bb.

serene,
best to check with you gynae whether safe to travel. also, if you feel alright, i guess it shd be ok. it wd be quite sian to travel when u have MS etc.

re carrying of kid
i still carry my boy almost everyday. he is abt 12kg. but i do try to make him walk.

little_bear
do u experiene any pain with the spotting? i ahd some spotting for first one. try not to walk ard or carry your kid too much.

jeanyard
i may take leave in dec but haven decide yet...but a bit hard to buy clothes when still so early...the clothes will not look nice leh

re crabs
i already ate twice already..haha. for 1st one, i also ate and he really likes to touch things here and there..old pple will tell u cnanot eat crabs or the bb will 'a lot of hands'

chloe
Dr Han really very nice. he was quite funny. he alwasy ask whether i got MS. i told him a lot since seeing him...he said good good. the more the better. i already lost weight from all the MS but he said good. he's really a very nice person. makes me feel at ease.

thanks for all the concern!
i saw gynae yesterday and can see bb's heartbeat. roughly abt 6 weeks 6 days.

the EDD can change from calculated cos i think they will measure the size of the bb.

serene,
best to check with you gynae whether safe to travel. also, if you feel alright, i guess it shd be ok. it wd be quite sian to travel when u have MS etc.

re carrying of kid
i still carry my boy almost everyday. he is abt 12kg. but i do try to make him walk.

little_bear
do u experiene any pain with the spotting? i ahd some spotting for first one. try not to walk ard or carry your kid too much.

jeanyard
i may take leave in dec but haven decide yet...but a bit hard to buy clothes when still so early...the clothes will not look nice leh

re crabs
i already ate twice already..haha. for 1st one, i also ate and he really likes to touch things here and there..old pple will tell u cnanot eat crabs or the bb will 'a lot of hands'

chloe
Dr Han really very nice. he was quite funny. he alwasy ask whether i got MS. i told him a lot since seeing him...he said good good. the more the better. i already lost weight from all the MS but he said good. he's really a very nice person. makes me feel at ease.

SY
Ha...Ha... he really funny leh. Did he give you a copy of the scan? So good can lost weight, i dun know gain how many kgs by eating all the tibits. Next time must lose all the weight will be very difficult liao. Always feel so tastless and need to eat something to make the tasteless feel go away.
I also feel alot of winds in my stomach and burp alot. So sian.... hope all the discomfort can go away soon.

SY,
glad to hear that u are ok.

little bear,
try not to walk so much. i had spotting while i was in HK during my pregnancy. but hor, i didnt care much, just try to rest more after every shopping.

chloegal
yeah he gave me the copy of the scan. in fact he gave me 2 pics yesterday. each different view.

i dun really wan to lose weight leh. i m now under 40kg. not very healthy weight i feel....

initially i ate a lot of tidbits but now even the craving for tibits is gone...

JMon,
thanks..wow u went HK during your pregnancy? early pregnancy? i m thinking of going for a short hol in 2nd trimester if possible

SY,
ya went the when i was abt 8wks on my 1st pregnancy. bo bian, had to go cos the trip was booked b4 i was preggy.

but b4 i fly, i did ask gynae for advise. she said ok.

hi hi... during my 1st preg, i went hol when i was 4 mths... had a good time coz no kid then.. no need to look after anybody...

actually i tk shld be able to travel... well m now out of Spore but if you have a kid to look after.. story may be different.. if no kids.. just go lah...enjoy yourself b4 the baby pops out.

No pain when spotting. Today, will try move abt less... wld like to have a day w/o spotting to ease my mind.. but have to walk out for lunch later.. hopefully my daughter will not be too fussy today...

Yar chloegal, i oso feel like my tongue has lost its taste buds.. and also a lot of wind in my stomach, can even "hear and feel" wat the tummy is doing...m ultra sian too. Waiting for 3 mths to be over...

hi all, can i join in? i just found out i'm preggy today..

having menses like cramp now & then...also feeling quite cold easily, esp midnite, would wake up feeling cold and gastric/ stomache uncomfort ..unable to sleep

oni gg to c gynae on 7 dec..lst appoint...

any gals, have the same discomfort as mi?

Dear all, im going to be July 08 mummy.. Gynea confirmed my pregnancy on Monday when he can see bb's heartbeat and the yolk. Now in my 6th weeks, edd will be on 07.07.08.. and this is my 2nd pregnancy...

glitter, it is normal to feel menses cramp during early stage. Im having very sharp pain at the side of the tummy.. It is so painful that make me can't move and walk... gynea said it is till to muscle pulling.. but i never experience it during my 1st pregnancy... sigh..

welcome glitter,
i also feel the same at nite feeling cold and gastric/ stomach not feeling well... then will wake up at around 2-3am every nite...

sy,
happy to hear that got bb heart beat..

re-hoilday
i also thinking to go hoilday but my mother sure unhappy de cos this is my 1st preggy then later she will said that what if go there fall sick how? so i think i cannot go any where till my bb come out ba...

re-crab
haha few day ago i also eat liao... i think should be ok ba just dun eat too much...

Can check with u all what type of food u all eat ar? cos i see every food dun feel like eating then i scare the bb no got not enough vit ect... i not sure what should eat what should not eat..

I've a brand new Ultrasound Music CD for both mummy and baby. There's 2 CDs inside. It's a gift from my friend but i already bought one myself so i'm selling this away. Selling at $12.
1086441.jpg

i have baby posters for sale too, Retail price is $2.45, am selling at $2 each.
1086455.png
1086456.png
1086457.png
1086458.jpg
1086459.jpg

If you buying more i can get cheaper price for u

Hi jumbo, hi ling,
thanks for the assurance..

Jumbo, this is also my 2nd pregnancy...my lst is a gal..2 yrs old liao...

ling,ya..mi also wake up around 2-3am..then can't really sleep thru ...now still having menses like cramp...its on & off...

when did u all 1st see a gynae when u discovered u r pregnant? if i go & c now, will it be too early, i tink i'm around 4-5 wks preggy...

hi all, saw my bb's heartbeat at the gynae's yesterday. very happy. bb is now 8 weeks old. Edd 3 july....

hi glitter, maybe can go see around 7/8 weeks. I went see at 5/6 weeks. still can't see heartbeat, only saw the sac. But then again, see early can confirm the pregnancy with doc, and he can start you off with folic acid and vitamins. think it's really up to you.

some updates on myself too.

I had some spotting on wed night. so went to see gynae again on thurs morning.

gynae did a scan thru abominal...cannot find heartbeat. but when he do v-scan. can see. he said bb is still very small now. probably around 6 wks only. From the size of the sac it says 6 wks 2 days. Edd should be 15 July.

Glad to see bb heartbeat at least.

But the thing is, my symptoms seem to be decreasing. The bitterness taste in my mouth also not much already and my smell sense also like not so hypersensitive now. Wonder if its normal?

Hi all MTBs, Just to share, I hope you all can benefit from this recipes to cope w yr MS.

Chix Congee w Dangshen and Duzhong
30g Dang Shen
15g Duzhong
60g glutinous rice
600g chix
15g ginger

1. Rinse all ingredients.
2. Put Dang Shen and Du Zhong into a cloth bag and tie the bag tight. Put all ingredients into a pot. Cook until the rice is mushy.
3. Season w a little sale and cooked oil. Serve

This porridge is good and norish and warm your gastric especially after vomit. I tried it several times too.

Another recipe

Lotus Seed Congee w Mai Dong
Ingredients
10g Mai Dong
12g lotus seeds
40g long-grain rice

1. Put Mai Dong into a cloth bag
2. Rinse rice and lotus seeds. Add water and bring to boil. Put in Mai Dong and cook until the rice is mushy.
3. Discard the Mai Dong in a cloth bag and serve.

You may ask about and buy from Medical Hall the Chinese herbs to cook the above porridge.

glitter
i asked my gynae. he said it is normal to feel cold or hot. some pple feel cold, some feel hot. for me this time round, i always feel cold

wow so many new mummies
to all new mummies

glitter,
do u need to work? cos im working so in he morning when i wake up i feel very tired cos every9 hv to wake up around 2-3am then can only go back to sleep at about 4-5am..

Sparks,
the recipes that u give can we start eating now? and i also hear the old ppl said that if we wan to eat tonic also hv to wait after 3 mth .

Hi ling,

the recipes i provide is suitable now to curb MS during initial stage of pregnancy. I've benefit from it thus sharing it with all of you. I'm from May 2008 thread.

Besides, the fish oil, folid acid, calcium pills we consume. Our diet too can help our foetus and ourselves. Here are some recipes to improve norish blood & its circulation. To all mums who felt cold...

Pork liver Sp w Spinach
ingredients
600g spinach
150g pork liver
20g sliced ginger
4 cups of water

1. Rinse the spinach. Wash and slice the pork liver.
2. Boil some water in a pot. Put in the ginger slices and pork liver. Cook briefly.
3. Add spinach and bring to boil. Season w salt and Serve.

Spinach is rich in folic acid. Besides participating in the protein metabolism, folic acid also maintains the normal cell division. Pork liver is extremely abundant in iron. Eating pork liver helps regenerate more haemoglobin. Tat's Y it prevents iron-deficient anaemia while promoting synthesis of blood cells in the foetus and replenishing the iron level in the expectant mother.

Pork Liver Sp w QiZi
150g pork liver,
150g lean pork.
20g Qizi
200g carrot
shredded ginger

1. Rinse all ingredients. Slice the pork liver, lean pork and carrots.
2. Put in the carrot to cook for 20m first before adding thre remaining ingredients. Season w salt and Serve

I just visited the gynae today and was shock to know I am having fraternal(non-identical) twins. Both hubby and I do not have family history of twins. Do anyone of you here who have twins like me, do not have family history on both side yet having a twins?

I am now only at week 5 and the gynae can only find 2 sac without baby heartbeat. I am visiting the gynae again next week. Hopefully by then both sac will have heartbeat...

My EDD date is around mid of July. Nice to meet other mummies here and hope to gain more knowledge and advice from everybody. This is my first time being a mummy and really excited. Moreover I am only prepared for 1 baby yet now is "buy 1 get 1 free".

mummy_yan,

wow, double congratulation for your double-joy.

sorry i dont have twins so i cannot really share much.

very happy for you and hope u can see your bbs heartbeat next week.

Hi SY,

Nice to know you...at what stage did you detect ur 2 little cuties heartbeat?

Hi Miracle/Sparks,
Thank you for your wishes..just hope everything is fine and smooth...

mummy_yan,
congrats u got twin.. dun said buy 1 for 1 free both are u and hubby create de.. hehehe my hubby hope for twin but dun hv haha he said twin better cos two together then when they grow up we relex lor...

mummy_yan
hee, no no i dun have twins. i m a twin myself....

ling
actually twins got pros and cons. financial wise more siong but good thing is the companionship.

mummy_yan, the babies have chosen U to be their mummies! I'm very happy for U! Keep up the motivation...ya? And stay cheerful always...

Thanks all for the wishes...I am happy, but also abit scared of the pregnancy process. Especially now I am having 2!Gdluck to me :p

SY
Ha...Ha... me also twin leh... so coincidence we even have the sam gynae. Me and my sis is identical Twin and her gynae also DR Han, sometimes we will go for appt together, not sure if Dr Han will get confused or not

mummy_yan
congrates on having twins....so nice to have twins.

found out on tue im pregnant... EDD likely on 27 Jul..
Yet to see my gynae but am spotting now.. very light brown & today is the 3rd day of spotting.. Am getting hormone pills fr my gynae. How long does u gal's spotting last? Am a bit worried..
Understand that spotting is likely due to egg implantation if there's no pain or heavy flow.
Even if i c my gynae now there's nothing she can see from the scan..

Hi peppermintt

I understand that some people can have brown spottings for up to 2 weeks....like you said, if it's not red in colour with no strong crampings it should be alright...but try to rest as much as you can. No heavy lifting or strenous activities..

Any mummies intersted in Frisomum (400g) , willing to release at $10. Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

Hi cynn,

thanks... am resting at home.
Hopefully no more spotting after today.
Hope we can share more in this thread

And there's a twins too.. how nice. Congrats to everyone!

My info:
Nic: Peppermintt
EDD: 27 Jul 08
Gynae: Lisa Chin from Gleneagles
Zone: West

chloe
so qiao!!! haha. are u the older or younger twin? i m the older one

hi peppermint
spotting can be due to implantation like what u said. no particular reason but like what cynn said, if not strong cramping, shd be ok. my first pregnancy also got spotting. no BD, no exercise, no strenous activities.

take care!

it is advisable not to take too much pig liver as it contain Vitamin A (preformed vitamin A from animal tissue),that in high doses may cause birth defects. Vitamin A beta-carotene found in vegetables, carrot are fine.

Article extracted from the Net
--------------------------------

Most women do not have to worry about excess vitamin intake during pregnancy. Women who ingest Vitamin A (retinol or retinyl esters), up to 10,000 IUs per day, should have no concerns regarding increased teratogenic (causing birth defects) risk to their baby-to-be. In addition, beta-carotene as a source of vitamin A has not been shown to be teratogenic any dose.

There may be a population of women who should be alerted to the consequences of ingesting too much of the fat-soluble vitamins, A, D and E. Women are often given prenatal vitamins indiscriminately, without a full dietary assessment. Most prenatal supplements provide about 8,000 IUs. Vitamin A supplements should not exceed 10,000 IU (as retinol or retinyl esters, not beta-carotene) and when foods with a high concentration of vitamin A, for example liver, are ingested frequently, they can contribute to the overall total amount of retinol consumed daily.

The incidence of "Retinoid embryopathy," a syndrome of anomalies involving the face, ear, heart, central nervous system and thymus, is very rare, but has been associated with excessive intake of retinol. The 10,000 IU recommendation is well below any level in which birth defects have been observed.

In summary, if a woman is taking a multivitamin, prenatal vitamin or Vitamin A supplements containing less than 10,000 IU (as retinol or retinyl), or beta-carotene at any dose, there is no evidence of an increase in the risk of malformations in her baby. If she is ingesting any foods high in Vitamin A, she should investigate the amount of vitamin A contained in those food and limit her total daily intake to 10,000 IUs or less.

Any mummies intersted in the herbs. I still have 17pkts (mix of the 2 brands as shown below) left, willing to release at $1.50/pkt. Interested mummies can contact me at 92789982.

1088996.jpg