(2008/06) June 2008

<font color="aa00aa">opppsss...forget to add tat my new wk plc is @ raffles plc, so next time can do lunchie liao...

<font color="blue">cactus,
i think it's 32cm lah..3.2cm is very small lor..i look @ my report for detailed scan..they put there diameter for bb's head is 90mm leh..which is oredi 9cm..so cannot be 3.2cm..</font>

christinia,
wah emergency csec sure gan jiong hor.. must monitor the temperature and sponge regularly bcos can easily go up one ley. see who can help u or not bcos u oso need to rest well.

bizznow, really ah?? Gosh. I better go back and check my scan report. maybe my bb's head diameter is 32.9cm. then it is really so long!!

bizznow, cannot be leh... I look at the ruler, 18 cm already so big... mog's bb's head diameter cannot be 32 cm. very long leh. our heads also not 32 cm...

christina,
ask the CL record down the temperature too.

cactus,
the head is calculated in circumference; not diameter
i check my bb boy health booklet his was 36cm ley - more than 10cm in diameter cant do natural birth

christina,
can understand ley bcos like tahan pain for so long waste the effort; nm lah wat matters is both u and bb safe and sound :D

luz,
me experience natural labour pain &amp; csec pain. My hb say next time go csec straight away then no need to see me in pain for so long liao. And also bill no need so ex$ liao. But happy to see bb finally out liao.

luz, ah!!! Thanks for shining light. My scan report has 2 head measurements - head circumference and head diameter. My bb's was 32.9mm for head diameter.

Maybe bizznow's 90mm is head circumference. Makes sense this way...

I can't recall my bb's head circumference, but if I calculate from 32.9mm being diameter, my bb's head circumference now is 10.34cm. Quite close to her bb's head circumference of 9cm.

<font color="aa00aa">luz,
actually not so soon cos i went for the initial 1st interview wif the company one wk b4 i due &amp; straight after bb's borne, i had 2 tele-interviews wif the global division &amp; BUs heads in US @ nites, the final one was yd &amp; all in all, i went thru interviews wif 7pple from the same company...</font>

hehee christina, yeahlor dat's y my hubby ask me do csec this time round ago bcos he said my pain threshold low - end up i oso no choice had to do csec bcos the cord wounded round the neck mah think the bill abt at $500 diff.

cactus,
oh cannot calcuate the diameter by yourself ley, bcos it depends on the shape of the head; whether is oblong or round. only the scan measurement can tell hehee

aiyah.. I just re-read bizznow's post. she siad her scan report said her bb's head diameter is 90mm.. not circumference. I'm soo confused. go home and look at scan report again.

wah crystal, i think ur job is high profile job need 7 interviews ! 1st time i heard b4 ley! hehee really wish u gd luck in your new job; like a new begining like dat

luz, you're right... I was just hoping to make sense of the calculations. No choice lah. have to go home to look at the scan report and see what the measurements say. Last time, Ellysia said head diameter not more than 3.5cm then chances are no need assisted delivery...

<font color="aa00aa">luz,
i also think it is a bit too much, 1st time i ve to go thru so many rds. i was told i m fortunate tat cos i m on confinement, hence tele-interviews wif US, if not they usually fly down potential candidates to NY (corp office) for final rds of interviews. i was like....HUH? the role not high profile lar, jus a norm managerial position tat's all. jus tat the company's selection process a bit too lengthly, in my opinion....</font>

I think I'm one confused preggie. luz, you're right. I should be looking at the BPD. Bizznow probably meant 90mm being her bb's BPD. I just need to dig out my scan report to see. Ellysia probably meant head circumference not more than 35cm. I only remember my bb's head circumference being 32.9cm. Can't recall the BPD.

yah, sorry mog. I'm one confused cactus (blushing bright pink liao!). Yeah. it's circumference. but I think not too big yet.. cos Ellysia did say less than 35cm still okay. remmeber her doctor saying that some time back. I'm very concerned about head circumference. cos my bb is 32.9cm already... sigh. so terribly worried!

Cactus,
Logically, head diameter should be 90+mm or 9+cm, otherwise why else would we need our cervix to dilate to 10cm to fit baby's head? It would then make sense for head circumference to measure 31-35cm. If our baby's head diameter at birth was only 3.5cm, it would be extremely small, don't you think?

Anyway, I'm still waiting for labour despite losing mucus plug last Mon and having lots of BHCs. EDD on Sat, hopefully cervix will be ready by then. Kinda knew deep down that my #2 would be like #1, late or at best, on time. Wait until v sian, after 4 days HL at home, insisted on coming back to work this week. Only thing to give thanks for is that her weight caught up v fast in the last 3-4 weeks. Went from 2.1kg at 36 weeks to 3.1kg at 39.5 weeks. Wonder if she purposely stayed longer inside me to prove the gynae wrong, because he said he didn't expect her to exceed 3kg at birth and kept comparing her weight to #1, who was 3.5kg at birth.

babycupid,

My labour is also v long, 19 hours since contractions (17 hours in hosp).. really envy those with short labour.

If yr breasts are undergoing engorgement period, just pump and latch whenever u feel near full, dun wait until v full. after some time the period shd be over and milk supply will increase le.

I haven't start serious pumping. So dunno how many ml of my ms. But my bb used to drink 90ml FM. Now after i latch i still feel my breasts not empty out, so i guess shd be around 90ml or slightly more. I hope if breasts are not empty out, it will not reduce MS.

TF,

To-date i still cannot sleep on my side because the muscles will pull tightly so i still have to sleep on my back and sometimes my piles will give me problems while sleeping on back.

My wound so painful tat on dishcarge day i have to take wheelchair from ward room to entrance of TMC.. then i can only walk crab like - horizontal walking for the first 4-5 days. hb and mum are so worried tat someting wrong with the legs lor.
At first i am afraid hurt nerve but now i tink is the muscles pulling.

Then on my followup checkup with PD and gynae, i actually wanted to postpone cos can't walk properly but heng 1 day before i can walk properly without crab walking ored though very slow. Then i met one mum, she tot me just discharge and c-sect cos she see me walk v slow and painful. me so malu cos she just discharge then can walk so smoothly than me who ored discharge few days liao.

This week start to feel better liao.. can walk but still walk big big..hopefully by end mth can walk nice nice or else dunno how to celebrate bb full mth.

try to eat more pork meat to heal, vegs etc. i skip chix meat for the first 1 week.

cactus,

head size is v impt..
but i tink it won't increase a lot over a short period of time esp last mth. likely to + - a little at birth.

just came back fr poly, bb's jaundice 160
got to go back this sat for another re-assessment.
beside morning sun, wat else can i do?

is it bcos of all the confinment food that we take?

Zu En,

Ya supplements are v impt. Me always feel fainting during 1st week due to lack of blood. though gynae gave me iron tablets but i didn't take for long bec of constipation. I took only 4 days iron tablets then didn't pass motion for 1 week so have to take medicine from gynae to pass motion.

Then last week end still feel fainting, my mum made me drink chix essence (anyway i got a lot gifts from frens n colleague) so i feel much stronger liao.. but still easily sneeze if slightly cold or got wind.

To those who haven't give birth and worried abt birth process,

dun panic and remain calm esp when real contractions/labour start..
dun worry too much abt it now..watever happen will happen.

for me i only tink tat i want bb to come out quick quick and he is okay.. i didn't care so much abt myself. When i push for 1.5 hrs still can't push out, i was so worried abt bb bec he is stuck in btw virginal area ored and has ored pass motion inside uterus and cannot delay any longer but i can't push him out.. tat is the most worrying period and tat time i cry a bit cos v worried abt bb.

<font color="blue">cactus,
i asked the doc 1 leh..i said wat is this 90mm thing??he said it's the diameter...i said not circumference ah??he said no leh.. nvr mind..u go back check..i shall go back check mine again.. but 32.9mm is too small leh for diameter..u look @ the ruler..like dun make sense leh.. </font>

MRSWRX, can eat before induce lah... my SIL took her bf b4 she went for induce last time. But she told me don overeat before gg for labour. If not, when we push that time, might actually push some SH** out also.

Luz and Mog, good luck ladies!!! Jia You!
I think my gynae will ask me go induce if i don pop by me EDD (tis sun). Yesterday nite n today, i have the downward pressue n abit pain at V there. I hope it's the sign that bb wants to come out soon.

Crystal, congrats on ur new job! Treasure the time with ur bb now! =)

Christina,

OIC so u r the success story.. yr labour is also v long, got more than 12 hrs right?
me not induce but still 17 hrs (+2 hrs at home).. sianz

Tera,

for me, the 2 days at hosp i dun have any colostrum. my colostrum only come in after i discharge, then engorgement come in 1-2 days after colostrum come. then cont for 2 days engorgement. after engorgement my ms improve and i am able to reduce FM to 50%, then slowly reduce until cease FM 2 days ago. I only use my pump to relieve engorgement, so far never use pump me always latch.

<font color="aa00aa">Crystal, congratulations on your new job!

TF, ur boy's eyes looks like urs , so big and bright.

Me 1st day start my HL at home and feel like i'm having mushroom oredy. Weather is so warm, and i feel like i'm rehearsing my confinement, only that i can take bath. hehe...</font>

bizznow, I believe you are right. I was in my own dreamland.. wishful thinking that bb's head is soo small loh! I told my hb about it. He thinks our bb's head is 32.9cm in circumference.

Cactus...ya lah... if diameter is 32.9mm. One "put", baby will just come out. hehe...

Felicia, I'v been "mushroom" for almost a week liao. Also, feel it's a taste of confinement liao just that can bath and wear shorts....

Roooller, your bb hit 160 still okay. Imagine mine last wk still 190+ and hit 300+ before. She's already 2wks+. What I understand that we can't take ginger and papaya. Nothing can be done except to let BB detox the bacteria out by peeing and pass motion.

TF!! how come u carrying my bb?!? The first picture really look like my girl. When she first came out of my stomach, the first thing i say "how come look like boy boy" See below picture. Really look like urs wor.
1484519.jpg

Sharon,
oh dear no wonder lah
i took papaya fish soup!!!
but confinement sure got ginger leh

lobang:-
Neo gardeb hv 15% off for bb full mth
check their website under "promotion"

Congrats to all mummies who have popped! Welcome to the world precious ones!!!

To all mummies who are going to pop, jia yu and ELVs!!!

Thanks for sharing all the photos of your babies with us.........so cute!!! Can't wait for my turn.

Congrats to Crystal on your new job!!! That's fast!!!

But, I think my girl wants to beat my #1's record of 40 weeks 1 day...ha!ha!

dear all, this is TF's husband, YY/Mark. Thank you for yr well-wishes and especially, margaret's help to upload Masean's photos to this motherhood. We have just returned from hopsital, and masean is doing well. he has moved from ICU to Special Care Unit. Hopefully, we can fetch him out soon, though personally, I would prefer for him to stay longer in the professional care of KK staff, so that he can build up his health. having said that, i appreciate all your concern to my wife and son. my heartiest congrats to those ladies who have now moved on the motherhood. I myself am still learning to be a father, though am glad to see that masean is relatively closed to my wife and me. he will stop crying whenever we carry him or when we talk to him. fatherhood is wonderful and it is really a joy to hear yr baby cries because it just shows that he is alive and is being pampered by God almighty. Once again, thank you for your support to my wife (when i am outstationed). my best regds, YY/Mark (father of Masean)

Mog,
Thanks! Hehe, I think all babies are cute esp so to their own parents. :p Am sure yours will also be very cute since u are a very sweet-looking girl! ") All the best for your delivery, please don't worry too much, will keep you in my prayers. There is still tonite for something to happen but also just be mentally prepared for induction ok?

Luz,
All the best to you as well!!

Ellysia,
I have been latching baby on yesterday and today since the colostrum kicked in. After latching on, CL will supplment with FM via cup-feed. Actually, if I am latching him on constantly, do I need to pump?? My supply is still very little. Will pumping help to increase the supply?

My CL has also told me to avoid chicken. So now taking mostly pork, fish and veg.

mark,
no prob at all.
congrats on your promotion to fatherhood and glad to hear that little masean's doing well and moved to special care. in fact, jillian is the one who has been very helpful to us all these while.
take care and enjoy the journey! Little masean will be in my prayers.

JP,
u jia you too!

crystal,
Congrats on your new job! ;)

dear mummies..

Just wanted to let out some angry gazs....
My confinement aunty is very good, the food she cook also very nice, better than my in-law cooking... Recently my mum ask what food she cook for me, that i told her normal what u always cook at home loh. and after dinner got oranges.
Than my mum was so angry, she say we can only eat chai xing and kai lan and cannot cook with garlic... must cook with ginger. and No oranges. but recently heard from my mum that alots of thing we cannot eat like normal people are used to eat, like oranges (liang fruits) and some vegetable with pai cai etc.. so me blur blur just eat loh.Been happily eaten for almost 2weeks of those non confinement food. And some more i hired her to do my confinement, turn out those food knowledge she also don't know....hai... so angry...and my in-law too, everything also don't know. No wonder let her take over the kitchen so happy. Sian loh... next time better ask my own mum to do for me.

shinely,

kkh serves barley which i thought liang right?
ask LC, she say ok to drink.
she even say some mummies even has more bm bcos of barley.
she say since our confinement diet mostly heaty is ok to drink barley.