(2008/06) June 2008

TF,
hi there...how u doing?hows ur wound? ya lor, now mil kgets whiter liao, more dilute lor...sometimes like water leh...

LengLeng,
understooded...no choice hor..hiaz..

Tera, feifei is right. Use hand can extract 20ml. Actually my right breast still block. And whn i put pump, dun really extract much cos of the block at the aorela area. So when i use my thumb n index finger to squeeze n break the lumps, bet what wonders can do. Really nd to do a thorough unblock for the breast from nipple, working circumference slow to the back. If front is block, the back milk cant flow out. No thru road. :p

Any mommy here with baby who only latch and drink from one side per feeding? If yes, how long normally is the interval in btw feeding, 2-3 hours? If drink from both side, how long normally is the interval in btw feeding?

Feifei, still hurts if i walk too much or stand too long. Cos the pressure or gravity is on the wound. But whn lie more, less pain. I shd nt b walking so much but bopian wif trips to KKH since bb nt back.

I so happy today least get to shower n wash hair after finally 1 week later.

Cactus, u sure u wnt water bag leak? Is Oxytocin considered induce too?

Ellysia, u so funny on your crab walking position. Hubby n me laugh when we read tog. He even try to imagine your motion..hee

nss,
should be dedicated into many pieces to many many people.

ND girl,
Hmm didnt hear any scream leh... maybe I was too numb and simply love the laughing gas so didnt take note and watching tv hehehe.

Jaundice
---------
PD told me bb having jaundice is partly due to our hormones. IF WE are TBF, may take up to 2mths to go off. IF PBF around 1mth depends. For mi I totally didnt take ginger from day 1 e moment i start BF bb. Now my mum was nagging at me not a single ginger is so horrible! But if really wan add few slices into ur soup will be ok cos I am doing that too and bb is improving though her level not very high, slightly above normal...

nss,
I guess depends on individual bb. Normally will latch 10-30mins for both breast. And interval of about 1hr30min - 2hr for next feed. Also depends on ur bb demand. As alot ppl mention BF is on demand, we cant have a fixed schedule as we simply wont know how much they have suckle lo. It can be less than what we given from bottle..

TF and Feifei,
Hey, u girls are right! I just tried using my hands and realise can extract more easily then pump. :p My milk also very white and watery.

Actually, I have a bad feeling I am developing masititis, cos the lower part of my both breasts has red patches and hot to the touch. Going to call parentcraft and check.

TF,
Hehe, that means today i also can wash hair and shower too!
I think it's a real challenge doing confinment during this period. :p

mrswrx, my hb checked. he couldn't resist the temptation to know. But my doctor told me to be on standby mode since last Friday... cos he said bb is well engaged...

TF, waterbag leak then leak lah... haha. rupture even better.. can deliver bb earlier. Yes, oxytocin is a method for induction.

<font color="aa00aa">cactus, glad to heard tat u r almost there liao.
Every mummies is asking their babies to come out faster, but me now had to ask my baby to wait till next week. Me had stopped all squatting and 'tailor' position for temporary.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi gers,
u ladies r reai faithful in following the confinement rules ley...the nurses @ RH oreadi wash me up on 2nd day am after op &amp; tat very nite, i oreadi shower in hospital liao. since coming hm, i had been showering daily or sometime twice a day at hm &amp; wash my hair every 2 days or so. if not confinement is tis weather is a real killer...i salute u gers like TF &amp; Tera who can tahan for 1 wk, i cant even stand not showering for 1 day. tat's y i was telling roxy the other day tat as far as my MIL is concern, i m a real bad DIL cos i laterally break all the "laws" on confinement. hahahhaaa...

ellysia,
yup, buzz me after yur CL lar. cos i be working way b4 our ML officially ends. my poor bb...oni 6 wks old n i ve to leave her to go wk...going to miss her real bad....</font>

thanks Cynthia, i seem to recall as my #1 only drink 1 side per feed, guess every bb is unique. Did u go to Mt A? I am going to Mt A, just wondering what did the hospital gave other than the bath tub?

Felicia,

thks.. cos i tink if i pump after latching, the amt will not be a lot and thus if i want to accumulate to 1 feed (to keep in case i need to go out or to bring bb out) i may need different pump sessions within same day. I dun want to keep different bottles with only pathetic amt inside.

Tera,

Hot and red patches could be also bec engorgement? cos engorgement will cause yr breasts to feel hot.

hand express while latching is v good method to increase milk flow.

my Milk is whitish yellow colour, paler than FM.
Me dunno the colour (cos never pump out to see) but my bb sometimes will vomit some milk out so can see the colour.

Watery milk could be the fore milk. hind milk shd be more creamy i tink.

Cynthia and nss,

actually even if latch, bb will also follow a schedule too, as long as the latch time is fixed timing. I usu got check the time i latch on bb to estimate the next time he will wake up.

nss, me latch usually 30-40mins (each side around 15/20mins) and can last around 2 hrs-3hrs btw each feed.

crystal,

sure will buzz u.

Me also didn't follow bathing rules. I bathe when i come back from hosp, then i also bathe every few days, usu when i cannot tahan.

Hi all, I went to my gynae clinic this morning to insert the first tablet for inducing liao. Now waiting for the pain, if no pain, afternoon 4pm I will be inserting the 2nd tablet. It's damn pain when the tablet is inserted in. Till now I still feel nothing. Haiz ....

TF,
must take care lor..

Tera,
For me, i massage, then pump, then squeeze lor..but milk supply doesn't seems to increase...

Mogudog,
Jiayou!

Ellyisa,
Do u still pump milk out?

as i was diagnoised with gestational diabetes since last week, my gynae suggested that we shall not wait till the EDD on 4th july as GD has its complications of a stillborn baby.

she did a check on me and realised i was already 2cm dilated yesterday. so we schedule to do a induce labour next wed on the 18th June which i would exactly be on the 38th week.

excited!

i heard induce labour is very painful..so i opt for epidural before everything starts!

hey ladies...
dunno if u gals rem..tat i was mentioning my EDD is 12th June and till last week i had no symptoms @ all....

tinyfeet,
ur case should b nt as serious as those detected in the earlier stage
my case i was detected after my detailed scan.
mine nt cfm g.diabetes, just that glucose readings nt ideal
pray for a smooth delivery for u!

shycloud,
wat ur gynae say?
most impt our bb healthy will do

feifei,

No i didn't pump any milk out now tat my ss can feed bb. Actually i worried if i dun pump milk out, ss dunno will reduce over time or not. Cos i dun tink my bb can empty all the milk out. tink got some leftover after each feed.

tinyfeet,

update us on yr bb details when born!

Ellysia,
I trying to latch bb on my right breast (smaller) and express my left breast now. So I express right after I latch bb. If bb suddenly cry for milk after I have finished expressing, despite having latch her on earlier (she always does that, suck until sleep and wake up and dd milk again), I will feed her EBM. I combined the BM from both breasts for each session but separate those of different sessions. Cos the moment pump out, store and keep in freezer le.
I still think that the BM for my right breast is getting lesser and lesser wor. Maybe that's why the massage lady suggest latching on the smaller breast (for more stimulation). My baby sometimes fall asleep after sucking for 15 to 20 mins. No chance to change breast, haha.

TF,
Jia you, jia you. Take this time to rest well ya. The expressing of milk and delivering is actually quite mild as compared to when teh bb really come home and you become a real mother. But I noe it is very emotional taxing now. Hope little TF will be discharge soon.

Priscilla,
Bleeding nipple is quite common. I had that too in the initial period. I think it is bcos we taxed our nipples too much, hehehe.

Tera,
The float was my good friend when I 1st delivered. ;P

Congrate to the new mummies.

Look like only a few left, still waiting for the big day.

Sharon,
my boy is 17.6, so doctor say must admit for 2 days. now at home but still put him under the sun everymorning.

Anyone have feeding problem? My boy latch on for 5 min and sleep, doesn't want milk. Last note, I try to pump the other side but he only drink half then don't want. he already 10 days, why still drink so little.

Any idea how to feed with cup? Heard if give bottle brest milk, he will reject to latch on.

Zu En,

oic yr bb will fall asleep after sucking 15-20mins. No wonder stimulation nt enuff. Actually can train yr bb to suck longer one, then he shd be able to finish watever he wants in 1 feed and dun need to feed separately.

Ways to wake yr bb up for longer latch time:

1) Tickle his cheeks when latching
2) "exercise" his hands to wake him up
3) Tickle his feet
4) Change nappy if he poo poo halfway during feed

I have tried to latch longer for the smaller breast liao, now the size different not so obvious liao. But the bigger one, if i dun latch enuff will feel full v fast.

I dunno if u feel the same.. i feel more letdown effect when latching than pumping.. maybe bec i can see bb and feel him then the hormones work better than if i pump.

Yes i tink tat pump after latch is the best bec' it can help to empty the milk out then once milk is empty out, a massage will be sent to our brain to produce more milk. tats the best way to increase MS.

Connie,

u can also use a syringe to feed FM if u dun want to use bottle.

Anyway my bb i have use bottle in hosp ored, so he has a bit of nipple confusion and it took me pains to break his habit of treating my breasts not as milk bottle. Initially when there is slow milk flow, my bb will throw tantrum and i have difficulty in latching and coaxing him. We tried spoon feed but its v slow and he has no patience. So in the end we still use bottle, but i make sure i latch him first and latch till totally no milk then feed FM by bottle. It is a horrible period bec' each feed can be as long as 2 hrs and my mum and my hb not v supportive on BF, they just want to pacify bb quickly.

well ladies...
i actually delivered on monday morning!!!! every thing just happened very fast on sun morning...

my bb girl: Jade
weight: 3.315kg
normal delivery with epi (its a waste...will come to tat later)
Hospi: TMC

so now im having my confinement @ MIL house. weather too hot to sleep...how to rest?

Connie,
I think differ from bb to bb. Mine has no problem when I switch her from breast to bottle and back. Maybe bcos she's used to bottle in the hospital, but strangely, she latched on easily when I tried in the hospital &amp; back home.

Ellysia,
I tried all the methods that you suggested, but Lil ZuEn is a lazy little baby. When she decided to sleep, no method can wake her up. Otherwise, she might wake up after much disturbance, give a few suck, then sleep again. Hahaha. Since I am feeding on dd, I will just latch her on when she wants feed.
Err.. how does the letdown effect feel like huh?

nss,
Hmm MT A gave me the same bath tub when I have #1. Hospital bag items are more useful than last time. Other than that nothing else.
In the bag, items like:-
1)Baby wash &amp; necessities
2)Milk powder container
3) Feeding bowl
4) Books
5) Receiving blanket &amp; bibs

Zu En,

it feel like yr heart pump faster and more blood flow.. at leasts tats wat i tink.. cos whenever i feel tat then milk will flow faster.

maybe cos yrs is premature? tats why sucking power lesser? Or maybe cos u initally didn't have chance to latch her only start recently??
cos mine i latch every feed, only miss latching on the nite i deliver cos me too tired and gynae told nurse to give FM tat nite.

shycloud,

gratz! heee me still reply to yr old posting.

i sleep with aircon @ 28 or 29 degrees.. cos too hot cannot sleep. But i cover with socks in the 1st week or during cold days.

I tink my confinement is not done v properly.. many rules i didn't follow.. so i tink i ored catch wind/cold liao..

the bathing part is actually ok just tat sometimes i on the air-con or fan then i will sneeze or feel cold inside. Body is really weaker since delivery.

Me still feel faintish at times too. when raise up from sitting position to standing position, i will feel a bit faintish.

Then my mum said i cannot drink DOM, cannot eat a lot of herbs cos i BF, how to BU my body.. the only tonic i take now is chix essence..

cactus and feifei, thanks a lot, I am leaving my home now to insert the 2nd tablet liao.
Keeping my fingers and toes crossed that I don't have to c-sec. My tummy no feeling still after the first tablet, haiz.
Really a long labour ahead liao

crystal,
i dunno abt TF but i managed to survive cos i do on the air-con at nite else i dun think i can sleep. :p lunch time is usu the worst cos after all those hot food, will perspire like crazy.

ellysia,
noted. i called parentcraft and they said to massage to clear the blocked ducts plus let baby latch on (if i have no fever). will also pump to clear the milk. but they said if still persist, need to go and see LC.

shycloud,
congrats!!

mog,
jia you!

<font color="aa00aa">Mog,
JIA YOU!!! Keep u in my prayers n hope to hear good news from u soon...

Felicia,
how's things wif u today? any sign of bb coming?</font>

Felt little bb movement this morning. Went to see gynae. heartbeat OK. Amniotic level on the low end of the normal range. He did a VE but my cervix still closed. Won't deliver naturally within these 2 days. my edd is 15-June.

He gave me 3 choices:
1) Admit to hospital tonight. Insert dunno wat pill(Proxxx) into V to soften my cervix. then later give induction medicine.

2) Monitor closely. tml also come back for CTG.

3) Go for Csection.

Aiyo... headache!!! Told him we will come home and monitor bb movements 1st... if still very little then will admit tonight. Am playing bb music to stimulate him to move....

hi all, i delivered on 11 June 2008. sorry didn't update earlier as the TMC internet was down! so angry
anyway here are the details of the birth of my second child:

7am - bloody discharge, started to time contractions and when about 9mins apart i took a shower while my husband prepared my toddler for child care.

820am - left the house, waited for the lift and it broke down!!! my 5yrs there no problem then when i had to rush to the hospital it broke down, jeeze :s walked down 8 storeys and we zoomed off. dropped my son at childcare then it started to rain and there was massive traffic jam on the CTE. i panicked when the contractions became 6mins apart.

930am - finally reached the hospital and i went straight to labour ward. 2.5cm dilated (DAMN FREAKING PAINFUL when this midwife checked the dilation, wanted to slap her).

11am - epidural has been administered and waited for dilation to reach 10cm. didn't happen for some time until...

4something pm - felt sharp pain on right side lower pelvic area, told my husband to get the nurse as i've never experienced this pain before. she came in and checked dilation and said i was fully dilated liow! my doc came in and said can start pushing.

435pm - baby out, big phew! he is 4kg exactly, 55cm tall and 36cm head.

some of you may think he's big but his brother was bigger at 4.475kg, however Gor Gor is 54cm, shorter kekeke, head size the same.

here's a picture of didi (taken on my iPhone as i didn't get a chance to bring my DSLR in the rush to the hospital):
1486612.jpg

mylittleprince, my bb often moves only very late at night and in early mornings (before 7am). If I'm constipated, I find I can't feel his movements that easily too. NOt sure if you are the same as me. Or else you can drink something really sweet, then lie on your side.may stimulate bb to move more.