(2008/04) April 2008

Jgal, I want!

Gals' if no objection.. i going to get from Taka this book for you tomorrow at $21++ according to mushloom! .. please remove your name if you dont want the book anymore..

Jgal Spree - Amazon books 365 Days of Baby Einstein and Katz Karen Book Sets
Baby Einstein :365 Days of Baby Einstein
http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Einstein-365-Days/dp/0786819081

Spree price : ~$24 ( U.P : $SGD31.32)
1.araid22
2.kate
3. verre
4. jgal
5. cyl_16
6. bebe11
7. eniale
8. na_na
9. Winter

Jgal, my pigeon thermometer was working ok since Summer was borned. Suddenly in Jan i wanted to take her temp, it seems to take more than 5mins then died off.
Now i use the braun ear thermometer, much better and v accurate.

JTS, a pic of my girl.
We had an outdoor shoot with soul photography
2255511.jpg

RE: RH fast waiting time..
*wah* you take timer to time waiting time. Aniway.. my gal is first in the line, doc was attending another patient before her.. Unless gleneagle have many docs.. just loitering, I dont think you get 5mins waiting time all the time. :p

Summer's Mama : that's a very nice pic.. the other one you have as avatar also very nice

How abt doing children photography if you be a SAHM ? btw, not been able to go to blogsites from my office since the beginning of the year any new handicrafts for sale?

Jgal i don need timer to time my waiting time, neither do you rite? Who so free to go time. Btw, there's only 1 doc there at tat time , no patients, thus no waiting time...so 5mins makes sense or u need me to indicate 10mins? HAHAHAHHAHA

Thanks Jgal, pls remove mine. Thanks!!

Gals' if no objection.. i going to get from Taka this book for you tomorrow at $21++ according to mushloom! .. please remove your name if you dont want the book anymore..

Jgal Spree - Amazon books 365 Days of Baby Einstein and Katz Karen Book Sets
Baby Einstein :365 Days of Baby Einstein
http://www.amazon.com/Baby-Einstein-365-Days/dp/0786819081

Spree price : ~$24 ( U.P : $SGD31.32)
1.araid22
2.kate
3. verre
4. jgal
5. cyl_16
6. bebe11
7. eniale
8. Winter

Winter mama,

Received ur sms, but me in Indo now so cant go taka. Will go some other day ba.

Anyway boy is sick AGAIN....the whole cycle just keep repeating itself
heart pain **sob sob

Hey, my gal also came down with sore throat and cough today, guess there is a flu bug going around.

re bathing, my gal refuses to sit in th tub now, so will bath her standing up, she enjoys the shower also.

nana

i remember that cycle!!!! in fact there was a full 3 months that we did not go anywahere but just stayed at home coz he was sick every weekend!

haiz my boy also sick again too

Just curious, all these babies who are sick, are they on bmilk or formula? My gal still on full bmilk, worried that once i stop she will get sick more often...so far she only fall sick 2 times, of which only once kena fever....

sputnik

my boy was on tbm till he was 10mths before i started to supplment with soy based formula... :p milk supply dropped and the dr kept urging me to stop bfing him so ......

but he started to fall sick at about 8mths.... think its a natural thing that they have to go through?

sputnik, it is part of growing up.. i think falling sick once a while is good as in their body is building up immune system..

i went to see the pd, he told not to give fever medi if charis fever is around 37.5.. let her body fight the virus, so that she will recover fast..

Anyone hear the same from their PD?

my neighbour lagi jialiat, say no sick wun grow up... i almost faint..

charismama: yes...my PD says this too. Only feed when fever hits about 37.8.. Let body fight virus.

sputnik: Kayla is on tbm and has fell ill once at 9 months when she contracted flu virus from my mom.

beans u can check out the want to sell if u don mind second hand. otherwise i think it can be found at kiddy palace.

hope all the babies get well soon. mine seems to be coming down with flu. keeping my fingers crossed now.

jasmine.. i tot the playyard is only $149 at tom&stefy.

bean : you can find the play yard at tom&Stefy and i think kiddy palace

brought eshin to PD and cfm that he is hving false measles/roseola. Given caromile lotion to apply. Thanks for all the well wishes.

Hugs to all bbs & mummies, hope all the bbs get well soon.

Sherin
summer looks so sweet & the pic is very nice very well-taken.

Charismama : My friend told me when kids fall ill they will grow taller. So if you see tall people means they sickly when young. Haha. But I was sickly and I'm short. Dunno how true is this. Haha.

Beans : I bought mine at Kiddypalace at $149 too.

jgal

hahah i forgot to state that its for the 8 panels... :p haha coz i know kiddy at tpy is selling it at 149 for 4 panels.

calamari

whar!!!! that is super good deal! i got mine at 140 for 8 panels.

Baby Einstein :365 Days of Baby Einstein $21.30
1. araid22
2. cyl_16
3. bebe11
4. elaine
your book are with me you can come and collect. $21.30 each from taka. if you dun want let me know.

just come back from taka..

bought a pretty pretty potty for my gal.. hope she will not so scare of the potty now.. *sigh*

jgal: my son also scared of potty. dunno why. refuse to sit on it. he'll kick it away or play e water in e potty. dunno how to train him.

Sherin: Very natural and sweet ! Summer looks so different !!

Re: Frogleg porridge
Any mummies can advise how to cook this? I wanna buy when I went NTUC earlier. But duno how I should cook.. seein it a bit bloody kinda puts me off... hahahahhaa.. so lousy..

Re: frogsleg porridge

Im not sure if it helps in respiratory.
But it is certainly consider a delicacy! Yum yum!
My parents said it's supposed to strengthen their legs, esp when they are walking now.
Summer loves it. I think coz it's super sweet and tender.

It is highly recommended that you buy it from wet market.
Only few wet market has it.
Wet market is fresh.
Yes they kill e frog on the spot, skin it and wash it.
At the end of it, there is no more blood.
It's between $2-$4 per frog depending on size.

My mom taught me how to cook it in the following directions, not sure if it's correct.
1) Wash e frog thoroughly. Make sure that there are no veins. the veins are not edible.
2) Boil water, prepare for stock.
3) Remove frog from the water.
4) Use stock to cook porridge.
5) You may choose to add just some teeny weeny bit of ginger. I'm not sure of e effect of ginger on babies. But if u dont, it's has quite a fishy smell.
6) remove the flesh frm e frog and add onto the porridge.
Ready to serve.

re: pnuemococcal

im a mummy in may forum.. but my bb was borned in Apr..

Just to share on pnuemococcal.. For mummies who have not bring the babies to vaccinate the above, pls do so.

My colleague nephew just passed away 2 weeks ago. He was only 25 mths.

He had fever on a Monday (on and off, less than 38 degrees). So his mum only fed him with the pink panadol.

His fever did not get better. Thus, by Wednesday, brought him to see a PD at Pasir Ris (Pasir Ris Baby and Chxld Clxnxc). The doctor gave them some medicine and they went back.

By Friday, the boy still did not get better. They called the clinic to ask how. The doctor said "Nowadays, parents so kiasu, come and see me on Wed and Fri call me again!". On hearing this, the mummy felt that "Oh, maybe I really to kiasu ald.. just monitor to see how"

Things did not get better. On Monday, they decide to bring the boy to Polyclinic since he started to feel restless. The doctor decide to do a blood test for him since its the 8th day of the fever. After drawing the blood, the boy went to sleep... and passed away... Everyone was shocked...

The blood test report came out on wed and the boy was diagnosed with pnuemococcal.

The doctor at the mentioned clinic is under police investigation currently.

Hi Winnedy

thanks for alerting us on the threat of pneumococcal. So sorry to hear of your colleague's baby's passing. The parents must be devastated. If there's anything we can help them, do let us know.

Winnedy : thanks for sharing.. so sad.. The doc I seen immediate give medication to my gal to bring down the temp. *phew* This PD is so irresponsible.

Prawnie.. my gals' porridge also cook abt the same way.. the meat/veg cook first..then use the water to boil rice.. You can get fresh frogleg from ShengSong. They have ready kill ones and alive ones for you to chose. $10 for 3/4 depending on the size.

angel and esther,
i think they are in the mist of trying to get over this matter...

its just a reminder to those who did not have their babies vanccinate against pneumococcal.. and also probably not to take babies sickness too lightly..

jgal and summer's mama,

re: frogleg porridge

our babies can eat frog leg ald? I tot only 12 mths and above can eat seafood? sounds very interesting as compared to his current diet..

6) remove the flesh frm e frog and add onto the porridge.

do we need to mince or grind or blend in the blender? i mean its it tough?

Winnedy : err..we been giving her frogleg since 8 mth...alternate it with pork and fish but i dun give baby ginger at all cos' its heaty, according to my mum. Normally, my porridge will have another vegetable either carrot, sweet potatoes or broccoli.

So far she is okay..

winnedy, frogs' leg is comparable to chicken.
Not considered seafood.

you just remove e flesh and add to the porridge, like chicken shreds.
They can chew. It's v soft n tender.
1 frog can cook 2 meals. One meal is also ok. But the porridge will have alot of meat.

cook 2 times.. cos' my gal is a small eater. 1 small bowl is quite an achievement for her liao.

I was quite shock that my little gal only grown 1kg for the past 6 mths..
now she is 7.8kg..

summer,

pai seh.. remove the flesh once its cook or raw remove liao?

sounds so delicious... i feel like having frogleg porridge for lunch now...

haha..

jgal,
u may want to try the brown rice + si shen powder from eu ren seng... my boy started that recently (2-3weeks back) and it really help to boost his appetite.. he used to drink 500ml milk per day (after much effort from us to feed him).. now can drink 700-800ml and still finish all his porridge...