(2008/04) April 2008

jamie & geryl, I tink is a norm tat #1 will be sticky when we r preggy wif #2... my boy oso veri sticky especially during 1st trimester and last trimester! 2nd trimester still not too bad... He is 26 mths today.

bbroyce
yeah my ger already sticky & cranky at nite eversince i'm preggie. think maybe she knows her attention will be shared with her siblings soon.
i hv yet to get her a present (meant to be fr her di di), not forgetting my hospital bag!! lazy mum keke...

Kea,
I am surprised that your supervisor is not very flexible, pte gynae and pte hospital are recognised generally for surgery, visit, and maternity. It is not like u r going for plastic surgery etc. Think after your ML, u can source for a new job.

Since u r on a 5 day fixed work week schedule, ur salary shd only be based on the no. of working holidays including PH of the month. Diff months have different no. of working days. The following is the salary calculation and the no. of working days in the year 2008 by MOM. This would help u to do your own calculation of your salary.

http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/communities/workplace_standards/employment_standards/the_employment_act/Calculation_of_Salary.html

Salary for an Incomplete Month of Work

For the purpose of calculating salary, a ‘month' or ‘complete month' refers to any one of the months in the calendar year.

An incomplete month of work is one where an employee:
-Starts work after the first day of the month;
-Leaves employment before the last day of the month;
-Takes no-pay leave of one day or more during the month; or

Is on reservist training during the month.

Salary payable to a monthly-rated employee for an incomplete month of work is calculated using the formula below:

Salary payable for incomplete month of work =

Monthly gross rate of pay1

--------------------------------------------------- X

Total number of working days in that month2
Total number of days the employee actually worked in that month3

1 Refers to the total amount of money including allowances payable to an employee for working for one month, excluding:

a) Additional payments by way of:
- Overtime payments;
- Bonus payments; or
- Annual Wage Supplements;

b) Any sum paid to the employee for reimbursement of special expenses incurred by him/her in the course of employment;
c) Productivity incentive payments; and
d) Travelling, food or housing allowances.

2 Excludes rest days, non-working days but includes public holidays. For employees with a fixed rest day on Sunday and/or non-working day on Saturday, the total number of working days per month, for year 2008, is tabulated in this table.

3 Includes public holidays, paid hospitalisation leave or annual leave if entitled.

If the number of working hours in any working day is five hours or less, it shall be regarded as a half-day. If it is more than five hours, it shall be regarded as one working day.

I wonder if u can go to kkh and get a govt HL for your HL rest since your employer is so myopic.

hi all mommies..back from lunch.. very nice weather today =)

cloudme, i do have nipple leak too, sometimes it auto leak w/o pressing..don't know whether is a gd or bad thing?

Thanks calamari, I was hunting high and low for white cot for my #1. Also, its quite difficult to get 28"x52" cot.

Finally i got one from Taime, white, 28"x52 AND can convert to toddler's bed. Actually wanted to get another one for my #2, but they don't bring in tat model anymore :-(.

Can your's be converted top toddelr's bed?

simp, thx !! =)

MOM say i earn more than $1.6K, so co. have the rights to accept my HL as unpaid....haiz..so i accept the fact that let them deduct my wkend lo..don wan agrue with them liao coz scare wait wkend oso become unpaid...=/...

Sherin,

Your gynae actually planned to induse vaginal delivery?
I actually thinking of asking to induce delivery 3 weeks ahead so that the date is same as my #1. But i heard that it will be more painful and could harm bb.

congrats Chessycake and Calamari for your bb in good position now.

have just seen my gynae today and my gynae showed me my bb boy's hair... very bushy

so excited. but have yet to come up with a good name so far.

chewy,
What is the benefit of taking Hashima? Do you take the bottled ones? Very troublesome to cook this leh.. Why cannot take bird's nest in the last trim? We bought the SG mint coins ourselves lah.. pils didn't buy anything for our bb. Yours gave you $ to buy tonics, is very good already! Btw, I saw the Avent cream at KKH pharmacy, costs $17+. Will be going to paragon this weekend too!

Btw, where is the talk at SCGS? Function hall?

I saw the Brest friend pillow, costs around $100 during the Taka fair iirc! Very ex!

Geryl,
Which type of Desitin cream did you use for prevention? Cos Mrs Wong actually said it is too harsh for daily use. I bought the creamy version but it seems like it's for curing, not prevention. Me counting down too... work is very stressful.

Gervynne,
You can buy the cream from pharmacy but it's ex. Or else check out forum threads for overseas spree. Your gynae will be able to tell you whether bb's engaged.

I bought 1 box of medela milkbags just in case. I think many mummies buy playtex and lanisoh. Like calamari said, only thing about playtex is u need a separate clip to seal the bag.

Kea,
I'll choose health over $. You can't buy health with $. I might be forfeiting my bonus if I extend my leave after ML, but bb's more impt. Btw, they should deduct 7 days from your 46 days quota, and not deduct fr your pay since you still have 39 days of HL to use for the year. Strange that your company is SO calculative. *sigh* Better change job.

cheesycake,
My wt gain is 10kg not 5kg.

sook: no problem! Glad that you have found the cot
Yes, mine is convertible to toddler bed.

puffish: don't be shy lah about asking male gynae questions, hehe. I everything also ask my male gynae one.

cath: have you shortlisted any names yet? maybe we can help you see which names are nice haha

tsukushi: i also dunno where in SCGS is the talk leh. I guess there should be signs lah... what colour u wearing today? Maybe can spot Xiang and you later. I am in all black ;) My friend gave me her breastfeeding pillow. Cost only $40 from Metro leh, but no brand one lah. Guess should be good enough. Anyway, I thought Brest Friend pillow costs only about $80, how come its $100 at Taka? So ex~

tsukushi:

Re: Desitin Cream...
i bought the creamy one...it is very very good.
so far my boy dun have the rash problem...so i only trust it! as for what mrs wong said too harsh for daily use or too strong for baby skin...actually i think it depends lah (i used everyday on my baby).

geryl: how much did u bought it for? think there's free shipping now for orders more then USD25 from drugstore. was thinking shd i get the cream or not

sook, yeah, induced delivery coz i'm having contractions quite regularly. Alot of pain and discomfort and my bb will be 37 weeks. But I just saw him yest, he said wait another week and see how.

<font color="0000ff">Hi venus,
order had hit for spree 1, haha not starting spree 2 which had hit half of the order already...

u mind trf the $$ to me 1st.... will be ordering today for spree 1...

POSB Saving - 103-71882-1, please inidciate your nick and indicated your reference no once u had done...</font>

Jo,

i got it each for abt $7plus...for a 4oz one.
must get the Creamy one! in singpore they are only selling the 2oz at $12 plus.

drugstore sometimes will have sale on the desitin creamy...abt USD 3 or 4(convent to sin is abt 7 to 8.

I've got a few at home...cos my friend just came back from USA so ask him buy for me...from drugstore...or u can join the bulk purchase!

<font color="0000ff">haha my no1 have always a mummy boy...

so i don think i dare to think what will happen when i delivery but i know my mother will be taking care during the whole confinement period... becoz my mother is pantang, i'm not allow to scold or hit my boy during that period.. then she i need to rest.... luckily my job need me to travel alot... before my preggy when i'm travelling it is my mother been taking care of my boy... think this round my mother will tell him i will be going for long trip in China... then i had to prepare to buy him present... coz i always bring present back went i travel.... haiz.....</font>

I've had a false alarm this morning... felt like a terrible stomachache. lasted for about 30 mins and then stop.

Calamari, was thinking of Edsel, Jayden or Andre Ho. Wanted to call him Zeliq initially but think it is too uncommon...*headache*

I also bought the desitin cream (2 packs).

For the Avent barrier cream, the tube doesn't look the same as the one that Mrs Wong used in the class. It's actually much slimmer.

<font color="0000ff">Re: SCGS Talk @ 7.00pm @ Auditorium</font>
The talk will be conducted in the auditorium. Call up SCGS to check, the auditorium is facing the main road, quite near the main road. Can ask the security guard if you are unsure.

Going for SCGS Talk 11 Mar 08
1. Xiang
2. Calamari
3. Tsukushi

BrestFriend Pillow sells for $89.90 at Taka Baby Fair.

My hb was asking me to get a pillow but i think I will get it after birth.. My colleague bought one for her SIL and it has not been used.

Xiang, is the Brestfriend pillow good?
i think if we sit too long for breastfeed...the back will ache one...so i rather breast-feed bb by lying down on my side way to feed more comfortable!

Mummies, I have the following for sale:

1) Graco Aerosport selling for $100
1291994.jpg

2) Combi NU 500 selling for $180
1291995.jpg

Interested parties, please pm me, txs!

geryl: tks for reply =) okok, will get the creamy one
i saw few mummies bought at SGD7 plus but the BP price was like SGD9 plus. Maybe i will order myself thru drugstore.

Geryl
i read about breastfeeding while lying side by side in childcare books. my question is, how come adults choke when drinking while lying on their side, but babies are ok with it? :S

joelle, babies have this natural blockage in their throat that prevents them from choking. Infact, newborns and babies lesser than 6 mths old do not drown when they are "dropped" into a pool because of this natural instinct in them

Geryl.

I am not too sure if the pillow is good as I am thinking if it's useful for me.

HB is asking me to consider buying one. But I hesitate as it's $89.90. Cheeky Bonbon is selling one at $39.90 (if I am not wrong).

sherin: I might be going. 30 Mar at Grand Copthorne right? I am halfway through reading the book. Bought the 2nd hand cards but have no idea how to use them so thought of going to the talk to understand more. You going?

Joelle, I am not sure leh! but i've been feeding my boy for a year plus in the lying side style...it is better and both of u can rest and more comfortable for urself too!

calamari, i'm v interested in GD stuffs. I'm thinking of whether to go or not, still. With the regular contractions and pain, i'm not sure if i can tahan until that day also. I called GD and they said that if i were to purchasing their kits, they'll give you one-to-one lesson on how exactly to use it. Plus, the kits can be paid with UOB 6 mth-interest free instalment. I'm still waiting for my hubby's NOD. The lady mentioned that the lesson they give u, would be betta than e talk or books or even e dvds which they sell.
I'm half way reading HOW SMART IS YOUR BABY?

xiang: I am going SCGS talk later, cya babes! SCGS is near Whitley road.

Oh Cheong choong selling brestfren pillow for $70, I juz got it delivered today! Take fair very ex, robinson sale is $81.40. TMC selling ard $76, after FBI discount.

Puffish, cloudme
I also hv clear liquid leaking from nipples!!! Especially at night, so morn wakes up with nipples covered with bits of dried up pcs.... do u feel nipple heads very sore too at times? Like blinking lights? heehee

Tsukushi
Double boiled Hashima with red dates helps nourish Yin, replenish blood &amp; moistens dryness. Best drunk with empty stomach or first thg in morning. My book says not suitable for people who has heartburns &amp; constipation. It's recommended to be consumed in 1-2 tri. Guess it's bit more heaty..

joelle, that's why it's good to start swimming for babies since they are infants. If you realise, those ang mohs will bring their babies for a swim way before they are 1 mth old. I intend to start my girl in the waters after confinement.

<font color="0000ff">Going for SCGS Talk 11 Mar 08 </font>
1. Xiang (bright pink top, black bottom)
2. Calamari (all black)
3. Tsukushi (black/red)
4. Chewy

chewy, hashima not suitable for ppl with heartburns ah? wat's e effect? I drink alot of hashima le, coz each packet can make a whole big pot, that can last me for a week+. Perhaps that's why my heartburns nv go away?

oops... Sorry Sherin &amp; Tsukushi..it shld be:
Double boiled Hashima with red dates helps nourish Yin, replenish blood &amp; moistens dryness. Best drunk with empty stomach or first thg in morning. However,Mrs Wong says hashima is high in cholesterol. Oh, better to drink the raw ones.

My book says BIRD'S NEST not suitable for people who has heartburns &amp; constipation. It's recommended to be consumed in 1-2 tri. Guess it's bit more heaty.. So now I stopped drinking it.

<font color="0000ff">Drugstore spree</font>

Anyone planning to buy things from Drugstore? I dun mind to start one if there's a lot of demand for it, as I am planning to get the First Teeth Toothpaste.

www.drugstore.com

tsukushi,
do u remember at which level? perhaps i'll drop by there tml to see, haven't got any diaper cream yet =/

chewy,
my nipple heads won't feel sore but is abit dry after it start leaking.