(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: mini washing machine
sweetpea,
I've one at home.
bought it from WTS @ $50. it's handy when i feel lazy. problem is that it doesn't have spin function, i got to transfer it to big washing machine to spin it dry.
the capacity is really low (1kg only), so means got to wash the baby's clothes everyday if using it.

Looks like maid like kids cannot be 'praised'. This morning, just scolded my maid cos she ate one pao without asking and it was meant for RaeAnne. She just said sorry and that she will pay me back. But I told her before taking without asking is equal to stealing. It's not as simple as paying me back the money for the pao. She has bread for breakfast and I never restrict how much she can eat. How can she take our food without asking me or hubby? Her greedy nature resurfacing again. :/

maid issue,
sorry no experience to contribute in this area...but i heard myanmar maids not bad.

babymallonline spree,
anyone needs anything there? i'm ordering some stuff for myself. but hor, got to collect from my house at katong cos i'm not mobile yet.

Mine eats my confinement food and drinks my red date tea every night until she has pimple breakouts. I keep telling her confinement food is heaty, be careful dun eat too much but she thinks I'm restricting her. So eat lor, eat until nose bleed then she know. I dun wanna say already.

hello!!

found this info from another thread.
one supplier offering the following price for milk powders, with free delivery for 2 tins above.

Dumex All In One 900g $22.15, Dumex Dugro 1 & 2 1.6kg $22.80, Dumex Mamex 1 1.5kg $55.45, Dumex Mamex Gold soy 900g $23.25, Dumex Mamil 2 1.5kg $50.45, Dumex Mamil 3 1.5kg $40.90, Dumex Mamil 4 1.5kg $35.35, Enfagrow 1.8kg $50.35, Enfakid 1.8kg $44.95 ,Enfalac 900g $38.40 ,Enfalac A+ AR 900g $34.45, Enfalac A+ Soy 900g $30.90 ,Enfalac HA 900g $42.90, Enfapro 900g $35.40 ,Friso 1 900g $31.00, Friso 2 1.8kg $50.00 ,Friso 3 1.8kg $45.50, Friso 4 1.8kg $40.50 ,Gain IQ 3 1.8kg $49.80 ,Gain IQ Kids 4 1.8kg $45.05, Goat Milk 12Mth + (Kari Home) 900g $44.00, Goat Milk Pre Sch (Kari Home) 900g $44.00 ,Grow 3 1.8kg $34.15, Grow 6 1.8kg $33.25, Isomil Advance 1 900g $34.00, Isomil Advance 2 900g $32.90, Lactogen 1 1.8kg $23.15, Lactogen 2 1.8kg $23.15 ,Nan HA 1 900g $33.95 ,Nan HA 2 900g $32.55, Nan HA 3 900g $32.50, Nan Pro 1 900g $28.90 ,Nan Pro 2 900g $26.45, Nan Pro 3 900g $24.00 ,Pediasure 1.l8kg $56.25 ,Progress Gold 3 900g $21.55, Progress Gold 4 900g $19.15, Promil Gold 2 900g $28.25, S26 Step 1 900g $30.55 ,Similac 1 900g $37.45 ,Similac 2 (New Advance) 1.8kg $66.95

think not very nice to post their contact here. interested party, please PM me. ok?

bkkgal faint! Mine was well fed by my CL during my confinement cos cook all the 'hor liao' and a lot. But didn't expect her to steal food again after so long. Cos I scolded her before when she did it last time but did not deduct her pay.

Thinking of making her pay $10 for the pao liao. Teach her a lesson. Think she's so rich, can do whatever she wants, say she pay me back, just because she has AP $ from us this month.

bkkgal, wah think your confinement food must be so tasty that she likes it a lot? lol

garfield, mynmar maid speaks english or?

Hmm... previously when I was looking for Myanmar maid, the agent told me they write english very well cos don't speak well. But then, I guess there are exceptions. My previous PT cleaner speaks both Eng n Mandarin very well cos she is not a maid. :p

My mom cooked a big pot of papaya fish soup. I drank one bowl. She drank the rest. It's not that nice, I mean, if I had a choice, I would drink something else. I only drink for the sake of increasing milk supply but she can drink and eat the fish somemore! *faint*

She loves the vinegar pig trotters. Everyday eyeing it until yday she just ate without permission. I give up.

Bkkgal,
you can come my house to ta pau my confinement food for your maid cos I'm not a fan of it!!

then again dun think my mil's food is strictly confinement food she just adds lots of Ginger n sesame oil to every dish she cooks.

Actually just curious is it standard practice that maids eat different food or dishes from rest of the family?

Thanks Lazy and Xiaoyun with regards to the washing machine. Hmm still considering very hard.

Xiaoyun, where do you attach the water inlet?

Bkkgal - Sounds like your confimement food is really yummy. The thought of having Papaya Fish Soup in 2 months is really putting me off!

Gar - when I had the maids for my grandparents, they eat what we eat. That's why all of them put on weight!
But my grandparents eat very little, so when we go out, they share the amount of food with my grandparents.

sweetpea,
the wm come with a T shaped Faucet Adaptor that allows you to connect to the inlet together with your normal washing machine.
for the outlet, i put the pipe in the toilet when i use the wm. sometimes forget, then i got soap water to wash my kitchen. :p

bkk/pauline,
your maids are quite bold leh... dare to take food like that... my maid so far i think has not taken any food from us (at least nothing very obvious), in fact if we ask her to take food herself, she will usually take in small quantity. she will eat whatever we eat, unless it contains pork since she is a muslim.

gar,
for my case, my maid will almost always have the same food as us jsut that we will separate her food portion first. if we have tidbits in large quantity, then i will also take a small amount and pass it to her. the one thing i never restrict is that she can eat bread whenever she wants, especially if she is feeling hungry because sometimes we eat dinner rather late and i don't want her to get sick or take care of my son with empty stomach - scared she cannot concentrate.

one thing that i do is that i will do spot check in her drawers without her knowing to see if she has taken anything that she is not supposed to take.

sweetpea, i think my sil got a brand new scense washing machine to let go. It was a present from her parents when she got married but she never use it at all. I can help u check what px she is letting off if u are keen, shld be cheaper than retail incase u just wanna try. How much is retail?

Gar
yeah! I can't wait to eat normal food!

Genice
she's from the philippines, not indon.

Tute
At first, she is also very polite to us. Ask her to eat will take very little or politely refuse. NOt any more.

I have only done 1 spot check on her in the 2 yrs she's with me. I will do one spot check on her before she leaves.

any kids already fully toilet trained even at night?

i would like to start on toilet training for C since:
- she's 2 yo
- will signal us when she wants to poo (sometimes before sometimes after)
- be able to squad down in the bathroom and pee on demand (at times)

most importantly, she often develop diaper rash when she wears disposable diapers (on the day that she pass motion). also, the waist area will get abrasion sometimes due to disposable diaper.
as a result, she doesn't like to wear diaper at night.
she cried last night about 12 am because she feels uncomfortable. don't even allow me to put on cloth diaper for her.
no choice i got to lay cloth diapers all over the matteress + extra cloth + waterproof matteress protector.
wait till she fall back deep sleep, i change cloth diaper for her.
then till 2 hours later, wake up again to change her into disposable diaper.
such a stressful night for me. afraid that she will wet the matteress.

Hi Xiaoyun
K is able to hold her pee until morning. After milk at night, MUST bring her to pee one last time before sleep, otherwise will wet the bed. She will go into such deep sleep that she won't wake up to pee. But I'm KS, will still make her wear the diaper which she hates and protest loudly, also because the abrasion and discomfort of diapers. I'm thinking of not letting her wear soon.

bkk,
so basically her diaper is dry in the morning?
C is not the only one that dislikes disposable diaper.
think i should talk to the childcare centre to start her toilet training soon.

XY
Yup, her pampers is dry every morning. I reuse her pampers until very kiamchye cos so sayang to throw away but she gets upset with me cos I think very itchy.

XY, what brand of diaper do you use ? Maybe C is sensitive with the brand. Shaun is only diaperless for daytime but at night still on diaper. He is not ready to be diaperless at night yet because he drinks 300+ml of milk before sleeps, so his diaper is always so heavy when wakes up in morning.

tong,
i didn't change diaper brand for her.
only difference is that she's wearing disposable full time now compared to last time we used cloth at home.
furthermore, the teacher doesn't seem to change her fast enough after she passed motion.
so she will have diaper rash after that.

alo mummies !

xin nian kuai le!!

N also diaperless in the day and will put on for her in the nite. usually the diaper vy heavy in the morning ;p

bbkgal: i've 1 indo maid from sheila nw with me (abt 1-1/2 months liaoz). going to t/f her cos my gal totally dun like her. she's not gd with kids at all...

dunno how to strike conversation with N, only stand beside her and stare...sigh.. and her english totally cannot make it...really hv prob communicating with her...

best thing was she came to SG b4 10yrs ago but she never tell the agent. so her WP was not approved until recently. her birth year also different from then and now...

she said she was sent back last time cos she was sick..

now looking at filipino one, at least can communicate better..

XY, RaeAnne also keeps pulling on her diapers on night. Keep scratching too, maybe uncomfortable bah. But she only tells me she has pooed after the act. Never before leh. Not sure if she's ready. :p

diana
u still getting from sheila? she sent me a few filipino bios - all seem kinda old. haiz, hate doing this. once my girls are old enuff, will not hv a maid!

bkkgal, agree with you. If my gals are bigger, I don't want to have maid too. But if I go back to workforce, may still need one cos ILs may not be able cope with 2 active toddlers. Unless I send both to CC. :p

Pauline, I think if can send both to CC will be easier. I hope when SM is 3 and K is 5, both will go to kindy together, come back together. Things will be easier then and grandparents can look after them in the afternoon. Or send them to bbsitter for half day.

Bkkgal I am targeting earlier, 2 yrs old n 4 yrs old. Worse than u. Prob is next jan, raeanne will be 3 yrs old must change school Liao. Dun know whether to send her to pcf 3 hrs prog or cc. Mei Mei will only be 1 yr old by then so both of them can't go tog. ;p

pauline,
sure. payment can wait till shipping charges then calc n transfer one shot since everyone is busy. also trying to hit $50 for free shippingg

anymore babymall orders?

Hi to all,
had not visited this thread since long, was busy with my 2 boys.. i deliver my number 2 last July and my number 1 had turn 2 ...
Trying to catch up and read on engaging Myammar maids.. My maid is from Myammar leh.. She can speak English and had been with me for 1year+ liao.

Xiaoyun,
abit late, can I still place order on the orajel toothpaste?

Hi qingling,

I'm staying near Punggol Plaza so I get mine from the maid agency there. I forgot the name of the agency but there is only one in PP and is at the 2nd floor. I think not all can speak English but lucky I got it. My maid seem to understand mandarin as she hear us speak. She can speak simple chinese words now. I choose Myammar as I heard too much stories on Indonesians and Filipinos maids..

Duh... asked hubby to 'counsel' my greedy maid. As usual, she cry cry cry. Then she told hubby she may not want to work anymore cos her family a lot of problems (her mum is now half blind, I suspect cataract problem). Hubby told her all the more need to work if got problem. No $$$, you go back and cry together with them also no use right? Anyway, see how it goes. If she confirm want to go back I got to find new maid liao. :p

bbkgal: yah still will be from sheila cos this present one only with us 1-1/2months.

i also hate doing this... really hope can do without a maid..sigh..

sheila also sent me a few filipino biodata, aiyo... all so old... how to run after toddler and take care of new born in due time... :-/

one of them 40yrs old somemore.... *faint*

ting,
I've extra:
Orajel ToddlerTraining Toothpaste, Fruit Splash - 1.5 oz
OrajelBaby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Apple Banana - 1 set
OrajelBaby Tooth/Gum Cleanser, Berry - 1 set

gals,
what are the online bookshops that you purchased last time?

pauline,
remembered you always ordered from 1 overseas without shipping charge right?

Ting,
will sort out the cost after shipping, the training toothpaste is USD 2.96 (before shipping), baby tooth/gum cleanser is USD 4 (before shipping).
the baby tooth/gum cleanser is for younger baby. just like the first teeth.

Xiaoyun,
this should be cheaper than BP selling ba?
Ok, I'll take all..
Let me know the amount to pay you when you got the figure.

ting,
if i not wrong, BP selling the training paste at $7-8.
i think the shipping won't be more than $2.5 per tube. (unless drugstore packs it in super big box). should be cheaper than BP.

will include your order. please do remember to check this thread often for the update, ok?

MAIDS:

i hate to say this and stereotype. Really.

But if your maid starts to show signs of disinterest in work, indicate wanna go home etc, it's time to let her go.

My ex-bf's family used to have some business in maids. They shared many many horror stories and etc. They said they stopped this maid business cuz it's horrible on your conscience.

1. you wanna pity them...but they always take advantage.

2. you wanna believe them...but they always make up stories.

Of course not ALL are bad lah. I've had some friends whose families have the same maid for more than 10 years. THose are the rare catches.

AND IF YOU ARE LETING HER GO, DUN LET HER KNOW!

ONly tell her day before, and watch when she packs things.

It sounds SO Horrible right? (which is why they didn't want to do the business anymore) But to protect your own interest no choice u know?

ONe of the weirdest stories i know of is this maid who baked a cake...say wanna bring it home to her girls once reach airport.

IN the end she forgot to bring the cake to airport andkept crying at the airport.

The family went home and decided to eat the cake since already bake so nice.

Realize cake DAMN HEAVY....and a lot of jewellery inside.

BIZARRE RIGHT?

Another reason is also cuz if they know they going, they will chut a lot of pattern that can cause you a lot of distress one. NObody needs that with 1/2 kids around.

XY, no leh, I never try orajel toothpaste before though I don't mind trying if you have extra. RaeAnne still insists to use her first teeth finger brush but at least she doesn't mind the toothpaste anymore. She used to hate it. :p

Lezy, ya lor, my 'honest' hubby told the maid if you want to go, must let us know cos we need to look for replacement. I would be more evil and just change her without her knowing instead. :p

the way they think can be quite different from us - so it's sometimes very hard to anticipate what they will do.

unless u dun mind putting up with whatever pattern she wanna chut...if not...i think better that dun be too honest/frank with her about everything.

Lezy, I mind lor. But hubby Mr Nice guy, what to do? He didn't agree with me fining the maid $10 for the pao she took. Said ask her to buy something else for RaeAnne instead. Never scold her also, I let him try his 爱的教育 lor... ;P

lezy,
that story is weird...

re:maid,
sometimes v difficult, you want to trust the maid but after hearing so many bad stories you just can't help being skeptical and paranoid.

btw, any guidance on how much increment to give for the maid and what is the frequency for increment i.e. annually? i feel like such a lousy employer, have not given my maid an increment so planning to give her either $20-$30 increment this year since she is entering a 3rd year with us plus bonus of 1 month pay. Too much ??