(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

steph
din see gender yet. it's ok la, not in hurry to know. 2nd time round, not so kancheong. Blood test needed to chk for AIDS, Hep A/ B, thalassemia etc. Gynae said i could either do last wk or wait 1 more month.. i just thought get it over and done with la. No diffrnce to me.
To measure neck thickness, baby lie on his back. DS tests (triple test, Oscar) need to draw more blood!!

Calbee,
Who's looking after #1 now? i'll be getting a maid and now searching. Likely to go for a myanmese maid. Good or not i guess it also depends on how you manage her, other than her capability and personality. I had a filipina maid before. can cook, can take care of kid, can do chores after coaching but face no smile, full of pride, and likes to tell lies. very sian to have such a person at home.

don't worry so much abt $. probably got to make some lifestyle changes and adjust accordingly by then. I used to have a decent FT job. can often buy new clothes eat restaurant. now no more already. but God never short change me

qing2, in order not to disturb yr sleep to wake up & pee, try to clear your bladder or drink less water/fluid b4 bedtime then YI JIAO DAO TIAN LIANG

goldenpig,
O i see...Ouch pain pain to draw more blood!! Hopefully it's the normal needle jab to draw blood for my HCG test that i've done last time.

qing2,
today i oso forgot to take folic acid from home, so forgetful nowadays. Can take later in the evening right?

steph sometimes i oso forgot kekeke i took it at nite .... with duphston hehehe ... i oso forgetful i scare i forgot to lock my hse door .....

i always clear bladder leh but same leh

i sometime forgetful i wanna eat my folic acid n dupston in the end i take my thyroid medi again hahahahah siao liao .....

Buy one of the Mon-Sun weekly pillbox and put at your office computer or near your daily handbag. That's how I remember to eat my folic acid. ;)

gd idea kitsune. TangQ

hehe..just took durian puff (fr 717 trading), beri nice & creamy. Angie's the choice durian roll oso very gd.

calbee, you have #1 in nov 05?

mine also 19 months...turning 20 this month liao

i wont be employing maid....but yet to discuss with MIL whether she can cope with two..or whether FIL will be able to help out.

see how lor...now think so much also useless

eRnMum & calbee,
i think be it #2 or #1, the dilemma is still there...so many options but yet sumtimes some ILs dun wan to look after baby for so long period of time. Maid oso worry whether she will be gd enuff to take care of baby & help out hsework, cook etc... later got to think abt additional expenses...how much we can stretch our dollars. ILs taking care of our bb oso got to give them some monthly allowance. if only hubby working abit xiong, must cut down shopping stuff for ourselves. Baby insurance oso need to invest $$....so many things... & no more late nite clubbing, friends gathering, no time to pamper ourselves...must sacrifice.

so much movement on the thread today...
for the normal blood test, poke 1 time to extract can liao rite? If doing triple test they just draw more is it?? Or draw twice!

fishia, did DR Lee prescribe you Duphaston? This is my 2nd pregnancy. i was with another gynae during my 1st pregnancy. bad experience during delivery. Dr Lee is recommended by friend. i only had folic acid and multivitamin during the 1st one. Duphaston is new to me. thought is kind of artificial hormon pill but to prevent miscarriage especially for those having threaten abortion.

Ladies, do all of you taking Duphaston?

fishia, think twise if u likely go for myanmese maid. my friend just hired one and she brings a lots of troubles til my friend fed up and looking for the new one now. there is communication problem. somemore, cannot cook, keep repeat the same mistake after have been taught, do the things at her own way, always against the boss order...

so sien if u get this type of maid..

yummymama, i am still taking it for another 5 days ... no need to take liao only folic acid ....

valencia, i also got no sign during #1 pregnancy until i had nausea after high fever. thought was just recovering from sickness. but, it carry on for few days. SO, suspect pregnant and tested on pregnancy tube, then found out!!

hammies
for me, it was poke once, draw 2 tubes of blood. Maybe if u include triple test/ oscar, they will draw more than 2 tubes?

calbee, mee too. expecting 2nd one now. my MIl moved in with us when my 1st one came. my gal is 17 months old now. thinking next year will send her to play school n hire a part time cleaner. my Mil can takes care the 2nd one. i always feel insecure to leave my kid with the maid unless there is someone around the house. Do u have anyone to help out?

talking abt MIL, I suddenly feel a bit weird thinking of the fact that my MIL will also eventually be moving in during my confinement month to take care of me. I wonder if I can accept all her style of keeping the place clean too. Haha...I'm quite particular abt my home cleanliness, but I find that they not really...hope dun clash too much then. If only my own Mum can do it..but my own Mum still working...

hammies, every individual has their own style. Just keep your both eyes close.. everything will be peaceful. i have learnt from the experience.

Yummymama,
Yes, Dr Lee prescribed Duphaston. When having #1, i didn't take at all cos didn't understand what is it for and that time couldn't confirm pregnant or not i.e. can't see sac. Now, i took only when i remember. I'm bad at pills. Have not been taking pills for days!

Do you have any idea what is the maid's educational level? Yeah. I heard they can be quite dumb and frustrating. Was advised to get degree holder and some particular dialect only. I'm going direct and not thru agency thru recommendation. However, yet to interview the person so dunno yet...

hi there, sorry for being mia. was on bedrest for a while but went to gynae for week 12 check yesterday and have been cleared. can now go back to work.

nausea going away but now losing appetite. only feel like drinking orange juice. any mommies having bad appetite? what do u eat everyday?

fishia
with maids, sometimes it's more communication problm.. not that they're low IQ or what.
but i duuno la, so far i dun hv experience with maids yet.

Hi ladies, I'm new to this thread but would like to participate with discussion. I'm in my 13th week currently. My gynae is Dr. Christopher Chong. Anyone has the same doc?

Maid
I have my fair share. Perhpas I share abit abt myself. I am a SAHM, but quite a useless one :p Cannot handle the kid, cook and do house chores all at one go. Therefore, engaged a maid. I got an Indonesia maid reason being, hear say too much that Philippines ones is street wise and will "keng". Do lotsa funny stuff. However, I realised Indonesian ones is not of any better. Firstly, coummunication is a problem. This can still be resolved with the use of dictionary. However, perhaps its the lifestyle they lead. What they do in their country will probably be,farming, praying, eating & sleep. The pace is pretty slow. So when she do things, also very slow. No sense of urgency. I avoid to see how she does her work cos usually when I see, I will get angry. So long end of the day, the job is done. Dont care how its being done. This can be how "slow" they are. Not in term of speed of doing thing. But, reaction. There was one incident, she putted my son on the high chair and buckled him. But when she buckles, it clipped onto his tigh. So, naturally my son screamed & yelled. She can still be very cool and relax and asked "Randall, y? what you want? Dont cry, lets have lunch." I thought its something by instinct that you will know. Cos the moment she buckled and he screamed. And becos they farm, their strenght is really SCARY. My bathroom accessories all spoiled. Even the tap also spoiled. The control of the tap is like 90 degree. Mine can go 180 degree. So, engaging a maid gotta factor in all these wear & tear also. Hehe.... If not becos she can still entertain my son a bit and that allows me some free time of my own, I would have send her back long ago. Anyway, her contract is going to expire this Aug. The thought of engaging, training and all really scare me
But, I cant live without one too. Headache!!!!

hi im new here~will be expecting my first bb some time early jan 08..should be abt 10wks preggie now~gynae is dr. ang from sambawang sun plaza

Welcome violetlce and split~~

Violetlce, seems like we are about the same phase. WHen is your EDD and which hospital u intend to deliver in? Have u taken your blood tests already? Doing the Down Syndrome test?

valencia
tks for sharing.. my taps are those which flip up and down, so hopefully no need to replace... IF i get a maid, will remember to teach her how to GENTLY turn on and off

Morning Everyone, taken your breakfast?

Welcome yummymama, violetlce and split....

QingQing, wow...your fil asked a shifu to count u expecting boy or girl arh....so cute.
i didn't ask to take Duphaston. What's that for? i only take folic acid.

Yummymama, where can i get more info abt part-time cleaner?

i have a bad nightmare last night and i wake up found myself really crying with tears rolling down my cheek. so real... everyday i will wake up 2-3 times to pee, timing also the same...its really disturb my sleep....

joyce
it's how u can get prepared for those interrupted nights when u need to tend to the baby. u've got another half-year to get used to it.
chk out Duphaston on Google... the answer is there.

morning ladies..im going to tell my boss abt my pregnancy...a bit nervous about her reaction....

wonder if i'm being silly for feeling this way..

ooh, I told my boss already. Funny..my boss was simply smiling away and saying happy to hear that..and said good to hear..congrats and all...ok..relief liao..
anyway, sorry ladies if i'm blabbering too much...

also just to share a bit of my experience with maid, though mine was just for a short period of 5mth.

- supposed to have mid-wifey certificate but when arrived realised she didn't finish her course. I doubt she attended too.
- use cotton bud to clear my son's nose until it bleed cos she used too much strength.
- cut his nails without permission. 4 fingers bleeding.
- damaged our marble tiles, whole patch became rough but deny.
- iron on pics of my sons clothes, spoilt the cartoon, fold it opposite. when asked said she dunno and refuse to apologise. She spoilt many pieces of our clothes!
- didn't flush toilet said not her.

many other frustrating things lah. For those getting maid, don't trust their biodata. some are really bullshit. When she arrives, treat her as "zero" experience and retrain her yourself. No need to be very nice to them cos i don't think they appreciate but don't scold them. Guide them rather. Just like how you want your boss to talk to you.

Yesterday i interviewed the myanmese maid. english ok better than my ex-filipina. very young though 25yo, single and no experience as maid. now waiting for her photo then decide.

Joyce,
Your mum's pl is nearer to mine. So will your mum be looking after your baby? Do you walk to TP interchange from your blk?

Yeah. So i scolded her. how to not scold when that's my son and it's physical harm done though i know to have a good relationship better don't. She's older than me so not happy, full of pride and soon don't show respect. Eventually sent her back and i went without a maid. Now i'll look for someone younger than me and think i'll be better at managing this time.

I have been waking up every night to pee frequently too, eventho i have tried to reduce my water intake before bed. Have been having weird dreams as well, i seldom have any dreams normally. So tired.

This happened a long time ago, maybe in the early 90's. I heard that my aunt's maid locked up her child in the dog house outside (while tying the dog to a tree) after my aunt and hubby goes to work every day. The maid obviously did this out of her own convenience and did not feel any remorse about it. After awhile, my aunt noticed her child becoming more quieter and was sometimes quite frightened by certain things, but she didn't know what was wrong. Then one day, they found out what the maid was doing when my aunt happen to return home earlier by chance. So ladies, do be careful when u are hiring a maid. Take all precautionary measures.. get a baby cam if necesary. If not, bring ur maid over to ur mum or MIL's place before going to work, so that at least there is some supervision.