(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi Steph77

Triple blood test is to test for Down Syd

The other blood test that you have to take is what they know as antenatal blood test. they test for hep b, blood group, hiv, rubella, urine (gluose, protein....) blah blah...

as mentioned hiv test is govt required unless u opt out

ok thanks G tan.

Steph, yes my gynae did mention to me abt fish oil is optional whether i wanna take anot ..... my cousin say she took n her baby dun really fall sick often .... i m still on an tai medicine for another 2 weeks more

I also just came back fromy my appointment. Been feeling very sluggish this whole week. I am about close to 10 weeks today.

Why everyone's baby is measured in cm, mine is about 2plus mm, sound so small commpare to everyone's.

My edd, seems to keep changing also, today is 31 jan 2008 instead of 28th jan 2008.

I have also opted to go for the OSCARS, will be doing the tests when I go for my next appointment in 3 weeks time
Meanwhile till then, will continue to be healthy and try to eat.

Btw, can we eat seafood? Crabs? Prawns? Super craving.

New to the club
I am currently now week 12 moving into week 13. Went for check up this afternoon. Really gald that everything is doing fine as got history of bb not growing well after my #1. The excitement of having #2 is of not any lesser than #1. Still not eating well though. However, did manage to put on almost a kg :p

Mei,
Would appreicate if you could update the list to include me. Thanks.

Nick: Valencia
EDD: 11/01/08
Gynae: Dr Lim Yuin Wen
Hospital: MTA
Child: #2

Gintonic,
Are we actually seeing the same gynae?

qinqing,
It is safe to do pedi n mani. But personally feel that the ventilation of the saloon should be at least of a comfort level. Juz confirmed with gynae if its safe to do hair color, rebonding, perming, etc as hear say too much and answer all differ. Gynae's answer is the best answer. And the answer is YES. Cant wait to go and do something to my hair.

angelsky,
Of cos can eat seafood. Juz make sure its well cooked.

Hello all!

I am also new to this forum.
Mei, can you help to add me to the list. Thanks a lot!

Greetings to all,

Nick = reginalee
EDD = 19 Jan 2008
Gynae = Dr. Madeleine Tan
Hospital = TMC
Child# = #1

hi to regina and valencia!!

qingqing, preggie CAN do mani/pedi la..i have a lot of preggie customers too...jus dat dont too often cos inhaling the smell not so good. My gynae said nails cannot absorb into baby the polish we paint on it. So shud be ok. Contrary to valencia's gynae, mine said different issue with hair dyes cos hair scalp is skin, which will absorb the chemicals.

Anyway, Steph and qingqing and all the rest who are interested to go my shop for mani/pedi, it's located in Serangoon Garden..hehe...yah, not so convenient compared to those in town la, but i like that residential area, very laidback and nice.
You can PM me [email protected] for more info. Dont wish to advertise here lah..later kena scolding.

Icy, so u're planning to come back by 30th week? Me planning to return to Sg for monthly check-ups until i'm 32/33 weeks..now feeling depressed cos am worried how is hubby gonna make it for our baby's delivery...it IS after all a 3-4 hours flight...and then thereafter, i'll prob be staying in Sg alone for my confinement period for a month. Gynae said shud be able to bring baby's back to HK after confinement period. My closest sister is also currently staying in HK and another on in Msia. So it's prob gonna be my mom taking care of me only.
Sigh..dunno wat to tink. Hope baby is guai-guai and wait till daddy come back to Sg for his 2 weeks leave before coming out! Hahahaha.

we have so many fathers to be that are out of town.

mylife, my hubbie also overseas in Jakarta, also worried when I am due to deliver would he be able to come back in town. Know its still quite a journey before delivery, have not even cross the first trimester, but I also starting to figure out how if he does not managed to get back if suddenly go into labour. Since some mums here already got experience with early and late delivery. Stress!

I cannot imagine going into delivery myself, will sure panic.

The problem with hubbies that are posted overseas, figure they cant be back for too long and then whole confinement period we need to deal with all the things on our own.

Me now staying with my parents, when baby is more settled, I am going to do some adjustments to my room to make space for baby and baby's stuff. Simply cannot imagine how am I going to squeeze another baby bed into my room. Sometimes, its kinda boring to go for checkups on my own, when all the mtbs are with the hubbies, but guess will have to make do, I rather be here than back in Jakarta.

Now into my 10th week, but MS still sucks. Starting to hate it.

mylife,
I am putting up v near Serangoon Garden and my boy is attending his kindergarten there. So, I am pratically there everyday during weekdays. Can PM me your shop? Got discount or not? :p
Hmm...your gyane actually said no no for hair color? Guess diff gynae has diff school of thoughts. Though my gynae gave the green light, but it is strictly only after wk 12. However, she did mention that as currently our body is undergoing lotsa changes. Our hair may turn dry and with all these doings to the hair, there may be a threat of hair getting even more dry. Not so much of posing a threat to the fetal.

Would like to share this info with you ladies that I learnt fm my gynae . The bb's gential part develops during wk 11 to 14. So, when you go for check up on wk 12, there may be a chance of you getting know the gender. I kinda know my bb gender

Hi MEi,

Can update my EDD for me. THank you

Nick: Calbee
Baby: #02
Hos: TMC
DOC:Dr Paul Tseng
EDD:28 Jan 08

Hey i have add some of mummies in my MSN
Hope to be able to chat here and MSN

BEen constantly tired since now only week 10.

Have a good weekend Mummies

TG
the first link makes no reference abt waiting past first trimester to do mani/pedi..

I refer to this site
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/
Is it safe to... during pregnancy?

mylife
i read from the abv site that highlighting is fine coz there's little contact with scalp, unlike dyeing whole head of hair. Anyways i read elsewhere that it was like 50 yrs ago the chemicals used in hair dyes may be harmful to unborn babies. Now tech advanced.. most hair dyes dun contain those chems anymore. So u see how long old wives tales can last..

angelsky
most first births i heard of, the mummy has to wait HOURS or even DAYS for dilation. Sometimes contractions are irregular for several days.. unless u're 1 of those lucky ones who are done within 3hrs..

Think abt it, wasn't Zoe Tay in same situation? In the end her girlfriend had to tape/photograph the birthing process so that the daddy can view when he returned from Korea.

if no space for cot, your baby can sleep on your bed with u.. move the cot out to the living rm or elsewhere once your hubby goes back to Jakarta.

Hi ladies, hope u all had a good weekend...

Quite happy as I managed to shop for a couple of maternity wear this weekend. Went to United Sq on Friday and also checked out the Carrano shop at Beauty World. The Carrano shop not too bad, prices of bottoms are really so much cheaper than most other places. In the end I bought 5 items from there! Thanks for the recommendation man...can't remember who first went there but thanks anyway! Well, though the style is a bit like THIS FASHION, there can still be some good buys. The sales lady was telling me quite a number of pregnant ladies came by recently to shop too. Haha...

Going for gynae checkup tomorrow...keep thinking about what to expect this time...

ladies, this thread is going so fast I hardly have time to catch up. So tired for this pregnancy that I sleep once I hit the bed after putting my gal to sleep. ARghhh..hardly time to talk much wif hubby.

Talking about OSCAR, actually I didn't want to have it but dr. insisted that must do. So do but thank God all seems well for now.

Mommies with older children about 1plus-2, have you all put them in some play groups? Have any good onces to recommend around Novena area? Worth going for those brand name schools like Eton house and Montessori?

Hey, I am on msn too...can add me [email protected]

babe
yeah same here, i knock out same time as my boy, sometimes even earlier.. he see mama sleep, he also bo pian hv to sleep coz no one play/ sing/ tell stories to him in a dark room..
i've been sleeping so much! eg 9pm to 7am.

more & more colleagues asking abt my baby bump. as tho i'm christina aguilera hahaha

goldenpig,

we sold our place when we went overseas for the posting. So now back in Sing, I am staying with my mother in my own room. Only single bed, I bet I will end up sleeping on baby.
Now only waiting for the pregnancy to stablize then get my dad to shift out the study table in my room to make space for the baby cot, but I hear its not advisable to do shifting? So a bit of dilemma. AT the very most, got to just ploke the baby cot in the middle of the room. hehehe.

Ya, but I guess if he missed it, he will be rather disappointed. He seems really excited this time about the pregnancy, previously for the ectopic he was not this excited. Already ask me if baby got move, can tell the gender already or not. I am only in my tenth week, still a long way to go before.

Now I just cant wait for MS to be over, I wanna eat my fill of all the food I am missing out. The strange thing is I dont have cravings at all, even if I have the minute I see food, I usually start to feel sick, cannot even stand the sight of the food.

Starting to understand that week 9 onwards is really a nightmare.

Morning ladies, just back from seeing my gynae...quite glad that all is well with bb. Could see bb floating around in the sac and quite active too! Kicking or moving the hands..quite funny...

I'm 13 weeks already...measures 6.96cm...Doc said all looks good, so guess can only look fwd to the next check up again. By then, will have to decide whether or not to do the triple blood test that some of you have been talking about.

So most of u going for that triple blood test or even OSCAR??? My doc didn't insist, he just leave it to us to decide about it.

Btw..do u all find that each time you check up with ultrasound, the scan shows an EDD that keeps changing?? Did your gynae say whether that means your EDD is changing??

Anyone know of any site that shows the CRL measurement of babies at each week or something? Thanks...

angelsky,
It all depends on your family culture and beliefs when come to shifting furniture. When i was having #1, my husband and I shifted the study table and single bed to make space for cot. I carried the lighter stuff while he did the heavier ones. I witnessed the assemble of cot when it arrived too. I don't believe in such stuff. And i didn't tell my mum before that. cos i know she'll make noise. I told her only after which she had nothing to say then...

Hammies,
Yes, the EDD indicated in screen keeps changing as it is computerised according to the size of the baby. In any case EDD is only a guide. At later stage gynae will be able to advise roughly when baby is coming.

angelsky,
It all depends on your family culture and beliefs when come to shifting furniture. When i was having #1, my husband and I shifted the study table and single bed to make space for cot. I carried the lighter stuff while he did the heavier ones. I witnessed the assemble of cot when it arrived too. I don't believe in such stuff. And i didn't tell my mum before that. cos i know she'll make noise. I told her only after which she had nothing to say then...

Hammies,
Yes, the EDD indicated in screen keeps changing as it is computerised according to the size of the baby. In any case EDD is only a guide. At later stage gynae will be able to advise roughly when baby is coming.

Fishia,

Ultrasound Technology of today only enables the use of to estimate the delivery date.

Moreover, EDD itself is not Exact Delivery Date, rather it's Estimate Delivery Date.

angelsky,

Hammies,

hammies,

what TG & angelsky say is right. No worry on the EDD changes. My gynae did not say anything abt EDD changing. He say EDD is only estimated date. If baby growing fast, perhaps ovulation (menses cycle) is shorter or longer oso taken into consideration of baby EDD. When baby is closer to 34wks, gynae will be able to advise due date more accurate but sometimes baby cannot wait, wanna see mummy & daddy earlier...so it all depends.

sorry for triple post. dunno is it my pc or the platform.

Oh, did i mention it's exact? No one will tell you it's exact...

Sorry for triple post. Dunno is it my internet connection or the platform having problem.

babe,
I'm also looking for playgroup. Do you stay near Novena? Me quite near. But i don't intend to spend too much i.e. branded schools...

steph
for my #1, the gynae insisted to stick to her original EDD given at wk 7 by measuring foetus. Coz as the months progress, the rate at which each baby grows is differnt, so she always refers to the original EDD, even tho scan pix show diffrnt EDD all the time.
same for this 2nd gynae.. 2nd scan showed EDD earlier by 2 days from original scan. But she still stuck by her original Edd. anyways, 2 days isn't much diffrnce, in my case.

for my #1, i went along with my husband when he had to shift a fridge from 1 home to another. My mom advised me not to be in the house when the moving was being done. So i hung around outside the house. It's nothing one la... only BELIEFS. But of course dun strain yourself if u're the one doing the packing and moving. And it's not good for preggie to be in newly painted house coz of the (toxic?) fumes from the fresh paint. So open all windows to ensure proper ventilation.

ladies...help!!
so pai seh...i can't figure out how to add yr email add to my MSN. I already download & install MSN but hor how to add ? Where to locate to add email contacts? Can guide me pls....thanks for yr help in advance.
Can add me : [email protected]

steph,
Just go to "contact" on the messenger window and you will see the option "add a contact". Then, you can type in the email add.

babe,
My boy is attending a church kindergarten. I am not too willing to spend so much on those "branded" schools. Cos, personally feel that they are charging a premium becos of the name and not the activities/progamme.

hammies03,
Think I will not reveal boy or girl till its being confirmed lah. Hehe...Hey, I think your bb CRL is big. My measurement was only 56mm at week 12. After seeing yours, I went to refer back on my #1's measurement. Haha... I was then at week 11 and the measurement was 48mm.

golden pig/hammies03,
Yeah, the EDD kept changing. For my #1, my EDD kept getting earlier and earlier. From 5 Aug, changed to 26 Jul. However, bb never come out till went for induction at week 41.

hi valencia,
thanks. will try at home cos office pc cannot allow MSN chat.
By the way, what CRL means ?

I read that the bb's genital develops during wk 11 to 14 and my next appt falls on wk 12.5 so there could be chance of knowing the gender...looking forward to the day!

Hello ladies!

Just wanna check if you all are starting to scout for confinement lady?? Coz I just called one up and the rate is like $2.5k coz she says it's the chinese new year. so just wanna find out if it's true.

hi regina,
1st welcome!
yup, CL during CNY (peak) is more ex. Rates varies fr 2.2K to 2.6K depends local or malaysia CL. Normal rates is ard 1.9K (off peak).
I intend to look for one but will ask ard in Aug till preggie more stable.

hi regina,
1st welcome!
yup, CL during CNY (peak) is more ex. Rates varies fr 2.2K to 2.6K depends local or malaysia CL. Normal rates is ard 1.9K (off peak).
I intend to look for one but will ask ard in Aug till baby more stable.

regina,
Ask ard yr friends/colleagues for gd recommendation for CL. If u scout on yr own...very risky cos u dunno whether she is gd anot. Some CL only take care of baby & cook for u, no washing of clothes, hsework etc...so must check properly b4 confirmation.

My life,
u hk nearer, can fly back mthly.. me japan.. 8 hrs if i include the tpt time from city to airport.. so its quite troublesome for me. Plus i worried frequent flying not so good for bb.

I had the same consideration as u lor.. wonder if hb can make it in time.. at least need 6 weeks of leave.. considering come back 2 weeks before edd and then stay another mth until bb full mth.. 6 weeks is already consider like very very tight already.. i wonder his boss allows or not. I will be doing confinement with my mil, she definately say no no, if i wanna join hb after confinement. Anyway my hb assignment might finished in April.. i so scare, 3 mths later bb dun recognised daddy already.

goldenpig,
do u mean that other than the father of the bb, other people can also allow to go to the delivery suite as well? I am thinking of funny scenes like when hb not ard, i ask midwive to snap pic for me hahaha.

angelsky,
I had to move apartment during my stay here last week, what happened if, i will just go out and let them move everything and wait completed everything then come back.. dun witness the moving process.

hammies,
will keep changing becos the edd is based on the measurement, slowly at the end of the day, gynae will only refer to ur initial edd date as guideline.

<font color="0000ff">updates, pls let me know</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>EDD (2008)</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>Child # </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>G Tan</TD><TD>01-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Snow (snowlove)</TD><TD>02-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>anbrasia ma</TD><TD>03-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>kit_mum2b</TD><TD>05-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Andrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mamarumi</TD><TD>06-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>TG (greentera)</TD><TD>08-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>DarEve/Westerwaylah</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>babe</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Hammies03</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>November</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>valencia (valencia_val)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>shooting star (shooting star)</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>chrysalid</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Shorty</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>kovanella</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>mist28 (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Superbee</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. HY Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>mylvera</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Quek Wei Lin</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>eRnMum</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. June Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Regina (reginalee)</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>babyling</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Flyn</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>mei (lu_meihua)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>qingqing</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>YuN</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>noven lim</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Steph77 (steph77)</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>fishia</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Lim Jia Jia, Joyce</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy Piggy</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>rachael pang</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Babyshannon</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>francoise</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>angelsky (angelsky)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>calbee (calbee)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>mcfluffy</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>michelle</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>baby26</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>megg</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

hi mei,
me also aching.

anyone of you experience aching at the tailbone?? I actually crack my tailbone before, then it is a bit swollen.. and then when i happened to lie down that area it will hurt a bit.

izit normal to feel slight cramp during /ard wk10 ?? i feeling not so well cos been constipated for 3 days...only morning managed to poo