(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune, do u need to pay any deposit for CL for confirmation, give red packets etc? I was told by my frds that some CL will request for red packet b4 start confinement & another one aft end.

Hi Mei, could u pls add me?

Nick: Mist28
EDD: 15/1/08
Gynae: Dr Benjamin Tham
Hospital: KKH
Child: #1

Thank you very muchie!

Morning ladies

Today me wearing a maternity pants to work. haha. Running out of bottoms to wear. Wonder if any of my colleagues might notice. Anyway, not feeling too gd this morning. Stomach feels uncomfortable and still got gas..also feel more like puking today.

Goldenpig, do u get this sort of feeling still..now that u are ard..how many weeks? 13 weeks? I'm gg to be 12 weeks leh..still feel like puking sometimes..

Morning Everyone.

Welcome all new mtb.

Wow...The thread moving very very fast...

Steph77, no worries abt the weight gain at 1st trimester. i also nv gain any weight yet. According to my gynae, sometime some ppl even lose weight at 1st trimester. We will start to gain more weight during 2nd trimester as our ms will be over.

TongTong, my breast have grow slightly bigger. So sensitive to touch.

Lynn, pls add me at msn: [email protected]

TG and Shooting Star, may i know more abt yr gynae? like the package and other charges?Thanks

Joyce: i added u..

I'm not using Palmer's Cocoa, i'm using e Mustela double action.. so far so gd!
maybe u guys can try. itz was highly recommeded by many of my frz..

steph: same here, i'm seeing my gynae tomroo too..

Shooting Star

I have gone through the oscar test and the result was known on the same day.

You need to drink water before the scan.

I am already 34, that's why i didnt hestitate to take the test. Luckily, I passed.

Let me know if you want to know more about the test.

hammies
i'm now wk 12.5, yes i still get pukey feeling. it doesn't go away immed.. not like cinderella when the midnight hour comes.

G tan,
Is the Oscar test painful procedure? This is not a normal blood test right? Needle poke thru our belly button izit ?

needle poke thru belly is amniocentesis.

ok i called the gynae clinic to make enquiries.

triple test = blood test. abt 70% accurate, abt $100

oscar = blood test plus NT scan. abt 90% accurate, abt $300. Newest technology avail.

amniocentesis = needle poke in belly. 100% accurate but risk of miscarriage. abt $900. Absolute last choice.

Steph,

my gynae told me about the 3 options as golden pig has mentioned above. But at this stage, she only recommended either the triple test or oscar, only if ur results are not good will they send u for amniocentesis, but there is a 5% risk of miscarriage. As i am 31 y.o., my gynae said that the pple choosing either way are about 50:50. I opted for oscar as i felt my age is nearer to 35y.o.

Joyce,
I find Dr Wong very nice and caring. There's another thread on her:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/244603.html?1180343981
I have only been to 2 appointments so far. The initial appointment is more expensive than the others. It comes up to around $120 for consultation and ultrasound. The second appointment onwards, they charge $48 for consultation, $38 for ultrasound and later $8 for urine test, all up about $94 (excluding gst) per normal appointment. However, from week 12 onwards, there is a gynae package which they are offering at $598. If u join at week 16, it is $498. The package includes the 3 things above, and it excludes vitamins and other tests. Apparently, u can't use the FBI card (TMC discount card) for this package. It can only be used for her delivery package.

G tan,
Yeah, my appointment for the oscar is booked for early in the morning, and i have an appointment at the end of the day with my gynae to review the results along with the rountine check-up. As Steph asked, is the oscar test painful? I heard the blood test part is painful. How long does the test take? Is the scan a normal ultrasound scan? Hopefully, my results will be good. Crossing my fingers!

Steph,
I also scared after reading it. I was at Guardian looking for Palmer 2 weeks ago and a promoter kept recommending me Elurayl (can't remember spelling). Green in color and eventually i bought that but haven't use.

now i really regretted. Should have just stick to Clarins. I used it during #1. just that i find it ex. a bottle for abt $80 and will need at least 2-3 bottles for the entire pregnancy.

A friend of mine use only baby oil and she has no stretch marks at all. think it really depends on individual...

golden pig,

Have you done your NT scan? I had mine and as what you mentioned before, it's in the routine ultrasound checkup...

didn't know blood test + NT scan = Oscar

ok thanks.
i will check with gynae clinic on the charges. The charges are not the main concern, it is to have a peace of mind knowing the baby is normal & healthy. I will hear what the gynae recommend tomolo.

Oscar test is basically a blood test + NT scan

They will scan your baby and measure the back of the neck (which is known as the NT Scan) and to check for the existence of nasal bone (which is the bridge of the baby's nose)

The result of the above will be evaluate together with your blood test result. Blood test is not painfully lah. Just draw one small tube.

If your risk factor is low (taking into account your age too) against a standard factor at your age group, you do not need to go for amni test.

Hope that clarifies

qing qing, wow... can see ur bb body & limbs liao & so fast start thinking of names??...

mylvera, thanks for your encouragement...
i was feeling low morale that day coz first time hear pple say i turn ugly then my family all say i very fat now & hb not in sg this whole week for me to share grievances.... sigh... some more i m hyper-sensitive to the word "fat" coz i used to be very chubby during uni days & managed to shrink to S size after i started to work.. anyway, i have to come to terms that there is nothing that i can do now... but i have stop drinking enfamama coz dunno is that cause a big jump in my weight increase??

kitsune_sg, saw ur updated blog & u/s scan... bb very adorable hor..
i m looking fwd to see my bb this fri... coz my last scan only see the side view of my bb head & butt in sleeping position...

hammies03, i m using palmer cocoa butter every nite for 2wks liao.. so far okie leh... saw the forum thread & sounds scary... :|

Superbee hahaha ya .... am thinking of girls name only cos boy's name chinese name will be chosen by my FIL ... heehee

ya can see my bb and oso hear the heart beat so fun!!!! ..... cant wait to see again on coming 25 jul will be signing up the package on next visit liao .....

Hey Gintonic - were you in Singapore bride's forum before? I think we used to chat in one of the thread - Congrats congrats to you

i chatted with a Gintonic b4 in sgbride ..... in May 06's bride thread. but she already giben birth to 1 ....

eRnMum cos our family have ZU PU ... 2nd character must follow De ... and my FIL give name to my two nephew

Just to check will cold drinks cause cramps? Coz have been drinking a bit since weather very hot lately. I have been having mild cramps on n off but today is esp bad, cramp morn till now, back also feel it, still bearable but really feel like gg back to rest but paiseh to tell my boss, hopefully i can ren till late aft...

To "Joyce (lj2)"
>TG and Shooting Star, may i know more abt yr gynae?
>like the package and other charges?Thanks

1. In brief, we trust Dr. Caroline to manage, and later deliver our precious one. See details regarding my comments on Caroline & TMC here http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/293221.html?1182923174

2. In brief, her package is reasonable in price.
It's the same as what 'shooting_star' has reported. Dr. Jocelyn & Caroline are good working colleagues and friends.

From our research, both of them are highly rated by many others - do a search yourself to verify if necessary. We chose Caroline solely because of our friends great experiences with her.

Have you finalised on your O&G yet? I think it's essential to partner with an O&G that you've faith in and trust. Those O&G who don't have much time for us do not deserved to participate in this precious journey of the 3 of us.

Evelyn, i drank some cold drink oso ..... is ok leh .... if u cannot ren u better go home and rest ..... we havent pass our 1st trimester so must xiao xin

Superbee, yeh, i've been using the palmer cocoa butter like u too. I think its individual skin reaction. Have to observe if got any slight rash at all, better stop using.

Evelyn, not sure sure if drinking cold drinks directly relates to cramps leh. So far I try not to drink cold drinks, so not much of an issue for me...

Starry u mean u are in the thread too? hmmmmm did i chatted with u b4? heehee ...... I am 06 May 06 u leh ?

Oh ya, sorry ah, I'm a bit lost in the OSCAR test thing..is it u all are considering taking this test due to age or something? Or everyone has to test or up to gynae to recommend?

2007~2008: Fire Pig
2007~2008: Golden Pig?

Not sure if this was discussed before, but it seems that there are still quite a few here that think that our precious one may be a Golden Pig, when it is actually a Fire Pig. Sorry for the disappointment, am agreeable that Golden Pig seems to sounds better as well.

See these references:
1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pig_(zodiac)
2. http://www.astrolog.com.au/pages/year_of_firepig.htm
3. http://www.usbridalguide.com/special/chinesehoroscopes/Pig.htm

Pls feel free to correct me if my understanding is wrong.

>I'm a bit lost in the OSCAR test thing..is it u all
> are considering taking this test due to age or
>something? Or everyone has to test or up to gynae
>to recommend?

One-stop Clinic for Assessment of Risk for Fetal Anomalies (OSCAR) is not compulsory.

If one can afford OSCAR, good to go for it. Enable us to understand more about the precious development in the womb.

In any case, it's optional, therefore, don't do it out of peer pressure. Every penny counts...

see details of OSCAR here http://www.thomsonmedical.com/diagnostic_ctr.htm

hammies
i'm not going for the oscar.. $300 ley... 2nd time mummy not so kancheong liao, more looking at the dollars & cents. hee hee. In fact my first time i also told the clinic that i opt out, but they sent my blood for test anyway. I kicked a fuss and in the end they had to compensate me with spa treatment. kekekeke.

evelyn
i take 1 cold drink almost everyday. i dun hv cramps. or at least i dun consider them cramps. just a bit tight at specific areas when i stand up.. i'm careful not to make sudden movements.

blood test = draw blood lor. they will take a small tube, not as much as blood donation.
scan = ultrasound lor.. u just lie there and stare at the ceiling.

aiya u all worri too much.

>alamak, then i gotto change nick liao.. haha. Fire
>Pig sounds nice too... so fierce, dun mess with
>me..

Think it's fine. In view that the energies out there which associate 2007~2008 babies as Golden Pig are very very strong... it is possible that the babies born within this period will have the characteristics of both Fire & Gold. Keep your nick to help us enhance this Golden energies ok? Thanks :)

<font color="0000ff">updates, let me know.</font>

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>EDD (2008)</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>Child # </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>G Tan</TD><TD>01-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Snow (snowlove)</TD><TD>02-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>anbrasia ma</TD><TD>03-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>kit_mum2b</TD><TD>05-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Andrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>mamarumi</TD><TD>06-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>TG (greentera)</TD><TD>08-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Caroline Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>DarEve/Westerwaylah</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lisa Chin</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>babe</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Hammies03</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>November</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>shooting star (shooting star)</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>chrysalid</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Vincent Lee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Shorty</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>kovanella</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>mist28 (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Sharon (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Superbee</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. HY Tan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>mylvera</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Quek Wei Lin</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>eRnMum</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. June Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>babyling</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Flyn</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>mei</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>qingqing</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>YuN</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>Luvv</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>noven lim</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>Steph77</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>fishia</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Lim Jia Jia, Joyce</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy Piggy</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>rachael pang</TD><TD>25-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Kee</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Babyshannon</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>francoise</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>mcfluffy</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>michelle</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>baby26</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>megg</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>dorothy</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. YW Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>gintonic (gintonic)</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>kitsune_sg</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Yen</TD><TD>02-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. SH Teoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Thanks TG and Golden Pig for the info on OSCAR...

Anyway, so ours is a Fire Pig, but I thought they keep talking during CNY that time that this is also a Golden Piggy Year? Maybe it is also that, but people born between 18 February 2007 - 6 February 2008 are just know as Fire Pig by the elements method?

Don't know if i'm making sense. hahaha...

Haha..on reading some of the articles that TG shared, it dawned upon me that maybe SG will see a baby boom this year coz a lot of pp say year of pig is a good year to have babies...will we face problem when our kids go to P1 next time. hehe...

Then I'm looking at the next few zodiac signs right, wonder when I will want to have my next child. Tiger heard not so good, but rabbit is like 4 years later...seems rather long. What do u think of Ox? haha...

harlo all,
I am back from shopping at Carrano Garment Beauty World.
fishia, the tel no is incorrect, is actually fax machine...hee...the correct one is 64635721. The shop open daily according to sales attendant.
I bought 6 items at S$104 after 15% disc. A wide variety & gd deal...better than This Fashion. I got myself one working pants, two knee length pants, one maternity dress & two dresses for my niece! Cheap cheap... i think will visit again during 3rd trimester. I managed to get size 1 for all my design. Size 2 is definitely too big for me. Size 1 can last me thry 3 or 4 trimester. GSS disc ends 22July...hurry down down!

hammies,
our baby is very lucky...Jan2008 - 6Feb08 is consider pig's tail baby so our baby will attend P1 with all the Rats baby. No worry for no registration places. Sure have cos Rat year not so popular.

Be it Fire Pig or Golden Pig, as long as it's a gd healthy piggy baby i will dote & treasure it.
I have not think of #2 yet...see if can cope with #1 first then consider.

Wah according to Mei's chart list on our EDD, it seems like everyday got baby pop...must be very exciting during our last trimester.

For first time MTBs, 2nd or 3rd trimester will be quite busy for us...preparing for the new born arrival, buying stroller, playpan, new clothes, socks, feeding bottles etc...& many many more...busy busy!

goldenpig,
how's the maternity.com clothes u rec'd & tried ? quality gd ? size fits? Is templer going to start another new spree? Somehow i never dare try online shopping b4.