(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i am eating oso my ofc here open a munchy donut hahah ppl queue i oso queue hahah happily eating now

hammies,
i had mee siam for breakfast, then biscuits for am tea-time, vegetarian beehoon for lunch, garlic bread for after-lunch, just had tuna+biscuits for pm tea-time.....

last nite got hungry...wanna eat mee rebus but WHERE ON EARTH SELL AT MIDNIGHT!? bo bian, make do with lor mai kai....yucks. not nice.

wonder what I'm having for dinner...make a guess?

Hi AhCapp,

The itch is on/off mode, not constant. I normally feel the itch when sitting in the car with seat belt or after shower.

i thought you already decided what to eat...

I always feel like eating something hot. mee siam, mee rebus, laksa all so tempting... but house only have bread... so sianz... Sometimes I miss working life. Can jus step out of office and grab a bite. hot bao or kuay also shiok!

hahahah mei so notti hahahah a......... tonite i think i will have good appetite cos my mum cooking!!!! yeah so happy

mei - u make me soooo hungry ; )
i brought cripsy duck meat for tonite dinner... hope can go home soon... eat & sleep ; )

wah talking abt crispy duck, i wanna eat roast suckling pig on mon...

fishia,
u not working? SAHM? wow...good leh. can rest at home. ur house downstairs no coffeeshop for all these food?

im just thinking of knock off time for now.haha..
mei, how nice that u have such good appetite. Do u have any indigested feeling at any time?

I wonder wat's for dinner too..wonder wat MIL cooked...

Actually I'm always enjoyed nice soups from my family side, but my MIL soups dun have that same level of taste...sigh..sometimes long to eat at my own family side coz of the nice soups!!

soups...i also love soups...boiled soups, stewed soups, instant soups, whatever. all i like.

indigested feeling...hmm...for this pregnancy, not yet but i had this feeling during #1 pregnancy. indigested, dun know is it me or what. i feeling hungry again.

i also love my ma's cooking...home-cooked-food...even though she dun cook a wide variety of dishes...but i still love.

Mei,
I work part time from home. good thing is can nap when i'm tired...

Coffeeshop food not so nice leh. Market got to walk under hot sun so i don't like to go... walk there alone also sianz. think by then no appetite already.. hahaha.

wahhh...everytime log in must hurriedly read finish the postings...but towards the end, forgot who posted wat liao.. :p

i just went to my gyane checkup last Sat and i'm very happy to see baby has grown so much! by the scan i noted that Baby is 5.67cm (is this norm cos i dunno why some of u say scared baby not growing much) and my gynae did the neck thickness check for me. It seemed fine and she told me can spot the baby's nose bone quite prominent thus reducing further the Down's Syndrome possibility.

So happy to see Baby wriggling away, sometimes, stretching, sometimes hands up in the air like in rock concert...haha...cant wait to feel the movement.

Icy...me confirm going HK liao. But before tat, me too thinking of taking a short trip to Japan with hubby. Tot of just camping out at a traditional luxurious ryokan with Mount Fuji views off Tokyo. Can u advise if pregnant women can go for hot springs soaks? Each of their rooms come with private natural hot springs..so would really like to try that. Question also...can we eat at least a bit of the raw sashimi in Japan in our 2nd trimester?

And talking about 2nd trimester...when exactly does it start? Is it on our 4th month or the start of 3rd mth? My appetite now has gotten slightly better but still feel nauseous and gets full very easily.

Take care everyone!

Mei,
some boring telesales job lah... it's a drag and many times i have to pray for strenght to finish calling... hahahaha...

Me now so fan...thinking of changing my gynae. Just feel that doc did not really advise me much on what are the things can do, eat, control etc...me now in my week 11 and my next appt is next week whihc I have to sign up the package...so now its a tough decision for me cos hubby say its all really up to me if I am really comfortable with the doc ornot...sigh.....

pls advise...anyone...

me down with bad flu & throat inflammation. Today on MC. I think fever is gg to come next

Doctor say if i can tahan better dun take medication during 1st tri but i am feeling really terrible...can't sleep due to block nose last nite.

ya i read the news abt the mother passed away aft giving birth to twins...so sad for the family & angry on how the hospital handle this matter.

weight issue: Nope i didn't gain any weight, in fact i lost 1.5kg during 2nd month but gain it back to my original wt now. Appetite improving but sometimes do feel nauseous and can only eat small portion.

btw, anyone gg for the Jacky Cheong World Tour Concert this weekends?

ok that's all for now. Catch up tmrw!

Hmm.. the mother that passed away after giving birth to twins is actually a relative of my hubby. Reallllllly sad and scary at the same time. Especially when i'm pregnant myself. Hope everything goes smoothly for all mothers!

Hi VioletIce,

Ok, will really have to start apply my cream soon.

Hi mylife,

I read that pregnant mums are not supposed to go for sauna or hot springs. The reason being when our body can heated up, our babies are heated up too.

I just came back from Japan on Mon. Our hotel room has private onsen bath, facing the sea! Goosh, I can only soak my feet for about 5 mins, while my hubby soaked away. He then continued to go to the privat bath for another soak after dinner, while I stayed at home to watch TV. =(

We also went to a onsen town near to Sapporo. There are about 4 open onsen along the streets, which you can soak your feet with free of charge. I read the signs that pregnant should avoid them. But I have already soaked my feet in the first one for 10min. I skipped the rest of the hot springs, while my hubby continued to enjoy himself. So jealous!

No choice. I don't want to put my baby at risk =) Take special care ya.

Hi mei,

Thank goodness I am not alone with a healthy appetite. I find myself scary sometimes!

Today, I had a cup of milk at 7am, a bun & a slice of fruit at 9am, a bite off my "reserved" bun before 12noon, a plate of roasted meat rice for lunch, 2 slices of fruits after lunch, finished off my "reserved" bun by 5pm, had dinner at 8pm!

Goosh, I ate so much and yet have not put on any weight. *LOL* I hope all these will go to my baby ;)

Hi steph77,

During my first trimester, I was down with fever on the day I found out I was pregant. By about 10 weeks, I coughed till my chest pain. For both occassions, I double and triple with both my doctor and my gyne about the medicine I take.

Even though I was re-assured that all the med are ok, I was still so worried that I took a few times of medicine before I stop. So I took like "forever" to get well.

Drink lots of water and wish u get well soon! =)

I have not gained weight during first trimester too, quite a few colleagues told me I lost weight and asked me why I lost weight. But my tummy is bigger now cos waistline is already 30-31 inches. Wanted to start applying stretch mark cream. Got a sample from the private gynae called Percutalfa but the smell is too strong and floral so applied only once.

Hi Fishia, I go to TPS at KKH and their routine urine test is always before the doctor's consult. Guess the doctor needs to know the results before speaking to patients.

Just found this thread very informative. Hope it's ok to join you folks.

My particulars:
EDD: 27th Jan
Hospital: TMC
Child: #1

Hi Steph, take care and drink lots of water and rest if you can. Earlier in first trimester I also had sore throat then cough and cold. Only took sore throat lozenges and cough mixture the gynae prescribed. After that, I was suffering from running and block nose for quite long before finally recovered on my own. I guess I wanted to avoid taking medicine, but it was pretty tiring I must say. Jialat also...but it will get by in time...

I think pregnant women cannot go hot spring, also read it somewhere I believe. But so nice the feeling...hehe..glad I managed to go for one just before I found out I was preggie. hehe..

Oh ya, want to ask u all something - for those first time mummies, have u all already bought your nursery stuff? Meaning baby cot and some basic necessities?

If yes, any good place to recommend and what's the prices expected to be?

If no, when do you all intend to start buying all these?

mylife: i oso juz came bac fr my tokyo trip last sun, my gynae told mi no hot spring, or any spa for mi but juz go ahead wif e sashimi.. no prob. Muz rest if tired.. i tink u better avoid e hot spring.

Icy: itz okie, no worries juz pray hard.. Dont put stress on urself over dis.
last nitz, i had Mcdonald for dinner.. i ordered a Mc chicken but aft one bite dont feel like eating then i went to order big Mc aft 2 bites, seems like my stomach v full cant finish..
my frz was tellin mi "R u eating or wasting food"?! in e end went hom, aft my shower i'm hungry again.. went downstairs e 24hr coffeeshop to buy a prata, came hom feelin tired & went to bed without eating.

is it safe to take a hot bath when i'm pregnant?
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/hotbathsexpert/

related...
is it safe to sunbathe when i'm pregnant?
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/isitsafeto/sunexpert/

gintonic
from what i know, most gynaes won't voluntarily tell u what to eat, what not to do etc.. if u've got such concerns, write them down and ask during the consultation. If it's impt to u not to be rushed and your gynae does, then u may want to consider other gynaes.. yes it's really abt how comfortable u are with the doc. Some may value convenience over everything else, so even if doc is rushing, patients will still go back to him/her coz of her clinic's location. Or reputation, or price etc. Read up on what other mummies hv to say abt the same gynae (in this thread, this forum, other forums etc), weigh the pros and cons, and make a decision.

lynn
u so funny! or maybe u quite well off... spend $$ on food that u dun eat. hahaha.

when i recover from my sore throat, i wanna eat DURIANNNNNNN

Read from the previous postings that some of you have gone for the OSCAR scan. Can share how is the scan carried out? Is it a tummy scan? How long will it take and do we know the results immediately? Do we have to drink plenty of water before that?

Sorry for asking so many questions....

Question about prenatal class. TMC has their own class and I also noticed there are some private classes too like Birth & Beyond at Tanglin.

Anyone has attended classes before? does it worth? Is it necessary to attend more expensive private classes?

Thanks all

i attended the TMC prenatal class by Mrs Wong Boh Boi. Very very good... but very crowded coz everyone wants to attend her class! I figured if i'm in a new job, there will be training provided, so if i'm a new mum, all the more need to attend training to equip myself and husband.
I didn't go for additional private classes.

Thanks golden pig!!

Am wondering also do any of you experience any discharge recently? Am wondering if having some brown staining in the morning once a while is normal.

Steph I am gg to Jacky's concert ........ this sat ... u gg too? is my birthday present from hubby this yr kekeke

Hi wildcherry, i oso experience more white discharge but so far did not have any staining. maybe you cld ask yr gynae about yr condition?

4 weeks ago, i went to KKH National Thalassemia Registry for thalaseemia test with hubby. even though we have already had some blood tests done before we are married, the nurses advised us to go for more detailed tests. phew! got my results yday,lucky hubby normal while i was diagnosed as alpha minor. if not, have to do more tests to see bb ok.

Fishia, wow... they really so bad dun allow the husband to go in see her... really very sad... Hope this is the last time such time happen.

kitsune, my routine urine test same as fishia also after seeing gynae. maybe next time u can request to do it after seeing gynae.

just want check if anyone here have cold soya bean in the morning
coz now i got craving for cold drink in the morning but my previous preganncy i nvr drink cold drinks at all!!!!

Morning all,

hi wildcherry, welcome!
brown staining might be a sign of spotting, call gynae to check cos i have that during week5.

qing2,
Wahhh...so nice of yr hubby. Yup me gg to Jacky's concert on Sunday. I can't get gd seats for Fri & Sat...sold out very fast.
We went for the $198 seating, 2pax cost us $400 incl admin charges...i have never spent so much on concert b4 but for Jacky i think worth it la.

hi Lynn,
Are u the one who is interested in joining the HypnoBirthing Classes ? Me & hubby decided to go for normal prenatal classes from TMC in Aug. If u interested, we can sign up together?

but then routine urine check after seeing gynae, then if got protein and sugar found in urine, then gynae also wont know and that will defeat the purpose right?

Steph he oso bought the 198 tickets ..... heehee 400 for the concert in all kekekeke ... but i think ya is worth it ...... i bought the ticks that time dun have sunday one ....

hi mornie,

talking abt prenatal classes - what will be the ideal month to attend? when we reach 5th mth? cos thinking too early to start, will we able to rem by next yr? Btw, can I know how much is TMC charging? Thks.

Kylie- i drink (half packet) cold milk or soyabean or iced milo every morning. me too craving for cold stuff... Always like to order ice jelly cocktail during lunch time but colleagues restricted me from taking too much cos they say too "liang"...

janbb
book the classes first. Popular time slots may be first to be filled. See how long the class stretch, dun wait until last trimester coz some people i know give birth before completing all the lessons so wasted their $$ and didn't learn some impt stuff. U can check out the rates at TMC website >> Parentcraft

janBB
u have the same craving as me i always eat cold dessert leh
i have alot of white discharge now so bttr not eat now eat bird nest also must put ginsheng in so not so liang