2007 sahm n bf mom

S@L, i was re-reading your post and you want to use the shuttle chef cos your mum cooks the same thing. What about you preparing the ingredients for her and she just cook ? would she do it ? just a thought, then you dont have to spend extra to buy the pot.

i think there is recipe for the cantonese type of porridge maybe i try it on weekend. For my case, i just cook porridge normally and leave it in pot for anything between 1 to 4 hours. But it does not get mashy, though it is soft enough to be mashed up with a fork.

Eufrasia, i am sahm but only partial bf'g and now trying to wean. ya DS does get cranky and wakes up in the night, but he only slept through the night for a short period of time, now at 10 mth he still wakes up around 3 times a night. Or is your baby hungry ?

Babydoll, we intro the pacifier to DS at 2 months, like your DS he would need it to sleep, but to our surprised he "quit" by himself since last week, he just refused it even when sleepy and that is our another problem, he can't fall asleep now. So dont worry maybe your DS will wean off himself. :)

wow tis thread is so alive agn

Eufrasia
i can feel your fustration. i'm a part- time sahm and was bf till last week! declare declare - i finally wean off totally liao! haha. it was so liberating... phew. no regrets. i know i tried all my v best already. he's now 10mths 1 week now.

i was tbf ds till 7-8mths then ss not enough, and i'm not happy, cos v stressed at work and stressed over ss not meeting up. then bb always fusses as not enuff, plus teething, he bites. so decided to gradual wean off. ss dropped drastically once i decided to 'let it go', of cos, in betw i used the lime method to cut bb off.. would say it's such a journey! then finally last week, even without me knowing, every time it's time to feed i just give fm and bingo, wean off liao. now when i squeeze still have milk but not much. v fast. my cup c also swooped down dramatically, now abit sag i feel - gosh! and i lost so much weight. cols even asked if my health's ok. i now can't even wear size S which i'm quite sian okie! i love my womanly curves when i was bfg but now, so skinny - not slim ok, really is skinny. so boney i dun like. so baby_doll dun worry too much! your body shape will change agn when u wean off. i also never exercise! where got time!~ but if there's 1 thing i must advise is: WEAR SUPPORTIVE BRAS! nw kinda regret not heeding tis advise... arghh. ;p

i tried offer ds pacifier tat time when i wanna wean off his comfort sucking, but he doesn't like it - in a way good also.

now he'd learnt how to soothe himself to sleep. after many episodes of cio method, give music, give transitional objects and give lime! all sorts i've tried, i tink he kind of get the message gradually, babies are clever. he's able to sleep close to 6 hrs straight now. as opposed to waking up 3hrly previously. now come tink back it really could be he's not sucking enuff and is genuinely hungry...

so pt is, mummies, HANG ON! JIA YOU!!! b4 u know it, it'll be over. really nothing much we can do except try all the methods we read... babies will decide when they r ready to wean, or sleep thru i feel. in fact, i was so disturbed over bb's poor sleep habit tat i went to consult his doc, and tis was wat he said exactly. diff bbs diff. as long as they are playing well, still active and healthy, the rest is really, will pass as time passes. all r passing phases. so hang on =)only u'll know your child best. whether he's been 'naughty' or really is hungry. but how can they be 'naughty' when they're so young and innocent? diff bb diff.

dun despair.

hi gretel, your back is ok now ?

congrats on weaning successfully ! hmm i wish i am as lucky, i have been trying to do it for a month and DS is still suckling for comfort. I have yet to try the bitter gourd juice as I am sick again and i do not wish to put up a fight with DS in the middle of the night. Do you apply the juice daily till bb is totally weaned ? so happy for you that you DS can sleep for 6 hours ! shall bid my time for that to happen and I wish it to be soon, not sure how long i can tahan ... really miss sleeping for a few hours straight. yes you are right that bb are clever, they really know how to "torture" us ..

gosh you already feel sagging ? so fast ? i am A size hopefully it will not be so obvious ha ha :->

mami35,
i think like gretel said, bb will eventually know how to fall asleep on his own... it's matter of time. We mummies r wear out looking after bb 24x7 & w frequent night wakings, we tend to loose patient & hope our darlings will zz independently soon. My friend's son(3yrs) & daug (1 yr old), their ah mah train them to sleep in their own rooms. Really v easy lor. I saw w my own eyes, when their nap time, she will close their doors & they will play in their own room for a while & then sleep. But bf tt, she said a lot of crying lor... so i guess we need to train our bb. But i hope can reason w my son when he's older, no heart to try cio mtd.

Gretel,
So great ur son can soothe himself to sleep. My son will toss & turn in bed w his pacifier + I need to be beside him. Sometime, it can take up to an hr plus w him climbing over my body, pulling my mouth, hair...But it's a good progress as compared to last time, i need to pat, carry & dance around the house... After I try the PU/PD mth for a week, he is much better liao.

I find tt mine also sag liao, aiyo, now i cup D! Really dun like lor.Always ganna joke by my sis & ex-colleague. Think will be damn saggy when wean off, somemore I dun wear underwired bra. Better heed ur advice, wear supportive bras fr now... Will loose weight after weaning off har? good thing for me.

I am also concerned abt sleeping quality, as good zz quality is good for brain development.

S@L, have you seen the actual pot at the robinson / tangs / metro / isetan ? I notice that the inner pot is quite small and the base is rounded. I am afraid it may not fit all stove (i dont think it would fit my stove), just a thought, you may want to check the size before purchasing.

ok, i tried the porridge this afternoon. The shuttle chef comes with a recipe book - it is abalone porridge and it states to cook 1 hour on the stove before putting into the outer pot. I think it is due to the fact that abalone needs prolong cooking and also to get the congee consistency.

I cooked it the usual way till the porridge is cook and soft, takes about 20 mins and still left with some liquid. 2 hours later, i find the porridge is a little more mashed and more dried , it should be easier to mash with fork if need be. If more liquid is in it, the result would be like teochew porridge.

Not sure if i am clear with my description, let me know if you have any doubts.

babydoll, how does PU / PD mtd work ? Would like to try it. I did try CIO but it did not work on DS, either he was too young / too stubborn or maybe i was not consistent. Right now i still have to carry and sing and rock before he can take his nap and he naps on me. The moment i put him down he would scream and scratch his head and ears.

Oh about prolong cooking, i just flipped through a weaning book at Popular, it did mention that high heat cooking and prolong cooking would destroy nutrients. steaming, stir fry (for older bb) are recommended.

mami, yes i will try to bring the ingredients to my mum plc as well. jus that she likes to comment the way i want the things to be done. so if i cook everything and send over then she will nt say much cos dun wan to waste the food ma....
anyway today there is a new BP for the similar magic cooker. much cheaper than the Shuttle chef. i prob get one and give it a try. can also keep for my own soup in future..thanks alot for ur help!

mami35,
PU means picking up BB when he's crying & the moment he stops crying, u PD (putting down) again... this process has repeat many times till BB learns new way of sleeping. This mtd good in a sense tt BB knows tt mummy is around & there for him. As he is being used to be carried to sleep. He sure crys to protest as he dun u/stand why mummy is doing this now. U will need a lot of patient & time! It took me abt 40mins in the begining, then slowly cut to 30min, 20, 10.... & in a week's time, he ok liao! But different bb diff, dun get dishearten when ur bb is not behaving tt way. Some find it much easier if just pat & carry bb to sleep.

One more thing, I'm so glad tt my son can sit still in his car seat liao. *Keep my finger crossed.

Some of us are meeting up coming Thur (19 Jun), 3pm at Airport, T3, Coffee Club (think it's Level 1).

Anyone interested?

1) Jaime
2) Mel
3) Vally
4) Ange
5)
6)

mamil35
just went to tui na the 3rd time ytd, so u say leh =.(

re:breast
sigh... no wonder 'ma ma shi wei da de'...ya, 'wei da' during bfg, airport when not... really wei da!!!

re: PU/PD method
oh i tried tat! word of caution - be careful of your back esp if you're putting bb in the play pen/ cot which is of low height. i guess tat's prob wat triggered by backprob. so pls b careful.

the 1st time i tried, also ard 40 mins, then next day 30mins, slowly... bb got the message. it's quite effective for my case. b4 tat bb hates his cot. at least he's learn to accept it.

re: car seat
sigh. bb will nv allow me to put him there. put toys, won't last 1 car trip. sure must be carried. i won't be complainin if he can sit still. he moves like a worm and i dun have seatbelt on, hubby's always reminding me how dangerous it is but how? bb doesn't allow me to strap him over...

mummies, neaed to ask: do u all feel guilty when bb's time table is disrupt?

eg ytd, there was a wedding dinner, reach home 11pm. bb's overstimulated and cried so hard till almost 1. he's hardly like tat. and worse, he's too distracted tat he he missed 1feed during the dinner. when he realised he's actually v hungry, and yet so tired to eat, he got so upset - it's frustating on both side trying to soothe him, make him sleep, drink his milk. i felt so heartache i cried. dunno if i'm overreacting or wat but i got angry w myself. shd have left earlier. and not disrupt bb's schedule

Re - timetable
YES, i do. I am ok if its like half an hour but its its drag more than that i get very pissed. And she wakes up again and again to seek for my attention and furthermore she needs to latch on to go back to sleep.
Very frustrating.

sigh i have to miss the airport meet up .. too far

babydoll, when you say 40 mins, is that the time to finally put him to sleep ? how many times did you have to PU / PD in that 40 mins ?

you said to PD when he stops crying, so that means if my DS stops crying after the 1st PU only after 10 mins and the moment i PD he cries again for 10 mins or longer then he stops i PD - i just keep doing that till he sleeps ?

re : car seat

babydoll, congrats that your boy can sit still in the car seat ! .. can you keep him in the seat for the whole journey ? my problem is, we change the car seat to front facing, now he could not fall alseep on any car ride which he used to be able to ... he will sit in the car seat but will start crying after sometime. But I will not pick him up unless he is hysterical (thank goodness that is very rare) cos we know he is just fussing cos the moment i pick him up he would stop crying !!!

gretel, you mean you will put bb in car seat and carry him when he starts to cry ? yeah your DH is right it is very dangerous. I would not be able to keep my DS still if he is not in the car seat, and I would be all over the backside with him, that is why i insist to put him in the car seat and not pick up him even when he cries. I would feed him biscuits to distract him but sometimes it does not work.

re : time table
ya it upsets me and DS too especially at night ...so ya i will time our outing so we reach home by 9pm at night .. but wedding dinner cannot be help ....day schedule is better cos he can still catch up 40 winks if he missed a nap

Hi Baby_Doll,

How long do u plan to BF until? Do you still got alotta BM? How to maintain. My supply seems going to decrease as my boi dun really nurse that frequent and onli nurse ard 5mins persession

Do you take care ur boi all by urself? I do. Perhaps that's why I lose my weight quite a lot. Never have a good sleep
My boi also ever got quite bad diaper rash. Checked on him every now and then. He ever rejected my breast abt 1-2mths. Expressing BM is really tiring than waking up in the middle of the nite to nurse.

Btw, he woke up wanna nurse but when I offer my breast he just cry and scream out loud.. **headache*.. Yeah I think I should apply the gel.

Talking abt teething. Ever get bitten by ur boi? My boi bit me yday. It left deep marks just between the nipple and areola. It REALLY hurts!! Till I got tear.. arrrgghh..

RE: pacifier.
Ever give my boi pacifier then he kept wanting it. Later on I cold hearted let him cried for the pacifier. Bad habit's kicked off oredi. Even now if I offer pacifier he won't take it. You might want to be cold hearted not giving him the pacifier but offer him ur breast?

Hi mami35,
Yeah.. I think he's hungry but his gum's in pain..
Hmm.. my boi oso wake up quite often.. what time he goes to sleep?
My boi goes to sleep at 7pm then wake up at 10pm. Back to sleep ard 11pm+ till 6am. Between those time he wakes up again 1-2times.

Yeah.. babies really know how to "torture" us.. baby dun wanna latch on these 2 days.. then today I engorge for again.. it's really painful.. 2nd time got this awful engorgement..

btw, if high heat and prolong cooking destroy nutrients.. then the double boiler should be better compare to slow cooker?

Hi Gretel,
It was good enough to bf till 7-8mths when u're still working.
Hmm.. Can teach me your lime method?

Haaa.. yeah.. I also like my womanly curves currently.. kekeke...
You feel sag oredi? I heard can apply some cream to make them firm..

Btw, how's ur back now?

RE: gathering
wah.. good for you gals to meet up.. i'm interested to join you gals but gotta take the rain check

eufrasia,
tks. i was expressing 2x in office till every1 knows abt it..initially i still pai sey pai sey each time i washed the pump in pantry. after awhile pple got so used to me washin milk bottles there and i'll even tell them to 'wait awhile ok!' ;p agree tat expressing is so much more 'ley chey' than latch - dun like
but latch on comes with its own set of probs - for me, comfort sucking - v bad.

tks mamil35 and eufrasia, my back's much better now

eufrasia, your bb slept at 7?! wow so good tat's v good leh, my ds sleeps only at 10+ sometimes 11 after milk, good days wake up 5, else 430am. earliest 9 if he's v v tired.

oh u may wan to try delayin his sleeping time? tat's another method taught by mrs wong - to adjust the clock. seems to work for alot of mummies. delay by half hr and see if he can sleep for longer hrs.

re: lime
oh, just smear lime juice direct from the lime lor. heehee. bitter gourd also can, but more troublesome - gotta chop chop chop add water cos not much juice. or lemon direct too.

re: bday party
any 1 of you planning bb's 1st bday? i was reading the thread on 1st bday wow, the mummies there really super on - salute! i've also booked a chalet but it's prob just 1 for close frens and relatives, some balloons to deco tat's all. keep it simple. must constantly remind i'm sahm no income better tighten purse strings more for rainy days hahahah, anyway bb won't rem' ;p

Re -bday party
I have booked my daughter birthday party this coming october at gymboree as she is currently attending classes there. Thought it will be fun for her friends that are attending as theres games, music and snacks time.
And there are teachers there to monitor so we the parent can just sit back and take lotsa pictures.

hi gretel,

good to hear ur back's much better..
btw, ever tot of visiting a chiropractic center?
perhaps can help your back pain..
i visited one last week, but nid to go for an x-ray.. so never continue the consultation since i still direct bf..

i last time felt paiseh too when washed the pump..
ever kinda stress when my baby reject my breast, only want bottle for almost 2 mths.. but dunno what he's thinking that he decided to back on my breast..

re: bb sleepin time..
haa.. now he delays his time to go to sleep..
but he sleeps v v late.. he sleep at 10pm wake up at 6am (yesterday)

re: lime
hee.. the bb must be make funny face when he taste it..

re: bday party
yup.. u're rite.. bb won't rem the party...
it's the mummy who wan to organize party for the child.. heee..
hmm... m abt to plan my bb's 1st bday too...

tks eufrasia!

am back work today, miss my darling so much hmpph!
counting down to 6 ;p

it's such an ironic thing, when i'm w my son at home, i look forward to 'the world outside', felt so frustrated and helpless esp when he's 'not cooperative', but when i'm at work i find myself finding every opportunity to surf the web for bb's stuff, many times even lunch in to surf web, check out forum blah blah blah, haha...

chiropractic center
is it the one that opened by ang mohs? it's $60 per consultation right? i called up for enquiry when they tell me is $60 i gave up the idea - so ex!

10 - 6 is 8 hours dear! v v good! hope it stays tis way.

hi mummys,
its been a long long time since i last post..oh gosh!!
hope u ladies r doin great.
have a qsn though?as i was reading toddlers' recipe books, i came across a snack idea of peanut butter spread sandwich.
so when is the ideal time to intro peanut butter?

eufrasia, gretel is right, at least you have some good sleep hope it will last !!! my DS has been waking up every hour AGAIN !!! my milk ss was dropping to very low, but now ss is more than before cos he sucks every hour ... though it is still not enough for his feed but i do at pain sometimes if i dont clear it at night.

by the way, my breast is a bit painful, it feels like when you get "blue black" kind of soreness, anyone knows why ? thanks !

re : lime
gretel, i was going to try the bitter gourd last over the weekend but DS got loose stools, i was afraid he was having tummy upset so I think will have to postpone another week.

re : party
July will be DS BD we have decided it is just going to be family affair so will sought out a place for buffet. Anyone can recommend good buffet dinner at hotel ?

chergamine, i think baby must be at least 1 yr to try peanut butter. A friend's friend DD got peanut allergy and they did not know it before that, one of the aunts only touch her with finger (got some peanut on her finger) and immediately she went into some kind of fit.

hi chergamine,

i hear its better to start any sorts of nuts only when child is about 1 year old. peanut butter included.

btw how's your sleepywrap? My back doesn't hurt at all even when carrying the baby for more than half hour. downside is that its a bit of hassle to wear it. also can get quite warm. but comfortable in air-con places.

sorry mummies, didn't know abt the outing, was too busy to log in last week. Hope u gals enjoy urself.

Hi Mami,
PU/PD, what i meant is pick him up once he starts crying(Not to wait till he cries for 10mins), once he stops, you put him back to his cot. When he starts to cry again, u pick him up again & once he stops, u put him down again... & keep on repeating until he falls asleep. I will pat him when he lie on his cot. It's v xiong in the beginning cos he sure will cry immediately the moment u put him down, u ve to keep repeating PU/PD many times. 40 mins is the time he eventually sleep.

Hi Gretel,
hope ur back is better now. U v funny, like the part when u said "no wonder 'ma ma shi wei da de'...

hi Eufrasia,
I take Fenugreek to keep my supply. can get fr GNC. Drinking fish & papaya soup does help. But i think my ss also dropping. I will wean him off my breast when he's a year old, still ve 2.5mths to go.

Re: car seat
My boy can sit still(most of times) all the way fr my place at Bt Batok to Eunos, think it's abt 30mins drive if no jam. In between if he's cranky, I will sing or distract him like feeding biscuits, water, or point outside & tell him lorry, bus, taxi, motorbike la... could it also be that we bring him to choose car seat, let him try a few & buckle him there, so he knows tat we r buying for him to sit?hehe...

Re: Sleeping
I also feel sad when my son's sleep being distrubed,not only he becomes difficult to handle, it also affects his appetite. He doesn't like to eat as he's too tired & it rolls over to next day tt he will skip his meal so as to catch up w his sleep.

My son also zz v late, he will sleep around 7plus for an hour, then he will play till 11pm.

re : sleeping

babydoll, thanks for clarifying ok i will try the method, keep my fingers crossed.

my DS used to nap as late as 1045pm for 30 mins and finally sleep at 12am but thank goodness now no more of that ! you may want to try to bring his sleep time forward, i think some mummies did mention before too. What i do is bring forward by 15mins interval (like giving milk early and changing into PJ - bedtime routine) till the desired sleep time. So for now, DS gets ready by 10pm but he still needs an hour to finally fall asleep but at least it is earlier than before.

Hi Mami,

{{{{by the way, my breast is a bit painful, it feels like when you get "blue black" kind of soreness, anyone knows why ? thanks ! }}}}

How long have you been breastfeeding?? Has your "blue black" kind of soreness recovered??
If you still feel pain, kinda gotta get sick...Warning!! observe carefully at the colour of your BM.. If it changes colour, pls go and see a doc.. It might be infection..

regards
Ceshayne
(hope it helps)

re- buffet dinner
grand copthorne has quite a wide selections and their buffet theme changes every now and then.
Another of my personal favourite is changi village hotel if it near you.

re : buffet dinner
thank vally I will go take a look at grand copthorne, changi is too far though :)

re : blue black pain
ceshayne, i am into 11th month of partial BF .. i dont think it is infection .. maybe it is blocked ducts, tried to feel for the hard lumps but difficult cos sometimes it is there sometimes it is not .. but today is better so will monitor

re : PU / PD
babydoll, i tried the method, yesterday, DS slept for 15 mins and woke up crying and did not go back to sleep. today, PU / PD for 3 times and again did not go back to sleep .. sigh ..

mami35,
my boy is 13mths now and im so excited as he finally shows interest in solids..but more to wat we're having though.
so i make it a point to cook for him e same food(dish) with no added salt or sugar..n every single meal,have to be different(it seems like he wants to try everything) headache sometimes!!
Growth spurt...he's bfeeding more too
n 2 weeks ago after a long time, i had major engorgement..ok..ok..2 days onli..breast hard as stone!! kept massaging day n night.phew its gone!!can see all the blue veins and lump at a spot..mmm
ok,perhaps ill let him sample a weeny bit after his meal(peanut butter)

jaime,
halo sayang...yesh i was so excited when i got the wrap.a bit of a hassle but very comfortable esp when he's sleeping and less strain!
i jus put on a sleeveless bodysuit on my boy and off we go!!

chergamine
it is so much work to cook different meals .. do you even add soy sauce .. that day i was at sil place and DS shared his porridge with my niece, i tasted it and find it really nice then i realised she had added soy sauce and i was so worried that DS would know the difference and reject my porridge !! phew lucky me.

I was using pouch when DS took his nap for about 1.5 hours at vivo .. and i had so much pain on my shoulders near the neck .. and the next day i used bjorn and i could still feel the pain and it was uncomfortable, 2 days later i am still having the ache, but today i use bjorn and the ache on shoulder and back still there but not too much

I called metro paragon and there are only 2 ergo left, causeway pt has 3 left ... both places left with green and biege

re sleeping: i bought an elizabeth pantley book and they say you need to start the bedtime routine at least 30mins, better to be 1 hour before your child's actual bedtime so 15mins is abit too close.

mami: you want to consider my beco? I want to sell it, pm me if you're interested

mami35,
nope, i do not add soy sauce..at most,ill add in pre-soaked anchovies(ikan bilis) for taste.
only at certain times when we're at other's hme and he wants to eat,ill just dilute it.(e dish)
my mom now called me 'my ds personal dietition'.well,he has to get use to it right so later in life he'll know how to appreciate healthy food. likewise he prefers plain goody warm water than juices.
last week i was pretty annoyed when i saw my cousin offering soft drinks to him.oh yes,he took a sip n 'merlion' it out at my cousin's face..HEHEHH

re-sleeping
I fast forward my daughter sleeping time from the usual 1030pm to 8-830pm. It seems to be working well, except she will woke up for soothing and pat for 1,2 mins twice to thrice nightly.
The only time she wakes up and cry due to hunger is 6am in the morning.

hi sleek you got PM

chergamine
ya i am all for healthy food too. I always tell friends and DH that it would be difficult to control the kids when they are older cos of temptations for sweets and junk food so why not start healthy eating and hopefully the habit would stick with them for life .. but difficult for DH to accept cos he said dont want DS to have restricted childhood and not being able to eat candies and all things nice (to him healthy food does not equal nice)

ha ha your cousin would think twice about feeding you DS again !!! sil also tried to feed DS with packet lemon barely but i think i barged in on her so that was a failed attempt ! but another sil fed DS with chocolate ice cream from the spoon she was eating !!!!

vally, I wish i can do that to DS. Your dd did not protest ?

re: sleeping
wish my son can settle to rest so early at 8.30pm... he used to sleep at 9plus before 6mths old. After that, start to bring him to my mum place twice a week & my mil on weekend. End up coming home at 11plus. His routine get disrupted... Now he end up sleeping at 11.30-12.30, good thing is he will wake up at 10-10.30. I also can sleep till then... But in between, I will bfeed him & he will fall back to sleep.

talking abt feeding bb healthy food: mami, my FIl also wanted to feed my son ice cream & cold drink. I said No, No wait till he's bigger.

I want to cultivate my son good eating habit right fr young, dun want him to end up like my hubby, even eat medicine must drink cold water, say will vomit if it's not cold! His whole family all the same, they ve carbonated & pkt drinks in the fridge. My mil used to buy them when coming to visit us, she thought I ill-treat his son cos she can't find these in my fridge. I am quite pissed until I told her his precious son has high blood pressure & high cholesterol, she will then buy less sweet drinks like 100plus, ice lemeon tea tell me that they r not too sweet... I give up!

babydoll,

at least you get to sleep late ! wonder if my DS is like DH, DH does not sleep a lot .. but i am the opposite, but now i hardly have any sleep

re : eating habits
at least i think your fil would listen to you right ? I said no but they will tell me "must let him try everything otherwise next time will be picky eater !" i faint !

our DH are similar in terms of drinking habits. he too only takes cold drinks (yes with medicine too), no room temp water ! ya my fridge is also stocked with soft drinks, fil only drinks soft drinks, no plain water at all. I have tried in vain to change DH habit. but now he is taking diet or low sugar soft drinks cos he says he is putting on weight and he wants to be "healthy" !!!

Hi mami, babydoll,

re: eating habits
aiyoh, I thought I was the only one with the same problem. DH also likes soft drinks but not as bad as need cold water for medication. My PILs' eating habits are quite bad, eat very heavily seasoned food and a lot of meat. My mil keeps nagging at DH if he eats more than 1 bowl of rice, say eat less rice will not get fat, eat more meat.. faint... always have at least 3 kinds of meat for our weekly family dinner. good intentions but inculcate bad eating habits in the young ones.

Our 4 yr old niece, always get ice cream, dessert or sweets after meals. "as long as she finishes her food, it is ok" so end up she eats half her meal and fill up with sweets. Then they scold her for being too active, after all that sugar.

fed my DS honey when he was 3 months old when I left him in their care for 2 hrs, insisting he need to drink water. so dab spoon in honey to get him to sip water. nearly died when I heard, but still need to maintain composure...till now still don't believe me when I tell them breastfed babies don't need water b4 they start solids....

mami35,
oh dear..my ds is down with his blocked nose.has sensitive nose and now we're like in our 'confinement period'.distrupted sleep at night plus the crankiness! sigh...my heart breaks seeing him desperately trying to latch.
hi cookie,
re: eating habits
i'm glad and thankful that my family(mom & dad & younger siblings) inculcate pretty much a healthy lifestlye.psstt..dats why i dunt mind putting my dS for a while when we're out!!
not being biased, but @ my in-laws..the fridge is always filled with sweeties and yesh the "as long as she finishes her food, it is ok" rule is applied!!
oh! NO! NO!not for me.i dun mind rewarding my ds with toys but not sweeties @ least not at a tender age.
Glad hubby is on my side(love him muaks)...hehe..

re:feeding water b4 solids.
i will not forget how my mum( a 1st time grandmom) appologised to me and warned the rest of the family abt giving water to my then 1wk old Ds.Ds had jaundiced and it was persistent.She then offered water to ds whilst i wasnt ard(in e drs rm). was explained about the danger of offering water and she was taken aback.Well, i did tried to explained but e 'Ive been there before' thingy kept spouting out.So!!lazy to talk back...
And so im reali glad she understood.up till present, she's like a pro-breastfeeding granny.;)

some of us are meeting up this fri, 4 jul, at united sq, globetrotters restaurant, 3.30pm. Babies included.

anyone interested to join us?

probably too late. but i will be going to Go Go Bambini www.gogobambini.com today at Dempsey Road at 4pm. IF any of you are free, can go. It's free for babies up to 2 yrs on weekdays up till 31st July.

If going, do sign up as their member (free) and you will get an SMS for a free coffee or tea for your first time there.

hi jaime,

may be able to join you as DS has a lesson at GUG tomorrow and class ends at 2.30p.m.

If he is not too tired/ cranky, I will be able to meet up with you guys. loong forward to it. Can I have a contact number ?

meet up :
looks like i have to miss another meet up again. got an appt at 2pm.

eating habits :
ha ha when i was reading through the post this scene flash through my mind "if our DH were to meet up for makan, i would see one hand with oily fried chicken the other hand with fizzy drinks then we would be shaking our heads slowly with disapproval frown "

cookies, gasp ! honey is a no no food for infant i read, lucky no harm done !

ya, DH nephews and nieces would be asking for fizzy drinks to go with meals and they will get it and after meals will be ice cream , but this is usually for get together meals not sure about their normal family meals.

chergamine, at least your DH is on your side, you have one least person to fight against !

i guess these eating habits are more common than we thought.

your mum is really modern and understanding about feeding water .. not many grannies are like that.

re : toys
mummies, wonder if you have gotten any good toys for your darlings ? any toys to my DS will last 10 mins, so we do not buy toys for him, he will play with stuff, like containers, paper bags, wallets keys remote controls etc .... but we are running out of stuff to let him play .. the worst part is he THROWS everything away ...i know this is a learning stage for him but i wonder when will the throwing stops the downstairs neighbour has not complained yet but i dont wish to make enemies !